The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Burlington Coat Factorydiscrimination

I attempted to return a suit that was purchase for my fiancee from out of state all the tags were in place and the suit had never been worn. I enter the Pinole California store which recently opened in August 2010, to exchange the suit for a larger size, and was denied based on the price acording to the store manager the store employee Angelica whom was RUDE and condecending gave me all sorts of excuses why the suit could not be exchanged, obviously she was not thoroughly trained on burlingtons return policy, and i felt strongly discriminated againsts from her belittling attitude. She claimed she was the customer service mananger, however she conducted herself very nonprofesionally, and needs to be thoroughly trained to treat all customers the same, and not be so opinionated. when i asked for her supervisor, I then spoke with Brian who asked numorous 'irrelevant' questions regarding this one item when i was unable to provide this information because it was a gift he adamently DENIED my excahnge, which i became very disturb after waiting 30 minutes in line then another 15 minutes waiting on the manager to come to only send me through a number of problems Im very dissatisfied with the service pertaining to the new BURLINAGTON COAT FACTORY in pinole california.The return policy simply states you are allowed store credit if dissatisfied with the item its unfortunate, some store employees do not follow all guidlines. please correct this matter

Sincerly,

Andrea. A very dissatisfied customer.

Dear Mr. Tom Kingsbury President
Burlington coat Factory
1830 Rte. 130 North
Burlington New Jersey 08016

Im Truly annoyed with my experience at the burlington in Pinole California after my mom spoke with Brian the assistant manger on the phone he suggested I come back to the store to resolve the matter, I then returned several days later i have a very busy schedule I'm a Mother, working part time, and a full time student, so i was unable to return that day, when i returned several days later i then spoke with the store Manager ZARA who asked numurous questions, ie...which store was it purchased, what time, the date (etc) She then asked for my Drivers License and my school ID although i felt very uncomfortable, and ridiculed, I complied with her demands. without an explanation she proceeded to the back of the store i became even more irritated. I then requested she return my ID's and deal with the matter later she refused. I followed her, she asked what store was this item purchased at i wasnt really sure but i assumed the San francisco store, originally i was told it was brought out of state but however it was a gift so i was uncertain to were it was purchased she then called the San Francisco store and asked if this suit had been returned which was impossible because the item was still in my possesion she continued with her theatrics, compromising my integrity and finally ZARA denied my return with no substantial reason after reviewing my information then questioning me about how many returns I've done in the past which I dont recall ever doing any return's however I've made numorous purchases. I've never felt so degraded and humiliated in my life especially from a store I frequently patronize.

Please look into this matter futher
Thank you for your immediate attention to this very important issue.

Sincerly,

Andrea F. A very displeased customer.

Responses

  • La
    lalala.801 Dec 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And here's a little something for ya Blaaaaaaandrea ;)


    Like you complaining about discrimination is anything better than calling that lady Daweeenie. Bahaha what a JOKE.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • La
    lalala.801 Dec 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Amen foxfyre!
    Seriously, you wonder why you are "discriminated" against, when your attitude, and spelling falls right into the "ghetto" black category. The world does NOT revolve around you. YOU have obviously NEVER worked retail. The customer is NOT always right! And you're a fool to think so. The managers have the right to refuse services to any customer for any reason. Simply put, you come in the store with a bad attitude and show zero respect, we can ask you to leave and never come back, or we will call the police. It may be a free country, but freedom goes both ways. The manager has 100% say over you, unless you have everything going for you. Like returning to the origional store, with a receipt, with a smile, tags still on, brand new. Don't pull the racist card because you were denied service. I've been denied service before, and you don't hear me screaming, "you denied it because I'm white!!"
    Fyi, people switch tickets and try to return to the wrong stores all the time, and steal things and try to return them. Why would we have any reason to believe that you didn't do just that? Just because you act "civilly" means absolutely nothing. I had the nicest lady in the world return over $100 of used merchandise. Very lightly used so you could not tell at all. It happens all of the time. As an employee, you should have some sort of suspicion for every customer that tries to return something. Not in a negative way, but they should definitely be alert and aware of whats going on.

    And seriously? You returned it. So get over it. This is completely pathetic and childish. I would have sympathy if you couldn't return it at all...but I dont.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    justreading Jun 18, 2011

    I would have if there was more than one line open. But I did see the other door had no one by it so I took it out to the parking lot then entered the mall by rainforest cafe about 500 ft away.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justreading Jun 17, 2011

    Bought a play pen and as I was leaving the store loss prevention stops me. Ok check my reciept. Then I'm told I can't take the cart from the store. Well the lady that was right in front of me was allowed to. He tells me thats because she did not speak English and did not understand. Well no hablo and no Nintendo.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Jun 14, 2011

    1st and foremost your insults are not needed if my spelling is incorrect you know what the hell i mean! But back to the responce at hand, regardless if the suit, came from out of state its, still burlingtons merchandize, with tags fully in tact. if i have no use for the suit i'm going to return it, their return policy states it, review it so you could know what the hell your talking about! Also you worked in retail you should know CUSTOMERS ARE ALWAYS RIGHT! the suit was not the right size i went to another burlington they exchanged it no problem as in compliance with store policy so know what your talking about before you start blogging!

    -1 Votes
  • Bu
    Burlington Shopper Nov 23, 2010

    The ### was probably worn.. I never have any problems returning unworn items at BURLINGTON FACTORY IN PINOLE lol

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Nov 05, 2010

    daweenie your so minor i'm not going to even entertain you no longer sorry boo! continue to burn crosses "LOL"

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Nov 05, 2010

    stelth, your in the military thats hard to "grasp" when your so againsts people doing the right thing, and followong procedure retail stores over price their close as it is. we spend our hard earn money so customers service people should practice void of prejudice and so should you being in the Military, i bet you were one of the ones that recieve a dishonorable discharge because your logic is flawed "Sir"

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Nov 04, 2010

    Daeweeenie, you sound very angry i bet your wanna those whte devils! so you dont have a clue what oppression is so dont speak on it until you walk my shoes bi#cH!

    -2 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Nov 04, 2010

    stelth! im not gon' keep going back in fourth with you about this obviously you never owned a suit b'cuz you're taking this way too personal... find the business website and get you some and stay the f#@k out of mines, moran huh? haha thats funny you sound like you have something up yo a$$ get a life!!!

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Nov 03, 2010

    stelth, No is not an option when im a paying customer. They dont tell me no when im spending my money!!!"LMFAO" "hated people like me" you sound like you work at the BURLINGTON in pinole you don't owe me a MFT but you gon' respect me especially if im spending my money in your store i'm well known in this community and a grape vine as well if I pass the word around no one will be shopping at the new BURLINGTONCOATFACTORY in PINOLE Ca, obviosly apparently you didnt review all the facts, surrounding this situation the suit was a gift so obviously i was uncertain which burlington it was purchased at however all the tags were properly in place and the suit hadn't been worn. All i requested was that they honor their legal store policy i read, and are familiar with it. Although this is a new location thier policy is the same and i seen the exact same suit in this store this manager had a problem with me and it shouldnt had nothing to do with my attitude i wasnt there to win a popularity contest i expected her to do her job accordingly; if i spend my hard earn money there i should be treated fairly and equally i won't accept nothing less i will not be shopping at BURLINGTONCOATFACTORY in PINOLE ca, becuase in my opinion they DISCRIMINATE againat certain customers they need to learn this is a different location but all our funds are the same i seen the suit at the store so she could have exchange it she was being very difficult but i went 15 miles west and retrurn the suit no problem...That concluded my theory that this manager wasnt following policy but in fact her opinion which i feel is wrong dont judge me do your JOB!

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Nov 03, 2010

    Look here daweenie, i'm very aware of the meaning of discrimination. You are ignorant for even insinuating that fact when you werent even there, she denied my return because im black! yea i said it, and i meant it, i witness it like i said prior to me attempting to return my item a white person with the same situation was accomadated no problem because i asked him and he confirmed, so why was mines denied? but it really dont matter i went to another burlington near by (inner city) and they did my return no problem but even still my family or i wont be shopping at the BURLINGTONS IN PINOLE CA, i presented myself very civilly im a woman at all times i am very assertive but, however if i feel im being treating unfairly i can and will become verbally aggresive i shouldnt have to kiss nobody a%$, to be treated respectfully, i pay my taxes i work very hard and i did shop at BURLINGTON faithfully i liked the service i recieve at the san francisco store on 5th and Howard even though they only have two Black employees and one of them is security im treated with respect like a paying customer should so dont judge me until you walked in my shoes (dummy)

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Andrea F Oct 31, 2010

    when the store have a specific return policy they suppose to honor it other wise its false advertising, are you familiar with the return policy? i am, i read it prior to presenting my creditentials so if she the store manager was going to deny my return she shouldnt have sent me through all that. rather it was out of state or not it still was burlingtons items properly tagged and i truly felt discriminated againts when prior to me attempting to do my return a caucasion gentelman was in front of me with the same circumstance and she Zara did his return NO PROBLEM so i felt DISCRIMINATED AGAINTS like i said!!! NO is uneceptable when im a faithful customer. Stealth Pilot!!! and Dawweeniie!!! No is not an option... When i'm purchasing from BURLINGTON i dont hear NO...

    -1 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy from garden grove Sep 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Managers at this location discriminate against people being of a older age. A friend of mine is over 50 and they have been working their hardest to get a good position in the new location. The male manager told them they were too old and too slow, and doesn't see them fitting in with the young crowd while working. This friend of mine does not mess around at work, they are only trying to do their best at their new job. Since the manager my friend they were too old and too slow, my friend has not been scheduled any hours for over a week! When Burlington's says they are hiring for entry level positions, they should put in black bold letters no one over the age of 30 and must not have any health issues!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.