The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CadillacCustomer Service

T

On 4-3-09 I took my father cadillac to Napleton's for Service, and was extremely un-happy with the level of customer service. My father who has been a loyal GM Cadillac owned had purchased the vehicle cash from this dealership in 2001. It was his gift upon retirement. Shortly after opurchasing the vehicle he experienced problems, but being a loyal customer each time would deligently return to express his concerns with the mechanical difficulties, only for them to go un-warranted. When his health statred to decline, he didn't drive as much but made it a point to still drive his car short distances each day, he loved his car. He kept it in his garage and made sure to keep up with his sch'd maintainence. Currently my Dad is in the Hospital and I while in town have been driving his car and handling his affairs. During my visit while going through his records I noticed that he had recently at 20, 000 miles had pads replaced and at only 10, 000 miles had to have a tail lite replaced. Also I noted that my father had purchased an Extended Warranty via a company that was given his information by someone within the GM company because they were supplier with VIN # in their letter to him and all other info. regarding the delivery of his vehicle purchased. The company name on the Warranty is "Extended Care Protection" SP Secure Pro [protected]. Basically after careful review of the warranty I was sickened that GM would give my Dad's info. to such an un-reprehensible company that obviously prey's on Senior Citizen's that aren't as able to read between the lines on a contract. After careful review I COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING THAT WOULD BE COVERED. So my father who PAID cash of $35, 000 for a Cadillac from Napleton's in Calumet City that had trim coming off and mechical problems almost from the start...now also purchased an extended warranty for 1554.00 twice to extend it, that wasn't worth the paper it was written on. VERY SAD. While in town I thought that perhaps I could take the car in to Napleton's to get someone there to address the issues with my fathers vehicle, and get some symbolence of cust. serv. The problems now had now escalated to smoke coming out of the vents on my way to the dealership, radio display lites failing and vehicle stopping while driving with no indication of any mechanical problem via dash lites etc. Only to get there and be TREATED VERY POORLY. No one there seemed to understand the term CUSTOMER SERVICE, when you purchase a Luxury Vehicle you expect a different level of comittment from the Sales and Service Staff...NOT HERE. I am sorry but it appears very ETHINICALLY MOTIVATED, which is very dis-heartening. Napleton's of CC appears to have a very matter of fact attitude towards how they handle their customers, at one point one of their service staff actually laughed at me when I asked for the General Managers name because I wanted to complain. When they called me back to tell me what was wrong w/my Dad's car the list was un-believable the CRANK SENSOR 552.00, BLOW MOTOR 540.00, RADIO EXCHANGE 482.00, LEFT TIE ROD 235.00 + Front end align. cost. None of these thing should be going out on a vehicle that has less than 24, 000 miles less of all a LUXURY VEH. which is what Cadillace used to be. Also I was told to even look a the car it would be 110.00 which I feel is out-rageous. I could understand that if I was merely bring in the car for a routine maintainence visit but I bringing in a vehicle that not only has 3 MAJOR MECHANICAL MALF. THAT ARE ALL AFFECTING THE OVER-ALL PERFORMANCE OF THE VEHICLE BUT NEVER SHOULD ALL THESE THINGS BE GOING WRONG AT ONCE WITH THIS MILEAGE...PERIOD. tHE MANAGER OF THE SHOP said this was normal, when I looked at him and said on a Cadillac he said yes...REALLY. WOW. His reasoning is that because my DAD didn't drive lond distances in the car that these items had merely DRY ROTTED..."THE RADIO" PLEASE. MY HOPE is that GM CADILLAC CUST. SERV. can resolve this issue other-wise I WILL CONTACT MY ATTORNEY FRIENDS IN LA TO GET SOME JUSTICE FOR MY FATHER. This SIMPLY should not be the way Cadillace Treats it Customers...Especially in todays Economy. Please repond to my concerns ASAP as I need to know how to proceed with the above mentioned concerns. Thank You in advance for your quick response and deligent action.

