SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Chevrolet 2500 hd6.6 duramax fuel injectors

1
G Review updated:

I have a 2003 Chevrolet 2500 HD pickup with the 6.6 Duramax diesel engine. At 35, 000 mi the fuel injectors went bad and they were replaced under warrenty. The injectors carry a 7yr 200, 000 mi warrenty. At 81, 000 and 6 yrs, only 46, 000 from the first replacement, the injectors went bad again. I took the vehicle to a dealer and they charged me $190 to inspect and tell me what was wrong. They stated my injectors were bad but not covered under the warrenty??? They stated that cleaning the injectors needed to be done. I paid the $300 to clean the injectors, but the injectors were still bad. The dealer stated that GM would not replace the injectors under warrenty because they were not bad, but the truck still wasn't running correct. I ask if my injectors were bad and they stated yes but not under warrenty?? They said it would cost $5000 to fix, I said NO! I came home and called GM customer care, issues with warrenty, and told them my story. They in there wisdom called the dealer to find out the story and only took there side. They told me that they would not cover my bad injectors because the dealer said so, no second opinion or anything, just no. I still don't understand why they won't replace my injectors but are giving fair warning to everyone else out there that this has to do with $$ and if you are thinking about a new vehicle it would be wise to get away from any GM product as they are sure to go under with the way they treat there customers. I for one am switching to Ford and will never purchase a GM product again.

Responses

  • J
      Nov 20, 2009

    2003 2500 Duramax Crewcab 4x4 91, 000 miles, and white/gray smoke from exhaust at idle. Dealer told me 5 injectors sticking, and $3000.00 to replace these five, as they are not covered under the extended injector warranty.

    Time for a new P/U, and it WILL NOT ever be another GM Product. You see, I also have a 1996 Dodge 2500 ex-cab, 4x4 Diesel, 209, 000 miles and still going strong, despite driving it like I stole it.

    Why would anyone buy a GM Duramax if they won't sytand behind their product?

    0 Votes
  • P
      Dec 27, 2009

    i would say time to find a new dealer and dont go ford i had a 2003 f-250 had 16 injectors 4egr valves and and numerous updates that everytime hurt the performance on the vehicle in warranty total of 16 injectors out of warranty a high pressure oil pump 4 more egr valves inline fuel pump radiator injector wiring harness turbo cleaning and last but not least an ipr and icp valve work done in warranty worth $7200 in two years in the one year out of warranty grand total 12, 350 dollar +- a couple bucks now i have a 2003 duramax 155k miles no problems just a lot of oil changes dont do a ford it will be your biggest regret

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 12, 2010

    20o5 duramax diesel lly w/(78900) miles injector issues with moisture contamination ???????.

    The problem I'm having is the warranty (GM) will not cover injectors due to moisture for a prolonged time that has rusted the hard lines going to the injectors. A Question I had given to the gm costumer assistance people is why do the install an item that would be potential to rusting and no real explanation to that was given but that I have moisture or have had moisture.
    I have talked to a diesel fuel quality assurance person for shell oil and was told the caricaturists of diesel would have moisture in it and is inevitable. That is why they put water separators in diesel run products and diesel is a low refined product and still meets quality standards.

    R&R of fuel tank steam clean tank replace all hard lines with new, fuel rail's injectors (NEW) will not install re manufactured.

    This repair through the dealer is costing me $6700.00
    This is to get even for the recall for the earlier models the(GM) had accrued.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Sep 14, 2010

    The injectors on my 2003 HD failed at 60, 000, they were replaced under warranty. At 96, 000 they have failed again. This time the dealer says I am liable. Apparently the 100, 000 mile power train warranty doesn't cover second time repairs which are only warranted for 12, 000 miles or 12 months.
    Has anyone started a group law suit?

    0 Votes
  • B
      Oct 25, 2010

    2003 Chevy 3500. Number set of injectors. 260, 000 miles. Dealer said I was using dirty fuel. Bull!!! Last set lasted 75, 000 miles. they assurded me that that is the life of a set. Bull! Going to look at a Dodge. I have brought my last GM product. If a law suit gets started, I'll be in line for that.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Nov 27, 2010

    2003 Chev Duramax, injectors replaced by Chevrolet at 70, 000 miles, 4 years later (140, 00 miles) they went bad again, seems they are only good for 70, 000 miles. Even though I was told the first replacement set was warrantied for 100, 000 miles it was only for 3 years, $4, 000.00 out of my pocket repaired the problem, they did discount the repair by 20%. This, combined with a new transfer case, $2, 000.00, (pump rub if you are not familure with the problem) has convinced me to not buy another GM truck.

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Dec 07, 2010

    03 gmc 3500 duramax inj done at [protected] 2 bad again gm didnt do crap im x gm tech @ service writer i know when thier blowing more smoke than my truck so i did them my self # 2 4 6 8 found little bits of metal some rusty in top of injectors none in tubing at all must of came from injector pump i replaced it too runs great pump came from gm reman injectors came from advance auto new gm only offers reman same price or cheaper it does take a injector tool gm will take our tax bail but know help for us thanks james in florida

    0 Votes
  • B
      Dec 07, 2010

    Just to let you all know and thank you. We are looking for a truck. After reading this site and a few others, the Chevy is out. We can deal with any make having "lemons" or a few with certain problems, but we can't deal with a manufacturer who doesn't stand behind their product. Thanks to all of you for the warning.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 12, 2011
    Chevrolet - Slick salesmen
    Chevrolet
    United States

    Hanner chevy BAIRD TEXAS SOLD ME A CHEVY 2500 P/U WITH 88, 000 MILES. NOW i FIND OUT it has blown head gaskets. The salesman[Justin] said he knew the man who owned it, boy they must be good friends.I drove it for a mile to try it out and they say it was ok when I drove it. Now another chevy dealer, [a good one] says the gaskets are blown, and I will have to pay 3, 500 dollars.They said they have been blown for a lon time. Hanner don't care. They won't help me at all.please gosome where else to buy your vehicle, so you won't get ripped off.

    +1 Votes
  • L
      May 09, 2011

    I'm going through the same problem, I paid for the 6 yeAr warranty, , why I have no idea, I bought the truck to haul my toybox so now with low miles well 48k low for 8 years old now I have the injector problem and now I got to pay out the ### for a problem that GM new about so instead of keeping there customers happy they are trying to rape me to fix it, I did take it in for one recall the tailgate cables, and what really pissed me off they could have had enough decency to take the made in china stickers off the cables so when I open my tailgate I didn't have to stare at the made in china on my chevy truck, sad situation when USA can't even make a little stupid cable.

    -1 Votes
  • L
      May 20, 2011
    Chevrolet - Misrepresentation
    Chevrolet
    Saint Louis
    Missouri
    United States

    I bought a new 2010 Suburban Diamond edition and the marketers called the wheels Chrome so when i went to weber chevrolet the sticker said chrome clad the dealer said they were the same thing just it was an aluminium base clad with chrome then after purchasing the vehicle the wheel started to bubble which was replaced by warranty. Since the wheel was not metal i thought i sould take it back to weber but then sales department said they thought it was really crome clad not plastic clad the part department then looked at the wheel and thought the same thing then tapped the wheel and could tell it was plastic he called some of the other local chevy dealers and same thing no one knew that chrome clad was really plastic clad. I then contacted GM and the idiot on the phone said " Leroy Did you look at the wheel from under the truck?" i then responded" no why would I look at the window sticker and then l0ok at the wheel from under a new truck" now GM will not do anything and i understand why people say these things

    CHEVROLET= Constantly Having Every Vehicle Recalled Over Lousy Engineering Techniques

    CHEVROLET= Can Hear Every Valve Rattle On Long Extended Trips.

    CHEVROLET= Cheap, Hardly Efficient, Virtually Runs On Luck Every Time.

    CHEVROLET= Cracked Heads, Every Valve Rattles, Oil Leaks Every Time.

    CHEVROLET= Can Hear Every Valve Rattle, Oil Leaks, Engine Ticks.

    CHEVROLET= Cheap Heavy Equipment, Very Rusty, Overly Loved, Eventually
    Towed

    CHEVY= Cheapest Heap Ever Visioned Yet

    GMC= Garage Man's Companion

    GMC= Gotta Mechanic Coming

    GMC= Gay Mans Chariot

    GM= General Mistake

    GM= Glued Metal

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jun 27, 2011

    I have an 01' with 88, 280 miles on it. Blowing black smoke going up hills and when I accelerate. Service engine light comes and goes off on its own. GM dealership said I am on my own out of warranty. GM help line says they will see if they can help. We will see.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jun 27, 2011
    Chevrolet - The dealer that sold us our 2001 Chevrolet 3500 truck tried to charge us for problems that didn't exist
    2001 Chevrolet 3500
    United States

    We took our truck in for a few things, including: Battery check, driver's window not going down, license plate light out, check brakes and center console does not open.

    The dealer we purchased the truck from did a diagnostic test to check battery {which is not what we wanted}, fixed the window, which was under warranty, somehow we ended up with two bulbs out, checked the brakes and told us that the inner pads needed to be changed and the rotors turned, and the center console was not covered under warranty.

    A dealer representative called to let me know how much the bulbs and the brakes were going to be and I chose not to have the brakes done there.

    We took our truck to our hometown mechanic and he told us there was absolutely nothing wrong with our brakes.

    So, although we did not have to have the brakes done, we feel that we paid the Chevrolet dealer $90.00 to change two bulbs.

    I forgot to mention that we bought our truck from this dealer five months ago.

    They were also going to check the ABS system and charge us for cleaning the sensors. I was only quoted a price for the ABS cleaning, the brake job and two bulbs.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Nov 04, 2011

    I've got an 04 and thus far have had no problem until at 151, 000 miles I am getting a cylinder 4 misfire. I'm trying to up the additives and see if it'll go back to normal. Was thinking of having dealer do an ijector cleaning. Any thoughts?

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 07, 2011
    Chevrolet - Bad Product
    Chevrolet India
    India

    I purchased a Chevrolet Beat 1.2 LT on July 15, 2011. Upon usage of the car I
    realized that the same had inherent problems from day one:

    1.

    There a prominent banging noise coming out from the rear of the car.
    The Mileage of the car is very poor 8 kms (approx.) per liter of petrol.

    2.

    The Senior Sales Manager at the Dealership confirmed that the mileage at 8 km
    per litre initially is alright and same will improve to around 12 later. The mileage
    of 18 km mentioned in the brochure is never achieved and is only as per test
    conditions of ARAI. One of their sales representative mentioned that the resale
    value of the car would be Rs. 3.50 Lac, a loss of more than 1.50 Lac in one month
    and 700 km!! The dealers kept the car for a long time confirming my opinion that
    the car came with inherent defects and my requests of refund have fallen on deaf
    ears.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Jan 05, 2012
    Chevrolet - Lemon/ Poorly built vehicle/motor/parts
    General Motors
    Merriam
    Kansas
    United States

    I purchased a 2005 Chevy Equinox in May 2006 with just under 26k miles on it. It was the only used Equinox on the lot that did not come "certified" I should have know right then something was wrong. I also should have wondered why the vehicle was almost five grand less than all other comparable vehicles. I assumed I was just in the right place at the right time and signed on the dotted line. That was my first mistake. The problems began immediately, with the suspension, the sounds, the cooling system, the list goes on and on. The real problem has been the engine. In 2008 with less than 50k miles on it the head gasket blew. GM refused to do anything, because of course my warranty was over and it was not a certified used car with the extended warranty they were not liable. So I paid over two grand and had it repaired. A year later with 80ish thousand miles head gasket blew again, I called GM again, of course to be told there is nothing they can or will do, paid another two grand and had the vehicle repaired again. Yesterday 1/4/2012 while driving down the highway with my three daughters in the car, my car started smoking out the tailpipe so bad I couldn't see anything behind me, my car eventually died in the middle of the highway. I have since learned my head gasket has again blown. I of course called GM, to speak to a foreign person in another country and be told, GM has no recourse and there is no recall involving my VIN. I have read and read and read about the consumer complaints on this vehicle, it is clear I purchased a lemon, quite honestly after everything I have read I'm not sure if the problem is the motor, the coolant, the gaskets or what, but I am sure that this vehicle was manufactured by General Motors Corporation and they refuse to stand behind their product. I have spent over ten thousand dollars on repairing this vehicle and read about hundreds of other people in the same situation with the same vehicle. It is not fair that GM takes no responsibility for the faulty equipment/motor/gaskets what ever it is in this model of vehicle. I have been a loyal GM customer, as family has as well, and I will never purchase another GM product again.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Mar 20, 2012

    I have 2003 GMC 2500 HD Duramax and have the same issue. All 8 Injectors were replaced at 114 k. My truck has 162 k and now dealership says 6 injectors are bad. Just started the process seems like they don't want to pay for the repair.Will give updates
    Thanks Kevin (If there is a lawsuit I'm on the bandwagon)

    0 Votes
  • K
      Mar 27, 2012

    I have a 2007 Chevy 3500 4x4 4dr with a Bradford Built flatbed, use it for hauling a horse trailer and at 30, 000 miles had alot of problems with the "Reduced Power" light coming on (reduced power means 25 mph regardless of where you are) after 6 trips to the dealership no recall was done and according to GM Service Techs an after market air intake would fix the problem...it did but had to pay for it out of my pocket!!!
    At 84, 000 miles I started to blow black smoke on acceleration and going up hills, truck has been in the shop 3 times in the past 5 weeks... first time they reprogrammed computer and added updates, 2nd time they changed turbo sensor, this third time they changed EGR valve, still same problem. I went from 12mpg to 6 mpg, truck is going back to the shop for the 4th and last time for new injectors (covered under warranty as I verified with GM Powertrain Warranty this morning) if not fixed this time I will get the Lawyers involved. I understand that things break but I also understand that it is GM responsibility to fix it and fix it correctly. I have been a die hard Chevy guy for 20 years (this is my 4th Chevy truck in the past 20 years) I can also promise you it will be my LAST one.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Mar 27, 2012

    This is a Diesel 6.6 l (LMM) engine...in 84, 000 miles i have also went through 4 u joints and both the front and rear slip yokes...DODGE, here I come!!!

    0 Votes
  • T
      Jun 16, 2012

    reading all of these horror chevy stories, has pissed me off, I have a 06 2500 diesel. if I knew back in 07 when I started to replace my fuel filters, I would have researched this issue. GM never said anything about a possible fuel injector problem to me. this last year my truck has 60, 000 miles and my fuel injector valve is failing., It seems so weird you can only get the part from GM for around 1, 000 and 13 hrs of labor to replace a part that only comes from GM. so they want $3, 000 from me to fix my truck, who in their right mind thought GM was looking to rape me and my family out of this much cash to fix a problem they should have fixed or gave us a heads up about the problem! GM sucks, i'll never buy a GM product or recommend a gm truck to anyone! T Munz in Las vegas!!!

    0 Votes
  • B
      Nov 21, 2012
    Chevrolet - injectors
    GM
    North Carolina
    United States

    We purchased a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado for over 45, 000 new. We have had to have the injectors replaced three times. Once in Jan 2007, July 2010 and now...Nov 2012. The first two times were covered under warranty. My problem is that for this to be a problem again that apparently one of two things happened. That would be A - not installed correctly or B- design defect. Either way it is not something that I caused. Yet Chevrolet will not back up this last repair. I have contacted them and they have told me that they will not back it up even though the repair service told me they have seen this many times in this truck. I am very upset and from this point on have decided to never purchase a GM product again. I now have in my driveway two Silverados, Uplander, and a new style Camaro. I can promise that another chevrolet will never be bought by a person in my household again!

    0 Votes
  • T
      Nov 29, 2012
    Chevrolet - Malibu LS
    General Motors Corporation
    168 lakescene rd
    Kingston
    Tennessee
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I hit a deer head on hood damage grill damage ect. going 45 miles per hour with seatbelts on and my airbags didn't deploy This is apparently a big problem that GMC is doing nothing about. I could have been killed. I was under the impression this car had very good saftey features, but if they don't work what good are they. The Insurance adjuster was telling me today that the air bags should have deployed and he's still working on whether my car is totaled or not. I don't have a photo but I have been given a rental to drive until they decide whether to fix my car or make me find another one. If anyone else is having this problem let them know, maybe if they get enough complaints they will do something about it.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Dec 01, 2012

    Prepare a nice report and send it in to all federal and state authorities and manufacturer. Enough complaints will get this addressed.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jan 25, 2013

    I am the owner of a 50 Chevy with a 6.6 Deisal, It has approximately 66, 000 miles and I am starting to Have problems with the engine running Bad Some times it will run smooth as the day that I bought it and the next minute it will run with a miss like a piece of junk I have owned GM trucks for a lot of years Makes me wonder did I make the right choice when I purchased this truck So if there is anyone out there thinking of buying one of these trucks it may not be A good idea Gm needs too address this problem.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Feb 12, 2013
    Chevrolet - money not paid
    chevrolet
    India

    Respected sir,
    I am raju gupta from darjeeling and I would like to inform you that there was a person called Mr. eric who informed me that I am the winner of chevrolet car award and he said me that to send my name, address, and email id through email.and completed all that formalities as he said, after that he told me to pay rupees 24700 for the custom duties to collect the amount for Rs.3crores 35lakhs .I paid that amount to him through SBI, again he told me to send document(id proof and scan of money transfer ) and I sent that document as he said.
    Again, he saying me to pay rupees 98000 to get COT code to transfer the money.
    my monthly income is rupees 7000/month. How can i arrange such money, I arrange rupees 247000 through loan,
    please give me another idea to solve that problem.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Apr 10, 2013

    I have a 03 CHEVY Duramax I bought new in 03. It has been a good truck for 10 years until this last week.I noticed some smoke at idle coming from the tailplpe. I pull an R V with this truck and just returned from a 3000 mile winter out west. My right front wheel was making some noise when I would back up. So after returning home I thought I would take it to a auto shop near my home to have it looked at. They called me back to tell me that my right wheel bearing is bad. And I should replace the left one also . At a cost of over a 1000 dollars. Then they told me that three of my injectors are leaking fuel into my oil. And I should replace all eight injectors at a cost of over 4000 dollars. I guess I' am still in shock.My truck still runs good with 94000 miles. After reading these complaints I feel that maybe GM has covered up a big problem with their diesel truck.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 12, 2013

    i have had a oil leak that the source cannot be located, the fluid that leaks on the ground is like thin oil, my oil level never goes down, my oil pressure starts to drop over time, when i change oil, oil pressure comes back, it is believed diesel is leaking into my fuel from the injectors. is there a solution to this without replacing injectors? Brian [protected]

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 08, 2013
    2013 chevrolet 2500 hd - fraud/lied.new truck with scratches and defects
    reliable chevrolet springfield mo
    3655 s campbell
    Springfield
    Missouri
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    reliablechevy.com

    My wife and I went to this car company June 1 2013 to buy a 2500 HD gas truck to pull a 5th wheel, The salesman told my wife and I we did not need something that big that I did not know what I was talking about, they talk us into a 1500 half ton I told them the bed of the truck had to be 6 feet long they said it was I told them it had to pull up to 9500 hundred pounds they said it would.my wife and I believe them we have never bought new they lied to us and give us the wrong information when we told then about it they would not listen they wanted me to put my family in danger with this truck they decided after we called Chevrolet home office they would put us in the truck we ask for we look at a 2500 HD like it but it had scratches on it they said they were going to fix I had bought step to put on it from them they are stained they said they would fix it I had called more than once to take it in to have them fix the problems they now about and they tell me to bring it in just before I bring it in they call tell me no don't bring it in they have done this several times they have waist my wife time they have waist my time and lot of time off work and money they refuse to take care of these problems this company needs to be investigated be charged with fine and get in trouble for lying and stealing and fraud.

    0 Votes
  • W
      Sep 06, 2013

    I am the original owner or a 03 HD 2500 6.6 duramax payed over 40K, have loved my truck to death...I am @ 84, 000 mile, s and diesel is loading up my crank case and thinning my oil... (leaking injectors) at 40, 000 miles my GM service manager told me not to worry about Injectors, I have an unconditional warranty for 200, 000 miles. He never said there was a OR 7 YEARS!!!
    So My injectors need replaced at a cost of $3, 400, With no warrenty...AT ALL. So they could leak in 1000 miles and I would have to come out of pocket again.
    Obviously even the best diesel mechanics wont warrenty there work because they know they would take a loss. The thing is they "GM" admitted the problem, yet are trained to not warrenty the syptoms... even if the truck is still in the warrenty parameters.
    THE OTHER THING TO THINK ABOUT IS...THE DIESEL LEKING INTO THE CRANKCASE OIL, THINS THE OIL, WHICH WEARS THE MAIN AND CONNECTING ROD BEARINGS, REAR MAIN SEAL, OIL PUMP AND ALL OTHER COMPONETS OF THE ENGINE,
    SO WHEN YOU STRT SMELLING DIESEL THROUGH YOU AC VENTS...YOUR OIL IS CONTAMINATED WITH DIESEL..

    WHACH YOUR OIL PRSSURE...

    0 Votes
  • S
      Oct 02, 2013

    I am the original owner or a 04 HD 2500 6.6 duramax payed over 40K, NOTHING BUT PORBLEMS...I am @ 120, 000 mile, s and ON MY SECOND SET OF INJECTORS THE FIRST SET WENT OUT AT 60000.So My injectors need TO BE REPLACED AT THE TUNE OF $4 400, With no warrenty...AT ALL. CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT IS NO HELP, THEY TOOK TWO WEEKS TO TELL US NO !!! WHATS NEW GM WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THERE PRODUCT.I HAVE OWNED GM FOR OVER 20YRS ANDSPENT OVER 250000 ON GM CARS. " NEVER AGAIN " WARNING DO NOT BUY A DEISAL TRUCK

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 02, 2014

    WOW, I like many of you am now stuck with the repair, just like the poorly designed $2, 500 crank case repair. Would it make sense to junk pick a wreck and replace with a newer engine. Can get a lot done for 5K.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Feb 13, 2014

    Hi everyone I too own a 2003 6.6 and have had no issues from injectors or pumps. I have 200, 00 miles and have never had to change anything but the oil and filter. I have to say the reason for this is I found a fuel additive called GreenSky 3in1 Fuel Conditioner. It works great. Not sure what is in it but the website www.blueskycleanair.com says it is a totally Green product and is biodegradable and non flammable. I bought the truck it has 64, 000 on it and I have ran that GreenSky in my fuel every time I fill up. My fuel mileage went up also and the truck starts great, runs great and when I step down on the pedal I don't see that black smoke either. All I have to say is diesel now a days is not best for keeping things lubricated and I know that is why diesels have injector issues so soon. Don't take my word for go that website and see for yourself.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Mar 02, 2014

    Seems like the colder the region the more rust that appears in the fuel system destroys the injectors, a weak casting in the transfer case, hit and miss. Tires, batteries, exhaust, accessories normal costs. Brakes bearings sensors crank and cam so-so. Big deal. injectors always equal big cost ever since full mechanical injection pumps were invented.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Feb 16, 2016

    Dt : 15/2/2016

    I purchased Chevrolet Beat 1.2 LT on 15/2/2015.

    Before that when I taken test drive the same model at that time sales executive told that all accessories is come with this model there no any charges.

    But when I go to showroom they told now all accessories is on changeable.

    Its total cheat with customer.

    0 Votes

Post your comment