Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Geeks On Site

Geeks On Site review: service 13

F
Author of the review
10:47 am EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

On Tuesday my laptop computer crashed and I thought I made the correct choice to call GEEKS. I was told that someone would get back to me to schedule a in-home repair. Tuesday evening at 9:31 p.m. a call come in from Miami, FL telling me that a tech would be at my house Wednesday between 10 & 2. After 4 p.m. my husband called and complained that no one showed up. They apoligized and promised a tech would be here on Thursday morning. Again, no one came. I called the Miami number and their dispatcher told me that someone would be at my door around 2 p.m. Needless to say again no one came. After calling again, I asked to speak to their supervisor and was told that my complaint would be recorded and AGAIN somone would be at my home Friday morning at my requested time (9:00 a.m.). After repeated calls to the 1-800 number, I did not receive any response from anyone. It is now Saturday morning and my laptop is still down and I have NOT received any phone transactions, no even to explain why their tech has not called or appeared at my door. MY ADVISE TO ANYONE IN NEED OF COMPUTER REPAIR IS TO FIND SOMEONE OTHER THAN THE "GEEK SQUAD". Their promotional ad to be there same day or the next is a lot of bull.

I do feel a little better writing this complaint.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

13 comments
Add a comment
T
T
TeeTee Marie
Sonora, US
Mar 24, 2024 2:37 am EDT

Whenever I have a problem, I call the Geeks on site. They are friendly, quick, professional and can solve the problem. No challenge they can't handle.

C
C
Carol Dunmire
New Bern, US
May 06, 2023 4:54 am EDT

Scammed me out of $500. John Millevoi is a crook.

C
C
Carol Dunmire
New Bern, US
Apr 26, 2023 8:43 am EDT

Too late to recover your money, John Millevoi should be in jail.

D
D
David 01
, US
Aug 03, 2022 1:12 am EDT

So sorry I did not see this site before hiring this company. This company made my computer problem worse so now I have to hire a real PC repair professional to repair it.

File a complaint with the BBB and then challenge the charge through your credit card company. This company needs to be investigated for what appears to fraudulent advertising.

A
A
Archie57
, US
Nov 14, 2018 5:15 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Incident: Sept 10-12. Computer repair.
[protected]
Took the money and ran without fixing the problem. A lot of time, money, and blood pressure wasted,
Want a refund, but no go.

B
B
BeaTaken
, CA
Aug 21, 2018 4:26 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I called within the 7 days to cancel my subscription. Paid $407 cad for 3 years. All they would refund me was $150 cad. What a rip off! They call themselves onsite geeks. They are onsite crooks!

B
B
bennett_tx
Pensacola, US
Jun 22, 2014 12:13 am EDT

I must say, I have read every review and the lot of you are crying over something ridiculous. One person doesn't know the difference between "Geek Squad" from Best Buy to an in-home technician from "Geeks on site". I am merely looking for reviews about this company and the reviews I am reading is due to your own incompetence. I know its frustrating losing a computer or electronic device. It has files on it that sometimes are just irreplaceable, its frustrating and you expect something for what you pay. Just an FYI to the person complaining about paying 25 bucks a month. If you were to go to "Geek Squad" they will charge you for an entire year worth of service at minimum you will pay $199, every time you go you will wait in line again at min 15min-2hours only to check it in and get it back 1-3 weeks later. If you would like in-home service from them it is a flat rate of $150 for the first hour. So, in turn, if you pay $25/mo= $300/yr, no waiting around for weeks, no hastle waiting hours in the store just to have to come back and explain whats wrong because they can't seem to get it right. That is a deal! I assume the 1 time fix for $25 bucks didn't set off a red flag for you as, "wow why is this so cheap!?!?" I assure you, that you did agree to the service plan as it is on the site and all the ads as to how they set up payment. Every one is mentioning the fact that their home office is out of Peru, they also have an office in Miami, so what!?!? Microsoft out sources to India, a few other companies that are trusted names who's technicians are not located in the US: Apple, AOL, AT&T, BANK OF AMERICA, BELL SOUTH, "BEST BUY!", CISCO SYS, COCA-COLA, COMPUSERV, DELL, DELPHI, DIRECT TV, EXXON, GE, HERSHEY, HP, IBM, INTEL. As you see I can go on and on, but since we are boycotting them for having an office in Peru, lets also not buy anything from these companies as well. To the person who has a friend with Microsoft...your friend is incompetent, he simply wiped your HDD and reinstalled the OS probably using a restore partition, you wasted beer and $30 because you cant press F11 and follow directions, also why did he even touch your zip drive? The crash didn't come from their and more than likely the consistant crashes are coming from you, perhaps had you followed up with a technician he could tell you what you are doing to make it crash, IE running the OS without proper drivers, which is user error, not them. The only legit reviews are from the person who had to call all week and set up appointments that are being missed "could be other reasons to that like your house may not be easy to find, may not show up on GPS, or you may have actually gotten a bad service tech, also "Ex-GeeksOnSite_Tech" and that is more of a review on working for them, and he seems more like a disgruntled employee than anything. If you are a 1099 contractor, then you knew going into the job you had to file your own taxes, if you are paying that much in taxes out of what you made, perhaps you should be writing reviews on H&R block's website to figure out how to file instead of here. Also you are worried about being treated as an employee?!?! You are a contractor, you are self employed and contracted through them, is that difficult to understand?!? You are NOT their employee, just do the job and quit crying about someone not sugar coating or patting you on the back. I hope that someone is reading these and finds my reply to be helpful and understands that not everyone is going to be happy with every company, sometimes companies do bad things that are unethical. These reviews are not apart of that group, these reviews are from ridiculous consumers that wouldn't be happy until its free and comes with a back massage. Over what I have read I am still going with them over Geek Squad, look up complaints on Geek Squad, there are for sure REAL complaints about things they have done.

W
W
Wayne6422
Fenton, US
Sep 22, 2011 1:04 am EDT

I paid $149.95 for Geeks on Site to fix my crashed computer out of desparation in March of 2011. Thought that was the end of it. Then cam my bnak statements. Like clockwork, $24.95 was coming out of my debit card account for the next 6 months. Calls to them only resulted in frustration to stop the madness, claiming that I verbally agreed to a monthly "subscription to the company." Never did, never would. I assumed charges were for software put on my computer. However about 3 months ago after another crash, I began wondering what exactly they did for the #24.95 per month. So, this time, I took my computer to a friend who works for MS. He had to strip everything off and all info was lost that wasn't on my zip drive. My computer is running fine now. All it cost me was some beer and 30 bucks. In order to stop the automatic debits, I changed my debit card information, and told a heavily accented manager there named "JP, " I would not be need ing there service any longer. By the way, this company manager stated they were located in Miami, FL.
My advice: 1.) Never use this company or contact them. 2.) If you do, be prepared to be fleeced at a monthly rate of $24.95 until perpetuity, or you figue out a way to get out of their "verbal phone agreement, " by changing your debit card information.

W
W
wstcyr23
Worcester, US
Mar 23, 2011 9:38 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Very true they are liars and con artists buyer beware!

E
E
Ex-GeeksOnSite_Tech
Miami, US
Mar 23, 2011 8:03 pm EDT

I have worked for GeeksOnSite or GeeksOnSiteUSA (as they are trying to start calling themselves) for 2 years and I recently quit. Working for them as an on-site tech is a story on its own. The way they treated me was not always the way I wanted. They are very cheap. They also make their techs try to suck out as much money out of their clients as possible. They do this by telling techs to feed the clock when ever possible. I always found this hard to do, especially when they charge anywhere from $79 - $129 an hour. They also lie to their techs and their clients about the fact that they are really located at Lima, Peru and not Miami, Florida. Here is a link that a whistle blower posted about them: /link removed/ This is very accurate and I think it is 100% true. In the end, I realized that working for them was pointless because I was considered a contractor and I had to fill out a 1099 tax return. I made about $3, 800 and I was taxed about $1, 200. IT IS NOT WORTH IT. The also do not like paying for gas unless you drive at least 28 miles to the job and they will only give $10 for it. They don't care that you also need to drive back and the time that you waste driving. They do not care about their techs and they sure as hell do not care about their clients.

W
W
wstcyr23
Worcester, US
Nov 05, 2009 7:31 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This is a fraud company who don't verify employment history. Please review the following posts on this site.



Help spread the word about this unethical firm.

View 0 more photos
A
A
123445
los angeles, US
Oct 08, 2009 2:07 pm EDT

Geeks onsite is also in peru, they are not in miami.

D
D
Dylan Schroeder
Boston, US
Sep 21, 2009 11:10 am EDT

You didn't call the Geek Squad, you called Geeks Onsite. That's your problem.

  1. Geeks On Site Contacts

  2. Geeks On Site phone numbers
    +1 (888) 360-4335
    +1 (888) 360-4335
    Click up if you have successfully reached Geeks On Site by calling +1 (888) 360-4335 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Geeks On Site by calling +1 (888) 360-4335 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Geeks On Site by calling +1 (888) 360-4335 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Geeks On Site by calling +1 (888) 360-4335 phone number
  3. Geeks On Site emails
  4. Geeks On Site address
    2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd., 3rd Floor, Coral Gables, Florida, 33134, United States
  5. Geeks On Site social media
  6. Michael
    Checked and verified by Michael This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 15, 2024
Geeks On Site Category
Geeks On Site is ranked 123 among 140 companies in the Computers, Phones and IT category
Trending companies
O-KAM
7 reviews
Lexilogic
10 reviews
TSVE
1 review
KeyCheck
1 review