Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Circuitcity.com / No resolution in site

9950 Mayland DriveRichmond, VA, United States Review updated:
1
Contact information:

On 10/6/07 I went online and ordered: Canon CanoScan 4400f Color Image Scanner for $113.98. I Paid the extra for 3 day shippingOn 10/10/07 I received: Canon PIXMA MP520 All-In-One Photo Printer

***I called 4 times on 10/10/07, spoke to 4 different Circuit City employees, to try and let someone know I was sent the wrong item. Each time I would give them the same information and each time I was told it would take 2 weeks to research the information. The item that was sent to me was no longer on the Circuit City website and had come from a warehouse that no longer carried the item. I kept telling them this was not my problem; just send me what I ordered. They could not send me the correct item I paid for nor could they pick up this item and issue me a refund until it was researched. The last person I spoke to told me to take it to the nearest Circuit City store. I told him, the nearest store to me was in another state. That is why I ordered it on line. This employee, who works for Circuit City, told me to just keep what I got. It is better and more expensive than what I had ordered. I told him I could not do this. This was the same thing as stealing. I was given incident # IM692664.

***I work 60 hours a week so I do not have time to call Circuit City everyday and hang on the phone for hours at a time. Otherwise, I would have.

***I do not have the exact dates but it is on your call record that I tried 2 other times to get this issue resolved.***On 11/25/07, which was the first chance I got, I went to the nearest Circuit City located in Pensacola Florida. They informed me they could not take the item nor could they exchange the item because it was bought online. (So much for your NO HASSEL RETURNS policy) The young woman at Circuit City customer service did call the online number at 2:32 P.M. and was on hold for over an hour. The whole time I'm standing at the counter with unhappy customers lining up behind me. She spoke to Ken ID #617078 and then to a supervisor named LE ID #616020. Le told her a case worker would be contacting me in a couple of days to correct this problem. The supervisor told her to tell me to keep the Canon PIXMA MP520 All-In-One Photo Printer for all the trouble I had been having. I have the customer service representative and her manager as a witness to this. I relayed back to her that I have no use for it. It is too big and bulky. Before I left, the customer service manager told me that I could sell the PIXMA and get my money back. I told him NO. He then offered to take the PIXMA off my hands, so I wouldn't have to take it back to Alabama. He said he would personally see that it was sent back to the correct warehouse. Now this is the same Circuit City Manager who just informed me he couldn't take it back at that store because it was bought online. Is everyone that works for Circuit City a thief?***On 11/26/07, I received a message from a Circuit City employee who told me there were incomplete details for case #265599. I needed to call [protected] AND HIT OPTION #1. I tried several times that week to GET THIS TAKEN CARE OF BUT COULD NOT. However I did speak to several other Circuit City employees who asked me the same questions as before and still couldn't answer my questions.***On 12/6/07, I spoke to Jennifer about case #417152 and was told a refund had been issued.***On 12/18/07, at 9:56 a.m., I received a message from Shante who works for Circuit City. She said Donte was the case manager for #417152 and would be calling me in 2 or 3 business days with either a resolution or an update. ***On 12/19/07 I tried to reach Dontel at [protected]. I spoke to Mikeal ID #591404 who informed me that Mark was my case manager and a refund would be issued within 7-14 days. (I told him then it wasn't going to happen and I would be calling back in January.)***On 1/8/08, I called and reached a supervisor by the name of James. He said he had no ID # but did give me his extension which is 17656. Once again I told my story. He said he had to take this to his supervisor, who he would not let me talk to, and it would either be resolved in my favor or it wouldn't be resolved in my favor. I tried to get him to explain to me what this meant but all he would say was give him a chance to clear this up and he would be calling me. (I told him he won't be calling me because it will not be resolved.) He asked me to verify that I wanted my original item and I wanted to keep the PIXMA too or I wanted a refund of my money and I wanted to keep the PIXMA. I tried to tell him that I never received my item or refund, I have no use for the PIXMA and it was given to me not only 1 time but 2 different times.

***I placed and order back in October of 2007. Since then I have been trying to get the correct item shipped to me or get a refund of ALL my money. I have the wrong item sent to me then given to me 2 different times, and this last supervisor makes it sound like I want something for nothing. I am an honest person who has been trying to get his taken care of for 3 months. I do not understand what the hold up is.

I emailed these people:

Chief_Executive AT circuitcity.com">Chief_Executive AT circuitcity.com

amhenderson AT kaufcan.com">amhenderson AT kaufcan.com

Teresa.Finch AT vdacs.virginia.gov">Teresa.Finch AT vdacs.virginia.gov

Mary_Louise_Roberts AT circuitcity.com">Mary_Louise_Roberts AT circuitcity

The last week of January 2008, I received a copy of the letter that the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services sent to Circuit City asking them to contact them within 7 days to determine if a mutual acceptable solution could be reached. Today I received an email from Circuit City. It was an APPROVED RETURN REQUEST NOTIFICATION for the flat bed scanner that I never received. Here is the kicker----"FOR YOU CONVENIENCE, YOU MAY CHOOSE TO RETURN YOUR PURCHASE AT YOUR LOCAL CIRCUIT CITY STORE AND AVOID PAYING RETURN SHIPPING CHARGES." I forwarded their email to the Department of Agricultureand Consumer Services.
Va
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Al
  29th of Aug, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - Frustrating and disappointing experience
United States

This is just a warning for anyone considering mailing anything from Circuit City to a member of a deployed military person.

My son wanted an MP3 player, so I ordered one from Circuit City to be sent directly to him at his APO address. It was sent and received with no problems. He charged the player and started to download songs, and the player stopped working. He tried emailing the manufacturer, who tried to help, but the player was defective and nothing could be done.

I tried to contact Circuit City by email, but was not able to do a return on the website, so I called the phone number they provided. They were not very nice about it, but she emailed me return labels for the items (the player and the charger were sent in the same package, but apparently they wanted them to be returned separately!), but the labels indicated that unless the items were returned to a store, he would have to pay the postage. This was amazing since I had already explained to the person on the phone that the item was defective and my son was in Afghanistan.

All of the above occurred within 2 days of receipt of the defective player. I emailed Circuit City immediately that I did not think it was appropriate to charge my son return postage for a defective item. Three days later, I received a form letter giving me the same information and phone number I had received originally. I emailed them back right away, again explaining the situation. I also notified my credit card company at this point.

Five days later I received another email with another telephone number. This has been frustrating and disappointing. My son works nights and is not in a position at this point to hold on to the item, so he has paid to return it just to not have to deal with this any more. On the only humorous note in all of this, the little post office where he had to go did not have any change, so he had to give them $8.00 for $7.05 in postage!
Va
  19th of Oct, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - I will NEVER buy anything from these clowns again!
United States

Hello all,

I bought my tv in 2004, I got an Hitachi 50" RP LCD that cost me over $4000 and got the extended warranty as I wanted to protect my investment. So after a 5k purchase all was fine when I got it home and set up but after about 2 months I noticed a blurry patch appear on the screen so i called CC and explained my problem. They sent out a tech who found the screen defective and replaced it within 2 weeks.

Satisfied so far...

But here is where my experiences start to go down hill.

8 weeks ago I started to notice another blurry patch and so called CC on Monday, explained to them and they arranged a tech to come out the following weds. But within that time waiting for the tech the tv started to act possessed, it would shift the picture to the right and put up a grid on the screen.

So when the tech came out his first response was "How can you watch that ?", he said it was a well documented problem on this tv and he would order the part needed. I got a very positive feeling after this and understand these things happen so i went back to work happy knowing its being handled. Well I didnt hear anything so I called CC after a week and was told that they ordered the part and we arranged again for me to take time off work.

So when the tech came he took 1 look and also noticed a green patch that I hadn't noticed. He checked through the tv settings and said it required a different part, so after determining what parts it needed he went away and ordered the new part and would fit both at the same time... a week later we arranged a time for him to come and fit them.

But by now the tv started to flash different colors and lose contrast intermittently so when he showed up he looked puzzled and said that is a different part that we needed to fit and he would have to order it.

So, as of that point I had had the screen replaced and had an engine, bulb, lens and controller card on order. Well the parts were backordered and when I spoke to CC to find out how long this will be I was told it would be another 2 weeks.

Well, 2 weeks ago the tech came out again to fit the parts and guess what ????... can you guess ?... it now requires a completely different part as well and he would like to fit them all at the same time. So I told him that I am now tired of being patient and just want a frickin tv i can watch.

Now the tech has been excellent and understanding but he did say that it looks like I need a new tv so when I asked him to mention that to CC he implied that CC will do whatever they can to avoid that. But at this point the amount of the parts I have on order is more than $2,000 not including the labor.

I have called every day for the last 2 weeks to find out what is happening with my claim and just been pushed aside and told to expect a call and NO ONE has called me.

Today im told that they will send a tech out next week to fix the tv... 8 weeks later. I will NEVER buy anything from these clowns again.

So now I sit here with a broken tv waiting on CC to pull their finger out... 8 weeks and counting. Be warned.
Va
  11th of Jan, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - Don't count on getting your online order
CircuitCity.com
United States
www.circuitcity.com

Ordered an LCD TV for my son for Christmas online, to be picked up in their Shreveport store on 12/18/07. Went to the store on 12/22. Waited in line to get to the pickup counter. Gave the ID and credit card info., and was given a pickup ticket to sign indicating I had received the TV, while the lady called back to have someone bring the TV up. After about 20 minutes and a couple of calls by her back to the storeroom, I asked her to get a manager. She paged a manager to come to the counter. Ten minutes later, still no manager. I grabbed a guy walking by with a headset on, and although not a manager he tried to help. Ten minutes later, he comes to me and says that they must have sold the last one just a few seconds before my order came through. I told him the order was four days ago. Then he suggested that their inventory was wrong... or that maybe the TV had been stolen... yep, stolen. He offered to "special-order" one and call me when it came in, only to find out that the system "wouldn't let them" order it. I asked to speak to a manager (since he had been running off to consult with one) and was told that all their managers were "too busy" to talk to me. World's worst customer service and attitude.

Could this be one of their bait and switch promotions? I've read a lot about those on the web since.
Va
  14th of Jan, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - Gloats over consumers misfortune
CircuitCity.com
1100 Circuit City Road
Marion
Illinois
United States
www.circuitcity.com

ZTG Tower with keyboard, mouse & C-H-E-A-P broken Plastic speakers

I ordered and received a ZTG Desktop tower. When I opened the box containing the speakers I found the knob of the volume speaker pushed in and broken. Called to request if I could just return the speakers for new ones at a local Circuit City store and was told I had to put everything back together in the huge box this set came in and take it in just to exchange bitty CHEAP PLASTIC speakers no bigger than my palm. I live 30 miles from a major metropolis and the aggravation, my gas, my time spent doing this unwarranted task just to "exchange" speakers is unreasonable! I was basically told that's the way "CIRCUIT CITY" wants it done with no consideration to the buyer who "HAD" trusted their product and honored what they sold in "GOOD FAITH!" To re-wrap the tower, wrestle with having to put the whole darn thing back in the box and gas up at a CO$T to me, not to mention my time given, these are the only conditions CIRCUIT CITY would accept. When you calculate your time, energy and cost for a C-H-E-A-P pair of plastic speakers the cost to me GREATLY EXCEEDS the benefit therefore their policy has made an UNHAPPY CONSUMER! Bottom line: "CIRCUIT CITY GLOATS OVER CONSUMERS MISFORTUNES."
Va
  29th of Jan, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - You CAN'T TRUST Circuit City!
CircuitCity.com
United States
www.circuitcity.com

I ordered the Call to Duty 4 Game for Christmas. When the order arrived the Box had a Call to Duty 4 Game Box but No Game CD or Instructions. What I did have was a Swivel Sweeper Instruction Guide. When I called I Talked to a Jesmind and Got a complaint Number. I was told that I would receive a call from someone within a week. NO ONE CALLED!! I called back and Talked to Emilie. She said there was no record of the Complaint so she gave me another Complaint Number and I was told a new Game would be shipped and would arrive within 14 days. It has been 14 days and no game.. It seems you CAN'T TRUST Circuit City, At All. I am tired of the run around...
De
  8th of May, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
What is the heck you are taking out of my checking account? $7.81 both times? Put it back as it is causing my check to be overdrawn!
Va
  13th of May, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - They've sold me a computer that did not work
Circuitcity.com
United States
www.circuitcity.com

I bought an Acer desktop that worked terribly. I took it back 2 and a half weeks later and was told I had only 14 days to take it back. I showed them the huge sign on the wall near the exit door in the store that says all returns must be returned within 30 days. The employee there said that that does not apply to computers. For computers I only have 14 days. When I asked how am I suppose to know that. He said it is on the back of the receipt. How is a consumer supposed to know that they are supposed to read the back of a receipt? Besides when the clerk gave me the receipt he had formed it into a roll because it was so long. He never said, sir you have to read the back of it. Never told me I had 14 days to return it. Never said anything. I wrote a letter to Circuit City’s main office and they said that their policy is that all computers have to be returned within 14 days, and they are not going to make any Acceptations for me. So now I ma stuck with a computer that don't work. But I will not shop at Circuit city again..
Do
  29th of May, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I bought an Acer desktop that worked terribly. I took it back 2
Un
  20th of Apr, 2012
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

CircuitCity.com - They've sold me a computer that did not work
circuitcity.com
United States

I ordered Logitech product from circuitcity.com for $79, it was supposed to be $100 but I had discount coupon so I used it during checkout. Item arrived and it was ok but my card was charged full $100. I contacted them but they refused to refund me.

Post your comment

Submit
Circuit City Stores Logo Circuit City Stores
Customer Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

62 Reviews
9950 Mayland
Richmond
VA
United States - 23233
+1 877 234 8013
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send