The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Residential Home Warrantyno service repair

P Review updated:

American Residential do not tell when you sign up for their service that if your Appliances or AC unit are older models that they will not be covered for repair or replacement. American Residential will not fix or repair or replace any thing that is not fairly new. If you have a new home you wouldn't need thier home warranty coverage. Those of us with older homes who might consider purchasing this insurance. Don't do it it's a rip off! If your Appliances, AC, Heat Pump or Hot Water Heater are more than 5 years old they will only reimburse you a very small fee of what the repair or replacement will cost.ac $250, Hot Water Heater $150 and that is only after you go out and buy the items yourself. Then send them a copy of your purchase reciept. What good is American Residential home warranty if anything needs to be repaired or replaced you have to purchase and install the items yourself. Why pay a fee every month to this company? I have found a much better insurance company it's First American Home Warranty [protected]).

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • American Residential Warranty's response · Jun 10, 2013

    Good Afternoon,

    As a representative of American Residential Warranty I can assure you that we do not “astro turf" our reviews. We stand behind our product, and provide a top tier service that saves home-owners thousands everyday. In order to provide this service, we do have specific items in our coverage that are covered and non-covered. We outline this coverage in detail and provide this to the customer upon sign up. Furthermore we also allow each new customer a 30 day review period of the policy, during which time the customer can cancel and receive a refund. We do not lock you into a contract.

    This day in age, regardless of the product a business offers, it is human nature for a consumer to vent online to others about a negative experience they may have had rather than share a positive experience. With respect to the complaints above, I would like to elaborate on each to explain our position in hopes that other consumers that are reading this thread better understand how a home warranty works.

    @ Rosie J. – Our notes indicate that the policy became effective on 8/7/2010. On 8/13/10, a claim was filed for the HVAC system. We attempted to locate a service provider in the area but were unsuccessful in doing so due to the property’s geographical location. We advised the customer that she would be able to use her own technician and be reimbursed. At this time the customer declined our offer and requested cancellation of the agreement. Because we were not able to provide service and the contract was within its initial 30 day period, we agreed to refund all payments made to ARW back to the homeowner.

    With regards to the condescending remarks directed @ Rosie J. made by Jonah Thomoa, we have asked ComplaintsBoard.com to remove these comments as they do not add any value to this discussion.

    @ethan hunt – Yes there are companies out there that offer no waiting period, but make sure you fully understand that these items are still subject to provisions in the contract that exclude pre-existing conditions and failures caused by rust in corrosion within a certain time period from date of purchase.

    @teebone – I was not able to locate any information in our system by search of your username nor do we have anyone within our organization by the name of Teresa. I am sorry to hear about your experience that you had with your home warranty company. In the event that American Residential Warranty is not able to provide a service technician for a customer in an emergency, like the situation you described, we will offer a prompt reimbursement of eligible repairs so long as there is prior approval from ARW. Unfortunately, appliances and systems do break down on weekends, holidays, and after hours when a service provider may not be available. This is why we are flexible in allowing a customer to use their own provider with prior authorization in a true emergency situation.

    @bb78738 – Please contact me directly to discuss any problems you may have had with our service. I was not able to locate your information by the user name to be able to better understand why the claim was not eligible. Please feel free to contact me directly at [protected]@arwplans.com.

    With regards to a written notice of cancellation in writing, per our home service agreement the agreement cannot be cancelled without the written consent of the customer.

    @Lisa4949 – All customers are informed of the 30 day waiting period prior to sign up. We do not force anyone to signup for our service, so I’m not sure why you felt the need to make this comment?

    @ John.h – I’m sorry to hear about the difficulty you had with getting your dishwasher repaired. There are times when a particular issue with an appliance or system may not be resolved in the first trip, however I have never heard of 10 trips being necessary to facilitate a repair on the dishwasher. I would be happy to discuss the details of your claim if you would like to contact me directly at [protected]@arwplans.com

    @bogey214 – Section I of our home service agreement states that a Breakdown is a mechanical or electrical failure of the covered system, component, or appliance to perform its fundamental operation(s) in normal service as defined by the manufacturer. In the case of the heating claim you submitted, our contractor determined that the burner in the furnace needed to be cleaned. The purchase of a home warranty is to cover electrical and mechanical failure, not to provide maintenance and cleaning of the equipment which was the problem in this case.

Responses

  • St
    Stanley May 06, 2009

    I actually have this warranty and disagree greatly. I had an air conditioning problem after 2 months of being on this program, and they came out and fixed it free of charge. There was a problem with the compressor, and it was 325$ They fixed it all free of charge. I then referred them 5 customers and they sent me 50$ I wish every business was as great as them!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stanley May 06, 2009

    This is bs. I had american home shield, for 2 years and they suckeddd!!! i switched over to American Residential Warranty Services and was very hesitant. I have a 12 year old refrigerator, and a very old ac (don't know exact age). So i called up American residential when my ac wasnt blowing cold, and my refrigerator stopped working. They sent out repairman for both. My air conditioner needed a 500 dollar valve (whatever that is) and my Refrigerator just needed a few electricle switches replaced. They actually paid everything, and all i had to do was send in my invoice to there company. I didn't even pay a service fee, and nothing out of my pocket. The whole thing cost about 650 dollars. My policy is like 40 something a month, what a damn good deal!!! So sad that idiots actually will talk bad about such a good company, i mean maybe you took a hammer to your appliance and then they wont cover it. But as long as you are honest, they will be too.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brooksey Dec 30, 2009

    I completely disagree with the poster and have had a completely different experience. My heat pump is 7 years old and last month it stopped working. Called the repair company and i come to find out that the circuit board was completed fried!! With labor and parts they wanted a little over 600 bucks! American Residential had me fax them the invoice and they paid the whole thing. I've been with these guys for a little over 2 years and so far so good.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Faith A. Jan 19, 2010

    I currently have American Residential Warranty and have been very pleased with their services. As a matter of fact I have referred my co-workers and family members to sign up with American Residential. They have done nothing but thank me for referring them to their service and are very pleased as well. And by the way, I have also recieved 3 $75.00 gift cards from American Residential Warranty from referring my friends and family members. I just want to say again thank you American Residential for standing behind your word. It's great to know that their is a company out there that is willing to give back especially today.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara A Jan 19, 2010

    I have been with arw over a year and a half was with ahs before that no comparison arw came out for a plumbing problem ac and washing machine at different times they came out quickley fixed the problems I even saved money at sears when buying abig screen tv for my husband at xmas I would recommend them and have highly plus I'm still paying the same price since I started where with ahs they raised me after a year and my service fee went from 50 to 65 dollars yours truly- barbara

    1 Votes
  • Oc
    ocasio May 11, 2010

    well I could tell you my ac moter went out yes I have problem back and for to fix it and out of my pocket they charge me 350.00 and Iwas very upset because before they came out they said i only had to pay 130.00 and that was not write after they fix it they charge me 350.00 and this is the true so they note that telling you the true my husband is disable i don't work so this was not nice at all

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosie J. Aug 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    American Residential is a rip off. I talked to someone by the name of Jordan who sold me the warranty. First, he said that all appliances would be be serviced by SEARS technician. I've only had them 1 month and, I canceled today Aug. 16, 2010. The customer service sucks, and they don't really care about your concerns. Its all about the money. My A/C went out a week ago and all I got was, "We are trying to locate someone in your area, but if you can find someone, we will gladly reimburse you." What a bunch of CROCK. They are worser than AHS! DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THIS COMPANY! THEY ARE A RIP-OFF. I work hard for my money, and I don't have time to be giving it away to a company that doesn't do what they say they are gonna do!

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonah Thomoa Aug 16, 2010

    I disagree because they have treated me well. I got good service twice and treat them nice so they repaired my fridge and dryer saving me 600$

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonah Thomoa Aug 16, 2010

    Rosie, YOUR AN IDIOT! YOUR AN IDIOT BECAUSE YOU SIGNED up WIHT A COMPANY THAT has a 30 day wait period, waited 30 days to place a claim on your air conditioning system and screw over this company. How F'n stupid do you have to be and what a scam of a person you are. You wait till the first week of being active and all of a sudden your A/C goes out and ofcourse you want the company to fix what was already broken. WHAT A SCAM OF A CUSTOMER YOU ARE!!! How convenient, oh my policy is active today, oh wow all of a sudden my A/C went out the first day of being active, oh wow this company doesn't treat me like a good customer, oh wow maybe BECAUSE YOUR NOT! THEY DESERVE TO TAKE YOUR MONEY BECUASE YOURE A SCAM ARTIST!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samantha Goggins Aug 20, 2010

    I have had different experiences then this poster represents and am happy to still be a customer of their for 2 years now.

    -4 Votes
  • Et
    ethan hunt Sep 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    actually samantha, there are warranty companies out there that provide coverage with NO waiting period. So if you sign up today and tomorrow your a/c "coincidentally" break down, it'll be taken care of by the warranty company. Do a search, i'd say 1/2 of the warranty companies out there will cover you immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Dv
    DV101 Jun 09, 2011

    I disagree Pam. I just left First Ameroican because they have dodged every claim I have ever had with them. The service pesonnel are not qualified and it takes multiple visits to repair practically anything. They suck large!
    DV, Texas

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teebone Jun 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    dont use them. they lie and tell u anything to avoid send someone out on the weekend to avoid saving them money
    my air went out for the second time i call them gave them the info, and the contractor that was used before thru them on a friday i also notified the contractor who was waiting on them to call .they call me on a sat and said they couldnt find anyone i hv 3 infants in the house so u can imagine the heat in june in georgia also also the person handling this was name teresa pls ask for another ref

    -1 Votes
  • Bb
    bb78738 Aug 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    American Residential Warranty is not a good outfit to do business with. I would avoid them if I had known what I know know. They simple would fine a reason not to cover the costly repairs. Also they make very difficult to cancel their agreement, they want a written notice of cancelling the service even when you're not satisfied with them. I just field complain with BBB against them.

    -1 Votes
  • To
    Tomas J Dec 06, 2011

    ARW has done nothing but good for me. THey have saved me 2k in 3 years.

    2 Votes
  • La
    lavie Mar 22, 2012

    I have subscribed to ARW for 2 years now and have not had any reason to call them for any repairs - and they have been charging me $49.98 judiciously. I am only wondering why I should continue to part with this money($600/yr) and what other choices I have.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa4949 Apr 23, 2012

    The problem is they have a 30 DAY WAITING PERIOD!! AHS does NOT have a waiting period!! Nothing more needs to be said- American Residential SUXXXXXXX

    -1 Votes
  • Ad
    adam.a Aug 08, 2012

    were purchasing an older house that was built in the sixties.i need to know if they would cover things like electrical, plumbing and so on.i need to get feedback from real customers and not some salesperson that will tell you what they think you want to hear. please respond if possible.thank you

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    john.h Oct 12, 2012

    RUN, do not walk from this company. The contractors they have in my area are terrible. It took them over 10 trips to my house to figure out the dishwasher could not be repaired, so I went 3 months without one. The names they gave me to fix my a/c wouldn't even return my calls when my a/c went out. And when one finally did come out, they put in the wrong parts and screwed up my compressor. I wouldn't recommend this company to somebody I didn't like. I cancelled the policy and requested a pro-rated refund, they even screw you on that calculation.

    -1 Votes
  • Bo
    bogey214 Jan 25, 2013

    I have had a couple of examples of how great this company is. I to have an older home built in the 70's and felt like I needed some type insurance policy in case something big broke down. They boast about "we either repair or REPLACE your broken appliance". THe problem is they have the say so as to whether it is broken or not. My last experience with them was over my heating unit went out in the fall. I called they gave me a number to call for a local rep. He shows up I pay him the trip charge up front like they request... Then he begins to tell me that my problem is not covered?? Due to no "broken" parts. My burner needed cleaning. He said the unit was just older and needed some maintenance done on it. He also said that they will not replace it because it can be fixed. When I complained to him that this was the second time I had used this service in a 2 year period and nothing is ever covered. He said that he hates to do the service calls for them because the consumer is always pissed off. He also tells me that he has never replaced anything under their policy for anyone and they always find an issue that is not covered. He recommended that I drop the policy and just pay for the repairs when they come up. It would be much cheeper. So if the repair man they send out tells you your an idiot for paying them each month that should tell you plenty about this rip off company. I have had policies from Sears, Circuit city and a couple others and they do exactly what you expect. No fine print, no special situations that cause it to not be covered. They either repair or replace the item. Bottom line. I suggest anyone looking for a service company do your home work. Read these complaints, check with the BBB and other blogs that offer help in choosing service companies and products. You will see who is legit and who is just ripping people off. These guys are RIP OFFS!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Pa
    PaulB183 Feb 25, 2013

    Folks, be careful about reviews that are exceeding critical of other reviews, specifically attacking the reviewer themselves (a good example would be that of "Jonah Thomos" above - beginning with "Rosie, you're an idiot...") . It is a fine example of something called "Astro Turfing".

    Businesses like home warranty companies are hiring "Internet reputation management" companies that use ethical grey area tactics like "astro turfing" and "SEO" (can't explain these terms in this short review, Google the terms if you want more info on them) to push down, negate, or otherwise destroy legitimate negative reviews and other Internet content that might cause people seeking legitimate information not to do business with them.

    View incredibly glowing reviews that seem over the top and those that personally attack reviewers who post negative reviews with a jaundiced eye and take into account that companies that seem to be using such "Internet reputation management" technics might be the best comment on their services. If they were truly good, why would they need them? They could simply rely on legitimate Internet word of mouth to be their best form of advertising.

    Wishing well to those looking for good information and hoping for a day when the Internet is no longer subject to things like "Internet reputation management".

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Brown Smith Jun 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    American Residential Warranty is thee most worst company I ever seen. The customer service reps are very rude and nasty and the company is a rip off. I hate this company and they need to be expose for the trash that they are. I am canceling with them, and I would not refer a dog to go with them sorry company.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Boyan Lu Jul 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't wast money on American residential warranty, they just wants to kite.

    0 Votes
  • Df
    DFW Family Aug 25, 2015

    This company is touch and go depending on who answers the phone. Some of the agents can be very nice and some can be very rash and abrupt. They do have caps of limits on the amount they will spend on repairs for any particular appliance or repair. They could be less overt about the limitations and be open with customers about the things they repair and the limitations. I have used them for a few years and one repair can go smooth and another could be a disaster. They do not guarantee the repair or company they recommend or hold them accountable. If the repair company they recommend does a good job then, its great. A company called AMERICAN HOME APPLIANCES, a choice of there's was sent to my home to do a microwave repair. We paid the $55 co-pay and AMERICAN RESIDENTIAL was to pay AMERICAN HOME APPLIANCES $488 there about for the repair. The microwave did not work with the technician diagnosis and new parts. I called the Home Warranty company informing them of this development. They took no responsibility or offered to liaise with the company they recommended, but told me, they have now paid the maximum for the repair on the appliance. American Home Appliances refused to repair the microwave or take responsibility for the bad diagnosis as the same error message came back on the microwave. The Home Warranty company closed the file and that was that. We did not have our appliance repaired or got the money back from the company they recommended and we had to pay for the repair by another company at the fraction of the price they paid. Do not expect even an apology from American Home Warranty it just won't happen. I won't use them again, they don't protect their customers who are paying them for a service and their staff aren't customer service worthy. I would not recommend them to anyone. My heating also went down. They said had to wait two days as they had no companies near me to repair my a/c unit. In all DFW they have not one good relationship with an A/C repair company. What does that tell me...business to business relationship are worse than their business to customer relationships.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    CeJays Aug 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can not believe most of you people out there. "I had them for 3 years and save over $2k!" Lets do the math people, $50 per month time 36 months = $1800 - which means you save $200. WOW! How about the AC, I saved $600, but I sent them over $1500 in fees... This company states they will derate the item pay out based on how old it it. 10 years is their base. Well an average AC & furnace should last 10 years before any minor repairs and 20+ years on any major repair. If you disagree, then you have been using the wrong people installing the equipment. I do this for a living, and my experiances are as stated, pure and simple. If you install the water heater correctly, it should last 20 years, and to limit repairs to $500? A new water heater at wholesale costs $450 plus install. For me to do any simple repair cost $150 just to walk in the door, not leaving much for getting parts and making the repair. Stay away from all of these companies, do your homework and $uck it up! You will be a lot better off and save a lot of $$$ over time. Think about it, how else do they stay in business? Collect more than they pay out...

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renee' Dec 04, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had a spell of bad luck with numerous things going out. This warranty company is EXTREMELY slow to pay out on a claim. My central air unit went out in July and it took them over a month to come to an agreement on what needed to be done. In sweltering heat in Alabama. In the end - they only sent me a check for $400 (this after I had already spent $1, 000 in trying to fix it). That was a big $7k hit for me. Then my garage door opener went out. They sent someone out to fix it. Short time fix - it broke again. Short time fix AGAIN - they finally agreed to replace it...but the worst part is that I have to drive to another town to a Lowe's to pick up my unit before they will send someone out. So I've not been able to use my garage for over a month awaiting this fix.

    I am also waiting (going on 3 months) for my dryer replacement.

    HORRIBLE customer service. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions