The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Channel 7afl not live or not shown

I can't believe it channel 7 you continue to amaze me with your lack of coverage of the AFL season. Whether it be games not live or not shown until midnight or later, you continue to push the boundaries of a station who has no interest of competing in the Queensland market of broadcasting with the AFL season. It leaves me with a sour taste in my mouth, considering the amount of money you paid for the broadcasting rights, how many adds you had preseason and also having the extra HD channels at your whim. Which could easily have Australia's national game televised. I guess last year you did show some games from after half time, so what should I have expected. Channel 7 you continue to disappoint.

Responses

  • Re
    Reviewer33377 Oct 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I really think Andrew thinks the whole program is all about himself. He makes more noise and actually says nothing intelligent unless he's reading it. He draws out all his words and speaks to everyone else as if they're ten year olds. Already I'm sick of it. If you can't make him behave turn his mike down.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer22458 Sep 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Am watching X-factor 27 Sept 2017 and am disappointed that the word "###" was used quite blatantly and numerous times. Surely for a prime time TV show watched by many impressionable teenagers the word "###" is a bad example. Sorry, I may be old fashioned but as a teacher I am concerned that public standards are dropping. This is just another example.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Leary Jul 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to agree with Tasteless TV on one point, the enjoyment of viewing a football match has been taken away from us viewers with the mindless bombardment of adds with pretty much every goal scored. Tonight I was watching Bombers V Nth Melb. While it is now muted and in the background I think we are up to 17 add breaks for the first half. Not the stuff a riveting game is meant to be made of. SHAME ON YOU Channel 7. Like a lot of other people we are turning off, tell your advertisers why no one is buying their product when you have no viewers left!! I am disgusted with your attitude towards us, your customers!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie mcdougall Nov 03, 2014

    Hi there
    Wonderful news that a place to call home is returning but, bad news as it's going on Foxtel not happy that the reality shows are overtaking the TV. Everyone cannot afford Foxtel what is wrong with showing on the gem or go channels.
    Also stop running the blacklist and marvel agents of shield late because of reality shows such as X factor, the big adventure. Not fair I have to wait to watch my fav. Shows
    Cheers
    Deb

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cherrypieit Sep 28, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Channel 7, is it true that you ceased production of "a place to call home" - and ended it prematurely with an embarrassingly awful episode - because its audience was too old?! If so, one word - "discrimination"! Tsk tsk!! Bears looking into, i'd say! Bring it back!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MariaMadsen Jul 01, 2014

    Why do we need to sit through Tom Waterhouse betting ads during the tennis? This normalises gambling and surely gamblers can hop online to see the odds if they are so desperate to bet. The general public should not have to view this nonsense.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sam7b98 Apr 06, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sunday 6th April 2017 - Downton Abbey scheduled to be shown at 8.30 on Channel 7. But we it's not on - we are being shown the AFL. What is going on? Why can't you just show us what you program to show.


    it is incredibly irritating and wish there was something I could do God help me.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cabayside Mar 25, 2014

    This show previewed last night, it was good but I won't watch it again because channel 7 showed more ads that the actual show, it was extremely fustrating for our family. lost my rating!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cabayside Mar 25, 2014

    If you thought all the ads of this show was mad. You should have watched the show because their where more ads than the actual show! It just reminded me why I avoid channel 7. Pathetic!!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victoria O Mar 22, 2014

    I have never written a complaint before but channel 7 need to know that playing one advertisment for an upcoming show so many times has the complete opposite effect of what is intended. The one Resurection ad is played at least 20-30 times per day and is easily the most irritating add on tv. I will never watch the show because of the ad and I know many others who feel the same way. When it comes on, I now instantly change channels. Please channel, put us all out of our misery and be more creative...Maybe create 3-4 DIFFERENT adds for the one show and play half as often.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disappointed viewer Sep 15, 2013

    Channel 7! Your Sunday night programs are great, however they are not on time! I love watching Bones and Castle and look forward to watching it on Sunday nights. I plan to be able to sit down and watch it at 8.30, no wait, 8.45, oh no wait, 8.50, 9.00, 9.15, 9.30, 9.45. Still waiting. I set the DVD recorder to tape Castle because it is on so late, and now I am going to have to do it for Bones too. Shame on you. Play it on seven two instead so we can watch it at a decent time.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Bozinis May 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think it is obvious that Peter Mitchel is trying to shape his political ideology into the news and this is damaging to Australia because what the Nation needs is a patraitic balanced news media that we can receive fair news so as best practice decisions can be made not Peter Mitchel"s sensationalism political bias.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tennis Fanatic Jan 27, 2013

    It is the men's tennis final and Channel 7 is not broadcasting. I cannot even watch it online due to right's restrictions. If Channel 7 are going to block all avenues for me to watch the tennis final - which I have taken time off work for - they should at least be reliable. I cannot find any information on their website about a fault - nor on their twitter page, even thought their last tweet was 2 minutes ago. I have tried to phone their office but the number is not working. FUMING RIGHT NOW!!! I had better not miss one ball of this game Channel 7. You dont deserve the rights to this sport if I do - and I will petition all year long to ensure that they are taken from you. Give me my tennis!!!

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SickofAFL May 13, 2012

    I agree with this comment!...and in addition...I am so sick of AFL being scheduled more and more during the week to the exclusion of other regular programming! First it was most of the weekend which it has always been so you learn to accept it and watch Foxtel instead...then they started scheduling on Friday nights, then Thursday nights and now Monday nights!!!...NOT EVERYONE WANTS TO WATCH AFL!!...Does Channel 7 care at all about the rest of the viewing public that does not want to watch AFL during the week!! I am so over it and I am now getting to the stage here it is better to just ignore Channel 7 and either watch Channels 9 or 10 or Foxtel. Saturday's and the weekend for AFL and leave the rest of the week for normal scheduling!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony and Christine Nov 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and i watch channel seven without hesitation and more than any other channel on free tv. But we have to ask, why have you committed to these "I'm a morman ads". We aren't, and we really don't care that they are. The ads are annoying and very one sided. We can't understand what purpose it survives. Is channel 7 trying to convert the population to mormanism? It's really not fair.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dianne Baxter Sep 09, 2011

    This is beyound belief. We have Footy Finals happening (AFL not VFL)...According to your programme @ 8:30pm a game worth watching then whammo...a stupid bloody movie we have all seen a thousand times. When will you ever get it though your sweet head that there are viewers out there who want to watch AFL free to air. It isn't a privelidge it's our right. I have stuck by your channel for many years - but you have angered me - again - tonight. Please get it right for the rest of the weekend...

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ROSE COLLEEN Jul 17, 2011

    I ALLSO AGREE ABOUT THIS COOKING SHOW, I DO NOT WATCH IT FOR THAT REASON; HE THINKS ITS FUNNY, TO KILL LITTLE LAMBS. AND CHOOKS EGGS THAT ARE IN CAGES, GET HIM OFF DIANNE

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ROSE COLLEEN Jul 17, 2011

    I WISH CHENNEL 7 WOULD TAKE THE COOKING PROGRAM OF MERCURIO MENUES OF THE TV, I DO NOT LIKE HIM, NO RESPECT FOR ANY CHILDREN THAT MAY BE WATCHING. OR SENSITIVE PEOPLE. ON KILLING ANIMALS, FOR HIS OWN GREEDY SELF. HORRIBLE MAN. KILLING LAMBS GOATS ECT, HAS NO THOUGHT FOR ANIMALS AT ALL, GET YOUR SELF A NOTHER HOBBY, , , I WOULD LOVE YOU TO TAKE IT OFF CHENNEL 7. ROSE

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JKDE Jun 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Turn on Comedy Central and watch "South Park: Its A Jersey Thing"

    http://www.southparkstudios.com/full-episodes/s14e09-its-a-jersey-thing

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Marissa24 Jun 22, 2011

    I see violence on TV but I've never duplicated what I see on TV. TV is free speech.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    worried03 Jun 22, 2011

    I am writing to complain about the television show Jersey Shore i was horrified to see this show is being played here in Australia, not only is it getting air time at a popular time slot, double episodes are also being played during the daytime. I am in the youth work industry and every day we are facing trouble with our young impressionable minds being exposed to material about sex, alcohol, violence and distburbing behaviour. These children go on to mimic what they see on the television. If channel seven cares about the future of our teenagers it will stop playing Jersey Shore all together, there is nothing talented about a group of young people engaging in sexual behaviour whilst promoting dancing on table tops and drinking copious amounts of alcohol. I myself am in my early twenties and i believe this show will rot the minds of anyone who watches it, the majority of programs on television lately have sexual connotations and i think it is disgusting something needs to be changed!!!

    0 Votes
  • We
    wewewesoexcited! Jun 12, 2011

    this is exactly the same as my family! they should take all the ads out

    0 Votes
  • St
    stung Apr 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was under the impression that if you had a digital set top box, your TV should be able to access all the digital channels.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fredo7117 Mar 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Channel 7, you are the most despicable, tasteless, and unhumanitarian broadcasting network on television. Your nightly news is absolutely disgusting in all its forms, terrible stories designed to strike fear into the hearts and minds of society. How does Peter Mitchell and Co. sleep at night knowing that they have yet again spread a web of absolute rubbish to the greater public? Further, Home & Away serves no other purpose than to try and brainwash the teenagers of this country by portraying ridiculous plots and revolting character relations. Filthy. And for those passionate about sport, football in particular, Channel 7 simply robs them of their weekend release by not only delaying games by as much as an hour (!!!), they bombard our screens with commercial after commercial after every goal. DAMN YOU TO HELL! Ban Channel 7!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cats fan Sep 13, 2010

    I am very upset at the fact that channel seven are not telecasting the geelong and collingwood preliminary final live it is hard enough to get tickets then to find out they are not telecasting it live .I have been very disappointed that they have not telecast all the finals live.Our house hold would much prefer to be watching this weeks game than better homes and gardens get it right channel seven and find out what the public want to watch especially the month of september, hate to think what will happen if you are telecasting the grand final WOULD IT BE LIVE or preference to a show no one wants to watch.Get your act together channel seven as you can see the game is going to be a sellout!!!TELECAST IT(go the cats)

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin J White May 13, 2010

    The comment is correct. The definition announced was wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin J White May 13, 2010

    This is a valid comment.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin J White May 13, 2010

    Today 13 May the "It's Academic" presenter pronounced in a verdict that the number "11" is a palindrome. Wrong !

    The Oxford Dictionary defines a "palindrome" as a word or phrase that reads identically both forwards and backwards.

    Not good, Channel 7. Otherwise a good testing show.

    Kevin J White 4369 8369
    39 Panorama Terrace Green Point NSW 2251

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lollypollys Apr 22, 2010

    L would like to make a complaint, my brother was going to be on the tv show its academic and we had got the whole family to watch it and
    Outside family. While we were getting ready to watch it, a news flash came up and said that its academic would not be on. L think this is very poor on channel 7 and l am very disappointed and would definitly take this matter further as it is not just me but other children in sydney.
    Instead they put a news flash on something no one cares about - l mean michael jackson didnt die cause he is already dead and justin bieber didnt die cause he is sitting next to me right now. Right now we are having many calls froim friends and family saying why the show isnt on. So l will say again l am very disappointed in channel 7, because the news flsh couldnt wait until 4.30 no it was more important than a few kids on television who are now very upset that they have to wait another few days. To conclude my complaint I would like to state that the tv timing is very poor and whoever is in charge should be put under questioning. Yours unfaithfuly, (Classified)

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Da Munch Mar 31, 2010

    01/04/2017 which is Week 2 of the AFL season and in Sydney we have "The Rock" on before they finally replay Lions versus Blues game at 11:30 pm.

    I bet every other state and country NSW (minus the west) has this on live. The AFL should write into any contracts that all games should be played live, if they are going to get them at all.

    And they have two channels, and what playing on the 7 two - fifth gear, crap, and more crap ...

    Not Happy

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thebuke Mar 30, 2010

    I am writing this to complain about Channel 7's blatant disregard to program scheduling! We have a TiVo and a Media Center PC which we use to watch TV. As we have a busy household, we choose to record our favourite shows every week allowing us to pause and rewind even in a live TV show. Having a Media Center or TiVo is great as it draws all it's scheduling from an EPG (Electronic Program guide) similar to that on modern TV's these days.

    For months now, Channel 7 has been blatantly overrunning some of their shows which cause a flow on effect throughout the evening of entertainment. I am not simply saying 2 or 3 minutes, I'm talking up to 15 minutes. For our household we have a number of TV shows that we love to watch on a regular basis, and unfortunately quite a few are on at similar times, we invested in a TiVo and a Media Center, which allows us to record 2 shows at once, helping us when we are busy and can't catch them live.

    An example is that we have set our devices to record every episode of How I Met Your Mother when it comes on TV based on the timings indicated on our EPG. This week when I was away in Melbourne, and because I was out of town I didn't have the luxury of watching live like I do most weeks, so I relied on my Media Centre to record it. However, Channel 7 had an overrun of 15 minutes of Cougartown prior to How I Met Your Mother starting, and this is not an isolated occurrence.

    What makes things even worse than watching 15 minutes of Cougartown, is that despite setting our Media Center to record 10 minutes after the scheduled finish time, it caused us to miss the final 5 minutes of our favourite show. This overrun causes problems every week, making us either miss the start of another channels viewing, or the end of the program we are wanting to watch on Channel 7.

    It seems clear to me that this is a conscious effort on Channel 7's behalf, to attempt to get the viewer interested in another program, as it only occurs in primetime slots, and the problem seems to be resurrected by late in the evening. Is there anything that can be done, and who are the governing bodies I can complain to? It is more than just frustrating now, and although I don't download TV shows, Channel 7 is making the option very tangible.

    Very frustrated!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    UnhappyAFLfan Mar 24, 2010

    Hi there channel 7.

    I'd like to take issue (I feel like we have this talk every year) about your committment to the afl. I live in sydney and love to watch our national game. According to the afl website - you too share this passion - in fact it (You?) states you 'just love the footy'.

    I don't believe you.

    Take this friday for example. Round 1, season opener between 2 of the clubs with the largest supporter bases in the league (That's essendon & geelong in case whoever is reading this is as ignorant about the afl as your programmers appear to be) , and you're not showing the game until 11.30pm - 4 and a half hours after the game is on. Why? Because, you actually love these at least 3 other shows better in sydney than you 'love' the footy.

    Better homes and gardens, 'housesitter' and scrubs are all scheduled to run on channel 7 this friday while the first friday night game of the season is playing live in other states.

    Why??? I can kind of understand you're regular b&h viewers might get a little upset if you moved it, but at 8.30 you're free and clear! Goldie hawn (?) movies and us sitcoms rate ahead of the game you 'love' apparently.

    If you don't want to broadcast the games, give the rights to someone who wants them please!

    Not happy with you at all channel 7. I hope this is not a sign of things to come for the rest of the season. Just back yourselves here, keep the people happy and play the footy on friday nights please - you're paying for it, and you 'love' it too after all.

    Thanks!
    (Afl fan and soon-to-be owner of a crusade to get channel 7 to show live footy ahead of dodgy american tv reruns on friday nights. )

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bianca_Architecture Mar 17, 2010

    I actually enjoyed when Murder She Wrote was on TV. I don't think there is anything wrong with a little bit of easy watching murder mystery at lunch time. and would most certainly choose that over All Saints any day. To me All Saints is snore-worthy and I wouldn't say Murder She Wrote is just for old folk either - I’m 24yrs old and I love it!! Bring it back I say.
    Its one of those shows that I just love to watch when its cold and raining outside, with a nice mug of hot Milo! Cant beat it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonathan from Bayswater Jan 30, 2010

    * CHANNEL 7 - Dateline [Sundays at 5.0 AM]

    I enjoy this program but why are repeats being shown, lately? It is most annoying and off-putting when this happens and time could be spent more constructively.

    Jonathan from Bayswater

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris n Jan 30, 2010

    I'm trying to watch the womens final. There are more ads than previously.

    Oh the pain…

    I've been away from oz for 8 years, recently returned. The levels of commercialism people are
    exposed to here is frightening.

    0 Votes
  • In
    Inaj Jan 28, 2010

    Wow Channel 7- that was some crappy tennis coverage!

    - cutting matches for the news/ today tonight/ home and away
    - showing commercials while the match has resumed play and we miss the first few games
    - SO MUCH cross promotion about shows coming "After the tennis" (very irritating!)
    - and Henri Laconte commentating the Tsonga/Djokovic match... all I can ask is what were you thinking?

    Lets hope you try better next year or it might be worthwhile just giving the tennis to another channel to have a go, since you're not doing that great a job of it!

    - Jen

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timos Jan 25, 2010

    Couldn't agree with you more Ingrid.
    Though my complaint is regarding the 5th set coverage after the Federer & Hewitt match. The commentator (don't know his name, I'm sure you will pick up on who I am talking about) of the Tsonga & Almagro match sounds like a complete amateur. I have never heard someone use the word 'Unbelievable' so much in my entire life. He has terrible grammar & just will not shut up.
    Let us watch the tennis without your constant drone.

    0 Votes
  • In
    Inga Johnston Jan 25, 2010

    My complaint is also regarding Jim Courier. I have just watched the match tonight between Lleyton Hewitt and Roger Federer. Clearly Jim Courier has nothing at all positive to say about Lleyton Hewitt, only stating on numerous occasions how Roger Federer took his breath away (too much information quite frankly) - Come on Jim, you are commentating on an Australian program, so it would not hurt to actually say something positive on the Australian that is playing. In the third set, there were some incredible moments in Lleyton's game. I think you need to play it back and have a listen at how you constantly like to disagree with any of the australian commentators regarding his game. Absolutely appauling and as Roger so eloquently stated when you interviewed him regarding how many times roger had beaten Lleyton he simply said "come on Jim, you don't have to rub it in, they(the australian public) already know"! Beautifully said Roger!

    Ingrid Johnston
    QLD

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    molly09 Jan 23, 2010

    i am a mother of 2 children under the age of 4 and i am absolutley disgusted in the ammount of sport and other crap that you are showing there needs to be more childrens shows airing on all channels and i know that your going to say there is all the hd and the free to view channels but i cannot afford to buy a settop box nor can i afford to buy foxtel i have other important things to buy fair enough the tennis is a major thing but cant you just air it at night when the young children are in bed its unbelieveable how you dont consider the younger generation wise up channel 7 and be a bit more fairer to the youg minds how educational is it to watch balls being hit kicked or thrown across a field think about what they are learning from this ABSOLUTELY NOTHING please put more childrens shows on air

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Colleen Kenshole Jan 23, 2010

    Jim Courier, as a tennis commentator is obviously well informed. But could someone please tell him he doesn't have to talk non-stop? I have to turn the sound of sometimes because his voice goes on and on and all we want to do is watch the game. Most annoying.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.