The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Aes American Education Services — loan

We have been paying faithfully on time every month. But, somehow the way they have their billing system set up it shows as us paying early every month, which for some bizarre reason is not allowed!!! Don't loan companies want you to pay on time regardless if it's a few days early?! Consequently we have been denied the lower rate incentive! I asked the customer representative what it will take for us to qualify and she said "the incentive program has been discontinued." WTF?! This smells like fraud to me. Whinerssuck please explain!

Responses

  • Tr
    Travel RN5 Sep 12, 2017

    I Have proof that AES/PHEAA intentionally and knowingly are forcing me to pay off someone elses student loans. I have original promissory notes, letters from my college, Wells Fargo Bank, ECMC, accounting ledger from my college, all clearly states these loans are not mine, and wells fargo bank, and ECMC never gave me student loans, though are listed by AES/PHEAA as my lender. Clear and undisputable proof they refuse to remove my name from these loans, knowing they are not mine, refusing to return my money they collected, update NSLD, notify who they sold my loans to that they are not mine, essentially forcing me to pay someone elses loans, my guess, since I paid mine off years ago, they are forcing me to pay off a bad, or uncollectible debt of someone who died, or no longer has to pay, is the only reason they wont do anything about it.
    I will gladly provide my documents, evidence to any attorney, da office, cfpb, proving what criminal acts AES/PHEAA, and show what liars they are. I will get my money returned to me, if I have to jump on one of the class action lawsuits to do it.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hawk7 Aug 10, 2015

    The starch defenders of AES are not reviewing comments in the context that they were written. I feel the starch defenders are merely hired "automatons" attacking commenters. These "automatons" are in the same roll as any feedback writer hired by any company or large corporation to bolster online reputations.

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    edjeana grant Jul 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    (AES ) which until recently it is showing a school I never attended.(1/2006). I asked for a pay history and none of the payments from my cancelled check match. Neither of the bills I receive the payments are reflect. They refuse to remove my cosigner. I can't get a copy of the promissory note and the school and the NSLDS reflect a balance of zero around the year 2006. I only paid to keep the collector from garnishing my daughter's wages. The original amount is higher due to billing practices which are horrible-double billing-principle and interest, payments less than a dollar which I would never pay. What can be done? If i didn't have a co-signer-- I would drop it in a heartbeat. The statue of limitations for Texas and Pennsylvania is four years. what should I do? I don't feel that i should have to pay for their lousy bookkeeping antics-they want me to fill out an identity theft affidavit . It is messing up my credit as well as my daughter's. I don't have lawyer money.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    davidwilliams Apr 02, 2015

    any chance AES can be sued for failing to inform me of the income based repayment program back when it originated in 2007?
    I just learned of it. Meanwhile, my credit has been destroyed by failing to pay.
    I would have been able to pay based on the IBR formula.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SharonS6 Aug 13, 2014

    If you have any way possible of avoiding this company, I strongly advise you to do so. This company is extremely difficult to work with. I have been trying continuously to change my student loan payment plan to income-based repayment since January. It is now August. They claimed never to have received my initial application. I sent in a second one, and they took about two months to process it. I eventually got an email saying they would notify me of final approval or denial within ten days. Ten days came and went. I finally called and they said my application had been delayed again on some technicality (though they had not notified me of this). The customer service representative I was speaking with said she could fix the issue and process it immediately. After a few minutes, she said the application had gone through. I got an email several days later informing me of my new reduced payment plan. A week later, I received another email saying that my application was approved "in error" and that I would now need to send in a third application. The deadline for this repeat application was 24 hours from receipt of the email, or they would start the whole process over again. How can I get something to them in the mail in 24 hours??!! This company has been significantly more difficult to work with than Sallie Mae (no picnic, by the way), a company run by the federal government. I truly did not realize it was possible to have more red tape and worse customer service than the federal government. American Education Services has proved me wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mobyD Apr 17, 2014

