SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Bath & Body Works Wallflowerproduct leaking on furniture

Review updated:

I received a Bath & Body Works Wallflower as a gift from a co-worker a couple of weeks ago. I plugged the unit in the wall and the smell was so strong that my husband complained about it. I then took the unit out of the wall and laid it on my bedroom vanity. A couple of days later, I was bothered by the strong smell so I moved it to my guest bedroom and laid it on an anitque dresser my mother gave me. When I returned to work after Christmas, one of my co-workers said her Wallflower had leaked on her dining table and took the finish off and to make sure we didn't lay ours on any furniture.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Millry, AL When I got home, I went to check and make sure mine wasn't and it had leaked out a big spot about 8 inches in diameter and when I wiped it, the paint came off of my antique dresser. I then went and checked the vanity where I had placed it before I moved it and it also had a place about four incehes in diameter where the wallflower had leaked out fragrance and the paint came off on this piece of furniture as well. This is very upsetting to me because my mother gave me both of these pieces of furniture and both will have to be refinished. If you can't take a fragrance unit out of the wall and lay it somewhere, what are you supposed to do with it? I would not recommend this product to anyone. If I had purchased the product myself, I would request a refund but since it was a gift, I still wish I had my furntiure refinished since it is ruined!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Do
      Dec 15, 2008
    pomegranate - spray broken
    Genixlabs
    1246 Linden ave.
    Glendale
    California
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    pomevie.com

    I ORDERED A FREE SAMPLE ...I THOUGHT ...IT CAME AND IT MADE ME WANT TO THROW UP ...I COULDN'T GET IT DOWN...I MADE A PHONE CALL AND TOLD THEM I DIDN'T LIKE IT AND PLEASE NO MORE ...I THOUGHT THAT WAS THE END OF IT ...A LARGER SHIPMENT CAME ...I TOOK IT TO THE POST OFFICE WITH OUT OPENING IT AND SENT IT BACK ...I GET A BILL FROM MY CREDIT CARD CO FOR $88.97...I HAD THEM TO TAKE IT OFF ONLY TO HAVE THESE PEOPLE FILE A REBUTTLE WHERE I WAS AT FAULT, EVEN IF I DID RETURN THE PRODUCT UN OPENED ...WATCH OUT FOR FOR ANYTHING FROM THIS OUTFIT ...

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Jul 07, 2010

    I found an updated phone number for Pomegranate at [protected] When I talked to the customer rep I kept a level head and they were helpful enough. I got my order canceled. I also found out you can cancel at pomegranate-weightloss.com

    I also suggest making sure you have the right company, or checking if you are receiving products from multiple companies. It’s a frustrating waste of time to call one company, spend all that time trying to figure out your problem only to find out you have the wrong people. It’s also frustrating canceling for one product, then receiving more of another product because you didn’t realize you signed up for multiple company’s products.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Jan 01, 2011

    You can put it in a box or something.

    +3 Votes
  • Sh
      Jan 01, 2011

    Sounds as though since you used the product in an improper manner the complaint should be against yourself.

    +4 Votes
  • Ir
      Feb 07, 2011

    any product that is this toxic should be made so it is spill proof, just because the company writes a little notation in such small print no one will notice think they will cover themselves...poor design, they are lucky no one is suing them. Beware, do not purchase product until this is corrected.

    -6 Votes
  • Ir
      Feb 07, 2011

    totally agree with above comment

    -4 Votes
  • Ir
      Feb 07, 2011

    the person who states the product was used improperly must be getting a paycheck from the company

    -3 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 07, 2011

    I claimed it was used improperly because this woman sat a product filled with liquid on its side on an antique piece of furniture and left it there for days when it is meant to be plugged in straight up and down in a socket in a wall. I do not work for the company nor get a paycheck . That is my opinion to her complaint. If you dont think that is her fault and not a product or a company complaint then you need to grow up and are part of the problem with this country and the bunch of overgrown children who are just whiny adults who need to be catered to instead of using common sense, or reading simple directions printed in english on the product you paid for. Its called consumer responsibility. Buy a product and use it the way it way made to be used.

    +5 Votes
  • Ke
      Apr 03, 2011
    pomegranate - spray broken
    bath and body works
    5345 St. Rt. 98
    New Washington
    Ohio
    United States

    THe bottle of pomegranate i had purchased, was a large spray bottle and the spray top would not work, you could push the top down but nothing would come out.
    Thank you, for your time.

    0 Votes
  • Lb
      Apr 14, 2011

    I have returned things such as this in the past. Try to go back to the store, explain why you are exchanging it and when you pick another off the shelf make sure it works before you leave the store. Good luck!

    0 Votes
  •   May 25, 2011
    Best Best Advice

    Don't just lay anything anywhere that has a liquid in it. Common sense.

    +5 Votes
  • Jo
      Dec 16, 2011

    Had the same problem, it leaked and ruined the finish on table.
    Presently am filing a complaint with Company
    Everyone who has a problem should do so at the following email address !!!

    BBW Client Relations [protected]@lasenza.com

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
      Oct 07, 2019

    @John D Thornton I can’t use this email, it says invalid

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Feb 08, 2012

    I had my wallflower plugged into the wall, upright, as it is supposed to be used, and it leaked down the wall and onto my newly finished hardwood floors, destroying both the paint and the stained floor. I just had the floors done three weeks ago, so I'm pretty ticked off. The one in my hallway didn't leak onto the floor, but when I checked it, the paint above it was bubbled on the wall. I had several, and got rid of them all. I wouldn't recommend or purchase this product ever again.

    -3 Votes
  • St
      Apr 26, 2012

    Same thing happened to me. By the way, the Wallflower can be plugged in vertically OR horizontally by design and description -- so I guess I assumed I could, you know, put it horizontally? But not only did it bubble off the paint on a window sill due to my "error" of assuming I could set it on its side, I also noticed bubbled paint on the wall where it was plugged in "correctly". Horrible product and design, if you want to blame consumers for sucky products, I guess that's your prerogative.

    -2 Votes
  • Tr
      May 23, 2012

    The oil in the wallflower has to be toxic. My kids unplugged mine and sat it on the dresser. Needless to say, the oil has removed a large spot of paint off the dresser!

    -2 Votes
  • Jl
      Nov 13, 2012

    We were visiting our daughter. My wife was helping vacuum when she laid a wallflower on its side on a white painted shelf. The product leaked and removed the paint. I sanded the shelf and found that the oil had impregnated the wood. I called the company and was informed that they would not tell me what to use to draw the oil from the wood nor would they give any advice on how to repair the shelf. They immediately referred me to their insurance company. The insurance company called and said that since they had inserted a disclaimer in the original box that the wallflower came in they were not responsible for the design error, but they would give us a fifty dollar gift certificate if we would sign a waiver from suing. I sealed the shelf with a sealer/primer and repainted the shelf. The paint would not dry. I have removed the paint, tried to remove the oil with alcohol and have resealed with an alcohol based primer. I am waiting to see if the oil comes back through primer now before repainting. Terrible product, terrible customer relations, poor product design. A class action suit should be started. Nearly everyone we have talked to has had some similar experience.

    -1 Votes
  • De
      Nov 16, 2012

    Brand new never been opened 2 pack ruined my dining room table. I hate these things. Never even opened it.. My wife received these as a gift and they sat on the table overnight. When I started cleaning up for her birthday party, I discovered they had leaked and turned the table finish to goo. I could understand if it were inserted into the wall receptacle and then moved. But still in the package unused and leaking is just piss poor packaging and design.

    -3 Votes
  • Ta
      Dec 02, 2012

    I unplugged my wallflower because I didn't like the smell. I laid it on the dining room table and left if for a couple of days before putting it in a drawer. It's been a few days and my husband just put his hand on the tablecloth, noticing it is sticky. There is a 12 inch diameter sticky spot on the table and some of the finish is gone. I called the store and asked how to get the sticky stuff off. They said there is no way to get it off but I can try hairspray or goo-gone. I am so upset...this is our dining room table!! Any ideas how to get it off? I am thinking that if this product is so toxic that it takes the finish off a table, it is too toxic for us to be breathing!! There are a lot of studies out there that say breathing this stuff can cause eye and skin irritants as well as respiratory problems. I will be returning mine to the store and sad to say, no longer using this product, which I love! Too dangerous in my opinion!

    -3 Votes
  • Mr
      Jan 28, 2013

    same thing happened to me. the oil ruined the finish on a $1, 000 dining room table

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 18, 2013

    I had a terrible experience last Friday. My husband had laid the wallflower on my vanity. Some of it had leaked on my eye makeup brush. I thought my brush was just damp from water from the sink. I applied eye makeup to both of my eyelids. Within 5 minutes my eyelids were BURNING beyond belief. My husband was beside himself as he didn't know what to do to help me. I ran water over my eyes for about 25 minutes. Today is early Sunday morning and I still have a tingling feeling and my eyelid puffiness is still slightly there. It feels like someone has taken sandpaper and run it over my eyelids over and over. I cannot sleep thinking of what could've happened if this had touched my grandchildren's skin! I just emailed customer service. We will see what kind of response I get from them.

    +1 Votes
  • Bv
      Mar 27, 2013

    Has anyone received any responses from customer service? I received an order in the mail and place the packages of Wallflowers on my dining room sideboard only to discover today that one of the packages had leaked out and removed a large area of the finish. I am heartsick - this dining room furniture was passed down to me from my great grandparents. I have contacted Bath and Body Works but no response yet.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 08, 2013

    My daughter laid her wallflower on dresser, spill and poof all the paint GONE. Talked to BBWs insurance and they offered same deal $50 in exchange for release. The problem being these units do not STAND UP. Very dangerous class action sounds very winnable.,

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Apr 24, 2013

    My cleaners came today and unfortunately unplugged my wallflower and plugged it back in again--but this time upside down. It dripped down onto my baseboards and wood floors. I am grateful the wood floors don't seem to be damaged but it is eating through the paint on my baseboards and I'm not sure how to correct it. I tried a little dishwashing liquid--nope. Tried 'goo gone'--nope. Tried sanding it--too gooey. What am I supposed to do to fix this?

    +1 Votes
  • Df
      Nov 15, 2013

    Has anyone been able to get re-inbursed for the repair or replacement of their furniture? I just got off the phone with the claims
    deparment and was basically told It was my fault. My brand new server is ruined and I feel the should at least pay for the repair.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jan 13, 2014

    My story sounds very similar to many of those posted on this forum. I unplugged a wallflower unit to do some vacuuming. I placed the unit on my nice living room table, right side up, and the base of the wallflower unit left some oil on the table. As I moved it to get a cloth once I wiped it up it stripped the finish right off the table and left another mark form where I moved it. Called customer service, they asked if I wanted to file a claim so it did. Once I did customer service said they were no longer able to deal with the issue as it had legal ramifications. Without seeing pictures or the unit itself 3rd party claim department almost immediately denied the claim noting the warning labels with the units. In researching the warning labels they all refer to the handling of the bulbs not the wallflower units. Posted a few times to their Facebook page and got many other responses of similar stories. Someone else mentioned a class action suit. Anyone have enough experience or knowledge to determine the likelihood of success with these paint thinners?

    +1 Votes
  • Ti
      Feb 12, 2014

    I also experience the varnish-remover ability of this product. My concern is that this product is accessible to small children and pets. If the product removes varnish (and we all attest that it does), there is a danger to anyone or any age getting the product on fingers or paws, rubbing eyes or nose or mouth. The company is aware...as this site clearly validates. The packaging states that the product could be an "eye irritant". Nonsense. This is a toxic product that the company has been notified is toxic. Lawsuit waiting to happen. The problem is that the damage will be done. The company will have enough money for attorneys and litigation. The complainant will have only the injured child/pet/possessions. I will never purchase any item from this company again because they are irresponsible. No, they can never refinish or repair or respond to the danger of their product because that would admit liability. And...the reason (in this writer's opinion) that they ask you to send the product in to them so they can have it evaluated by product control? I'm guessing the attorney's prefer to have the product in their dumpster, the sooner the better. Just guessing here. All we want is a safe product that does no harm. It's a room scent. Please. It can be made safely.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
      Jun 02, 2014
    Bath & Body Works - Rude employees at sierra vista, arizona store.
    Sierra Vista
    Arizona
    United States

    I received a VERY unpleasant experience at the Sierra Vista, Arizona store. Three employees were UNBELIEVABLY rude and did very appalling things to me. I was looking around the store and an employee came very close to me and watched my every move as I was testing a product. She kept telling me what the product was and trying to sell it to me. I then walked to a different spot in the store and the employee followed me there too. As I was trying on a lotion, she again kept telling me what the product was and trying to sell it to me. I was angry with this so I then left the store. I came back later to look around again. This same employee then did far worse things a few minutes into my second visit . Her and two other employees talked behind the counter and one by one followed me around the store and stood right next to me. The second employee told me about each product I even glanced at and talked about it in a VERY snotty tone intentionally. Then a friend of mine came in and I talked to him. The first employee thought I had brought him in so they could stop following me, so then the first employee said to me, word for word, "We are going to keep harassing you until you leave." They were doing this because they wanted me to leave the store, when I was causing no trouble to any employee nor customer. I was so insulted but I did decide to stay in the store because I was not finished looking at the products. Then the third employee did the same thing as the first employee but asked me very personal questions. Each employee kept shoving candles in my face and telling me to smell them and squirting perfume and glitter spray on me again trying to annoy me so I could leave. Then after about twenty minutes of these three employees harassing me, the first one finally said "You need to leave my store because this mall has no loitering." Then I said "How am I loitering?" she said "You're not going to buy anything are you? Why are you here?" I said "I am looking around." then she said "If you are not going to buy anything then you need to leave my store. No loitering is allowed here." I was VERY furious and I went to the office in the mall and filed a complaint. I wanted to talk to a manager but these employees' name tags were hidden and I do not know any of their names. Employee number one was probably the manager because she called the store hers. Now if this is the way a MANGER acts at their store I am so appalled. This experience makes me so upset that I am no longer going to shop at that Bath & Body works nor any other Bath & Body works store. I am also going to tell everyone I know about my experience so they will not have to waste their money at a store where they let their employees act so terrible.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 31, 2014

    I purchased two 2-packs of the Wallflower bulb refills. The very first one I used leaked down my wall, stripping the paint off my baseboard and ruining the stain on the hardwood floor! Called customer service, they took my details, requested the item be returned to them, and provided no way to clean the oil spill. I have to have my floor refinished and baseboards repainted, I guess. Who will pay for it?

    0 Votes
  • Js
      Dec 15, 2014

    I woke up this morning to a very strong smell and found that someone had plugged in a wallflower unit, unaware that you could rotate the base so that the bulb remains upright. Needless to say the oil ran down the wall and into the duct work below, over the vanity, down onto the baseboard, onto the ceramic tile floor and seeped into the grout. The paint on the wall has bubbled and baseboard is gooey and the oil will not wash out of the grout. After calling the company they suggested calling a professional for cleanup and returning the bulb to them. I would consider this an unsafe product if it takes a remediation contractor to clean up/repair the damage it can do when the contents spill out.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jan 02, 2015

    How are all of you people such idiots?! Why would you lay something that contains liquid, with a wick in it, on its side? Would you lay a kerosene lantern on its side, and expect the liquid to stay inside? A wick draws liquid out of its container. BTW, vinegar would damage your furniture finishes, as well as citrus; are those toxic chemicals? You people make me lose faith in humanity.

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
      Jan 06, 2015

    I have had the same experience. The product packaging is poorly designed and with the twistable plug in it leaves the product open to being accidentally spilled. I have had this damage a brand new console. Barely 2 weeks old! My son removed the plug in from the wall to plug in his phone charger. When I noticed the wallflower on the console ON ITS SIDE because there is no way of setting it upright due to the pointy bottom, it had leaked out a 4 x 5" puddle. When I wiped it away, it also removed the finish on my wood console.
    I contacted the company and they called back saying there was a warning on the label..so even their claims department will deny my 'claim'.

    Well, I am upset about this so, I am going to hunt around in the Internet for a lawyer who is willing to do a class action lawsuit. Enough is enough. This company's product is causing a lot of damage and the company needs to be held accountable. I will post a lawyer's name when I find one.

    +1 Votes
  • Ro
      Jan 06, 2015

    This is the most fun I have had in a long time. I can't wait to see this class action lawsuit. I want to see the lawyer that takes the side of idiots who lay objects with liquid, on its side, and complain about the liquid coming out. BAHAAAAA!!! I would also like for this lawyer to take a case of mine; I bought a cup of coffee from Starbucks, and laid it on its side on my lap, and the liquid came out and burnt me! There was not a warning label that said that you could not lay it on its side, and I just assumed that if it had liquid in it, that I could safely turn it on its side. The coffee also burnt me, but they said that there was a warning on the label, so even their claims department will deny my 'claim'.

    -3 Votes
  • No
      Feb 28, 2015

    I had a Wallflower (correctly plugged in, by the way) damage my bathroom ceiling directly above it. At first I thought it was a roof leak, but after checking my roof and my attic and finding no water damage, I realized the damage done to my bathroom ceiling was directly above the Wallflower! It was a sticky mess and had taken off 2+ layers of paint. The area has taken months to dry out in order to be sanded and re-painted. This damage was obviously caused by the toxic fumes coming directly out of the top of the Wallflower. These should be taken off the market, and I would definitely be willing to join a class action lawsuit!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      May 10, 2015

    I purchased a wallflower last month and had it plugged in under my kitchen cupboard. I noticed this morning that the paint above the wallflower has been removed leaving bare wood and a gooey mess. I never expected this to happen from a product from Bath and Body Works. I am not happy about this mess. I called Customer Care but since it is Sunday they are not opened. Only opened business hours Monday to Friday.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
      Jul 10, 2015

    I wish I had seen all these before setting my wallflower on the dining room table. I set it upright on the table and it leaked out the bottom. I contacted BBW customer service and they are asking that I mail back the wallflower so they can check it for deformities. A third party contacted me and stated there is a warning label that comes with the wallflower stating not to put it on any finished surface. I don't recall getting a warning label... Their sending me a release form and supposedly a $50 check. I'm curious to see what this release form says...

    0 Votes
  • De
      May 17, 2016

    My wallflower leaked while plugged in! It messed up the finish on a brand new espresso tabletop that was above the unit, left a sticky drop on the bottom shelf, three larger drops on my new hardwood floors, and two drips on the painted white woodwork. I couldn't get it cleaned up, and didn't know what it was at first since the empty fragrance bulb had been previously thrown away. When I smelled my cleaning rag, it smelled exactly like the Blackberry Bliss wallflower I had plugged into that outlet! The house, hardwood floors, and table are sll brand new. It looks like they are ruined due to this terrible product. NO MORE WALL FLOWERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ih
      Jun 05, 2016

    All you people on this thread that place wall flowers on furniture, or plugged them in upside down, and then complain because the finish of your furniture or floor was damaged, are a perfect example of what's wrong with the world today. Too many people with exactly ZERO common sense, that do stupid, stupid things and then look for someone else to blame the outcome on. Congratulations, because of you we have to put warning labels on virtually everything in existence because you are too stupid to know a cup of coffee is hot, or that poison will kill you if swallowed. You are the reason for all the frivolous lawsuits choking our legal system. I have had the same experiences with wall flowers where they were handled inappropriately in my home or business and caused damage but you know what? I blame the person that mishandled them, not the manufacturer of the product. There are a great many liquid based products out there that will remove finish from wood if spilled and allowed to set for any length of time. Oh and no, just because the plug turns does NOT mean it is meant to be turned sideways or upside down for the idiots that posted that. It is meant to accommodate electrical outlets that are sideways such as outlet extenders, power strips, etc. I am glad you people have decided NOT to buy wallflowers in the future because that money would better spent on helmets and mittens, and birth control.

    -2 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 13, 2016

    I also had the same experience with the oil removing the finish off furniture. Happened two times with my maid service and another time with a family member, costing me over $1800 in repairs. Bath & Body Works has an obligation to design their product so that this does not happen so easily, or at least provide a warning label. Unfortunately, the company doesn't seem to care and the ONLY way to get their attention is through the legal system. I spoke to an attorney and these are grounds for a lawsuit. If anyone is interested in joining a class action suit, please contact me at [protected]@gmx.com.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Oct 07, 2019

    @Pat1951 I tried to email you at listed email address but it says invalid email

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 13, 2016

    I've had the same issue! A class action suit is the ONLY way to get the company's attention and also prevent this from happening to others. Like many of you, the wallflower oils removed the finish from my tables costing me $1800 in repairs, but the bigger issue is the toxicity of the product and potential health hazards. For anyone who already has spoken to an attorney and has a class action suit underway, please message me here, so I can be involved. I own a PR firm and would be happy to get the media involved.

    +2 Votes
  • Ro
      Oct 07, 2019

    @Pat1951 I would like to be involved too

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      Sep 26, 2016

    I'm on board with a class action law suit. My wallflower was plugged in correctly in my kitchen and ate a hole through the paint on my upper cabinets.
    I'm mostly of the same mind that if these products emit particles that can eat through lacquer paint, imagine what it does when breathed in.
    I'm taking every wallflower I own back and demanding my money back, but it'd be nice if they'd repair my upper cabinet.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment