Complaints & Reviews

I was bullied on the phone by one their collectors!

They called my house with an automated message that said to call Sage Capital Recovery at [protected]; no other information. I called the number and was referred to a collector named WILSON ROBERTS. He told me that the call was for a collection. When I began to ask him detail questions such as their address, their account number for the collection, who the collection was for, and the dollar amount; he became VERY hostile and rude toward me. He asked me what game I was trying to play. I have a right under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) to obtain information about his company. Plus, any person with any common sense would want to research any company that is calling them trying to collect/demand/solicit any dollar amount of money from them. After a few more questions that I asked, he HUNG up on me. I had to call back a second time to get all of the information that I deserved in the first place. I would hope that the Federal Trade Commission or the American Collectors Association would have some sort of Code of Ethics that debt collectors are required to follow, because this guy had to have violated half a dozen regulations.

  • Always be alert Jul 19, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The treatment you received is common practice for debt collectors. In most cases they don't have the 'media' or paperwork to prove what they claim. They try to scare/threaten/harass you into making a payment over the phone.Getting you to make a payment over the phone creates a legally binding agreement to pay them, that, otherwise does not exist. It's a slick (read unethical, immoral, underhanded) method to manipulate an unsuspecting consumer into paying a debt they do not owe. The way you were treated is proof enough that they do not have the media to prove what they claim. I'd fire off a validation request asking them for two pieces of information 1) Proof that the 'debt' is legitimate, and 3) Proof that they have 'Legal Standing' to demand a penny from you. Type your name at the bottom of the letter, do not sign it. Send the letter certified mail with return receipt requested. It you're in a 'one party' state, I'd consider recording the calls with them, then handing the recording to a consumer attorney in your area (www.naca.net) and make the debt collector to pay YOU for breaking the law! The FTC doesn't do much for consumers when it comes to debt collectors, the ACA is an organization of debt collectors for debt collectors...Consumers have to take up the fight for themselves and fight back on their own, I'm afraid...

    0 Votes

Claim to recover oustanding debt to Sallie Mae

This company sent a leter to me claiming that Sallae Mae had authorized them to collect an unpaid loan amount of $568.13 from loan supposedly taken out by me in 2002. I have no record of any unpaid amount owed to Sallie Mae. I contacted Sallie Mae by phone and mail and they confirmed that my loans are "paid in full". I have contacted Sage Capital Recovery by phine and mail and requested documentation from them fo this upaid loan. They were not able to provide any such documenatation other than a fax f a one page part of a document that had my name and address hand written in in hamd writing that does not belong to me. There was no signature and no documenation of an agreement bewen me and Sallie Mae and no documentation of any amount unpaind or of any request on any date from Sallie Mae or anyone else for payment.
I am certain this is a scam and wish to warn others who recieve any demands for payment from this company to investigate the claim carefully before sending any money.
Please see the letter below from me to Sallae Mae Re: Sage Capital Recovery

March 17, 2011
Sallie Mae Inc.
P. O. Box 3800
Wilkes-Barre
PA [protected]

Dear Sallie Mae Inc.:
Re: Loan to XXXXX XXXXXX, Social Security # XXX-XX-XXXXand Date of Birth, 00/00/0000.
Address: Dallas, TX

I am writing to request that you research your records to determine if I have an outstanding amount that I owe to Sallie Mae Inc. Please refer to the copy of the attached letter dated February 3, 2011 from: SAGE CAPITAL RECOVERY, 1040 Kings Hwy N., Cherry Hill, NJ 08034, that states "Sage Capital Recovery has been retained by SALLIE MAE FINANCIAL to recover the outstanding amount that is owed to them...". Ref.# 280611, amount due: $568.13.
I have no record of any demand from Sallie Mae for any outstanding amount of money. I informed Sage Capital that I dispute this claim and asked for information to substantiate the claim I received a copy of a faxed document dated 2/18/2011 2:30pm page 5/005. Please find a copy of this document included with this letter. The document shows my name and address has been hand-written in hand-writing that does not belong to me, into a "Revolving Credit Plan Agreement" dated May 9, 2001. There is no information that substantiates that I owe Sallie Mae any amount of money. There is no signature of any agreement and no documentation of any demand for payment.
I contacted Sallie Mae by phone on February 21, 2011 at 5pm my local time and spoke with "Ash" employee # C25800 who informed me that there is no record with Sallie Mae that I owe any amount of money. I was informed I would be sent a statement to that effect. I regret to say I have not received anything up to now. I called again today March 17 2011 at 8:16am local time and spoke with "Ruth" (employee # C41715). Ruth told me she could find no record that I owe Sallie Mae any money. However, Ruth advised me to write to Sallie Mae and include copies of the letter and fax from Sage Capital Recovery and that upon receipt of my letter and copies of the documents from Sage Capital Recovery, Sallie Mae would investigate their archived records and write back to me confirming that I do, or as I believe that I do not owe any amount to Sallie Mae.
Sincerely

not honor agreement

I was given a letter of settlement after being told by Ken Carpenter the superviseor whom should not be at all. I later called back and talked to a nicer man and he was able to do what I wanted and make it better for me. I had a boyfriend pay part and the rest due at the end of the month. When I called to pay they were closed not knowing they close early on Saturday and they were not open on Monday due to the holiday. I called this morning first thing and Ken answered and told me to bad no settlement now with nly 895 left to pay because they charge to use a credit card fee of 3%.

So now I have to go to my boyfriend whom thought he was paying for an account that would be settled only reason he would pay and he has to go and chargeback the company for false agreement since the agreement is not going to happen the payment is not going to happen as they are trying to rip him off in the matter I should say Ken since he is mad they were able to do something he could not. Anyone dealing with this company should never speak to the supervisor Ken he is a liar and a cheat and should not be a supervisor his workers are much more superviseor material than him. I will go to the end to make sure that his owner and any other companies know what an evil man he is. Oh did I tell you that I got in this mess because my daughter died in a car wreak and was burned to death so needless to say I was beside myself and I am trying to get back on my feet with such utter disrespect from this Ken carpenter .

I have plenty of proof if needed

  • Ma
    Maggie W. A. Young Aug 04, 2010

    Complaint: Sage Capital Recovery.
    I had a simple question in which I was making a request on behalf of my bank for a document that stated the balance and the payments per month and the day they would be issued. This is so they may flag the account and put a note stating that this particular payment is legitimate, ect.
    I was put on the line with Ken Carpenter to ask a few questions as to how I would obtain this statement and he was abrupt, accused me of speaking over him did not answer my question, then he told me that it is "an issue I need to take up with my bank." (Of course the bank doesn't have the balance of the collection or the amount!) I have never been so confused by anyone on the phone in my life, nor told sarcastically to have a nice day and hung up on. I called back and asked to speak to someone who could be more amiable and the operator transfered me to "Amy." When the line was answered it was Ken again and I asked him if I could speak with Amy. He said no, that I will be talking to him, and that Amy works for him.
    I said ok, well maybe you could help me, I only have a few questions and I was not trying to "talk over you." "I just don't understand what you were saying." He said "I can answer your questions, maybe you just don't like the answers. " I was thinking what answers??!! Then he asked if he could put me on hold for a "second." About 4 minutes go by and I am at the bank knowing fully that he is not going to pick back up anytime soon. My bank made an attempt as well to reach him and was told to call the department tomorrow to speak with him. I am an honest, intelligent college educated person who has some medical debt left with this agency. If anyone has any suggestions on what I should do, so that I may pay a company with better medical debt collection practices, please reply. That representative on a personal level may perhaps be of upstanding character but on the phone, professionally, I have never been treated so crassly.

    0 Votes

shady/illegal collection practices

Receive calls at work from this company for a credit card account for which I have repeatedly asked for verification since I have no record of signing up for or receiving a credit card from them. The caller is rude and keeps calling even after being told to not call me at work. He also left a message that they would seize the property of a non-existent company and force me into personal bankruptcy. I saved the voice mail for my attorney.

  • Jo
    Jose Madre Feb 21, 2010

    The caller said that since the disputed account is a "commercial account" that he can call me anytime and anywhere. I have referred this to the FTC and to the California Attorney General. I prefer not to incur the expense of an attorney for something that is not my doing.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Regina Prentice Mar 18, 2010

    I am counsel for a (healthy - no TARP money) financial institution. It is factual that the process of collecting commercial debts are not protected by the same laws as consumer originated debts. However, I've found that requests for verification, although not required, are typically fulfilled as that is a logical step towards bringing the matter to resolution one way (voluntarily) or the other (involuntarily). I am curious...did they ignore the request completely, or just not give you everything you wanted? As it relates to my position with the bank, I am concerned with fair treatment and the protection of my company's interests. But irrespective to that, I also don't want to pay a higher interest rate on my credit cards simply because others are negligent in paying theirs. This in no way is an attempt to justify that agency not providing the requested information. However, from my experience with requests of this sort a good majority of them are an attempt to protract the collection process. But if you really didn't incur the debt, you really shouldn't have to pay it!!

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    JJen May 25, 2010

    Safe Capital Recovery is the shadiest company out there. They begin the call friendly and a first name basis so you are totally unaware of their tactics. They have threatened me and said that they don't believe me that I don't owe this debt. Ian Rothberg threatened to call me at least 10 times a day everyday until I paid. I have chose to not even answer the phone and let my answering machine screen calls. It is pretty bad when they intimidate and harrass you to no end. I am planning on report them!

    0 Votes
  • A1
    A1 Communications Jun 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have had the experience from this company all were nice until came time to give me the settlement agreement paid in full letter with my final payment. Took partial payment than said to bad that is Ken Carpenter suppose to be the supervisor there. Advanta is a fool if they use them if they have such a jerk for super as the others two men I did things with were much more supervisor material. I could not call their extention due to Ken picking up and being rude as he could be. Please never do business with this man get a lawyer as he is no good person for sure.

    I feel sorry for you but call the phone comapny and they can put the number in to stop you getting their calls

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Boyce Jun 22, 2010

    I was also a member of Advanta, and now I'm dealing w/ Sage Capitol Recovery. I have paid them over $2000.00 in the past 5 months, and that doesn't seem to be enough. My balance was only $6000.00 to start. I sent another $100.00 via overnight only to be told that it was unacceptable. I'm gonna continue to send what I can, but thses people are relentless, and try to belittle you as much as they can. When they get done, they make a person feel like life isn't worth living anymore. This is about to start causing me health problems now. I wonder how they would feel if they know that they have caused people to get sick (literally), so that they can collect there money. I wish someone could step in and tell these folks that it helps alot when they are respectful to there debtors.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maxyz3 Oct 22, 2011

    I recieved a phone call this morning from Jason Aubrey, he was very rude! I am not the person on the account they need to spaek with either.
    I gave them my name..they varified my name is NOT with them listed but was told to contact the person they were calling for and to tell this person not to use my number as a contact number. i SAID I DO NOT GET PAID TO SHAG DOWN PEOPLE FOR THEM NEITHER CAN I CONTROL WHO USES MY NUMBER AS A CONTACT NUMBER!
    oH.. THE BEST PART IS IS THAT i WAS TOLD i OWED THE BILL ! Are they NUTS !
    Does anyone know who I can report them to?

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Sue the jerk May 06, 2014

    Contact and file complaints with the FTC and the New Jersey Attorney Generals office. Also read the FDCPA law. You can take this company to LOCAL court if they keep contacting you after you notify them in writing to stop calling you at work and your cell. That means Sage Capitol has to hire and pay for Attorneys and show up in court in your local area. FDCPA Fair Debt Collection Practices Act is very easy to read and well defined. Trust me there are plenty of Attorney's in your areas who would take them to court on a We don't get paid if we don't win basis, So make sure all documentation is clear and precise. Always get advice from an Attorney before taking any action with this company...

    1 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem