SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Geeks on Sitescam fraud

Review updated:

I hired these people for 149 dollars to remotely fix my computer for viruses. I immediately noticed I could hear Spanish speaking people in the background and asked where they were located, they said Miami. They royaly screwed my computer up beyond repair and later charged my credit card anyway. I have reported them to the BBB and they have not replied. I called again later and finally got it out of the representative that they are located in Peru. Their website lied and they lied. "GEEKS ON SITE" IS FRAUD and a SCAM. THEY ARE IN SOUTH AMERICA and saying they are in Miami. I also called the Florida state taxes and they have several other problems for their lies. I finally just charged back for fraud and they didnt respond to that either. Geeks on site is a scam and after doing research they dont even have an office in Miami. They are blasted all over the internet for non-payment and fraud. Stay away at all costs!

Dy
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Co
      Apr 28, 2012

    I am a former tech for Geeks On Site and I absolutely agree with you about it being a scam. I think that they are Mexicans or some other Spanish speaking group. Another thing that they do is to charge the customer too much, their tech support isn't experienced/knowledgable, and one of their HR persons is rude, crude, and obnoxious. I think that people should stay away from Geeks On Site, because they are also dishonest.

    -2 Votes
  • Dy
      Apr 28, 2012

    Geeks on Site is all in Peru and south america. They are a sweatshop in Peru and the owner is George Otte who is a 5 inch tall tyrant who isnt even an american citizen. He hires losers for 400 dllars a month to answer the calls. They are as informed about computers as a Dollar General candy salesman. Mostly people who have warrants in the USA or are convicted drug addicts. I worked forhim in Peru. He bosses people around like Donald Trump but pays like Martha Stuart. Its a loser company with loser employess and owned by a 5 inch gay dude that doesnt care about employees or customers, just gay hookers and trying to look cool. How can a 5 inch half Barbie look cool? Impossible!!! George give it up and move to USA. Pay real wages loser. Heres a picture of their proud peruvian losers. You may see some on Americas most wanted. SERIOUSLY! George is the weird small guy in the middle with Stilletos!

    -3 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 02, 2014

    I looked in my local phone book for assistance for my computer. There is an AD for Geeks on Site. I didn't do any research which now I really regret. I was told that I would receive a call back when the tech was done, my computer froze so the job wasn't completed. This was done twice, I know I was stupid. The second time I called I talked to Omar who is the rudest person I have ever spoken to. At one point I did lose my patience and told him that he better listen to how he was saying things to me. He informed me that he would email the tech and I would hear from them in 24 hours. Everything must be done by email at this company. I did cancel the monthly fee so I wouldn't have to pay $149 each time, but when I called to see about the refund for a job not done I was told that they had to email the department and I would hear within 24 hours. That was that was one week ago! Will have to let the phone company know that they have a company in their yellow pages that is a fraud company.

    0 Votes
  • Dy
      Apr 02, 2014

    "Geeks On Site" Scam owned by non American "George Otte" Its a scam South American Company

    -2 Votes
  • Kr
      Mar 21, 2015

    I signed up with Geeks on site to help me with my computer. They told me it would be $24.99 to do a monthly maintenance. I called and ccancelled and 3 months later I receive a letter that my payment is past due. Get this they say I agreed to pay $99.80 per month for lifetime service----ugh I don't think so. So happy I lost my credit card!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Lu
      Mar 18, 2016

    I am a technician for this company and as a private contractor if I mess up I get send back at my expense and the company is so nice to give me at least the gas money even if its a warranty so they pay for advertisement, staff, a call center or two, dispatch center, HR, Q/A department continuous shifts, and a tech that comes out to you and can accommodate to rewire your system and blow it out Oh and yea fix it and make it to your needs, various times advised multiple customers based on the attack taken on them they should check bank and cards accounts to find out fraud happened from their hack all for a hourly price of $99 ph or $297 for four hours that time left is credited for life and they do all this to get a tech out to our loved costumers and they're bad how?

    Luis M.

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      Mar 30, 2016

    I think there isn't any company out there that get's good review's. I understand where people are coming from but why the hate? Who care's if the company is not in the state's. Maybe they want to save money, not pay high taxe's. Geeks on site has changed their enviorment and they do not have any convicted felons working there. For the tech that is complaining on these reviews...my guess is that he was fired for exchanging personal info with the customer's which is in the rule book. Watch who you lable "losers", these people work here because it's a high paying job and they have familie's to feed, how is that loserish? Peru doesnt have that many job's to offer, C'mon people get real!

    +1 Votes
  • Al
      Aug 22, 2017

    The “Geeks On Site Scam” is the worst decision I could have made. They agree and pretended to be on the same page as the customer who is just about to be scammed. The guy repeatedly mentioned they are familiar with Windows 10, not a chance when it comes to repairing a problem. The person who sang the praises of this company is another of their kind. The English sounds just like the foreigner they are, and NO, they don't know what they are doing - American people working for them as geeks don't know squat about what they are doing – there to help the rich get richer, so they make it up as they go - causing more problems and definitely not solving what they are paid to do. They do everything in their power to stay on the clock, which happened to me. It was also suggested Windows 10 was corrupt and I should purchase a new computer. I've just been bilked out of $247.50 and I agree they are scammers in the 1st degree. They should be closed down and sent back to prison. It is time something is done about foreigners infiltrating our country and taking advantage of the honest people. Please, INNOCENT PEOPLE don't get involved with GEEKS ON SITE! They will give you a high priced heartache that won’t go away. Trust me - this advice IS RIGHT ON THE MONEY!

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Oct 09, 2017

    I have used Geeks on Site for 4 years and have never had a problem. They have always been very professional and pleasant to work with.

    +2 Votes
  • Ca
      Dec 07, 2017

    Have used Geeks on site for 2 yrs now...I am an elderly lady..{85} very computer challenged but guess what ? They have always been so good with me...explaining very patiently when I don't understand. I have a hearing problem and when I ask them to speak slowly and clearly they oblige right away .And yes I have trouble with accents but they can slow down always make me understand. They do this cheerfully and patiently...they are way nicer than microsoft or my internet service provider...so perhaps SOME of you people out there are a bit biased about spanish speaking people ? You think ? Worked with the public myself my whole life...common courtesy invites courtesy . CW

    +1 Votes
  • Qw
      Feb 26, 2018

    Dylan 8's posts are contradictory so I wouldn't take his comments seriously. I've used them once when I got a virus and stayed and watched them work the whole time. They fixed the problem within the time frame they gave. I have found sometimes a tech will disappear while a program is running and not come back for a while, but that's the only issue I've had with them. When I called to complain about the delay, the tech came right back and finished the job. (I believe they work on multiple computers concurrently) They have always been polite and professional. I noticed something wasn't working correctly within a day and called them back and they fixed the issue immediately and at no extra charge since it was within the warranty time frame.

    +1 Votes
  • Qw
      Feb 26, 2018

    I'd like to add something after doing more research -- it appears that all the complaints are for techs coming to their homes. I only dealt with them online -- the tech worked on my computer remotely.

    -1 Votes
  • An
      Nov 06, 2018

    I used geeks on site about a year ago. All of a sudden yesterday I got a letter saying I owed them $148.50 They say they tried to get in touch before but couldn't How come this letter reached me?

    0 Votes
  • Em
      Feb 09, 2019

    well well well I am a current employee of Geeks on site and dealing with the public is never a piece of cake. as a CSR I get calls from customers who are polite and friendly, customers who are rude and think that they can mistreat people who are trying to help them only because they are paying some cash which is totally unfair. some customers will ill-treat you because you have an accent. I find this behaviour very close-minded we are all humans regardless of where we are and what language we speak. We always try our best to satisfy our customers. some of our customers will deliberately try to get their way and threaten us about reporting us to the BBB or FBI just to get their way. every company has their rules and policy, terms and conditions which of course are mentioned before we offer any service.
    1: 7 days warranty for the same issue we fixed but no customers will call for (Y) problem and after 2 or 3 weeks calls back to get free service or warranty and when we tell them that they are out of guarantee they will run to the social media to write bad reviews about us. we have a 2 hours window for the tech to arrive, it takes 24/48 hours to get a call back because we have thousands of customers in USA and Canada we are not perfect sometimes few new techs will mess up but we always make it up to our customers. all of our old techs take their Jobs seriously and personally they are so professional and they always look out for our customers. if we were posting recordings here or anywhere on the websites where we have a low rating, everyone will apologise to us for scandalizing our reputation. unfortunately, we are not able to satisfy everyone and the unsatisfied customers are the ones that will do this some of them called in saying that we messed up the computer but refused to show us what they are talking about and request refund that is so tricky. it's like buying a chicken take it home to cook it and go back to the supermarket the next day and tell them that they sold me a rotten chicken and I need my money back!!! where"s the chicken and the proof? aha! I wish I could explain so many scenarios here but it will take me years.. btw I love working with the older folks they are so much fun to work with some of them are deaf, some of them have health conditions, some makes me laugh on the phone, we have every kind of customers even the ones that cussed me up but we are still here providing services for everyone ... a little advice...social media is not the solution to our problems.. if there's a problem, let's fix it we have mouths to talk so why not talk about it ? will you be happy by seeing another business go down just because they did not live up to your expectation? the answer is NO nothing has changed even with all the negative posts and low ratings we still get new customers daily .. I would like to apologise to all those unsatisfied customers out there please know that it was never our intention to give you a bad experience give us a second chance to make it up to you no one is perfect and I am sure if you have given us the chance, we would have solved your problem. I love helping people and making sure their needs are met and their problems are solved. Peace and love from Geeks on Site :)

    0 Votes
  • No
      Apr 11, 2019

    The computer service "geeks on repair" supposedly based out of New York has been operating under a malicious business model since 2012.

    They outsource their work to small independant contracters, ask them to create problems with customers computers, and charge exhorbatant prices for simple fixes. After that they refuse to pay their contractors and pick up more from Craigslist and local advertisement.

    If you check their Twitter a majority of it is the owner ALL CAPS yelling about false reviews in an attempt to defend themselves.

    They're yelp, facebook, Twitter and better business bureau pages are alarming as all he'll. They've maliciously outted and posted pictures of customers and contractors.

    Check out Geeks On Repair (@geeksonrepair): https://twitter.com/geeksonrepair?s=09

    https://geeksonrepair.com/

    -1 Votes
  • Re
      Jun 28, 2019

    They did a con job on us, I had noticed that our neighbor had a geeks vehicle in front of his house and when we found we had a computer problem I figured my neighbor used them so I called them to fix our computer, that was a stupid mistake that I made. the paperwork said we would pay 53.12 for the service which I felt was worth it so I called them for help. bad mistake on my part they did charge the 53.12, however they charged this on our visa card and then continued and we ended up received and invoice of $534.00 instead of the 53.12, they also charged additional amounts of 534.00, 149.00 26.00 without my permission, do not ever call this people for service they are scammers and I am reporting them to the better business bureau so that folks will not be stupid and use there service they are only in for the money they can get from you nothing else. as stated first 53.12, then 534.00 then 149.00 and lastly 26.00 for labor, stay away from them and I am filling a lawsuit against them!!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment