Menu
CB Online Shopping CarId don't buy anything from carid
CarId

CarId review: don't buy anything from carid 22

J
Author of the review
6:35 pm EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Don't buy anything from carid. They are rude, and don't care what happens to your order. Go directly to the manufacturer. Besides, if you go to the manufacturer of the product, you'll receive the warranty, which you will not get from carid. I ordered rain deflectors for my bmw x5, and they wouldn't go in as easily as the carid site claimed. The back-ends of the deflectors snapped when the window went up. Carid told me that it was a faulty installation. I called weathertec directly and they gave me a discount on a new set (carid wouldn't) and they are shipping them for free and if they break weathertc will replace them free of charge.

More CarId reviews & complaints

CarId - refused to give full refund 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
CarId - order cancel and return
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
CarId - unethical behaviour
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
22 comments
R
R
rrayr777
, US
Jan 09, 2023 3:11 am EST

I wish I would have read your review before I purchased black-out tailights from these scammers. This product was defective and when I looked at the male prongs on the back, they were made incorrectly. I sent them a VIDEO AND PICTURES as per their request and said they were going to send me a shipping label...STILL WAITING! They got this product from a company called SPYDER auto. Everytime I call them I get excuse after excuse why they can't sent me a shipping label. These SCAMMERS have decided to keep my $99 and I'm stuck with their junk! You're right, STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

S
S
Steve So
, US
Dec 12, 2022 7:11 pm EST

Worst of the worst. I ordered a set of brakes for my Hellcat. rotors and pads all around. The brakes were defective so I took pictures and videos and sent them back. Power stop approved the refund but car ID will not issue the refund a month later. Awful, rude, not caring. Don't use this company no matter how good the price seems. If you get a defective part you are in a bad situation.

K
K
Kessy Lambo
, US
Nov 08, 2022 11:18 am EST

Carid is one of the worst company I order a headrest unit the screen was black I called the same day to let them know they said it was my fault they wouldn't give me a refund or replace the unit stay away from this company you wouldn't get your money back and they are rude and unprofessional

R
R
Robert Kolb
, US
Aug 11, 2022 1:39 pm EDT

Bought a body kit for a Mustang, and it had a lot of fitment issue. They expected the car to sit at a body shop for week at my expense for storage there. We sent in pics they ask for then it took them over a week to send them to Duraflex. So we decided to keep the old bumpers and paint them. Then over a week later the turn around and ask for more pics. Which we can’t do k ow that the car is back together. So they say there is nothing they can do. PLEASE Run away from this company. Worst customer customer service every.

RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

Worst customer service. When the request pics and you sent them the pics that they requested that should be it. So the expected me to pay the shipping to me and back to them storage of my vehicle well they decide

Which it’s far more then the junk they sell.

Time For legal action!

R
R
Robert Kolb
, US
Aug 11, 2022 1:39 pm EDT

Bought a body kit for a Mustang, and it had a lot of fitment issue. They expected the car to sit at a body shop for week at my expense for storage there. We sent in pics they ask for then it took them over a week to send them to Duraflex. So we decided to keep the old bumpers and paint them. Then over a week later the turn around and ask for more pics. Which we can’t do k ow that the car is back together. So they say there is nothing they can do. PLEASE Run away from this company. Worst customer customer service every.

RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

Worst customer service. When the request pics and you sent them the pics that they requested that should be it. So the expected me to pay the shipping to me and back to them storage of my vehicle well they decide

Which it’s far more then the junk they sell.

Time For legal action!

View 0 more photos
K
K
Kelly Tz
, US
Aug 03, 2022 10:07 am EDT

Our company ordered a hood 2 weeks ago for a customers truck, it arrived damaged in multiple places. I contacted carid, they blamed logistics and sent me to them to file a complaint, I contacted logistics where they told me it's on carid and to file a complaint with them. Carid requested that I send photos which I did and their last communication to me via email is them asking me to keep the hood and recieve a partial refund of $75. We can't use the hood and it will cost us double that to dispose of it. I responded with a no thanks and requested a full refund. I just received another email as I typing this out with carid saying to give them 1-3 days to work with the manufacturer regarding this issue.

I will Never order from this company again. As a business owner myself, I would be mortified if my customers were treated this way by my staff. The issue clear and the solution is even more clear.

View 0 more photos
J
J
James DEVANEY
, US
Jul 28, 2022 7:57 pm EDT

I needed rubber straps for my bike carrier from Tyger products but was diverted to Carid. They said these straps are not available from Tyger but available from Yakima for a total of 43 dollars shipping included. They said order was delayed at factory and delivery may be indefinite. I canceled the order and ordered directly from Tyger website and they are sending the straps free of charge. Carid is doing something sleezy. And right after I talked with Tyger I was notified by Carid that the items from Yakima have been shipped! And the bill is 43 dollars. Surprise.

R
R
Richard Norvell
, US
May 18, 2022 3:26 pm EDT

Well, my first time trying CARid and never again. It's been a week and my roof rack hasn't shipped and the update says it will arrive by (the next day). I call them and they told me it shipped yesterday and will arrive on time. Then I get an email 2 hours later that it's been delayed for four months and that my order canceled and I'll be refunded within 24-48 hours. I call them again and was told about the delay, but order wasn't canceled. I canceled it and was told that it will take 5 business days to receive an email cancelation confirmation. Then however long my bank takes after that before I get my refund. This is crazy! Why does it take 5 days to send me a cancelation email?!

F
F
Fernando J
, US
Apr 13, 2022 4:32 pm EDT

This company is filled with greed and ripping loyal customers off. Ive spent alot of money through the years w them. I ordered a bumper and it was the wrong one. I sent VIN#, and pictures in detailed of bumper which came in truck originally. They did not won't to refund my money. After months going back and forth, I was given instructions on where to send back but I was responsible for paying $340 to ship bumper back in Jasper, Indiana. Having difficulty finding corporate number. Ea time called, a foreigner answered call. I DONT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO PURCHASE FROM THIS COMPANY!

R
R
Ross Spielman
, US
Feb 28, 2022 9:39 pm EST

This is a scam company, anything you order will comte damaged. count on it. it is then a major fight to get a product that is not damaged..., Stay away!

J
J
James Webster
, US
Feb 02, 2022 6:35 pm EST

these people are a scam dont buy anything from them you will get riped off

J
J
James Webster
, US
Feb 02, 2022 6:34 pm EST

this is a no good dishonest company ordered a part from them wrong part would not refund had to get paypal to investigate them dont buy anything from these people they are a scam

J
J
jlhughes566
, US
Oct 15, 2017 10:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have ordered from them Tried to change the product on the order before it was shipped, but still got what I had ordered in the first place. I really can't complain, cause did get it installed on the vehicle which fitment was like the original manufacturer part other than looks. I think I would have liked the looks of the other ones, but wouldn't have been any better than what I have received from them.

J
J
Jane334
, US
Jul 15, 2017 3:49 am EDT

Awful company. They are frauds. Don't by from them!

D
D
Dennis Novak
, US
Apr 25, 2016 9:35 am EDT

I purchased a grille guard for nearly $450. It arrived damaged, which was not apparent from the packaging. CarID has refused to accept a return or allow a refund. I now have $450 worth of useless scrap iron.

P
P
pissedoff100%
, US
Oct 01, 2015 7:51 pm EDT

Ordered nissan trailing arm bushings the Web site shows both bushes for both sides got 1 the total amount paid at check out is for both I got 1

H
H
Hector D
Point Clear, US
Jun 06, 2014 9:34 am EDT

As many others I am a very unsatisfied one time only customer. Carid took my money and then took two weeks to fulfill my order (which I haven't even gotten yet). Emails went unanswered, requests to cancel my order denied. I am simply taking my order when and if it gets to me (and hope they didn't screw it up like so many others) just so that I don't have to deal with this POS company anymore. I will never do business with Carid again and I will spread the word around so that others don't fall into their scams.

B
B
boyet
Scarborough (Toronto), CA
Sep 17, 2012 7:20 am EDT

CARID (www.CARID.com) selling automotive accessories is a SCAM.I bought from them an item for my 2011 Town and Country.The order came 2 mos. later and they said its the manufacturers fault even thought i dealt with them.I paid the item using my credit card (price of the item plus shipping) but when it was delivered to me UPS charged me another one for the shipping cost.CARID IS A SCAM.Better buy at AUTOEVERYTHING (www.autoeverything.com).

E
E
Ethentm
Wytheville, US
Aug 17, 2011 10:38 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I strongly agree that you should NEVER buy from CARiD.com. I placed an order on Aug. 1st, and my credit card was charged the full price of the item that day, it is now Aug. 17th and my order has been delayed two separate times. Needless to say, I am rather furious by their EXTREME incompetence right now. They claim the delay is because of the manufacturer, and it is beyond their control, but if the manufacturer does not have the product, then why does it appear to be in stock on the CARiD website? This is all beyond unprofessional, and I personally do not believe CARiD.com should legally be operable. I STRONGLY discourage anyone from EVER using CARiD, because I will surely never again do business with such unreliable, disreputable people. I wish I would have read the hundreds of complaints before I'd placed my order, because then I never would've wasted my time.

C
C
CARiD.COM
Cranbury, US
May 02, 2011 8:35 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hello,
I have carefully looked through your feedback, as far as I understand you ordered Lloyd mats which are non returnable due to manufacturer's policy, the only case is if you do not like the quality of mats we can provide with the 50% refund upon destruction of mats, this is not the best policy I have ever met, though it is true. When ordering the mats you agreed with our returns policy where we clearly describe the return procedure for Lloyd products. In this particular case we did our best to stop the order, though cancellation process involves voiding orders in computer systems, removing items from backorder logs, having operations personnel pull items from production schedules and sometimes stopping orders at the shipping dock. Once we received the reply to our cancellation request to manufacturer we notified you.
Lloyds are one of couple products on our product list who's products have this return policy. For 98% of our items we have a 30 days return policy an NO restocking fees.
We still deliver the high quality product, and to balance between manufacturer's restrictions we will be happy to provide you with the good discount any of your future orders.

U
U
Unhappy with CARiD
Los Angeles, US
May 02, 2011 7:28 pm EDT

I am in a dispute with them right now, because I ordered a set of car mats for my 2008 Honda Accord, on April 19th. They sent me an e-mail stating the order would ship in April 25th. That was fine, however, my husband surprised me with a set on April 20th, so I called them on April 21st to see if I could cancel the order. At that time I spoke to two different people (one in customer service and one with shipping) and both assured me that the order was canceled. On Saturday, April 23rd, I received an e-mail stating the order had shipped. After going back and forth with them, I was finally told that if I destroyed the thick carpeted floor mats, and sent them a digital picture of the destroyed mats, they would refund me 50% of the order. Their customer people are rude and refuse to even entertain any other solution. What a joke. I have an investigation open with the Better Business Bureau, lets hope I receive some satisfaction. Bottom line, NEVER PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM CARiD!

C
C
CARiD.COM
Cranbury, US
Apr 29, 2011 10:36 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hello Jiklane,
I reviewed the feedback below, I apologize for our customer care representatives if they sounded rude in any case, this is against our company's policy and is absolutely not acceptable. We perform trainings and arrange classes every week with agents that are new to improve the knowledge of procedures. Manufacturer's policy is very strict in case of the warranty replacement if part fell of the car, though in this case we always submit a request with most possible amount of details to get the replacement. I will approach this king of warranty replacements and in future we will make it much easier for our customer. As a company we grow and every step we take is towards customer's comfort placing the order and enjoying our product.
If you will have any concerns on the service level or will nor receive the satisfactory service please email to info@carid.com attention Gary