The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
World Financial Groupscam

This company is so slick. They fooled me until my second interview with them (and they required three interviews). Luckily I didn't give them any of money, but they asked me to pay $100 for a background check and training materials. I started to suspect something odd when I handed them my references and they didn't even look at it. Instead they wanted names, phone numbers, and emails of people close to me. They even set up a meeting with my boyfriend and I. Aren't they just hiring me? What would they want from my boyfriend? I later searched online and found out that they try to get this information to try and recruit people that you know well because these people trust you the most. World Financial Group is a huge scam!

Responses

  • Al
    Alireza Rowhani Jun 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi,

    Why they give Social Security at first interview?

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    wholetruth Dec 19, 2013

    I have met people in this company. All were very high quality people. They varied in experience in financial services, but that is normal in any company. I have met totally upright people in this company who know the business and some have decades of experience in financial services. The experience was not only financial products, but it was in auditing, accounting, CPA work, attorneys and general business. I don't even know how a scammer could survive in that company. The regulators would catch up with them so fast even if the company was fooled by them. The other agents would not put up with any obvious bull*.

    I have found it to be a great group of people who truly do have the best interest of their client in mind. I have worked in a big name firm and I saw real issues of fair treatment of clients (I left after confronting). I am also educated enough to be aware of the downside and upsides of many businesses. I find this company to be reputable and I would not hesitate to recommend most of the agents/advisors.
    That being said, any and all organizations of any size will have the down side of human nature show at some point. That does not mean the organization or all of the others associated with it are bad. If that were the case, there would not be one company, church or even non-profit of more than a few dozen people that could survive the scrutiny. As for the 'bad products' mentioned above, the products are chosen from the best products of the best companies. Top, "A" rated companies are offered through WFG. A fall in ratings will boot the company off the approved list and the agents will not be able to offer that company's products. Another misstatement above is that money can be made by recruiting people. That is not the case at all.
    If you really looked at all the financial companies and judge every aspect as you are attempting to do here, you would find that this one shines high above most. I say that from experience.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    JillMarsh Sep 20, 2013

    I just received a call from Edward for an interview. He said he saw my resume on Careerbuilder and liked what he saw. He said they were a financial company and had the opportunity to make well over $50, 000 a year. I was skeptical about the company because in our 5-10 minute conversation he NEVER gave me the name of his company. I came across this site just by putting in the address of the office I was supposed to meet him on Thursday. Needless to say, I will not be attending the interview!

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jejejeemem Mar 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I actually let one of the senior sales agent talk to my family and friends who are all working professionally in the financial field. They instantly figured out the weak points and overly high charge fee rate in WFG's mutual fund products. Unfortunately, WFG's insurance quality is very low.
    The agent stressed the point that they are making money by recruiting. Yes, that is the point and we are not interested in being recruited.

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    mb-unhappy Feb 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for the posting. I am suppose to meet with them today at 12:50. I am not going to waste my time. I thought something was "fishy" when I tried to ask questions on how they received my resume when I didn't submit it plus I asked what jobs they had available and the person calling couldn't answer any questions.

    3 Votes
  • Sh
    Shoon4774 Feb 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    World Financial Group is a straight up scam. First they ask you to come to a meeting about a possible job in the insurance industry. Then when you get there you see it is nothing about a job, but rather is a whole bunch of people hopping around and spouting off about how much money they make.

    Secondly, you will be asked to make and appointment for an interview for a position with the company. This is not an interview, but really is a bulls*** session where they ask you about your life goals and then try to use those goals to trick you into giving them money.

    Thirdly, they will ask you to come back for a training session. When you get to this supposed training session all you hear is more garbage about how much money you COULD make, how you need to pay them money for certification and a background check and fingerprints, and how you need to bring in three to five recruits a week.

    This is not a job. This is a scam. Do not give the representatives of this company any money. If you need a job go interview with a company that does not ask you for money, or invest in an education for yourself.

    I never once gave this company money. I went to three of their 'meetings' to see what they had to say. Never once did they offer any type of training. Never once. They did, however, ask for money each time.

    In the meetings that were supposed to be training sessions they never gave insurance training of any type, no real information. They did love to tout how their affiliation with big name companies like Hartford was real. Good for them, but association with legitimate companies does not make them legitimate or any less of a scam.

    The individuals who run these little meetings that are supposed to be training sessions love to repeat how their company is not a scam and is valid because they are in a heavily regulated industry. They love to claim that they have very few, if any, sanctions or fees brought against them for misconduct and misrepresentation.

    This is simply not true. Lookup their company record, especially look up their company record under their previously listed company names. You will find many inconsistencies with their claims and find some to be outright lies. Wikipedia has great information on this.

    My best advice to you, other than to NEVER give these people money, is to agree to go to some of their meetings. Go. Take notes so you can remember what to look up on the internet later on. Write down the claims that they make and check them out. Look up written opinions and financial reports on this company as you research them.

    Be sure to read information that is FOR this company as well. You need to hear the good things people say about WFG. You need to read and hear their success stories and RESEARCH them. This will give you a better picture of how people are brainwashed into this company.

    You will find that getting straight answers is extremely difficult. Seriously, go to a couple of their meetings and you will find out. Of course, don't tell them you are simply checking out their scam. Just go and listen. Check out EVERYTHING they say and claim.

    They will also talk heavily of how so many people think their company is a scam and how these people are only naysayers who don't want to make money. Listen very carefully to how they speak about people who do not like the company and who try to prove it as a scam. They will give every excuse from people being vindictive and subversive, to people being lazy and not really wanting to make money.

    But don't take my word for it. Go. Go to a series of these meetings. Take notes. Do not give them any money. Have a really good laugh at a really good scam.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jejejeemem Sep 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ali Alhasan -- a horrible agent.
    http://www.alialhasan.com/alialhasan.aspx
    He might struck as smooth slick sales person, yet he talks like a salesman's text guide book though. Once he gets rejected, he tried to convinceme that I was wrong. He tried to convince me all my family and relatives are crazy. I simply did not like the multi system, the policy quality, and their office staffers. My family hates him and a trainee he brought with him. No manner. No intelligence.
    Also, never ever attend their Super Saturday or something that is a countywide event. My experience at the event was extremely stressful and humiliating. Who wants to be in the room crowded like a third world zoo.

    1 Votes
  • My
    MyPerspective Sep 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am glad you were smart enough not to give them any of your hard earned money. Being the optimist I am, I decided to give this company a chance because I had hundreds in my bank and $100 wasn’t a big deal to me. I meet WFG through a career fair and went to their business presentation meeting and got interviewed. For weeks after my interview, one of their trainers constantly called me over the phone. I don’t know if this is harassment or not because I was not very vocal in telling them to stop. I told them I was skeptical and needed more time to do my research. For days, the trainer kept following up on me and sweet talked me into joining them. They are very slick and I joined.

    They asked me for three references and I handed them three however, two of my references were not available at the time. WFG accepted me anyways even though they have not talked to my other references, which is strange. WFG uses references not to know what you are like as a person and as a professional, WFG use these references as a selling tool to get my references to do their own financial dream map under the disguise of helping me train. The irony is, I never got to train or practice since my trainer did all of the work. Their mixture of using references to sell and leech more references from my references all under the lie of helping me train is digusting!

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.