The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Greetingstrap for the unwary

E

Complete scam. You sign up for a "free trial period, " and they hope you forget about it, and after a few weeks they charge your credit card (without further notice) for a full year. Once you've been charged, there is absolutely no way to get a refund. You dial the number they give you, and you get an automated system with an endless round of voicemail "options" that go in circles, apparently forever, with absolutely no way to break out or talk to a real person. It's a nightmare and it's clearly been designed as a trap for the unwary.

Responses

  • Su
    Sue from VA Aug 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    joined for one year, American Greeting Card required a credit card. Tried to quit. But now that they have my discover card info they just can keep chargin me. Can not get in touch with themto quit. On hold for 45 min. numerous times. No way to email them.
    Called corporate offices and they said they have nothing to do with the online business and sent me back to same number. Called my credit card and was going to cancel it but Discover said I agreed to this charge and even if I have no credit card American on Line can charge me and ruin my credit. This is a nightmare. Please do not use them unless you want the service for the rest of your life.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rocco Siggillia Jun 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here's a copy of the email I sent to American Greetings. I was only able to stop auto-deduct payment because I paid through PayPal. I went to every customer review site I could and filed a complaint. I also filed a complaint to the Better Business Bureau (they take a few days to post complaints, but there are MANY complaints against this company at the BBB). Reading through the BBB complaints, it seems the better way to cancel membership is via their 216-252.6778 number. The 800 #s, the 415 #s, and other #s are useless. Also, they are affiliated with Blue Mountain and Webshots. Here is my email what I copied to every consumer review I could find!


    American Greetings,

    You stink!

    I signed up for your 7 day free trial membership and as instructed provided my PayPal billing information so that if I did not cancel you would begin billing monthly. I decided to NOT continue any membership services with you and followed instructions on cancelling membership choice.

    However, much to my dismay, there is NO way to cancel a membership charge online. I made numerous calls to the number you provide [protected]). Several times I tried holding to speak to someone and no one ever answered. Several times I tried to get a call back and no one ever called back.

    Therefore, I instructed PayPal to reject any attempt on your part to make any membership charges to my PayPal account/credit/debit card.

    I consider your company to be a scam and your agreement to be fraudulent and will report you to the Better Business Bureau and leave terrible reviews about your practices wherever I can.

    Shame on you.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kayem Jan 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Rocco Siggillia I also used PayPal . When I called, my account could not be found. I never activated it. But, AG responded in minutes to my online Contact Us request to cancel and sent me a confirmation. I noted in my comments that I had already deauthorized PayPal. I am not sure what would have happened if I had used a credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miss GQ Jan 03, 2016

    After reading their information about automatic renewing and that you are not allowed to enter into a class action lawsuit against them this is enough for me to say No Way. That's not something any legitimate company would hide in a contract that you have to agree to in order to use their services. Am glad I read the reports here before getting taken by yet another disreputable company.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    barbarafuller Oct 31, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up for a trial period and after sending one card I went to my account online and cancelled, so that I wouldn't get charged. Lo and behold, after the trial period was up, I was charged $19.99 for a year's membership. I called and spoke with a CS person, but was told that my account doesn't show that I cancelled. There's NO way they would accept that this is exactly what I did, and of course, there's no way I could prove that this is exactly what I did. This is indeed a SCAM! Also, I can't even get into my account now, because I can't get the website to properly load. It just sits on 'loading.' No other website I go to does this, so it has to be AGs problem. I, also, won't be purchasing any AG printed cards in stores anymore, as I don't want to support their enterprise in any way whatsoever! Stay away from these people if you don't want to participate in their scam.

    0 Votes
  • Nn
    NNNN1 Feb 24, 2015

    Trap for the Unwary is right!
    I've done this before and forgotten. I signed up for a week's trial; I cancelled it and forgot it. Just happened to catch a charge (like a roach) on my credit card bill. I called to get a refund and spoke to the automated voice: AGENT. AGENT. AGENT. Of course, it knew why I was there; it "cancelled" my trial and explained that of course, I wouldn't get a refund! Of course. Let's see what happens with next month's credit card. In fact, I'm going to call every week just to make sure it's cancelled. Beware. They seem so legit and are so not.

    0 Votes
  • It
    Itnart Jul 21, 2014

    I signed up for a 30 day trial on July 10. They charged my credit card 8 days later. When I called and finally got through the endless loops of the phone system, they cancelled the membership but say they will not refund any money. So the next step is the bank to dispute the charge. American Greetings hides behind many different website names. They claim they only have a 7 day trial but if you do a search for a 30 day trial, a whole bunch come up, plus the account info when logged into American Greetings reflected that it was expiring on August 9.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoshTrish Jul 18, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up for one year with American Greeting in 2011 and have been on auto-pay every year since then without noticing the yearly charge until this year. My Visa card expired 2 years ago but somehow they were able to get the new expiration date without my authorization. They say I'll receive a refund for the most recent charge but we'll see. I'm sure there are many people who don't check for every charge on their credit card statement each month and companies like American Greeting get away taking money from countless numbers of people.

    0 Votes
  • Ep
    E PEDERSEN Feb 18, 2014

    I tried for years to stop them from billing, my bank has even tried to contact them to assist me to cancel the automatic deductions. Please contact the BBB of Cleveland, as I have. They deserve a class action law suit.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy David123 May 20, 2013

    Beware the fine print for the trial period that signs you up for a monthly or annual recurring charge!!
    I go no confirmation email, never used the service again, and only months later noticed the charges.
    On the positive front, I called, selected the option for technical support, insisted on a refund, and they reversed the last 6 months of charges...so apparently they are getting more sensitive to the complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whitewolf380 Apr 21, 2013

    I feel that American Greeting should be available to help their customer 7 days a week 24/7. You pay a lot of money each year to have this service. Now it is on the weekend and I need to make a card and nobody at American Greeting is available to help me with this problem. Why would it say I have to join to print my card when I am already a member. Just last week I printed out a card with no problem. I am very very disappointed with American Greetings service to their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whitewolf380 Apr 21, 2013

    I am a paid member and I have made a lot of cards and printed them. Today I tried to make a print at home card and it tells me I have to join to be able to print!! They are constantly changing their website to make it just about impossible to navigate their site. When it tells me I have to join I will put in my email address and it tells me that it is already taken, no kidding I am a paid member. But no matter what I do I cannot print my card. Try to go to the site that the link tells me to and it states..."opps that site cannot be found and if you call them they ask you a bunch of questions to get where you want to answer you questions and it hangs up on you. I have been with them for over 8 years and I will be cancelling my membership with them. Their customer service has a lot to be desired. It sucks!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark One Feb 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    legitimate - sorry

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark One Feb 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Webshots pro photos are excellent. However, I have not been able to get a reply from them for any reason for a few years now, for any reason, even though I am a paid subscriber. A legal investigation needs to happen. Legitamit companies do not operate this way.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    CyberSystemsMan Feb 10, 2012

    SCAM COMPANY INDEED!, this company should not be allowed to continue in business. Who is it that is cleaning up this type of problem? Does anyone in authority care? How the hell, can AMERICAN GREETING CARDS or WEB SHOTS which they appear to have highjacked get away with BLATANTLY RIPPING CUSTOMERS MONEY FROM THEIR CREDIT CARDS.

    I tried numerous times to contact the US Company to Cancel and the calls are not answered. I tried ONLINE and THEY IGNORED MY
    COMMENTS, MESSAGES etc. If I were in the US, I would personally visit their offices and talk closely to them.
    These guys are CROOKS, and THIEVES! ... Don't go near WEB SHOTS or AMERICAN GREETING CARDS !!!

    0 Votes
  • Rc
    r. clarke Jul 09, 2011

    I agree with d. stacy regarding poor customer service for this company. I was on the phone for an hour trying to contact a live person regarding an incorrect charge to my account which was cancelled over a year ago. I never could get a live person on the phone; therefore, I called my bank and filed a compliant. They are in the process of getting the charges reverse.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    D.Stacey Jun 20, 2011

