West Bay Acquisitions / National Recovery Agencynever received merchandise they are charging me for.

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I didn't receive the merchandise from this company. I have never heard of them until I pulled up my credit report.

Responses

  • Ec
    Ecurless Aug 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They just called for my husband claiming he owes money for a credit card opened in 2006. Well first off it was 7 years ago, they can't collect even if he DID have a debt. Second, we don't do credit cards. We have a debit card. When I said this he said we were lying. The address they had on file was an address we lived in almost 8 years ago.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kaether Feb 16, 2013

    02/16/13
    Pretty crazy...I received notice stating I owe $17.94 in late fees for two game rentals from a store that has been out of business for 3+ yrs. Going to contact and see what court & case number gave them the authority to attempt to collect on fraudulent charges. Also will notify them that if they do not immediately cancel and close said account a letter of intent or defamation, fraud and criminal mischief lawsuit at their expense will be soon served to them by local sheriff possibly fallowed by class action suit. All documents and reports will also be entered into FBI for criminal enterprise review. In other words they're ###ed..=)

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roberto King Mar 06, 2012

    West Bay Acquisitions, LLC, is a collection company at PO box 8009, Cranston, RI 02920. The phone number is [protected]. They just sent me a bill for rentals from Hollywood Video and Movie Gallery from May through September of 2009 for one of the stores in my Pittsburgh neighborhood that closed some time ago. The videos all looked like things I would have rented. But be clear that I did not owe Hollywood Video any money -- my account was paid in full when they closed. There are numerous complaints about others receiving similar dunnings for videos they either paid for or never rented. Given the state of consumer protection in the country, I would not be surprised if this perfectly legal. They probably figure that some portion of those dunned will pay up to avoid the risk of this going against their credit rating. I think it entails a threat and is extortion. The process outlined by the Federal Trade Commission is that you notify the collector (West Bay Acquisitions, LLC) in writing that you dispute the debt within 30 days. Also, it is probably a good idea to file complaints with the Federal Trade Commission at 1 877-FTC-HELP, your state, the Better Business Bureau, and maybe some on-line watchdogs. This is not legitimate business, it is an opportunistic crime.
    Bob King
    Pittsburgh, PA

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashley W Dec 30, 2011

    I am in the same boat! I have a $66 charge on my credit report. I completed the dispute form and contacted Columbia House. Columbia House claimed that West Bay Acquisitions has advised that they closed the account and removed the charges, but Experian's response to the dispute is that the charges "remain". I contacted Nat'l Recovery Agency and they have no record of the debt. I am at a loss... I don't know how to get this off of my credit report.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChereseB1983 Nov 02, 2011

    I am the same as Deanna! I have a negative remark from this company on my account and I have never heard of them. It was for 106.00 just like another person on here. I am disputing it through the Credit Bureaus. It's really sad because some people may have actually paid the charges these people are claiming they owe without investigating fully.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    Snash Sep 11, 2011

    I just found a $70 hickey on my credit report thank to these folks - what is all of this about???? Never heard of these people. These folks are scammers and need to be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cherylburnett92 Aug 09, 2011

    I was 14 years old when they said I got charged for this bs, its 27.70$ but still, I was 14 how do I even get on a credit thing at that age anyways? I never even thought of living in the house I am now and they just find me. This makes no sense.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deanna23 Jun 29, 2011

    I had a similar situation, National Recovery Agency was reporting negatively on my credit report that I owed $106 to West Bay Acquisitions. You need to look online and get a letter template for a debt validation. Make sure the letter quotes the law on fair credit reporting. They will have 30 days to validation (not verify, validate) the debt. If they can't validate it, they must delete it from the credit report. I sent them a letter for debt validation and within 1 week they responded with a letter stating that the debt was closed and they were reporting to the credit bureau that the debt be deleted!! You can use the debt validation process with any debt on your credit report. Very helpful tip

    0 Votes
  • Ei
    eickholt1989 May 11, 2011

    I ALSO JUST SEEN A COPY OF MY CREDIT REPORT AND HAVE A BOGUS $31 SENT TO COLLECTIONS, I NEVER EVEN HEARD OF THIS PLACE NOR DO I ORDER CD'S/ IM TICKED!!! DOES ANYBODY HAVE A WORKING NUMBER FOR THIS PLACE?

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WickedqueenPA May 03, 2011

    I am 38, I have never had a credit card. Didn't even have a debit cart till recently. If I shopped on-line I used a pre paid card or gift certificate. I finally got a credit report because I am considering opening a store card for large purchase(new washer and dryer). West Bay Acquisitions shows up for $120. I am not a fan of shopping as a hobby. I didn't get in step with plastic till it was unavoidable. If I didn't have the cash in my pocket, or saved for a purchase I didn't buy it!
    Something rotten is going on, how can I have bad credit when I have never used credit or had loans? Anything I have bought until recently was with cold hard cash.

    0 Votes
  • As
    ash43 Apr 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok so i do not knw nuthin about any of this ive never even taken nething out on credit or nething n it says i owe money which is so stupid does anybody knw who i call or who i contact in order to get rid of this

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustrated_marge Mar 25, 2011

    Recently my husband and I applied for a mortgage. At the end of the underwriting process we were denied. When our credit was pulled again at underwriting, new collections came up from National Recovery Agency. I have no idea who the original creditor is. NRA, LLC is listed where that information should be provided. This agency started collecting the month our original credit report was run. The odd thing is they began reporting at the same time on both of our credit reports for multiple collections (all which do not list the original creditor). I find it odd that this has happened to others in the middle of the mortgage approval process. I wonder if this is coincidence?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frydfairy Mar 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just because its verified does not mean its been validated. You have to request in writing PROOF of validation of debt. Contact your FTC. class action lawsuit will do you no good. The FTC and my attorney general helped me out a lot with my dispute.

    0 Votes
  • Km
    kmo2001 Mar 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing, I did not ever order a cd, but, it is on my report as well for like $59.00. I disputed it, they said they verified the info. There is no way, since I never purchased anything from any of these companies. I think it is someone who is trying very hard to steal money from innocent people. I would like to start a class action suit against them. If anyone is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    BMXEMT14 Jan 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a $128.00 Charge for some C.D.'s that i have never even heard of! They dont even have my correct name and its on my credit report. Its stopping me from getting a much needed newer car. I would have been 15 at the time that i would have gotten the cds. This crap needs to stop. 2 faxes and 15000 phone calls later and nothing has changed!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trexrawr Oct 19, 2010

    Same thing happened to me..I'm so mad that I can't get this off my credit!!! They won't even answer the phone. They say I owe 73. How can people just charge you for something you didn't get?

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dirtracer Sep 29, 2010

    My son has this on his credit report also for $57.00 and has never ordered any CD's or DVD's. The next time they call him he is going to tell them he has contacted a lawyer, called the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. We hope this will help

    0 Votes
  • Gy
    Gyrene Aug 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To start with, Experian will not accept your mail unless you have their particular report number on the envelope as part of the address...they will just send it back unopened, unread and therefore, no action with these people...they get away with posting just about anything they can dream up out of thin air with this high handed peculiarity. Personally, I feel we here in the U.S. are becoming slaves of the "credit report" and the industry these people have created out of thin air. I say we must do away with the present system of rating which depends all too much on specialized knoowledge and ability to act on that knowledge. This discriminates against a great portion of our population who do not possess the no-how or the ability to perform all the previous commentator has outlined. Yes, its great if you can do it, but how many don't know how or ?

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Underlord Aug 17, 2010

    Like many comments posted, I too have recently discovered an item appearing on my credit report from this company. The name of the "collection agency" is National Recovery Agency (NRA), and the name listed as the [original] creditor being West Bay Aquisitions (WBA), and the amount of $148 USD. I have not bought anything from this company, nor have I bought any music, video, books, or anything else online or via mail order in the past twenty years--Since attending college, when it was convienant and allowed me to stay in my dorm room and study. I've made all my purchases since college the old fashioned way: Waiting in line at the store checkout.

    For those who are also in this postion, don't lose hope!

    First, contact ALL THREE of the major credit reporting bureaus (Equifax, Experian, Transunion) to check if the entry exists in their database (it may exist in one or two only), then dispute the validity and accuracy of the entries. By Federal law, they must be able to provide proof of valid debt or remove the entry from your report. The Federal Trade Commision website, http://ftc.gov, contains a wealth of information, help and guidance in your rights and the rules and proceedures the reporting bureaus _must_ follow (look up information on FCRA--Fair Credit Reporting Act, and FACT[A]--Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act.)

    Keep in mind, however, this is only _part_ of the whole process--Once you get the entry removed from your credit report(s), you'll still have to deal with NRA/WBA directly to have them "correct" their information so they do not simply "re-report" it a year from now. For dealing with them, the FTC website also has many guides and help, as well as other resources including the Better Business Bureau (bbb.gov), the States Attorney General (contact the one where NRA/WBA is located--Pennsyvania), et cetera. File complaints! The more complaints about questionable business practices there are against these people, the more likely there will be action taken against them.

    Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Gy
    Gyrene Jun 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This last comment breaks my heart - young people trying to get established and a bunch of shylocks get their living and their kicks by making their life miserable. Altho our Attorney General was able to get the account cancelled, nothing was done (apparently) about forcing them to notify the credit bureaus. I believe the AG of Pennsylvania and the FCC should be interested in how the book clubs (Direct Brands, Inc.) sells fraudulent accounts. My cheque was dated April 4, 2004 and they sold the account (they say! ) in 2009. They remind me of the old country song, "Are you going to believe me or your lying eyes!!" I wish this last couple and all the other victims the best...maybe we should boycott all book clubs, music and DVD clubs...any of the crap involved with this outfit?

    0 Votes
  • Am
    american.momma Jun 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Count me in. I am so mad at the atrocity that is this NRA West Bay Acquisitions. My husband and I just re-financed our home a year ago and are now trying to get a second loan and all of a sudden there is a charge on my credit report for $88 from these people. If I really had a charge against my report, why didn't it show up a year ago? THIS IS A TOTAL SCAM. I will be looking into this as much as I can and will get back to you with any info.

    Mad as Hell and I'm NOT going to take it.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    redalert Jun 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same here people. These [censor] seems to be racking up on small fees from everyday folks and ruining their credit report.

    1 Votes
  • Am
    AmyL2 May 26, 2010

    I was able to get this removed with by sending a request for validation of debt letter to NRA and a complaint to the Pennsylvania Attorney General. Don't give up!! You can get this removed. I think it's obvious now that a large group of people were identify thefted at some point. Don't be afraid to use the phrase "identify theft" in your correspondence because that's what it is.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    moejab May 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This debt doesn't even belong to me and some how they attached this debt to my credit report. I asked the CSR of Westbay, "what are the similarities between myself and the actual debtor." She said, "we have the same last name." There was not anything similar other than our last names and leaving in Maryland. They are doing this to so many people are are getting away with with. Oh yeah, the CSR said that I could just pay it. WTF, is she loco? Why should I pay for someone else debt.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    moejab May 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing just happened to me just days ago. I am in the process of disputing the charges. I filled a complaint with FTC.gov and was told to tell anyone else having problems with this company to do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frydfairy May 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they have to cease collections 6 years after your last payment

    0 Votes
  • Gy
    Gyrene May 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These people have hounded me via telephone for over 5 years about a supposed Doubleday Book Club bill of l8l0. I sent them a copy of the cheque with its endorsement and Paid in Full twicee on the canncelled cheque...never mind. Send Doulbeday Legal a copy of the paid cheque and they sent back "they couldn't help me as this account had been sold to a West Bay Acquisitions"...The people phoning me are from NRZ although they never get on the phone, just state they are trying to locate this person (me) and so I have now sent all this material to ourAttorney General for help. My cheque was dated April, 04 and it is my understanding they have to cease after seven years? Is this true?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frydfairy May 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Send them the letter below and file a complaint with the FTC. DO NOT PAY THEM! keep on them. it is worth it. Make sure you send this letter with a return receipt. When I filed the complaint with the FTC i received a letter back from them within two weeks saying they were investigating the matter and provided me with a copy of the letter they themselves sent this company. A week after that I received a letter from the NRA saying that the account was referred to them in error. I contacted a lawyer before I did all this and my lawyer informed me that collections on an account must cease 6 years after last payment was made and if no payments are made 7 years after the account was allegedly opened. Of course in my case the account was never opened. I don't know why they do this and I don't care. My attorney general has them under investigation as well and not just because of my complaint. This company has been under investigation for a while. And I am not some crybaby that doesn't feel like paying my bills. If the company made a legitimate mistake that's fine but they should have tried to resolve that with me in the beginning instead of dragging it out for a year and a half. Here's the letter I sent them:

    NRA Group LLC
    Dba: National Recovery Agency
    PO Box 67015
    Harrisburg, PA [protected]


    Dear Collection Manager,
    Re: Account listed under name/account number

    A year ago ago I pulled my credit report and noticed a collection from your agency. Not recognizing the debt I called and asked for verification of the debt to please be mailed to me. I have called several times since then and still have not received or been notified of this collection by mail. However, this letter does not imply that I refuse to pay this debt. Rather, I would like to dispute your claim.

    As per the FDCPA, I have the right to request a validation of this debt. I request you to prove that I am indeed the party who is by contract obligated to pay off this debt.

    I hope you are aware of the fact that reporting any invalidated information to major credit bureaus may constitute defamation of character, as negative listing on credit report does not allow me to enjoy the benefits of good credit. In addition, you must also be aware that until you validate this debt, you can neither continue collection activities nor report this information on my credit report. I'm sure your legal staff will agree that non-compliance with this request is likely to put your company in serious legal trouble with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and other state/federal agencies.

    Please attach copies of the following documents:

    1.Agreement with your client that authorizes you to collect on this alleged debt.
    2.Agreement that bears signature of the alleged debtor wherein he promises to pay the creditor.
    3.Complete itemized statement on this account so as to prove that the debt amount you wish to collect is correct.

    If I do not receive these documents my lawyer and I will be forced to take further action against your company.

    With regards,

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rennfaire May 06, 2010

    I also found an entry on my credit report for $39 from West Bay Acquisitions, when i disputed it with Experian, they came back and said it was a verified legitimate debt. I have never heard of them before. I'm also receiving calls from phone numbers that never leave a message that I've traced the phone number back to a company going by "NRA". They've never left a message and I have never received anything in the mail from them. If it's linked to BMG or Columbia House...I had a BMG account back when I was in college, and everything I bought I paid for (and it was also 20 years ago!). Sounds more like a scam to me.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    D.Muse Apr 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did belong to BMG Music Company, but I paid for all the CD's that i kept. The CD's they are trying to charge me for are the ones that I returned unopened. Returned and also spoke to someone telling them that I was returning.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clagory Apr 14, 2010

    I just googled West Bay Acquisitions because I had a $100 unpaid debt to them on my credit report. When I received my credit report I reported it to the bureau as fraudulent and they said they'd investigat it. About a month later I received a new copy of my credit report and the West Bay Acquisitions debt wasn’t on it, so I was satisfied.

    But, today someone from the NRA Group called me to collect the debt. I had never heard of West Bay Acquisitions but I did order CD's from BMG five years ago and I paid for them. The lady I spoke with at the National Recovery Agency said that I couldn't say I hadn't heard of them becuase she shows I paid $149. I don't have any of the paperwork from five years ago, nor do I remember many details, but I know I didn't just blow them off. I received the CD's I ordered and paid for them. And now five years later they report me to the credit bureau and start calling me? I pay my bills, and $100 would be no big deal to pay, but I don't feel like its right. Some company out there got a hold of our information and is making fraudulent claims for our money. They probably think that we will pay the small amounts to clean off our credit reports, and I'm sure a lot have. But if there's a class action lawsuit out there let me know, I'll join it. No one's get any money out of me unless they earn it.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    numbercruncher Mar 30, 2010

    To the person who said to shut up and pay the bill because we all know we signed up for BMG or Columbia House ... you're right, I did. I also paid every bill I recieved or returned the merchandise. All of it about four to six years ago. I haven't recieved a single bill, collection notice or phone call in all that time and yet, in the last few months, I have an entry on my credit report for a delinquent account in the amount of $95.00. Now a four to six year old account is showing as a current delinquency on my report as I'm trying to buy a house. I contested the validity through Experian and the same thing, it came back verified. I have read numerous complaints from many, many people all in the last six to eight months. I find it highly suspect that so many people are getting tagged now for a so-called debt that they may or may not have incurred years prior. If we were delinquent four years ago, why are we just now being hit with it? They have finally started calling me now, but they didn't answer when I picked up. It will be interesting to see how this all works out.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    DJeanP Mar 29, 2010

    File your complaint with the Pennsylvania Attorney General. I did 2 1/2 months ago and I just received a letter from them and a copy of the letter from NRA stating my account has been corrected. Persevere!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    pennystripe Mar 29, 2010

    I'm in the same boat. I got this address.
    NRA Group
    PO /box 67015
    Harrisburg, PA 17106
    Thanks everyone for the information.

    0 Votes
  • We
    West Bay Not real Mar 23, 2010

    Hello Everyone,
    I am in the same boat. This definitely seems like a true scam. I encourage everyone to get the Federal Trade Commission involved. This company can also be found on the better business bureau’s website. We need to end this "company, " as I know we all want to protect our credit score!

    Good Luck everyone!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ertai1963 Mar 23, 2010

    do any of you see the connection that we all have with this agency. we were all trying to buy a house. i just talked to experian they have had multiple complaints about these people. all you can do is file a identity theft report with experian and they will remove it. ill let you know who things go from there

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Santaiza Mar 04, 2010

    I am also caught up in this mess also .I was in the process to purchase my new home and they pulled my report right before the finalizations and her this company pulls up saying that i owe them $73 ! WTF i am mad about this ... I dont know who these people are and what this is as i read some of ther others comment DVD ! Why would i do that and they have Blockbuster Rentals..Lol! Somethings has to be done about this!!! Thanks Connie for the Informations...

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmyL2 Feb 16, 2010

    Count me in as someone who has been victimized by this scam. I've sent a certified letter to National Recovery, so far no response.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ConnieW Feb 11, 2010

    i just did a google search for west bay acquisitions... and here is what I found...

    West Bay Acquisitions
    P.O. Box 189
    East Greenwich, RI 02818
    [protected]
    [email protected]

    also here is another address for National Recovery Agency
    2491 Paxton Street
    Harrisburg, PA 17111

    Good Luck to you...I know that I wrote the National Recovery Agency twice and have failed to get a response. I am thinking about contacting the federal trade commission also and filing a complaint to help get to the bottom of this.

    Connie

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carolinagirl65 Feb 10, 2010

    I AM IN THE SAME BOAT AS WELL. I JUST FOUND A CHARGE OF $99 FROM WEST BAY AQUISTIONS. I FOUND THIS ON MY CREDIT REPORT B/C I AM TRYING TO GET A HOME LOAN. THE CREDIT REPORT GAVE ME A TELEPHONE # FOR WEST BAY [protected]. HOWEVER I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO REACH THEM. I LEFT A MESSAGE & HOPE THEY WILL CALL ME BACK. I WAS JUST RESEARCHING THIS COMPANY & FOUND ANOTHER COMPLAINT WHERE THIS PERSON HAS THE SAME PROBLEM & SHE IS GOING THROUGH THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION PHONE# [protected]. SHE ALSO HAS THE POLICE INVOLVED. IF I DO NOT GET A RESPONSE FROM THIS COMPANY & FIND OUT THAT THEY ARE ILLEGALLY ADDING THIS CHARGE TO MY CREDIT REPORT. I WILL BE GOING TO THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE. GOOD LUCK TO ALL.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.