Star Vacation Club Complaints & Reviews

Star Vacation ClubI want to cancel, not become inactive

Hi. I don't want to complain about Star Vacation Club. We received four all-inclusive or partially-inclusive trips free-of-charge with our membership, and we used all but one of them. We also took a trip to Disney World and stayed in a condo upgrade provided by the Club. My issue is that we need to cancel due to the economy. I contacted Star, and they are telling me that they can't cancel the membership, but have placed us in "inactive" status. They advised us to sell the membership. These are my questions: What, exactly, does "inactive" mean? Why can't they cancel our membership? What, exactly, would we be selling? We did not buy any property that I know of. Please, somebody, advise me about this.

  • St
    Star Vacation Jun 09, 2011

    We at Star Vacation would be more than happy to help resolve your issue. Please call us at Member Services- 877-609-7569.

    -1 Votes
  • Zo
    ZoeyEyes123 Jun 17, 2011

    My husband and I had "purchased" a vacation package in March of 2008, and we are still fighting to get this off our credit... only after we had to do all the work of finding and booking our own vacation to Kauai. We were looking at going on vacation in June of 2008, so we had contacted Star Vacations to use their services that we had already given them $$ for and then we still found better deals then they did. So after doing the work our selves, I wanted to cancel their services. I was told at that time (around the beginning of May 2008) that there was nothing they could do because it was passed the 3 day period that we were stuck. How many people actually look at booking vacations conveniently within 3 days of ordering a package? I know I have to wait until I have money to go... and since I just paid them, I really didn't have extra. They also told me they could put my account on an "INACTIVE STATUS" and we could try to get our money back/cancel through BAY FINANCING. We are still trying to get this off our credit 3 years later.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob1973 Mar 04, 2012

    inactive status is alright i havent used it since i bought it im going to try this year. to go active again u just pay a yearly fee.
    you purchased lets say its a vacation policy its yours untill u sell it or just ignore it and never use it.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathi Fry Jun 10, 2016

    my husband and I were duped into this company as well and could not get out out of it and never received anything like they had promised, it has been years and we had to pay the full amount because we were purchasing a house and needed to have that cleared up on our credit.. SCAM

    0 Votes

Star Vacation Clubvacation destination

We were cohursed into a vacation taking friends along. Many hours on the phone with Paul. That night was the last chance. I finally agreed to sign friends not knowing for sure if they would go. I paid our down payment and theirs. They did not go. We invited another couple to go to Hawaii. They were going until his uncle was dying of cancer and they were the only ones to take care of him. I talked to Victor. Told him every thing that happened. That we to were cancelling Hawaii. He said we will start over again. WE will erase that vacation. He gave us until Feb of 2011. We will go to Jamacia for 2 weeks. Victor never got back to me. Every time I called he is in some other dept. I asked for Erik. He set a nice vacation up for us another time at Dominion Republic. I wrote Star Vacation Club on 08/05/10 to cancel our Hawaii trip. I got no response. Now for the complete disaster. We recieved a call the night of 09/15/10 around 9:00pm. She had been trying to get ahold of me earlier. Her name was Sonya. Can't remember what her title was. She wanted to get our trip to Hawaii set up. I said we aren't going to Hawaii. Your are going to Hawaii for 2 weeks with your friends. They aren't going either. They cancelled due to cancer in the family. Sorr about the cancer but you are going to Hawaii. You are booked for 4 islands (wrong) we were booked for 3. We were told we could take 1 island or 4 but if you take 4 you are packing & unpacking to much. So we chose Maui, Hawaii & Oahu . She said we can't. We have 2 bed rooms & 4 islands. I told her we had this all worked out with Victor. You can't change this trip!! I am not going. The conversation got very heated. She will transfer me to her supervisor. That got even worse. She said we couldn't use our friends down payment on our 2 weeks. We would either have to go to Hawaii for a month. Each 2 weeks costing us $2, 596.00 or we could go on 4 trips. I told Victor I don't know who these people are but I won't deal with them. The supervisor or manager was Cindy. By the time we got done we were screaming at each other. I told her to take her vacations and shove it and she told me I will take it sweetie and hung up!!!
This e mail was sent to Victor on 09/17/10. I told Victor we will never do vacations with SVC again. Wish we had never heard of PAUL. I'm not used to being under that kind of Pressure. On 09/08/09 he said it was the last day to book friends. We must have been on the phone at least 2 hrs. A month later I got the same call from a woman!! I said we were already booked a month ago and that was supposed to be the last offer. I said you better keep your records straight. She looked it up and said she was sorry and hung up. I'm sorry I didn't get her name.
We don't have that kind of money to spend. We are trying to enjoy our Golden Years but not this way. I then told Victor I was sorry he worked for such a company. You and Erik were always very nice.
Victor never got back to me. I was very disappointed. I want my down payment back for our friends and ourselves. I sent them
$1, 339.00. We have nothing to show for it but a bunch of grief.
We have been members with this club since Nov. 1998. We have been able to use a hotel in FL. for a week before the rates went up. We went on a nice trip to Dominion Republic and that is it. Every time we called for a condo there was nothing available so we give them a $159.00 maintinance fee every year for nothing. The only smart thing we did was to lock in the maintinance fee!!! They offered us and upgrade on condo's for the rest of our life on Feb. 22, 2006 but what a waste of money that would have been when we could never get what we asked for.
I don't know who is getting this complaint or what good it will do. I would like to hear from some one.
Thanks,
A. Isham
A member of TSN for 12 years

  • St
    Star Vacation Jun 09, 2011

    Ardith... we are sorry that you had a poor experience with Star Vacation. Please contact us at 877-609-7569 If your issues were not resolved when you were last contacted on 4/15/11.

    0 Votes

Star Vacation Club — scam

I was told there would be no presentation, 90 minutes later I declined the offer and was given my "gifts" A...

Star Vacation Clubit's agood deal not a scam

i was called last month regarding a free vacation from star vacation... at first i thought that this is just a scam... but it wasn't!!! out of my curiosity, i decided to attend the presentation, when i enetered the place i was too nervous with the presentation thinking that they will force me to buy something!!! but then, , i enjoyed the presentation and had a good conversation with the presentor, , as he said " they can't please everybody". they are just trying to give away vacations, and i felt so sad for them. BECAUSE FOR ME THEY ARE JUST GIVING SAMPLE VACATION FOR US TO ENJOY!!! NOT TO CRITICIZE!!! have a goodheart for them, they are trying to please you!!! they can just say that this is a scam but not, , if you will give the chance you will know it!!! and realize!!!

  • Jo
    joe Jul 25, 2008

    ha ha ha ha

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacqualine Ramirez Aug 26, 2008

    I went and joined to many people complain without even giving them a chance. Ever sweepstakes or contest even the ones on tv or a store like menards or something says in little letters that you'll be liable for the taxes or the prize i mean come on do you expect them to pay your mortgage bill to. in the long run ive saved money and my family loves it so stop complaining if you dont understand it than say that, or maybe you just couldnt afford it and are mad.

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubFRAUD, SCAM

THE COMPANY BETTER KNOW AS STR VACATION CLUB IS NOT WHAT THEY PORTRAY TO BE. I WORKED WITH THE COMPANY AND WAS SO EXCITED AT FIRST, THAT I BOUGHT A PACKAGE. DUMB MISTAKE. SCAM, FRAUD, RUN AND HIDE AND FROM THIS MASTER MANIPULATION OF A FRAUD. HOW DARE YOU PUT US IN THIS SITUATION AND REALLY HAVE US LIE AND TELL MORE AND MORE LIES. LETS PROSECUTE THE COMPANY TO THE FULLEST EXTENT OF THE LAW. IT IS A PROGRAM I JUST SAW ON THE TV. CALLED AMERICAN GREED SCAM IN AMERICA. WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO PUT THIS ON THE STATION. I AM GOING TO DO WHAT EVER I HAVE TO DO TO PUT AN END TO THE FRAUD. I KNOW A LOT OF THINGS. ANYONE READS THIS YOU CAN CALL ME AT [protected] ANYTIME UNTIL 10PM EST.
WE NEED TO STOP THIS PLEASE

  • Sa
    Satan Apr 04, 2008

    i spoke with them. just ended my call and i decide to Google. its a scam.be aware!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Golden Oct 23, 2008

    I did this too, and followed all the instructions for the gas card and now they are telling me i did not include a self-addressed stamped envelope, which i did, and my gas card is null and void. i want to file a better business bureau complaint against them and take them to small claims court, but i only have a po box number for them in Geneve Illinois, called Incentive Marketing Group. Do you have any phone numbers that i can have where i can get ahold of them, or get ahold of star vacations? any info you have will be very much appreciated. i am sooooo mad

    0 Votes
  • Mg
    mgraham Nov 15, 2008

    My sister has a mental problem and went to this on her own, they got $6, 000 out of her before I could do anything.

    Now they are no were to be found.

    I think a class action suite would work wonders and save others.

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    gww Feb 02, 2010

    I totally agree - they got us in Vegas - $3000 we booked three "cruise deals" another $2600... so far - the runaround... they never have the crrise available that is asked for - yet - it is available directly from the creuise line . the last straw was when the Promotions Department, MARY, said she could get the cruise we wanted and the date. It also required an addition $2-300 per couple... We booked ourselves for less than we had paid for the Promotional Package...

    Class action suit sounds good to me...

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Piano L Feb 19, 2012

    They sent us the most conflicting Email I've ever seen. We are not members, I don't think, but own
    Timeshare which, apparently is associated with Star Vacations, which we didn't know. We're pursuing legal action.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Piano L Feb 19, 2012

    We received the most contradictory Email from this outfit I've ever seen. Apparently, they'
    re associated with other Timeshares, which we did not know. Fortunately, we are not members, but can't figure why they're commenting on something we own.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Star Vacation ClubLies, lies and lies

I am completely appalled how these people can do this. I am a seventeen year old high school graduate who answered their call 3 days ago. The person who told me that I had won one of the "5" guaranteed prizes even ended up giving me his private cell number to contact him for information about this. They said I could've won either an APPLE IPOD TOUCH, $20, 000 GRAND PRIZE, $500 CASH, 3 DAY TRIP, and who knows what other thing they threw in. I was more excited at the fact that this had been the first "set of good news" in a while... My father had just been injured again at work. His works comp check hasn't come since january. Some ignorant girl rearended me and its a 4000 dollar hit which her parents are arguing to pay for. This is middle class. Thats what it means to be in the US nowadays and it breaks my heart to know that these kids [because the guy that told me about he supposed prize is only 19] are lining for 10 dollars an hour [he told me his wages] and have no remorse for it. Luckily, I have tried to get in the mind of this guy and ask him why he chose to be aliening marketer and he replied a job is a job...

