SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

JJ's House / no returns accepted

jjshouse, China Review updated:
Contact information:

I ordered a dress on 7/20/11 and received 8/25/11. On 8/26/11, in accordance w/JJsHouse return policy instructions, I notified them of my intent to return the dress for a refund. The dress was huge in the top, wouldn't zip all the way in the back, halter hooks wouldn't stay hooked, it had gaps and was baggy in places that should have been fitted, and the lining of the dress was not sewn correctly. (It balloons up 4-5" above the dress line and clearly was supposed to sit just above the dress line).

I emailed them for their Product Return Form Request that they say you must include w/your return. I received an email back wanting pictures of the problems. I sent pictures and received their reply that the dress was made exactly according to the measurements of the size I ordered. Said it was common that a standard-size dress wouldn't fit perfectly because they weren't tailored. Also stated that most dresses can easily be altered by a skilled tailor or professional seamstress and that I should check w/my local tailors to see if they could do the alterations for me. And, of course, they would appreciate my understanding why they weren't going to take the dress back. They didn't even bother to mention the dress lining not being sewn correctly.

The dress also arrived in a compact mailing package which caused the entire dress to be wrinkled but they just said that was their best way to send to save on shipping costs. This company has no intention of accepting any returns for any reason so what you get is what you are stuck with. I have posted my complaints on their Facebook page which they keep removing mine (and other's) negative remarks and comments. I wish I had known that their return policy was, there was no return policy. They got $105 in their pocket; I got a dress I'll never be able to wear. Unbelievable to think a company can get away with this.

Jl
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jl
      Oct 09, 2011

    Just an update, JJ's House finally refunded my money last week. I don't know what changed as they were adamant since they said the dress was made according to their size charts, it was out of the question to request a refund, for any reason. The lesson I've learned from this experience is to be sure you are aware of the company you are dealing with, their return policy, and try to find other customer's reviews. Unfortunately, on places like Facebook, any comment that is not liked can be (and was) removed by JJ's House, so I saw no negative reviews or comments until after I experienced this situation. Only reviews I found were from satisfied customers. If I was going to have a dress custom made in the future, it would not be via the internet. I figured since I just ordered a standard size, it would just be off the rack like in any department store. This was a tough lesson to learn as I had never experienced this sort of situation before, but I will be more cautious from now on.

    -1 Votes
  • De
      May 05, 2017

    @jlsnana My dress was 3-4 inches too high in the waist. It was too short also. They do not ask for length and to the waist length. I sent pictures, have talked to the Wangs several times. They say it was made according to custom fittings sent. Offering me only 25% back. The dress material was beautiful, but it is useless to me.

    +1 Votes
  •   Nov 17, 2011

    all I can say is I bought a dress & it looks so cheap ...nothing like the picture, all the seams uneven and sequins instead of jewels...come on! if you stand behind that work you best take another look at how these dress's are made cause I've never seen a dress so terrible!!! And I know they won't give my money back cause your a rip off store so thanks for a big NOTHING!!! this dress definitely didn't get 5 stars... they change all your ratings so people will buy these dress's cause I've seen reviews on other websites on this exact same dress and they all said the same thing...how sad! to bad I found the reviews after I bought the dress!

    +2 Votes
  • Kr
      Dec 13, 2011

    I was extremely disappointed with the service I received from JJs House. I ordered a dress based on the size chart on their website. The dress arrived and was at least 2 sizes to large. The company refused to allow me to return the dress and only offered a 35% refund. It would cost me more than double that to have the dress altered. After exchanging numerous emails with the company I was still unable to secure a return. I will NOT be back and I wouldn't reccommend this company to anyone. As a store servicing mostly online customers, I good return policy is key. An "online seamstress" is only as good as the return policy. A real seamstress measures you directly so you know you are going to get the right size. As an online company, JJs House must realize they cannot measure anyone directly, so they must allow users to return items that do not fit. PLEASE EVERYONE FILE A FORMAL COMPLAINT WITH www.econsumer.gov to stop these people!

    +2 Votes
  • Ka
      Feb 21, 2012

    The e-mail address they provide is not a valid address. All of my attempts to contact them have come back as a delivery failure. I will continue to contact them, but am very unhappy in the service this company provides.

    +2 Votes
  • Ci
      Mar 21, 2012

    Does anyone know of JJ's House return address?? I was told if I could get the address and reurn it, my bank could reverse the payment I made to them for my really bad dress I received. Any help would be appreciated. I know how all of you feel. Thank you

    +1 Votes
  • Li
      Apr 09, 2012

    As promised I will tell you now the whole story regarding JJ´s House. It is only possible to write critics on JJshouse here on Reseller Ratings. Normally the delete the feedback and post own feedbacks. However, my case is very simple. I live in Germany. I ordered a dress but got the wrong dress. I complained. They told me I lie. I sent them the pics. The started to believe me. They told me to send the the dress back. I did so with mixed feelings. I paid 208 € which they agreed to refund. However, I have in addition a damage of Import duty of 26 € and the refund postage of 42 €. Although the return policy is saying that the refund the postage they even violate their own policy. By the way, the return policy violates German Civil Law and is therefore insofar invalid that consumer rights are violated.

    I guess that you cannot expect more from Chinese Online start ups. A damage of 68 € is not a big sum. But we consider to go to court. In Germany we had a lot of similar cases decided in favour of the purchaser. It is a matter of principle to sue someone who is cheating the consumer. We gave them so many second chances. We are getting tired now. I am sure after we publish the court decision. There will be more people who would like to get a bit more justice in this world.

    However, If you still would like to risk to order something from JJ`s house, I wish you good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Aug 11, 2012

    I purchased a dress on their website in July 2012 and it was COMPLETELY wrong regarding size! It also looked different to the photo of what I actually ordered. They are now refusing to give me a refund against their own 'satisfaction guaranteed return policy' saying that I am just flat out wrong even though I have photos to prove that they made the dress 7 inches larger in some places then I requested! I have had to dispute it through Paypal to get my money back as they just continued to insist I was wrong so we will see how that goes. Horrible experience. DO NOT SHOP HERE!

    +1 Votes
  • My
      Aug 23, 2012

    Ordered a light brown bridesmaid dress. received chocolate brown dress. Told to send pic. Did so. Told this is the color I ordered. Must be my computer. $155 for a dress that was a big disappointment for a summer wedding.

    0 Votes
  • My
      Aug 23, 2012

    Ordered white wedding shrug with elbow length sleeves. Received jacket with short sleeves. Told this is what I ordered. Even with the email confirming I ordered the elbow length sleeve. Out of luck...Do not order from these people.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Feb 17, 2013

    Hi,
    I ordered a dress from JJS house and when it arrived it looked nothing like the picture on the website, I ordered A standard size 10 and it was massive and was totally wrong on me, I cant think of a single person who would wear that dress as it was absolutely hideous. I have been since trying to get a refund out of them but to no avail they keep coming back to me with a load of rubbish saying I am not entitled to a refund because it was made to my specifications when it was not! I am not giving up and will do everything in my power to get a refund from these Cowboys, If anyone has advice for me what to do please let me Know and I stress to anyone thinking of buying From Them DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 17, 2013

    Dispute the charge with your bank and file a complaint with the BBB and FTC.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Mar 13, 2013

    Hi there,
    I want to share my experience as a current customer with JJsHouse.com.
    I am still trying to return a dress to JJ's House for an outfit which arrived looking nowhere near the photo on the website as advertised. It is the most poorly made outfit I have ever seen. It looks like the seamstress was in a terrible rush or was very new to sewing, or both. The two layers of white fabric in the white jacket are full of loose black threads throughout (the black threads are trapped and visible between the white taffeta exterior of the jacket and the white lining.) It's hideous to look at, for what is supposed to be formal attire. The entire outfit has loose threads everywhere. There is crooked fabric hanging from the back waist band. There is visible white thread on the seam the lower part of the rear skirt. It's unwearable. I paid $235 CDN plus DHL shipping charged me duty of $84.68. I would like a full refund including duty. I cannot tell you how upset I am about this especially after paying an unexpected $85 in duty. This outfit was supposed to be for a major family event. Most disappointing is that when I asked to return it, the company has refused. Their "top solution" that they offer is a mere 15% refund. I have refused the 15% which is frankly an insult given the poor quality item I have had to pay $300 for. I have opened up a Paypal claim and hope that will resolve it. If not, I will continue to contact the company until I get a full refund since this outfit cannot be worn, is nowhere near what was shown on the website, is of very poor quality, and definitely not worth over $300. Fortunately, the Internet is a big place and there are lots of opportunities to share my story, which I will do so until I get a refund. The problem for North American consumers is that since the company is based in Hong Kong, you have no recourse. The only contact number in Hong Kong goes straight to voicemail and they don't answer during North American hours. You have to call over night. The lesson here: you get what you pay for. Folks, it's cheap for a reason. The reason is that the goods are cheap. Cheap is the key word here. It makes me appreciate the good service of the local retail stores here, that honour return policies and treat customers very well.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Mar 18, 2013

    Please do not trust this company. It shows false pictures. The dress you actually get doesn, t look anything like the dress they have on their website. anD THEY DO NOT ACCEPT RETURNS, YOU WILL NEVER GET YOUR MONEY BACK.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Apr 02, 2013

    Ohhhhhhhh, I bought one wedding dress from them. It is shipped now, but I'm too worried. I read so many bad feedbacks about them :( I hope my would be nice otherwise I'm in a big trouble.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 06, 2013

    We are trying to return a dress that is not like the picture. It is not flattering and it is NOT hunter green. They offered my 40% off and I escalated it on paypal. We ordered a dress last year from another company and LOVED it. SOO disappointed!!! WATCH OUT! I guess that is what you get form out of the country/internet. Here is the picture. The chest area is uncomfortable and is crooked and does not fit. The ruffles do not lay correctly... Ugh.. Wish me good luck

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 06, 2013

    Here is a photo

    0 Votes
  • Pd
      Apr 24, 2013

    Has anyone received their money back when filing a claim through paypal?

    0 Votes
  • Te
      May 02, 2013

    I wish I would have looked further and found all of you. I saw on their website that they had a return policy, so I ordered the dress. My daughter tried it on immediately and I emailed JJs Hosue the next day. It does not fit and we were very unhappy with it. JJs House does NOT accept returns. They have given me such a hard time. I am going to contact my credit card company. I will never recommend JJs House or use them again.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
      May 05, 2013

    I ordered this dress for my daughter's senior prom. This dress was beautiful at first glance but turned out to be a disaster due to poor craftsmanship. The zipper was very stiff and extremely hard to zip up and down. Also, this had nothing to do with how the dress fit. It fit her perfectly. The night of the prom, I managed to get it zipped up, which wasn't easy, and sent her on her way. About two hours after she got there, the zipper busted wide open! The top part of the zipper stayed zipped but the entire back, all the way down, was wide open! It could not be fixed. A teacher had to use about 10 safety pins to try and keep it shut. she ended up having to wear a boy's tuxedo jacket over the dress so no one could see it. what a nightmare!!! She was extremely upset and embarressed :( Of course, the return policy states returns must be made within 7 days, but there was no way to anticipate this kind of problem before her special occasion. Also, be sure to read the fine print when ordering. I didn't realize that I would be charged an import fee on top of the shipping charges, which turned out to be an extra $50. I will never order from JJ's House or any other overseas company again.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      May 21, 2013

    Before I ordered 2 dresses for my daughter to try, I completely read jj's house return policy. I initiated the return ticket within 2 days of receiving the dresses. They did not work on my daughter. I have had 6 days of run-a-round from this company. They will not take the returns. I contacted my cc company and pay pal, who informed me that they have received other similar complaints about jj's house. Spread the word - do not use JJ's house. I hear other China dress online companies are just the same.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Jun 03, 2013

    DO NOT USE THIS SITE. YOU CANNOT GET A RETURNS FORM OR ADDRESS WHERE TO RETURN DRESS. MY BANK IS LOOKING INTO THIS MATTER BEFORE I TAKE IT TO MY LAWYER.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Jul 14, 2013

    I have also had issues with JJs House. The dress looked nothing like it did on the website. The colour was not gold but an awful yellow! Furthermore, they gave me the wrong jacket size. This was supposed to be for my maid of honour. Now they are refusing to send me the return form, stating my computer settings are wrong hence the colour mismatch. They are thieves and crooks. Please please please NEVER order from them. The quality is very cheap as well...but then they are made in China and extremely cheap in price.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 08, 2013

    I ordered a dress for my daughter's wedding (mother of the bride). According to the photos, it was beautiful and I ordered the proper size. The dress I ordered was in a small shipping box, the dress arrive, not only wrinkled...but it had the most HORRIBLE smell to the fabric. I immediately contacted them for a return. They started at 15% return and they are up to 25% return at this time. They told me that " all dresses smell" and this was normal. They told me to have it dry cleaned. Really?!?! Of course we know this is not true!!! Still disputing my complaint. I have been scammed and I am annoyed that their company can be represented on google. I will fill out a complaint. We need to stop their company from selling to American citizens!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ev
      Sep 26, 2013

    I ordered 2 formal dresses 7 September 2013 and received an e-mail on the 9th advising of shipment. The beading on one of the dresses does not lie flat and a portion of it is actually loose. Also interesting is that the zipper is inserted on the right side, instead of the dress-maker standard of zipping on the left. I have been trying to return the one item, however, more than 10 e-mail messages later can neither get JJ's House to provide return information and their responses border on hostile. The have offered 10% and 15% for me to keep this inferior item and stated that they "doubted" my reason for return - basically calling me a liar. Do NOT order from this company! I am happy the "testimonials" are numerous (I hope they are true), however, issues are not addressed professionally. I will turn the matter over to my attorney. A ridiculous measure to take for a $200 dress.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 30, 2013

    DO NOT!!! DO NOT!!! ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY!!! 1ST THEY DON'T HAVE AND TELEPHONE # THEY JUST EMAIL YOU AND THEN THEY TOLD ME BEFORE I ORDER THAT I COULD GET MY DRESS ON THE 1ST BECAUSE I PAID THE $20.00 EXTRA DOLLARS TO HAVE IT FAST DELIVERY. THEY SENT ME A EMAIL SAYING THAT MY DRESS WOULD BE HERE ON THE 24TH.WELL THE 24TH CAME AND WENT NO DRESS NOR DID I HEAR FROM THEM ANY MORE. I SENT SO MANY EMAILS AND NO RESPONSE SO I CALLED THE BETTER BUSINESS AND I ALSO CALLED MY BANK AND REPORTED FRUAD TO MY BANK SO THEY COULD LOOK INTO THIS COMPANY. I AM SORRY THAT I DIDN'T SEE THESE REVIEWS 1ST BECAUSE THEY ONLY HAVE GOOD REVIEWS ON THIER PAGE. I EVEN WROTE A BAD REVIEW ON THIER PAGE AND THEY DIDN'T POST IT.AND IF YOU PAY GOOD ATTETION TO THIER PAGE YOU WILL SEE THAT THEY PUT THERE ON REVIEWS ON THERE BECAUSE THE WAY EVERYTHING IS WORD ON THERE. THANK YOU SHAUNITA

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Oct 30, 2013

    NEVER, EVER, BUY FROM THIS COMPANY I AM SOOO MAD, THIS DRESS LOOKS LIKE CRAP, NOTHING COMPARED TO WHAT IT IS ON LINE. PLEASE TAKE MY ADVISE DO NOT BUY FROM THEM I BEG ALL OF YOU DO NOT BUY ANYTHING!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Nov 21, 2013

    DON'T BUY FROM THIS WEBSITE. This review is for my sister who has been treated terribly throughout this entire process of trying to purchase a wedding gown.

    She purchased a wedding gown from JJsHouse, it does not fit properly or look correct on her. We assume it's because the picture of the original dress is on a 6 foot tall model while my sister is barely over 5 feet.

    She tried to return it. They absolutely refuse. She tried to compromise and asked if she could exchange or put money towards bridesmaids dresses. They STILL REFUSE.

    My family is going to speak to every female on the planet and every website we know about the fraud and unreasonably asinine store the jjshouse is.

    That is all. You have lost a total of at least 300 customers thanks to the way you've treated us. Congrats!

    0 Votes
  • Jj
      Nov 25, 2013

    This was the most worst custom made dress I ever seen. The measurements are off from the chart. The color is off and the dress made for a person that don't have a human body. The bust fits all the way under your neck. The waist tucked so heavy with material that it shows through the dress seems. This is terrible and they don't wanna give you a you a refund. The steam stress needs to go back to school and learn how to sew. Please all me friends, don't ever order anything from this company bad news.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Nov 26, 2013

    I am having the same miserable experience with this company. After paying $30 for shipping, I was presented with an additional bill from UPS for an additional $46 dollars. I instructed UPS to return the parcel, and then notified the company. I was told that "I should have known" this was their policy because these fees are included on Point #3 on their FAQ's. There is no mention on their shipping information. So I am left with nothing and was informed that qualify to receive 40% of what I paid. My other option according to JJ's House is to contact UPS and try to get my parcel back.
    I have never dealt with such an unscrupulous company in all of my years of online shopping.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jan 16, 2014

    I am having the same results as others. I had a friend whose wedding dress worked out well. so, I gave it a try. The top is huge and cannot be altered without remaking the dress which would cost nearly as much as the dress. I had to pay an unexpected fee when it was delivered and now I am also being told that they will not take the return. I'm filing a complaint with Pay Pal and the credit card company now. Their responses are that they can't take it back. That's not what their policy says. DO NOT use this site!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
      Mar 05, 2014

    I bought a so called lovely looking A Line Princess Dress, looks great on the models as it should . We got it tried it on and it looked like ### to be honest no shape bad stitching faulty zip too much petty coat. Just awful never again .

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Mar 05, 2014

    I brought a evening gown which I paid well over $260.00 . They took the payment right away. I chose to have it shipped fast and that was back in January. It's now March and then when I come home I find a notice on my Fay saying I have to pay a COD fee over $46.00 wth. Then I find out that it's coming from a company name "Readmob information technology. Wth...I also have tried several times for a response. Well, it looks like I will go to my back to have them recoup my money. It looked like a beautiful gown, but reading these comments I'm not going to accept the package. They are trying to make extra money. That's just not right!!!

    0 Votes
  • Km
      Apr 30, 2014

    Don't order from them!! I had a dress sized and paid extra for it. It was not accurate and I had to pay more for a tailor to take it in and fix the hem which was very crooked. Also the beading was coming off. I complained to the company about it and they said to take pics which I did and send receipt which I did. They just kept asking me to do it again. Also I paid for shipping but when the dress came to the house the driver told me I would have to pay more as the company did not include price for going over an international border. Needless to say I am VERY disappointed and much more broke due to their poor business practices. I would have returned it but that would have cost me more and I need a dress for my daughter's wedding. I REPEAT DONT ORDER FROM THEM> YOU'LL REGRET IT!

    0 Votes
  • Su
      May 01, 2014

    I have just received a dress I paid £160 for as I had it custom fitted, the bust is 2inch too small, the waist 4inch too big, the hips 8inch too big and is 9inch too long. I have emailed jjshouse and received a reply saying that they will respond in 24 hours, still no email from the it's now 30hours. I also had to pay £33 tax duty. I paid by credit card but wish I had paid on PayPal, I could at least dispute the payment. Fool me, but as everyone has said, it's not until you have a problem yourself that you then see other peoples problems. The worst company ever to deal with, I am thinking of writing to the television, they might be interested, jjshouse want revealing for the crookes they are.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      May 13, 2014

    DONOT!!! I REPEAT, DONOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THESE ILLEGAL ### RAGGEDY ###ERS!!! THE ### YOU ORDER WILL NOT BE WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!! THEY WILL NOT GIVE YOU YOUR MONEY BACK!!! ALSO, THERE IS NO CONTACT NUMBER LISTED ANTWHERE!!! THEY ARE NOT LISTED WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU!!! THESE PEOPLE ARE SCAMMERS!!! DONOT PURCHASE FROM THESE PEOPLE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      May 16, 2014

    From : Erikadudova2014-05-16 11:40:04
    I will never ever used this website ... Dress is very long and unable to return dress because
    Company dont want to return money...tailoress do not want to fix the dress because
    Is to complicated .I lost 200$ ... Dress is for garbage..., I do not have words for this company... do not buy clothes from there!!! Pleaseeee

    0 Votes
  • Cg
      Jul 29, 2014

    I could not find a dress locally so resorted to purchasing from JJ's House and it was awful. the material is nothing like the photo, I ordered it to my measurement's so it cannot be returned and it still had to be altered. it is so short that I have to wear flats and I am the mother of the groom, I am 5 3&1/32 and my husband is 6'2". I have to wear it because my husband is making me, since I bought it without researching the company. I would NEVER buy a dress from them. I am trying to post this on the knot also!!

    Awful EXPERIENCE!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 19, 2016

    When I asked where the dress I wanted to order was coming from they told me china right away I knew I did not want that money

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 19, 2016

    when ordering from these kinds of companies it is hard to get your money back and through the internet they make the product look so good one has to be very careful they were trying to rush me to buy this dress something told me to do some research

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Mar 09, 2016

    I ordered a dress from JJ's and the dress I received was too small (I could not zip it up my back) and 8 inches too long. I sent them pics showing the dress did not fit and also included pics of a dress I bought (in the exact same size as the dress I ordered from JJ's) from Nordstrom's so they could see that the dress from Nordstom's fit and their dress did not.. They tried to tell me to take it to a tailor and I told them to STUFF IT. I told them I want my money back. We went back and forth for 3 days in emails and I basically told them that they are crooks and it's all about the money and they do not care about customer satisfaction. I also told them that I was going to dispute the charge with my credit card company. All of sudden they were willing to give me a refund. I have to return the dress (at my expense) which I will do since I do not want it and I want a refund (less the shipping cost to return). The stupid dress weighs a ton so I hope I do not have to pay a fortune to return it.

    0 Votes

Post your comment