Responses

  • Valerie Sep 01, 2008

    I have purchase a Cadillac here in Huntsville Al. When I looked at the car I told them that the car had to have Driver 1&2. The salesman said that the reason it was not working at that time that they would need to re-program the keys. So I took the car in to get it fixed. When I came to pick it up they told us that the feature was not on the car. I told them that I DID NOT WANT THE CAR. They talked us into keeping the car and give them a chance to find me another car. At this time we still have the car and are getting a RUN AROUND for 3 months.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Advocate 4 the people Apr 04, 2009

    Teena – First of all let me offer you my personal apologizes about your daddy’s health…My dad, 84 yrs old, is soooo sick and it takes every inch of emotions to see the man that raised you deteriorate. Now to your issue…Depending on the year of the caddy the extended service contract offers protection on the bare minimum of malfunctions on a vehicle unless it’s on a Nissan, Honda or Toyota. The repairs on the caddy are probably a little far stretched for profit purposes but that’s just the game right now with most of the GM dealers. That part can be negotiated. I think the real concern you should be having right now is the fact that GM is on the verge of a chronic breakdown nationwide. Read the news….the company is headed for disaster. My advice to you in regards to your father Caddy is to stay away from the dealers for the repairs (normally I wouldn’t suggest that you service anywhere else but the manufacturers dealer) due to the fact that you are paying right around 31% markup on all parts and 2.9 R.O hours (112% labor mark up) per job performed. Bottom-line is that your seeking help that no one can offer you. As far as getting an attorney involved you will spend money to get zero results and I wouldn’t drag my daddy through that fight at all. I know you dad loves his car so I would suggest trading it in as I’m sure when he looks at his caddy he feels a little security inside. Really the only thing to do is negotiate the hell out of the services needed on the car which I would also not normally recommend being a General Manager of a dealership myself (not GM). Try to fix your daddy’s car with as little stress as possible on him. This is more about your fathers feelings about his car than about trying to spin your wheels fighting a dying manufacturer.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cadillacmom May 10, 2009

    You tell me one GM dealer that will look at your car and diagnose it for FREE!!! When you get your repairs done the charge is taken off!!! I don't believe for one second that they laughed at you when you asked for the GM"s name. No one that works there would do that!!! How funny that you honestly think that GM sold you fathers info for that warranty!!! LOL, really??? GM has their own warranty that they sell through their dealers...it's called GMPP!!! Dealerships get calls daily about receiving letters that they should buy a warranty. We tell them NOT TO DO IT!!! Those warrantys are no good!!! The dealership can not help what warranty YOUR father bought!!! Maybe instead of pointing fingers you should really get YOUR facts straight. IT really sounds like you are a problem customer and would have issues no matter where you went. I bought all of my cars from Napleton Cadillac and have had all the maintence that GM recommends!!! I have never had anyone be rude to me only helpful. I think you are some frys short of a happy meal!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Bu
    Buzz May 22, 2009

    Napleton Cadillac, Rockford Il. is the WORST dealership I have ever delt with! I wish GM would shut them down by revolking their franchise. I purchased a used 05 XLR and was lied to from day one about the whole deal. From the regestration to the warrenty, the bent wheels, service. I purchased it on 12/5/08 and had to take it back for the bent wheels, window adjustments, bad GPS unti. They had the vehicle for over three weeks. They never called me when the vehicle was done. I had called to get an update on the status every week and was given an excuse of why it was not done yet. After 3 1/2 weeks I went to the dealer on Wendsday of the forth week to see what was taking so long and saw it sitting outside. I asked the service manager Dave if it was done and was told it was done on the Thursday before. I said why didn't you call me? His answer was we are too busy to call. I got the car home and was cleaning it up and discovered the grill was busted. Icalled and wanted to know how this happened and was told we didn't do it here. I ended up paying to have it repaired. I had extra dealer warrenty put on the contract to cover wheels and tires. THEY DID NOT WANT TO HONOR THEIR OWN WARRENTY to cover the bent wheels. They showed me the government mandated inspection sheet that showed everything on the vehicle was 100% inspected and excellent. This vehicle was never inspected at all. The dealer just checked off the boxes and put it on the lot for resale. I believe dealers like this should be held accountable for their lieing and cheating of customers. By the way I am a retired GM reliability engineer. I have worked for GM for 43 years. I have had to get rid of the XLR because of this dealers lies. I would never recommend any NAPELTON dealership to anyone, friend or foe!

    1 Votes
  • Na
    napletonsucks Aug 13, 2009

    Cadillacmom -
    First of all, it sounds like you exposed yourself as a Napleton employee by your direct quote about teena's fathers warranty by your statement;
    "Dealerships get calls daily about receiving letters that they should buy a warranty. We tell them NOT TO DO IT!!! Those warrantys are no good!!!"
    WE being the dead giveaway.
    Second, you are very defensive of Napleton Auto and just yesterday, I had a Napleton GM not only laugh at me, refuse to service my vehicle and hang up on me. After I bought a $40+ car from them 6 weeks ago and haven't even driven the car but have all kinds of issues with that they now refuse to take care of. ON A BRAND NEW VEHICLE. LOL, really!
    Third, for you to accuse teena of being a "problem customer" who is questioning her father's car and apparently doesn't live near her father, nor did she purchase this car, how can you technically call her a "problem customer"? And without even knowing this person, you are being disrespectful of her and her father. Then to say she "would have issues no matter where she went", AGAIN, she didn't purchase the car so who are you to judge?
    So just to be fair in your rude comment section, I guess you'll get what's coming to you!
    I suggest you learn how to spell! As for being a few FRIES short of a Happy Meal, that is probably because you ate them! Next I suggest get off your ### and start looking for a new job because when I get done with Napleton, you won't be the only one looking for a JOB!
    Sorry you sound like such a ###, maybe it's your place of employment. As for your job stablility, Napleton shouldn't have been stupid enough to screw over a State Senator's granddaughter!!! What a bunch of dumb ###!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    napletonsucks Aug 13, 2009

    PS - Geoff Feinblatt AND Tim Hayes will be standing in the unemployment line!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Ren Aug 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How does Cadillac get away with their head gasket problems?

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    Evelyn Caputo Jan 24, 2011

    Re my 2002 Cadillac Seville: for the past 18 months whenever it rains or snows the trunk retains water. I have not had any accident or incident. How can Cadillac rectify this problem?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sal Ligotino Jun 23, 2011

    In Dec 2006 I purchased a new 2006 Cadillac DTS. From that time until 2/2011 I have had to put 3 batteries in it (battery would go dead if not driven for a week or so). Tire pressure sensor went bad also. I have two other cars, Japanese, can leave them for 6 mos & they start with turn of key. The most disturbing problem with this car was at just a little over 24K miles in 2/20011, I was told by a dealership that I needed a new front axel, due to a rubbung sound in wheel this was not warrantee, & no guarantee that it won't happen again. Dealer said they see on of these every few years. I happen to be the unlucky one. I was out of state & had 2 days of driving to return home. I decided not to take a chance with this car & purchased a new high end Japanese auto. which is out performing the DTS. Needless to say I am very disappointed with the quality of my cadillac, the dealership not willing to extend warantee service. This should have never happened at 24K miles. I may never buy another cadillac again because of this experience. I don't see the quality in them or dealerships backing up their cars with any kind of extension to warranty or significant offers on replacement. Pls send response to [protected]@optonline.net

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sal Ligotino Jun 23, 2011

    Pls call I had a 2006 DTS that I had to trade in due to problems within 24K miles. Purchased a high end Japanese car that is out performing the DTS right out of the box.
    Problems:
    > 3 batteries within 3 yrs.
    > Tire pressure sensor went bad.
    > Rubbing sound in front end. Cadillac dealership said I needed a new front axel with no
    guarantees it would not happen again.

    All of the above with just a little more than 24K miles, dealership would not extend warrantee, no offering with respect to a replacement model. I would have purchased a 2011 model if so, Very disappointed with Cadillac quality & customer service. I would love to get a new Cadillac but am very hesitant because of this experience in car quality & the cadillac people not standing behind their prodic.

    [protected]@optonline.net 914.456.1539

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy W, Jul 26, 2011

    Major problem with Northstar engine. Blown head gaskets on 2003 Cadillac Seville with 80000 miles. Will never buy an American Car again

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions