The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sun Tan Cityawful experience

A Review updated:

I like the whole unlimited tanning for a single price a month, but the idea of giving them my credit card in order to do so is what I hate. I was willing to pay for the complete contract up front, but they wouldn't let me. I fear of having insufficient funds when it's auto drawn and end up over drafting my account and getting those $35 fees. That's why I hate auto withdraws, I can't control what is taken out on my own. It's also very inconvenient to have to show up before they would withdraw and pay it. That's why they should have the choice to use their credit card or pay everything up front without the use of a card. Okay, I'm done ranting and I feel a little better now, but I would feel great if they change this stupid crap!

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Be
    Bebe Mar 31, 2009

    I agree 100%. We just had one open close to me and I wanted to purchase a month tanning with cash and they would not let me without putting a credit card down for them to have on file and then told me I had to come in and sign a form saying I wanted to cancel or else they would charge the card. I refused to give into their hard core sales tactics of $60.00 for a bottle of lotion and in this day and age of credit card theft I don’t think SunTan City qualifies to store my credit card information for their use. I will use another tanning salon, there are plenty. I am surprised their tactics are legal.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Alisa David Apr 02, 2009

    My friend used to work at Sun Tan City and she told me that they take 3x the ammount they are supposed to each month. Whether thats true, I don't know. She told me about a girl she worked with that got angry about a girl not buying anything and spit in a clients bed. They are very rude there too and don't stop selling too you until you say yes.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heather Apr 15, 2009

    A lot of these major tanning corporations are doing similar payment plans, where you have to sign a contract for X amount of months, you can do that or just pay per visit. Isn't that the great thing about America, we have the choice to do this. You don't like it, go somewhere else, which it sounds like you did. You still get your tanning and Suntan City gets other customers. Everyone leaves happy.

    -3 Votes
  • Lo
    Louisville Apr 24, 2009

    I used to be a member there...I didnt have too much of a problem until they got rid of Mystic tan and got Versa tan. Versa is just a higher tech booth, but sprays the same stuff out! They want to charge $ 78 a month for a package that includes the Versa, while the Mystic was only $28 a month. For a single visit to the versa is $40!!! The mystic was like $10! Its the same thing in my opinion!!! My biggest rant is that i cancelled my membership and they were not too nice about it, and then 7 monthes later I decide to just pay $6 for a single visit and they tell me I am only allowed to lay in a bed for 7 minutes because they do know my tanning history! That is almost a dollar a minute. Screw that place, and all the little dumb girls who think they are hot ### because they work there.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mandy May 04, 2009

    Sun Tan City sucks! I went into the Lexington, KY Tates Creek location and asked to purchase a 6 month membership at $48.88/ month with cash up front and was told no! Why do you people not want my $300 in cash??? They insisted on having my bank account information, so I walked out. It is a shame, because I wanted to do the sunless tanning there but now I will go somewhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    koolkell May 21, 2009

    Isnt it illegal for them to refuse cash?...it is supposed to be legal tender...
    I've had a very bad experience since February with STC...I was sold on the 48.88/mo for 4 visits of Versa spa...when i asked about the regular beds I was tld it wasnt included. I thought it was. so the next time i was in there, i asked 2 different sales girls about it and they agreed that i didnt have that on my package...so 2 months go by, I called the home office to see about upgrading packages to include regular visits...and to my dismay, that was the package I've had all along!!...so to make it up to me they gave me 12 minutes of instant tan(one session)..they think that was enough to make up of 2 1/2 months of tanning I missed, but paid for! well, this month they struck again and charged me for may and June's installment...which caused another check to bounce and I'm fighting to get that fee back from them.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jenn May 29, 2009

    The reason they ask you for a credit card is because they take money out of your account without your permission. I have had so many problems with them, first of they never tell you everything you need to know about your account so they end up cheating you out of money. They have done it to my twice. This past time i told them that if they do not put the money back to my bank account I would go to see an attorney because I never signed anything to give them permission to depit my account more then once. I did not sign their 6 month contract. I did after a month get my money back. Radcliff Ky STC is the worst. we dont have alot of other choices for tanning and you know what i dont even care i just dont tan anymore and i will not ever go back to STC.

    2 Votes
  • No
    nonya Jun 06, 2009

    Hey! I actually was a employee of Sun Tan City for over a year. They are pretty smart with their sales strategies. The reason they do automatic payments is because clients keep their membership longer so it works out well for them, and even though you always must put your credit card down you can always prepay before they take it out. But I think it sucks too, and I support the small town businesses. They are friendlier and better. I used to love working for Sun Tan City and did really well(commision checks were sometimes $1, 000 a month for me) However, my sales went down slightly and my Salon Directer was so mean to me and gossiped about me behind my back and made funny of me in front of other employees. They are so strict there, they fire people if their sales average is down no matter how long they have worked there. I did not get fired, and after trying and trying I quit because of my boss. She was very unprofessional. I don't tan anymore or as often due to skin cancer, I only tan maybee every few weeks or so. Plus the Sun Tan City I worked at was not very clean. However most of them are clean. So if I were you just go to the local places, it's a beter deal. Plus about a month ago Sun Tan City took my payment out of the wrong account which overdrew and it was their fault bc I was switching cards and the girl was new and did not do it, so I got stuck with a overdraft fee and all Sun Tan City offered me was free tanning upgrades, they refused to pay my overdraft fee or anything of the such.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    HappyHappy1 Jul 15, 2009

    Hm. I am an employee at Sun Tan City. I would prefer that if you have a complaint about the store that you are currently having problems with, you would mention that stores name. Not all Sun Tan Citys are ran the exact same. Also, for the "versa spa complaint" the mystic tan was different solution because it contained beta carotene (that ugly orange color you prob. were) and we have to do away with that because as you know technology advances. Also, If you have a problem with Sun Tan City or any other business, you should prob. not go there, I believe that would be a good alternative to solving your problems. The "versa package is not 78 dollars for the person who wrote that, it is 48.88". And for the person who posted the complaint about the girls who think they are hot ###, I will agree that there are a few but most girls who work in there do not think they are hot ###, so please refrain from "dogging out" someone for where they work, who doesn't like making money and getting free tanning?. For the person who posted "i did not allow them to deduct the amount from my account".. yes you did. When you signed your agreement the VERY first line says "this is an open agreement payments from your account will keep being deducted until you physically come into the store and cancel or freeze this account after the alotted months that your package contains ". Sun Tan City is a very professional business and I think it is very rude of the people who first. make false accusations towards Sun Tan City and it's employees and second. Come to Sun Tan City just to complain, you CAN go to fusion fyi.

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    HappyHappy1 Jul 15, 2009

    And for the main user "about deducting your payment on auto". You can pay for a year up front, buy 6 visits, or you can give us your account information and still pre-pay as long as you get in before the end of the month and your card/check/debit will never be charged. There are many options, just ask for the tanning consultants and salon directors to better explain your options to you.

    -1 Votes
  • Vi
    VictoriaAtSunTanCity Jul 31, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Everybody,
    It seems like several of you aren't the happiest with Sun Tan City, and for that I am sorry. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and quality products, and if you would like to share your experience with the Customer Service department, we would be happy to learn from you. The phone number is [protected] (ext. 9).

    Regards,
    Victoria
    Sun Tan City
    Let Yourself Shine
    www.suntancity.com
    [protected]@suntancity.com

    0 Votes
  • RxBenzGuy Aug 05, 2009

    Hello everyone,

    I have been a customer with Sun Tan City for about a year now. I started my membership at the first Salon on the south side of Indianapolis. At fist I loved Sun Tan City I ignored the constant selling techniques and realized they are just doing there job. I even helped the girls clean the beds to get other customers going so the line was not out of the door. I felt like I had kinda bonded with the employee's. I am a traveling Pharmacist and with my job am in the Louisville area for the summer. I have had issues before with beds malfunctioning but it was always addressed and taken care of. I have the 78.88 membership and use the Versa and love it. However the salon's in the Louisville area are the worst tanning beds i have ever used. Its pretty bad when the employees tell you the fastest bed has and I quote "### bulbs". After just dealing with the poor customer service and nasty beds here, I had it when the store actually closed early. I called expressing my concerns to customer service on 7/26/2009 and was told that someone would contact me within 24-48 hours, as of today 8-5-2009 I have yet to hear from anyone. I believe as a customer paying for a service like this you deserve better service than this. I called customer service today and asked to speak to Victoria and was told she is not a real person. Its the marketing ploy they use with the cartoon characters in there advertisement. I am sorry but if you are going to post something on here give your real information not a poorly drawn cartoon characters name and email. It is unexplainable for a member of upper management i.e. a district manager not to respond to a customer complaint towards a store in there market. So for those of you who are working for this god awful organization and say not to include everyone in a complaint I didn't I enjoy the salons in Indianapolis. I appreciate there attention to detail and outstanding customer service. I am disgusted by the service in one particular area and have expressed my concerns to store management and customer service. I will not tan period until my concerns are addressed.

    Thanks,

    Brandon Decker
    RPh, PharmD
    [protected]@ymail.com

    2 Votes
  • Ye
    yeaitsme Aug 25, 2009

    I worked at Sun Tan City for a little over a year. For the most part, working there is fun and laid back. However, they pride themselves on how they "promote from within" and "are not pushy sales people"... and that is not true at all. I was told on three different occassions that I was being promoted to ASD (assistant salon director), and kept getting the run around. They hired 3 different women from outside of the company, and I ended up training them. Training people for the job I was getting?? Movie gallery might as well own STC because the stc employees got trampled on by the recruited movie gallery employees that seemed to get hired for positions that girls in the salon were working towards. Our salon director was great, but catty. Some days she was extra friendly and it felt easy to talk to her, and other days she was snobby and seemed to good to talk to. I seen many no call-no shows, employees quit, and many employees get fired for low numbers. This particular STC was in a small town, and 80+ dollars for a bottle of lotion is steep. We knew most of our clients by name and what package they had, and just the same- they knew us. So it is difficult to try to sell them the same stuff every time they come in. I would reccomend for people to tan there if they make good money and want a good quality tan, but I would not reccomend even to my worst enemy to work there. Unless you are looking for just a short term job and you like cut throat sales, because it is almost impossible to get promoted. I don't want to bash STC or the employees there, to each his own, but in my personal opinion- dont work there.

    1 Votes
  • Na
    naynay Aug 29, 2009

    I completley agree...except my boss was awful and talked behind my back. I was told I was going to become ASD and there was about 7 people hired for it before I quit, and each of them lasted no longer then a couplemonths. Three of them lasted a couple days. Sun iTan City does not care a thing about their employees, or their customers. They are very selfish business people. I liked the people I worked with besides the Salon Directer and the Upper management whom had their own clique. Definatley would not reccomend this job, people should support their local businesses who for the most part seem to treat their employees good. STC is going to have a representative in the next comment stand up for their company because they look up everything that is said about them on the internet, even on employees facebook pages and corrects themselves. I suppose that is a good thing, except they always just make up excuses. STC how about you stop treating your employees like ###? Care about your customers more? You've done a lot for Kentucky it seems like, you would be a good company if you didn't fire people over everything. Nobody wants to work for you.

    1 Votes
  • Nj
    NJU Sep 30, 2009

    My problem with Sun Tan City is that they are using bate & switch tactics on customers, especially young college students. Just yesterday my granddaughter called me in tears regarding a coupon she recieved at a college function for "FREE" $20.00 worth of tanning or products. She was told by the STC employee that she could use it towards a months tanning and the balance of the month (pro-rated amount only) would be charged to her card and she could cancel before the end of the month so no additional charges would be made. When she visited STC yesterday in Richmond, Kentucky, she was told she couldnt cancel untill next month and that her card would be charged again on the first of October. She tried to get the manager to understand what she was told by the STC employee when she signed up and the manager was very rude to her and told her that the girl who helped her no longer worked there and this is the way it is. My granddaughter explained that if they charged her card it would cause an overdraft fee of $35.00 and the manager said "oh well, thats to bad for you". I called the corp. office and got the run around from them and now I will have to add funds to my granddaughter's bank account untill we can get somewhere with STC.
    Next step will be for us to contact our attorney to file consumer fraud complaint against them. Anyone want to injoin in a class action suit?, you are more than welcome... [protected]@aol.com

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Ca2 Oct 25, 2009

    My husband and I have been members of Sun Tan City on the SS of Indianapolis for about 6 months now. We couldn't be HAPPIER with the service we receive. Neither one of us have ever had any complaints about this specific STC. As for the girl who doesn't like the auto-withdrawals. Guess what, you know exactly what day it's coming out of your account so why don't you just make sure you HAVE that money in your account before it comes out and causes overdraft fees? The people at the STC on the SS of Indy are THE BEST and are so accomodating and make you feel welcome EVERYTIME you walk in there. That place is almost always busy. They always keep us up-to-date w/ the latest specials. I will NEVER tan anywhere else AGAIN! This STC location is wonderful and we're both really glad we've become members there.

    -2 Votes
  • Au
    audeur09 Nov 23, 2009

    Sun Tan City is a scam for money. I am also a college student who just wanted ONE MONTH of tanning, and the sales lady specifically asked me how often I tan. I told her not often at all and I just wanted to go about a month before winter. She said this membership would be great for me and a I also paid a prorated about for the rest of November. and I was thinking about December but now I am canceling due to the fact that they charge every month even if you don't want to go tanning.

    If they would have said this is a monthly fee that I will be charged I wouldn't have signed, and when I am in line with people behind me, and I ask this if this is just the monthly amount, I didn't take the time to read the fine print considering they never even explained the details of the membership.

    I'm going to cancel as soon as I go back this week and am going to complain about the false advertising. I am also going to advise all of my friends and peers at school that Sun Tan City is not a good choice, don't let all the fancy equipment fool you!

    Also, one day I had gone in a tanning bed and I was in for slightly over a minute out of the ten minutes, when it shut off. I had been in it for not even a minute and a half and called the front desk and they specifically said "It says you were in ten minutes, sorry". How could I have been in there ten minutes if I was given the five minutes to undress and only 6 minutes had gone by since I was in the room?? I let that slide by and left assuming something had malfunctioned with the bed.. and I'm not one that normally likes to stay and cause a stir.

    3 Votes
  • Yo
    youknowwhoitis Dec 17, 2009

    Ok, as a fromer employee of kentucky's suntan city, someone who left and did not (in my opinion) leave on the best terms... do have something to say. Even though my exit ended differently than I imagined, they do ONLY what they are pAID to DO! With that said, YES they will ask you to buy lotions! WHY? Because that's what they are PAID to do! YES they will continue to ask you to buy lotions! WHY? Cause that's what they're PAID to do! YES you do need to sign a document stating that funds will be directly taken from your account on the FIRST of each month! WHY? Cause They were TRAINED and NOW PAID to make sure you sign that document! I have been in customer service since I was 16 years of age. I am now twenty two and let me just add, there will be CUSTOMERS who will always [censored] about ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING. There will be "ignorant and dumb" customers who for some reason can not READ a single DOCUMENT. Sorry but if you sign any document without reading or understanding the document then you deserve what ever is coming to you lol... and if you don't understand YOU ASKKKKKKKK! goodness... it's easier to [censored] about it, hire a lawyer (sorry you won't get very far grandma but nice try), cry, complain WHA WHA WHA! Get over it. If you don't like how it is run, tuff [censored]. go somewhere else and stop your petty complaining JESUS! I am actually going there later on today to open up a One month contract to tan and guess what I am AWARE I will be paying a PRO RATED amount today and I get 20% off of lotions in which I will take adavntage of lol... AND I am a smart girl who is also AWARE that whatever the $$ may be will then be taking out of my account of JANUARY 1ST! OMG!!! lol... than after january 1st I can cancel... and Even If I wanted to cancel January 2nd... I still get to tan for the rest of the month and I'm worry free of another transaction lol... So with that said... I will be off to the gym in a bit follwed by the place you all HATE...?!?! lol... Let me just add that half of you probably NEVER EVER worked in customer sales like I have. AND I can gaurantee that your the type of customers that NIP PICK every little thing, as though everything you do in your own life is perfect?!!? give these girls a break, if you have a problem, call BBB! lol... you sound pathetic as hell complaining on here... lol!
    Former employee of Suntan City

    SUN TAN CITY IS THE BEST PLACE EVER TO TAN!... Cheap a$$es!

    -3 Votes
  • Yo
    youknowwhoitis Dec 17, 2009

    Former* jesus I can sure spill a few paragraphs but I can't write them correctly lol... god I hate keyboards! Do we have a forum on keyboards? lol

    -2 Votes
  • Ke
    K Emmert Dec 19, 2009

    I have heard from NUMEROUS employees of Sun Tan City that they move their older 'top of the bed' bulbs to the bottom, put new bulbs in the top when it's time to change lamps...this is BS if you're paying their ridiculously high prices...you're NEVER getting a bed with ALL NEW BULBS...you're not going to see your backside as well when you look in the mirror (presuming you lay on your back in the bed)...seems like this falls right along the lines of their sneaky advertising. ANY salon that tries to PUSH you into a specific package by keeping single sessions SO expensive is NOT being honest with their clientele (imo). I will give my $ to the local guys, not the corporate salons which already have plenty of $$$$. I have heard the financial backers of STC include Mr. "Papa Johns". hmmmmmm!

    2 Votes
  • Wi
    Wissing Jan 16, 2010

    Wow-
    Interesting comments, Don't know why I feel compelled to add mine. However, I bet "Victoria" (if she is real) is horrified at what her former employees wrote. The tone of the comments are so nasty (poorly written). The employees who commented must be the girls that think they are hot S***. (No wonder they are not employees anymore.)

    Thanks to the rest of you for the heads up to proceed with caution at STC.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosa Alcorn Jan 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to tell my story with STC. My husband bought me a $25.00 gift Cert. for Christmas, he went to STC. because he seen the upgraded beds (we at one time own my own tanning and gift shop) At first they wasn't going to sell him a Gift cert. without him buying a membership, but finally did. When I went into tan I fiqured I could at least have 4-5 times to tan, boy was I fooled. They started with this thing I couldn't use it without buying a membership. Not wanting to loose the $25. I bought a membership. Something I would never do again. Then they begin to tell me all about all these different things that was very confusing. I started to pay for the balance of the membership minus the Gift Cert. they refused cash and said I would have to pay with a debit card or credit card. I never heard anyone refusing cash. I didn't think about it but now they have my debit card informaton and my fingerprint. Which is totally uncall for. I had time to think about it. And feel like this is totally wrong. I went in today to tan and didn't have my lotion. I picked up a packet which I fiqured it would cost no more than $2. at the most. Much to my surprise the clerk said $7.89. Don't they know we are in a recession and this is a small town. When my 6 months is upI WILL NOT BE TANNING AT SUNTAN CITY. I BETTER NOT HAVE ANY CHARGES ON MY ACCOUNT THAT I DIDN'T AUTHORIZE . UPSET IN BEDFORD

    2 Votes
  • Kc
    KClark3 Jan 26, 2010

    My comment is in response to HappyHappy1, a SunTanCity employee, when she mentioned that if you do not like SunTanCity, you can go to Fusion.

    Well, as the owner of Fusion Tan & Spa in Brandenburg, Ky, I'd like to say that I would be happy to have any of you who currently believe that tanning is a hassel and that great customer service doesn't exist anymore.

    We treat all our clients like family and would like the chance to show each and every one of you how enjoyable tanning in a facility like ours can be. We custom match your lotion with a skin anaylsis to your exact needs for a killer tan, with unbelievable results, while taking care to preserve your skin for years to come. We offer tanning, paint-on tans, hair, nails, facials, waxing, body wraps, massage, and classes for adults and kids: Dance, Kickboxing, Zumba etc.

    We're a one stop shopping experience and our clients think we rock! But then so do they! Give us a call or come by ~ can't wait to meet you!

    Kim Clark
    Kenny Heath
    Owners
    Fusion Tan & Spa
    270.422.3800
    [protected]@yahoo.com

    3 Votes
  • Su
    Suntan citysucks!! Feb 05, 2010

    NO spray tan is worth $40! you can purchase a versa spa for $35, 000. A high end commercial tanning bed costs around $25, 000 plus the cost of replacing the bulbs. So why is a single tanning session $10, yet a single Versa Spa $40. Sorry Tan City!! That math doesn't add up!!

    1 Votes
  • St
    STC H8ER Feb 07, 2010

    To begin with, I was a Salon Director until today at STC. First, I'd like to thank STC for the lovely 5 week training program they so conveniently condensed into 3 days for me. They were so busy buying out Palm Beach Tan, my company before, i guess they forgot to consider, without training, how the hell does anyone transition into a new role? They preached the importance of a good attitude, when my own staff didn't even feel comfortable going to my DM Brandi Maubach because she is such a ### to everyone. ("Ice Queen" as we've coined her.) I mean, if your own staff doesn't want to talk to you because you can't even be courteous enough to say hello to them when they come in for their shift, MAYBE YOU'RE DOING SOMETHING WRONG BRANDI?? just a thought. and then there's this whole idea of their "proven sales strategies". guess what ###s?? I brought in $78, 000.00 in 6 months for Palm Beach Tan and that was without you're elementary/impersonal/robotic tactics. Here's a clue losers...NOBODY WILL BUY TANNING LOTION EVERYTIME THEY COME IN. Not even Miley Cyrus...who tans with STC TN. Point is, and I have been waiting to say this so I am THRILLED i can do it on a blog where there is a hope that someone will know the two losers I am about to call out. #1--BRANDI MAUBACH--DM of STC Raleigh, you are a worthless, ugly, fake BLEACHED BLONDE piece of INDIANA trash. Why don't you take your ugly fat ### back to Indiana so you can attempt to salvage some sad version of a back woods, redneck relationship and get bent so MAAAYYYBBEE when you come back, you'd atleast wear a smile on that snaggle tooth. And might I commend you on becoming DISTRICT MANAGER of an industry you don't even participate in...you're white as a ghost honey. Don't preach to me about how to sell tanning lotions. You're a hypocrite, you're a liar and you're going to be alone for the rest of your life, so you're best bet is to quit fooling yourself, go buy another pack of Camel Crush cigarettes and get to smoking ###, because at best, all we can hope for, is an early demise and a complete refrain of reproduction on your part. And then there is MALISSA SLONE, oh God, what do you say about a 2 foot tall little barking ### like that? To begin, I'd like to say ### YOU and that fake ###ing smile you wear day in and day out. I can't even imagine how EXHAUSTTTIINNGGG it must be for you to have to be the little "cheerleader" when on the inside you just want to scream! It's almost funny to me how you think you're sooo hot because you eat like a man everyday and don't gain weight. I suppose it makes sense though, when I had the body of a CHILD, i had a fast metabolism too. Either way, I thank God EVERYDAY for not having to wear the same clothes I wore in middle school and for growing these things...hmmmm...what are they called again? OH YEAH... BOOBS. Sorry about your luck and don't worry, i'm sure your boyfriend only WISHES he were with a REAL WOMAN and not some sad, little version of it like you are. And just for your knowledge MALissa, (wtf kind of redneck ### is that anyway???)you really would benefit from a could nasal decongestant, it sounds like you do drugs honey and your body doesn't really tell a different tale. In turn, the moral of the story is this, SUNTAN CITY DOESN'T GIVE A FLLLLYYYIIINNNGG ### about their employees. I was fired today for NO REASON and was told I didn't get one. Tomorrow I am going to the Labor Board, and after that, I have a meeting with an attorney. You losers buried yourselves and as I've heard from someone today "Karma is a ###". BUT TRUST ME...not like me.

    2 Votes
  • Sm
    smitty22 Feb 08, 2010

    Info for all of you with complaints about sun tan city (i do as well) just close your credit or debit account and open a new account that they can't touch. They think they can still get the money from you but they won't get anywhere with that I know because I work at a bank and have seen it done with other companies trying to get away with these same practices. Believe me stc doesn't need the publicity of trying to persue claims against former customers in light of all the unhappy customers they have. At some point the bbb will get involved with them. They will not stay in business very many years because of their lack of attention to detail such as changing their bulbs regularly. That is why they have to push the lotion they sell to cover up the fact that the bulbs are dead. Those lotions have self tanner in them. You would tan overnight at home with these lotions without a tanning bed. You can buy lotions that will do the same thing at avon, a beauty supply store or online for a 1/4th of the price. At a quality salon you should be able to get tan even without lotion just by the quality of the bulbs. Also the practice of changing only part of the bulbs in a bed is not good business and if you notice stc never advertises that they have new bulbs because that would be false advertising.

    1 Votes
  • Go
    goldNgirl Feb 11, 2010

    I love STC! The girls are so friendly everytime I go in there. Yah sometimes I have to wait for my bed, but its okay because I love it there. The best thing about stc is the color i get. they have the best best ever. the instant is my favorite!

    -2 Votes
  • Si
    ..Sing.. Feb 17, 2010

    I have worked at a STC before and can honestly say most of the comments on here are false. I DO care about my clients. I always know them by name and the minute they walk into the door I greet them with the common courtesy I would want to be given myself. We do carry the TOP of the line lotions and like the old saying goes, you get what you pay for. for me, I think 68.88 a month for unlimited tanning and unlimited versa spa is incredible. I am not a hot shot just because I worked there nor do I think that I am. The beds are phenominal. Even before I worked at Sun Tan City, that was the first tanning business I was truely comfortable in the environment. Not all STC's are the same but at our salon cleanliness was next to godliness. The towels were always organized, all the beds deep cleaned (with an FDA regulated cleaner), about 9 loads of laundry per day and immaculate front desk/rooms. I overall still use STC and will continue. When we go over a membership agreement you know about the card and you sign the agreement. You have it to look over as we are reading it with you as well.

    -3 Votes
  • Am
    Amandah1982 Feb 20, 2010

    I agree with almost everyones comments on here. The first time I went to Suntan city in Belfast, ME. they were so rude and it almost cost me my job, because the manager was cousins with a guy I worked with, and she made up a huge lie and it got back to my manager. So I never went back and canceled my account...so for Christmas my aunt buys me upgrades to use towards a purchase at Suntan City. I went into their Broadway location in Bangor and was completely MORTIFIED! The way they treat customers is ridiculous! I am in sales, and if I ever talked to my customers the way they talk to people there, I would lose all my customers and probably my job. BUT..by the sounds of everyone elses experiences, thats the way they train people there. To be rude, stuck up snobs. I was going in spending $75 per month and told the girl at the desk that I didnt bring my goggles, that I had them at home and I would bring them in next tanning visit. She wouldnt even offer me a "spare pair" she gave me the choice of buying one for 6.99 or buying one for 9.99. I just can't believe they would lose my business of $75 month over a pair of goggles! I will never go there and I will never recommend anyone to go there! Now my aunt bought all these upgrades and I cant even switch them over to her account! They are horrible!

    3 Votes
  • He
    Heather Feb 23, 2010

    These comments are all true, I worked at Sun Tan City for three months this spring, and it was the most ridiculous job, with the worst hours and pay I've ever experienced. lol, it really was a joke, I was just in it for the free tanning! Thank God I didn't last there, seeing as I don't agree with high pressure sales, I'd rather make friends with my clients, and not bug them as soon as they walk in the door. In fact, my lack of sales was why my "trial period" ran out, but I'm ok with that, I got to tan in these ridiculously expensive beds ($32/visit) that -get this- ...got me the same tan as the $4/visit place down the street that lets me use lotion for free, put my own music on, provides snacks, refreshments, and magazines for when there's a wait! I just keep lol-ing because working at STC was such a joke, I'm just grateful this place was my part-time gig, as the hours and pay is so horrible, I could never imagine someone living off of them!

    Besides ranting about this joke of a company, I can offer some advice for tanners:
    As far as the sales pitch goes, sure, the instant package looks amazing and oh-so-cool, but you really can get the same tan in other booths, you just have to find the right one (hint: STC tanning consultants will never tell you this, but the faster [level 2] booth gives REALLY great color!). Not cool with your credit card getting charged? Get a prepaid card at Walmart. Sure, they are $5, but isn't that worth knowing that if you don't load more money on that card, you're not being charged for another month of tanning? And as far as the high-pressure sales is concerned, just say no =D And sick of being bugged about eyewear? Just buy the damn 50 cent winkies and keep them in your wallet. It's none of STC's business what you do behind the closed door, but they do have a right to make sure you have access to eye protection should you need it. Hope this helps everyone, and remember, you may not agree with everything STC says and does, but those girls are just trying to make a living...and get some free tanning in the process =D

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    Patty Smith Mar 05, 2010

    Sun Tan City is the most unreptuable company out there in the tanning salon business. At the Raleigh, NC locationon on creedmoor road, I have caught the staff smoking in the bathroom and they have no rhyme or reason for how they clean their tanning beds. For example, if you have a fast bed plan, they will check you in and then proceed to check in other clients and then clean faster beds ahead of you. Also, I left a message for the manager and never received a call back. So I talked with an interactive chat person on line and they took my name and number and told me a district manager would contact me. No call back. So I called the customer service hotline and all they said was I signed a contract and was eligible to cancel at any time, but insisted they could handle the issue. Just an awful company and I would never ever tan here again. Unfortunately, we're just about the leave so I will continue to tan because I've paid for it, but bed number 12 at this location has a loud and rickety sound and they refuse to pull it and replace it. Managers don't address complaints and I too was victim to their hard sales. Plus, the day after they sold me my lotion, it was 20% off for a special they had been advertising but never told me about, so it is all about the money and they don't give a hoot about their clients!

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    MRSWT Mar 14, 2010

    Heather,
    I am currently an employee and I agree with you. Used a faster today and loved it, I don't even tan anymore in the instant b/c my color doesn't change. Faster membership is the best way to go. The end.

    -1 Votes
  • Mr
    MRSWT Mar 14, 2010

    2 more months and I'm out of there!! I have never worked as hard in my life for as little pay as I receive, but there's no point in leaving right now since I only have like 2 more months there.

    -1 Votes
  • Pi
    Pissedoff. Mar 15, 2010

    Sun Tan City ripped me off.
    I signed up for a one month unlimited.
    SOME HOW.. I got put on a 6 month stay. They made me pay 120 to quit the contract.
    I'm not the only person this has happened to. It's happened to many of my friends.
    My advice, if you want to go tan, tan at a family owned business.

    2 Votes
  • La
    Lala25 Mar 25, 2010

    Obviously all those UV rays you all have been soaking up have clouded your judgement and common sense call your credit card company or contact your local bank. Have the card shut down as lost or stolen. You'll get a brand new number and "STC" won't have that information. Good luck not getting skin cancer. You are all doing one of the worst things ever for your body. Hope you all enjoy your cigarette you probably have in the parking lot after too.

    0 Votes
  • Ln
    lng123 Mar 30, 2010

    I am an employee of Sun Tan City in southern Indiana. I hate to see that some people have had poor customer service at certain salons, because all of the locations that I've worked at in Indiana pride ourselves on amazing customer service. I particularly know my regular customers by name, and I take time to have a NON TANNING RELATED, friendly conversation with each of my clients. While you may have had the horrible experience of talking to a rude employee, let me assure you that you can not judge an entire company based on a few people. As far as people not liking the automatic payments, we work just like a Netflix or YMCA. When you SIGN an agreement saying that you will tan for six months, we have to have some way to know that you will actually pay for it. However, you do have several options. Once we place your card on file we have NO access to it at all. Your tanning consultant should tell you that you can always come in before the first of the month and pre-pay so that the automatic process does not occur. Also, your tc should have told you that after your first or 6th automatic payment (depending on which membership you signed up for) you have to physically come into the store to freeze or cancel your account. Otherwise, we can not be sure that it is you on the phone.
    As far as requiring eyewear goes, it is a federal regulation. We are required BY LAW to ask to see your eye wear. What you do in the bed is up to you, but we can get fined if we do not ask for it. If you are a loyal, nice customer, most tc's are more than happy to loan you a pair or give you a free pair of wink-ease if you forget yours.
    In regard to the sales, please don't take your anger out on the tanning consultants. We are required to try to make a sale to every single customer. If we don't, we will get fired. However, once the tc goes in to the pitch, simply say "i'm not interested in buying anything today, thank you, " and they should stop while still being respectful and friendly. If you have complaints, please direct them to the client services line, which is better equipped to help you. But like anything, you get what you pay for! our lotions are all great for your skin and help to keep them healthy when you tan. I've talked to many customers who say they will never buy the cheap stuff again because it simply does not work like the good stuff.
    I hope you can all try out STC again in the future and have a better experience.

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    Franchise Mar 30, 2010

    I like sun tan city i go there and i been a member for about a year. some girls that work there are better than others as far as politeness but hell anywhere u go ur gonna get the occassional person who dont give a ### so its really just one of those things. I go in I go out...there pretty nice about stuff but they do try to get u to buy the lotion and me being a sucker that i am buy it lol so its all good but my experiences there are for the most part positive. I do rec. going there because its cheap and my wait time is not long if any. So its all good.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tanhappy1 Apr 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got in on the 9.99 month deal for the fast beds at our local Anderson, IN grand opening. The employees make me insane with their sales pitch, "What kind of lotion are you using today"? Maybe their lotions are great, but I'm very happy w/ my lotion. Daughter is a hairstylist and gets it at beauty supply for ten bux. Also, gets me Hempz there for cheap. No way in hell will I ever pay STC price for lotion, 20% off or not!! And the redheaded, ginger, pure white snob that was running the place a month ago is gone, thank God. But they really do get on my last effing nerve with trying to sell to me. Also, I will never upgrade! Are you kidding me? I've got it made w/ 9.99 a month for as often as I'd like to go in a 'fast' bed. And I am really dark and very happy with the fast bed. I would NEVER recommend STC to anyone, unless they can get the same deal I did.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    tiffany herrell Apr 22, 2010

    me and my mom purchased yearly packages and all n all we love the tanning experience as far as the beds not running for too long but my personal experience hasn't been that great.Everytime i walk in the door I AM harassed about buying lotion.I am well aware i have a 20% discount and i will use it at my convience.They wanna see the lotion, know where it came from, how much it costs.I mean i can understand its their job 2 promote sales but it's everytime i go in there i am harrassed if it wasn't for me purchaseing a yearly honestly i'd probally never walk through the doors of sun tan city EVER again. all i wanna do is tan, believe it or not, thats it.its like u go thru the 3rd degree just 2 tan there.i understand its their job to promote but its not 2 harrass the customers and they need to be explained what the differences in the two are.
    un-satisfied HARRASSED customer knoxville, tn

    1 Votes
  • Su
    sun tan city sucks Apr 23, 2010

    I have an account at suntan city and it has been the worse thing that I have ever done. I have quit going since they make me feel so uncomfortable. they told me that I had so many visits on the instant tan and I didnt and then they told me that I needed to buy this and that everytime I went in there they pushed to sell me something that I didnt need. I called customer service and they was very rude basically told me I was out of luck with the mess up on the visits. when I asked for my money back for the future month that I havent used yet they told me that they couldnt do that.very poor and unethical company!!!

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions