Volkswagendamaged goods and no resolution

I
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Good Day.

I have a VW polo 1.6 vehicle which I bought brand new from VW braamfontein in Feb 2011. The vehicle is still under its 3year Manufacturer warranty. My car has overheated and broke down 3 times in a matter of 6 months. On the 1st Incident, I lodged a complaint with the VW customer care centre as well as the dealership, and I was assured the matter was fixed. On the 2nd incident I then escalated the matter to the Desk of the Managing Director Mr. David Powels after which I was once again assured that the matter was resolved. This past Friday Night, my car once again broke downand overheated. The same incident has occurred 3 time now on a new vehicle, with no resolution. These incidents have put my safety at risk and have caused me a high degree of inconvieniance. May I add, that on all 3 occassions, I was denied a courtesy car by the VW dealerships, even though the breakdown was their fault. What disturbs me is that I have had 3 of these incidents already during the 3 year warranty, which means I will be sitting with bigger problems when the warrenty ends. The warranty is ending in 1 year. As a consumer, I either want my car fixed, with a guarantee that it won't happen again, or I want my car replaced or I want VW to take the car back and terminate the payment agreement. I refuse to pay for damaged goods that comes with a high level of stress and inconvieniance.

I am now turning to you in the hope that you will assist me, as I have tried everything in my power with VW south Africa but have failed.

Below is the last letter which I sent to the Desk of the Managing Director of VW SA Mr. David Powels. ([protected]@vwsa.co.za)

To
THE CEO / Managing Director
VW  SOUTH AFRICA
 
15TH FEBRUARY, 2013
 
Dear Mr. Powels
                                      RE ENGINE VIN NO : AAVZZZ6RZBU022201
 
I have just about had it with VW’s lack of competency & lack of after sales service. I have a Polo 1.6 Tiptronic which I bought brand new in February 2011. May I add, that the vehicle is still under it’s 3 year manufacturers warranty and is still under a full maintenance plan.
Last month, my vehicle over heated and broke down leaving me totally stranded. To highlight  that, I was appalled at the level of service rendered by the Rivonia Dealership to which my car was towed to. (I had at logged a complaint for that at the time). My car was kept at Rivonia for 3 days, after which, I was assured that the problem  was ”FINALLY RESOLVED”. This morning while on my way to work, my car overheats and breaks down for the SECOND TIME, leaving me stranded once again ~ a total inconvenience, as I had an urgent meeting this morning to attend. I am the Manager of Woolworths Sandton. The meetings I attend are critical. The worst part is, no one knows why the car is overheating. If this is happening to my car now, within the 3 year Manufacturers warranty, I will simply be left bewildered with bigger problems after  my 3 year term is over. My new car is overheating and breaking down every month.
 
1.   My car that VW has sold to me is clearly defective. A new car cannot overheat every month just after two years of buying it.
2.   I am left inconvenienced & totally stranded in unsafe environments every single time – because of VW
3.   I still continue to pay VW every month without fail, even though the car is sitting for days at YOUR dealerships because of YOUR defective workmanship / manufacturing.
4.   No courtesy car was offered in my instance by any of your dealers. When you ask for one, they immediately say Sorry, they cannot help as they are out of cars. Cannot help? when I am left stranded because of VW?? This has now happened on both occasions by Rivonia and Braamfontein.
 
As a consumer, I feel that my CPA rights have been infringed upon, more strongly the following:
 
1.   The Right to quality Service – I have received incompetency, unwilling service from VW south Africa and its dealerships especially while it is the fault of VW’s workmanship.
2.   Right to return goods – As a consumer I am entitled to return unsafe or defective goods, INCLUDING goods that are of inferior quality
 
I am totally disgusted and disappointed at the quality of your products, as well as your after sales service. Never in my life have I experienced such inconvenience. This is the 1st and Last time I purchase a VW car. As a Brand you really need to step back and re-align your focus on two things: Customer and Product.
 
As a consumer, I will be lodging a formal complaint with the Consumer board.
I need my vehicle replaced or a better solution if you have one. I refuse to suffer day in and day out for VW’s negligence. I am sitting with a new car that is totally unreliable.
 
If my grievance’s  are deemed  unfit for your attention – my legal team’s letter will be on Germany’s desk.
 
Yours
Mohamed Saleh

Responses

  • De
    denver james Aug 15, 2013

    Hi There

    Please can you look into the attached query as a matter of urgency and revert with feedback.
    I have had nothing but trouble since March 2013 after booking my vehicle in for repairs at Barons Durban
    Please find attached pictures of their poor workmanship.
    Please note that Volkswagen South Africa have been extremely unhelpful and therefore I have now proceeded to take this matter to my lawyer and the media to expose Volkswagen South Africa and Barons Durban of their poor workmanship, bad customer service, fault findings and damage to customers vehicles instead of repairing it.I had been having endless problems with a rowdy sound coming from the engine area on cold start as well as whilst on idle a sort of irritating knocking sound which was related to the fuel pipe on my Golf 6 TSI.
    I was advised by Barons VW Durban that no fault was found on my vehicle and that it was one of the characteristic of a TSI engine.
    I then booked my car in at Hooper's Volkswagen in Durban on the 19th of July 2013 for a second opinion and only to find that Barons Durban did not follow proper procedure and that it was not normal for a TSI to sound like that.
    Hooper's Volkswagen together with the help of Volkswagen Factory assisted in getting my vehicle repaired and up to standards.
    Now my vehicle is out of warranty as of the 19th of July.
    Please find attached job cards, letter of apology, Md office letter and also letters from the dealer principal advising no fault was found.
    I have also attached the letter from Hooper's Durban advising on the fault findings from Barons Durban and also the work they have conducted.
    Who compensates me from March 2013 to date for the inconvenience???
    My car was more at the dealership than with me???
    Now I get told that I cant even get a master car warranty as compensation???
    Shocking and pathetic customer service all round???
    Is this how Volkswagen treats their valued clients???

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    PetraP Mar 28, 2014

    I totally agree vw service is going down. I took my car for service 3 March 2014 whereby I fetched my car and was told they did not have 3 parts and I must come back the next week. Very inconveniently as my job is demanding so I took it today 28 March when I had some time. Just to fit airfilter, ponofilter and spark plugs cost me over R2000. Labour for this cost me R975. This is ridiculous as my 1st time I took it cost me R1400 and that is oil change etc. I will never go back to any vw dealer again!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Calif Apr 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought car from Paul Miller Volkswagen, but after several weeks it turned out that headrests were fault. I contacted the rep and asked to replace them or repair, and the rep told me that they would contact me. I waited couple of weeks, but nothing. I called them again, and they again promised to call me back, when they would be ready to replace the headrests. They are liars and scammers. Please, post your comments and share your views about this company.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TerthiusS Jul 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm going to try to keep it short. My 2005 Caddy Pick-up started giving problems about three years ago, where it just suddenly give a oil warning and then refuse to start again.
    I took it to VW Menlyn, they fixed the problem, ( after working on it for 2 weeks ). Not a year later I took it back for the same reason.
    So I was upset already, and so they fixed it...even though I was not happy. This was in December 2013.
    January 2014, guess what, shame troubles. And so I have to pay again...WTF.
    Ok now...this is 6 months later...guess again...Yes, its there now for the SAME problem!!

    Can anyone tell me what to do? 'Cause I'm sick of this poor service / management

    Terthius

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crossr Jul 22, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    East London and King Williams Town should be looked after by the VW South Africa, their service is very bad.

    2 Votes
  • Lb
    L. Borman Oct 01, 2014

    Good day Mr. Powels
    Re: Latent defects on a brand new Vivo Polo VIN: AAVZZZ6SZEU026224
    Kindly assist as I need to know where I stand after I have proven on 4x occasions that this vehicle I bought has defects and VW is unable to fix it nor can they prove why problem occurs.
    I logged a complaint with [email protected] on 19/09/14 whom has failed to arrange an appointment with Regional VW Manager (Lebo). I am saddened with the poor service received and will do my best that the public knows about this as I am now sitting with a car VW refuses to take back or replace. Service managers at VW Fury Northcliff and VW Bryanston advised me the defect on this car is normal. My life is at risk my safety is compromised and I am paying for a car they cannot fix.

    I bought a brand new VIVO on the 6th September from VOLKS Motors Zeerust and since have been experiencing problems with.
    Front & rear suspension and gearbox. The car has been booked in 4x times with VW that failed to eliminate the problems and instead advised me that it is normal. There is knocking noises coming from the gearbox and still experiencing knocking noises from front shocks. I am losing time from work and spending money every time I have to arrange to have this checked.

    15/09/14 – VW Bryanston swoped rear shocks and ignored my other concerns on the car.
    18/09/14 – VW Fury Northcliff greased the shocks to eliminate noises and ignored gearbox noises and front shock knocking noises.
    19/09/14 – VW Fury Northcliff, advised me that the noises I am hearing is normal after service manager confirmed with me that the noises are there but normal however could not advise why other VIVO does not have that defects when we did a comparison.
    19/09/14 – I sent an e-mail to VW customer service department: [email protected] who was supposed to arrange an appointment for me with regional VW manager (Lebo)
    26/09/14 – Lebo failed to meet with me instead I had to speak to another branch manager by the name of (Nigel) that could not even greet me and drove my car like a maniac and to just tell me that the is fine but could tell me why other VIVO does not have the same sounds/problems as mine.
    01/10/14 – I was supposed to meet with Lebo again today however for some strange reason I cannot meet with him again.

    Please assist
    Knd regards
    Leareil
    0783937284
    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ag
    AG GREYLING Jan 19, 2015

    If you want bad service and have a lot of money to through down the drain
    VW Ermelo is the place to go. Ask for Jaco (workshop manager) to assist you, he will ensure that you are stuck with a broken vehicle. His lies will fill your days with joy
    So disgusted with Volkswagen.
    BE WARNED - NEVER BUY A VW!!!

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    Faghree Feb 19, 2015

    In January 2013 I bought a brand you VW Polo GTI -

    In the 4th month it started using oil, if you don't know this car's oil costs R120 per liter. I kept going to the dealer and they kept saying its normal. I had to prove to them by their silly test. Eventually last year they looked at it and turns out my engine was completely done over.

    On top of that, the car use to shudder badly when changing to second gear. So, after going back 5 times they i booked it in they checked and did replaced the clutches.

    Why my brand new cars engine was done over i still don't know. I got the car back, after 7 weeks. With all the panels out of line. skew bonnet, skew bumper, skew grill, left head light not working (still not working) yesterday I loud rattle started coming from the bottom end of my car and was puffing white smoke after sitting in some traffic. I had to book it in again and they reckon its a mounting?? this is 2 years in after purchasing a car that costs R250 000.00

    -what will i do next year when the warranty is expired?
    -this is clearly defected

    this is car inconveniencing me to such a large extent and I am simply told my VW SA they only honor the warranty and fix what breaks.

