The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Colesservice

I was at Coles Dandenong when I tried to get a drink from a vending machine. The machine malfunctioned and I was unable to retrieve my money. I went to the service desk to complain and the immediate response was "the machine is not ours, it belongs to Coke, it's not our responsibility." Not satisfied with that I asked to speak to the manager. The manager was a short distance away, after a short conversation the shop assistant returned and repeated what was said earlier. I pointed out that I in fact wanted to speak to the manager, again she went to the manager, this time the manager came to the service desk. The manager again stated it has nothing to do with Coles, I reinforced the fact that the machine was inside the Coles and was their responsibility. Just as I pointed out that Coles made a profit from the machine she offered to refund my money. I accepted the refund and asked her why she didn't address the problem herself initially, her reply was that she gave the shop assistant her answer, then I pointed out to the manager that it wasn't until I addressed her directly about the problem did she offer a refund. Poor service, poor attitude and no responsibility.

Responses

  • Su
    Sue Rea Jul 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I spent over $160 on groceries at Coles today and asked the check out girl if she could split the docket so I would have more than one petrol voucher - one for myself and one for my husband. I have done this several times before but was told today that Coles head office have informed the store that they are no longer allowed to do so. My only alternative is to pay for my groceries in several batches so I receive separate dockets, thus wasting both my time and the time of the Coles staff. Surely if I spend over $30 I should be entitled to a voucher for every $30 I spend without having to resort to multiple batches of shopping.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    GoldOpals Opals Jul 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Nope. You are not entitled to split vouchers. The rule is one voucher per docket per order. It would not be a hassle to separate your order into two.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kanye31 Nov 06, 2011

    You get a fuel voucher per transaction OVER 30 dollars not for every 30 dollars you spend.. Dont be greedy.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilson2219 Apr 15, 2012

    On 15 April 2017, visited store to find no Full Cream Milk (of any brand). This store recently relocated the shelves where the milk is stocked. In any case there was ample stocks of Diet/Skim milk. However when 2/3 of the shelf space is overstocked with Diet milk, I can only deduce that the ordering was stuffed up. This has now happened twice in a month and several times in the last couple of years.
    Many complaints to head office have not resulted in any noticeable improvements. Management is could not careless about the feeback by customers. Reason is NO COMPETITION!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilson2219 Apr 15, 2012

    Yeah and they frequently overcharge when 'specials' are not charged correctly at the register!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shameoncoles Jun 11, 2012

    Coles matercard customers beware. It now costs you to redeem your 4 cent extra coles petrol voucher. They now want you to redeem 500 flybuys points for a 4 cent petrol voucher. If you do this it will cost you more. To redeem 500 flybuy points it will cost you $2.50. To get a discount of 4 cents it is around $2.25. So you can see you are not saving any money it is costing you money. What a scam. Shame on you coles.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john veldwyk Aug 02, 2012

    i like shopping at coles, but the constant bombardment of their prices down ads on full volume, blasted throughout the store is borderline abuse. ive started using an ipod to drown out this racket.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnRENAUD Aug 08, 2012

    Coles Ripp OFF ...as usual

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MaryHaitch Feb 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The music isn't "borderline" abusive it's just simply ABUSIVE. l understand that rock music played loudly and repeatedly is used for torture in Afghanistan. l have complained about it in writing in the store itself but of course the abuse continues because us Bunnies don't get a hearing until the noise we make can be at least as annoying as the Coles anthem. Because of this, l buy more and more items in other shops now.
    Secondly, since everybody knows that prices will never go down, (why would they when the bottom line is a main priority?), why bother lying to us. Do they think we're that stupid we can't see it or do they think they can brainwash us?
    Finally, the variety of items that used to exist in the stores is gradually getting smaller. l beleve we are getting swindled big time. Oohh, l have to go elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenpete Feb 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently activated a promotion on fly buys that said if I spent $120 - $150 at Coles I would get a voucher for $5 - $20 to spend at my next shop. After spending the required amount, yes, I received a voucher for $5. Yesterday I went to redeem the $5.00 and was told I would have to spend a further $150 to redeem it. I questioned the shop assistant and she went to the management and they confirmed that she was right. The Coles store in question is Narrogin WA. This voucher is only valid to 11/02/2017. So it is now useless. I have another one for $15. Does this mean to redeem it I have to pay a further $150? I have shown the voucher to a number of people and after reading the fine print with a magnify glass they all agree with me that the docket does state that the amount can be redeemed at the next shop. There is no stating that a certain amount has to be paid!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    saralap Feb 19, 2014

    I had ordered few products on special and received a confirmation of the order.
    When I logged in to change the delivery option I noticed that the product price is altered to full price.
    Even after repeated follow up they say they cant help me with modification.
    They have no right to modify the price without my permission.
    I feel I have been cheated.
    Such a shame on Coles that they say they cant help being a such big player in the market.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Faeries Mar 14, 2014

    I had the same problem this week and was humiliated by Coles' response to my query.
    I have refused their arrogant offer of a 'goodwill' cash credit to my on line account.
    Instead, I will be closing that account.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Berri Apr 30, 2014

    Had the same problem and it took me a while to figure that specials that I had gone to great length selecting had expired between the time I placed and then modified the order. A carton of beer had increased by $10 and the price of many basics such as bread had increased significantly yet there was no warning that Coles had modified the prices on my original order. I don't expect to be able to collect specials across weeks but Coles should clearly show when THEY have modified prices in a customer's order, so the customer can consider changing or removing the items. Very Poor

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Store Manager Oct 02, 2014

    Coles has recently been forced to no longer advertised their bakery items as "Freshly Baked" or "Baked Fresh" for the next 3 years. Yet today, to advertise the the re-launch of Coles Richmond, NSW, I received a pamphlet which has a heading in it "Baked in Store" followed by the sentence, "The team are baking every day, so you know you'll be buying straight from the oven."

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashvicp Jan 04, 2015

    Today I went to Coles as I always do to get my groccries as I have walked out I have glanced at my trolley and seen my bread at the bottom of a bag with loads of grocceries on top flattening it, I myself have never worked at a groccerie store and know that bread needs to be in a bag where it won't get squished . The loaf is pretty much ruined now

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lucie Dey Jan 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did mine and my mothers shopping as per usual online.We live near the Fairfield gardens store.The day our shopping was to be delivered, their truck broke down.They called my mother to say the shopping would be delayed till the next day.We had no problem with this, then received another call to say that we had to tell the delivery guy that he was to charge us the amount from the previous day.As the weekly specials, had now finished and the price would be different, also to call head office if he didn't know what to do.On the day it was delived we told the delivery guy, and he flatly refused.I told him I wasn't sure if I had the amount in the bank for the price they were now charging, as it was now more ($119) difference.As Im on a disability pension this is quite a huge amount for me.I paid with eftos and had just enough.I told him I needed the extra amount for a bill that was due, so could he call head office before he left, to make sure it was refunded quickly.He called head office to tell them, and I was asked to speak with a lady there.The lady asked me if she could put a credit on my mums account, I said no as I needed the money in my account, for my bill.She said she would do that as I had paid with my keycard.A week later, I hadn't received it in my bank account, so I sent an email from mums online account, they still didn't contact me.A few days later they put $50 in mums online account.I got mum to call to say they hadn't given us enough, they asked me to call.I called them and they said that amount of $119 is right and that the person whom was to organise this wasn't there right now and would call me back that day.I still have not been called back.This is ridiculous as they have not only stolen money and ignored that fact.They have ripped off an old age pensioner and a disability pensioner, both whom are grieving for their husbands and father.And not only that, I still have not been able to pay my bill and have probably got a bad credit rating due to this.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Knight Aug 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they are good at telling us prices are going down and down, but we shop at Coles all the time every second or third day so we do see the prices going up, and up and up, for example we buy a lot of mince, and at the start of the year, your mince was 5 dollars, then it went up to 6 dollars a month later, a few months after it went up to 7 dollars, today the 10/08/2017, it was 8 dollars, that's all in a few months, I asked the butcher why the prices were going up, and she said its all went up mate 20 per cent, so how can Coles advertise that food is going down, I think we the public are missing something, and am sure you must think we are al silly, people do talk to each other in Coles and say this is not going down, the public will only take so much of this and move to the new supermarket that's coming to Mundaring Perth wa.as I said we feed our pets mince as well as us, so I rest my case, I don't suppose Coles will write back, but maybe the public will see this .up up .

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer65349 Sep 02, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Evening,
    I don't think i've made a complaint to a company in the past but think this is worth highlighting. Tonight, I bought a pack of 6 sausages branded beak and sons (mediterranean herb) and was really disappointed. The skin was thick and chewy, they were bursting at the seams with liquid and there were large chunks of gristle and animal arteries in them (one looked like a fingernail) For the price, the family and i were really disappointed and would suggest you look at the quality of these products and potentially reassess whether this brand is doing more harm than good to your reputation. My wife tells me that she bought a batch of these sausages (unsure of type) some weeks ago and had vowed not to buy them again.
    Hope this feedback helps
    Muni

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer76044 Sep 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Store 0450, receipt 8075, time 1234, served by 349. 12 sep.

    Complaint about how long it is taking to get served waiting at checkouts.
    I have notice the service is taking longer and longer, to day was the worst i have ever experienced. 12 items or less has moved and the checkout person still has to serve at service desk. And only one of these. So i waited at normal checkout. Must have taken 20 to 30 minutes, felt a lot longer.
    There has got to be a better and quicker way to get served. Very disappointed.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer41084 Oct 22, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My complaint is about one of your staff Kyle she is a manager at the Eaton fair store. Several times why I have been in the store this person has been very rude and abrupt. In front of myself and other customers she has yeld at her staff and abused them which I found quite off putting. I find that this behavior is not something that should be displayed in front of any customer. Also I find her wigs offensive

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mani1859 Oct 25, 2015

    On sunday (October 25) I purchased a large block of cheese (12$) with my grocery shop. When I returned home and opened it I realised it was completely mouldy underneath and so I put it aside to return it on monday along with the receipt. Today (Monday) when I returned it, a refund was given, however, I was utterly disappointed with the customer service I received. The lady who attended to me gave me absolutely no eye contact, little dialogue and no apology. I felt very uncomfortable and as though I was doing the wrong thing. Is this normal? I will be avoiding this supermarket in the future if this is how customers are going to be treated. It has left a bad taste for me. Very disappointed!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.