Ascena Retail Group Inc. Logo

Ascena Retail Group Inc.

Having problems with Ascena Retail Group Inc.?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Ascena Retail Group Inc. reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Sep 14, 2010. The latest review paid balance due twice was posted on Jan 14, 2020. Ascena Retail Group Inc. has an average consumer rating of 1 stars from 2 reviews. Ascena Retail Group Inc. has resolved 0 complaints.

Ascena Retail Group Inc. Customer Service Contacts

3750 State Road
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
United States - 19020

Ascena Retail Group Inc. Complaints & Reviews

Ascena Retail Group Inc.paid balance due twice

Paid Dressbarn balanced owed in the amount of $222.10 on 12/31/19 and again on 1/3/2020. I am requesting a refund of $222.10 at your earliest convenience. Account # ending with 6801. The Dressbarn store at our location has recently closed and I will no longer be using this credit card.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Please submit check to:
Stephanie Cuttle
16 Longmeadow Road
Beverly, MA 01915
[protected]
[protected]@yahoo.com

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Updated by Stephanie Cuttle · Jan 14, 2020

      I would appreciate a refund of the $222.10 at your earliest convenience

    Charming ShoppesCatherine's f*cked me over!

    Alright. So, I recently left my employment at Catherine's, and I have to say that it was one of the best things I've ever done. I had thought to get a part time job to make some extra spending money, and it is a load of bull.

    First of all, all of your paychecks are put onto this "payroll card" debit thing that you have no access to until it gets shipped to you (took me almost a month, had to re-order it). You can get out of this trap by putting in the form for direct deposit, but they lost that form THREE times, and I ended up having to use the payroll card until I quit. Worst part? They won't give me the balance that is left on the card now that I am no longer an employee- I essentially worked over fifteen hours for FREE for them now.

    Secondly, the coupons... coupons, coupons, coupons! You have no idea how many times I had customers walk out because their coupons only applied to the cheapest items in the store, and the best items, the 'perfect price' items, never were included. Not that it didn't say this on the coupon, but these women are "experienced" (shall we say) in life, and need magnifying glasses to read them! ***, I'm 19, and /I/ needed a magnifying glass to read them.

    Scheduling... In the near four months I worked for Charming Shoppes, I only had ONE four hour shift. That was not to say that I had longer shifts... No! All of my shifts were 3 measely hours, and I only got two or three per week. This would be understandable if there were more than four employees at that particular store, and everyone needed hours, but Heather (manager) was always ranting over the fact that she didn't have enough people to cover the hours... Ooh! I'll take some!

    But the worst part of ALL was the bag checks. My manager was more focused on making sure that I didn't steal anything than she was about the customers stealing anything! For part of the time that I worked there I was without a car and had to take the bus to college after work. This meant that when I got dropped off at work, I had to have my laptop bag with my computer, my textbooks, and my notebooks all with me. Repeatedly I was degraded in front of customers by being taken to the door by the manager and asked to pull out every item so that she could check the bag. She also checked inside my laptop, and inside my TEXTBOOKS! There were several occasions when the manager was rifling through my bag that my laptop fell to the ground and the screen was damaged as a result, as if adding insult to injury.

    To finish off everything, the clothes are absolute garbage. We had to air them out because the bags that they came in individually wrapped were so full of preservative and starch that they would give us all headaches if we stayed in the store for too long.

    DO NOT SHOP THERE, DO NOT WORK THERE. THEY DO NOT CARE FOR YOU, AND THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Ki
        kittenface Dec 08, 2013

        This is really interesting. As a new hire 8 months ago, right before Ascena bought out Catherines from Charming Shoppes, I got paper checks initially. When we were notified of the payroll change, I didn't like the debit card idea, so I opted to input my direct deposit information on the workstation. No paper filing necessary so I am miffed that "they" "lost" your form 3 times. It's also not degrading to you to check your personal belongings as required after each shift. Did you ever watch the LP video? About 50% of the companies losses come from internal theft. As a member of management at my Catherine's, I know the importance of bag checks. Employees know the store far better than the customers and have more chances to walk away with merchandise. Cleay you have never been a member of management for a retail store otherwise you would recognize the importance. Submitting to these checks should have been outlined and discussed in your paperwork and prior to being hired. If you thought it degrading, why take the job and stick with it for nearly 4 months? In regards to working those few hours a few times a week, is this job not what you wanted? You said you wanted a PT job to make some extra spending money? At my store, PT associates rarely get above 4 hours per shift, and only a few shifts a week. Seems to be a company standard but again, why are you complaining about it? You wanted extra spending money. Every job I have interviewed for has discussed the schedule with me prior to my acceptance. My current position was no different. If you didn't agree with it, why accept? Managers are not supposed to be touching your personal belongings when doing bag checks. Either you are embellishing the story or the manager is guilty of doing that, in which case why did you not tell her to not touch your things, that you would move as necessary? I also have a hard time believing your comment about the packaging being full of starch and preservatives. In my 8 months of doing shipments almost every single week, none of us have ever had to vacate the store over supposed "starch and preservatives". I question the quality of some items received in regards to manufacturing, but I buy my clothing from Catherines and over 90% of everything I have purchased has been just fine. You are losing credibility fast. You seem to be too upset over this job that was supposed to for extra money. Why? I agree that some people work at Catherines locations that have no business holding the position they do, but there are people, like me, that do not deserve to be put in the same class as others simply for the fact that you didn't like certain policies and procedures. Catherine's is a good company and we do sell nice things, mostly overpriced in my opinion, yes, but we also ALWAYS have sales going on so you never pay the "sticker price".

        0 Votes
      • Em
        emwdesert Apr 22, 2012
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I am 50 and have extensive work experience at and feel that if I was brought to the front of the store for the manager to go through my personal belongings it would happen only once. There are plenty of other employers who appreciate your work and know how to treat their employees. If a company can't pay you with check and treat you like at valued employee you shouldn't work there. A good indication of how a company treats their customers is to watch how they treat their employees.

        0 Votes
      • Ce
        Cennet Jul 07, 2011

        Working does not revolve around you and every company has policies and procedures, you should have read through them.

        0 Votes
      • Ce
        Cennet Jul 07, 2011

        You realize it's procedure to check EVERY employees belongings before they leave the store at the end of their shift? Or did you not read the policies handbook. Being a part-time employee means 25 hours or less, i work 3 hour shifts, but do work more than 2 days a week. Managers are told to watch how many labor hours they use, it's a company...people don't work for free and someone has to pay all of those people. My direct deposit was never lost, i got my first paycheck no problem. I think you're just clueless about working since you're only 19.

        0 Votes

      IN THE NEWS

      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.