The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
tate and kirlinharassing phone calls

my mother and i have been receiving harassing phone calls from these people at all hours of the night. they threaten lawsuits and police involvement if we don't give them the info they want. they need to be stopped asap! we are sick of getting phone calls at 10 at night!

Responses

  • Me
    MELC Nov 21, 2009

    I WORK AT TATE AND KIRLIN WE ARE NOT OPEN AT 10P SO THAT IS A LIE, ALSO MAGGIE UNDER THE FDCPA, IT STATES AND I QUOTE THAT THE DEBTOR NOT THE COLLECTIONS AGENCY HAS 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE THE ACCOUNT WAS PLACED WITH OUR OFFICE TO DISPUTE AND OR REQUEST ALL AVAIL DOCUMENTATION WITH THAT SAID KEEP IN MIND WE ARE ALSO A THIRD PARTY COLLECTION AGENCY SO IF YOU DID NOT OWE THE MONEY YOU SHOULDVE DISPUTED WITH THE PREVIOUS 3 AGENCIES THAT CALLED YOU. PAY YOUR BILLS AND WE WONT CALL YOU ITS REALLY THAT SIMPLE. AND FOR THE COMMENT OF US BEING ###. IF WE WERE VIOLATING THAT MANY LAWS WE WOULDNT BE IN BUSINESS. SO AGAIN READ THE ENTIRE FDCPA LAWS AGAIN. GOOD DAY!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stem1 Nov 24, 2009

    I work at tate & kirlin. of course people will try and complain, Also will blame everybody else for there life, In all reality we are trying to help. We are trying to have a job and work to feed are families. We are not making they world a worse place but a better one. You people make debt, we collect it. so thank you for allowing me to have a good career. no matter what the phoney ban lawyer says .. we are not all in debt and most of us have a good pay rate that allows us to live sucsessfully off of people like your self ... so thank you again and i will help all of you get your life back on track.. We all know credit is everything.. so lets get your score up...

    1 Votes
  • Me
    MELC Dec 02, 2009

    I AM FULLY AWARE OF WHAT THIRD PARTY MEANS, AND AS I SAID THERE WERE OTHER COLLECTIONS DEPT. THAT PREVIOUSLY CONTACTED THE DBTR BEFORE WE HAVE, MEANING WE ARE THE "THIRD PARTY" THAT CONTACTED THEM SO THESE ACCOUNTS ARE NOT UNKNOWN TO THE DBTR..."YOU CANT GET BLOOD FROM A TURNIP" HMMMMM.. SOUNDS FAMILIAR...LOL

    1 Votes
  • Na
    NavyYardGuy75 Dec 16, 2009

    Interesting how the warm folks at Tate & Kirlin feel the need to use ALL CAPS, as if we can read it as a "yell" and it makes it any more important.

    Aggravated87, I am also being pursued by Tate & Kirlin. Under unfortunate circumstances, Chase forclosed on my house in 2007, leaving the 2nd lender holding the bag for $180, 000. The 2nd lender was actually a wholly-owned subsidiary of Chase, so with the federal bailout they charged off my debt in 2008 during the AIG bailout days and did not pursue me further. Tate & Kirlin started contacting me less than a month later in April 2008, and the debt somehow magically increased to $200K, then $210K, then $230K ... I was starting to get entertained to see how high the amount could go just for the hell of it. At first I would receive calls about 2 times a day, then after 6 months it was 3 times a week ... less than 2 years later it's maybe once every other week.

    I'm not so concerned as I hired a talented accountant 2 years ago (when I knew foreclosure was imminent) who is a former Federal Tax Court Judge and IRS Agent, and he had advised me to run the following game plan ...

    1. Quit my job, as T&K will probably try to get a judgement against me ... so I could go back to my employer as a 1099 or start my own business and invoice my former employer. I chose to go out on my own and had several Federal Defense agency clients, working 60 hours a week but doing well financially.

    2. Pay whatever credit cards I have off, assuming the card companies would close my accounts anyway. They have not to this day ... they simply dropped my limits, from $50, 000 to about $1, 000. Whatever, they are enough to use to pay for hotels, rental cars, domestic airfare ... they're there when I need it.

    3. Start a bank account in my business' name ... have all funds go directly to that account(s).

    4. Live on cash. Get a safe deposit box and keep 3 months of expenses available in some form, be it bearer bonds, cash, matured treasury bonds ... something that is liquid. For me 3 months expenses is $27, 000.

    It's interesting how much my life changed after that. I was making maybe $80, 000 a year working for a defense contractor. 2 years later under my own business I make around $250, 000 a year, doing the exact same work, making my own hours, not having to put up with the corporate BS ... and having the flexibility to call my own shots. I pay my taxes, but I write off everything as my wife and kids are employees of my company. I put money for my kids in trust accounts and in 529 education accounts. Our income last year was just over $300, 000 and we paid a total of $8, 000 in total state and federal income taxes, including SS and Medicare.

    Whatever Tate & Kirlin wants to tell you, they really can't do anything if you don't let them. Myself, I own nothing. My house, cars, everything is in my wife's name and she is protected from me under an arrangment we set up a long time ago in our prenuptial agreement. My business, it makes a lot of money, but I disperse all my funds the second I make them or reinvest them into other liquid assets that Tate & Kirlin can never touch. If they were to get a judgement against me, I am my own employer and would then I be "forced" to enforce my own wage garnishment (rather than my employer's HR department calling me) ... which I will never do and they cannot make me do. They could levy my bank accounts, but all my business income comes into my business accounts, and they have no connection to me ... I keep less than $1, 000 at any given time in my own bank account, I keep it all in cash and use it whenever I leave the house.

    Tate & Kirlin can do whatever they want, but they will have nowhere to go. My advice to you, Aggravated87, is to move on with your life and use my process above.

    7 Years from now, your life will be what you want it to be.

    It's funny that it took a traumatic event like foreclosure for me to realize my true wealth potential. My family, my health, my life have all been enriched ... and I indirectly have Tate & Kirlin to thank for it. In 7 years, I will be able to pay for my next house, IN CASH.

    Suck on that Tate & Kirlin.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    Realistic American Feb 13, 2010

    Tate and Kirlin associates are just a bunch of monkeys making threats to fling poo. It is a shame that such associates are brain washed into feel that threatening clients with empty lawsuits over the phone will make money, when everyone knows that if the company had any ability to collect an alleged debt they really wouldn't bother wasting money paying someone to harrass people, they would eliminate the phone operators and go directly to the legal system instead of losing the money on a weekly payroll (even though weekly payroll couldn't be that expensive with the unskilled, uneducated labor they employ). Playing phone terrorist must really make their staff feel like really powerful, important people, when in fact they are just out to get their little jollies by threating old women, the sick, and unfortunate. CLAIMING IN ALL CAPS THAT THEY OUT TO MAKE A BETTER AMERICA BECUASE THEY ARE FORCING PEOPLE TO CORRECT THEIR CREDIT... Is an all out lie and quite offensive to anyone who has any intelligence.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    prostreetrig Feb 18, 2010

    I just had the same incident here. The nice folks called and I explained that money was tight and I could pay 50 bucks a month. Then they asked for a credit card, savings, or checking account. I explained I had neither. Then the guy said well, if you don't have these then we can't take a payment. My answer was fine, then I won't send one. The next day I get a call from the same people at Take and Kirlin and the lady says" we can take a payment via money order, here's the address, blah, blah and then handed me to a manager. The manager asked my why I couldn't pay with an account and I explained that I don't have accounts, he said that he could see an active account. I told him that that was funny because I didn't have an active account, he then got bilegerant and said well, when could you send a payment? I told him the 26th and he said no, you'll have to send a payment out Western Union, which I had previously refused to do. It's when he started getting nasty that I reminded him that I too was a previous bill collector and certainly know the laws involved. I told him he can't use scare tactics and not to be an ###, he then said I should refrain from speaking to him that way and I said, I don't care who you are, you are not allowed by law to do what you are doing. he then said fine then we will settle in court. The phone hung up, so Tate and Kirlin, you are going to drum up hundreds of dollars for court fees for a petty 300 dollar bill. go right ahead, take me to court. i never refused payment but they can chew on that.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    confused american Jun 25, 2010

    navyguy75..are you proud that you cheated the system in your own way? took a loan or whatever you used accuumulated the $180, 000 and loop holed your way out of paying a debt that you created?.. does that money just disappear? was that extra money? that money is owed to someone..if everyone did what you did our country would be worse off than it is now.. many good people accumulate a debt that starts to seem impossible to ever pay off and thats understandable. not everyone can bring in 300k a year like you sir...but the hard working people that fight to make ends meet somehow seem to pay off their debt.. to explain my story a little, my wife opened a chase account and wasn't on top of the payments i guess and built up a debt of 3500 and some change. that isn't chump change to me and i explained to a nice young man there that i have intent of paying but funds arent available. the kid worked wit me made 2 months of 25$ payments then i settled out the account for less then 2000$ when i saved up enough money..perhaps i should have transferred all my income and assets into none traceable accounts and screwed the system by never paying an account i willingly created... im glad that your doing so well for yourself navy guy..but maybe its time you right some wrongs youve done because is it fair that people like us who work our butt's off to pay off what we owe pay it. while people like you cheat us all.. so anyone out there who is considering take this mans advice.. remember that maybe not directly but through a dominos effect.. this debt could be food on some body elses table..ill agree with you all that i dislike tate & kirlin but that is because they collected money from me.. who is going to enjoy the phone conversations with a company taking money from you..but in their defense it was my debt so somebody has to collect it and maybe i was lucky to have my debt handled with the nice young man who worked so patiently with me and settled me out. be honest and american..goodbye

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    walt1944 Nov 17, 2010

    I have had a constant battle with collection agencies thanks to the economic COLLAPSE of [protected] and me being thrown out of work and FORCIBLY RETIRED!

    I have found that there are VERY FEW reputable collection agencies out there who "play" within government laws and most of them are out there to grab what they can from you and leave you hanging. Some of them even POCKET the money you send them and don't report the debt as being paid off, so you get STUNG TWICE when another agency comes along trying to collect on the SAME DEBT!!!

    My lawyer tells me that you NEVER work out payment arrangements with a debt collector who calls you on the phone "OUT OF THE BLUE", but BY LAW they MUST send you a letter telling you who they are and what debt they are trying to collect. Then, after the debt is paid off or settled, BY LAW, they MUST send you a letter RELEASING you from the debt. Above all KEEP any and all correspondance and proof that you have been paying on the debt in case the debt collector has been POCKETING your money instead of settling your debt!!!

    You HAVE TO PROTECT YOURSELF!!! Debt collectors can say whatever dribble they want, but there are too many crooks out there who want to STING you into sending them money, then after you settle with them, THEY VANISH INTO THE WOODWORK!!!

    1 Votes
  • De
    desdon Jan 31, 2011

    My husband and I are getting 3-5 calls a day from Tate and Kirlin, demanding money owed on a car.
    Considering that I already paid off that loan in November 2009 (I have copies of all that), received the automobile title and have re-sold the car, I don't believe I will be sending them any more money.
    Yesterday, they sent a letter saying they would settle for 40% of what we owe.
    40% of nothing is still nothing. Sorry.

    2 Votes
  • Gs
    G.S. Fata May 20, 2011

    Quit calling for my son here...

    I sent an Email last year telling thet

    1 He doen't live here and hasn't for 4 years
    2. I gave you his phone number
    3. I gave you his address

    I consider your calling now to be HARRASSMENT... DON 't CALL

    0 Votes
  • Gs
    G.S. Fata May 20, 2011

    Don;t call here for my son Jeff Fata HE DOSEN't LIVE HERE

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dallgary Mar 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I keep getting a phone call from tate and kirlin from the number [protected] However when I answer the person on the other end hangs up. I googled the number it is from PA... I live and have always lived in GA.. I have registered the number with the do not call list complaint dept as I don't know the company, nor do I have any business with the company. I have called the number back but when I tell them my name they tell me the company would remove my phone number yet they continue calling. I consider it harrassment and will report it if it continues

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    m f Oct 25, 2012

    TATE just called me at 9:01 PM 10/25/2012 it is well documented on my phone. I am collecting evidence. No one picked up after I waited through the recording, it hung up. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME so I deduce their either idiots who can't read time or they are outsourcing bill collectors from another time zone across the globe. So their perpetrating the problems we are in as a nation, if that's the case. I will never give them a dime. I settled a car loan last year through another collection agency, TATE openly tried to collect on this debt AGAIN just days ago before I got passed through to someone in higher authority who admitted the debt had been passed on 'a while back' and was no longer with them. A 'while back' was well over a year ago because they wouldn't work with me sufficiently. Someone else did, someone else got my money. I am collecting evidence of their negligent harassment's, I suggest others do the same. Record calls if possible, otherwise keep phone records, take names, dates and write down detailed conversations when you do get a living person on the line, what they said, what you said.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thisman Oct 31, 2012

    Educate yourself on how these scambags operate.
    Google these and become an informed consumer
    1-what to do when you are contacted by a collections agency.
    2-your rights under federal laws FDCPA and FCRA
    3-Validation of debt (VOD), cease and desist (C&D), CMRRR
    4-Your state's Statute of Limitations (SOL) on debt.
    5-post your questions at debtorboards dot com if things get thick

    0 Votes
  • Bw
    bwisebgood Jul 12, 2014

    There is a way to beat collection agencies at their own game. Send out a cease and desist letter, basically "firing" them, informing them that you do not deal with collection agencies and will take the matter up with the original creditor. (The original creditor will usually tell you that once it's gone into collection they can no longer accept payments from you, oh well, their loss). The letter should also state, under the Fair Credit Act that if this appears on your credit report, they will be subject to fines. If they continue to harass you, even by one letter crossing in the mail, you've got them by the proverbial balls. www.attorneysforconsumers.com They will sue the collection agency and you will make money, up to $500 and no out of pocket costs. If you're just a schmuck who runs up your bills, won't work and doesn't care about life...then you deserve to be harassed. But there are plenty of people out there who, through no fault of their own, are in a financial mess.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.