Star Vacation ClubCustomer beware! Scam!

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Unbelievable! I managed to find at least 12 related complaints on Google about this company, its many agency representatives (other companies that funnel money to Travel Service Network), or affiliated companies (Infinity Incentive Group). They have operated under the name of Travel Service Network, TSN Travel, 123Free Travel, and many, many, more. They've taken (s**kered) consumers in the states of AZ, MO, IL, FL, TX, and many more to now include CA. I might be the first CA residence who has caught on to their scam. They are operating as Star Vacation Club in San Diego, CA.

Let’s take a step back and explain the events leading to today’s email. Like some of you, I received the typical marketing call guaranteeing a prize, in this case 1 of 5. I attend the sales presentation that promises club membership with too many good benefits to be true. I fall for the scam and we start talking price. Membership starts out costing me $8,500 (discounted from the standard price of $10K) and is dwindled down to $2,295 because I get sticker shock. After charging my card and having me sign several agreements, they give me a scratcher with a “lucky” penny to help reveal one of the 5 prizes I’m guaranteed to win. I scratch and say "darn" because it's not the Cadillac Escalade. It’s a voucher from Infinity Incentive Group for a free vacation, the voucher scam that hit some Complaints.com complainants.

Everything in the information package that I received after being duped out of $2,295 this evening showed the name of Star Vacation Club, even their member website (starvacationclub.com). Notice the similarity to Travel Service Network's site (tsntravel.com), of whom some of the Complaints.com complaints are directed. Everything showed Star Vacation Club, except the sales receipt which showed Travel Service Network. So, I got home and noticed this and said "huh?"

That's when the online research ensued and I’m just dumbfounded by the amount of activity this company has been engaged in. Several BBB chapters show unfavorable ratings for this company and some of its “affiliates,” as well as numerous documented court cases brought on by state attorney generals.

The San Diego Better Business Bureau has no complaints filed on record. Even though the San Diego BBB shows this company's file open in 2002, the sales person told me that they opened up shop three months ago, maybe too early for victims to be the wiser.

I’m going to follow Star Vacation Club’s three day cancellation policy written in the agreement. I expect that they’ll give me the standard run around Illinois consumers received by Travel Service Network .lip service and no refund. I’m prepared for that. My credit card company will be informed not to pay that charge and I’ll show good faith by following their cancellation policy. By the way, I’m not going to submit the travel voucher. Fool me once, and thanks to some of you, not twice.

I hope to prevent other Californian’s from being duped too. A complaint was filed with the CA State Attorney. I’ve filed a scam report with the Chicago BBB in hopes that they’ll share their information with the San Diego chapter. I’ve filed a consumer fraud alert with the local TV station to investigate them, hopefully on the air. And finally, I’m educating ya’ll here who helped me realize how stupid I was. By the way, thank you to the folks at Complaintsboard.com for an availing this forum to us.

Responses

  • Re
    Ren Lop Sep 24, 2017

    Recently they started another one called Choice Rewards Platinum (choicerewardsplatinum.com). They duped us out of $4300. I can't believe these places are even allowed to operate. They basically steal money from people excited for what they promise but then they bait and switch. They book hotels for these presentations because they can disappear or tell you they are only here for one day so you better purchase.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Narinder Singh Bhandari Apr 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I joined your Club, when your Team visited Chandigarh on 21 February 2017, by paying IRE 1, 70, 000 /- >

    I joined it ONLY because I was promised that Merriot Hotel in Chandigarh is also a member of your Club, and I and my family can visit and use their Health Club everyday without paying any money.

    I was told that I shall receive the Membership Card and other Kit by mid-march.

    Nearly two months have passed since I made the Payment, but so far NO kit has been received, nor is Merriot Hotel a Member of your Club.

    I, therefore, do not wish to retain my Membership.

    Kindly return my Money [ One lac and seventy thousands only ] at the earliest.

    Thanking you,

    ~ Lt. Col.( Retd) Narinder Singh Bhandari

    House No 62, Sector 27 A,

    CHANDIGARH. PIN 160019.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gator Fan Oct 06, 2012

    We joined Star Vacation Club. We've had several vacations booked through them; 2 different weeks in Branson, MO and 2 weeks in Hawaii. The Hawaii trip was wonderful in every way - price, accommodations, transfers and amenities. This encouraged us to recommend it to my brother and sister-in-law and we planned to all go for 2 weeks in May, 2013. We paid everything (2 1/2 weeks) we were asked in order to guarantee prices through next spring. Now we are told that we need to pay more because the extra money we paid to reserve priciing doesn't count. That money can be used for another trip but not Hawaii. Basically, we got a lot of double talk and must now consider alternative legal actions to resolve this issue. Beware. They can be good or they can be totally bad. They will not do anything in print which allows them to say that whatever notes you may have made are wrong. If we hadn't already have over $4000 invested in this trip we would just walk away. However, this story is not over.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Piano L Mar 05, 2012

    Star Vacation Club also operates at Silver Lakes Vacation Club, supposedly an RCI Points Resort, in Helendale, CA. If one checks out on the BBB site, you will find a red alert for Silver Lakes Vacation Club. They were supposed to transfer some of our equity in another Timeshare as part of the contract, which would relieve us from responsibility in that one. This was never done, and at the moment, we're gathering more facts about the contract- I'm sure it was never recorded as a deed. Beware!!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Media Relations Sep 24, 2011

    Please share your thoughts and experiences on Travel Deals at www.shouldibuyatravelclub.com


    Find Exclusives:
    *Insiders Secrets
    *What To Possibly Expect At Presentations
    *The Truth About Those "Freebies", and much more!
    *Possible Red Flags a Club May Be a SCAM


    Give Reviews & Get Results!!

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    Easymoney2500 Sep 23, 2011

    Was suckered into buying this service in 2007 and attempts to even book trips were always denied. Paid 2300 for what I thought was a steal ., however I was robbed out of 2500 dollars

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Travel Services US Jul 07, 2011

    We here at Star Vacation Club are very serious when it comes to customer service and we stand behind our services. People are quick to say "Scam" if the results don't go just their way. All the presentations that you attend are handled by a 3rd party marketing company. The marketing company is also responsible for the gifting. Star Vacation Club is responsible for servicing your travel. We service thousands of clients and we are able to save them a lot of money on their vacations. If we here at Star Vacation Club can help with fulfilling any of your travel needs please feel free to contact us at: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeanice O May 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On March 1, 2008 I attended a 90 minute presentation at The Star Vacation Club of Schaumburg. I know that there are some scams out there but the last vacation presentation I went to gave us EVERYTHING that they promised!

    But NOT The Star Vacation club of Schaumburg! As of today May 13th...WE HAVE NOT RECEIVED the FREE dinner for 2 at the Darden Restaurant...nor did we receive the $100 gas card that was promised.

    What we DID receive was papers to fill out to get the papers to send in to get the gas card...guess what a $25 card per month for the next 4 months...IF WE PURCHASE $100 worth of gas per month...keep the receipts...send them in within 21 days of the letter in a stamp pre addressed envelope.

    From doing some research I found out that they are "fly by night" and people that do actually purchase the 5K, 3K, or the $1k vacation packages are not satisifed and have to go round and round with them too!

    I just THANK GOD that I did not spend any money!!!

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vacationclubdupe Jun 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was sold on such a vacation club and coughed up $500. I did the research online that night and the next day returned to their hotel where they were trying to sell more people and demanded a refund. They refused, saying I had to contact home office and that it is the contract. I told them that did not matter and if they wanted to have any chance at selling anymore vacation memberships that they would immediately swipe my credit card again as a debit. I walked out of there with the correct debit receipt and have found so many rip offs just like them online over and over and over.
    A sucker may be born every minute but it takes snakes to take advantage of them!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thingsarefine Apr 23, 2009

