Showcars Fiberglass & Steel Bodyparts UnlimitedTotally ripped off

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Warning!!! Do not purchase or order any auto panels or parts from this company. I and many other customers have been lied to and ripped off. In September 2005 I called Showcars and spoke with the owner Rob Johnson about purchasing a 442 Oldsmobile fiberglass ram air hood for my car. Mr. Johnson lied and told me he has one and in order to ship the hood it has to be prepaid and to have the money, $1,202.68 including tax transferred to his personal account at the TD Canada Trust Bank. So, like a trusting idiot, I did. . . Big mistake!

I patiently waited a few weeks and no hood arrived so I called Mr Johnson and he lied and said that he was having trouble keeping guys to work in fiberglass as they kept quitting. He said it will get done, it will just take time and the one he had in stock was apparently for someone else. I kept calling him about 2 or 3 times a week, and every time I called he had a different excuse for not making the hood. It would take too much time to tell you all the lies and excuses, but you get the picture.

Eight months later, after what seemed like hundreds of phone calls, the hood and wing arrived. The wing I had ordered later and paid for by cheque, made out to Rob Johnson, for deposit into his personal account for $287.83 including tax. This is highly illegal because what he is doing is not reporting the sale of the hood, wing and the tax he collected from me, to Revenue Canada. Mr. Johnson is playing a very dangerous game with the tax department.

When I received the hood and wing, they were so poorly constructed that they would not even fit on the car, I took photos of the mess and shipped them back. I told Mr. Johnson that I want replacements by the end of June, giving him 2 months to make new ones. Well, June came and went and after many many phone calls, I asked him to forget the whole thing and refund my money, which he said "we don't give refunds here".

In late September 2006, just over a year later, he sent a replacement hood and wing. The hood doesn't fit the car. This install was tried by licensed auto body journeymen at a very reputable auto restoration centre. So now I am stuck with this hood that won't fit my car, nor will it fit any other 1970 Oldsmobile. Now I am hearing of other guys that have gone through what I have. So I checked with the Better Business Bureau in Kitchener Ontario, and found that Showcars has 14 registered complaints and is not responding to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Showcars is located at:
258 Attwell Dr. , Unit 4
Otobicoke, Ontario M9W 5B2
Canada
Phone: [protected]
Fax: [protected]
www.showcars-bodyparts.com

Save yourself a lot of grief and money and stay away from Showcars-
Unlimited. I wish I had.

Totally ripped off,
Ron

Responses

  • Do
    Donald Rayburn Feb 25, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RAYBURN RACING NEED FIBERGLASS SPOILER 1972 AMC GREMLIN FRONT

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Alamadre Sep 04, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow! I'm going to take your advice and not order from this guy. I'm glad I found this post/thread. Thanks for the heads up.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dougwilsonconcord Jul 29, 2019

    I ordered a front end and doors for a firebird never got my stuff had to dispute my credit card to get my money back rob is a rip off sorry man I wish he would come to Georgia and he will find out how ga boys handle freeks like him my car is torn all to pieces and can not get it done fast because of him

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    Giulio Feb 12, 2018

    I had a nightmare with this guy a well I would highly recommend never send a nickel to this crook. Wasted a year time & thousands of dollars over a custom AAR hood that he sent to me all messed up

    1 Votes
  • Fy
    fyrftr Jun 19, 2017

    Absolutely, Rob is a creep and dishonest and makes a brutally bad product. There are a number of members of the Monza/Vega forums and clubs that I'm a part of that have had negative and downright criminal dealings with Showcars. I, fortunately, did not get scammed by him as he did not pass my stink test when I talked to him on the phone about a Monza dashpad. There was nothing he said that made me feel comfortable in dealing with him. Lo and behold, the future complaints have piled up on our forums about this guy. DO not, regardless of a great price, deal with this scammer in any way, shape or form. You will lose out in the end. By the way, he has moved to north of Belleville, Ontario, Canada.
    324F Ashley Street, Foxboro, Ontario, Canada K0K 2B0

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    Prowl Aug 21, 2016

    I used to work for Rob Johnston for a few months and hes out of Foxboro, Ontario now North of Balleville Ontario and I can tell you he is the worst employer I have ever worked for. When you make a purchase half the time it will never get taken care of cause he works primariliy on Ebay bids instead of calls or emails. And the money you put into his accounts to pay for your purchases he uses to pay our salaries so thats why it takes so long for you all to get your money back, we are sorry for that also its the only way we get paid or in my case got paid. He would pay us daily normally after every shift soon as your money transfers were complete, and trust me the items he has out back are not worth the time to waste on them as most are left outside in the rain and snow so the rust will gather as well as the dirt. most of the time the stuff he has on his lot he never sells he uses primarily for fibregalss moldings and if you want real parts he will buy them from junkyards and auto shops for cheap and sell them sometimes double or triple what he paid for them. I remember working there and one guy needed something for his suv and it was only about 100.00$ to pay for the part (this is us$ so about $120.00 roughly) and he charged this poor guy nearly 400.00$ and thats 400$ USD!!! and the worst part was this guy was only 15 mins away from the shop, when i had a chance i recalled the guy and told him the cost cause Rob Johnston is a thief a crrok a cheat a swindler and a bs'ing lier to you all and im ashamed i ever worked for the man. His fibreglass shop is somewhere North of Toronto along the 400 im unsure the exact location, I know this cause I have been there and the men making the fibreglass molds are decent guys and they do a good job the sad part is when we get back to the shop Rob Johnston would tweak the parts and there lies the damages...he will sand parts down make holes for bolt-ons and add screens for hoods etc. so the fibreglass isnt the problem nor the guys making them its all Rob. He is the cheapest man I have ever encountered and dont let his bible thumping crap fool you either if this man was any religious man he'd not be doing this to decent customers looking for good parts to fix their cars and other vehicles.

    I feel horrible knowing that the salary I got paid came from all of you that have been taken for a ride by this con artist shyster of a man. My colleagues working for him have no choice but to tell you what he says to tell you or be fired as he wont accept anyones help or second opinions on anything as in his shop his word is LAW and we either do as were told or dont get paid so we only ask that you forgive us for our sad part in his deliberate thievery as we have tried to work with him to fix bad mistakes but with him it falls on smug deaf ears. I beg and implore anyone to never buy anything from this man ever again as all he will do is take your money and we as employees end up with it as our pay making us victim and party to his crimes. We never wanted to end up in his schemes as like anyone else we were legitimate in understanding the place of business but as for his methods they were not our intention to encourage them through our employment with his company. We have over the years tried to work with him to make reparations and fix bad errors and mistakes in judgement but he wouldnt accept any of it. WE ask that you forgive us our sins in following his orders to make our ends meat. We did not ask for such dirty handedness and thievery. But we know we cant fix what we helped him do.

    In closing all I can say is stay away from this bodyshop, its not worth the risk as there are many way better shops around. And note his catalog online is way outdated and most of his parts are no longer existing and the prices are not what they represent online as some have nearly tripled in price so beware the prices on his catalog website are all false for the most part sparing the odd one or two items. And also for record if you want a fast part, as sad as it seems he will ship faster his items on his ebay site them he will by phone or email cause he gets a bunch made especially for his ebay account and stores them onsite at his shop.

    I hope you all find this helpful and if you wish to know more send me your skype name and I will share more if I am able.

    -1 Votes
  • Cu
    cudaclayton Oct 22, 2015

    I also got ripped off by this Joker. I ordered two fenders and a front panel for my 67 Barracuda project back in 06 he quoted me $1, 200 told me you would take two months to build so I sent him a deposit for half down and in a month if I gave him the other half thinking that my project was nearing completion and that I was to receive two separate fenders and the front header panel without any of the fake bumper or trim and I would assemble it myself. After 10 months and dozens of phone calls to show cars aka Rob I finally got my front end but it was awful and I mean bad. It had all the fake bumper and trim that I had requested they did not make it with they sent it to me all as one front clip. None of it fit it was missing mounting brackets I had to cut half of it off and fill giant gaps in the fiberglass. Ultimately I gave up on the whole car because of this and sold it at a terrible loss what I called to complain about it rob was only willing to send me a cheap we made ram air hood scoop and nothing else. I took pictures of everything and documented it all and sent them back to him and what really pisses me off is the whole time he told me that this would look great and to be patient when I called. Every time I call I got a new excuse as to why my project was not done yet 10 months and $1, 200 + $300 + shipping equal severe rip off. Do not trust this guy I hope one day something terrible happens to him because of his shady dealings. I might just make a trip to Canada one day and tell him how I feel in person. Rob if you're reading this watch your back

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilbur Hollins Aug 31, 2015

    Thanks to everyone comments on showcars body parts i was think about order from this company but i saw something that was not setting with me it was some of the compoents that he was showing on his sight i had seen them on other sights, and some was from a company call motion performance back in the early 80s and 90s.I'am glady that i took the time to read these posting on this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Racerspen Jan 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ordered hood, rear wing and integrated fender flares for my 77 dodge van, parts you just cant find anywhere, so I was pretty excited. I have purchased parts from all over the country for decades, I admit I have never bought anything from a Canadian business directly, didnt really think of it being that big of a deal. His website looked legit, he talked a good game on the phone. I wasnt real happy about the pay in advance bs, but I pulled the trigger anyway. I received my hood and wing, though it took months after repeated phone calls to him and excuse after excuse. 2 years after my order I finally gave up on trying to get my fender flares. He stopped answering my calls a long time ago. The whole christian bs should have been my first warning, you dont mix religion with your business, he uses that to prey on christians that think he must be a good christian. Save your stress, time and money, dont even bother contacting him. Rob is all bs.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phil Plummer Oct 05, 2014

    I paid about 1400 bucks for a rear spoiler and two bumpers for my porsche
    this guy would not take visa I sent money order it took 7 months to get product and not one piece was a good enough fit
    My car has never been in accident and some spots were out an inch or even 2"
    Nothing could be used not even for a track car.. the rear spoiler was the worst it had fibers sticking out and had way to much curve to fit on rear lid in anyway we are looking at an inch in height and the line not even smooth.
    My auto body has over 35 yrs exp and he has never seen such bad product. not even in the early 70s when stoners made crap in the garage to try to sell
    What ### !!! tell every body never to do show cars his photo's for product are from reputable sites that sell body parts for vehicles.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wayne o Apr 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    YES i was screwed also & wish i would of seen this site sooner. After 6 weeks they sent the wrong year fender. IT also wont fit. I ordered a 69 barracuda fender & they sent a 67 cuda fender. The fender is junk!!! I am not afraid to tell my name. Wayne cawley i live in pa. I would love to see that place go down but im just a little fish in a big pond.lol

    0 Votes
  • 72
    72 goer Sep 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You can add me to the long list of people screwed over by this thief. Showcars Rob (Sideshow Bob) is a complete fraud! He has no shop, he has no wrecking yards, he has nothing but a cell phone a computer, a website and the a crappy little car. He sold me 2 spoilers for my car. Within 20 minutes or trying to figure out why these things were not fitting, I realized that they were junk, not usable and promptly threw them in the garbage (no kidding!). My car is "pristine" and if these parts were meant to fit they would have. I asked him before taking the 5 hour car ride to pick up the parts: Do they look good to what he stated :YES looks great! Got them in the dark, he handed them to me and he bolted. The next morning what I saw for $350 was the worst "crap" ever seen. Thought OK, maybe needs trimming...NO cannot be used at all. I hate to sound like I am discriminating on the bases of a persons looks but, if most folks would actually see this guy, they would not do business with him as he is NO business man. He is taking advantage of the trust eCommerce is creating out there with the likes of eBay. Someone will eventually take this jerk down as he, Rob Johnston, will screw over the wrong person and it will be "curtains" for Sideshow Bob...Deal with him and he will take your money and if you receive the product it will be like all others have received...Junk! Be for-warned he is not the guy he sounds like on the phone. I usually do my "due diligence" before handing out $$$ but I had just done a couple of thousand $$$ of car part buying on eBay from all over the USA and even some parts from England (did not get screwed for 1 penny) so my guards were down when I cam across this Bozo. Save your $$ don't trust this clown.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Eddie Stakes Jul 18, 2013

    My own experienece with showcars was several years ago but since someone asked me about a 70 ram air fiberglass hood they saw for sale at a east coast meet summer of 2013, thought I would comment. I have what is probably the ONLY NOS SC/360 AMC Hornet ram air scoop left in existence, only 784 total production of the cars, and less than 1/2 had ram air. I thought this might be a good supplier/vendor to try and sent Rob my NOS scoop, along with a sizable deposit to reproduce some scoops for me as this rare scoop had never been done before.

    Rob told me they would make a mold and quickly send back my NOS scoop. In meantime my 71 SC/360 was committed to a number of shows, preregistered. Each time I actually got ahold of him was a new excuse, from 'we are short on help' to 'there was a problem with top mold' to 'guy quit on us' or 'we are backed up' after losing all my prereg money I was supposed to be at, and could not show my car with no scoop and tired of the bullsh*t, I called him and said I was going to file theft charges again him in Harris County, Houston, Texas for the amount of scoop and money sent. We are the death capital of the world here so that got his attention. There would be a open warrant for his arrest in US if he stepped foot out of Canada into US.

    It had been EIGHT MONTHS of bullsh*t and while I am a patient man, that was crap. He called me back same day with tracking number and told me the scoops on way. It was the worst AMC experienece with any vendor or supplier I have ever had in 30 years in business. I have never sent any other AMC person his way knowing they would experienece the same 'send me the money, then wait for eternity' issue. I didn't have issue I may add with the scoop itself, just I do not like being lied to repeatedly and is the only time in my 30 years of AMC business I have EVER had a problem like this with my many suppliers. So I won't, and don't use them anymore. I told the fellow who emailed me about a 70 ram air hood in fiberglass he said he saw at a summer's meet to simply google "showcars body parts complaints" and watch it light up like pinball machine. It ain't only me, a whole lot of people out there have had a most unpleasant experienece with this place thru years.
    Eddie Stakes
    Planet Houston AMX
    www.planethoustonamx.com

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hooter_5 May 21, 2013

    I was looking online to purchase a hood for my Monte Carlo. Found showcars, price seemed right, wanted to keep my money in Canada and avoid duty etc... This story is going to sound like a broken record on this forum. Same ole BS from the guys from above, demands payment right away, says product will delivered within two weeks when 8 1/2 weeks fly by. Receive the product that is supposed to be "paint ready" Far from it, rough junk edges, the hood scoop is 1 inch off the center line and crooked! (the heck is wrong with you!) pits, holes for the hinges are not even close, and it's too small! so my 1000 dollar POS hood is junk, doesn't phone me back, and I'm left with a lighter wallet and where I was a few months ago. Shows that he is a devout Christian on his website, well do unto others as you would have done onto you. Karma will not be fair to you sir. I originally got the impression that he's a guy who maybe bites off a bit more then he can chew, gets over his head, rushes the product out, because I'm pestering him on a daily basis, but the more I read and look into his business, the more I think he's getting $$$ and that's all that matters to him

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dirty south customs Jul 19, 2012

    Wow, just got off the phone with the guy seemed on the up and up was gunna order some hard to find toyota parts, went through the whole spill then i thought it was wierd no credit cards? then he wanted to charg me 10 more percent to use paypal and run it through his buddies account? then not as a seller or purchase but as a transfer? nothing about it seemed right, no c.o.d., no credit and no parts till paid in full, wanted a overnight check or western union or a direct deposit in his account? i told him up front i wasnt comfortable with any of those options because there was no reason other than his word that i would get my part, told him to hold order i would call back tommorow, then i looked him up? glad i dint order thanks alot for the info

    0 Votes
  • Rf
    R Fox Apr 23, 2012

    I was ripped off by this clown (Rob Johnston) as well. I ordered a pair of fenders and a front and rear bumpers for my Duster and made the mistake of sending the money to his TD account to expedite the order. As it turned out the order still took 3 months and the quality was so bad that the parts are unusable. The fit and finish were so bad that I, m sure my 7 year old daughter could do better with Play Doh. Please do yourself a favour and stay as far away from this crook as you can.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fast fred Apr 03, 2012

    he stole from me. rob and I previously talked about Super Stock hood for Barracuda.
    He said yes he can build one, just needs deposit. I drove to his shop last spring2011
    on attwell and gave him $300 towards hood as well as purchasing a glass bumper for $150 that was on hand. the bumper lists at 130 but he says prices are outdated.
    nevertheless, crappy quality bumper and no hood .. all phone calls met with answers like hes moving - maybe next week for hood, gotta buy some more resin next week
    hes got a mould different year maybe kinda adapt modify blah blah runaway, ...
    not nice. we all get what we give sooner or later. He plays the good Christian but is a
    thief.

    1 Votes
  • I0
    i'm a sucker May 24, 2011

    Rob is a sleaseball, I found it fummy he calls & pesters you untill you give him the order.Prepay for goods i guess there are still a few guys out there in the boonies so i sent him$400.00, Of coarse no parts all bull from him every day THE SAME LIES a real looser.I really regreT Ii sent him my $.What a DIRTBAG.PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kansas vega Mar 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i too have been dealing with rob, I ordered my 72 vega front clip from him like July-august 2010. Paid in full, had to send a money order as he said he wouldn't take a check from the US. He told me it would be about a 3-4 week turn around. Now its been 8 months and lies lies lies, says he has no help, said he was moving shop locations, pretty much every lie in the book. I tried to ask for build pics of my front clip but he said he didnt have a camera to do this. I talked to him today and he said that its going to be shipped out tomorrow... Im sure this wont fit but after all this time and money spent i just want something i can try to work with!!!

    2 Votes
  • Th
    thunderboyz Mar 01, 2011

    thanks guys for the imput on this guy...im trying to build a 78 pro street firebird and he wanted me also to deposit 3400.00 into his account right away to get things started...now that you all said the problems you all faced im glad i never went ahead with the order...spending the money and getting junk...id be bringing it back to him personally.it would be well worth my trip and time off...a freal scammer who should not be in business...thanks guys again

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    showcarsfiberglassisjunk Mar 30, 2010

    HE IS STILL A SCAMMER, and up to it, Filled a police report for fraud
    This guy is a JOKE do not use
    he will rip you off

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    vega guy Jun 13, 2009

    The first clue you are getting ripped off is he does not take credit cards

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    vega guy Jun 13, 2009

    Rob told me all of the same stuff he told the other posters . The good news I am only out 600.00. The stuff I got my body man can't even use. Thanks rob great job. Do your self a great service Do not send him any money

    0 Votes
  • Du
    dunncustomz Jun 12, 2009

    I bought a custom one off hood from Rob for my 79 camaro it did take him a long time, i think about 7 months it cost me close to $1, 100 with shipping that was messed up by UPS they are trying to charge me for rural delivery a month later on top of the large charge from canada, another $275.00 after UPS dropped it at my house.
    my hood dont fit very well and i will need to spend more cash to get it to fit right, its tweeked and lifts on the driver side and the nutzerts were full of resin. Its hard to tap a resin filled nutzert and keep the integrity of the thread. i didnt think Rob was a jerk or a crook but a guy who is trying to run a shop and keep it afloat by cutting his work force to keep the doors open. unfortunatly it directly effects the end customers deadlines on custom builds like mine. for those of you that still have items with him call and ask for emailed pictures of the actual project, thats how mine seemed to get done faster.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    john doe 2 May 27, 2009

    I have the same story do not send any money rob is a jerk.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john doe 2 May 27, 2009

    I agree do not send him any money. I have the same story as the other posters.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Doe Apr 21, 2009

    Been waiting much longer than was told it would be. I will repost if/when I get my parts from Showcars Bodyparts. Wont say right nowwhat to fit as Rob J has my money and I have nothing but a glimmering hope. I'm sure he checks this site-wouldnt want him to do something for spite like not ship anything. Same reason I want to remain John Doe until I get parts or give up. If the fit isnt even good-I'd be glad just to get the parts.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    bill esquilin Sep 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree this place is a ripoff i ordered glass fenders for a 79 plymouth volare rob said it will be 2 weeks well it turned in to 4 months i called and called and got nothing this was in 2000 i still have them but there not on the car and im sure you know why this place should be clossed down

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    John Mar 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree. I purchased some fiberglass fenders for a 1967 Barracuda and they were complete junk. After receiving the fenders two months after they were promised, I had the body shop call and ask me what kind of junk I was trying to give them to work with. Rob Johnson is a complete sleazeball and I highly recommend you stay away from his company. I got the same story about guys quitting his shop all the time.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Bristol Dec 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to agree that Showcars is real good at ripping people off... I purchased a fiberglass hood for my '66 Chevy truck and it did not fit well at all and was poorly constructed. I complained and he took the hood back for repair and I haven't seen it or my $ since. I also tried contacting the Canadien BBB and here in the US but there isn't much that can be done I am told.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    rob keller May 14, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please follow this link:

    Showcars Fiberglass & Steel Bodyparts Unlimited — Totally ripped off

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.