SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Big Fish Gamesunauthorized charges to paypal account

1
T Review updated:

Big fish games is charging everyone's credit card and paypal account. I bought one game for my son one time and have five 6.99 charges on my paypal account. Beware these guys are a scam.

Responses

  • E
      Feb 03, 2010

    I just got stuck with the same situation. I thought I was buying one Big Fish game from Games2Download and suddenly found that I had 'approved' a monthly fee being deducted from my PayPal account. Definitely beware!

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 15, 2010

    BIG FISH GAMES ARE A TOTAL SCAM! I HAVE NOT PURCHASED A GAME FOR OVER 2 MONTHS AND HAVE NOW SUDDENLY BEEN CHARGED FOR 4 GAMES THAT I HAVE NOT PURCHASED. THEY SEEM TO BE DOING IT ALL THE TIME ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR CREDIT CARD. STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Oct 21, 2010

    Big Fish Games prides ourselves in helping every customer individually so that we can present a suitable solution for any issue. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and will work hard to help every customer with any issue they may have when using our site or games.

    We can be contacted directly at: http://bigfishgames.custhelp.com

    -6 Votes
  • T
      Nov 26, 2010

    They have been filching my account for months for some "game club" I supposedly signed up for!

    And get this, when you log onto your account with them to cancel everything, one of the drop down box reasons to cancel is "I didn't know I signed up for the Game Club" which obviously shows that the company is completely aware of what is going on and yet they continue this practice.

    I will NEVER EVER purchase a game from them ever again!

    Read about my traumatic experience here:

    http://sassiwench.blogspot.com/2010/11/beware-never-buy-from-big-fish-games.html

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Dec 13, 2010

    Same here!

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Mar 26, 2011

    I have the same problem. I am getting charged 6.99 every month from this company. I dont even have the game anymore. I want my money back.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Mar 30, 2011

    Let the buyer beware. I, too, thought I was buying one game. I wish I had seen this post prior to this. I am sure, if I could talk to someone there, I would be told that I should have read the disclaimer. What a lousy site. I am very computer savvy and constantly warn others to watch what they are doing. I guess for me to get taken in like this is what I really am ticked about. Live and learn!!!

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Apr 18, 2011

    Big Fish Games = Total Scam. These guys are as slick as used car salesmen. You buy one of their games for cheap, then somehow you're automatically getting billed $6.99 every month.
    They're a total 'cheap whore'. The first time's cheap then you get herpes for the rest of your life.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      May 11, 2011

    JUST DUMP THE FRIGGIN' GAME CLUB YOUR ###S! Holy cow, how stupid are you people. I just downloaded 1 game because it was the cheapest around, and you know what, I READ THE FINE PRINT! I know that if I want to purchase the game I can get a 1 month free trial, but MUST CANCEL WITHIN THE ONE MONTH PERIOD!! You people need to read more and oggle less. Seriously, this is why people think Americans are ignorant.

    -1 Votes
  • 2
      May 20, 2011

    It's extremely disturbing that people are so quick to shout SCAM when there is none! READ THE FINE PRINT!!!

    There is a box one needs to UNCHECK if you do not wish to be a game club member!!!
    It clearly states when purchasing the first game! That's all you need to do! Voila situation avoided!

    Now, those of you who don't want to be charged anymore, all you need to do is go to the forum and click on the green envelope to the right of the page and contact them and explain you didn't want to be a member and they will resolve this for you, happily, I might add.

    You all should have GAME CREDITS in your account for each month you were charged. These credits are good for any Standard Edition game...so you have games you CAN get with these if you choose to. Now they will even let you combine 2 credits to get a Collector's Edition game if you want to. It's a FANTASTIC deal!!! The complaints about this just makes everyone sound ignorant because they didn't READ!!! If you still choose to not be a member, just contact them through their website using live chat or the green envelope and they will clear it up, guaranteed.

    Sorry I may sound aggravated, I AM. I am usually much more calm, but I came across this on google trying to do a quick search on a forum topic and I couldn't believe what I was reading in here!

    Best of luck to you all!

    Happy Gaming!
    Dream

    -2 Votes
  • F
      Aug 27, 2018

    @2Dream interesting that Dream has only created an account to write 2 aggressive and condescending defences of BFG. I think I can smell a shill here. Want to know what BFG really thinks of its customers who rightfully complain? It's all right here, in this post.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 04, 2011

    I also purchased 1 game and now am being charged every month for a game I do not want.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Dec 05, 2011

    I was always thought theft was illegal even if the thief returns the stolen money/property particularly when they keep the interest your money has earned them. Then again look at what the banking community did to us and they are still laughing all the way to their safe havens. Groucho Marx must be turning in his grave to see what a sorry State we have allowed to develop.

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Dec 25, 2011

    I purchased one game from www.bigfishgames.com and one month later my playpal account was billed $6.99 without my authorization. When I purchased a game I did not know that I would be charged on a monthly basis for a membership which I did not consent to. Bigfishgames did not indicate that when you are buying a game from them you credit card or paypal account would be charged monthly a membership fee. Yet their terms of service state the following:
    "All payments are non-refundable. Taxes may apply on the Membership Fees. You agree to provide Big Fish Games with valid credit or debit card (or other payment method) information, as well as any updates to such information, such as new expiration dates on credit or debit cards.
    YOU HEREBY AUTHORIZE BIG FISH GAMES TO AUTOMATICALLY CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD, DEBIT YOUR BANK ACCOUNT, OR OTHERWISE BILL OR CHARGE YOU IN ACCORDANCE WITH ANY ALTERNATIVE PAYMENT METHOD YOU HAVE SELECTED, EACH MONTH UNTIL YOU CANCEL YOUR PROGRAM MEMBERSHIP."

    Shameful practice of stealing money from unsuspecting customers.

    +1 Votes
  • K
      Jan 28, 2012

    The fact that you did not read your computer screens before agreeing to that discount you wanted so badly you just couldn't take a moment to make sure you understood what you were agreeing to, does not make what happened to you "fraud". It *does* however make all of you total ###s. Now, because a pack of idiots like yourselves decided to run crying to your credit card companies for something that was YOUR FAULT, I now have to fight with my bank to have the block removed from my debit card so that I (a person who can actually read) can continue to enjoy the awesomeness that is Big Fish Games. Thanks for that! It's exactly how I wanted to spend my Saturday morning!

    -4 Votes
  • F
      Aug 27, 2018

    @Keebi another shill

    0 Votes
  • F
      May 31, 2012

    I am having the same problem with this sorry excuse of a company, I cancelled my account only to find out that they have charged me 6.99 a month TWICE a month for two months, I'm furious, As for the posters who is calling us all ignorant ###s We are neither ignorant, nor are we ###s, we have been SCAMMED, plain and simple, and it's highly illegal, I read the fine print, I followed the instructions to the letter, I cancelled my card, and I did learn a very valuable lesson, never ever trust BigFish Games

    0 Votes
  • C
      Oct 18, 2012

    OBVIOUSLY... YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THIS ONE COMING YET!!!

    Like everybody, I purchased 1 game and the next thing you know is, you are a member and paying monthly fee. And like everybody says, you can hardly cancelled it. So I called the credit card company and CANCEL my credit card and issued for a new one. A new card with "DIFFERENT" card numbers.

    guess what... 2 years later, the notorious $6.99 is on my "NEW" credit card again.

    So, no payment for the past 2 years, you figured that I supposedly to owe big fish $167.76. but...NO...big stinky fish puts you right back in their re-occurrence black box billing system. TOTAL FRAUD, TOTAL SCAM. I am surprised that they are still in business.

    +1 Votes
  • A
      May 02, 2013

    I have never purchased anything from this company and they charged my credit card somehow. I have been waiting on hold for 40 minutes to try to tell them to stop. Crooks!!!

    0 Votes
  • G
      May 02, 2013

    Only way they can charge your card if you gave them the info.

    0 Votes
  • J
      May 15, 2013

    All you need to do is go on their website, log in, and remove your credit card details.

    At least I think it works. I agree, their way of working is totally unethical.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Oct 13, 2013

    I received a confirmation email from Big Fish today, stating that I was charged for Big Fish Casino BASIC. I have not gone to their web site or even used any of their games in over a year or two. This came as a surprise. I immediately logged on the Big Fish web site and removed my credit card info. I will not be doing business with them every again.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Oct 20, 2013

    I was just charged for more than 300$ for the so called Big Fish Casino that I have never used before! Just unbelievable! I logged into my PayPal account to request for a refund and immediately removed all my financial details from my BigFishGames. I hope I'll get my money back real soon!

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 14, 2014

    I cancelled my membership with Big Fish over a year ago and they continue to bill me. I removed my credit card details from my billing information and did everything I'm supposed to do to cancel. They keep billing me. Now I have to cancel my credit card (declare their fraudulent charges) and wait for a new one to be couriered to me. Don't sign up with them whatever you do. They don't even take phone calls anymore. I've tried five different numbers I managed to find online.

    0 Votes
  • F
      Feb 18, 2014

    I dare you guys that defend this dishonest firm to find the link to cancel your membership in their site. I've tried to cancel it and the only thing they say is that you must click here and there and when you get to the "My Game Club" page, THERE IS NO LINK TO CANCEL!!! If this is not a SCAM, so what that is then???

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Apr 24, 2014

    To the folks that say this is not a scam, sorry guys, you don't get to decide what is a scam and what is not. If you promote a game to CHILDREN and then you say "read the fine print" (it is fine for a reason, isn't it?) and UNCHECK the DEFAULT CHECKED flag that says "we will make you a member of the club" but which is associated (non-obviously) with a monthly charge, then it IS a scam. You are an immoral bunch of criminals. Sorry, there's no way to put it. And you know this. You make a ton of money form this.
    You can't claim "99% of the world is stupid, they buy our stuff without knowing it, there's nothing we can do about stupidity" without knowing you are wrong.
    But don't worry. These types of courts more often than not end up with people going to jail. Yes, it takes time, and it may not happen in the US, but you WILL spend some time in jail in EU, that's almost certain. My advice to you: don't bend over to pick up the soap.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Apr 25, 2014

    Complete scam and frauds. Thankfully MY BANK informed me of this and shut my card down so that no more unauthorized charges would go thru. I played casino and made one purchase of $5.99 for gold to use as chips in the casino. Before my statement came in I had over $500 of unauthorized charges all at the exact same time and date. My bank informed me this is common occurrence and they were great. My inconvenience was waiting for a new card. But waiving and crediting all charges thankfully the bank handled. I was grateful that noticed this red flag. & shut down my card. I didn't even know until going to the store and my card being declined. However when contacting BigFish. Nobody replied. Not to one of 5 emails. I wasn't looking refunds. I wanted to speak with someone. Apprently there is no number to reach them. How they are A+ with the BBB is beyond me. What business doesn't have a number to reach a billing department. If you google big fish. All that comes up are complaints and scams etc. I wish I would have known. And they use the same odds as real casinos. Which I wasn't aware of either. Why would I pay money (other then few bucks for a game) when I'm gambling and receive nothing in return. If I am ever to spend $50 on a casino. It will be REAL ONLINE CASINOS. NOT WHERE I GET FAKE CHIPS BACK. So they also need to change those odds and make them better for the customers. Ohhh they can't. Then they wouldn't have as many people paying them the way they do. It's actually sad. I know that gambling addicts would probably lose a fortune to a site like this. Probably thousands. And not even with a chance at winning real money in return. It's all a BS scam. They are basically stealing money. Your real money. For their fake chips. Thankful my bank caught it and new numbers on card. And there was no fine print here. I am clear on all that. It was a one time purchase. Period. They used my info to collect money. And didn't even reply to an email. That is theft if u ask me.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Jun 06, 2014

    They also have very Racist and Unethical Hiring Practices. They hate hispanics and filipinos. lol serious

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jun 06, 2014

    They also indulge in unethical hiring practices. They don't like Mexicans or Filipino's.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jun 09, 2014

    There are no longer any contact numbers and the "cancel my account" link DOESN'T WORK! I sent five emails to customer support, waiting for a reply. Anyone in the same situation may have to simply close out your bank card. LESSON LEARNED!

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jun 12, 2014

    Same here. Got scammed into a $6.99 monthly charge by buying one game. Sure, I may not have read the fine print but who does. There should be no charges or contracts burried in some fineprint. I'm pretty sure this is illegal.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Aug 26, 2014

    Report the charges to your bank or credit card company and replace your card ASAP, it's free.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Aug 26, 2014

    This is what I've done so far. I reported this issue to my bank (credit card company) they made their own updates on their profile about this BigFish (I'm hoping) and re-emburssed me all unauthorized charges . Then they have replaced my card, free of charge. But the best way is to use Apple gift cards or pre-payed visa/master cards with limited funds on your apple ID profile.
    Hopefully this helps.

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Oct 19, 2014

    Same situation...have recently gone through all my credit card statements and realised that for at least the last 6 months Big Fish Games have been taking money out of my account...I have no idea why...all I can assume is that one of my 10year old daughter's apps on her kindle (all of which are "free") is a Big Fish Game but cannot find out which one...it is impossible to track, and I agree, a total scam!

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Feb 18, 2015

    I would tell you to cancel your membership on your game club page, but it doesn't matter. They take your money whether you cancel or not. Azzholes.

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Feb 18, 2015

    BUYER BEWARE.

    IT DOES NOT MATTER IF YOU CANCEL YOUR MONTHLY GAME CLUB OR NOT. BIG FISH WILL REMOVE THE MONEY FROM YOUR ACCT EVERY MONTH EVEN IF YOUR MEMBERSHIP HAS BEEN CANCELLED. THIS IS ILLEGAL AND STEALING.

    * If anyone still has their cc information sitting on the web site, go in and remove it. If there are charges after that, call an attorney.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Feb 27, 2015

    I do not consider myself an ignorant ###, but rather an intelligent ###. The ### part showed up when I did not read the fine print closely enough. Paying for stupidity is a quick cure. I do agree that this kind of practice is not quite above board, but has been around for ever. Anyone remember the book clubs or record clubs of the past? They disappeared because of protest about the same issue. Nothing ever changes, new generation, new product, same legal scam.

    Live and learn (again)

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Feb 06, 2016

    I've been buying games from BigFish now for many years and not once have they "scammed" me. All you have to do is untick the box that states you want game membership and they will not bill your credit card for anything other than the games you purchase. I cannot believe how silly and brain-less some people are, that they blindly sign up to something without reading it all first.
    BigFish games are by far the most ethically sounded gaming hub I have ever signed up to and I am proud to buy my games from there. Not once have they billed me for anything I have not purchased myself. Grow a brain, people. You scammed yourselfs!!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jun 20, 2016

    Le 22 avril 2016 Big Fish a prélevé 7, 33$ de ma carte de crédit et 7, 52 $ le 22 mai 2016.
    Je ne comprends pas la raison puisque ce jeu est gratuit était-il écrit.
    Je demande donc un remboursement et l'annulation de tout abonnement qui aurait pu résulter du téléchargement de MAHJONG.

    0 Votes
  • A
      May 12, 2017

    they are also taking money from my account I BOUGHT A GAME for 7.dollars and for teen cents back in Nov. and they keep billing me every mount since so I will do no more business with them. I had to revoke my card and issue a new card, this is the second time this has happened. No MORE!!!
    I'm done with theses guys !!!

    0 Votes
  • A
      May 12, 2017

    How many times do I HAVE TO TRY TO GET AN ANSWER from you's??? I bought a game from you in nov. 2016 for 7dollars and fourteen cents and am being re billed ever since. I 've revoked my card and issued a new one so I can't be billed anymore. This happened once before, so I am not doing anymore busyness with you!! I am very angry and upset with you's!!! GOODBY!!!

    0 Votes
  • E
      Aug 12, 2017

    This happened to me too. I know I must have missed something in the fine print and am partly to blame, or at least stupid. But I still think it is very poor business practice to continue charging my account when I have not even logged on to big fish games for well over a year. At some point they should suspend inactive accounts and inquire if they are still in use.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment