The Humane Society Logo

The Humane Society

Having problems with The Humane Society?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

1255 23rd Street, NW, Suite 450
Washington, District of Columbia
United States - 20037
Mon8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tue8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wed8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thu8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Fri8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sat9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sun9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with The Humane Society.

We are an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Complaints & Reviews

www.humanesociety.orgThey didn't help me, when my dog was injured

I used the services of the website www.humanesociety.org. My pet was injured and we searched for the vet. I contacted the company and they agreed to provide help, as well as the rep told me that they didn’t have a lot of clients today. We arrived and waited 2 hours, but while we waited no one took a look at my dog. It was really unprofessional and inappropriate towards my dog. Please, share this info.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    humanesociety.orgDoctor refused to help my pet

    My pet needed surgery and I decided to ask for the help from www.humanesociety.org. I called local human Society and spoke with the doctor, but he refused and told that there was large line of pets, which needed some examination and surgery. I was so disappointed in them. All their info on the website is total lie, if they refused to help me. I wonder if there are other people, who had the same situation. Please, post comments about your things with them.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Ma
        Mad Dog 20/20 May 18, 2014

        Break out the wallet. How can you complain about an organization that provides millions in free aid to distressed animals be use of the millions of jeans in the world that take pets and then abandon them in the street when it's no llonger convenient for them.

        Grow up

        1 Votes

      Humane Society of the United Statesmisleading advertising

      Buyer beware. If you are considering donating to the Humane Society of the United States you may want to rethink your decision. Only 1 % of donations goes towards actually helping animals. They do not donate one dime to a single animal [censored]er in the United States and spent 43 million dollars in 2010 alone on fund raising. They have a pension fund built up of over 17 million dollars and have 29 employees that are paid over $1000, 000 per year. Check out the following sites to find proof that they are a scam. http://scienceblogs.com/grrlscientist/2010/03/01/the-humane-society-of-the-unit/ - http://www.humanewatch.org/real_simple/ - dime.http://www.consumerfreedom.com/2010/05/321-watchdog-group-calls-out-humane-society-of-the-united-states-with-times-square-billboard/ and the list is endless of groups exposing these crooks. If you want to donate to the humane society donate to local offices. Do not send these crooks another dime.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Belleville May 01, 2013

          Check out the following sites to find proof that they are a scam. http://scienceblogs.com/grrlscientist/2010/03/01/the-humane-society-of-the-unit/ - http://www.humanewatch.org/real_simple/ - dime.http://www.consumerfreedom.com/2010/05/321-watchdog-group-calls-out-humane-society-of-the-united-states-with-times-square-billboard/ and the list is endless of groups exposing these crooks. If you want to donate to the humane society donate to local offices. Do not send these crooks another dime.

          0 Votes
        • Belleville May 01, 2013

          If you want to donate to the humane society donate to local offices. Do not send these crooks another dime.

          0 Votes

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        HSUS, Humane Society of the United StatesFalse advertising

        The HSUS is airing adds that show poor homeless animals in [censored]ers begging for your help. This is all false advertising as the HSUS doesn't help [censored]ers, they raise millions from unsuspecting people and less than 1% goes to help any animal [censored]ers, despite its name also suggesting its involved with a humane society, or that its is some sort of umbrella organization, it is not!

        More than 85 percent of the animals in HSUS’s TV ads are dogs and cats, and yet HSUS gives just 1 percent of the money it raises to pet [censored]ers. That’s about as deceptive as it gets, and it’s no surprise that we hear from HSUS donors on a regular basis who had no idea that their charitable giving wasn’t going to pet [censored]ering. Fortunately, many decide to give to their local [censored]er and stop giving to HSUS. And that’s just TV appeals. According to its latest tax return, HSUS had almost $50 million in fundraising-related expenses. That includes piles of money spent on direct mail. So we wondered: Could its direct mail be even worse than HSUS’s TV appeals?

        We were able to obtain a sample consisting of dozens of HSUS direct-mail appeals from 2003 to 2011. And they’re arguably just as awful as HSUS’s TV ads. By our rough estimate, about 80 percent of the animals mentioned are dogs and cats in these 32 appeals. Only one letter in our sample, a 2009 mailer about farming, was completely about non-companion animals. The deception is also present in the content of the letters. Take one 2005 appeal, which told the story of “Scruffy, ” a Kansas dog that experienced abuse. The story is quite heart-wrenching, and the letter includes an in memoriam card dedicated to Scruffy.

        But here’s the thing: The incident occurred in 1997. And the HSUS fundraising letter went out eight years later asking potential donors sign a card that would be sent to Scruffy’s owners.

        Is it just us, or is that a little, you know, sleazy?

        HSUS donors received plenty of doodads and tchotchkes throughout the years, too. Almost two-thirds of the appeals included some kind of junk guilt gift, such as calendars, mailing labels, stickers, pocket planners, and blankets. You can find some on eBay. The letters are generally membership or renewal letters. That’s important, because if these letters are most (or all) of what certain donors see, these folks could easily have a skewed idea of what their money is going towards. We recently saw dozens of complaints filed with the Federal Trade Commission from people who have given money to HSUS, so it’s potentially a big problem.

        http://humanewatch.org/index.php/site/categories/category/the_best_of_humanewatch/

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          • Sl
            slynn1 Jul 01, 2013
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            The Aspca is just as bad. In Long Beach CA it is located near the city pound. ASPCA chooses which animals they want, bullying knowing bully breeds, such as Pit Bulls will be euthanized and not even given a chance to be adopted. I worked for a high kill [censored]er, but at least these breeds were given a chance to be adopted.

            2 Votes
          • El
            Elizabeth Turner Brinkley Mar 16, 2016
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            10 Things You Should Know About HSUS

            1. HSUS raises millions of dollars from American animal lovers through manipulative advertising. An analysis of HSUS’s TV fundraising determined that more than 85 percent of the animals shown were cats and dogs. However, HSUS doesn’t run a single pet [censored]er and only gives 1 percent of the money it raises to pet [censored]ers while sucking money out of local communities.

            2. HSUS’s own donors and local [censored]ers feel wronged. A poll of self-identified HSUS donors found 80 percent thought HSUS “misleads people” about their connections to pet [censored]ers and 75 percent were less likely to support the group when they found out the truth. And according to a poll of animal [censored]ers most agree that “HSUS misleads people into thinking it is associated with local animal [censored]ers.”

            3. HSUS puts more into its pension plan and Caribbean hedge funds than it gives to pet [censored]ers. Between 2012 and 2014, HSUS put over $100 million in Caribbean investments while also putting nearly $10 million into its pension plan.

            4. While it raises money with pictures of cats and dogs, HSUS has an anti-meat vegan agenda. Speaking to an animal rights conference in 2006, HSUS’s then-vice president for farm animal issues stated that HSUS’s goal is to “get rid of the entire [animal agriculture] industry” and that “we don’t want any of these animals to be raised and killed.”

            5. In May 2014, HSUS was part of a $15.75 million settlement of a federal racketeering lawsuit. Feld Entertainment sued HSUS, two of its in-house lawyers, and others under the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations (RICO) Act for bribery, obstruction of justice, fraud, and other torts. Court documents indicate that HSUS sent several checks as part of an alleged witness-payment scheme.

            6. HSUS’s senior management includes others who have voiced support for terroristic acts. HSUS chief policy officer Mike Markarian has written that “A perfect example of effective rebellion is an Animal Liberation Front raid on a laboratory.” HSUS food policy director Matt Prescott, meanwhile, has written that “I also believe in the actions of the ALF and other such groups.” (Prescott is a former PETA activist.)


            7. HSUS’s senior management includes a former spokesman for the Animal Liberation Front (ALF), a criminal group designated as “terrorists” by the FBI. HSUS president Wayne Pacelle hired John “J.P.” Goodwin in 1997, the same year Goodwin described himself as “spokesperson for the ALF” while he fielded media calls in the wake of an ALF arson attack at a California meat processing plant. In 1997, when asked by reporters for a reaction to an ALF arson fire at a farmer’s feed co-op in Utah (which nearly killed a family sleeping on the premises), Goodwin replied, “We’re ecstatic.”

            8. HSUS receives poor charity-evaluation marks. CharityWatch (formerly the American Institute of Philanthropy) has issued several “D” ratings for HSUS in recent years over the group’s wasteful spending practices. Additionally, the 2013 Animal People News Watchdog Report discovered that HSUS spends 55 percent of its budget on overhead costs.


            9. HSUS’s CEO endorsed convicted dogfighting kingpin Michael Vick getting another pet. After Vick got out of prison, HSUS CEO Wayne Pacelle told the press that he thought Vick “would do a good job as a pet owner.” This startling comment came after Vick’s new employer, the Philadelphia Eagle, made a $50, 000 “grant” to HSUS.

            10. Given the massive size of its budget, HSUS does relatively little hands-on care for animals. While HSUS claims it “saves” more animals than any other animal protection group in the US, much of the “care” HSUS provides is in the form of spay-neuter assistance. In fact, local groups that operate on considerably slimmer budgets, such as the Houston SPCA, provide direct care to more animals than HSUS does.

            1 Votes

          IN THE NEWS

          Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
          If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
          One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
          A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
          ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
          You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
          Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.