    I was paying my student loans back on time, and fell into a financial hardship when my roommate moved out and I was forced to cover rent/utilities/general costs on my own. I arranged to lower the monthly payment with AES and extend the life of the loans. I had missed roughly 6-7 months of payments, because I needed a roof over my head and food in my mouth. Every time I called to try to arrange something I was met with no solution. Well, lo and behold, I had defaulted on my loans. The only reason I knew was because I went back on the website to make a payment and found that my loans were now in default. I called to inquire about this and to complain that I was given no notice of this status, nor any warning that it was coming even after I had been calling to make arrangements. I was told the only thing I could do to get out of default was to pay the loan in full or to pay $3, 000. Since I couldn't barely make my monthly payments, I could do neither of those things. They said I could enter an automatic withdrawal agreement where I pay a certain amount every month for 9-12 months and then I would be out of default. I set up weekly payments with the lowest amount they would allow, which was more than I could afford but there was no other choice. I was fairly diligent about making these payments for 5 months, making almost every payment. Some payments were returned from my bank, I was charged a $25.00 fee, from AES not from my bank. They would simply take a double payment out the following week. Other times I would have plenty of money in my account to cover the payment and they would inexplicably get returned. No payments for anyone else would get returned like this. They haven't taken payments out last week or this week, so I called to see what the problem is. The man I talked to informed me that my automatic payments have been cancelled because I missed too many of them. I have to start the program over now. He also claims that my last payment was returned, yet my bank statement shows the money being taken out. When I told him that, he said, "No, we received the payment, then returned it because we decided to cancel your payments." This money was never returned to my account. I asked if they ever planned to inform me of this and apparently they sent me an email. I went through my inbox, my trash, and my spam folders and there was nothing there. So now I have to restart the payments to try to get out of default. Let's hope that they take the payments out like they're supposed to (they hardly ever do). This is how I see it. They return a payment for one week for whatever reason then take a double payment out the following week. They're getting both payments plus a $25.00 returned payment fee. Seems like it's in their best interests to return payments.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Edwards sr Mar 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone interested in a class action lawsuit against these fraudulent people please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Na
    naylord1 Jul 02, 2013

    This company has the worst customer services. Almost stalker like. They call even when they do not receive payment within the next day after it is due. I tell them on the phone when I can afford to pay them (usually my next paycheck). And even with me notifying them on when I send the payment they call everyday, sometimes 2 or 3 times. I answer the next day they call and tell them what representative I talked to and when I will send the payment but they still keep calling. Day 3 past due I talk to them again telling them I have already spoken about the issue. They tell me that there is no way to stop them from calling everyday until they receive the payment. The representative tells me NOT TO ANSWER when they call and that they will keep calling everyday. And when i was unemployed forget about it I was going to turn off my phone lines. They do not even consider lowering my payment or here is a great idea why don't these companies spend their time and money trying to find people jobs. If they help find people jobs they would get their money a lot faster and easier. It does not make any sense.

    This is the worst kind of customer service I have ever dealt with. My other student loan companies are NOWHERE near as bad. Sallie Mae is bad to an extent but they wont call until maybe 2 weeks past due and they actually listen to you when you tell them when the payment is coming.

    So please do not ever take out private student loans because they will harass you and not let you get on your feet after college. All they want is your money. They rather have you homeless so they could get their money. They expect you to pay them before your pay your rent and utility bills. Ridiculous! I hope there is some way to pass legislation on the harassment these companies will do. I am not surprised they don't hire people to knock on doors to collect late payments. (Maybe because a lot of former college student cannot even afford their own apartment.

    I hope people can read this and maybe we can start a petition.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    KylieAS May 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AES is horrific. I had all of my loans consolidated 2 years ago...and on this tax return I had my entire tax refund garnished because they say their is a loan i havent paid on. Heres the thing...they either havent been dispersing my payments evenly amongst all of my loans which they told me they've consolidated...OR someone has taken out a fraudulent loan in my name from bank of america and even the IRS who is supposed to be better than anyone else at fraud detection...didnt seem to detect this. I have to call everyone and their uncle today to try and figure out why the "H-E double hockey sticks" my tax refund was towards this ghost debt. These people are dishonest...and they do not care if the debt is accrued from fraudulent activities. They want their money even if you werent the one who requested it to begin with. As far as Education Services is concerned...this loan was supposedly sold to a third party creditor...which to my knowledge is absolutely illegal for them to do. Im getting a lawer...one who likes the youth of today and the future of tomorrow...and im going to raise some crap like its never been raised.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    AP2012 Mar 21, 2013

    My husband took out a loan from AES for $30K to get his Master's degree. They are making it harder and harder to make payments. This is what's happened just in the last three months:

    January - My husband called to make the payment. He gave them a routing and account number. They accepted it, then sent us a letter saying our payment was late. He called again. They said the payment didn't go through. He verified the payment information a second time. They accepted it again. Two days later, we get another harassing phone call. We tried a third time. Rinse and repeat. Finally, my husband convinced them to take a debit card. At the same time, he sent in an auto-pay form.

    February - My husband called to make the payment. He also verified that the auto-pay was received. They said it was set up, but wouldn't work for February. He gave them the routing and account number (they won't accept debit cards until the payment is late). Same thing happened as last month. Every time he tried to pay, they took the information, then called back a day or two later harassing us for being late. Finally, again after it was very late, they accepted a debit card.

    March - AES told us our payment was late. My husband called and they told him the autopay wouldn't activate until April. He called AES numerous times this month--four times this week alone!--trying to make payments. They repeatedly refused to take a debit card, even though the routing and account number never seems to work. When they finally agreed to accept one, after an hour on the phone, they transferred him and the line disconnected. He called back and was told they couldn't accept debit cards. He asked to speak with a supervisor. He was told no supervisors were available (this was around 8 PM) but that they would have someone call him the next day. They never called him, but instead a call center worker (not the supervisor) called me as the cosigner. I was also told they don't accept debit cards, and when I asked that they print and send me a copy of their call logs for the past three months, I was told it was against their policy. I finally asked to speak with a supervisor, who told me they do accept debit cards and they will send the call logs upon written request.

    Because of the ongoing nonsense, we now owe almost $38K, $8000 more than the original loan. They call and harass us several times a day, but they won't accept our payments, and they just keep adding fees and then charging interest on the fees. This can't be legal. I reported them to the FTC and my local consumer protection office, but I see from many other complaints online that this has been going on for some time and no action has been taken. I'm considering a class action lawsuit. If you're interested, please contact me at angela_s_perry AT yahoo DOT com.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    catherine feltz Feb 17, 2013

    This company is owned by the Detroit Mafia who have controlled it since the 1960's. It currently has ruthless owners who will stop at nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScrewedbyAES Dec 27, 2012

    I was on a direct debit with them to rehab a loan. One month they didn't take the direct payment and claimed I had requested it not be made and dropped my account from rehab. It was a total lie. They are crooks or just incompetent or both.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    AES Sucks Dec 07, 2012

    Fight back! http://infowomen.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/aes-a-student-loan-shark/

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HateKey Aug 21, 2012

    Here is my story:
    I have student loans that are govt backed. I have private loans with Citibank and Keybank. Govt. and Citi are not an issue, I understood they are non-dischargable and they survived the bk intact with me making payments. The problem is Key, After securing my bk lawyer, BEFORE discharge I contacted all these people to make sure they knew I was going for chap 7 and that I was going to still be paying during, and after discharge. I thought everything was fine. Great Lakes (the entity who does the servicing for Key specifically told me on the phone when I called them on this topic that I was eligible for a "bankruptcy forbearance" for a period of one year starting on that day (Feb 2010) I thought, yay, I have some leeway to get back on my feet. Well, low and behold, without my knowledge, they didn't actually do any of that, the clock started on non-payment and a month after the discharge (Sept. 2010) my COSIGNER, not me gets a collections call from Keybank recovery department saying that the loan has been charged off and she now owes the entire $15k balance. Of course I called them up and tried to work out some sort of negotiation, citing the information I had about the bk forbearance from Great Lakes, however Keybank basically told me, Well, you got bad information from them, so sorry, there's nothing we can do for you, all that can be done is for you to pay the whole balance right now. I also did some research and found out that at some point my loan was in fact in a "stay" told directly to me from Wells Wienman, the attorneys that reviewed my situation. Also, this loan went into repayment in 2003 and I have never missed a payment in all that time. In essence, all I want is for Key to reverse the chargeoff and let me give them money to pay off a loan. Even though the monthly payment keeps my hands tied, at least my credit report won't say Chap 7, right next to chargeoff. Also my cosigner's credit score tanked from 810 to 520 just because of this. Needless to say, I'm very unhappy. Ultimately what happened is this. The lender took a look at my situation, saw that I had a cosigner, and decided that your cosigner was probably a better bet to squeeze the 15k out of than you, a bankrupt individual who has just been liquidated of assets.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    mcapony55 Aug 16, 2012

    These people wont include their share in loan forgiveness. I qualified due to becoming totally disabled. They told me they dont include loans because itis a private loan so I mentioned bankruptcy and that was not allowed because it is an educational loan, which is it? These jerks belong in jail, report them to your politicians, they need to be stopped and as the saying goes there is strength in numbers.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    cooperrock13 Aug 14, 2012

    there are federal and state laws that govern the actions of AES. They act as a creditor although they will tell you they "simply service" the loans or only "tell you your options on how to avoid default." You can look up your state laws online or review the federal act (debt collection fair practices act or something like that). When certain actions (specified within the act) or other abusive tactics are employed the company may be liable for $1, 000 to you plus attorney fees. contact an attorney if they contact you during work hours if you specifically act them not to, call repeatedly to harrass or annoy, call before 8 or after 9, etc. Obviously you should always attempt to repay a debt you owe but are not lawfully bound to be subject to rude abusive behavior by collectors. Also, I was curious if anyone knew more about this company. Specifically, are they contracted out by the lenders to collect these debts? Do they buy debts or recieve commissions for collecting? Anyone out there that used to work for them think there were unethical things going on? Curious. Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Mw
    MWAD Jul 31, 2012

    AES is operating in bad faith.
    I have been ripped off by them for years and years and have now decided to just give up and stop paying. I have paid 177.00/month (after 2, 500) down-payment on a loan that was originally 10k... it ballooned to 20k and now only 1k of the 12 years of payments have gone to principal... it is completely insane. We need a class-action lawsuit. I am no longer going to be paying this junk debt.
    It is outrageous.
    Thank you, MWA

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kapush Jul 11, 2012

    I believe that the so called "Student loan bubble" is going to burst soon and the big government will do its classic act of bailing the suckers like AES out like it happens with the real state criminals.My take is that we will not be able to resolve these unfair issues until we don't get united. Not as a workers-union but doing things like stopping payments simultaneously (all or at least a big majority) of AES borrowers until interests and conditions of the loans are make repayable. If dictators have fallen in countries where conditions of freedom and democracy are sometime non existent, I believe that we could do something if we forget our individualism and start cooperating with each other. I feel sorry for those who believe that college education is a privilege, it should a right that is entitled to all. We are hardworking Americans that deserve second chances (like big corporations have) and that need to fight corruption and injustice that's is protected under the disguise of a failing burocratic structure. Any suggestions as far as how to organize ourselves?... maybe creating different chapters throughout the states, inviting people to public events until we get the national organization to strike back!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bertster Jun 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AES called asking for my daughter who is not available for a telephone at the moment...the lady was rude beyond belief as I kept telling her my daughter was not available. It was as if I was talking to a dead person...I kept asking what this was about...the lady kept telling me she couldn't (wouldn't) tell me anymore unless I had authorization...Then I asked if this company was legit.."Oh, yes we are"...right...then why won't you tell me anything about what's going on as I AM PAYING ON MY DAUGHTER'S LOAN! No answer, just we'd like to talk with your daughter...and, I thought, that IF these idiots had anything to do with my daughter, they would already have her email address! I, very impolitely, told the wench to "have a nice day" and hung up on her...am VERY glad I did after seeing all the comments about them here...

