Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Computers & Phones Universal Coin & Bullion Coin Rip Off
R
Author of the complaint
4:11 am EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This coin company, Universal Coin & Bullion, is ran by a crook named Mike Fuljenz who has ripped me off before at another Texas coin company. He apparently claims to be a "consultant" for coin companies in Beaumont Texas, but he only "consults" for those he makes money off of. He also claims to be "the official coin company of the National Rifle Association" but only because of the marketing dollars he has spent with them. By mistake i responded to an ad in an NRA magazine, and was bludgined by some sales guy who sold me over and over and over again telling me my coins were worth more than i paid. When i told him I wanted to sell and take my "profits" he claimed i had he was rude and told me they had miraculously gone down since our last talk. They were even rude to my husband. When i talked to the manager i was given a laundry list of Mike Fuljenz credentials and accomplishments but never got my money back. I paid about 5 times what i should have. The last i heard he was being sued for millions and so i gave up trying to get my refund. Avoid this rip off company completely unless you just like being insulted and ripped off. This speaks loudly about the NRA. I guess they do not check out the criminal background of those they deal with.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

11 comments
Add a comment
Y

This place is terrible. They are WAY TOO expensive.

M
Dec 30, 2020 4:48 pm EST

It appears that my elderly father was ripped off by these crooks. I have taken over his estate and I am the POA and I have been trying to deal with this crooked business and they are as horrible as everyone mentions above. Straight BS and misleading info. My fathers "investment is worth approx 12 of what he had paid. Scum of the earth taking advantage of seniors spending their hard earned monies. There is a resting place for these folks, and I know I won't be seeing them there.

M
Jan 15, 2020 6:52 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have purchased quite a bit of Silver from this company. So my first question would be how do you find out the honest & true price per ounce? I have noticed they vary from seller to seller. Are you all saying that if I bought silver @ $15 per ounce, and 2 years later the spot price ( and I'm just giving an example) is $22 that there would be a good chance that I will not be paid the difference by a legit dealer based on the weight of the metal? I would appreciate any help in getting to the truth!

S
Mar 14, 2018 8:14 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

All true - this company is awful. They WON'T return phone calls after you've bought coins. I'm taking my loss and getting out.

J
Jun 22, 2017 11:48 am EDT

The coin collecting hobby in general has been a get rich quick scheme for decades. I don't know of any other hobby that has so many unscrupulous people trying to rip you off. I have been buying and selling numismatics for over 50 years and the bottom line is, if you don't know what you are buying then you can't trust anyone. It is akin to buying stocks. If you don't do the research don't expect to get lucky out of the clear blue sky. As someone once said, "there's a sucker born every minute". Many good coin and bullion dealers do exist and nowadays it is pretty easy to check their track record. So if you do feel like you've been ripped off (as I have been more times than I want to admit) the bottom line is, it's your own darn fault and stop crying in your milk. It's your hard earned money, so don't be lazy, do the research and maybe next time you will make a nice profit.

P
Nov 18, 2018 4:12 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of jimihdx

so we too were ripped off by Universal Coil and Bullion. You say there are honest coin deals, please give me the names of one or two. I need help desperately.

J
Apr 06, 2016 5:48 pm EDT

I totally agree with their view of this company. I contacted them due to their NRA affiliation and found them to be dishonest. I just cut them off and went else where. Once in a while they still call to pressure me and I just laugh at them. They lost a good customer because they are dishonest, My sales person was Justin. What a scammer.

T
Feb 28, 2016 4:28 pm EST

DANGER! Read the Houston Press report "Texas Coin Companies Target Elderly Investors". BEFORE you deal with Universal Coins and Bullion or any other Michael Fuljenz company. According to the article, Fuljenz's commissioned salesmen are trained to "mind screw" customers into buying.

G
Mar 12, 2014 1:14 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree, UCB pushes high premium slabbed coins on it's customers. When I first stated buying gold coins their dealers talked me into $2.50 Indians and $5.00 Indians. Gold went up 175% and when I tried to sell them back 2 or three years later they wouldn't give even give me what I paid for them. They gave me some BS about I didn't hold them long enough. I should have stuck with bullion coins. They always refer you to the PCGS price guide but what they fail to tell you is that is the price dealers sell the coins for, not what they buy them back for. Your better off checking the prices on the Grey sheet which show dealers cost (whole sale) what they pay for them. Your better off staying clear of these aggressive sales people who will just sell you over priced "collectible" coins.
Glenn

G
Jan 17, 2012 3:25 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This October 30, 2011 posting by "Ripped Off CoinBuyer" is virtually identical to postings by the same person regarding two other Texas based retail coin companies made on the same day. Additionally, these postings are virtually identical to a previous posting regarding another Texas based retail coin company. It is obvious these postings are copied and pasted with a few minor changes. Certainly, this is the work of an unscrupulous competitor attempting to utilize this site to publish defamatory statements. These are the types of anonymous postings that should be removed by moderators.

Y

You don't like anonymous reviews so you can use your legal [censored] to get the person's identity and tie them up in court until the cost of free speech isn't worth posting.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

4 complaints
2 resolved 2 unresolved

Universal Coin & Bullion contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
7410 Phelan Blvd, Texas United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT