Sergeant's Gold Flea And TickHorrible problems to our dog

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

After applying the product to our dog the way the instructions said to, our dog started to have a reaction. He was twitching all over, and salivating profusely. He was running around and seemed to have trouble with his back legs almost like he lost control of them. He could not sit still and was licking at himself and shaking as if he was wet. We were terrified and once we realized that this is a known problem with this product we felt very angry. This product is awful and should be off the shelves!!

Responses

  • As
    Ashley M Oct 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh my god. I used the same product on my 3 dogs today and they have been tormented all day crying and scratching with no relief. The vet said to give them benedryl which I did but it hasnt seemed to help yet. I have given them each 4 baths to try to rid them of the pain. Nothing is working. I want to kill the sargeants gold people. DONT BUY THEIR PRODUCTS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gail Oct 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish i had never bought this crap. All 4 of my cats are having a reaction. One has a bald spot. DONT BUY THIS

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenny Oct 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I put this on my two dogs(westie and lab) and both had problems. The lab keeps shaking her head and is very restless. Our westie is having a really bad time-shaking, crying, scratching, and not eating. I feel terrible and had no idea that a product so unsafe could be kept on the market.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorraine Sergeant Sufferer Jul 26, 2009

    Sergeant knows that they are causing suffering. They are making a profit from hurting innocent pets and creating financial hardships (emergency vet bills) for Good People during a bad time in our economy.
    Stop asking us to look at the label and start reading all the countless cases of sufferings caused by your company.

    See the below 4 News Reports!!!

    http://wkyt.videogenesis.net/watch?v=3499

    http://www.nbclosangeles.com/news/local/Pet_Product_Investigation_Los_Angeles.html

    http://www.myfoxdfw.com/dpp/entertainment/pets/SpotOn_Flea_Tick_Meds_Investi

    http://www.thebostonchannel.com/video/19425432/index.html

    Read these EPA meeting minutes:
    Please everyone read this PDF file. Sergeant knows the pain they are causing!

    http://epa.gov/pesticides/health/spot-on-meeting-may2009.pdf

    More Web Sites to show the record of suffering:

    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/sergeants.html
    http://journal.drfaulken.com/problems-with-sentrypro-xfc-flea-and-tick-medication/
    http://www.hartzvictims.org/2008/01/28/danger-sergeants-gold-flea-and-tick-squeeze-on-2/
    http://aspcacommunity.ning.com/forum/topics/do-not-use-sergeants-gold-flea
    http://dogblog.dogster.com/2008/04/08/sargeants-gold-flea-medication-almost-kills-dogsters-lucky-and-nala/

    Sergeant Stop the Suffering or be Stopped,
    Lorraine

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dog Guy Oct 17, 2010

    Tick season was upon us, and my dog was bringing them inside so I picked up Sergeant's Gold Flea and Tick at my grocery store. Normally, I buy the expensive Frontline stuff from my vet. I figured what the heck, it's cheaper and probably works just as well. Big mistake.

    Within hours of applying the medication as directed to my 100 lb labradoodle, the poor animal was in agony. Crying, whining, shaking, pacing, unable to sleep or even lie down for more than a few moments. He was obviously in distress, and I assumed it was the tick medication. So I shampooed him with our usual dog shampoo twice (once at 2 in the morning). It didn't help.

    In the morning I called the emergency number on the package and was told this was a reaction to the pesticide used in the formulation. I was instructed to bathe the dog 3 times with a grease cutting dishwashing liquid, to disperse the greasy formula of the pesticide. I did as instructed and my dog finally found some relief. In the process of washing the dog late at night, I accidently got some of the residue on my skin, which burned until I too washed with dishwashing liquid. I know what a little of this stuff felt like on my skin - I can only imagine how my dog felt with a full dose.

    The company was helpful when I called and they did help me solve the problem. But I won't be buying this product again. You probably shouldn't either.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lianimal Oct 22, 2010

    I used it on my cat one time. It was awful, she was foaming at the mouth and everything. I won't ever use this product again. Like you said, the company was helpful, but they shouldn't be selling a product knowing it can have such horrible effects on animals.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James 2730 Dec 21, 2019

    Almost killed my cat blisters and blood all around his neck lost most of his hair stoped eating and drinking water vomiting everywhere

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem