RareDVDs.tv Complaints & Reviews

RareDVDs.tvFalse and misleading advertising

I ordered a set of Seaquest DSV dvds in August. When I finally received them (five weeks and not two after I placed the order) I found that 1) eight episodes were missing; 2) one episode was incomplete; 3) disc 12 was defective in that it froze during the last episode on the disc. I was promised in e-mails dated 9/20/06, 1/18/07, 1/30/07 that within 15 days I would be mailed a replacement set. Needless to say, I have never received the replacement DVDs. On 2/23/07then indicated that I wanted a refund of the purchase price. To date, I have not received any confirmation that they have been in touch with the credit card company. Fortunately, I had notified the card issuer of the problem, and they are listing the transaction as in dispute, but I don't know how long they will do that.

RareDVDs makes a lost of glowing claims on its website about quality and customer service, all of which are bogus.

  • Pi
    pirate princess Apr 10, 2015

    I ordered the DVD High Spirits from 1988. I Never recieved the email to confirm my order as stated at time of order. I tried to contact them with no evail each time! I waited over 6 weeks before i finally recived the Dvd! When i opened the package my heart sank, in the package was a Dvd alright but it was a DVD that they recorded on a DVR disk!!! After shipping and handling and the cost of the movie i paid $17.48 for a movie I could have recorded myself for less than $2.00. Now I get no response from any email i tried to send and I am Very Very upset!!! They are nothing but a scam and i to recommened anyone thinking of buying from them to spend the extra money, and buy from a reliable source!!!

    0 Votes

RareDVDs.tvOrdered DVD, Payment Made, No receipt of DVDs

On 11/22/06 I ordered, as a Christmas present, one set of Voltron DVD. On 11/27/06 my card was charged $124.99 for the set. As of today, 2/3/07, I still have not received the DVDs.

I have sent several email with no response. I tried to contact the company that processed by card and couldn't get ahold of them.

I even tried to contact the Better Business Bureau, but since I don't have an address for the company, they were unable to help.

  • Su
    susan shepherd Feb 20, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had the same problem...disc never arrived. My credit card company got my money back as the goods weren't received within 30 days.

    0 Votes

RareDVDs.tvRareDVDs.tv how to get your money back!

Hi. So glad the sharing of opinions online can help people avoid bad experiences with criminals like RareDVDs.tv. My story is very similar to the ones below - I was seduced by the chance to purchase the complete region-free DVD set of the television show Ally McBeal. This great show seems fated never to be released in the US due to the prohibitive cost to the company of keeping the original music tracks embedded in the episodes. For some reason, this does not present an obstacle to releasing the DVDs in other countries all over the world. An entire little shady industry has sprung up to put Ally McBeal DVDs into American hands. Unfortunately, many sellers are also scammers. My recommendation to you is not to be tempted to go through dicey-looking websites like RareDVDs.tv and others, but instead to purchase through Amazon.com or Amazon.com UK, which provide a layer of protection from these scammers - even Ebay cannot do this--and to help ensure that you actually receive a quality product. But first I had to go through a 3-week trial with these jerks because their price was lower. Here's what happened. I placed my order on 12/28/07. Order did not post to credit card until 1/04/07. Started emailing the company on 1/15/07. I did get responses, but they just kept thanking me for my patience. When they claimed that my order had shipped, I demanded a tracking number. I was asked to wait for 2 more days for a tracking number. I said "If you shipped it, why do I have to wait for a tracking number???" They gave me a tracking number for a package received by CanadaPost in Quebec. When I tracked the package, the website simply told me that it had been received, but was unable to confirm that the package ID number was actually a package from RareDVDs addressed to me. Bottom line, I called my credit card company and YOU CAN GET YOUR MONEY BACK IF YOU CAN DEMONSTRATE THAT RARE.DVDs HAS MISSED ALL OF THE DEADLINES FOR PROCESSING ORDERS THAT THEY ADVERTISE ON THEIR WEBSITE. A company called "IP-Supreme Sales" that is based in the Bahamas is responsible for charging your credit card. This company seems to exist only to defend RareDVDs.tv and other companies which sell on-line memberships to porn sites against customer complaints. It is their full-time job to prevent you from getting your money back. YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY JUST TAKES THE MONEY RIGHT BACK FROM THESE CRIMINALS, in just a few keystrokes and a 5-minute telephone call. Don't let RareDvds.tv get away with a $150 or more of your money. Just call your credit card company. Those DVDs are never going to arrive. If they do, and they are damaged or of terrible quality, RareDVDs/IP Supreme Sales requires you to process the return within 5 days of receiving the goods or they won't refund your money. As all of these Epinion posts demonstrate, getting a hold of ANY representative of those companies is either extremely difficult or impossible. Don't be parted from your money! Have the satisfaction of thwarting these jerks. In the course of one day (1/25/07), RareDVDs.tv has morphed into a new site, called EmpiricalFilm.tv and jacked up their prices by $70 per DVD set! Beware - they are still the same lame-o crooks as they were yesterday.

  • Pa
    Pat Vasquez Mar 20, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I made a order for the Odd Couple set back on Nov 3rd 2006, they charged me twice for 2 orders of The Odd Couple. I called and canceled the orders and I still have no received my Refund... They use a answering machine to avoid you... I want my money back. Someone tell me how to get my Money back!!! ... These people need to be shut down!!!

    2 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Pardy Aug 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oct 2006 my wife ordered and paid $135.00 for 6 Season of "Chips" as a Christmas present. Well by Christmas it did not come. Finally in Feb 2007 we received the DVDs. When we played the first disk we found that these DVDs were copied off the Bravo channel because the Bravo logo appears in the right corner the entire DVD. Also there are about 30 seconds of Candian commercials as you would expect where the commercials were. We contacted again and were given a address to return them to for a full refund. I did and did not receive the refund.I did some checking and found that Raredvds.tv.com was registered in the US but product was out od Canada. I even contacted Universal Studios DVD fraud department and was told there was nothing they could do but they were aware of them. Finally in March 2007,guess what came back in the mail, the boot leg DVDs because the shipping address they provided did not exist. Someone needs to shut them down. WARNING, DO NOT BUY FROM RAREDVDS.TV.com.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Keith Owen Dec 09, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Would these folks please contact me. I have been the victim of these scammers, and would like to lodge a complaint with the Canadian Police. I've engaged this company with several emails and they are currently ***ting themselves as I work in Law Enforcement in Australia. I have promised them that if I don't see a refund in my account by first thing this monday morning (tomorrow) that they will in fact be going to goal, no doubts about that. The net is full of complaints about TheDVDPlanet.org which is one of the so called companies this one has morphed into. They are actually based in Canada, I have their address, so the next stage is to get folks to lodge complaints against them with the Canadian Police. And yes, please please please contact your credit card company, you can get your money back.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amqt Feb 03, 2009

    Just wanted to thank you for posting this. I wanted to buy a set of DVD's and was going to purchase them through one of these sites. When I realized that that 6 out of the 11 seasons were not on DVD yet, I became suspicious and started looking up info on this type of thing. You all have just saved my family $140.00. THANK YOU! :)

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    William Baird Apr 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered "Duck Tales" from raredvds.tv (EmpiricalFilm.tv). Before the items were shipped to me I checked my card and saw that they charged me twice for the same item. I wrote to the company several times about this, but received no response. I then wrote them requesting a cancellation of my entire order due to their ignorance of my previous inquiries. No response again.

    I contacted their payment processing company, but again did not receive anything.

    I still received neither my money back no DVDs. Stay away from this company. I am now trying to get my money back through my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Memexyzzzz Mar 17, 2017

    My movies took forever to arrive and are bootleg copies that will only play on my older DVD players

    0 Votes

RareDVDs.tvNot receiving order and not responding to emails

I ordered the series of Mama's Family from raredvds.tv around Dec28th. Immediately my debit card was charged for the order and I was sent two separate email stating that the order would be sent in 10-14 days. That I would also receive and email upon shipping of the order. Jan.19 I still have not received the dvds and I am reading all kinds recent complaints about this company on the internet. I have emailed them 4 times today and am not getting a response. Don't know if we'll ever receive the dvds that we payed 97 dollars for.

  • Ca
    Carey Bardzik Feb 01, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a set on 12/9/06 and was emailed a "confirmation" that I'd receive my purchase by 12/23 (10-14days.) Since then, I have sent 5 emails to the "company" requesting an update on my order. I have only received one response (on 1/10/07) claiming a "slight backorder," and letting me know that my purchase should be shipped in 5 days or less. That's the last I have heard. Luckily, my credit card has not been charged yet, but now I'm nervous that it will be, say, 6 months down the road after I have "forgotten." Identity theft...here I come. Fantastic. Wish I would have found this complaint site sooner. Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Knox Feb 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On 11/22/06 I ordered, as a Christmas present, one set of Voltron DVD. On 11/27/06 my card was charged $124.99 for the set. As of today, 2/3/07, I still have not received the DVDs.

    I have sent several email with no response. I tried to contact the company that processed by card and couldn't get a hold of them.

    I even tried to contact the Better Business Bureau, but since I don't have an address for the company, they were unable to help.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrea Nostramo Feb 12, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was considering purchasing the entire DVD collection for the show Daria. This is a very very coveted DVD compilation & i was shocked to find that ANY company had it. But the site, raredvds.tv, did not sit well with me. First off, i couldn't find an address for it ANYWHERE and when i finally did find one it was based in the Philippines. No phone number for contact purposes, only e-mail addressed. Second red flag. Also the FAQ had odd questions. It said "I've tried to use my credit card and I'm having errors what should I do?" and the answer was "This happens a lot, just contact us." I thought to be myself: This happens a lot? Why? Also, they only accept Visa and Mastercard. Why? Also, not a .com website. Fishy. Also they seemed to overcompensate the fact that they were scam artists by posting WAY too many explanations of how "secure" they are. FISHY. I was debating whether or not I was paranoid, when I decided to do a Google search for "raredvds.tv" and this site came up. I want to thank everyone who posted because your posts really did what this website was meant to do: prevented me from making a mistake. I hope all of you got your money back. I won't be buying from raredvds.tv. Thanks again.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina F. Di Blasi Feb 26, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered the first season of Gunsmoke as a gift for my husband. When I opened the DVD case, it stunk of fire smoke. The second DVD in the set stops in the middle of an episode and I cannot advance the dvd. There are 8 episodes on the 4th dvd in the set however, there are really 7 because there are two of the same episode back to back, so one episode is missing. I emailed them 3 times and left a voice mail for them to return my call. No answer from them. I put in a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Shame on me for ordering from them. I should have known something wasn't right when on their "contact us" page they only list [email protected] as a form of contact, no address, no phone number. Buyer beware!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Mar 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These guys are scam artist of the worst kind. Don't trust them. They still your money mostly and don't send the product and if they send the product it is no good. It's low quality off sync with lips and also poor picture quality worse than a twenty year old vhs.

    I bought Daria the and the quality is bad. And they charged lots of money too. I suggest some one write to MTV and tell them that this is going on. I hope they get shut down for good.

    0 Votes