The UPS Storeovercharging

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Without our consent took it upon themselves to decide shipping method
they decided to ship it parcel post no less
charged $15.98 to send a small package, around 2 pounds
should have been around $8.67
the package was not shipped until the following day

STAY AWAY FROM UPS STORES
THEY ARE NOT CONTROLLED OR REGULATED BY UPS
The UPS Store Corp. in itself has little control over it's franchise stores
stating to the effect that "they have the right to charge whatever they want"

NO REFUNDS SO IF YOU COMPLAIN THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO

Responses

  • Ni
    nickansl Aug 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The store is not overcharging. If you want cheap rates, then stand in line at the PO. You came to the store for speedy service. And UPS couldnt care less. They make about $3k per store per month, so 3000 times 4300 stores is almost $[protected] per month! The store has to make money to stay open. The store would make no money for waiting on you! Doing work for free is not a business.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherrinc May 01, 2012

    UPS is trying to get out of being responsible for these stores. THEIR NAME IS ON THE BUILDING. Either take it off or be responsible for over charging people.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brownstainremover Jan 19, 2012

    I would report the owner to the bureau of overcharging

    0 Votes
  • Up
    UPSStoreArk Jan 19, 2012

    Yea, you don't pay the Post Office price at UPS Store... We need the extra money to pay our rent, workers, electricity, water, internet.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    UPSStoreArk Jan 19, 2012

    Hi, UPS Stores are owned independantly. But it has to follow some regulations imposed by Mail Box Etc, which is owned by UPS. UPS Store ships USPS stuff, but since it's a business and it needs to make money too to keep business going so you obviously need to pay more than "what the cost is at Post Office." $15.98 sounds very reasonable for the package you provided.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angel666 Dec 27, 2009

    The UPS Store IS NOT the POST OFFICE! you pay for the convience - By the way, those Store owner pay RENT!
    POST OFFICE they use our tax $$$$$ even then...they are going Bankrupt... they are closing over 3000 to 5000 post offices nationewide!
    GO back to school and take a BUSINESS Class!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paulyicecubes Oct 19, 2009

    Marking prices up over the actual cost is how the economy works. If I, as a business owner, buy for example oranges for 25 cents each, I don't sell them for 25 cents, or 27 cents or 29 cents. You mark them up to a price that makes your time and effort worthwhile. A 90% markup (to 47 cents per orange in our example) is pretty standard. Postage is not an exception to this rule.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mork102 Sep 30, 2009

    I went to ship a box to Australia and was advised that shipping via USPS would be cheaper and that they could take care of that for me. It ended up costing me azpprox 90% more for them to ship it USPS than if I took the box to the post office myself. I know, shame on me for not checking, but shame on them for raping people so badly for the "service".

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.