Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

HughesNet / slow and unreliable internet connection

United States Review updated:
100% 18
Ever since Hughes.Net offered to upgrade my system for a commitment of an additional 15 months on the service contract, the internet connection is very poor and very slow. The so called "Technical Support" consists of people who can barely speak ENGLISH and are of no help whatsoever, and give inconsistent advice.

I have always had trouble with Hughes.Net, but now it's even worse.

Lawrence Mayhew


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  23rd of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Last 4 days been horrible, I keep getting a 506 error
I have no choice, if I did I would them in a second
A  17th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I hate hughes net......hate hate hate.....i never ever have service...if the wind blows the computer goes down....i try to call and try to be patient but no one speaks english....i try to be patient because everyone doesnt speak english....but my gosh....45 minutes of me saying excuse me...ssay that again....and i have no service hardley ever..,,,,45 minutes to access a web page....that is if you can access it at all.....I f i had a choice......I would take all of hughes nets equipment and put it....well....i cant say really what i would like to do with it....
what do you do....what can you do????
A  10th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I agree, I HATE Hughes.net – I would do anything to have cable service or even DSL – and I mean ANYTHING. My have the Pro package and it is slow as molasses, I really think dial up is faster most days. The other day I needed to download one little file and bam! the rest of the day and well into the next my page loading speed was about 3 minutes to load one FREAKING page! I am for goodness sakes, is it really right for them to charge us outrageous fees for service, have their installation folks steal us blind, and then have SLOW Internet service and NON ENGLISH SPEAKING tech support? Who invented this any how.

If you are entertaining getting HUGHES NET – I would suggest you move first, it would save you time & money!
N  17th of Nov, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Sounds like home week, My speeds are from 110 to 650 mostly in
the 200s the tell me I'm using it in peak demand in my case is six am to midnight. I'm paying for 1mb download when first updated I got 900 for two days. This company just STINKS... Go to wildblue
I hear they are a little better speeds otherwise the same..
N  20th of Dec, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have had trouble sending e-mails and getting online. It is slow or I get an error message.
N  18th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
A  25th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
It drives me crazy to watch those great HughesNet commercials where they use terms such as "broadband" and "high speed" and then have the nerve to end the commercial saying "you're welcome".

Any of you who are used to their customer tools, here is just my recent usage and my speed test just moments ago.

01/23/2008 0:00 01:00 60 1.28 No 0.05
01/23/2008 1:00 02:00 60 26.83 No 0.13
01/23/2008 2:00 03:00 60 4.91 No 0.16
01/23/2008 3:00 04:00 59 8.11 ** 0.98
01/23/2008 4:00 05:00 60 10.32 ** 0.37
01/23/2008 5:00 06:00 53 0.47 ** 0.05
01/24/2008 3:00 04:00 33 0.02 ** 0.07
01/24/2008 4:00 05:00 34 0.02 ** 0.01
01/24/2008 5:00 06:00 34 0.01 ** 0.01
01/25/2008 3:00 04:00 28 0.31 ** 0.09
01/25/2008 4:00 05:00 35 0.41 ** 0.01
01/25/2008 5:00 06:00 35 0.41 ** 0.02

I've been out of town since Tuesday, so only background noise - no usage.

Here are the results of the "speed tests" I've taken recently;

"speed" test
January 25th, 08:45AM - 140/154 kbps
January 22nd, 10:35PM - 102/55 kbps
January 22nd, 06:08PM - 100/74 kbps
January 22nd, 04:29PM - 107/42 kbps
January 22nd, 08:32AM - 503/205 kbps

Note that on the 22nd, I had an acceptable download speed - 503kbs. But it's been ridiculous since then. I'm paying $79 per month for a connection that is barely twice as fast as a 56kb dialup line. And I had to pay $100s for their ugly equipment.

Broadband - what a joke....

Anyone who signs up for this service is nuts. Including myself.

I'm filing a "deceptive advertising" complaint with the local BBB.
A  28th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am paying $106 per month. ON the 15th month now. I've not used my computer since last evening. My speed test this evening, after almost 24 hours with no use was:
9:00 pm (est) 94/113
9:20 pm (est) 97/96
9:30 pm (est) 69/107

Is that not pitiful?

Tried the chat help. Told me to clear my history and temp. files. I had BEEN doing that with no results. Seems to me that my speeds are getting slower and slower and slower.
Where I live I have no choice, but hughes, wildblue or dialup.
A  29th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I guess I'm glad that somebody else is in the same boat (not really). My speed is about the same. Paying for 1-Mbps get 200...350. Live out in the country, Temecula CA. No other service available. My experience with India is the same, no understand.
A  9th of Feb, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am in the same boat with the rest of you. I have had my Hughes.net for about 18 months now and the service is getting worse and worse. Like most of you I have called and I also have the same problem speaking with the non english speaking tech support. I have the pro package that them claim to get up tp 1.2 mb/s and on a normal day it is between 120-350 mb/s. When I do hit the FAP the recovery rate is between 15-30 mb/s when they state it is "EQUAL" to dial-up. Last summer that also stated they were raising the threshold limits and the recovery rates.. I haven't seen it yet!!! I agree. If someone knows of who we can contact for a class act suit, I'm in!!!
A  6th of Mar, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am having the same problem. My last speed test was 18/2. Now that is SLOW... basically non existant service. Is there any thing I can do. Has anyone had their problem solved? If they did, how? After many
complaints to their service line... being hung up on once or twice... oh we closed that case # and having to start all over again with someone else who does not speak english... What can I do? Should I cancel my credit card so they won't get paid and switch to wildblue? I just started with the 7000 in November. I need to be able to send 2 mb as an email attachment several times a month. Can't do it with HUGHES. Is there help out there? I will participate in a class action suit if there is one.
A  9th of Jun, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
i am having all of these issues and more. I have had direcway/hughesnet for at least 6-7 yrs. I have always had problems and crummy customer service. Now I am stuck in a 15 month contract for the crummy upgraded modem. Cant get online "AT ALL". have been given multiple excuses by their so called tech support. now they want $125.00 to send someone out to "diagnose" the problem. Tried to cancel and they said it would cost $300 to get out of the contract. I have 6 more months before the 15 month contract is over. Im paying 69.99 per month for NO CONNECTION. Im going to pay the $300. I think i will come out better. Shoot...I'll just stick with dial up. I would NEVER recommend HUGHES NET!!! I will also be looking into reporting them to the BBB!
A  2nd of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have called them twenty times in the last two months and its the same crap. I tell them I have done their routine hours of do this do that telephone junk and yet they say I have to do it each time I call. Its a joke. I am selling my house to get away from those Aholes. I feel for anyone who signs up with them. I signed up with no FAP and twice what I have now and they keep degrading my plan yet charge me the same every time. F them.
A  23rd of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
we got pewnet monday it worked gr8 the first 24 hours now it sucks ive been waiting for over 6 hours for a down load they are sh*t and any one who works for them has no self respect or integrity the goverment or state just some one get them shut down cuz we all just got hit in the most unexpected ways and they can kiss my ... while i stick a stiletto up theres
A  5th of Aug, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
u people are my heroes...im upset that i found this page 2 years after the last comment but better late than never...while my experience with hughesnet just took a turn for the worst i whole heartedly and 100% agree with just how horrible hughesnet is!!! when they say you need a clear view of the southern sky in the commercial it sucks that they mean it..the smallest cloud constantly disrupted my connection and infuriated me to the point of insanity. DO NOT PURCHASE HUGHES NET...i wish my family and nieghbors had just paid the 3000$ for road runner so i wouldn't have had to endure the past year and a half of knowing that it was 50/50 whether i could check my email that day!!! dont waste your time or money purchasing this crap!
A  23rd of Oct, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have had problems with hughesnet since the day I got my dish. I have have them mount the dish in cement and a few moths later it wobled loose and had all kinds of problems. once I got that fixed I had problems again, they said it was my hughesnet modem that went bad and I had to purchase a new one for a rediculous price, finally I griped so much they gave me one. now I can't surf very good and get error readings. they try to blame it on maleware and spyware. I told them BS! I have used trend micro and spybot and found none, then I had a computer tech check it out and nothing! hughenet will tell you anything just to brush you off! we will be getting dsl soon I hope. has anyone had problems with wild blue?
D  10th of Dec, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
Used Hugesnet for about two years and never..ever...not once...had a connection problem. Problems on specific websites, but other websites worked just fine. I wonder how many of above complainer tried accessing several sites before blaming HughesNet. Rock solid connection. No billing problems. Support was OK to GOOD. I had a funky telephone line and loved the rock solid HughesNet connection and speed. Using ATT now only since I'm broke and can't affored $60, $70 month, but if I could, I'd go back to HughesNet.
N  14th of Jun, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Ok, I have had similar problems as everyone else. My most resent problem has been constant disconnection. No one with tech support speaks English and they act as if I'm a fool when I call. Can we please get internet to rural customers? BTW I am all in favor for a class action law suit based on false advertising and blatent falsehoods.
A  14th of Jun, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Let's sue them!
A  14th of Mar, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
They are horrible, I normally am allotted just enough time to play an online game a few hours or so, which is usually enough, but now they are using that stupid FAP (the 'policy' that justifies hughes nets near criminal extortion of people who have no other internet options) and limiting my bandwidth even lower than normal, frequently my internet will go out for no reason, and technical support is nothing more than an outsourced JOKE! I highly reccommend going without internet for years, or even move closer into a town rather than deal with this frustrating joke of an ISP, they are nothing more than crooks taking advantage of people in need.

Post your Comment

Hughes Network Systems Logo Hughes Network Systems
Customer Service
841 3 Fountains Drive Unit 248
United States - UT84107
+1 844 797 7890
View Full Information

Reply to