triOS College KitchenerNot a serious school

Q Review updated:

This "school" is not a very good choice for people looking for a proper education.

first issue I am having is that; I went to school to this school because I wanted to get an education in this field from a college that knows what they are doing and teaches me only what I need to know from a technology college. I have researched other schools and triOS had good a reputation for other courses such as their networking courses and expected the web design to be the same. This is the second year triOS offered this course and the instructor has not been hired so I could determine their qualifications. I expected that triOS would hire more knowledgeable instructors with real life experience then just reading from a book. After a short while of school we all learned that the instructor’s knowledge of web design and development is fairly weak. He would teach by copying the contents of the textbook for the course we are taking onto the board and that would be our lesson, if we ever had a problem with some of the content he was teaching we were most of the time alone to find out an answer for ourselves. We have also found the computers we were using either could not run what we needed it to, or did not have what we needed it to. For example in the gaming class they were without Maya (the 3D animation program) for weeks and the teacher had to bring in his copy just so we could use it, because the school was taking so long to supply us with it. There have been many occasions when the software was not configured properly or we would have not proper security on the systems to do things. I under stand that computers are temperamental them selves but there is no excuse when it is a constant thing.


We have brought this issue to the school in monthly campus surveys from the school and brought the issue to many of the staff including the campus director. We also sent a letter (that I have enclosed with this letter) directly to the top, with all of our complaints at the time as well as signatures of all the students. Their response was not what we were looking for, it seemed like they were just avoiding our questions and showed no will to try and correct what we have been complaining about. One of their major responses was that they are giving us these textbooks to prepare us for certifications, we wont be ready for any certifications the way they are teaching. We are learning the basics from a book meant for a professional with 3-4 years of experience, it says that right in the book. The lessons and the tests are all based on this high level book and we are all just trying to grasp the basic concepts of the subject. We are also not sure that the surveys even get read. In this private college there are 7 students in the afternoon class, and more than 7 in the morning class, I am paying roughly $18, 000 for my course and there are more than 14 students in total. That totals out to at least $252, 000, that means as a class we are paying at least a quarter of a million dollars! Why can’t they afford to help us out, have better systems/software, or better teaching? I can’t help but feel that attending this school is ripping me off; I feel like I am paying for an extremely expensive baby sitter that I have to drive 30 minutes to and from every day. All I get is a 5-hour story time and a piece of paper at the end that says that I know exactly what was read to me in class. I don’t want a baby sitter I want a teacher and a school that will teach me what I came to learn.


One of the biggest problems I have with the course is that it is called Web Design/Development, I have not been taught any web design at all. The course did not teach us what we needed to know at all, we were supposed to be taught Adobe software and we were but the teacher did not teach it at all, he gave us tutorials and we sat down and read the book. The teacher has such a poor understanding of the concept that he was assigning ActionScript 2.0 questions in our ActionScript 3.0 class; there is a large difference between the two. In our SQL class not only did we learn 2005, when 2008 was available for quite some time, but all we did was copy queries from the text book, literally only copy and paste. I would have liked to learn how to build a data table and tie it to something at least, but now I have a bunch of useless knowledge on SQL. We were supposed to be taught HTML in a very short time, and we didn’t even make a web page in that class. The introduction to C# was the only good part of the course, the only problem was it was all desktop application programming, not web. Our ASP.NET class, we were supposed to go through and build a shopping cart web page, which was good in theory, but the teacher didn’t know how to do it for himself. So we were all struggling with trying to just get things to show up on a page because we have a textbook that requires 3-4 years of experience with ASP.NET already and a teacher who doesn’t have any clue about the basics, just what is written in the book. I have never seen a single web site built by the teacher, even as we were building our we page he didn’t, how can we be taught what we need to know if he can’t even create a web page himself.

I was also told that I will get a job at the end of this course, when ever they ask why we are coming here we will answer, to get a job. They are so confident that we will all get jobs, in this course I was expecting to have professional help, knowledge, and facilities to build up a portfolio that I could be hired with. Without a portfolio how would we get hired? I don’t think that any employer will hire a web developer without seeing some of their work first, no different than any other design profession.

I don’t think it is fair at all to call your self a school and charge money for this, if this is what private colleges are really like, why do we have them? Whether they are here on OSAP or self funded or funded by work, it is a complete waste of money and time for everyone. I regret wasting so much time and money on this school, and extremely disappointed that they can get away with not even considering our concerns.

All around this is a complete disappointment, and none of us in the class think this is a positive experience.

Responses

  • Sc
    Scharkl Jul 23, 2009

    Thanks for letting me know, I was considering this college before reading your complaint, and now I will have to look elsewhere.

    5 Votes
  • Dr
    dr. claw Sep 07, 2009

    I've had the same experience with triOS in Hamilton, taking web design, courses were not taugh that were supposed to, and at times we were without a teacher.

    3 Votes
  • Gr
    Gregory Staley Jan 18, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @dr. claw Same in kitchener. Freaked out on administrator slapping 1000bpage textbooks on her desk and asking is it possible to contextually understand this in 4 weeks when we have no prior knowledge? Administrators know nothing about the course and then instructor is left trying to figure out a way to teach complex programs in a very condensed time frame... most courses only being 2-4weeks long . Something needs to be done against this school, perhaps a class action lawsuit.

    5 Votes
  • Ga
    gargle123 Oct 25, 2009

    I agree I am currently in a TriOS Campus in Network Engineering and had 3 weeks to learn A+ OS and on top of that they require 4 hours of study time at night. Every day is a quiz which just sucks taking 12 quizes and then a final exam. To top it off the teachers are hired every 3 weeks or however long the section of the course takes usually 3-5 weeks.
    I learned to study but as for retaining what I study you have to format your Hard Drive everyday it's ridiculous. (AKA Brain) The teachers even promote just retaining minimal to pass and foreget it as you have the books to look back in if you need to at a job.
    I took the course for the black berry portion and from being through the course this far find it exhausting. Especially being a mom in a family with 2 young kids 5 & 7.
    Personally don't waste your money go the Fanshawe route you learn more and get more for your money.

    3 Votes
  • Ki
    kich88 Nov 22, 2009

    Thank you for your reviews. I was thinking about going there for Police Foundation and now I'm just going to go ahead and sign up for Police Training. Thank you for saving me the time, MONEY and headache of finding out the bad way.

    4 Votes
  • Su
    SunsetSeven Dec 03, 2009

    I completed a so called Law course and found the instructors incompetant and the staff liars, I was told my program would be accepted in the Legal field and I have yet to get a job working in this field, after
    $ 14, 000 later.
    I am preparing my case with a lawyer if any student is seriously interested in joining me in a possible class action lawsuit please contact me at [email protected], many of the students in my own class and many, many posts on the internet clearly demonstrate what a scam this school is.

    5 Votes
  • Pi
    Piraba Dec 08, 2009

    Now I feel happy I didn't get to go there. Thank you for ur comment...I thought I'm the only one...Now I feel happy for myself...I guess I have to look for different college.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    katz66 Feb 11, 2010

    The Oshawa Campus at Trios is also very disorganized. I have taken an Medical Office Course I have had countless teachers for one section of my course, we would have a teacher for a week and then gone another for 2 weeks and then gone .. Please anyone thinking of attending this so called college, DO YOUR RESEARCH. Make the first smart move and don't attend this college.. Not one operson in my class, is happy we all feel that we have been ripped offf by this school. Please BEWARE

    4 Votes
  • Ma
    Maya Freak Mar 04, 2010

    This wont help employers hire TriOS students...

    Non the less I went there and I loved it, learned a lot more then my friends in community college.
    I have an amazing portfolio and I always get compliments on how good it looks!
    My teacher was a genius, and had over 15 years of experience under his belt.
    I learned Maya really well and use it everyday including all my adobe software.
    I've gotten work through the school and found opportunity on my own.


    Please Don't be discouraged to hire us, some of us learned a lot and did well in the courses.

    -4 Votes
  • Ac
    actioneer Mar 06, 2010

    I am presently attending triOS and find the quality of the instructors very good. As far as that is concerned I would never complain. Also, you have to be self directed. If you can't go ahead and research and investigate to increase your skill level then perhaps you should not be in this type of setting. My concerns are that triOS has a very aggressive campus director and that can be problematic. The course I am taking is also not accredited through the professional association that would do so and when I made inquiries of the association I was told that they were still waiting for triOs to submit their paperwork. So, all in all I think they are doing a passable job. Had I my options again I would have chosen an accredited facility.

    -3 Votes
  • Bi
    Bigredcheech Mar 09, 2010

    Whether the training is good or not is to each his own. But employers usually hire from accredited institutions. That meaning a degree or diploma from an accredited college or university is universally accepted and recognized by employers and other universities and colleges and means the school you went to had to adhere to a certain standard of teaching and training. Accredited colleges and universities are not only recognized in Canada but also internationally.

    Trios College is not an accredited institution therefore many employers will not recognize the diploma or degree one may obtain from them which in turn really means it is worth nothing unless somebody accepts it. Just because they put the word "College" behind their name doesn't mean they are actually a real college. Buyer beware comes to mind.

    The site below lists all the accredited institutions (colleges/universities) in Canada.

    http://www.eduers.com/University/accredited/canada.html

    1 Votes
  • Be
    better_now Mar 13, 2010

    Half way through Net Eng... about a third of the class comes prepared, and the other two-thirds are lazy, unionized mouth-breathers, who will ### and complain that they can't get a job. GIGO!
    Net Eng is like drinking thru a fire house, and I hope that the certs will get me thru the door, b/c the diploma is meaningless--- class average is over 80 for all courses, no one fails.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FirstActionHero Mar 25, 2010

    "I agree I am currently in a TriOS Campus in Network Engineering and had 3 weeks to learn A+ OS and on top of that they require 4 hours of study time at night. Every day is a quiz which just sucks taking 12 quizes and then a final exam. To top it off the teachers are hired every 3 weeks or however long the section of the course takes usually 3-5 weeks.
    I learned to study but as for retaining what I study you have to format your Hard Drive everyday it's ridiculous. (AKA Brain) The teachers even promote just retaining minimal to pass and foreget it as you have the books to look back in if you need to at a job.
    I took the course for the black berry portion and from being through the course this far find it exhausting. Especially being a mom in a family with 2 young kids 5 & 7.
    Personally don't waste your money go the Fanshawe route you learn more and get more for your money. by gargle123"

    OK,
    Daily quizzes are a good thing. If you talk to people on any university staff/academic councilors they recommend you study like 4 hours or more in some cases. I know this might not sound realistic for everyone and not to many people do this. Those are not knocks against triOS. Sorry gargle.

    Any where you go to school, you are going to have to do much work and study on your own if you want to learn. I will say this, triOS was a pretty big waste of my time and money. I paid 20 000 to get what I could of gotten all for simply the cost of the book. All we did was read and do steps in brainless lab books. If there was a typo in lab book which there were many, we got hardly any help from instructor who wasn't even in the class 95% of the time to help us. Most days we never even got a lecture. For teacher to copy lesson out of book and go over it with whole class using the projector would have been a blessing. When we did get a lesson, it was very brief on the topic on hand and usually turned into some totally off topic discussion .

    I got attracted by the fast pace so that you could get into a job, but I was expecting they would at least prepare us for a job, but instead the only preparation we really got was preparation from reading a book. In A+ we had no hands on activities at all, so my experience involves stuff I did on my own before even going to school. Net+ we did 2 activities, one of which we constantly reminded instructor to set some time aside to do, but both activities I did and got more in depth instruction simply taking a part time night course at a community college.

    I only wish I had the money and the time now to go to University for CS degree, but the year I lost and the 20 000 I put out with little return on investment is a humongous setback, that 20 000 would of paid much of university tuition. I try to save time and thought it justified spending a bit more money, but instead I lost time, and ill probably end up putting out another huge sum of money eventually to attend a real program.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TRIOS SUCKS Apr 13, 2010

    I did not study in this college but I went their to write my certification exam, my exam was suppose to start at 1:30 I got there at 1:14. I was told to take a seat, so I sat down and both receptionist are busy talking to someone else they are going on and on about how to fill out an application. It was 1:25, someone came to me and asked me if I had an appointment I was like no I have to write an exam then the recpetionist looked and said oh the other recptionist will assist you after she is done with her call. Guess what it was 1:35 when she was done with her call and I am just standing there waiting to be served. This is the mississauga branch of trIOS.

    On the other hand my hubby took a course with them and was promised to get a job right after he gets out of school, he never did its been 2 years and he has not even gotten a interview call. Noone wants to hire a triOS student, it would rather be better if you goto community college, at least its well-known and you might take a long time to learn stuff but you will get a job. trIOS promises you several things but are not capeable of even keeping on of their promise, they are literally a scam. All they want your money, they don't care if you have instructor in class or not. I am very disappointed with this so called college and I would not reffer anyone to it, never!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    better_now Apr 13, 2010

    The Kitchener 'campus' is moving from a used car lot into the white elephant downtown formerly known as the Eaton's Centre. $55 a month for parking, how do you like those apples, unemployed people?

    First instructor was fired after three weeks, most recent quit after 5 months.

    If you believe the certs will get you a computer job, then do this: buy the MS textbook, buy a tutor (like the cbt nuggets) and pay to write the cert. If you have discipline and about 100 hours to prepare, this will cost you $400 per cert.

    Unless the govt is paying 100% of your tuition, give this place a wide miss for technology.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    raynbowz May 04, 2010

    I am taking a health care course at trios college right now in Kitchener. I was so excited to go back to school and was 100% sure I chose the right school. I am now having second thoughts. It feels like I am paying $5000 to be read to for 6 hours a night. My class took a teacher evaluation last week. Alot of us complained about the same things, for instance; the instructor reads straight from the text book for the entire class time. We get no hand outs or extra reading material. I could be learning this course for free at home and giving myself quizes. We do not have enough equipment to work with so alot of the students do not get a chance to try the equipment out and also most of the time the equipment is not in working condition. This is deffently not a proffessional career college. I am now stuck in this course and have to finish it. Luckily alot of the material involves common knowledge. My advise for anyone looking to go back to school and get a quick certifacte or diploma, make sure you do your research and choose wisely. Deciding to continue your education is a big deal and is something that should be taken seriously. And for everyone else that has already chosen this school, try and stay postive and good luck in your futures. You may not be aware of this, but you did make a good choice for yourselves and that was deciding to continue your education. Crap school or not, you have already succeeded!

    1 Votes
  • Su
    sunshinebaby Jun 03, 2010

    I'm in a legal program in Windsor and unfortunately I too would not recommend this program at this campus. All it is is a over-priced correspondence course. The instructor just reads the notes provided by the textbood supplier. We know just as much after we read the required materials. The instructor is boring, has only been a teacher for a year now and it definitely shows.

    And definitely nothing positive about their internship programs, another $2000 to you and most still don't have one lined up their last day of school. One student even lined up his own and brought the papers in to be signed by the school, I hope he got the $2000 back.

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    [email protected] Aug 21, 2010

    I am a current student at the hamilton campus and tho i like the corse im taking and the teacher i have, i strongly agree that it is very over priced! Im depending on a job that i may not even recieve upon graduation to pay back thousands of dollars? That doesnt make sence! they need to make some serious changes with their programs and prices! I doubt my books realy cost $3000!! but the problem is that they refuse to listen and are to concerned with there pay checks... if only the y could take the time to read these comments!

    1 Votes
  • A.Guy.From.London Aug 21, 2010

    Yet another scam private career college, TriOS is just as bad as Westervelt, but at least you guys didn't have a teacher that lied and bullied you around like I did at my school. But regardless, PCC's are bad news all around. I remember when I went to the London 'campus' of TriOS (it's in an old industrial park type of a building) to get information on their programs, they swindled me into signing up before I even knew was going on. Very very sneaky, their salesmen would make great minions of Satan some day, that is, if they aren't already.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jesslynn29 Dec 14, 2010

    I had a very positive experience at Medix School ( North York Campus) graduating with honours in 2006 from the Medical Office Assistant Program and took up an additional Phlebotomy/ECG course. I would recommend Medix School.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Realist99 Mar 10, 2011

    I'm an honors graduate from the Kitchener Campus who has taken the Network Engineer Program and think you all need to learn to "suck it up buttercups". If you think you are going to get a better education at a community college than a private college, you are mistaken. I've experienced both environments and know that I received intensified training from professional and subject knowledgable instructors. I got out of my education what I put into it. If you are too lazy to do the homework required to get the education and know your subject material thoroughly, perhaps the intensified pace of a private college over the slower pace at a community college isn't for you. So make that choice before you plunk down your cash. Is everything perfect? No, but I wouldn't expect it to be perfect either - I'm a realist. Is it better than a community college? Most definitely when I compare it to my experience at Conestoga College. If I had to do it all over again, I would choose triOS again, Hands Down!

    0 Votes
  • C1
    C101 Apr 08, 2011

    I am currently in the Hamilton campus and really if you are going to complain about the school now you should of realised what you were getting yourself into already in the first month of school. It really is your own fault to continue the education there. You could of figured that out in the first month but yet you decided to wait til the end of your program. I am in trios for the law clerk program and i thoroughly enjoy it here if you were to go to mohawk or niagara or any community college you would get worse instructors there then if you went to trios. The instructors at mohawk dont care if you show up or not they dont even know your name, I know i went there. They are also pretty imcompetent for teaching. Trios is a good school and i would recommend it.

    -1 Votes
  • Al
    Alda Maria Jul 27, 2011

    i am going thru something very similar, Brampton Campus...I am in the Payroll and Accounting Program and supposedly doing well, but my goodness, i dont have alot of confidence. The teacher and the Director both sold me to join because teacher was a CGA, well right now i am waiting on response from the Co-Ordinator but i checked with CGA (association) never heard of her, i have the email to prove it...i really never wanted to go this far, but from the beginning when she couldnt bridge the books vs. her teachings...I became alarmed... thank goodness for facebook and she did not have privatized, turns out she graduate from Iranian High School in 1988 and was at Seneca in 2006...now we all know how long it takes, to qualify to be a CGA in Canada...i received an e mail today from the association claiming never heard of her...i am a freaked out and hoping this is all a very bad dream...pray for me thank you

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonymousUser85 Jul 27, 2011

    Im at the campus in london and seriously my web teacher, is a fricken ahole. He centers people out, he ALWAYS has to argue with people and put them down and doesn't do any teaching hardly at all. He plays on his phone and fiddles around doing other things. I have great marks but I think the teacher needs to be a bit less of an ### hole. :/

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    felller Nov 18, 2011

    Thanks for the review. My experience with them was horrible as well. They are nothing short of a scam.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonyal Mar 01, 2012

    I went to trios college in 2008 up to now still haven't got a job, employers say they recognize the college and the staff they teach. I have since started another program at a an accredited college and have even started working before finishing the program. So advise to folks out there please find accredited colleges to avoid disaster. One thing Employers search for reviews like these if they come across someone with a qualification from an unaccredited college so beware.

    0 Votes
  • La
    lava1111 May 09, 2012

    I went to trios college in Mississauga.very 1st day of the class I found out that this school there for business only.teachers are horrible and the register is horrible he just want to register u to make his job permanent. I stop going to school after a week but they still billed me for nothing that I learned $2200.I refused to pay but then they send my file to collection and now my credit is ruined because of this scam school.please students stay away from trios

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kitchener Jul 05, 2012

    After being there for almost a year we can agree with you none of the teachers or campus or admin care about the students they bully the students only because they are insecure with their jobs and fear losing their position. The best Colleges around are Fanshawe and Conestoga. All employers will hire a graduate from Conestoga College versus other Campuses that is a guarantee, especially when you see all of Waterloo regions top companies donating a class to Conestoga. Also Conestoga has one the best technology in all of Ontario because all the top major companies donate their time and equipment to Conestoga.

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikie4569 Aug 11, 2012

    Stay away from TriOs they are nothing but a scam and will rob you of all your money. Stick with accredited Community Colleges.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    suburban1 Oct 21, 2012

    The law clerk program is it good. im thinking of taking the classes at the college?

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    L Dofasco Jan 09, 2013

    A SCAM AND A JOKE May 16, 2012
    By: NON-MEMBER
    I took Travel & Tourism 8 years ago and noone will hire me. They say that diploma isn't worth the paper it is written on. The teacher didn'y know nothing...just a waste of my $10, 000

    A JOKE AND A SCAM May 9, 2012
    By: NON-MEMBER

    Don't waste your money on private career "colleges" of this type folks. You will not get a job with these bogus "diplomas" - go to a genuine public institution instead.

    TRIOS WILL SCREW YOU OVER April 26, 2012
    By: TRIOSBLOWS

    I went to Trios Hamilton Campus. You are paying close to seventeen grand for a waste of time. I took the law clerk program and everyone in my class including myself will say its a waste of time and money. The instructors dont know what they are talking about, the text books you receive are not the proper books you need to be learning out of. I did the law clerk plus internship and the school went through three internshpi co ordinators in a worth of three months and somehow they lost my hours and I had to start all over again. Free work for another two months. Dont go here Its a waste. There were about twenty people in my class and probably only five out of those twenty actually got a job after school.Take my word for it go to somewhere creditable like Mohawk for your Law Clerk Diploma.

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY April 9, 2012
    By: NON-MEMBER

    Trust me, private career colleges are a total waste of money. The programs are not even close to providing the level of education required to find a job in the field. They rely on high pressure, misleading tactics to dupe the gullible into paying high fees for an essentially worthless program. The positive reviews look very much like shill postings.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jack_bauer Mar 22, 2013

    I'm currently a student at Trios College currently taking PTA/OTA program. They said they are recognized at all hospitals and most clinics and by having the dual program I would have a better chance in higher pay and better internship. I called the hospitals and they're not recognized. ALL the hospitals have a affiliation with schools that are not trios. When telling them this info they back tracked and said my info wasn't true. They've violated acts and agreements of our contract. How are they still in business ?

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad about school Aug 12, 2013

    I graduated with distinction from the Kitchener campus in the medical office assistant program plus internship. Although the classes were okay what really pissed me off was the internship, when I asked to be placed in administration at a hospital, They placed me in the internship department of the hospital instead. Which all they made me do was check the library!? Seriously with the grades I had that's where they put me? They didn't do anything about it when asked and now I'm stuck paying for a program that has just put me on debt. Yet my classmates all got jobs through their internships. triOS sucks and I will never ever recommend them to anyone. Beware to pay money for no future.

    0 Votes
  • A.Guy.From.London Aug 12, 2013

    My guess, the hospital admin uses the interns from TriOS as free labor, having them do the work that a clerk or 'temp' would do. They know TrisOS is a dodgy scam, and the students won't be trained as well as those from a publically funded college like Fanshawe would be, so they just have them do what they would consider menial tasks.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Education1st Oct 19, 2013

    "If you think you are going to get a better education at a community college than a private college, you are mistaken. " <<< LOL. That is way graduates from private institutions have about a 1/3 of the knowledge of a community college student. Employers know that and that is why people who attend private institutions have no chance against CC students. Many employers will even prefer a person with experience in the field and no "diploma" that a "diploma" from these kind of establishments. "I'm a realist. Is it better than a community college? Most definitely when I compare it to my experience at Conestoga College" LOLOL really? You must be an employee, because no one in their right mind will say something like that. People, be smart. Do you want a straight answer? Just call employers and ask them if they will hire someone from s PC or someone from a CC. Call cc or universities and ask if they will take credits from these institutions. The answers are right there.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DarkGreystone May 23, 2014

    I did the game development course at Mississauga. There were a couple of times we didn't even get our required material or textbooks for over half a course. I seriously want my money back.
    I totally agree that when we had questions we were left in the dark and were told "google your problems... find out for yourself"

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trios ruined my life Jul 31, 2014

    Wow where to start ... They messed up my attendance which affected my Hours and proved their administrative team is lacking in their are a ... To too it off the school messed my grades up whiCh made me unable to graduate with my class

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
    kitchener CSW Jan 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a graduate of the CSW (Community Service Worker) program at triOS in Kitchener. I went through Second Career. I was skeptical of a private college too, but I sat in on a class, was impressed and decided to enrol. Our instructor was outstanding! An incredible role model and cheer leader. A person with a great deal of passion for the field, and a huge caring supporter to each and every student no matter how difficult that seemed to be. I found the program to be a ton of hard work, and personally very challenging because it made you dig deep into yourself and pull your guts out. Before you help others, you have to learn all about yourself & work with different personalities. Some students were always present, dedicated and committed 100% to getting great results. Some students treated it like a joke or expected other students to carry them along & marks to be handed to them without doing anything. Every student got out of it what they put into it. The students that weren't dedicated did not get jobs. triOS college gave me the tools, but I was responsible for building my own career. The one negative to me was the career mgmt staff. They weren't helpful or effective. I had to find my own internship based on my own research on where I wanted to work, with my instructor's support. Two months after I completing my diploma, I was offered my DREAM job (from my internship), fulltime, making good $, doing great things, and I couldn't be happier. I love my job, my employer, and the team of people I work with. All because of triOS and their amazing CSW instructor.
    The problem is, employers don't associate 'a real education' with private colleges. This makes it difficult to find a job and compete with other students from other colleges/universities. I believe this is because so many students don't take it seriously & get pushed through without deserving to pass. These complaint boards won't improve the unfair stigma that exists either, or help ANY graduate of triOS land a job.
    I highly recommend the CSW program at triOS in Kitchener, but if you decide to enrol, come prepared to work your butt off & have a passion for the field in order to find success. If not, take some time to figure out what it is you really want to do first, & don't waste your money and efforts on an education you're not 110% committed to. Good luck!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tt
    Tt0450 Aug 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @kitchener CSW Hi, I was just wondering how you still like you csw program you received from trio's college? I'm currently considering attending and I was sort of moved by your experience and review ... considering most of the negative experience most have seem to have posted yours was kinda of refreshing .

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BADNCKT Jan 13, 2015

    Where should I begin...WASTE OF TIME, WASTE OF MONEY, INCOMPETENCY, ARROGANCE, LACK OF KNOWLEDGE, SUBSTANDARD EQUIPMENT, ATMOSPHERE LIKE A FACTORY OR SHOP TALK AND LAY PEOPLE, IGNORANT STAFF, NOT UP TO SPEED WITH TECHNOLOGY BASED LEARNING, NON ACCREDITED COURSES, REPUTATION DISMAL...JUST READ ALL THE POSTS ABOVE. RUNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN AWAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY FROMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM THISSSSSSSSSSSSSS COLLEGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. OR SHOULD I SAY CHICKEN COUP. HIRE A TUTOR FROM ABROAD OVER THE INTERNET AND HE WILL DO A BETTER JOB. I MADE THE MISTAKE AND WENT THERE, AND BEEN 2 YEAR SINCE AND COUNTLESS JOB APPLICATIONS AND 1 INTERVIEW IN 2 YEARS AND NO JOB YET . ALL STUDENTS SHOULD BAND TOGETHER AND PROCESS THIS PONZY SCHEME LIKE COLLEGE IN THE COURT OF LAW. THE DIPLOMA WE ALL GET ITS NOT WORTH THE INK WRITTEN ON IT . ALL THEIR COURSES ARE GARBAGE THERE ISN'T A SINGLE ONE WORTH TAKING...NOT A SINGLE STUDENT IN MY CLASS FOUND A JOB IN THEIR FIELD " SCL" SUPPLY CHAIN & LOGISTICS. THE ONTARIO GOVERNMENT AND EVEN THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SHOULD INVESTIGATE THIS COLLEGE. I REGRET THE TIME AND MONEY SPENT AND THE MANY SLEEPLESS NIGHT READING BOOKS FOR THIS IS THEIR MODEL OF TEACHING. INSTRUCTORS READ FROM THE BOOKS AND ASSIGNED QUESTIONS ASSEMBLED FROM PREVIOUS " WOULD BE PROFESSORS" THEY SHOULD NOT BE CALLED PROFESSORS BUT DAYCARE LULLABY READERS TO BE KIND BUT I HAVE SEVERAL OTHER ADJECTIVES I CAN USE TO DESCRIBE THE CARETAKERS... AND WHAT KILLED ME THE MOST I
    USED TO STUDY AND MEMORIZE ALL THE SUBJECTS WHEN OTHER SIMPLY OPENED THEIR BOOKS DURING EXAMS...
    WHAT KIND OF FARCE IS THIS COLLEGE. AND GUESS THIS ALL STUDENTS GOT OVER 80% AVERAGE. BALONEY...OH YA SOME GOT HONORS 90%. I WONDER IF BUT MAJORITY OF THEM DIDN'T EVEN UNDERSTOOD THE DAMN CONCEPT OF" SCL" ( SUPPLY CHAIN & LOGISTICS.) I WILL DO A RESEARCH ON WHAT IS THE PERCENTAGE OF GRADS WHO ATTAINED WORK IN THEIR FILED. I WILL KEEP YOU POSTED. IN THE MEAN TIME ANY STUDENT WHO ATTENDED THIS COLLEGE SHOULD GO TO THEIR LOCAL MP AND MPP AND COMPLAINT ABOUT THEIR EXPERIENCE. MAKE NOISE YOU WILL BE HEARD.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BADNCKT Jan 13, 2015

    Where should i begin. . . Waste of time, waste of money, incompetency, arrogance, lack of knowledge, substandard equipment, atmosphere like a factory or shop talk and lay people, ignorant staff, not up to speed with technology based learning, non accredited courses, reputation dismal. . . Just read all the posts above. Runnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy frommmmmmmmmmmmmmmm thissssssssssssss collegeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Or should i say chicken coup. Hire a tutor from abroad over the internet and he will do a better job. I made the mistake and went there, and been 2 year since and countless job applications and 1 interview in 2 years and no job yet. All students should band together and process this ponzy scheme like college in the court of law. The diploma we all get its not worth the ink written on it. All their courses are garbage there isn't a single one worth taking. . . Not a single student in my class found a job in their field " scl" supply chain & logistics. The ontario government and even the federal government should investigate this college. I regret the time and money spent and the many sleepless night reading books for this is their model of teaching. Instructors read from the books and assigned questions assembled from previous " would be professors" they should not be called professors but daycare lullaby readers to be kind but i have several other adjectives i can use to describe the caretakers. . . And what killed me the most i
    Used to study and memorize all the subjects when other simply opened their books during exams. . .
    What kind of farce is this college. And guess this all students got over 80% average. Baloney. . . Oh ya some got honors 90%. I wonder if but majority of them didn't even understood the damn concept of" scl" (Supply chain & logistics. " i will do a research on what is the percentage of grads who attained work in their filed. I will keep you posted. In the mean time any student who attended this college should go to their local mp and mpp and complaint about their experience. Make noise you will be heard.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Compiled Reports Aug 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Taken from a site that is now down! But I tried to preserve these useful comments and post them here

    https://collegetimes.co/trios-college-of-information-technology-london/

    liliJuly 28, 2015
    I am not surprised at what i just red here on this website. This is a scam college. Don’t go in there unless you want to finish all your money. I don’t know who give permission to this colleges to be in business.I am determined to go trough with my investigation until i found out why they scammed me. After i was told that they will look after me.And gave me a whole bunch of lies instead.

    Your NameOctober 27, 2014
    Tried repeatedly to get info on upcoming programs. I found the receptionist scripted and when I was finally put through to “Lou” he was very condescending and not friendly whatsoever. I made an appt to go in to see them because they won’t elaborate without me going in. To be honest I really was interested in their program, over Fanshawe but the feeling I got over the phone each time I called made me really uncomfortable. I am not going to pursue this College which is unfortunate because their start dates and program is exactly what I wanted. I just think that how it begins is usually how it ends and if I am already feeling awkward with their approach I don’t see that changing.
    Overall Score: (1/5.00)
    SwindledSeptember 8, 2014
    After saving for a long time, I decided to ‘go back’ to school. Trios got my savings and my return to school got me nothing but regret. The private college took my money which was way over priced and returned me with a lot of expensive books (that I cannot re-sell) and useless knowledge they didn’t even teach me, as the teachers knew none of the curriculum. Came out with high grades that meant nothing to the working force. High sales tactics had me signed up before I knew it and regretted it since the start of the first class. Go to an a college that is known and respected, triOS was a joke. Program I signed up for wasn’t even accredited till half way to graduation, didn’t tell me that when I signed up. Make sure what ever you take it is college accredited.
    Overall Score: (1.3/5.00)
    DodronSeptember 2, 2014
    I am currently a student, I have found that trios feeds off the immigrants, single parents, and elderly, they offer plenty of information that is not close to what they actually do, books are estimated at $1600 but cost $30 a book over half of the books are just projects they have photocopied from past students work. As the instructors read each page word for word (which I could do myself) certifications for IT are paid for but the instructors teach you stuff you don’t need to know as opposed to the stuff you do need to and they charge way over price for rewriting exams. Courses are basically just a rehash of the previous course, anyone that has been upset with the program or instructors or disagreed seems to have been “terminated” and as some students have wanted to quit trios has told them they will put them in a different course no problem then when the person has waited long enough they say your basically left with your debt and can’t go back. They don’t inform you of the $500 cancellation fee. As well as for the gaming program, they state your laptop is part of your tuition only to find out it’s a real iffy idea, everything is evaluated in house so there’s no one actually inspecting stuff standards are all over the place they maintain and threaten grades but even doing no work everyone receives at least a pass (which is 65%) it seems that anyone who aha quit is stilling being screwed around by the school, they preach about safety even in a parking lot yet none of the staff follows the rules of the parking lot, snow days were hell when you show up sit for 2-3 hours to finally receive an email from your instructor that they aren’t coming in because of a blizzard even though you drove through it yourself and then are expected to stay. Overall I’ve been there for a while and have seen at least 4-5 students get completely screwed. They promise that finishing year one lowers your debt by 10, 000$ and second year is 7, 000$ i am becoming severely cautious of this fact. The fact no one has shut this school down baffles me. I’m sorry but I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone saying that any complaints you have and such are never actually handled, I’ve went out of my way to buy extra books with my osap to learn some of the courses I’ve taken. They also make claims that you get paid internship which apparently you don’t unless you get it through them. The jobs they bring up are companies looking for university degrees and they don’t update as often. If I wasn’t so far in debt up to my eyeballs I would quit but they’d screw me on that too. The IT students have learned that they could have just paid $30 for the books they give them and write the certs without going $50, 000 in debt. Everyone has their own opinion, but going to this school has made me feel like I was dragged through the mud and am being strung with debt.
    Overall Score: (1.18/5.00)
    Pi**** OffSeptember 5, 2013
    Short and sweet. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! I am 3/4 of my way through the paralegal course with a avg of 96%, yet after doing a little job shadowing I am NOT ready for a career in this field. I am close to 20, 000 in debit and shortly will be entering a very competitive field. I take some of the blame for not doing more research… Yes most of the staff are helpful and friendly…….The books are a waste!! old outdated information, examples of proper paper work that the instructors tell you to ignore.
    Just weigh the options! Maybe that extra half year to a year in Community College wasn’t such a bad idea
    Overall Score: (1.81/5.00)
    BewareAugust 17, 2013
    Trust me, private career colleges are a total waste of money. The programs are not even close to providing the level of education required to find a job in the field. They rely on high pressure, misleading tactics to dupe the gullible into paying high fees for an essentially worthless program. The positive reviews look very much like shill postings.
    Overall Score: (1/5.00)
    StaceyApril 9, 2013
    Trios college shouldn’t be your option. Their “technology” programs are so behind of what’s happening in the market. You probably won’t find a job in the industry as a Trios college graduate, and if you do – it will be in a small business with PCs from the stone age.
    Overall Score: (2.14/5.00)
    AnonymousMarch 26, 2013
    Content of course was very weak. Took “Supply Chain and Logistics” and really don’t feel I am qualified at the end of the course to do any job in that field. Entire class did extremely well with similar marks not making the effort I put in feel any better then those that put less effort in. Tried for entry level positions in jobs related to field and employers were only interested if there was an internship. Without interniship there is no way to get foot in the door. (Very pricey interniship of $3000)
    Overall Score: (1.63/5.00)
    Long noseJuly 13, 2012
    A class action lawsuit alleging a Toronto college misled students about what they would get out of a business program has received certification from a judge to proceed.
    Two former students of George Brown College’s international business management program allege it didn’t have the ability to confer the industry designations it promised. They launched the lawsuit in October 2008, seeking $10 million in damages and an Ontario Superior Court judge has now certified it as a class action suit representing 119 former students.
    The allegations have not been proven in court.
    The students say they paid as much as $11, 000 to attend the eight-month program. The calendar said the program would provide students with “the opportunity to complete three industry designations/certifications” in addition to a graduate certificate from the college, according to the students’ statement of claim.
    Upon completion they learned they wouldn’t be receiving the industry designations referred to in the course calendar, the students allege. In his decision, Justice George R. Strathy said most students would have read the calendar description and that the prominence given to the industry designations would suggest they were significant.
    “A class action will provide access to justice to a vulnerable group of students, many of whom are from different lands and culture, ” Strathy wrote. “Class members may lack the individual resources, initiative and sophistication to pursue legal action on their own and may be intimidated by the legal process.”
    Of the 119 former students, 78 were international students who don’t live in Canada — most of them coming from either China or India.
    Overall Score: (1/5.00)
    Captain DerpSeptember 30, 2011
    I went here for a tour a few years ago, and next thing I know, they had swindled me into signing up. Very sneaky and underhanded sales techniques they have going on here. Go to a real school, you’ll thank yourself in the end.
    If video game design is what you want to go for, I’m not sure any uni course offers it, at least not in the London area, but I do know there’s a school out in Vancouver that offers it. – Digipen. Last I saw, it was supported by Nintendo, and I think, Electronic Arts (EA Games) which is obviously a good thing.
    Overall Score: (1/5.00)
    RawrSeptember 9, 2010
    The school itself is built around making money for themselves, and thus the students suffer because of it. I’m currently in the VGDD course and not one student in the entire class room is happy with this course. Unqualified instructors, over priced tuition, and in the end you’re not going to get any good experience or diploma in the end.. Take the time and go to a better institution, I’ve now had to sacrifice two possible years at a university because of it.
    Don’t buy their lies of an accelerated program. It isn’t at all, they provide mickey mouse content, copy-pasted textbook material, and instructors that aren’t even experienced in the respectful fields. They use the argument “you put in what you get, ” you will get 1000x the benefit by going to a REAL college/university setting. They use this excuse on hard working individuals for their success, but in the end they end up working for the college itself or are making minimum wage jobs because their diplomas don’t mean a thing. If you are a student or anyone desperate to get a new education, take the time and get a REAL education at a public college or university. It will pay off and it will be something you can be proud of.
    All in all, this school is an institution on greed, not quality. They use fear tactics to keep you in the school and hide information from students on how to act against them.
    If you find yourself in a situation such as a private college that is scamming you in Canada, go to http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/general/private.html and get all the information you can and act! This school will only lead you to debt.
    Overall Score: (1/5.00)
    LisaMarch 3, 2010
    This is a love-hate relationship. triOS has some instructors that are amazing, and others that are just pitiful. This school offers a great environment for students who learn quickly and “independently”. If you happen to be a one of those unlucky students who may require guidance and assistance as part of your learning process, you’ll likely wind up frustrated and disappointed. Again, not all instructors are terrible. triOS tends to hire instructors who cannot help the students in need. triOS promises that their programs are ensured to “satisfy your educational requirements and exceed your expectations.” HAHAHAHA. You’re on your own if you can’t grasp something.

    0 Votes

Post your comment