But i don't agree with that, with my persuading arguments about why this type of "job" if you wanna call it that, is wrong,
hes been able to realize what horrid things he has been causing for innocent people... my appointment would've been with my father at 1030 today, saturday the 14th of june, but thanx to a quick little google search and the complaints of all you generous people who took the time to type in their feedback and situations... you prevented me and my father from wasting our time, gas, and energy.

I sincerely thank you for it. I know I'm just 17, but this type of thing is something that affects anyone, regardless of age or location.

FYI:
The office they were planning on sending me and my father was the following

Star Vacation Club
1920 Thoreau Dr. N
Suite 151
Schaumburg, IL 60173
847.303.5721

They offer many incentives, like $50 gas rebate, dinner for 2
all untrue.

Please, beware of all this stuff... I can't believe how easily i almost fell into the trap.

  • Ab
    A big scam beware Jun 19, 2008

    I recieved this call today telling that I won one of five prizes and had to go to STAR Vacation the one in Gauadoulpe street in Gilber Arizona. I believed them at the beginning. Then I decided to go to the computer and check the name of this company and luckily I found the complains. I have doubts and they come true. Beware anyone who gets this call they are robbers.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emerson Jun 20, 2008

    ... I 've got the same thing this week, they call me twice already, I told them that was too good to be true !I guess the comments above just confirm my doubts about this people !!
    Thank you !

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Snider Jun 27, 2008

    I also received a call that I have been pulled out of a contest to receive some gifts; all I had to do was spend 90 minutes learning about there company and that sounded fine to me. So I booked my time and visited the office in Gilbert. Now they did try to sell me, but when I declined to sign up they gave me my gifts and I showed myself out. I received an all inclusive-vacation to Mexico, $50 gas voucher, and $25 dinner. The only out of pocked was the taxes on the trip by law I have to pay so I'm not mad about that at all. End of story.

    Now i have read many postings about people complaining about this company and I think I have found something in common with you all. YOU ARE CHEAP AND BROKE!!! Like this kids sob story about him and his broke ### Dad. It makes me sick! Also I'm sure they asked his age and income just like they asked me, and he lied just to get the gifts.

    If you don't want to spend 90 minutes and a couple pennies then don't be a parasite!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PA Jul 18, 2008

    I almost fell for it too. I cancelled 5 hours before my appt tonight. . Michael didn't tell me until my third phone call (to confirm the facts) that this event was sponsored by Star Vacations, not IMG as I was orginally told.

    I just wondered how I would feel if I won the big prize and had to give them my SS# for the IRS form. I knew I couldn't do that - so I cancelled.

    After I cancelled, I googled Star Vacations and came across this site. Thanks for posting your messages.

    The office I was contacted by was:

    Star Vacation Club
    1920 Thoreau Dr. N
    Suite 151
    Schaumburg, IL 60173
    847-303-5721

    Incentives: $50 gas rebate, dinner for 2
    Prizes: Apple IPOD, $1000, 3 day cruise, $20, 000

    Thanks again
    PA

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leftfield101010 Jul 18, 2008

    Anyone who believes in a free lunch needs to get a freakin grip! NO SUCH THING! Always strings attached.

    0 Votes

Star Vacation Clubrip off

This company is a scam...they lie to you & make vacations look affordable...however truth is you wind up paying for something that you can get better prices for elsewhere. I fell for it & charged $6, 000.00 to pay for this...then had a personal emergency that took my money...I called the company to cancel & was told to mail everything back to their main headquarters which I did...I also filed a dispute with my credit card company assuming they would handle it...well they did, they took back the charges & star vacation club didn't respond at all to them...Now almost a year later a Collection Agency in St. Joseph Mo is hounding me & adding on additional fees. I have no contact numbers and am angry & upset & want this resolved...Do they talk to you? NOOOOOOOOOOOOO only when they collect your $$ & then you hear nothing from them...They lie & I was stupid to fall for it..Stay away from them!

  • Je
    jean irving Apr 03, 2008

    I HAVE READ A LOT OF COMMENTS ABOUT STAR TRAVELS BUT IT'S SO IRONIC BECAUSE MOST OF THEM ARE NEGATIVE ONES. BUT AS FOR ME I HAVE ATTENDED THEIR PRESENTATIONS MONTHS AGO AND IT WAS A GOOD EXPERIENCE FOR ME!!! I WENT TO THEIR GILBERT BRANCH ON A SATURDAY NOON AND SINCE I CAME THERE EARLY, THEY EVEN GAVE ME SNACKS WHILE I WAS WAITING. AND ABOUT THE PRESENTATION, IT WAS VERY INFORMATIVE, THEY USE NICE HOTELS AND THEY HAVE VERY FABULOUS LOCATIONS. AND YES I DID RECEIVED A NO COST VACATION!! WIHTOUT BUYING ANYTHING FROM THEM. SO I HOPE EVERYBODY ELSE WILL HAVE THE SAME EXPERIENCE I HAD!!!

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Sep 04, 2008

    We went to a "promotional seminar" where everything sounded wonderful. They can save you thousands of dollars on vacation packages.

    We signed up. Once we had finished signing everything, we were then told that it takes about a week to get everything processed...however, in the fine print, you only have 3 days to cancel the contract...go figure, huh?

    Well, when we got home and I looked over everything, we decided that it was too risky to wait the week, so, we sent back all of our materials that they gave us along with the cancellation letter the very next day. We sent it certified mail, return receipt just like you are supposed to do.

    Now, we are getting calls from a collection service and they are telling us that it was not a valid cancellation and that we owe them over $4, 000.00.

    Be very careful if you ever sign up with them!!!

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubScam and cheating!

Watch out they are a scam!!! Can't say this enough. We received a call... you are a finalist. Blah, Blah, Blah guaranteed one of four awesome prizes!!! Got to the prize pick up location and they immediately wanted our IDs, Credit Card #s, and our Check book! We ran for the door! With that information at their disposal they could get credit cards in your name, home loans in your name... sell your identity. The list is endless.

No Purchase necessary - just everything else you worked so hard for... avoid them like the plague!!!

  • Li
    linda Apr 03, 2008

    THOSE PEOPLE ARE FREAKS! i NEVER WENT TO ANY CLASS WITH THEM OR GAVE INTO THE STUPID SCA BUT THEY CALLED MY HOUSE ASKING MT AGE MY SCHOOL I WENT TO WHO MY BOYFRIEND WAS AND YRIED TO TELL ME MY MOTHER IS A BEAUTIFUL LADY AND E IS IVING HER A FREE VACATION!! SOUND LIKE ALL THE EMPLOYEES THEY CAN FIND ARE SEX OFFENDERS.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Snider Jun 27, 2008

    Ha ha, are you afraid of your shadow too?

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubScam winnings!

Like the others listed on the posts about Star Vacations, I received a phone call telling me I was a prize finalist. I called and heard the song and dance about having to show up for the 90 minute award presentation. Being skeptical, I started checking the internet for information on this company. There is none. That was when I found the complaints on this board. I called them back and asked for a website. They told me they did not have one, but could e-mail me some info. Here is a copy of what they sent...

We at Star Vacations would like to congratulate you for being a recipient of one of our gifts. As a Guaranteed recipient of one of our gifts, you are going to receive a Sweepstakes Scratch-Off Ticket. This ticket will reveal which one of our five major gifts you will receive.

If you would like to contact us, you may reach us at
[protected])

THIS IS NOT A LAND, TIMESHARE, OR CAMPGROUND OFFER.

Sound Too Good To Be True?

As a full service travel agency with offices nationwide, we are fully aware of the often-quoted adage, “If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.” Unfortunately, these days, we all have a right to be suspicious and should be cautious. Allow us to explain why and how we offer gifts worth hundreds to thousands of dollars. We have experimented with direct mail, and do you know, the national average is that 300 letters are mailed in order to get just one guest to attend our introductory seminar?

Did you know that a 60-second commercial on network TV during prime time runs between $12,000 and $80,000, depending upon the show, the time slot and the season? We have considered newspaper advertising and you might be surprised to learn that a half page ad in the Sunday travel section can cost over $12,000.00. We explained all that to say this: This is actually the most cost effective for us to give you a quality gift package then to spend tens of thousands of dollars on advertising and advertising agencies. If we were to spend all that money on commercials or printed advertising, you may or may not ever see it; and most importantly, most likely would not ever respond. The bottom line, it is more cost effective for us (and more beneficial to you) to spend our advertising budget on a nice gift for you than some expensive advertising campaign or promotion that may or may not work.

Finally, you should also know that we would not risk our reputation by attempting to deceive you. We have been in business for years, are members of numerous industry and civic organizations and associations and fully, bonded, registered, and insured.

What to expect. While you are here you will hear a brief discussion on our discount travel club and various worldwide vacation opportunities for your entire family. We will show you how to create your fantasy vacation in comfortable, exotic locations, at affordable prices. Our representative will gladly answer any questions you may have and assist you in any way possible. Upon completion of the presentation, prizes will be awarded. Again all prize recipients must claim their prize in person with 2 valid forms of I.D. Remember your prize is guaranteed, and you are under no obligations. No children or guest allowed because of insurance purposes. Expect to be in and out within 90 minutes. You must arrive 15 minutes early to register. In addition to your gift you will receive a bonus gift, which is a $500.00 Internet Shopping Spree.

Terms and Conditions.

This promotion is open to all married, single, and cohabiting adults. If married or cohabitating, both must be between 25-70 years of age and have a combined annual income of at least $50,000. If cohabiting, BOTH must possess photo identification with the same physical address. If single, you must be between the ages 25-70 with an annual income of at least $50,000. We do not have facilities for children, pets, or uninvited guests at this time. Two forms of identification are required. Acceptable identification is a driver’s license/photo ID and a major credit card (Master Card, Visa, American Express or Discover) or an established checkbook. United States residents only, limited to one premium per household. All recipients will be responsible for any applicable taxes associated with the premium they receive. The Awarding and Presentation start promptly so please arrive on time to be registered, and complete a brief travel survey. Any questions please contact this office at [protected].

Individuals not meeting these qualifications will not be allowed to attend the presentation or receive the gifts.

So, I would suggest that you heed the advice from the other posters on this company and stay far. far away.

  • Ne
    Neicy Mar 21, 2008

    I totally agree with EVERYONE on this company! I guess nothing from nothing leaves nothing. The GOOD thing is I DID NOT GIVE THEM A DIME!!! SAID NO TO EVERYTHING!

    That's probably why I have not received the free gifts. I am going to that office and sit outside and pass out flyers to warn people of their practices.

    How dare them to call people, get them to come to the presentation and not even give what they promised. Just think how they will run u around if you paid the money.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daisy Jun 13, 2008

    I am completly appalled how these people can do this. I am a seventeen year old high school graduate who answered their call 3 days ago. The person who told me that I had won one of the "5" guaranteed prizes even ended up giving me his private cell number to contact him for information about this. They said I couldve won either an APPLE IPOD TOUCH, $20, 000 GRAND PRIZE, $500 CASH, 3 DAY TRIP, and who knows what other thing they threw in. I was more excited at the fact that this had been the first "set of good news" in a while.. My father had just ben injured again at work. His works comp check hasnt come since january. Some ignorant girl rearended me and its a 4000 dollar hit which her parents are arguing to pay for. This is middle class. Thats what it means to be in the US nowadays and it breaks my heart to know that thse kids [becasue the guy that told me about he supposed prize is only 19 ] are lieing for 10 dollars an hour [ he told me his wages] and have no remorse for it. Luckily, I have tried to get in the mind of this guy and ask him why he chose to be alieing marketer and he replied
    a job is a job...
    but i dont agree with that, with my persauding arguments about why this type of "job" iof you wanna call it that, is wrong,
    hes been able to relize what horrid things he has been causing for innocent people..
    my appointment wouldve been with my father at 1030 today, saturday the 14th of june
    but thanx to a quick little google search and the complaints of all you generouds people who took the time to type in theri feedback and situations...you prevented me and my father from wasting our time, gas, and energy.

    I sincerly thank you for it.
    I know I'm just 17, but this type of thing is something that affects anyone, regardless of age or location.

    FYI:
    The office they were planning on sending me and my father was the following

    Star Vacation Club
    1920 Thoreau Dr. N
    Suite 151
    Schaumburg, IL 60173
    847.303.5721

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Snider Jun 27, 2008

    I also received a call that I have been pulled out of a contest to receive some gifts; all i had to do was spend 90 minutes learning about there company and that sounded fine to me. So I booked my time and visited the office in Gilbert. Now they did try to sell me, but when I declined to sign up they gave me my gifts and I showed myself out. I received an all inclusive-vacation to Mexico, $50 gas voucher, and $25 dinner. The only out of pocked was the taxes on the trip by law I have to pay so I'm not mad about that at all. End of story.

    Now i have read many postings about people complaining about this company and I think I have found something in common with you all. YOU ARE CHEAP AND BROKE!!! Like this kids sob story about him and his broke ### Dad. It makes me sick! Also I'm sure they asked his age and income just like they asked me, and he lied just to get the gifts.

    If you don't want to spend 90 minutes and a couple pennies then don't be a frickin parasite!

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubScam!

Don't buy into Star vacation Club!!!!! This is one of the worst decisions I have done in my life. They will lie to you in the presentation and make you feel like this is a great vacation club that its going to save you a lot of money, etc. They assured us that we would get 50% off any hotel in the world. Well, their rates are actually the same or sometimes even more then the rate I found in the internet. They also told us we would be able to be spontaneous and make reservations 24 hours a day 7 days a week at any time. When we called their 24 hour 7 days a week hotline on a Saturday needing a place to stay, we got a recording telling us that their offices opened monday through friday. I don't recommend this club at all. If you already bought into it then I'm sorry and if you haven't, DON'T!!! Oh, their price is a scam too! Please tell as many people as you can to never buy a Star Vacation Club membership!

  • Je
    Jenna Apr 16, 2008

    No, I didn't attend their 90-minute presentation to get "free coffee and snacks." No refreshments were offered! The sales staff was very friendly and kind to us...until we turned down their $8995 offer (which was then "generously" reduced by $2000). Then they became extremely cold and accusatory. I had been promised a "free gift" and a "free $100 gas voucher." To get the "free gift" - a 3-day vacation - I am expected to pay $50 per person. To get the "free $100 gas voucher" I had to mail in the form, then receive another form, mail that in with my choice of listed gas stations (what do you want to bet that their "listed" stations are not in my town??), wait to receive another form from them, visit the "chosen" gas station and spend $100 in one month's time (OK, that's not going to be difficult), then turn in the gas receipts and wait for my $25 coupon. Are you getting the picture? I must jump through hoop after hoop after hoop...is it no wonder that people are skeptical of this company? I'm so glad I went with my gut feeling and turned them down. The last representative I dealt with that night reminded me of a gangster - in looks and actions. He was a very scary individual. I felt sorry for the single girl who attended the presentation that night. At least I was with my big, strong husband! If I ever feel the need for a cheap vacation I will go to lastminutevacations.com or some other reputable, non-pressure agency.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elizabeth May 03, 2008

    Cant thank you all enough for taking the time to post your experiences on this board. You just saved me 2 hours and a big headache! I distinctly asked, and was distinctly told, that this was for "a new travel agency in Gilbert. We are not trying to sell you anything" I said, "then who will be?" "No one!" I should have known better. Glad I did some snooping around and found this site before wasting my time. THANK YOU!!

    0 Votes
  • Dx
    dxdua Jul 07, 2009

    wow-what a terrible company-my husband and i have been fighting with them and our bank for months-not to mention being turned over to collections-it is terrible-they are a scam-we too, were told we had won a prize-drove for several hours to get there, and this is what we ended up with-headaches, and debt-i advice all of you out there-do not get involved with star vacation club!!!

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubFraudulent promises!

My membership to date has been nothing but disappointments. We spent far too much to 'join' the club for NOTHING! I may as well have taken the money and ripped it up and thrown it in the ocean with similar results! Upon renewing (I rue the day) I received The Vacation Club Savers Guide that had the following sticker attached.

DUE TO A PRINTING ERROR
PLEASE DISREGARD THE
EXPIRATION DATES.

Of course, they are not usable since they are already expired!

I was urged (very strongly) to take advantage of 'yearly' promotional specials. Unfortunately I bought two. I was told that I could change trips as long as I paid the initial $499.00 each time. You have had MY money this entire time! I recently called to book a promotional cruise. The representative Kindy? was pushy, arrogant and totally unlikeable. She stated that if I did not make the reservations immediately I would 'lose my place'. What the heck does that mean? She didn't even know which cruise or trip I wanted at that point. I did not appreciate this type of 'salesmanship'. I am in a service industry on a commission only income. If I treated my customers/clients that way, HARD SELL/HIGH PRESSURE TACTICS, I would not have any left.

Upon some superficial research my guests and I found that we could purchase the same exact cruise for over $100.00/person less than the club's promotional price! I was astounded and disappointed yet again. This is the second occasion that we found a trip less expensive at a random website.

I have left several messages with customer service for a supervisor to call me regarding the above issues. To date I have not spoken with anyone except the customer service representative.

At this point I am prepared to go to small claims court AND THE MEDIA, BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU and any organization that will protect the public from being financially harmed by companies like yours, to demand a refund of the $998.00 paid for the promotional specials on the grounds of false information and $3500.00 for the 'club' membership for false promises.

  • Jo
    joe milana Mar 10, 2008

    my fiance and i were conned into paying $6000 for this "star vacation club". It's been nothing but a pain in the ###!!!! Trying to book a trip,even trying to navi-gate the web site is an adventure. We find better bargains with a travel agent and they are not as rude as the "people" in customer service. I'm gonna use this as a very valuable learning tool.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    james rooney Oct 06, 2008

    i believe this company in currently involved in a class action lawsuit regarding its employees pay and lack of it this company needs to be brought down

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alexandria Oct 11, 2008

    I too was a victim of Star Vacation Club. I've tried the BBB, FTC, and Attorney General and no luck. Do you think we can get enough people together for a class action lawsuit to get our refunds??

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubIt's a fraud!!!

I received a call from an "Awards Verification" company, congratulating me on winning a prize. "One of four prizes will be awarded," the call informed me. "Go to the prize pickup location and you will leave, guaranteed, with one of four prizes. You will have to listen to a 90 minute sales presentation, but you will receive your prize whether you sign up for the product or not."
As soon as I arrived at the location, in Park City, Utah, things didn't seem right. The door greeter didn't ask me for a claim number, as the caller had told me, instead they asked to see two forms of ID, including a credit card. After the presentation, they handed each of us an envelope filled with lame "rebate" offers, like one for $100 gas rebate, but nothing that the caller had promised.
If you get a similar call, DO NOT BE DECEIVED. DO NOT GO. Above all, DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH THIS COMPANY!

Star Vacation ClubDo not buy into this scam!

I have to say that I also sat through a presentation and being stupid I signed up for this fraudulent vacation package. Just like everyone else said, you get a phone call saying you won one of the 5 prizes and all you have to do is come to our office in Mesa and show 2 forms of ID. I was asked to show a copy of my DL and my checkbook. I should of known by then this was weird.

Never the less I stayed for the presentation and somehow they got to me to buy into this condo package for $3995.00. I signed the papers and then after looking for more information on the internet found out that you can't even find them on the internet.

No address for the Mesa/Gilbert office... How strange! So I decided to email Star Vacation from my card they gave me when I signed up. I told them I wanted to cancel this contract and I was told there was no way out. I argued with them that they have to have a cancellation fee of some kind. They said nope you will never be able to get out of this contract. I said oh yes I will and I wrote a letter to the BBB and the Attorney General.

I also called the Credit Union that I got the so called loan from and they said I had to call First Funding and they gave me a phone# which I called and got an answering machine saying hello I'm the manager and leave a message and I will get back with you. So I left him a message saying I want to cancel my loan with the Credit Union regarding the contract with Star Vacation Club. I received a phone call back from this guy who said he was with First Funding and I said I want to cancel my loan because Star Vacation Club is a fraud. He said NO they are not and I said YES they are. He said I can't cancel your loan until I receive written agreement from Star Vacation Club and he said have you contacted them regarding this? I said yes I have and I also contacted the BBB and the Attorney General. He said you can't cancel this loan until I hear from Star Vacation Club.

I said ok, but I'm not paying for this loan. He said oh well, it's your credit. I said yep and you will not receive any money from me. So right now I'm in the process of getting this contract canceled and will get lawyers and everyone I can get to help me get this contract canceled. I will not ever give up on this nor will I pay my loan that I will never use. If anyone has any good advise I can use, I would greatly appreciate it. Email me at chris.[protected]@lensco.com.

  • Jt
    j tate Aug 09, 2007

    I am a member Chris here in Florida they truly are not a scam there web site is starvacationclub.com and just to tell you they will deliver on your vacations.

    Cliff.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    keenan linder Sep 06, 2007

    These guys went into my account after i told them i wanted to come into their office, and make the payments if i wanted to keep their service. They said ok fine, when will you come in and make that payment, i said friday, you think they waited, no they went into my account any way, and guess what you can't cancel, you are stuck, and you can't get your money back. There is nothing in life for free, but when you say it's free, it better be free. My advice is if you go to this scam don't sign up, please don't sign your name and give them your card unless you are sure. Now that I'm stuck in this program, i am now trying to negotiate the price per month, drop that for me. You sign, and give up your card you are stuck they don't tell you that, and the prizes aren't free, u find me some one that won a car, or the money, no, everyone gets a trip that's not free at all, and the you know what star vacation club, said, oh, thats another marketing company, that has nothing to do with our program, well hell, it was you, and your program that called me. So, you lied, for the marketing company. Star vacation club has over 60,000 members, the question is ,how many of them were suckered by you, and forced to stay with you, because you do not give them their money back. This is American Corporate terrorism. Sell you a dream, you like the dream, you get three days to think about it, after you sign the dotted line. Then no matter what the money is theirs, and you know what their customer service department said, you don't have to pay us any more, don't keep up with the rest of the bill, it's your credit, and that's where well get you. so since i am stuck along with probably thousands of others forced to stay with this club, might as well try to enjoy, but its hard to do that when you know that you just got GANGSTERED OUT OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. Let me know if there is a massive LAW SUIT or something out there, because sign me up. So BEWARE STAR VACATION CLUB, BEWARE, AND IF THEY CALL YOU, TELL THEM DON'T CALL ME AGAIN, BECAUSE WE CALL POLICE.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicholas Boodris Nov 27, 2007

    I want to thank all of you who posted a complaint about Star Vacations. I received a phone call like all of you, told me I had won one of 4 prizes, the first one being a Navigator. I was about to go to the presentation tomorrow until I decided to look on the web. There is an unbelievable amount of complaints about this company. I was told to bring a credit card, check book and drivers license. I want to thank all of you for posting your complaint because I probably would have been suckered also.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    Khalil Jun 05, 2008

    Yup, I got the exact same info, Nicholas. Navigator, TV, Trips, and some petty cash. Eff this scam. Don't buy in. I'm avoiding this the easy way like those who are reading. Utilizing the internet. Good job everyone!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Snider Jun 27, 2008

    Did you even read the contracted befor you signed it? Probably not, because if you did you would have seen that there is a canelation period. You missed it because you're idiots! Maybe you should read things in the future. I'm glad you will never get your money back.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Jun 27, 2008

    Hey Rob. You sound like a real d$#%. So all the comments are from satisfied customers? When your done blowing all your Star friends be sure to take a long shower... and I hope you don't get all of it off either.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Oct 14, 2008

    Well we are mature arnt we Joe?? Upset becuase Rob was right? hmmm...

    0 Votes

Star Vacation ClubBuyer beware!

I also attended a presentation at the Gilbert branch at 1450 W Guadalupe. The free gifts are definitely not free. You cannot find a telephone number to contact anyone at their website. I only got the number because a friend was foolish enough to purchase. The customer service number is [protected] although I found them to be of no assistance. The telephone number to the local branch in Gilbert AZ is 480.4979955 (answering machine).

Buyer beware! I am so glad I did not purchase from this company. I suggest that anyone who is seriously considering buying (I was) that you check their website, call their customer service, check it out with the attorney general/BBB, online reviews. Doing your research may save you aggravation, time, and money.

  • Ch
    Christine Davidek Jul 26, 2007

    I have to say that I also sat through a presentation and being stupid I signed up for this fraudulent vacation package. Just like everyone else said, you get a phone call saying you won one of the 5 prizes and all you have to do is come to our office in Mesa and show 2 forms of ID. I was asked to show a copy of my DL and my checkbook. I should of known by then this was weird.

    Never the less I stayed for the presentation and somehow they got to me to buy into this condo package for $3995.00. I signed the papers and then after looking for more information on the internet found out that you can't even find them on the internet. No address for the Mesa/Gilbert office... How strange! So I decided to email Star Vacation from my card they gave me when I signed up.

    I told them I wanted to cancel this contract and I was told there was no way out. I argued with them that they have to have a cancellation fee of somekind. They said nope you will never be able to get out of this contract. I said oh yes I will and I wrote a letter to the BBB and the Attorney General.

    I also called the Credit Union that I got the so called loan from and they said I had to call First Funding and they gave me a phone# which I called and got an answering machine saying hello I'm the manager and leave a message and I will get back with you. So I left him a message saying I want to cancel my loan with the Credit Union regarding the contract with Star Vacation Club. I received a phone call back from this guy who said he was with First Funding and I said I want to cancel my loan because Star Vacation Club is a fraud. He said NO they are not and I said YES they are. He said I can't cancel your loan until I receive written agreement from Star Vacation Club and he said have you contacted them regarding this? I said yes I have and I also contacted the BBB and the Attorney General. He said you can't cancel this loan until I hear from Star Vacation Club.

    I said ok, but I'm not paying for this loan. He said oh well, it's your credit. I said yep and you will not receive any money from me. So right now I'm in the process of getting this contract canceled and will get lawyers and everyone I can get to help me get this contract canceled. I will not ever give up on this nor will I pay my loan that I will never use. If anyone has any good advise I can use I would greatly appreciate it. Email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Dec 07, 2007

    Thanks so much for the heads up everyone. They called me last night. Same people same address. They promised me a free vacation on their "word of mouth" program. Needless to say, won't be attending that one!! THANKS AGAIN!!!, Lisa in Gilbert

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tawna Mar 18, 2008

    Thank you to all that have posted somments about STAR Travels, I just recieved that phone call and was excited for the free vacation, but was a little worried about giving someone a credit card or checkbook information. People can do crazyt things with that. I have noticed that they have targeted people in gilbert, and send them to a gilbert location and then target those in Mesa, they go to a mesa office these offices are with in 5 miles or less of eachother. I tried to call the number that they gave mw to confirm i was coming or if i had questions, it was 480-497-9955, and a lady did answer i asked for a web site, and told me it was for members only. I also asked how i was able to see if they were a credited company and she said "well we should be, we'v been in business for 16 year" So there you go people, If they don't have a web site, and you can't find out anything about them stay clear. Unfortunatly we have people in this world whom want to make life harder for other, Good luck to all who are trying to get there money back.

    0 Votes
  • L
    L Apr 08, 2008

    Well, thank goodness I stumbled upon this site! Star vacations have been calling me for a week now to go to one of their presentations.I won't be going that's for sure!

    I have been in the market for a really good reliable timeshare company. Anyone know of one?

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julianne Jul 03, 2008

    I received a call from this same company 3 days ago. Its 7/2/2008 and I'm reading complaints about this company from 2007 - unbelievable that they haven't been shut down.

    I live in Chandler, AZ and they were inviting me to their Gilbert office to receive a free 4 day/3 night trip to Orlando, FL. I listened to their telemarketing call and agreed to an appointment which I never kept. Initially, I thought it was weird that they wanted a credit card as part of ID validation. When i received the invitiation letted and read the second page with all the "legal jargon" I immediately got the willies and decided not to go to the appt or even to call them back to cancel. Arizona is one of the leading states in identity theft and this thought came right to mind.

    From what I have read, these people are scammers. So I'm glad that I didn't get involved in this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LeeAnn Jul 08, 2008

    I also live in mesa, arizona and they have called my house everyday for the last 2 months. I keep telling them that I am on the Do Not Disturb list and have never done bussiness with them. They don't listen they just get pushy. I left them a message and if they call again they will be getting a call from my Lawyer. I have a child with special needs and I have to leave that child everytime they call because it's a private number that comes up. And they call at all times of the day or night. Who wants to travel anyways in today's crazy world of scams.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kara Aug 11, 2008

    This company, Star Vacations called me 20+ times this weekend. Even after being told to remove us from the list, they insisted that someone in the house had interest in this promotion, and that's why they kept calling. We'll see tonight how many times they show up on my caller ID. I see another poster up thread was told they had been in business for 16+ years, but they told me that they were a brand new company.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. T Aug 12, 2008

    They have been calling my home phone number so many times for at least last 2 months. Today, the sales call was from Apple(?). I requested them not to call me any more and reminded them they are calling Do Not Call list number. They told me they will remove once but they are calling me still. When I remind them about the Do Not Call Number, they just hang up.

    Their Gilbert office number is (480) 497-9955.

    You can complain to BBB with link below
    http://central-northern-western-arizona.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=30&bbb=1126&firm=15007205

    Also Report to Federal Trade Commission for Violation
    http://www.ftc.gov/donotcall

    Good Luck!

    0 Votes

Star Vacation Club — This company is a fraud!

It took me awhile to find this website, but I can detail the scam for you. You get a phone call telling you...

Star Vacation Club — Customer beware! Scam!

Unbelievable! I managed to find at least 12 related complaints on Google about this company, its many agency...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem