SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Itasca / boots don't hold up

Review updated:

Bought these Itasca boots, last season for hunting- Great boots, but they dont seem to hold up- I only used them for hunting-after season I put them up till this year!

First week and I noticed a rip in the right one-- when I stepped into the first creek-when i got home, I saw two more little cracks that leak also- Ive tried to contact company and cant find them-- I dont think if buy new boots, they should only last 3 weeks!

Am I wrong? I just wanted to know if they would do anything for me!

Pa
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Th
      Jan 07, 2009

    I have a pair of their boots that haven't been worn more than 8 times and the leather where the laces attach just ripped. I can't find a receipt but I think I bought them at Sportmans Warehouse last year. A google search finds no manufacturer web site. This bums me out.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Jan 08, 2009

    I purchased a pair of Itasca boots 2 months ago for hunting season, wore them during shotgun season, some of bow season and have cracks in the boots. They look like they are dry rotted. I am so disappointed, because for once I had found a pair of boots that kept my feet warm and felt good. Dunhams will not take the boots back because of their 30 day warranty, and I was told to go to the Itasca website and there is nothing found and no where to turn to get this issue taken care of.
    Not a good way to run a buisness.

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
      Jan 30, 2009

    itsasca boots are made by c. o. lynch enterprises. they are sold thru columbia sportsware. there is no website but i found a contact number [protected]

    +2 Votes
  • Ri
      Feb 15, 2009

    I've been looking for the website also. I posted a complaint on the website for the store I purchased them from. "Gander Mtn. I bought these at the end of Bow Season and they started cracking the end of November. So I would say about 6 weeks. I thought they were great 1600 gram very warm even it sub zero temps in a treestand. Now there junk cracked all around base where they flex at the foot. I am very displeased they should hold up a season or two for that money. They were not worn in an all day every day situation either. Evening hunts mostly sitting not walking not more than 20 times for a couple of hours each. Very poor durability...the company should issue a recall judging from the other comments on this site and the many on Gander and others. I will try the contact number listed above thanks scott

    +2 Votes
  • Bi
      Feb 23, 2009

    I'm a repeat Itasca buyer. You see, I bought a pair of them very cheap when our local Central Tractor was going out of business. I wore the commando style boots for 3 winters before the leather began to crack. May have gotten longer out of them if I had ever protected or treated them but I'm the lazy sort. Oh, and I live near Buffalo, NY so winter is WINTER! Anyways, when they wore out I sought out Itasca since my 1st pair was so great. I found a pair I liked, the "trail guide" model. I guess one might call it the "duck" style boot, leather up top with alot of rubber over the toe and on the sides. These boots didn't last 1 winter. The sewing that attaches the rubber to the leather tore out the rubber leaving large holes in the sides allowing water, slush, and snow right in. I meant to complain to the company but never got around to it. I replaced them with a different brand though, and doubt i'll go back to Itasca again.

    +1 Votes
  • Lu
      Apr 18, 2009

    I got a pair for my 8 yr old son last week for a weekend in the snow... they're called "Snow Stompers" by Itasca. They were always getting wet inside. I cannot believe I paid $30 for snow boots that don't keep his feet anymore warm or dry. What a rip off! I really expected better quality. The insole underneath the removable sock type insert (which was always getting wet) is made of thick paper ish type of stuff. How ridiculous is that?

    Well... I would never buy the Itasca brand ever again, esp. not for repelling water and cold!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Lu
      Apr 18, 2009

    Oh, and I also cannot find a website that claims to make these or take responsibility for them. Is there a parent company we don't know about. But I'd love to complain to the actual manufacterer.

    +1 Votes
  • Tj
      Apr 27, 2009

    Same old story here. Bought my wife a pair of Itasca 1400 gram rubber boots for hunting and quading. Bought them in December 2008 and they have cracked and look dry rotted as of 4-25-09. What a crock of #@$%. Will never buy Itasca again and will tell everyone I know not to as well. Poor quality and a poor company that doesn't even have a website with contact info. They probably can't keep up with all the complaints!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      May 12, 2009

    haaa this is crazy, never in my life have i had so much trouble, with wa pair of boots bought a pair in archery season last year.in order to get to my stand i had alot of water to walk through.so i bought them and thought wow these are great.three days later i had to take them back.they said they never had any problems with these boots.
    they gave me another pair.
    now i just went out this morning for spring turkey and my whole day was ruined because these ones leaked to. im furious! same thing as you guys i thought a ripped them on jaggers or something, till i really looked at them and seen they were dry rotted.i thought if i bought a pair of more expensive boots, it would pay off. i take alot of pride in my hunting and alot of time.this ruined my hunt.i had to leave early cuz my feet were soaked!