    I hear what you're all saying, but don't forget that you WENT to meeting, sat through it, and still signed up. I signed up with them and although we didn't get any useful incentive that we thought we would, we have used the company several times and am happy with. We have saved a lot of money using their promotional trips and they have been extremely obliging to us when we had to cancel and postpone trips due to having a baby, etc. We were never charged anything extra and they worked with us very well. I have family members and friends with "legit" travel clubs (using your terminology) who pay significantly more than me. The fact of the matter is, you have to do your homework, read the fine print, and figure out how to work with the company. All companies are out to get money -you can get ripped off my anyone. Be a smart consumer or you haven't earned the right to complain.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lilbrown Sugar Apr 15, 2009

    Nobody answers Incentive Marketing Group telephone number [protected]. They want you to leave a message but nobody returns your phone call. You can never contact a person at the number. This is bad business.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lilbrown Sugar Apr 09, 2009

    I completed a voucher with Incentive Markeing Group and mailed it to P. O. Box 350 Geneva, IL 60134. The dates I choose were always not avialable. I asked for my deposit back. I have not receveived a refund. It has been 6 six months. This is a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disgruntled Mar 23, 2009

    I worked for travel service network, in Batavia, IL in their voucher department. We were encouraged to make up fees, upgrade people to better accomodations and charge them what the trip cost for the "upgraded" room. If we couldnt pay for the trip, then they did not travel. If we were able to make profit we got paid 50% of it. I told them that I was not making enough money to rip people off and left.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CMcG082104 Feb 16, 2009

    My husband and I have been members of Star Vacations (formerly TSN) for over 5 years. We have enjoyed several vacations. Of all the vacations we have used Star for, the two best vacations had to be our trips to Cancun, Mexico and Orlando, Fl. The all inclusvie resort in Cancun was gorgeous and very clean. Yes we had to purchase air fare but at a discounted rate (round trip tickets cost us 700.00-online the tickets were over 1000.00)The condo in Orlando was 10 mins from Disney World and located in a gated community. The cost of the condo was 599.00 for 7night/8days. If we had not used the travel agency the room would have been 300.00 a night. We also get monthly phone calls with vacation deals and exclusive offers since we have used the agency regularly. And if we want to get away on short notice we have the option of HOT DEALS that cost 199.00-399.00 for the week. We live close to 4 major beaches and if we want to get a way for the weekend we purchase a HOT DEAL for a condo-we might not stay during the week due to work, but we can always go back the following weekend. And it is cheaper than staying in an overpriced hotel just because it is beach season.
    As for those of you who are complaining I wish you the best but if you give it time you might just see this is a great opportunity for memorab le vacations.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel R. Fruechting Sep 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I, like all others who have posted on this site, am very unhappy and dissatisfied with the service presented. To all, notice that I wrote "service". Star has not passed on anything tangible, i.e., a product. We have only been presented an opportunity to obtain services by others at a discount. As has been mentioned before, anyone who searches diligently can find lower prices without purchasing for a membership.

    Memberships are what we are all purchasing as it specifically mentioned in the documents we all received. Memberships, with certain exceptions, cannot be required of anyone. Hence, they can be cancelled at any time. For those who are paying for this membership with a debit or credit card the cancellation is simple, go to the bank where your card was issued. Explain the situation and you will be given a form to stop payment. You will have to give a reason for this but the answer is simple. You are being ripped off. I write with experience on this matter as I am chagrined to have to admit to a situation similar to this before and had no problems getting rid of it by the above method. I intend to follow the same course where Star Vacation Club is concerned

    0 Votes
  • Az
    AZ Sep 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a call from Incentive Marketing Group to attend this presentation from Star Vacation Club in AZ. I kept telling them "no" but they kept calling back. I was told that I had a prize reserved for me including a $50 gas rebate. They said that I didn't even need to stay for the presentation if I didn't want to. I could just show up, collect my prize and leave. Because they literally wouldn't take "no" for an answer, I scheduled the appointment but didn't go. I got a call back a week later asking why I didn't show up, and the whole thing started all over again. I showed up at the appointment but could not just grab my prize and leave. I had to sit through the 90 min presentation, which I had been assured was going to be 60 min max. In the end, I didn't get the gas rebate, only an application to submit for a gas rebate. More than a month later I got the following letter in the mail from Incentive Marketing Group.

    "To get started on the redemption process, be sure to include a contact phone number to prevent delays. Additionally, sign the application at the bottom to indicate you will agree to the terms of participation. You must return all forms within twenty-one days or the Gas rebates will be void.

    When we receive this application, you will be sent a questionnaire to choose your gas station selection. complete it and return to us within 21 days along with a self-addressed stamped #10 business envelope or a $2.50 money order for shipping and handling.

    Once you have selected your gas station on the questionnaire you will receive 4 redemption tickets. You can only use one ticket per month.

    You must purchase $50 or more in gas during the month at the selected gas station. Retain your receipts then attach receipts to the redemption ticket then return to us within 21 days of the most recent gas purchase along with a self-addressed stamped #10 business envelope or a $2.50 money order for shipping and handling. Example, gas receipts from June, must arrive to our office by July 21st. Our address is Incentive Marketing Group, P.O. Box 350, Geneva IL 60134.

    Once your redemption ticket and receipts are validated, you will be sent either a $12.50 gas card for the service station you selected or a $12.50 check from us.

    Terms of participation
    Failure to complete the registration process within deadlines provided will make this offer null and void. Once registration is complete, all redemption tickets must be submitted within 12 months from activation date of issue. Submission of photocopied, altered or third party or fraudulent receipts will make this offer null and void. The gas station name must be clearly legible and be issued from your selected gas station. This offer may not be transferred. This offer is subject to change. We must receive this application within 21 days of issue date."

    Obviously, they are making this way too much trouble to go through to bother claiming your prize. And since when does it cost $2.50 shipping and handling to send a check in the mail. And when you add up the $30 in gas that it takes you to get to and from the presentation plus the shipping and handling fees, it's really not worth going through the trouble. I'll bet if I jumped all the hurdles to get my $15 prize, they would find some way to void my offer, such as by saying that they didn't receive the receipts in time. Also, notice that the offer is SUBJECT TO CHANGE. Why should they care whether I use $50 or more in gas a month? I drive a very small car and take the bus to work. So I don't always spend $50 in a month on gas. WHAT A SCAM!

    I had the same issue last month where I was told that I had won a prize, but when I called to claim my prize, I was told that I didn't qualify because I wasn't married or co-habitating with my boyfriend. Nice to have a company that promotes living in sin. My income alone is more than twice their required combined income level. So why should I be discriminated against just because I am single? Single people can go on vacation, too. The last thing I need is another reminder that I'm pathetic because I'm single and lonely.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paul montiel Sep 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THESE PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN MUST NOT HAVE NOTHIN ELSE BETTER TO DO THAN COMPLAIN ABOUT NOTHIN GET A LIFE

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paul montiel Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    listen staR VAVATION IS ONE OF THE BEST THINGS THAT HAPPEND TO ME I LOVE IT IF PEOPLE DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE GETTING INTO THEY SHOULD KNOW HOW TO BENEFIT FROM STAR VACATIONS PROGAMS TO ALL THESE COMPLAINTS PEOPLE NEED TO STOP BEING NEGATIVE BECAUSE I GOT MY PRIZES MY GAS DINNER AND MY APPLE I TOUCH.AND ALSO LEARNED HOW TO SAVE MONEY ON MY NEXT VACATION.ALSO THEY GAVE ME A FREE VACATION I PAID 50 DOLLARS FOR IT BUT 50 DOLLARS FOR A 1200 HUNDRED DOLLAR VACATION IS NOT NOT BAD WE ONLY LIVE ONCE SO STOP BEING NEGATIVE.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Robbins Jul 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm still in the trying-to-get-the financing-straighten-out stage. I made the initial downpayment, signed up with the finance co., then decided the pay it off. I called Star Vacations and asked for someone in the acct'g dept. They gave me a payoff figure, which I assumed should go to the finance co. She says no; send it to Star Vac., which I did. Now I continue to get drafts on my checking acct. every month. They all tell me it is straightened out and I continue to be paying thru the nose. Star Vacations has never sent my check to the Finance co.--5 months later.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    cleester tucker Jul 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I TRYED TO USE THE STAR VACATION CARD AT THE MOVIES AND THEY HAD NEVER HERE OF THIS COMPANY .

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chester T Jul 10, 2008

    This company is a scam. I used to work for them. The above comments are true.

    DO NOT BUY!!!

    You can purchase these trips cheaper online. You are not receiving discounts through Star Vacation Club. The positive comments posted above are from employees only.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnny Walker Jul 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is no mention of time share with this company. They sold me a membership and I have loved it for the last couple of trips I have traveled on I have saved more that my membership costed me. So I dont really know what the problem is and as far as the gift that they claim you can win thats a scratch card and there is no difference between that and a lottery ticket you take your chances. I got 100.00 gas card.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scamed in chicago May 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was scamed and I can't beleive it and I had to learn the hard way because now I can bearly sell this crap. On top of that when I tried to call the star vaca club they had shut down at that location. Warning to all when you get anything from these poeple run in the other direction.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe May 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is time to go back to college and get a real job, Jen. Be someone, not an advocate for fraud. As it stands now, your parents must be real disappointed. Why didn't you finish college? Stop capitalizing your paragraphs too. It makes you sound like you are yelling.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jen May 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ha Ha! thats funny! before any one judges- get the facts right first!

    a Member is someone that signed up to buy a what every one is calling a scam/ fraud/lies------ that's right, NOT AN Employee; someone that spent money to be a member and get savings


    OH... AND THE GIFTS AND LIES ABOUT THE PRESENTIONS...

    ---------------------------------------MARKETERS AND STAR VACATION CLUB TWO DIFFERENT COMPANIES------------------------------------------

    THESE GIFTS, (THAT EVERYEONE IS TALKING ABOUT) ARE FROM DIFFERENT MAKETING GROUPS THEAT HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH STARE VACATION CLUB!!! it even says it in the legal documention
    THESE MARKETERS ARE ALSO THE ONES THAT CALL OUR HOMES (that's right, not svc) THE MARKETERS ARE THE ONES THAT LIE ABOUT THE GIFTS AND SITTING IN ON A PRESENTION.
    THE MARKETERS WILL SAY ANYTHING TO GET YOU IN ON THE PRESENTION---- THE SALES PERSON ON THE PHONE (THE MARKETER) GETS $100.00 PER PERSON THAT COMES TO THE CLUB AND GETS A GIFT. THE MARKETER COMPANIES WILL DO ANYTHING TO GET PEOPLE TO GO TO SEE THE PRESINTATION, BECAUSE THEY GET PAID ON THE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE THAT SHOW UP.
    SO TO SUM IT ALL UP THE LIES, SCAMS, AND FRAUD THAT EVERYONE IS COMPLAINING ABOUT IS THE MARKETERS-- NOT STAR VACATION CLUB. THAT'S RIGHT SVC IS A REAL COMPANY NOT FRAUD, OR BS. ITS THE MARKETERS THAT TELL US THE LIES.

    IF EVERYONE DID THE CORRECT RESEARCH BEFORE THEY MADE A COMPLAINT MAYBE THERE WOULD BE LESS LIES AND FALSE FACTS ON THE INTERNET! MAYBE THE ONES THAT ARE POSTING THE COMMENTS WITHOUT KNOWING THE FACTS ARE THE ONES TELLING THE LIES

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janeattea May 18, 2008

    To make a long story short, Star Vacation Club = SHADY TIME-SHARE SCHEME! Do not fall for one of their wonderful promotions of winning a Grand Prize. This is merely a plot to pull you in. The pushy sales-person you meet will try their hardest to get you to write a check for $8000. Of course this is only pocket change to them considering the salesman asking for it was short, bald, wearing a Hawaiian shirt and lots of gold. He looked like he was enjoying everyones money quite well. The discounts on travel that they offer can just as easily be negotiated between yourself and the hotel you're staying at. Cut these worthless middlemen out of the equation. DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE A CHECK OR CREDIT CARD!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawn May 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have no complaints about the quality and service that has been provided through Star. It disheartens me to see all these people who are not even owners and think they are so clever because they passed up a great opportunity that could have saved them a bunch of money. I have been with Star for 6 years, no problems, no complaints. I also bought a washer/dryer combo 6 years ago, I got it a quite a discount, but never felt the need to brag about it to the world. But on the whole I would say Star has enabled me to travel to places I never thought I would get to. So I guess my life is better with it.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krystal K. May 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My boyfriend called me Monday afternoon saying he had received this same call on his cell phone. And that he had made an appointment. He was told that he was guaranteed a $500 prize and that it would be in the form of a cashier's check. He was told that we would simply have to sit through a presentation with a brand new company.

    We get to Star Vacation Club in Schaumburg, Illinois. I just had a horrible guy wrenching feeling in my stomach. I knew that I was going to be sucked in. I always fall for it.

    After watching the slideshow and listening to the prices, we were very impressed and ended up signing the contract.

    I, however, was very uneasy still and was paying a great deal of attention to the things our representative was telling us. At one point in time he told us that three years ago he had a heart attack and was sooo happy to have survived that he changed his life. Stopped working so much and vacationing more, etc. He got a Star Club Membership and then decided to start a career with them six months ago. About twenty minutes later he told us that he was going on vacations twice per year and that he and his family had been doing so for the past four years. I thought to myself. You were just telling us that you did nothing but work until your heart attack three years ago. And that the brand new company the person on the phone told us about has supposedly been open since 1992 and has 80, 000 members.

    We got home and I tried to sleep, but I couldn't. I just felt so on edge due to the $5k we had just agreed to pay. And the fact that we could not access the site until we received our welcome call with verification code. Our representative said it would take a few days to get the call. Then I started looking at the Contract and saw that there was only a three day cancellation policy and the same had to be in writing via hand delivery or certified mail. How conveinent?!?! You only have 3 days to cancel, but yet you won't have access to the site until you get your verification in a "few" days (betcha it would have taken them more than three to call). And how they exactly do they expect certified mail to get to them within three business days? Certified mail takes the same amount of time as regular first class mail.

    I googled the site and was amazed at because this membership is so "great", but yet 80% of the sites I found, were complaints. I would think that if this membership was as "great" as they make it sound, people everywhere would be telling of the fairytale vacations they have experienced. I research everything before I take a trip. Everything now a days has some sort of ratings, but yet none for Star. Nothing good from google...Not even a myspace blog. HA HA HA!

    Anyhow, at 3:00 a.m. after not being able to fall asleep (mind you, I had to be up at 6:00 a.m.), I sat next to my boyfriend on the couch and sobbed. I was sooo afraid that we were going to lose our money. I told him about all the complaints and the suit with the Indiana States Attorney. There was even a article in the Chicago suntimes. As much as we want to believe them, it's truly hard. He told me to draft the cancellation (I'm pretty good at it; I work for an attorney. Not one that does what would need to be done if I had gotten stuck; he does real estate, estate planning, probate and corporate law.) and being a paralegal and knowing a little about contracts I drew up a receipt for them to sign stating that they received our written cancellation within the three days, as well as, our membership kit. He brought it to the corporate location in Batavia, Illinois and turned everything and had the receipt signed. This was Wednesday. We closed the account that we used to obtain the membership so that nothing else could be charged (although they do have our identities in their hands-we had to give them our socials). We are going to wait a few weeks to call if our refund hasn't been credited (as they clearly state it will take about thirty days).

    I don't understand how something that is supposedly so great isn't bragged about. Why is it that the 80, 000 members aren't posting about how wonderful their lives have been due to Star Vacation Club.

    I wish you all the best of luck, and truly thank God that my senses got the best of me and we were able to cancel in time.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawn May 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wonder after reading all these comments, and I mean all, If anyone has any complaints about the service. Seems to me the majority of you are ### about having to pay taxes and fees which are fully disclosed to you at reception. Yet there are no complaints about the services and savings recieved with membership. I am a member and quite content with what I have. Anyone with any doubt of my membership can email me and I will gladly respond with my phone number. I am a proud member of a club that saves me and my family thousands of dollars with the amount of travel we do. All of you freeloading non-members can continue to spout off about what you dont have because you could not afford it. It wont stop my fun and savings.

    On a side note, I wonder how tough it was to become a "doctor" without having fundamental grammar and spelling skills Dr. Mike.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael belanger May 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I read all the comments and thought that they were from the people who visited but never joined. So I joined. It is worse on the inside. They took the money and gave me three day right of recision. They appear to h ve honored it but they also will keep your money for a full 30 days. You then have to pay interest for the month despite that I cancelled prior to them charging the money. They charges it anyway. STAY AWAY.
    Dr. Mike

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert J. Apr 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had many vacations with STAR VACATION CLUB and the only problem I had was with the marketing company in the begining, when my wife and I first visited Star 3 years ago. Don't let this gift thing stop you from enjoying the saving in some of the best places in the world. Some people all the do is search for the free ride..their is no free ride. So stop complaining and have some fun in life. I have nothing but great things to say about Star Vacation Club for the past 3 years.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melody & Jim Apr 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with the complaints filed against Star Vacation Club. We canceled within 24 hours after we were given an unbelievable price on a Mediterranean cruise and to find out it was false. We called the gentleman who quoted the price and never received a return call. The customer service there is terrible. It took over a month to have our money credited back to our account.

    Months later we receive a call from an employee wanting to offer the membership for substantially less because of the poor service we encountered. I said no way and hung up. We still get monthly calls attempting to lure us back to their presentation with a possiblity of a high priced gift. Now over a year later we receive a $189 bill from a collection agency for Star Vacation Club Membership fee. You have got to be kidding!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Neicy Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Something told me that this place was a scam BUT I decided to go for the FREE gifts. I kept saying not interested but each time they added a gift. I went on March 1 and as of today April 25 I have yet to receive the gas card BECAUSE there are several HOOPS that need to be jumped through...like fill this out...send it back...buy some gas..fill this out ..send the receipt...send a stamped envelope...THEN we will send you a voucher ... then send the receipt ...must be from the station that you said you go to...etc...etc...etc.

    I have not even received my restaurant card yet...supposed to be a dinner for 2...it's $25...IF I EVER RECEIVE IT.

    I think the best thing would be to go to the place and STOP anyone else from making the same mistake I did...WAISTING MY TIME!

    TAKE 5 MINUTES...PASS OUT 10 FLYERS SAYING IT'S A BIG FRAUD!!! I think they will get the message!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cadie Smith Apr 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i received a call from star travel 1 week ago... and i find it very interesting... when i check out the internet, theres a lot of complaint about it... so i started to have a doubt BUT, i have the eagerness to attend the presentation... the bottom line is, i have attend the presentation and finished it then now i realized that all the complaints on the internet was not true... If i believe on what they are saying maybe its a big lost on my part, I will not get the free vacation...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marge Stewart Apr 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had a wonderful experience using the free vacation from Star Travel.My husband and I went to Cancun, Mexico.We never bought anything during the presentation but they still gave us the free vacation package. mmstewart

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeff and mary Apr 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to thank Star Vacation Club for giving a wonderful experience. My vacation in orlando Fl was definitely the greatest vacation I've ever had. Thank you very much.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chester T Apr 14, 2008

    Unfortunately what happened to Mr. Rancourt is happening on a daily basis to people all over the country.

    Whatever you do, do not buy anything from this company.

    Mr. Rancourt, I good luck recovering your money.

    DB

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Satan Apr 04, 2008

    Thats right! You are somebody who is paid by them to do researches on the internet and to create a positive image! You know what? Screw you! And your company. Be aware, scam/fraud/lies!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Apr 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Since your an employee, don't you think it is time to get a real job. Stop frauding!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Aneer Estevan Apr 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a member of Star Vacation Club - and I have no complaints. I attended the same marketing presentation, got the free trip. While the benefits sounds too good to be true - if you love to travel and want to do it inexpensively - then this is a great deal. If you don't think you will...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.