The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Flemington Hyundai / worst car dealer, don't buy here

1 180 US Hwy 202/31 FlemingtonFlemington, NJ, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: (908) 788-4227

This is my first car purchase and I have been cheated morally and financially.
I first spoke to Mark Vehling about the car I wanted (Hyundai Sonata Limited), on May 6, 2011 and he confirmed the availability of the car by May 23, 2011.He even provided me with the VIN number.
I had to trust him because he gave me the VIN number, using which I even purchased Auto insurance and was waiting for some documentation work to be done.I did made a deposit of $500 to reserve the car for me.
But, another person name Bart called me the next week and confirmed that the car had arrived early and is ready for pick up.I had asked him if they can hold the car for few more days as I have to complete so documentation work to get my new license from New York state.I did make the deposit only after getting assurance that they can hold the car for me.
Finally, when I planned everything and was about to pick up the car in another three days, I tried to reach them (Mark, Bart) to finalize my finance options.They never got back to me and made their assistant Frank speak to me every time.Believe me this guy Frank is very rude over phone he simply said that the car has been sold out.Worst part is they do not even have some common sense to update me that the car has been sold out until I kept on calling them and emailing them.Then why the hell did they take deposit from me(i didn't get it back yet)???? and giving free suggestions to continue searching in the market.Never ever go to this dealer.I have all the email conversations I had with these guys.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating


  • Wh
      24th of May, 2011
    -1 Votes

    Call the owner of Flemington Hyundai - both men are supposed to be good businessmen & should be able to help!

  • Lu
      30th of Jun, 2011
    0 Votes

    I may have recieved your car. The dealer, the time frame, the names of the people involved, the story of the VIN# and $500 deposit, delivery date etc. are all the same. But you may be fortunate. My May 20th purchasing experience was a 3 hour demeaning ordeal. I had an email agreement with Flemington Hyundai via AAA's Car Buying Program to purchase a car enroute, to arrive May 23rd. It supposedly came in early. The purchasing agreement they gave me to sign did not have my $500 deposit, my $500 Hyundai loyalty rebate and it had $595 in options I did not order or agree to in the email agreement. They are using the AAA Buying Program as a lure to rip off senior citizens like myself. I documented all of this to Hyundai and recieved no reply, so I guess they just don't care. I'm also awaiting a reply from AAA.

  • Wh
      14th of Jul, 2011
    0 Votes

    AAA's contract with dealers says that they MUST honor all verbal and written agreements. Has AAA contacted you?

  • Ci
      12th of Aug, 2011
    0 Votes

    SCAM SCAM SCAM! Please do not go to this dealership. Complete rip off! The sales manager offered me a deal lower than any other dealership but when I got approval on my loan the car turned out to be $3000 more than the quote. They tried to hide this fact by only giving me monthly payment numbers but when I demanded to see the bottom line price of the car I realized they lied. I got a much better deal from an honest sales person at the lehigh valley pa location who told me that flemington ran my credit with 8 banks before appealing with Hyundai financing since they would get a kick back from the bank. Flemington was also going to charge me an additional 1% apr than I was approved for. Luckily I had a horrible gut feeling and did not buy from them.

  • Hy
      12th of Aug, 2011
    0 Votes

    NEVER EVER GO HERE! the manager lied about the price of a car, it was scam after scam. they are crooks at this dealership. they made up fees that weren’t even supposed to be charged, they said our loan interest rate was 4.9 when it was really 3.9…. no wonder they’re making all these promises about free oil changes for life and crap.. they scam you and lie to get extra money! we ended up going to lehigh valley and spent a couple THOUSAND less on the same brand new car. the flemington hyundai also said that they would get the color we wanted in the car that we were thinking about purchasing, but never did. they even lied about the price of the car we wanted, because we looked online and saw that it was $24, 000 and they claimed it was $26, 000! all they’re after is the money and they do not think about the customers. and they were practically blocking us from the door when we didn’t want to buy the car. just never go here.

  • Wh
      29th of Aug, 2011
    0 Votes

    Typical slimy new car dealer - there are 100's of complaints against Flemington Hyundai - Why even go there when you've been warned??

  • Yp
      28th of Sep, 2011
    0 Votes

    never go there again, I made an email offer, went in to pickup the car only to find out the agreed offer did not include the $800 destination charge. They insist it's how Hyundai and the dealership business and continued to insult us by saying how they run a business and not a charity and attempt to talk all kinds of crazy things to me I never heard of from other dealerships. I should've told them I've bought Lexus, Acura, Infiniti and currently drive a BMW and never had to deal with this lind of low life crab before. If they contact me again I will . . .

  • Ac
      10th of Apr, 2013
    0 Votes

    Just found out the hard way about Flemington Hyundai and Mazda. I bought a brand new mazda cx-5 and they took the car in for service and washed it completely scratching every body panel with hundreds of fine scratches in the clear coat. I was absolutely horrified when they brought my car around to me. They of coarse offered to fix it, but when they gave it back to me they only covered up what they did with wax and on top of that, got paste wax residue all over the black body moulding. I then demanded they have professionals not their inept service people fix the damage. They did a much better job but still missed a few areas. I agreed that if they fixed the few remaining areas and threw in a tow hitch as compensation I would be satisfied. That's when their servie manager Briana got nasty and said she did not have to do anything for me. She hung up on me after I told her I could also get an attorney. Then I called Mazda headquarters who was of no help. The dealership will not let me speak to the owners. I have now filed a small claims case against them in Hunterdon county. DO NOT BUY FROM THESE UNPROFESSIONAL PEOPLE !! THEY DO NOT ANYTHING BUT YOUR HARD EARED MONEY

Post your comment