    VW SA sold me a defected vehicle for a 250 thousand rand and there's nothing I can do?

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chentricia Feb 23, 2015

    Good day, I'm totally not happy with the service I am receive form Barons N1 city. I took my car in 3 weeks ago for warranty on my car door rubbers and shock for my boot. I waited three days for feedback until when my car will be fixed. Called the branch DP and was requested to bring my car in on the Monday. Got to the branch and left my car their. When I got to work the service adviser called to inform me my car wont be done the same day, (how inconvienent) sitting at work without any transportation to get home. Collected my car the same day and told them that I will take it home and bring It back the Thursday till Friday. Not even offering a courtesy car to customer or mentioning it. took it back the Monday for the paint work to be done on the boot. which is today 23.02.2015.only be called today, that my car wont be ready today but will be ready for collecting tomorrow 24.02.2015. sitting at work without transportation again home.

    totally disgusted with this customer service im receiving...

    Ms CB Adriaanse

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clyton Apr 16, 2015

    I have purchased a golf 6 tsi from benoni citi in september 2011, ever since may 2012 I have been having endless problems with this car!I lay complaints but I guess its just a procedure to show that nothing ever gets sorted out!since september 2012 I drive with a 5l water bottle in my car-till now!the car has been in 4times for this problem(while under warranty) but the problem hasn't been solved!!the car is out of warranty and the problem just started again...and I get told that I have to sort out the bill because the warranty is over but its the same problem that was never fixed!! VW IS DISGUSTING!they know how to rip their customers off!!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Craig Thomsen Apr 20, 2015

    I purchased a brand new Volkswagen CC 2012. I have spent over $14, 000.00 in repairs. DO NOT PURCHASE A VOLKSWAGEN!

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    MkStItCh Apr 20, 2015

    Not enough info to make a judgment on this complaint.
    I work on cars all day long and find that people do not take care of cars the way they should.
    In the case of MOST VW CC owners, they do not understand the basic concept of what they have. They use the WRONG oil because the proper oil cost too much. They do not service the Transmissions, Brakes Fluid, Clutch fluid, Transfer Case or Power Steering fluid at 36, 000 miles because they do not feel that it is REALLY needed even though it is listed in the owners manual & Check Chart. Then they all complain when things start going wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khetha Apr 28, 2015

    I bought a brand new Polo Bluemotion in 2012, since then it have been to VW more than i drove it, the problem is tha faulty fuel filter, EPC and Catalytic converter those things cause my vehicle to lose power, volkwagen is failing to solve this problem, as i am writing this complain my car is at VW tri- sec for a same problem, last weekend i was on standby and i phoned them to tell that i need a car since i am on standby but nobody helped me, i spoke to the lady her name is Angelique, she promissed to help me on friday till today i am still waiting, my service advisor Johan Mallan is a useless ###, he is not even telling me wat is the progress, i recieved a final writen warning for not responding to the callout because i ddnt have a car, i am sick and tired of VW i dont want this car anymore i want my money back, next month the warranty is coming to an end and i dont know what i must do plus i might lose my job because of vw selling us expensive piece of trash that is gud for nothing. my car Reg No is HKM751MP, My name is KKM Mbatha, please help me to escallate this matter, i have tried all channels failing this is the last one, i will NEVER EVER BUY A VW CAR.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter van Rensburg May 12, 2015

    I bought a bought a brand new Golf 7 GTI and took delivery on the 16th of March 2015. after about 3 weeks after delivery i noticed a rattle in the engine bay so took the car into to be inspected at the dealership where i bought it ( Lindsay Saker east Rand mall), i was told that the engine oil was a bit low ( topped up) and that a few other things were tightened. the rattle was still there after this. i took it back again and it was eventually found that the actuator arm on the wastage, on the turbo is loose ( it's supposed to be a little loose) and rattles under acceleration at low revs. The Golf 6 GTI also had this problem and was fixed with a clip that tensions it just enough as not to rattle. Anyway the long and short of it is this : my car has been back to the dealership no less that 7 times and it only has 2500 km's on the clock, they have tried a few existing clips but to no avail. Here is the cherry on the top though : I have now been told that VWSA have no fix for this issue and that i must just wait for them to come up with a suitable solution. Basically telling me that VWSA have not had enough complaints about this issue therefore it is not a priority for them at this stage!!...R450 000.00's worth of car with a bad rattle and i must just grin and bear it until THEY decide that they will now fix it??...This is my First...and Last VW that I buy, i'm so sorry I bought this car. Peter van Rensburg. Centurion. 083 268 7270. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    foxyroxy35 Sep 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took my VW Tiguan in for her service today. Because I work in the area, I decided to make use of VW Rivonia's service (or lack thereof) What a disappointment! There was only one lady attending to all the customers while the rest of the staff were sitting around having a cup of coffee. Being a Mercedes Benz owner for many years I was surprised how little these people cared about the brand. Customers were not attended to and left standing around without any place to sit or a cup of coffee offered. If only the staff had the pride for the VW brand as the staff at Mercedes Benz it would made a huge difference. Maybe Volkswagen should send their staff for training and some tips how to deal with customers and how to make their customers feel they are the most important person and not have the "don't care" attitude they have. What a shame !

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zanzan Feb 02, 2016

    My Polo 2014 model is a nightmare. It was towed for the third time today from Swaziland to Alan Hudson at nelspruit within a period of 6 months.I am desperately looking for a buyer.I will not recommend VW to any one!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maipato Ophniel Mar 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a Brand new Polo TSI 1.2 2015 Model from VW Barons in Woodmead 4 months ago. Last week i had a flat tire so i had to replace it with a spare wheel, but the experience of changing the tire became a nightmare. When i was about to replace the flat tire, i realized that it had a lock nut, so i looked for the lock nut key in my boot and i could not find it. Which was strange as it should come with the car just like your spare wheel, etc, but i searched i could not find the lock-nut key, which meant that i could not replace the flat wheel. What was even more shocking was that when i looked at the other tires, they all had different lock nuts again with no keys. How do you explain that????? I then phoned the guy from vw who sold me the car, but told me that he is in fourways and i should go to the office and i will find a guy by the Name of Anton for help as this thing happened not far from the Woodmead Baron Office. So i made plans to go there, had to ask one of my colleague to come and take me there, we got there and found the Anton guy who was amazed and shocked by what i was telling him regarding the no lock-nut key and the lock-nuts being different from the other 3 wheels more especially considering that the car was bought as a bran new car. So he searched in the store room and came with an old lock-nut key for me to try on the affected wheel, he said if the key does not work I SHOULD FORCE IT IN SO THAT I CAN CHANGE THE TIRE. So we then went back to the car, and found that the key did not fit, so i we tried to force it in and it took we hours to do that as we did not have any tools to help us with that. the lock-nut key eventually got in and we were able to take it out, but affected the rim. All this happened on the 20th of February which was on a Saturday, so i went to the office on Monday around lunch time as i wanted to speak to the Branch Manager or anyone who can help me, They told me that the Manager does not sit in the office but sits somewhere else, but i can speak to the Financial Manager. it is an Indian lady, very friendly. She listened to my story and wrote some points down while i was still talking, she even asked to come and see the car, she saw the car and took picture of the different lock nuts from all the wheels and also took a photo of the affected tire. She then took my name and Numbers and promised me that she will definitely call me after an hour if not the following day. You will be suprised that until now i have not received a call from the Barons office, no email, no sms nothing, for a chance i thought maybe they lost my numbers, but the again they should have records as i am their customer. I am driving with a spare wheel to and from work everyday, what will happen to me when i get another flat tire? who will i call and who will help me, IS THIS THE SAME VW THAT TALKS ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION?? MY INTENTION IN TO GO TO THE MEDIA AND REVEAL EXACTLY WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO ME, THEY IS NEVER ONE MONTH THAT I MISS WITHOUT PAYING AND THEY NEVER FORGOT TO DEDUCT THE MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT, BUT IS THIS FAIR? CAN SOMEONE PLEASE RESPOND TO ME AND ADVISE WHAT IS THE WAY FORWARD WITH THIS ISSUE, I AM UTTERLY DISGUSTED WITH THE SERVICE I RECEIVED FROM VW BARONS OFFICE IN WOODMEAD NOT ONLY THEM VW AS A WHOLE. I WISH I CAN TAKE THIS CAR BACK AND BUY ANOTHER ONE FROM THEIR COMPETITORS. 078 1017785

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Candice Dalais May 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi

    A year ago I purchased a VW Polo 1.2 tsi 2015, VIN number AAVZZZ6RZFU069895 from VW Umhlanga Durban. 2 months ago the engine blew and I was not given a courtesy car and I have to still run up and down for the necessary documents to get sorted out. This should not be my problem as this is a factory fault. I do not understand how you expect me to run around for these documents to be certified without a vehicle. I called Dawood from Umhlanga VW Durban and I was told to get a copy for my contract and logbook from the bank. Should the Dealership from which the vehicle was purchased not have a copy on hand for these instances? Due to VW not giving me a courtesy car we have lost out on a lot of business and continue to do so due to the unreliability and lack of safety that your vehicle has put me in.

    I cannot get the necessary documents through to you again as I do not have the means to do so. So if the one’s you have are not good enough well then VW can keep the car. You SHOULD NOT have to replace an Engine on a new car anyway.

    This is unacceptable service and will be taken further.

    Candice Drabble

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Segametsi Jun 27, 2016

    Good Day

    I'm driving a VW Scirocco which i bought in 2013.

    I would like to lay a complaint against VW in Kimberly. I previously stayed in Klerksdorp where my car was serviced. I have recently moved to Kimberly where I took my car for service on 24/06/2016 for 45 000 kilos. I have never been so disappointed with such poor service. in the morning when I took my car in I had to stand in a queue with one person only assisting and wait for a driver to take to work for more than an hour. Whilst waiting for the driver, one very angry came in screaming and swearing about his car which made me unsettled as I booked in my car. I waited for a call or updated about my car but nothing. Around 16:00 I called them to find out about my car, only then was I told that they are still busy servicing my car. I asked the service adviser when was he going to alert me and that I had no means of transport. The driver was then sent to fetch me and when I arrived there around 17:00 there were a lot of us waiting for our cars. Some where fuming with anger for such bad service. I only got my car just before 18:00 with the problems still in existence. The problem with the air conditioner still there and the engine warning light still on. I was told by Michael, the service adviser that there is a part that should be ordered and as soon as it arrives they will call me.

    My worst fears came to life when the two guys working in Volkswagen followed me to my house and both stopped at my gate and tried to chat to me. that made me suspicious as this guys had access to my car keys and everything and now they come to check where I stay. This incident made me suspicious of these guys. They said they were dropping off a car in my street but I watched them and they both drove in and out of my street without dropping off the car anywhere. I am now fearful that these guys do robberies or work with syndicates and they give them our details and other information. I can not sleep at night because of this incident.

    The following day after service, my car windows started not to close properly which I didn't experience prior to the service. I would like this matter investigated further as I now live in fear that my car or households will be stolen. I will be opening a case at the police station for investigation or lay a complaint for anything that happens to me, my family or my belongings.

    My colleagues warned me not to service my car in Kimberly, that i rather drive to Bloemfontein because they had bad experiences that's why they never service in Kimberly. I take that this is serious and should be seen as urgent. I would appreciate your response to my complaint as soon as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lesiba Jun 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, in 2015 my company bought a Jetta 1.4 TSI DSG. DT42TVGP.at barons Durban before 15000km the cruise control had a fault I took it to barons right Bruma as I left Durban they told me they updated the software on it and the reverse camera, the fault kept on coming back and I was told to monitor it they waiting for VW SA to give feedback it's been a year now waiting for VW SAs feedback. In March this year I decided to take over the car over so it can be mine while I was transferring the car to my name the car failed the national traffic road worthy I took it to barons Bruma they told me there is liquid in the brake fluid I have to pay for brake fluid service it's not covered in the warranty I paid for it because I wanted papers for the car from department of transport, twice I got battery problems and VWSA sent technicians to jumpstart and later they told me they changed the battery. In June this year the engine light came on while I was driving I took it to barons Bruma the told me it's the filter and I must pay it the warranty is not covering it I paid it after 6 to 7 hrs the light came ON Friday night driving on a freeway i called the manager he advised I must drive the it and bring on Monday, Monday they Told me some bolts on the engine was not torqued to the correct specifications, hours after I left the dealer the light came back ON next day I took it to the dealer they told me there was liquid in the plugs they cleaned them, I drove the car for less than 59km the light came ON I took it back and left it for three days with the dealer they borrowed me an uconfotabble Cross UP who that day I got it I had to drive it for 350km trip and come back after two days my body was so painful and I took 2dats to recover, they called me and said Vwsa has advised them to put a chemical into the fuel tank because there is a mixed liquid in the engine the chemical will clean it one the tank ran empty and after I fill up the tank the light will disappear I filled the tank three times and still the engine light is ON. I've been in contact with the office of the managing director of VWSa the car is still faulty they even refused for to speak to him .yesterday I went to the dealer they told me the don't have the diagnostic tool they still fixing them today they plugged it and told me I must keep monitoring the car I refused cause almost every day at work I'm giving excuses if my car and my boss told me I must not tell him bull ### because he's paying me car allowance every month, I work with elevators and I travel long distances and at night as well this car is not safe and reliable I cannot drive with the engine light ON.they gave me a polo vivo a very standard one is also uncomfortable as well, tomorrow I'm taking it back I need a car Wich matches a standard of mine.at moment barons Bruma is waiting for VWsa to tell them what to do.my car is still under warranty and I don't understand why VW does not change the engine or give me a new car. Friday I'm meeting my lawyer with all relevant documents of the car I'm escalating the mater further because both the directors office and barons Bruma as well as Vwsa they failing to fix my car.even today VWSa hast give feed back on the cruise control is more than a year for the engine light not be more than a year I had to do this .its an embarrassment to me because everyone at barons know me and my car .can someone act on my case please.This is very urgent

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bonganedagreat Jul 12, 2016

    Good Day

    my name is Bongane Ndlozi, i have a Polo 1.4 which i have recently took my car for a service on 28/06/2016 at VW Newcastle KZN.
    the car service was 105 000 kilometres and i requested that they also check my sitbelt light that was showing.
    I was qouted on it then i said they should not do any work on it, because i did not have the money.

    when i went back to get the car the boot was not working, and i asked them whose fault was it and they told me its nobody's.
    They asked be to book for the car again for 11/06/2016 so they can have a look at it, i booked and when i went back they said it would cost me R2040.50, to it fixed and they made me sign some Dispute resolution on 11/06/2016 which they refuse to explain it to me.
    My biggest concern is my boot was working fine before they did anything on my car but on its return there was now the problem of a boot,
    in my knowldge the boot was fine till they touched my car and i refuse to be charged on something that is clearly their fault.

    I feel that really they are taking advantage of their customers. Its really becoming a pain to service your car at that service station.
    its not the first incident i have had with such thing.

    0 Votes
  • Rs
    rsj85 Jul 27, 2016

    Dear VW,

    Thanks for not telling me that the 08 Jetta 2.0 Turbo FSI I purchased Certified from a VW dealer last year with 42, 000 miles has a defect in the engine which causes it to burn oil. I get 3, 000 miles between oil changes instead of 5, 000 as stated in my owner's manual. On top of that, I have to put oil into it myself between oil changes.

    Addtionally, thanks for not calling me back after I called to report the issue, and thanks for keeping me in limbo about how it's going to get resolved. All I've heard is "we're looking into it". Other customers of models between 2006 and 2008 report the same issue, so I find it very hard to believe that you have been unaware of this issue. I've done everything right as far as maintaining my vehicle at VW service centers, yet, this is happening to me and none of your techs bothered to tell me about this defect until after my manufacturer's warranty expired. It has 80, 000 miles as of now. I have receipts that show I've had to get my oil changed much earlier than a 5, 000 interval.

    I know you may not care because I'm already stuck with this car, I just wanted to let you know on this venue that I don't appreciate what you've done as far as not owning up to your defect and fixing my vehicle. I will let others know of my experience with you as well.

    Yours Truly,

    Unhappy Customer #1

    Happy Holidays

    PS. The $60 billion you are spending to try to become the world's largest auto manufacturer will only go so far if you do crap like this. Have an awesome day.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMSUNDST Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took my car in for a state inspection and oil change - they are free when you purchase your car there. I dropped my 2000 Jetta off at 9am. I didn't receive a call until after 5pm and they said my car wouldn't pass inspection because they found a leak in the power steering hose. This repair would cost $550 plus another $170 to flush all fluids. I told my dad, and luckily, he knew a thing or two about cars. He said that the power steering hose is the LAST thing that will break on a car and told them to just put a rejection sticker on the car and not perform the repair.

    I took my car to Maypaw Tires in Norfolk, VA to have them take a look and do the inspection. They couldn't find ANY EVIDENCE of a leak on the power steering or anywhere else on the car!!

    The car passed inspection without having to pay over $700.

    That is the last time I will take my car to Greenbrier Volkswagen.

    **They also screwed my ex-bf on his newly purchased Passat which cost him over $400 (to repair faulty tires).

    ALWAYS GET A SECOND OPINION!!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ConcernedCitizen1622 Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Volkswagen of Van Nuys is one of the worst dealers that I've ever dealt with. I went there to purchase a car from them and although I had written documentation stating that the pre owned car I was looking at didn't need new tires upon inspection by myself and another two dealers it did. They refused to own up to it and instead offered no solution. I paid cash for the car and they still wanted a credit check. I asked repeatedly if it was a hard inquiry or a soft as I didn't want a hard inquiry on my credit if I'm paying cash for a car. They insisted it was a soft inquiry. They lied yet again as all three credit agencies noted it as a hard inquiry.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hashenet Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was driving with my wife in our brand new 2011 Jetta and noticed that my electronic dashboard didn't work at all so I called VW Dealer at CamelBack in Phoeniz Arizona to report the problem and I also asked for help because we were not sure if we should be driving the car to the neareast dealer. After so may tries finally we talk to Frank Kevin (GM on car sales) He totally refused to provide any kind of help because service department was already closed. I asked if we call road service assistance perhaps we can get a loaner car and reimburse us the taxi cab fair to get to the dealer. He responded "Absolutely Not!!" and we should just take a ride with the tow truck which I found very unprofessional from the manager and hang up on me. We have owned the car for almost two months now and the car has spend almost three weeks at the vw shop, first some sensors malfuction, second they destroyed some cosmetic parts when they changed the sensors and now seems to us that we going to leave the car at the dealer again maybe another week. I own three Jetta's 04' 10' and 11' but let metell you that I have the most dissapointed experince trough vw and nobody should be treated that way.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arpitambika Jul 27, 2016

    the car have a poor gear shifting system. the car stops while taking a turn. and when we complain the company says you dont know to drive. its been 1 year and still the car stops while taking turn. company is very much aware of this problem but they are making the customers fool and selling thier products.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Bootsma Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was on my way to Florida, when my car started to hesitate and stall. I called a tow truck. The tow truck driver informed me that the nearest Volkswagen Dealer was over 50 miles away. He asked me if I would like to take the car somewhere else.

    I insisted that it only be repaired by a Volkswagen dealer who knew how to repair my car.

    I left the car with a Volkswagen dealer in North Charleston, SC, for a week to be diagnosed and repaired. They stated that it was the timing belt that caused the problem.

    I asked them to replace any other parts that they thought should be replaced due to wear since the car was in their care and being taken apart anyway. It cost over $1, 200 to repair the car.

    I drove the car home and it seemed OK. It did seem to be a little off, but I assumed it was break in of new parts and trusted the “Expertise” of the Volkswagen dealer.

    Within a month of very scarce driving and under one thousand miles, the car experienced the exact same problem. Seven hundred of the miles were to bring the car home from South Carolina.

    I towed the car to Burlington Volkswagen who diagnosed the car with timing belt problems again. They stated that it would now cost over $8, 000 to repair the car again due to the car not having being repaired correctly by the other Volkswagen dealer.

    The service manager at Burlington Volkswagen spoke to the other Volkswagen dealer who said they would not pay to fix the car.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    luisiscool Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Go to a European car specialist which is much more cheaper than a dealership. Or you can go to the dealership or sell your car.

    0 Votes
  • An
    ann b. Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 1999 Volkswagen Jetta has been loosing power as I drive down the road. It has died on me 6 times over the last 150 miles & it is quite dangerous! If I am lucky enough to get it off of the road, I let it sit for about 10 minutes and it will restart. Then it may go 20 miles, no problem, or die again. It often happens when I shift from 2nd to 3rd and I will feel a jerk like when the clutch is let out too quickly (but it isn't). My trusted mechanic says he can't figure out what is wrong and is willing for me to leave it with him tro drive. Can anyone help with this? abernton AT comcast.net

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandra wilson Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My complaint is this email below

    Reply-To: [email protected]
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/plain
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
    Message-Id: [email protected]
    Date: Thu, 1 Nov 2007 23:52:58 +0100 (CET)

    VOLKSWAGEN REWARDS
    Volkswagen Automobiles,
    22 Garden Close, Stamford Lincs, PE9 2YP,
    London, United Kingdom

    OFFICIAL PRIZE NOTIFICATION

    This is to inform you that you have been selected for a cash prize of £150,000(One Hundred And Fifty Thousand Pounds Sterling) and a brand new Volkswagen Car; International programs held on the 25th of October 2007 in London, The United Kingdom.

    Description Of Volkswagen Car to be Shipped to you.(Shipped to you Free):
    BRAND: Fifth Edition
    MODEL: 2006 Model
    COLOUR: Metallic Blue
    ENGINE TYPE: 1973cc 4-cylinder
    POWER: 145bhp
    TRANSMISSIONS: Adaptive Automatic Transmission
    FUEL: 29.1mpg (combined

    The selection process was carried out through random selection in our computerized email selection system(s) from a database of over 250,000 email addresses drawn from all the continents of the world.

    The Volkswagen Car Promotional Rewards is approved by the British Gaming Board and also Licensed by the The International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR). This rewards program is the 3rd of its kind and we intend to sensitize the public.

    To begin the processing of your prize you are to contact your claims officer through our accredited Prize Transfer agent as stated below:
    ===========================
    Mr. Edward Tola Martin
    E-mail: [email protected]
    Phone Number: +447031895154
    +447031895249

    Time to call (8am to 6pm london time)
    ===========================
    Contact him, please provide him with your secret pin code: x7pwyz2007 and your reference number VM: 12052007/21.You are also advised to provide him with the under listed information as soon as possible:

    Claims Requirements:
    1.Name in Full:
    2.Address:
    3.Sex:
    4.Nationality:
    5.Marital Status:
    6.Age:
    7.Next Of Kin:
    8.Occupation:
    9.Phone/Fax:
    10.Present Country:
    11.Amount won:
    12.Pin Code:
    =========================
    If you do not contact your claims agent within 7 working days of this notification, your winnings would be revoked. Winners are advised to keep their winning details/information from the public to avoid fraudulent claim (IMPORTANT) pending the transfer/claim by Winner.

    *Winners under the age of 18 are automatically disqualified.
    *Staffs of Volkswagen Automobiles are not to partake in this Car Promotional Rewards.

    I congratulate you on your winning and encourage you to make Judicious use of your prize.

    Accept my hearty congratulations once again!
    With Best Regards,

    Mrs. Jessica Edward
    Lottery Coordinator

    0 Votes
  • St
    stevearnhold Jul 27, 2016

    Horrible experience! Bought a "Certified Pre-owned" car, brought it home and found it had been wrecked. Owner of dealer denied it and refused to look at the physical evidence. Owner stated he would not sell a wrecked car and would have sent it back through the auction. When I requested he give me back my trade and take the car back, he stated (and smirked) "I'm in the business of selling cars not taking them back". Owner had no intentions of helping me, came in with an attitude when he introduced himself. When I raised my voice and requested he physically look at the car, he refused, and used it as an excuse to leave and refused to listen anymore. Sorry, but if I'm out thousands of dollars don't expect me to be happy, own up to your mistake, grow a thicker skin, and make it right! The only helpful one was the finance manager who looked at the car and acknowledged the fact that it had been wrecked, but it was out of his hands. Just beware before you buy a so called certified used car from this dealer. I hope for any future customers this was an isolated incident and they won't have to go through the nightmare I'm going through.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alien777 Jul 27, 2016

    At the end of March 2012 I took delivery of a brand new VW 6 1.4 TSI, however, from day one I experienced problems with the Headlights. This was then escalated and returned to the workshop on numerous occasions without any resolve. When my vehicle speedometer reached approximately 14000km technical problems started emerging i.e. loss of power, jerking, etc. The vehicle was then booked for a service which reported no fault, however, two weeks after the service the vehicle broke down. VW up to date cannot trace or resolve the issues at hand. I have been told by VW that the turbo, petrol pump, bogy cords, headlights, throttle sensor have been replaced. From all this it is crystal clear that the vehicle was damaged goods upon purchase and result I requested a new vehicle or full reimbursement as per Consumer Protection Act. Needless to say VW Midrand as well as VW SA refuses to comply to legislation as well my request as the consumer. At this point I have been threatened with legal action by the Service Manager, Jorge.

    At this point I only want full reimbursement !!

    -1 Votes
  • Lo
    Louise Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased a 2008 model VW POLO.

    It has been in and out of the dealer ship since the 5th JUne 2008. There is a noise in the engen ad none of the techisions can solve the problem. It isnow back at the factory.

    I have a defective model and very unhappy since VW is suppoded yo be known for quality ad reliability.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Collen Mampane Jul 27, 2016

    I purchased a vehicle from Brothers executive on the 18/10/2012, one and a half months later the car started to give problems and it broke down. I took the car to VW and their diagnostics shows that instrument cluster and control unit needed replacing totalling to the amount of R18.000.00 (see attached invoice). I kept in constant contact with the dealer.

    To make matters worse the extended warranty I took “recommended by the dealer” does not cover those parts. I asked him if he could settle the invoice because I only had the vehicle for under 2 months and also I mentioned to him that I wish to cancel the contract for the lack of concern and co-operation from him, his response was that it is a second hand car and I should expect the wear and tear and they won’t settle the invoice or cancel the deal because it is an electronic problem.

    Myself and my family have been inconvenienced and suffered tremendously.
    We now have to pay and extra R700 per month for transport for the kids to school and back. My fiancé also has been taking the bus and has been injured due to this, she fell into a manhole five weeks ago and has hurt her ankle and foot which is still not healed and had to pay medical bills.

    I have sent complaints to The NCC, The motor industry Ombudsman, Consumer protection act and have had no joy or even responses from all thus far.

    I am worried that the longer it takes, I would no longer be able to cancel the deal as I have 6 months to do this as from Jan/Feb 2013
    when I started requesting for the cancelation or for the damages to be fixed and paid for by the dealer.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NiranjanGarodia Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have purchased Volkswagen Passat on 14-1-2010 from Frontier Autoworld, Gurgaon. It was defective from day one and my car has stayed more in the service station than at home. The car been sent to the service station for a variety of problems. Each time one problem is solved a new problem is observed in the car. Brief timeline of the complaints:

    9 July '12 till Today: (20 days approx) exhaust gas warning lamp signal which according to the manual booklet can result in injury or damage to the vehicle. Further the service station does not even have the parts for rectification of the problem. The car is still standing in the service station with no immediate prospects of it getting rectified.

    24 May - 22 June'12 (29 days) complete AC compressor replaced.

    16 May - 21 May '12 (6 days) for AC not working.

    8 August - 12 August'11 (5 days) towed by chain to service station, battery changed and engine screening.

    13 April - 21 May'11 (36 days) complete steering chamber (gateway assembly) changed.

    I am frustrated with the continuous problems in the so called luxury car. It has failed completely. Also, the after sales service of Volkswagen is hopeless and nobody in the company is bothered to hear my complaints. Now the service station has started to refuse accepting my car in the workshop.

    I had paid for a new car and the car given to me has been faulty from the very start. I therefore want full replacement of this car.

    Regards,
    Niranjan Garodia
    9810021607

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maureen P. Martin Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TO: Mr Volkan Cokcevik
    Gems GoldGalerie
    Asena Beach Otel 4L
    Belcekiz/Oludeniz
    TURKEY
    OLUDENIZ, TURKEY - COMPLAINT re: JEWELLER - GEMS GOLD GALERIE

    On October 3rd 2010 Mr Roy Lane & myself Mrs M.P.Martin purchased from you a ring which
    you recommended from your shop window to fit my very small pinky finger. We did not appreciate at the time other jewellers only took 20 miniutes to alter similar so agreed to pick up same on day of departure - too late to make an official complaint!

    You stated categorically £700.00 GBP Sterling – on arrival in the UK, according to my Visa Platinum credit card company – you have used a DYNAMIC CURRENCY CONVERTER and charged me £724.47 – a figure we did not agree to!

    YOU ALSO STATED THIS RING WAS WORTH £2000.00 GBP IN FACT IT IS WORTH VERY LITTLE - WE HAVE EMAILED YOU THREE TIMES REGARDING COMPLAINT HOWEVER YOU HAVE REFUSED TO RESPOND ALTHOUGH WE GAVE YOU SEVEN DAYS IN WHICH TO DO SO.
    WE ALSO GAVE YOU £145.00 CASH FOR EARRINGS FOR WHICH
    WE DID NOT RECEIVE A RECEIPT.
    WE HAVE REQUESTED A REFUND OF £24.00 + GBP PLUS A REFUND FOR OVERPAYMENT OF POOR RING YOU RECOMMENDED AS BEING SUPERIOR TO ACTUAL VALUATION OF SAME.
    WE APPRECIATE LOOKING BACK THE TRICK WAS TO PLACE STONE IN THE BRIGHTEST LIGHT SO APPEARED MORE SPARKLY THAN SURROUNDING ONES!!
    LOVE TURKEY AND TURKISH PEOPLE HENCE DO NOT WISH TO DAMAGE TOURISM HOWEVER DO FEEL YOUR SHADY BUSINESS PRACTISES SHOULD BE EXPOSED TO OTHER VISITING BRITS.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kent84 Aug 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Volkswagen Wonderboom repaired a crack head gasket for $2, 000, 00 and 3 months later my car stopped again so called them now it’s back in shop for a cracked head gasket again. Now he says he will give a discount and repair it for $1, 200.00 plus towing. I am afraid it is a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Is
    isaacs Aug 22, 2016

    Good day how go about lodging complaint to volkswagen s.A about a dealer in namibia im having trouble with.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renette Hanse Geldenhuys May 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    on the 15th of March 2017 I bought a TSI From Volkswagen church street on the 1st o may 2017 I struggle to put my car in reverse it made a terrible sound, I notify the sales man and he ask me to bring the car in which I did after it went to the Workshop and they confirmed it was the clutch[ plate that burned the workshop gave me an estimate quote of 20k they expect me to pay to get the car fixed and they refuse to give me a courtesy car they say it the way I am driving but funny enough this is my second car I bought from the same dealership I will never ever buy a car rom vw church street .just imagine you pay for a car but you can not use it but payments go off every month

    0 Votes
  • De
    debbieg1 Aug 14, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VW SERVICE SUCKS !!!
    I BOUGHT A VW TSI FROM MASTERCARS DURBAN...THE PAINT STARTED PEELING OFF, EPC LIGHT ON ALL THE TIME, JUMPS OUT OF GEAR, DOES NOT WANT TO START...AND YES, OBVIOUSLY ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE FROM VW...TOOK IT INTO VW WONDERBOOM DEALERSHIP, USELESS AS WELL, ALL THEY SAY IS RECHARGE...REALLY ????JUST LIKE PREVIOUS COMMENTS, WHY SHOULD THEY REBUILD THE WHOLE GEARBOX IF I BOUGHT IT WITH 45000KM ON THE CLOCK ??? WHAT CAN ONE DO?? NEVER EVER WILL I PURCHASE A VW AGAIN...I JUST NEED SOME ADVICE, BECAUSE SPEAKING TO VW IS TOTAL LOST CASE !!! [email protected]

    0 Votes

Post your comment