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiffany Moon Mar 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is 1246.45 dollars that has vanished in cyber space or has been embezzled from a refund transaction from my student loan company (American Education Services). I accidentally made an over payment on my student loan account in February through my TD Bank bill pay service. I made an error by paying my mortgage payment (Arora Loan Services) in the amount of 1434.00 and some change to my student loan (American Education Services) - as you can see they both star with "A" and are right next to each other in the Bill pay service. I discovered the error a week after I had made it and contacted my bank (TD Bank) to see how I could get it fixed. My bank told me that I would have to get a refund issued from American Education Services (AES). So I called AES to request a refund. After getting the ring around and speaking to several reps - they finally told me I would have to request a letter from TD Bank stating an error was made and that a refund needed to be issued. I went back to the Bank and got the letter and faxed it over to AES. AES told me that it would take 5-7 business days to receive the refund. A week went bye and no refund was issued. I then called my bank to track the refund. The bank had no record of such refund. I called AES back and they state that the refund was issued electronically to "Citi Bank Home Access" where the original overpayment came from. AES states that Citi Bank Home Access is TD Banks 3rd party bill pay service. I went into the TD Bank branch to speak to a representative. The rep at TD Bank made several phone calls to try and track this refund in the amount of 1246.45 (which AES states they refunded to me back on 3/8/12). The rep was not getting any answers and was being told by TD Bank corporate office that they have no affiliation with Citi Bank Home Access and that is definately not their 3rd party bill pay company. The rep even got on the phone with the Manager (Keith) at AES and he kept telling my bank Rep that the refund was issued on 3/8/12 to Citi Bank Home Access and that we needed to contact them to find out where the payment is at. The rep from my bank told him several times that there was an error and that the refund was not issued to my account. If it was done electronically it would have hit my account instantly. The AES Manager then claims that it would take 3-7 weeks... WHAT??? The bank rep got very suspicious and started asking for phone numbers and mailing addresses to where the refund was issued and the AES Manager could not give him that info. AES refused to trace the transaction. TD Bank has put in a claim (#93317) to try and investigate it. I have since then filed a claim with the BBB on AES. I have also went online to find that I am not the only one having fraud issues with American Education Services. There are several recent stories online with a similar twist of money missing.. or not being applied to the persons account. There is some type of fraud going on here.. and to date my refund of $1246.45 is no where to be found.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    nurselynnaie Feb 02, 2012

    AES is horrible. I have student loans through them and have paid them when I was able I have had a tough three or four years now so there were periods when I was not paying until I got on my feet always kept in touch always did what they told me. They are on my credit and it brings my score way down. In may I was hurt at work and began workmans comp, I called and did exactly what they told me to do to stop the recurring payment of 65 dollars a week. ( my payments were not cheap) They never stopped 25 times they bounced my checking account even after several emails and calls that I made. I finally reached an agreement with them to pay 213.00 a month which was very tight being on comp I have a 900 dollar rent payment two teenage children and a son daughter in law and 2 grandchildren living with me. That was 3 weeks of begging and pleading and that was the lowest they would go. I had made an agreement with my landlord to pay 800 instead of 900 until income tax and then pay the balance. Just so I could pay this debt. Well I filed my income tax and guess what AES took the entire thing. SO guess the landlord wont be getting paid and believe me I have tried to get the doctors to let me go back to work and it is always absolutely not. So guess what since me and my family are homeless now AES will not be getting a penny from me. They can not attach workmans comp and I don't have to file taxes... which I knew before this but it was my debt and I wanted to do everything I could to get it taken care of. It does not pay to bend over backwards and do everything you can to pay back the loan because they do not care if you went to school for 4 years and cant get a job because of the economy or if you got a job and hurt yourself so bad you may never work again ...

    0 Votes
  • Aw
    AWorkingJoe Jan 15, 2012

    I've worked with various lenders over the years and I can definitely say that AES is the worst loan company (student, auto, or otherwise) I have dealt with. All of their policies are designed to wring every possible cent out of the consumer. I've tried multiple times to get them to remove the pay-ahead feature from my account (it mysteriously comes back); you can't make pure principal payments online; they disqualify you for incentives even when you're paid ahead; they don't even autocalculate payoff amounts. There's not even transparency in the formula they use calculate and compound interest on their loans. It's largely been extortion and it's pay-what-they-say-you-owe or else with little to no recourse and poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    freemr Dec 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Speakthefacts is just another AES shill - payed to act just like the rest of the idiots that run this "business".

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    freemr Dec 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have dealt with AES over the past decade. They are not helpful, they lie, they make changes without informing you and they keep you in the dark as to what you owe exactly. Contacting AES to solve a problem will simply create more. I suggest that all posted go to the PA Department of Education and start pounding on their door - they are the guys that hire AES, contact all of your state representatives - if everyone starts to do that - perhaps we can get the state to utilize a respectable loan servicer. Whinnerssuck is obviously a AES company shill.

    0 Votes
  • 20
    2011.12.19.Anonymous Dec 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My student loan service provider is American Education Services (AES). After years of hassles with AES over payments made and contradicting written correspondence sent to me by them, I applied and was accepted to have my student loans consolidated with another service provider. More than three weeks AFTER AES received written notification by the other loan service provider that they were buying out my student loans from AES, and approximately ten days AFTER AES received notification of when their payment for my student loans would be delivered to AES, AES "placed" my loans with NCO for collection. I am currently in the process of attempting to find out why this AES error happened and what steps need to be taken to remedy the error made by AES.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    aphantasm Nov 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Last Week I sent a payment to payoff my loan. The bank called me on Monday to say that they were refusing the payment because the account numbers were wrong, I double checked my info on AES website and I am pretty sure the account numbers were correct that I gave them. Which leads me to believe they intentionally changed the account numbers when they submitted my payment to the bank. Just so that I would have to pay more in interest due to the payment being returned to them.

    I never did like doing business with them. First they got my mother as a co-signer when she never co-signed, talk about a case for fraud.
    Second most loans I have had in the past wouldn't start calling you for 30 days after you missed a payment. They would actually give you a months grace period. Not AES, they give you a week after missing a payment.
    Third their deferment / forbearance policies are a joke. 3 months in one year and that's it. I lost my Job in April, I was able to pay my payment with the last of my money from my old job through May. In June I got a forbearance, I can't even get a deferment, In October my forbearance. I ended up having to beg my dad for the money to pay them, luckily he sent me my trust to pay them off.

    Suffice to say once I manage to get them paid off I won't borrow for anything from them ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoAnna Johnson Nov 19, 2011

    I would like to ask if there is anyway possible everyone on here who has complained can go their senator and BBB and the attorney generals office surely if enough ppl complain to these type of ppl something will get done. My husband and I have had to pay on these for the last 3 yrs we have no more forbarence or defermant left on our loans and our payment went from 413.27 to 727 a month I have told them there is no way we can pay this a month and they were no help and told me there is nothing they can do but start taking it out of my husbands paycheck which then means we will lose our home and our credit. Look im willing to give them 413 a mnth and they wont accept anything but the 727 seriously these ppl need to go under like the rest of the dumb student loans. I like how Obama has said everyone who had loans from "08" and after will be forgiven in 20yrs what about the rest of us who got loans before that, how stupid can you be!!!

    0 Votes
  • At
    A.Tas Oct 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been paying my bills on time, every month. And every month i call them to verfy how much my payment are, and since i have 3 loans with them, i call and verfy the exact amount that i need to pay each month. And every month after they take the money out, i get a call saying i owe 7.00 dollars, or $10, or $68.70. I cant seem to get the amount right. I do not understan why. And when they call they are sooo rude. I was told to shut up, open my check book and pay. But i do
    pay. My monthly payments are 449.00, and i pay 500.00. I dispurse the money correctly to the 3 loans, and as i said i call and verfy the amounts. So what the hell is going on. I am not ### about paying. I borrowed the money, and i want to pay it back. But my principal hasn't gone down and when i asked why, they give me run around and never seem to explain whats going on. they say my money has gone to "future payments". But they cant explain what that means. And since i pay more then the min payment why do i always "owe" more money??? Why do they call me saying im delinquent? When i ask them to explain to me how i can pay more and what i can do so that this doesnt happen they tell me to pay my 449.00 a month. WHICH I DO!!! ON TIME. And as one of the clients said in above complaints, they do hang up and pretand they dont hear you when you ask questions. I have had enough. they terrorise me every month and i spend anywhere from 5 to 10 hrs on the phone each month with them, so i am getting a lawyer to figure this out. The latest thing was i payed them my 500.00 (which is 51 dollars over my min) and they called me the very next day to pay another 68.00 which i did. They told me my payment now for October is 540.00 hmmm the math doesnt add up and there is no late fee aplayed. So i asked if what my payment is for November, they said, "oh its your usuall payment, it's 449.00" WTF????????

    0 Votes
  • Su
    submit75056 Oct 08, 2011

    The National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) is the U.S. Department of Education's (ED's) central database for student aid. NSLDS receives data from schools, guaranty agencies, the Direct Loan program, and other Department of ED programs. NSLDS Student Access provides a centralized, integrated view of Title IV loans and grants so that recipients of Title IV Aid can access and inquire about their Title IV loans and/or grant data.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    submit75056 Oct 08, 2011

    I just found an $8, 700.00 discrepancy in my outstanding balance with AES and what National Student Loan Data System for Students (NSLDS) outstanding balance reflects. I have sent both entities a detailed email requesting they look into the discrepancy, given that I have paid approximately $14, 000 to AES over 6-years and my balance has only decreased approximately $1, 500. I believe NSLDS balance is the correct balance seeing that its balance for another student loan with another institution is in line with that institutions outstanding balance. I hope with me emailing NSLDS and asking for them to investigate the significant discrepancy, AES will adjust their records.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    AESHELP77 Aug 30, 2011

    email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    AESHELP77 Aug 24, 2011

    I am looking at getting as many customer complaints on American Education Services as possible. Please e-mail me at [email protected] I am contacting a lawyer and want as many people on my side as possible in case a petition, fellow plaintiffs, etc. are needed to bring justice to us as customers. PLEASE e-mail me and I will e-mail back with any updates.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darinutah1234 Jul 21, 2011

    Apparently AES is a front for PHEAA which has a board of directors listing. It includes several Senators and Representatives. http://www.pheaa.org/about/board-members/index.shtml
    With contact information. I found this out from the BBB. I suggest you make yourselves heard at that level. I intend to.
    Darin

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous 3 Jul 19, 2011

    Thank you all for the helpful posts. Is there anyone out there who has gone through the process (or is currently going through it) to fight this situation? Someone who would be willing to give us step by step instructions on what each of us need to do. Then we can all bombard our state representive's with proof of what we have done and can file a complaint. Ultimately, I am hoping that our final step will be to join together to file a suit. If there is someone who can do this, please do so as soon as possible. I would like to get started!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Courtney1982 Jun 29, 2011

    I've been dealing with these jerks for years. My balance never goes down, and their payments each month leave me with NO money to live on. It's becoming too stressful to handle. BUT I just want to tell you guys who are considering not paying them at all, don't do it. They garnish your wages from your job 15%, and take your income tax. They also charge you over a $1000 default fee, and your interest goes up. Plus, when you want to pay, they won't work with you (well, they don't do that anyway) and it has to be direct debit from your bank account. It pisses me off also that if you want to change the direct debit date from your account, you have to FAX them a letter telling them to do so. Why can't they just be like any other normal company and change the date over the phone?!? I'm $8, 000 + in, and it never goes down, even though now I'm paying $300 a month. And this is the kicker, I have a DIPLOMA from a business school that went under a few years ago because of their practices with financial services! Plus I have another $46, 000 one from Sallie Mae, who wants $450 a month (I refuse to pay them) for a FREAKING USELESS DIPLOMA FROM A SCHOOL THAT WENT UNDER. Many others have had this problem in my area, including my mother. We recently went to our state represenative's office and they are investigating Sallie Mae. I just had NO paperwork to show from AES on how much owe. Soooo frustrating!

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    TwoWays Jun 11, 2011

    The people responding to the complaints really shoudn't be on here. It appears that they work for AES.They assume that people didn't read what they signed up for but that is not the case. The reps working for AES really don't know what they are doing. The company also has some bad business practices. If you offer incentives for timely payments but don't send statements when payments first begin, then you have just caused a person to miss a payment and thus they loose the lower rate that caused them to choose to take the loan and your company reaps the benefits. Since when is a monthly statelment a courtesy? If a person qualifies for deferment because they have gone back to school to finish thier education and the reps do not process the request correctly, then your comapny has just caused the person to appear to be in default on their loan and that has serious consequences. Don't be mad because people ublicly complain and spread the word about your predatory business. Do the right thing and you won't have to try to do damage control. However, the responses thta are being given to the complaints above just proves everyone's point that AES is a company to avoid.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    hard working and honest May 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    whinerssuck and readyourMPN obviously work for these crooks. So, smarty pants explain this one.
    I sent the coupon back with more than the payment required (which included interest) and also included another check clearly marked "apply to principle only". Not rocket science right???? Must be to them because they took interest out of the principle payment too! Whats up with that? They got their interest with the regular payment, they should have applied the extra money to the principle as asked.
    I make extra payments all the time, have never been late and the balance never goes down.
    They are rude, ignorant, and just plain impossible to deal with.
    Must have been these 2 ###s I've dealt with.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaonohi2 May 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another AES ### trying to defend their crappy company. The biggest joke is "agents who are trained and actually know student loans better than you." I've spoken to many AES agents and they are uncooperative, rude and less than human. Sorry "love", word about AES is getting out: get your loan with anyone but them.

    1 Votes
  • Yes, they can call and call and call. There was a master promissory note signed and agreed allowing this to occur until contact is made with the person they are intending to reach. I have student loans as well, and read my promissory note in length (which should have been done with all of you) prior to signing it. We are given money federal or with a bank for a LOAN, doing us a FAVOR to go to school and continue our education. We don't pay, they can't just simply take your degree back. You have to pay it. If you don't, they will garnish your wages by 15% (you think your having financial troubles now?) seize your entire income tax, come after your estate.. so on and so forth. So feel free not to pay them. It's not hurting them, only yourselves. Regardless, they will get their money. In the end, your in a worst situation then your currently in and your credit's ruined. They are doing what they are able to do by law. They are actually a very great company (no, not working for them) with agents who are TRAINED and actually know student loans better than you. So listen to them. It actually makes sense. Educate yourselves before posting online and looking like more of an idiot than you did before. An idiot who can't pay their LOANS. Definition: borrowed for temporary use

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    donalan Apr 26, 2011

    My wife has an account with these people and they called me one evening (about 8:20 pm) when she was not home. My daughter (8 yrs) picked up. They talked to her for a minute before I realized she had answered the phone. When I go on the line I asked whomever it was not to call my house after eight. They rudely said ' Im not calling for you' so I hung up.

    They called back about 8:40 and I repeated my request not to call the house after 8 explaining that I had little kids. When I said this the lady said she 'was allowed to call anytime before 9pm. I told her that was harassment and she was not able to call if I request they stop calling. She said that 'because we are Federal harassment laws dont apply to them...' When I told her I would block the number she said ' go ahead we have like 75 of them...'

    Are they allowed to just call and call and call? I assume a C&D letter would stop it but wtf?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.