    thanks though i called that number and they said to take them back were i purchased them and the warranty covers a year.
    thats great in all but .where does that get me. thell just rip again, and again, and again.. so basically this is what happens when we sell out to china! we get junk

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      May 28, 2009

    i found an email address and a phone number both- http://www.itascacol.com/users/register_new.asp - it is at the very bottom of the page, don't worry about any of the other junk.

    on the other hand i have had my swampwalker 2's for a year now, through snow, water, mud, everything and they are fine.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Aug 19, 2009

    Oh man, I wish I had looked at this website before I bought my dad some boots for christmas!! I bought them in december of 2008, It's now August of 2009 and the boots are not even fit to put on!!! I spent $50 on them. I mean I could understand if he wore them everyday doing alot of extreme stuff. The soles are compeltely unglued from the bottom. The leather is cracked. Its HORRIBLE. My advise is to NEVER EVER buy another thing from this company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Nov 22, 2009

    I have a pair of the itasca rubger boots with the 10oo gram insulation. Most comfortable boots i ever warn, and definately warm. problem ever place that bends or moves, seems to break down. ever contact point is cracking. I've tried using shoe goo to help, but my boots ar starting to have more shoe goo than shoe.

    +1 Votes
  • Lc
      Nov 26, 2009

    I am a Law Enforcement officer who bought a pair of Itasca commando side-zip boots to wear on duty, I wore these boots for 2 weeks and the side zipper broke, and one of the treads has broke away from the bottom of the boot...Just wondering if the manufacturer would do something to make it right? I have found another boot maker that has the same style boots for the same price and they seem to be a whole lot better, they are made by RESPONSE GEAR!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Dec 13, 2009

    You would think that spending a $100+ on boots would get you boots that last longer than one hunting season. I got a pair of Itasca 1600 rubber boats and just noticed after wearing them for maybe the 10th time that they are cracking around the ankles. Definitely not a quality product. I had a pair of browning rubber boats last and they lasted for 7 or 8 years of wearing them for spring and fall hunting. I guess paying a little bit more for a reputable brand name is worth it. Don't learn the hard way. Don't buy Itasca!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sn
      Dec 18, 2009

    I bought a pair of their boots about 6 yrs ago. They are just now starting to show wear. I live in nw lower Michigan in the snowbelt. I hope to find another pair like them, I really like them, comfortable too.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Dec 30, 2009

    I bought a pair of itascas 1200 for hunting, I used them a season a half dozen times and when I took them out the second season noticed a small tear in the outer rubber. Patched them because I couldn't contact the manufacturer and after one more use they ripped worse in A DIFFERENT SPOT. It seems as though the outer rubber was not bonded to the inside material. A friend went through a few pairs before he got a pair to last more than 1 season. Very poor quality and no customer service with Itasca boots. I would never recommend them. They were a nice boot but they are basically one or two time use throw away boots.

    -1 Votes
  • So
      Jan 09, 2010

    My Five year old got a pair for christmas. To weeks later the zipper broke. I want to contact the company but can't seem to find them anywhere. TOO WEIRD!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
      Jan 15, 2010

    I BOUGHT A PAIR OF ITASCA HUNTING BOOTS IN SEPTEMBER 2009 AFTER A FEW WEARINGS THEY DEVELOPED CRACKS AND LEAKS .I BOUGHT THEM AT CANADIAN TIRE AND THEY TOLD ME THEY CANNOT REFUND MY MONEY BUT THEY WOULD GIVE ME A PAIR OF REPLACMENT BOOTS BUT THEY WONT BE AVAILABLE UNTIL MARCH SO WHAT DO I DO UNTIL THE NEW BOOTS ARRIVE
    STAN

    0 Votes
  • St
      Jan 15, 2010

    I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THE COMPANY WILL DO SOMETHING FOR ME

    0 Votes
  • It
      Jan 26, 2010

    I bought a pair of Camo rubber 1600 gram Thinsulate during Christmas 2008 at Dunhams Sporting Goods. I wore them only about 6 times for Goose hunting (total of maybe 20 hours) most of the time sitting in a boat.
    Took them out this year (November 2009) to wear deer hunting as they were extremely comfortable and surprisingly warm. I noticed my feet felt damp a couple times, figured it was sweat. Got a bunch of snow so I have been wearing them frequently besides hunting.
    Noticed the other day a crack on right boot where it lexes by my toes. Upon further inspoection, cracks on both boots same place, plus its cracked across both heels.

    Total time worn approx. 50 hours in 12 months.
    No website either, but will use contact info above.

    And to think I just ordered my wife a pair for this Christmas before I noticed mine were complete junk P.O.S. !!!

    -Jason - Indiana USA

    0 Votes
  • Jj
      Feb 04, 2010
    Itasca - Lace loops ripped right off!!
    Jennifer Johnson
    Sidney
    New York
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I bought these boots two days ago, and the lace loops have ripped right off the boot. I was told that they are great boots, and it seems to me that they are poorly made. I hoped that they would last me a few years, but I guess I was wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Feb 10, 2010

    gave a pair of itasca ziggy boots to a family member for Christmas-after one time of wearing them outside the entire sole sepaated completely from the top of the boot. this person was outside walking in the snow and was left virtually with only one boot to wear. what gives with this company? I've been trying to get the company information without much luck. am hoping that maybe someone out there can help. the better business bureau needs to know of these problems. just like the false advertising claiming that the ziggy boots are "made in USA"-thy are not. the country of origin turned out to china.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Feb 13, 2010

    After a lot of serching and looking at shipping logs and deep serch I have found and encourage all with boot problems to contact this company.I am a out door writer for several news papers and will lodge a complaint with them and go as far as fileing a complaint with the BBB and even small clames court.But her is the e-mail address [protected]@itascol.com and there number is [protected] and there address is C.O. Lynch Enterprizes 2655 Fairview Ave.N ST Paul Mn 55113

    0 Votes
  • Ad
      Feb 13, 2010

    I bought a pair of Itasca scent free 2400 thinsulate ultra swampwalker grip handles for about $150.00 for my husband for Christmas. He has wore them ice fishing about a dozen times. He was very happy with them. Then he noticed dry rott in the ankle of both of them. Acouple of days later the front of them started cracking where the foot bends. Could not find a web site or phone number. Will try the number above. Not very happy with the boot. When you pay that kind of money they should last aleast one season.

    +1 Votes
  • Ec
      Feb 16, 2010

    I'm not sure which was a dummer Idea ..buying boots with the zipper in the front where the natural act of walking keeps unzipping them or the goober who designed it that way...Never again folks lousy product

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 19, 2010

    I bought 2 pair of Ladies Boots, 1 for going out in. They were purchased about 4 weeks ago the seem on 1 Boot had a crack in it, and leaked.
    You could see this was a defect. I glued it to stop the leak, my work held, but it had now cracked in the heal... So I looked at the other boot and it was blistered and split on the side. These are "GARBAGE BOOTS" I want my money back, I still have that other pair with the tags still on it... These too are "GARBAGE BOOTS". If you come across these complaints before you purchase a pair, even if it's on sale DON'T BUY THERE PRODUCT! It is made out of cheap material, and poorly constructed.
    I tried the email address above, It's shut down! So these people don't want to be bothered with the complaints on there JUNK.
    Bottom Line, , , If you want to get ripped off for your money, buy there product.

    Shirley.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
      Apr 01, 2010

    My swampwalkers were worn only about 10 times, and they are letting go at the seam. Tried to take them back to Gander Mt. -tough cookies.

    Never buy Itasca boots, and don't buy anything from Gander Mountain. This is the second time I have tried to get GM to do something about something purchased after spending 100's of dollars there.

    0 Votes
  • Sq
      Jun 21, 2010

    after reading all this im glad im not spending money on the cheapest shoes ever made ^.^ ill stick to jc penny boots

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Aug 13, 2010

    I bought a pair of Itasca Admiral Boots, I noticed a rip on the tongue of the boots and tried to get it fixed, then another rip appeared on the side of the boot, no happpy about it I have to say. Its a bit hard to do anything about it when you live in Australia and I bought the boots online. To the credit of the destributor, he gave me the money back, no questions asked

    +1 Votes
  • Ds
      Sep 18, 2010

    Me too I bought itasca congo model hiking boot. They lasted 2 months I wore them very little and they developed holes in the bottoms of both feet. I took them back and got another pair same think happened also the laces fell apart after a week. DONT BUY ITASCA SHOES!!! . September 2010... Photos below. left and right shoe.

    0 Votes
  • Bd
      Sep 29, 2010

    Same issues as others. Purchased a pair of Swampwalker 1600 boots at Gander Mountain and wore them 5 days last hunting season. Pulled them off the shelf for the same trip this year and the tops were completely dry rotted off. Won't purchase any more Itasca products or buy anything else at Gander because of their policy.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Oct 05, 2010

    I bought a pair of Itasca boots half way through the 2009 michigan hunting season. I wore them approx. 6 times last year. I took them out to wear this year and they are already cracked from the end of the toe cover to my ankle. Absolutely ridiculous. I also have tried to find contact for this company on-line with no luck. There was no information included with the product on any special treatment or handling the boots required. This company really needs to step up and attempt to contact unsatisfied consumers. If for some reason anyone from Itasca happens to read this please contact me at [protected]@hotmail.com.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Nov 10, 2010

    Guy's get a hold of your state attorney's general office and file complaints or contact a local Tv stations to get them to tell everybody your story, once it's on TV Itasca will be contacting you

    0 Votes
  • Sn
      Nov 21, 2010

    I have a pair of Itasca boots that I bought so many years ago, maybe 10 yrs. They are blue and black. They are now showing signs of wear. Little creases/cracks are showing. I live in Northern lower Michigan and be get a lot of snow and cold. These have kept my feet dry and warm. Now I hope to find a pair like them. I can't remember where I bought them from. May have been walmart or a store in Gaylord Mi called Norman's.
    The lighting isn't good on the pics. but hard to show the small creases and tiny cracks. Thye havn't started leaking yet.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Nov 27, 2010

    I found an email address to the webmaster of the Itasca website.
    http://itascacol.com
    [protected]@itascacol.com

    I sent an email today in regards to my boots that are 1yr old and failed.

    I will keep you posted.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Dec 01, 2010

    ITASCA IS JUNK!! SO I PURCHASED TWO PAIR OF ITASCA 2400 LAST YEAR FOR CHRISTMAS FROM GANDER MOUNTAIN AND BOTH PAIR ARE DAMAGED. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURE AT THE FOLLOWING NUMBER [protected] THEY WOULD NOT HELP STATING GANDER MOUNTAIN HAS AN AGREEMENT WITH THEM THAT THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF ANY ISSUES. SO THEY GAVE ME THE FOLLOWING NUMBER TO CALL [protected]. THAT LADY SAYS THEY WARRANTY THE PRODUCT FOR ONE YEAR. THE STORE SAID 30 DAYS SO BE SURE TO CALL THE 888 NUMBER. I NOW HAVE TO WAIT FOR A CALL BACK FROM THE WARRANTY DEPARTMENT...WHAT A MESS.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Dec 12, 2010

    i have noticed that most of these are old but i just got the itaska eradicator 1200 i thought they would be great boots but they leaked after only 2 (TWO) days...wtf...and now i am out of all the money i paid for them what junk these boots are not even one season
    has anyone gotten anywhere with a refund or reliable replacements???

    0 Votes
  • La
      Dec 24, 2010

    Bought the 1600 thinsulate from Gander Mtn in Wisconsin - thought I had a really nice hunting boot. Wore them 2x and they cracked & leaked. Gander will not take them back. After spending $100+ on them ... they are JUNK! Awesome...

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jan 13, 2011

    I have a pair of ICEBREAKERS my Father bought me and the top grommet that is fastened to suade ripped right off. I called the [protected] number and told them the I only wore them 3 times and she asked me to send them back to her and I would receive a new pair when she received them. I told her I was from Canada and she said "never mind then the shipping would kill you" and took my address down so they could send me a pair of Snowstorm boots which are very similar but have Nylon uppers instead of suade uppers. I found them to be very helpfull but as one person stated on this website what do you expect from a product made in China? We "North Americans should only buy locally then these issues wouldnt happen. I always look for the quality "Made in the USA" or "Made in Canada" tags first. Then if I have no other choice I will buy from another country. We are stabbing our own economies in the back by supporting cheap communist labor.

    0 Votes
  • It
      Jan 19, 2011

    I recieved a pair of hunting boots as a gift Xmas. I wore these boots three times hunting. After the 3rd time I noticed a small hole in the outer shell. This shell is very thin and would puncher very easy. The question that I need to know is what is the proper way to patch this hole. I found the boots very warm and nice to ware however I don"t think that the outer shell will stand up to any type of ware by a hunter. Please advise on how to repair these boots.

    0 Votes

Post your comment