    I have been chasing this company to get a refund for overcharging my cc for over a month. I did not want to just cancel a trial membership because I would not get a refund for NOT being able to reach them. They have TWO "800" numbers that do not allow you to reach a live person if you follow their prompts to ask a question about a charge. When I finally gave up and used the automatic system to cancel my membership, I received an email but no mention of the exact date the cancellation took place. I finally got another number for them on line and used a prompt I thought might get me to a live person. After waiting an unusually long period of time, I finally spoke to a human. She politely informed me they NEVER refunded money regardless of circumstances. I am furious at such poor customer service. DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE! BE AWARE they also are the same company that will automatically sign you up for BLUE MOUNTAIN CARDS!! If you sign up for a trial membership for BLUE MOUNTAIN GREETING CARDS, you will NOT be able to reach a person by phone. Calls are all automated and will hang up on you if you try to reach someone in customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    two2 Mar 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SCAM, SCAM, SCAM, SCAM: American Greetings is a complete and total scam!! Once you register with them you will NEVER escape their automatic renewal system. I tried and tried to no avail to contact them. They list a phone number but you will never speak with a person, it's only an automated system that will hang up on you when it decides that it has either "answered" your question (which it never does) or it decides that it does not understand your question or that you have taken up too much of its time. Canceling on their website is useless. You can check "no" to automated renewals but it renews your subscription anyway! Their website is confusing, meant only to discourage your questions/inquiries/complaints. There is no place on their website to actually write an email to them. This company is a SCAM pure and simple; do not join them because you will never be allowed to leave, and your credit card will be billed endlessly! I would suggest that folks lodge a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and with your states Department of Justice-Attorney Generals Office. Also dispute all charges from American Greetings with your credit card company telling them that the charges were unauthorized. I'm in the process of doing all that (it can all be done online). I'll let everyone know the outcome.

    1 Votes
  • Ie
    ieee488 Feb 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I see that now that I am not the only person to be scammed by AmericanGreetings.com

    I signed up for the trial period and instead of cancelling in 7 days after sending my e-Card, I thought I'd pay for 1 month membership. No problem right? WRONG.

    My 1 month membership expires on 2/17/2011. I called on 2/17/2011 to cancel. I find out that they had gone ahead on 2/17 to bill me for another month. Totally unethical. No other company I know bills you on the day your membership expires.

    The proper thing to do is to bill for the next month on 2/18/2011. That is the ethical and logical thing to do.

    As others have encountered, there is no way to speak to a human on their 800 number. I was told to call back in 30 minutes because her supervisor was "in a meeting". Yeah, right. None of the options let you talk to a real person.

    I will never buy another American Greetings, Carlton Cards, Papyrus, etc. product ever again. I'll buy from Hallmark. Pay-per-card is the only way to go.

    I've attached a screenshot of my account history from their website.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Go
    Golden_Rainbow Jan 31, 2011

    I paid for a one month membership on Blue Mountain. Nothing was said about **renewing** or a monthly charge. Today, I get a charge on my bank statement. Tried contacting Customer Service and was exposed to too cheerful voice that wouldn't let me talk to a person. Finally got through the menu to **cancel**, and also contacted Blue Mountain via email for a refund. They referred me back to the 800# that doesn't have any human attached to it.

    I would definitely stay away from this company. I also filed a complaint with Ohio Attorney General and would urge others to do the same. Perhaps that will get AG's attention.

    1 Votes
  • Go
    Golden_Rainbow Jan 31, 2011

    I paid for a one month membership on Blue Mountain. Nothing was said about "renewing" or a monthly charge. Today, I get a charge on my bank statement. Tried contacting Customer Service and was exposed to too cheerful voice that wouldn't let me talk to a person. Finally got through the menu to "cancel", and also contacted Blue Mountain via email for a refund. They referred me back to the 800# that doesn't have any human attached to it.

    I would definitely stay away from this company. I also filed a complaint with Ohio Attorney General and would urge others to do the same. Perhaps that will Get AG's attention.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    maureeb Dec 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have a complaint about American Greetings. I signed up for a "trial" membership - used their service once. When I received my "welcome" email, I happened to read about how you need to cancel if you do not wish to be charged. I did as they said - which was to call an 800 number. Then forgot about it (my error). Today I discovered when I looked at my checking account they have charged me $19.99. I also attempted to find a phone number to talk to a "real-live" person - and only could get recordings. I'm going to try to write a complaint on American Greetings Twitter page. I read this is the best way to get their attention. I'm ready to try anything I'm so angry. Hope others will do the same - maybe that way American Greetings will clean up their act.

    1 Votes
  • St
    StraightNoChaser Dec 07, 2010

    They are getting worse and worse each year. I’ve been a paid member for years, yet they treat me like I have no right to expect quality customer service. I cant wait to leave once I can find a comparable product. AG is pathetic!

    1 Votes
  • Da
    DaveInPA Nov 08, 2010

    AMERICAN GREETINGS FRADULANT CREDIT CARD CHARGES. I singed up in 2009. A while back, after trolling all over their website I attempted to cancel my account. Impossible. I had to spend a massive amounts of time on the phone and finally talked to a representative just to get my account cancelled. Today I just got an email from them where they attempted to bill my card AGAIN! Thankfuly due to a change in banks they were unsucessful. Can we get some momentum for a class again suite and get fraud charges levied by a state attorney general? Stay tuned for a blog and forum and a place to document complaints. I AM PISSED.

    2 Votes
  • Di
    Disgruntled Consumer in PA Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My experiences with American Greetings have been less than stellar. Despite addressing the problem in 2009, once again in 2010, credit card was automatically billed $15.99. Calling the 1-800 number gets you nowhere fast. I used the alternate number in comment above, spoke with a live operator who transferred me to voicemail and received no return phone call concerning my complaint. I contacted my credit card company and had a new credit card number issued so no further charges would post to my credit card in the future, as I do not expect cancelling my account and requesting refund of $15.99 charge to credit card will keep this from happening again in the future.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark One Jun 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Now that they have taken over Webshots, you can expect the more of the same. Too bad because the photos are excellent. That is the only reason I have been a premium member for many years. Before American Greetings took over, I received fast replies to my support queries. Since their takeover, I have received no replies.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    JoWater Mar 30, 2010

    I received my credit card statement and saw this charge from American Greetings. I HAD gone online to renew BLUEMOUNTAIN ECARD services, and it appears I was diverted to American Greetings, and I was charged for their CREATE AND PRINT card services! I previously had a BLUEMOUNTAIN membership, and was very satisifed; I couldn’t figure out how I’d made that mistake, until I learned that BlueMountain is a subsidiary of American Greetings; Blue Mountain service is much cheaper ($13 vs $39); this certainly appears to me to be ‘BAIT AND SWITCH’ tactics on the part of American Greetings.

    I have tried and tried contacting American Greetings via phone [protected] You go into recorded message HELL…no live person at any prompting. Consequently I tried the email route; I do get generic emails back; the last email I got was more to the point, suggesting that I could transfer my membership from American Greetings to Blue Mountain..just call their number! As I said, I’ve tried that unsuccessfully. SO, I thought I’d try going to the BlueMountain number [protected]) As it turns out, even though the NUMBER is different, the recorded message HELL is the same.

    I’m CERTAIN this could have been resolved had I been able to speak to a LIVE PERSON! But in perusing all these blogs, I see that I'm not the FIRST to be victim of American Greetings. This has become so frustrating that I now want nothing to do with American Greetings or any or their partners.

    2 Votes
  • Wa
    wary1 Jan 27, 2010

    Use this page and call the 216 phone number. Don't waste your time trying to get through to the 800 # even during the hours they say to call.

    http://corporate.americangreetings.com/contact.html

    An update from my post here last night. I was able to get through to customer service at: 216-252.6778. I told the customer service rep (a very courteous young man) that I have been a member of Webshots and American Greetings for years, and just recently again of Blue Mountain. That they have lost my business by locking me out of my accounts after I deleted my
    bank card # off of their webshots. They are the only company that have done this. The customer service rep deleted my automatic renewal subscriptions for both AG & Blue Mtn. He didn't ask for my bank card # and I gave him my yahoo address. The young rep apologized for this mistreatment and I answered that it wasn't his fault but the company's policy of treating their customers poorly.

    I have never heard back from AG's consumer relations but will be sending this webpage to them.

    FYI...I renewed my membership at Leanin Tree last night and they don't keep my bank card # on the website when I didn't sign up for automatic renewal of my subscription. There's no
    problem.

    I've also decided to boycott all American services and products which include their paper cards and Carlton cards at retail stores.

    The company keeps making bad causes and it will catch up with them one day.

    2 Votes
  • Hd
    hdgirl777 Jan 27, 2010

    BEWARE!!!
    I also had a bad experience with this unethecial company.
    I signed up for the 30 day trial and paid 15.95 for the "membersip" I sent one card and found the site so difficut to use that I canceled immediately. Well low and behold if I didn't receive notice that I was to be charged close to $40.00 because I'd also unknowingly signed up for their "create and print" membership. I cancelled again. Yesterday, I received my bank statement and there it was, a charge for $22.95! When I searched for a way to contact this company, that information was buried deep in their website. When I did find a phone number, it was the automated system that others here spoke about...TOTALLY FRUSTRATING! After I wrote these thieves, The e-mail I got back said "sorry, your purchace is non refundable." I contacted my credit union and wrote a scathing letter to their "customer service" department and finally got promise of a refund. They had "looked back through my record and found that oops, I did cancel after all..."sorry".
    They did say I'd get a refund in about 3 weeks...all but $2.95 for processing.
    What a scam. TERRIBLE company...theives. BEWARE!

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    wary1 Jan 27, 2010

    I have a complaint against American Greetings, Inc. They also own Webshots and Blue Mountain ecards. I have been a member for years of both WS and AG. Recently, I had a bank card # theft and deleted my number from their websites. Because I deleted my bank #, they have denied me access to my accounts even though I renewed them recently. They are the only company that has done this. I emailed AG consumer relations but they never replied.

    A good support rep at WS worked with me so I could access my account there again. AG has ruined Webshots and I have deleted all of my albums
    except one bc I don't want them to control my access to them nor allow them to publish links to them on the various internet search engines.

    After seeing the above reviews, I will refuse to give AG my new bank card # - I would rather take a loss with these accounts than have them charge me after ending my memberships with their
    websites. I will also boycott their paper cards sold at stores.

    Maybe they don't care about customer relations in our bad economy? It's a scam about what they are doing with trial memberships.

    2 Votes
  • Ji
    jimboku Jan 16, 2010

    Just got burnt by the same thing. I just had a horrible experience with American Greeting Cards online. Found a cute card online as we all do from time to time. When I went to mail it, fairly, they wanted you to join up for a selection of memberships. The one I joined was ONE MONTH. Buried in the agreement is that it is a trial membership and that if you take no action, they will continue to charge you. If you sign up for one month, it should be only one month. I am appalled at what I used to believe to be a quality company would have to resort to deception to make money. They are not honorable.

    2 Votes
  • So
    sonoranwoman Dec 10, 2009

    This company should be put out of business, or at the very least, reorganized. They certainly don't have any attorneys on staff nor do they know how to read their own contract. It seems as if all the reps are located in the PI. I couldn't get anyone in the US to talk to to cancel my subscription. Ultimately, I did. Just keep referring back to the contract, and have all your paperwork/dates in order. If you are within contract guidelines, you will get your money refunded. If you still have issues, dispute it on your credit card. This may be the easier path if you don't want your blood pressure to endanger your health. I pity the people who have to work in customer service. All this said, AG cards are truly great products and well made. If you like the company, and use the service, it's worth the money. Just don't try to deal with them if you have an issue. Unless you are practicing to be a saint or a therapist, that is.

    2 Votes
  • Zo
    ZobVA Nov 08, 2009

    For the third year in a row, I just had to call my bank and have yet another fraudulent c harge by American Greetings removed from my checking account. I signed up for the card service in 2005 for $15, and canceled the next year. Then in 2007, 2008 and now 2009 they continued to charge my debit card once a year.

    This evening I went to the website looking again, in vain, for an e-mail address or some way to contact them and of course there is still no contact information to dispute the fraudulent charge. I logged into the account that I used to use, and clicked on "How to cancel your account." When I clicked on the option, a screen pooped up that says, (quote)
    "You are welcome to send cards until your subscription ends on 11/12/2009, as requested your
    payment method on file will not be charged again."

    So they acknowledge that I canceled that subscription (again), and they STILL freaking charged me $15.99 again for another year! I am unbelievably angry at this ongoing scam. I just called my bank and they immediately credited my account for the $15.99 and filed a dispute for me with American Greetings, which has 5 days to prove that the charge is legitimate. They also canceled my debit card for me and are issuing a new one with a different number so it cannot be charged again.

    It just seems unfathomable to me that this company, American Greetings, can get away with perpetuating this fraud year after year on so many people. Not only will I never use their cam online service, but never again in my life will I ever buy an American Greetings greeting card. I am really, really pissed off (in case you can't tell).

    4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.