Extreme Fitness Complaints & Reviews

Resolved Extreme FitnessSCAM

I tried to cancel my membership. The staff that signed me up were visibly mad. They wouldn't listen to what I got to say. All they care about is the monthly/annual membership fee with disregard to the customer service. And to also add to the fire, the front desk had me wait on the General Manager for about 2 hours, thinking that I'd just walk away!

  • 1a
    1Angrybird Apr 29, 2012

    I'm not sure if this becomes a trend. Everywhere I go, if I were to cancel my service, it seems like I owe them something. I had to cancel my membership due to my move. The girl at the reception simply told me that I have to book appointment with manager and no one can help me at the moment. I firmly requested her to call out a customer rep. The first thing she said to the rep is "which manager is on duty today". It is not even relevant. I told the rep that I want to cancel my membership, and he told me someone will help me shortly. Is that the way they train their reception to keep potential customer or turn them away?
    When I talk to the rep, she told me that I have to inform them 45 days in advance, because the bank will automatically take my money on the first day of the month, and they will not consider my deposit for last month payment. I was there 32 days in advance.
    The customer service is really bad. The have no consideration of the customers, all they want is money.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nerona May 29, 2012

    so true, im having the same problem with them, my problem i moved to another provience, and getting them answer the phone, i called them more than a hundred times snd left them msgs, no one calls me back, and i couldnt find the management direct phone number... never recomand it, lazy staff, clueless managers, so upset, bad and worst service

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessTraining Membership Scam

I was tricked into signing up for training thinking that I would only pay for training based on the months used. In my case I was going to use my sessons in 2 months which made me think I was only going to pay $120~ for 2 months. Litttle did I know they were going to charge me 60.50 for twelve months straight at a cost of 80dollars PER hour training session:S How I caught there scam was when my nutrionist told me if I wanted to keep training I needed to sign up for more sessons. Which I did, but then that started another set of payments. So they where trying to take out 100.50 dollars for my membership. I was so mad when I discovered this and tried to withdrew my membership but they will not let me. Upon signing of contract NO TOTAL was told, now iam faced with 1000 dollars in dept, Im a university student and was lured into, i find it very unethical and something should be done about this, if you look at many fb groups and only blogs, you can see this is only 1 in a thousand scams that are going on, with business'like this operating, in a country likE canada, it brings down the trust consumers have in service providers and business, it shouldnt be tolerated, organizations should have ethical values not money fiending tactics like this, im very disapointed, if there is anyting you guys can do about it please take action soon, people are being scamed as you read this itself

Extreme FitnessMembership Renewal

Long story short,

my wife has 'Perpetual' membership with Extreme Fitness signed up on March 9, 2010 and as it states on contract, completion date is March 9, 2011.
On March 9, 2010 the initial payment was processed, and starting May 1, 2010 until January 1, 2011, the remaining 9 payments were processed.
Knowing these scammers would try to take money out, I stopped the payment on January 2, 2011 so that no further payment can be processed.

My wife went to the gym on February 8, 2011 and was rejected entry due to 'non-payment' and that when I spoke to the general manager today (Feb. 9, 2011) I owe them payment for the month of February 2011 and threaten that I will hear from their collection agency.

I am acknowledged with 14 days cancellation notice and I am willing to send them out a letter, 14 days before the contract completion date, which is MARCH 9, 2011, however according to their contract, (where I do not see a section), I was supposed to give them written notice 14 days before February 1, 2011, which in their record, is the next payment date. (I found out with the bank that I did try to take a payment out of my account on February 1, 2011 but was rejected as to my request)

My complain is,
1. Where in the contract says that 14 days before February 1, 2011 was the last day to give them the written notice of termination? Does anyone see it there?
2. They froze my wife's membership, probably as of February 1, 2011 when their payment withdrawal did not go through. Isn't the membership good through Mar-09-2011 anyway?
3. I never received a letter from Extreme Fitness, (30 to 90 days before the COMPLETION DATE) for renewal or how much my month-to-month membership would cost. In the contract is says that CAN increase the monthyl membership fee up to 10%. Was I supposed to agree to it without any written proposal?
It clearly states on the contract that my wife is obligated to make 1 initial payment and 9 monthly dues payments, not 10 or 11.

I do not really care about the membership anymore. I will probably stick up my third finger to them everytime I drive by any of their locations. The fact that the general manger threaten that I will hear from their collection agency in regards to the February's payment bothers me.

Attched is the copy of the contract with all names and addresses, info removed. I also submitted a complaint to BBB Canada. Will they help me?

Membership Renewal

  • Mo
    moshb Feb 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here's a link to the contract:

    http://oozqfq.bay.livefilestore.com/y1p9otAnT41hOMLh3s7mlIk-fOSPvk5ztKHXsendTLPiSbPuRP40wl3JD6BsEmgczMueY4poMwm-Ekvc_hqi95L0ODTdT-gHaYa/Extreme%20Fitness%20Contract.jpg?psid=1

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    jjjazz Apr 01, 2011

    As a fellow employee from this horrid company and will tell you that you are not alone, however legally you are entitled to cancel your membership AND be refunded February. I can tell you that Extreme fitness DOES NOT mail out renewal notices and by law they are required too. Sure they will probobly say that they mailed one, but they are liars. NO ONE receives notices of renewal because if they did the companies cancellation numbers would be thru the roof. If you would like to receive some justice and attention I would recommend sending an email to their investors in the States. They have no idea how poorly their company is being run (to my surprise). Google Falconhead and send an email explaining the situation to all of them. Im sure people will pay attention to you then. Sad but most of the general managers in this company are just puppets and do what they are told.

    0 Votes
  • Ey
    Eywin Nov 12, 2011

    How was the result with BBB? Because I have the same situation in the same location as well.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moshb Nov 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did receive a response from Exteme Fitness in September of 2011, through BBB, half a year after my case was filed.
    BBB received a simple sentence from Extreme Fitness saying, "membership will be recalled from collections and cancelled with no balance owing "

    Easy to say so..

    Well, I just didn't want to spend my time arguing with these mofos, so that was the resolution to the case.

    My wife is now well, at the same time, I also signed up with another gym, Good Life and I am doing well with them. No troubles yet.

    After all, Extreme Fitness just lost $1000 / year membership because of $50 bux for good. and for all my friends.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phiecy Nov 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    we also have same problem wit my friend. we just went to extreme fitness and want to try the 10 days free trial we just went once and one representative get all the details of my friends credit without knowing that we are already signing for a membership for a year. Now I buy a coupon for 2 months as i did know that they confirm the one year contract. How should we go about it as they don't want to cancel the contract. They are already debiting the credit card of my for 2 months even if we have not come to the gym. Thanks and hope for a feedback.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessBad service

Xtreme fitness in Redding, California used to be a nice clean place. When it first opened, the staff was nice and courteous, and they kept the place clean. I used to know them by name and they would greet anyone that came in. I also saw them cleaning the place all the time to make sure it was a good environment.

Not anymore.

The place is always a mess. It is such a mess that other members don't even try to re-stack the weights in the proper order anymore. In the free weight area, there are dumbbells, weights, and grips scattered everywhere, and they are a tripping hazard. Dumbbells are also stacked on top of other weights so that in order to get to some of them, you have to pull them out from underneath. Some of them are ready to fall on a foot or toe if they are jolted or if you try to get some other weights that are next to them. It is only a matter of time before someone gets hurt and sues.

The staff could keep it clean and in order to set a good example, and I am sure it would help to motivate other members to help and keep the place clean. But right now the mentality is "I am a member and I shouldn't have to clean this place up" so the place gets to be even more of a mess as other members leave stuff wherever they drop it.

When the gym first opened the staff used to greet me and I got in the habit of greeting the staff. But gradually the staff changed and there are all new people there. Some of them are still great, but most need social skills. One guy, thinks he is too cool. I used to try to nod, and greet him like the rest ofthe staff, just being friendly, but all I got back was a silent stare, each and every time. Needless to say, after a while I gave up.

Another time I was up front and another lady came up to the front desk. This same guy was talking to another staff member and he looked at her then continued his conversation with the other staff member. He saw her there, but he ignored her for about 5 minutes so he could continue his conversation that wasn't even work related. The lady finally had to interrupt them to get any type of help, even though they both saw her, and could have assisted her at any time.

We also pay a maintenance fee every year as part of membership that is supposed to take care of equipment. But some of the pads have worn out and are "fixed" with silver electrical tape. There are tread mills that have not worked for months, and still do not show signs of being fixed. And they have been that way for over a year.

The management needs to get it together and treat their members better.

I am looking for another gym in the mean time...

Resolved Extreme FitnessRegistration scam

I think I see a pattern here.

DO NOT fill out those stupid ballots - there IS no prize. EVERYBODY wins '2nd prize', and when you invariably discover you've been scammed, they will very conveniently tell you that the representative who signed you up and lied to your face 'no longer works there'.

I 'collected my prize' at the Yonge & Dundas location from a rep named Brooks, and gave them my credit card info ONLY after I made Brooks take me through the ENTIRE contract and made him guarantee MULTIPLE times that I could cancel the contract at any time with 2 weeks written notice.
As it turned out, my new residence and the company where I started working both had on-site fitness centres, so after about a month (I hadn't had time to use the gym even once at that point), I went in with my written notice to cancel my membership - note that this was ONE month into my 4 free months.
I was directed to the manager, Alex Kumar, who told me that I was actually locked into paying $125/month after my 4 months was up, for the remaining 8 months of the year. He was extremely rude, and clearly trying to intimidate me, and kept saying, "You SIGNED a contract, it's legally binding". I asked to speak to Brooks, and was informed, surprise surprise, that HE NO LONGER WORKED THERE.
At that point, I asked them to pull up my contract to look at, and they said their computer system didn't run on weekends (?!) . I went back three days later, and Alex, once again, said that their system was down. At that point, I lost my temper a bit and told them I would instruct my credit card company not to authorize any payments to Extreme Fitness. I also said that I thought their whole 'contest' was a scam and a rip-off. At that point, Alex magically snapped into action (maybe it was due to the fact that the office was busy with a bunch of other 'contest winners' who were there to collect their prizes). Within seconds, he pulled up a scanned copy of my contract on the computer. And wouldn't you know it - my signature was nowhere on it. It was a completely different piece of paper than the one I'd signed. It then took all of ten minutes for them to cancel my membership. Just to be on the safe side, I had my credit card cancelled and replaced, so that they would not be able to sneak in any charges after terminating my account.

  • Ma
    MarcoPolo Aug 23, 2009

    thanks for posting. got my free membership call and going to ignore it. just didn't sound right.

    1 Votes
  • Ko
    Konsumer6969 Mar 01, 2012

    This guy June Kim at Yonge &Dundas Toronto tried to rip me off with free trial ----but further his boss a Jew instructed him to lie to me on February 29 2012 RIP OFF

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    GREG996 Dec 01, 2012

    DONT SIGN UP AT EXTREME FITNESS. I WAS CURRENTLY PAYING $42/month for the 911 services plan. DONT PAY MORE THEY WILL SCAM YOU. DEMAND THE 911 EMERGENCY PPLAN EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A 911 EMERGENCY EMPLOYEE, THEY WILL GIVE YOU IT SINCE ME AND ALL MY FRIENDS ALL GOT THIS PLAN FROM CEDARBRAE EXTREME FITNESS. WE ENDED UP CNCELLING OUR MEMBERSHIPS BECAUSE THE GYM IS VERY DIRTY, THEY SHUT THE LIGHTS OFF 30 MINUTES PRIOR TO CLOSING WHICH IS A SAFETY ISSUE, SOMEBODY SHOULD INJURE THEMSELVES ON PURPOSE WHEN THEY SHUT THE LIGHTS OFF THEN SUE THERE ###ING FACES. BASICALLY END OF STORY MY OTHER FRIEND GOT SCAMMED WITH HIS MEMBERSHIP WITH THERE CONTEST PRIZE B##LSHlT and THEN ME AND ALL MY FRIENDS DEMANDED OUR MEMBERSHIP BE CANCELLED BY ALEX KUMAR THE STUPID UGLY PAKI MANAGER THAT DOESNT KNOW HIS ### FROM HIS UGLY HEAD. HE IS SO GROSS AND UGLY LOOKING. AND ANOTHER COMPLAINT I HAVE IS ABOUT THERE PERSONAL TRAINING AT EXTREME FITNESS...DONT YOU THINK IF YOU ARE GOING TO PAY 60$ AN HOUR FOR PERSONAL TRAINING THAT YOU SHOULD BE GETTING TRAINED BY SOMEONE IN BETTER SHAPE THAN YOURSELF. ALL EXTREME FITNESS TRAINERS ARE OUT OF SHAPE SLOBS OR STEROIDED JUICEBOXES. AT CEDARBRAE ANTONIO SCALA AKA THE ITALIAN WANNABE WHO IS ACTUALLY AN UGLY EGYPTIAN WITH NO CHEST AND A DOZEN TWINKIE ROLLS UNDER HIS SHIRT WITH HIS UGLY GLASSES IS THE PERSONAL TRAINING MANAGER, U GOT TO BE F#CKING KIDDING ME, THIS UGLY OUT-OF-SHAPE PIECE OF GARBAGE IS A TRAINING MANAGER, HE LOOKS LIKE HE NEEDS A F#CKING TRAINER. IF YOU ARE STUPID ENUF TO PAY FOR PERSONAL TRAINING AT EXTREME FITNESS, DO NOT PAY MORE THAN $20/HOUR EVEN THAT I WOULDNT PAY THEY ALL SUCK AND DONT KNOW NOTHING ABOUT FORM, MOBILITY, NUTRITION THEY ARE ALL HIGH SCHOOL DROP OUT BUMS, FOR A GYM WITH SO MANY LOCATIONS THEY HARDLY HAVE A PHYSICAL TRANSFORMATIONS OF ANY MEMBERS IT JUST GOES TO SHOW YOU HOW STUPID THE TRAINERS AT EXTREME FITNESS ARE, , , , , , , , , , BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE DONT GET SCAMMED OUT OF PERSONAL TRAINING, THEY DO FITNESS ASSESSMENTS JUST TO TELL YOU THAT YOU ARE OUT OF SHAPE AND NEED TO GET A PERSONAL TRAINER DONT GET SCAMMED FROM EXTREME FITNESS, EVEN IF YOU ALREADY PAID THEM, JUST CALL YOUR CREDIT CARD AND TELL THEM THEY TOLD YOU CAN CANCEL ANYTIME AND YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY WILL "CHARGEBACK" THE MONEY BACK TO YOUR CREDIT CARD. LETS ALL BE SMART AND NOT PAY EXTREME FITNESS FOR TRAINING OR EVEN GYM MEMBERSHIP, EVEN IF YOU SIGN A CONTRACT CALL YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY AND REQUEST A 'CHARGEBACK' FOR BEING LIED TO, EXTREME HAS MANY COMPLAINTS AND IF YOU RECENTLY SIGNED UP YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY WONT REFUSE THE CHARGEBACK SINCE EXTREME FITNESS HAS LOTS OF CHARGEBACK SO JUST CALL YOUR BANK CREDIT CARD DEPT AND REQUEST A 'CHARGEBACK' AND YOUR BANK WILL GET THE MONEY BACK FOR YOU WITHOUT ANY ISSUES. I WORK FOR A CREDIT CARD COMPANY AND PEOPLE DO THIS ALL THE TIME, I SEE SO MANY TIMES PEOPLE CALL IN TO REQUEST A CHARGEBACK FROM EXTREME FITNESS FOR BEING LIED TO ABOUT THERE CONTRACT, DONT TRUST THEM THEY ARE ALL LIARS, LETS UNITE TOGETHER AND SHUT DOWN EXTREME FITNESS SCAMMERS

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    GREG996 Dec 01, 2012

    EXTREME FITNESS IS A BIG SCAM, DONT SIGN UP THEY ALL LIE JUST TO MAKE THERE $5 COMMISSION DONT BELIEVE ANYTHING READ THE CONTRACT WORD BY WORD, THEY ARE ### DONT TRSUT ANYTHING THEY SAY TO YOU AND DONT PAY FOR PERSONAL TRAINING FROM THERE UNDER QUALIFIED PERSONAL TRAINERS WHO ONLY HAVE CAN-FIT -PRO QUALIFICATIONS AND SOME OF THEM DONT EVEN HAVE ANY QUALIFICATIONS, YOU KNOW THEY ARE DUMB ### WHEN U SEE PERSONAL TRAINERS TEACHING THE OTHER TRAINERS HOW TO TRAIN SOMEONE, YOU ARE GETTING RIPPED OFF FOR TRAINING IF YOU PAY THEM ANY MONEY FOR TRAINING DONT BE AN IDIOT, PAY SOMEONE PRIVATELY WHO IS QUALIFIED. NO GOOD TRAINER WOULD EVER WORK FOR $15/ HOUR WHICH IS WHAT EXTREME PAY THE EMPLOYEES WHY DO U THINK THEY ARE ON THE PHONEE WHILE TRAINING PEOPLE OR U CAN TELL THEY DONT GIVE A ### ABOUT THE PERSON BEING TRAINED. TRAIN WITH A REAL TRAINER AT A PRIVATE TRAINING STUDIO AND THEN U WILL SEE WHAT DIFFERENCE THERE IS BEING TRAINED BE EXTREME FITNESS TRAINERS AND A PRIVATE TRAINING STUDIO TRAINERS. DONT BE FOOLED BY EXTREME FITNESS

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Resolved Extreme FitnessUnauthorized charges

Well, I didn't think it would happen to me, but alas, I've been hoodwinked by Extreme Fitness!

I was working with a personal trainer, which was costing me 180$ a month (steep, but somewhat manageable). Anyways, my personal trainer told me my sessions would be coming to an end, and I should renew to ensure a smooth transition. I sit down with a manager, scrutinize the contract, it looked fine, so I decide to continue.

15 days later when I get billed, direct deposit style, my account it virtually raped. Checking my account statements, I see Extreme Fitness has charged me a bunch of times, over 600$ worth of fees!

So I rush into the Extreme office thinking they've made a mistake... nope, apparently when I signed, they are still charging me 180$ a month for the first 5 months a session, and now an additional 300$ for the next sessions, essentially shouldering 600$ a month with gym fees tossed in there. I had combed over the contract while at home, and it's 'legit', it's what's not in the contract and what they DIDN'T tell me that's screwing me over.

I'm flabbergasted, told them they didn't tell me I'd be double-billed if I renew services, thought I'd be billed in the same manner as before. The manager had assured me they could break up the costs into smaller installments before I has signed, so I ask him to do that. He tells me no, tough ###, go to your bank, get a credit card and start paying off your dues ASAP.

SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS a month? I barely make 400$ a week as a fledgling freelance designer, who can support costs like that?

I spent 4 hours of my time trying to quit Extreme Fitness yesterday, (as well as most of the weekend playing phone tag with managers, or dealing with people who didn't have any authority to cancel my account) Spent the Monday chasing runaway managers and trying to jump through hoops.

While waiting for an hour for a manager to emerge from his office, I poke my head in to realize he'd slipped out! Pissed, I sat in his office, and on his desk there was a giant stack of letters, all dated from June, essentially saying, 'I canceled my account and you're still billing me; You're double billing me, cease and desist!', etc...

I finally managed to corner the manager while roaming the building and we went to see the head honcho together. My paperwork to 'move' looked fine, and I could quit, IF, I pay them 171$ to cover my 'free' three months that were on gym membership. They also told me, there was no guarantee my account will actually be canceled, it was the discretion of head office to approve or deny, they were simply sending my request to them...

Anyways, I was frustrated, yelled at them, called their scam, told them I was closing my bank account, and dared them to bring their collection agency after me...

DON'T SIGN WITH THEM! UNTIL I WAS RIPPED OFF, I WAS MORE OR LESS SATISFIED WITH THE GYM ITSELF! DON'T BE FOOLED!

  • Ru
    Ruth Donnelly Jan 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Extreme Fitness, you have charged the costs of using your gym to my daughter's credit card without checking your attendance records to see if she has shown up in the last two years. Since April of 2009, my daughter has been living in Calgary Alberta and the location of the Extreme Fitness club that she had been using (that is HAD BEEN USING) is the Cedarbrae location in Scarborough, part of Toronto. There is a huge vast geographical difference in distance between Calgary and Toronto. And they are still charging her through her credit card. It is amazing stupid and arrogant of a gym facility to be doing this when they should have been checking their records and have seen that my daughter has not been there for the last two years. In my opinion, this is incredibly arrogant on the part of Extreme Fitness to be doing this. I am going to be submitting a letter to the major newspaper down there in Toronto, letting them know how arrogant Extreme Fitness Gym facilitiy is.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessAwful place

Sign up in April 2009 for $8/month for 2 months no contract. Told the sales person that i wanted to try this location because it's close to work and want to see how it will go. Was instructed that to cancel need to send a letter 14 days before my 2 months special expired. So i did (and they have it on file, i saw it with my 2 eyes) After couple of weeks realized that they still charging me on my card (give them the card in the first place since it's their policy and they need to have it on file so i could have my 2 month special)

So i went to interchange location, talked with the manager (he was playing a game on his computer and had a grin on his face. Completely ignored me, kept repeating that there is nothing can be done. and i shouldn't sign up in the first place now it's my problem. The girl that(sales rep.) that sign me up in the first place no longer works there, so he smiled about it. Told me leave, nothing he can do, but to add all of the downtown clubs for free. I am moving soon to Barrie, Ontario, there is no extreme there, why do i need all these downtown Toronto clubs.

  • Ex
    extremefitness Jun 22, 2009

    ExtremeFitness.Com is not affiliated with any gym chain; it's a discussion website for fitness enthusiasts.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessScam and cheating

I moved here from Texas and went to the Sheppard and Yonge location of extreme fitness. I met with a representative called Fern Raufi and I CLEARLY asked her if I could leave the gym if I wanted to after 4 months. I didnt really want to leave but wanted to be sure that if needed I can always withdraw. She enthusiastically said yes and I walked away with the paper work with the intention of having it signed and returned in a few days. She kept calling me for 2 days after that to make sure I come back in which I did because her guarantee seemed solid and like most consumers, when a legit representative of a company is so sure about what is allowed and can be done, I believed her.

My contract started in June 08. I went back to them in Feb 08 because I did not want to go there anymore and the manager flatly told me he could do nothing. when I told him what I was told, he completely ignored me and asked me to leave. Since the woman who had signed me was no longer there, I had no way of validating my stand. The manager very eagerly pointed out the 'one year term' rule and because I had not been diligent in reading that agreement I did not argue much. Then in Feb or March, I went back again to ask for an add on location [since I was working right next to one of their location in downtown Toronto]. I asked the man who was setting me up that I will prob not be at my work place for long and if I would be allowed to drop the add on come the end of my work committments in downtown toronto. Again he vehemently agreed and said I could walk in any day and cancel it.

Well I walked in begining of April and asked to be dropped off the add on and the manager [Sia] brushed me off saying its not possible and I should talk to the person who signed me up. I was shocked to say the least at her audacity to just shove me off. As soon as I started protesting, she just stared at her screen and ignored me completely [and I was not screaming or shouting but very calmly trying to tel her I had been told this was possible].

What surprises me is the used car salesman mind set of these gyms. THey have no conscience. They dont care if a person cant afford to pay them or if he doesnt have enough cash to pay his mortgage and could soon be on the street. All they care about is their [censored]ng money. I wonder how these crooks and liars sleep at night. In any event it seems obvious that those who have no qualifications whatsoever, become gym administrators.

Shame ! Why does the canadian business bureau not investigate these claims. I unfortunately had no way of verifying my claims because I had thrown out the contract etc but if I did, I would have sued these people for fraud.

Later on I found out from 2 of my friends that extreme had done the same to them and a couple of ppl they knew.

Gym contracts are just like credit card contracts. Wordy and misleading.

  • Ex
    extremefitness Jun 22, 2009

    ExtremeFitness.Com is not affiliated with any gym chain; it's a discussion website for fitness enthusiasts.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessTerrible company

Yesterday I received a call - message from an Extreme Fitness representative Alessandra Panno stating that I had won the second prize (free month membership, free consultation and 240$ towards the purchase of anything relating to the center) to a contest I had entered (I had filled out a ballot at a local restaurant). My friend, Michelle, called Allessandra back and got all the information necessary to claim our 'prize' and finally we were scheduled for an appointment to consult with her about how to get my free month and other prizes. And now that I think of it, I know why they gave Michelle a free month as well.

Like so many others have stated, they sweet talk you and get you to think that you actually won something. we were a little skeptical about signing up on a contract but for monthly fees, its 129$/month. So we asked Alessandra if we could cancel anytime during the contract as we might be moving away. She said and I quote 'Oh yes, for sure, no problem there. Here hold on, it's written here on the contract...' She paused because she couldn't find it then said 'Hold on, I'll go see the manager'.

We waited a minute or so and when she came back she said 'Yes, there's no problem there, all we need i proof that you moved at least 25 km's away.' So we signed without actually reading through the whole contract and they now also have our credit card information. Alessandra clearly stated 'We need your credit card information on file to process all the information. We weren't quite done yet.

A dude came along and booked us for an assessment evaluation as to where we were physically. Both Michelle and I didn't really want this physical assessment as we just wanted to hop on a treadmill and do our own thing... But they pressured us into one. And then we shook hands and left.

When we got home, I really didn't like the way they pressured us into getting an assessment done so Michelle called and asked if we could skip that and just get access to do our own thing in the gym... They didn't want to. Michelle spoke with a manager and he told us and i quote again 'It's the first time in my life that I've heard people say they don't want a free assessment done'. Oh really? well there's always a first and I'm not proud of my body and don't need anyone telling me how bad it is, that's why I don't want... I can assess myself thank you.

So michelle got really upset with the way they handled the situation and I told her to nevermind my so called 'prize' and call back to cancel everything. What do you know... nobody was available. We have 10 days to cancel and this is day 2... I will be going there tomorrow, in person to cancel everything and I will show them that they are committing FALSE PRETENCES. I've read many cases of individuals who fell victim to their scam... and it's not right!!!

I am sure I won't be able to get out of it unless drastic measures are taken. Whatever it takes, whatever I have to do, whoever wants to help... I've got a few teachers and old co-workers who have worked all their lives in the law enforcement field and I have personally attended college and have basic knowledge regarding the Canadian Law. We have rights and Extreme Fitness is taking them away from us. We put our trust in to this company and they put our money in their account.

FALSE PRETENCE is a representation of fact, either past or present, by words or otherwise known to be false, made with fraudulent intent or to induce a person to act on it.

  • Jo
    jon8mike Jun 13, 2009

    HI,
    THis is almost exactly what happened to me and my and my freind. we got pressured into sighing a paper, which they said was just to show we get a free training asssesment,

    that we were not agreeing to the 90 $ traner, an dwas told if we want to cancel it, we call and tell them.

    we called them and told them we didnt want the training service and cancel this...
    The next thing you know we have our credit cards charged, we go in today, and the guy simply has no customre service, tell us thats nogt the case he cannot do anything and that he never said that we were getting a free assesment, that we can call in to cancel, apperantly we have to talk to him personally by coming in to cancel..

    He gave us hardtime and stated that we didnt can cancel and we should have come in to tell the one t raining manager (himself), , not good enough to tell the trainer.

    then he sits there tells us we are making up stories.

    I cannot believe they are such scammers,
    in fact when we signed up for the membership, we had literally told him before we left him point blank that we would think about the training service and if we decide we will take it later but for now we did not want it.


    Can i ask your help and telling me what you had to do, what extreme actions you took, how it went?
    email me at [email protected], please..im sooo pissed.both me and my friend

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    extremefitness Jun 22, 2009

    ExtremeFitness.Com is not affiliated with any gym chain; it's a discussion website for fitness enthusiasts.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rejuvenate Feb 24, 2010

    I can't believe you guys are getting quoted these outrageous amounts! More so, I can't believe you just blindly went for it. Firstly, memberships generally go somewhere between $350 to $450 per year. $40/month is a good price. Extreme is a little pricey for what it offers, but it's up to you to decide it it's worth it. Secondly, the cheapest membership at Extreme Vaughan is around $475 for the year, if you pay all at once. If you pay monthly, it works out be about about an extra $10/month, so it's worth the one time annual rate. Thirdly, personal training goes for $75/session. Lastly, if you don't want a personal assessment, you don't need to get one done, and they didn't pressure me into getting it done. The manager's reaction was more along the lines of, "Really? It costs you nothing, and it's there if you want it. The choice is yours." I did end up doing the assessment, and I'm glad I did. I was way more out of shape than I thought! Yah, I was quite embarrassed, but it was with myself that I was embarrassed. I let myself get get out of shape and gain 40-lbs. Nobody forced me to do it. Just like nobody can force you to join this gym. You have to say, "Listen, we appreciate your time spent with, but we're not ready to commit to something like this right now. Would you give us your card, and we'll call you when we're ready. Thanks for your time." You have to remember, this is a marketing business. They sell health and fitness, and they want you to buy their business over everyone elses. And along the way, there will be "scams" that come across. It's up to you be informed and make the right decision.

    Let this be a lesson learned. You're passing on your experiences to others to be cautious about, so head your own advice.

    And here's something else for you to think about: if you really didn't want this, you wouldn't have allowed yourself to be talking into it in the first place. It's like going to BMW and having the sales guy talk you into buying the nice i128 for $44500 when you know you can really only afford the Festiva for $20350 (before the hidden fees & taxes). Are you really going to allow the BMW marketing rep to talk you into something you know you can't afford or need? ... I didn't think so.

    Always take a step back, and think about it. Walk away for day or two or week. Do you're homework. Crunch your numbers. If you really want and can afford it after you've done all that, then, go back and buy i128.

    The bottom line is, you're in control of what and how you spend your money. There are scammers everywhere, and they will always try to get you "hooked." If you want it, take it. If you're not sure, walk away and think about it. If you're really uncomfortable with what is being presented to you, then say "no thanks, " and walk away.

    0 Votes
  • To
    TOgirl87 Mar 22, 2011

    I'm sorry to say I have had this exact same experience. I just recently joined extreme fitness at yonge and sheppard and they told me about the personal assessement. I didn't want to do it because I had joined once before several years back and I had done the assessment and I knew all it was was a chance for them to pressure you into paying an outrageous amount of money for a personal trainer. So anyways, this time I told them I didn't want to do the assessment and they told me I had to do it or else I couldn't get my membership card! because at this point they had given me the temporary card which is basically the piece of paper with a barcode on it. I had to make a huge deal about it because they just wouldn't budge on the assessment and finally I told them that if that was the case I was just going to cancel the entire membership because I thought their insistance on it was extremely ridiculous. Anyways, they finally gave me my permanent membership card without me having to do the assessment. I can't believe I had to o through so much trouble just to get my membership card that I paid for! I've experienced terrible service here and it's sad to see that it isn't an isolated incident, but is happening at other Extreme gyms in other areas. I guess its a company policy, a VERY bad one I might add. I will not be renewing my membership.

    0 Votes
  • Ov
    overchargeInToronto Nov 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am going to skip 2 years of dealing with extreme fitness, Wellington Club at Wellington and York in Toronto and go straight to closing my membership. Mine was a month to month membership. I canceled October 2011 and the representative, Gavin Ratnam, gave me the "great news" that I could use the gym up to Dec 31, 2011. I insisted I want my membership cancel as October 31 and his reply was there is nothing he could do because that's the way their computer system works and he couldn't change it. So, although my membership was in a month to month basis they will charge me an extra month, November, and my month deposit will be used towards the month of December.
    Even more frustrating is that there is no one to complain, in person, phone or email. The only contact I could find in the Extreme Fitness web site is Alison Stephens, Manager of Public Relations ( [email protected] ) who hasn't reply to the email I send complaining about been charged two months extra after canceling my membership. Decide for yourself if it is worth to make business with a place like that.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessTrainers and membership fees are terrible

The personal trainers at Extreme Fitness at Yonge and Dundas are immature and ruthless.
I saw them in the act of vandalizing a goodlife ballot box, more than once. There were drawings of penis' and comments about how extreme fitness "rocks" all over the box. How old are they? They're being paid well, (20$+/hr per training session) and charging clients more than double. I don't even know how management hires these ###s.

A friend of mine got called up by extreme fitness telling her that she won 2nd prize in the Extreme Fitness ballot @ Yonge and Dundas. 2nd Prize consisted of a 1 year free membership. As excited as she was, she went downtown for her appointment with the trainer. It was not a free one year membership. They definitely terrible people to deal with. They asked for her credit card and bank card and photocopied all of that stuff and then started talking about how it was NOT FREE. It was 80$/month with 2 "free" months. Jesus thats even worse than Goodlife Fitness (50$/month) which I have also having a loathing for. Next day my friend told them she wanted to cancel the contract with Extreme Fitness, the trainer asked "How much are you paying at Goodlife?". How is that any of their business???? They even said they would lower the contract to the same amount Goodlife was asking for. This sort of tactic pisses me off to no end. If they really cared to give my friend a cheaper contract they would give her the free 1 year membership that she was told she'd won to begin with.

These gym centres are no longer about the clients/customers. Is all about them making money and making more of it. It sickens me to death.

  • Jo
    John Viriatus Feb 19, 2009

    Extreme Fitness is shady indeed. The sales rep at the Yonge/Dundas location for Extreme was a liar (Brent). I went in as a 'guest' and my wife immediately set the tone by saying, spare him the sales pitch, he just wants to work out and check it out.

    The guy followed me into the change room after my wife left, told me that I needed a credit card and drivers license for 'insurance' purposes.

    I said 'no' of course and he kept at me. Eventually I wanted him out of my hair and just said okay thinking that he would do nothing with it.

    I finish my workout, go ask for my credit card and driver's license back and he says, 'sign here!!'. I looked over this paper and it was a contract. I repeatedly said I didn't want to sign a contract, he insisted it wasn't a contract and kept pushing and pushing.

    In the end, I didn't sign and he was upset. He even said, "I went through all this work of inputting you into the system, the least you could do is sign for now...".

    This is an absolutely true story.

    About 10 years ago I worked at CIBC VISA as a call rep. Extreme Fitness was one of the biggest violators of cardholder misuse (based on the number of complaints I got, DAILY!!!). I mean, it wasn't even close. At least 2 out of my daily incoming calls were from agitated Extreme members. I didn't sign with them because of this when I started (as a VISA rep I heard all the complaints) and listened to myself.

    Bottom line: Extreme Fitness is a suspect company. Unlike Goodlife, they are owned by a NY investment firm. So try complaining! Goodlife is Canadian owned, London based by a 'person', so someone ultimately takes accountability. Just my two cents.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessRip off

I decided to get a gym membership at Extreme fitness in February. Several people told me not to go there because they rip you off and continue to charge your account after you cancel it. I decided to go there anyways because I figured it would not happen to me and that I would take care of it when the time came. When setting up my account I was told that I would be the primary on my account if I decided to add someone to it. I was also told that they do not do paper bills and that I would have to give them my credit card number so they may bill me every month. I paid the outrageous membership fee and agreed on forty dollars coming out of my account every month.

I went to the gym for a couple months and kept checking my account to see that they had not pulled any money out of my account. I called the gym and they could not locate my account and said they do not deal with billing. They instructed me to call the company that does the billing, ABC financial. After waiting several minutes I was transfered to someone who had no idea what was going on. She tried to locate my account and decided that I did not exist and that I was simply not being billed. Well that didn't make any sense so I once again called the gym and they told me not to worry about it. I asked them to have a manager call me back and of course no one did. April came around and I still hadn't been billed. Again I called giving them the other girl on my account, and they said again that I didn't exist. I gave them my agreement number that the gym had given me and she still couldn't find me. I called the gym again and of course they gave me the run around. Every time I called the gym they simply stated that someone would call me back and that it would be pointless for me to come in.

So, I went in, they looked up my account by the second person on my account. I asked him if he was sure that was the correct account because I was suppose to be the primary and that didn't make any sense. He said 'yea this is you, here is the right agreement number.' So I left and called ABC financial yet again. The person on the phone was again incompetent. I gave her the agreement number and explained to her what had happened. She claimed she had found my account and asked me if I lived off of college view. I said no that must be the wrong account. (The other person on my account has a very common name, so it was very plausible that there would two people with her name going to this gym). She insisted that was me and began to enter my current information in place of hers! She told me that I had been going to the gym since October. I tried explaining again to her that that was not my account and that she had just replaced someone elses information with mine because that was not my address nor the second person on the account. She also gave me the other persons credit card! Which I told her I don't have a credit card with those numbers and that this was again not my account. She basically just talked to me like I was a crazy person and created more problems for the company she works for.

By doing this she made it more difficult for me to located my account. I kept calling and began to feel very helpless. The gym would send me to ABC and ABC would send me back to the gym. They made it impossible for me to pay my bill. All I wanted to do was pay them. After going through this mess I decided that it would be best to cancel my account because it was causing so much stress that I didn't need, and ruining my perfect credit. Again I called in June and tried to find my account and cancel it. They kept taking me to the wrong account that wasn't mine. I finally talked to someone who found my account through another name and the wrong address and she told me that I had been sent to collections! I was furious! Here I was trying to pay them thinking my account didn't even exist and maybe I didn't owe them anything and I had been sent to collections. I was never billed and the agreement they made with me was false. She continued to tell me that she couldn't and wouldn't help me because now it had been sent to collections. She told me to call the gym and they would deal with it. Well I have been calling the gym for two weeks twice a day and still have not received an email or a phone call. They won't even talk to me there! So now I have decided to take them to Better business because of their lack of interest in one of their paying customers. I'd also like to add that when I called the collections company they had no problem finding me and I paid my bill in full that was suppose to be over several months.

I found extreme fitness's staff to be rude and not helpful. They were not knowledgeable of their job and could not even tell me the number to their corporate. ABC financial employees incompetent employees and I will never go through any company that uses them.

  • Od
    odnilag2002 Apr 13, 2009

    I too have had many problems with Extreme Fitness and ABC Financial. My girlfriend an I both signed up in late 2007. She had surgery in April of 2008 and could not go to the gym for at least six months.

    Extreme Fitness told me I could freez her account, save money and only have to pay for me. I thought to it was a good deal, not! Three months later, I found out the gym had stopped taking money out of my bank account.

    When I questioned Extreme Fitness about it, they told me I had froze my whole account and needed to talk to some new billing agency they were using (ABC Financial).

    I called ABC Financial and got no where. So I tried to end my membership. ABC Financial told I could not end my membership until April 2009. I asked why. They told me I signed a one year agreement with Extreme Fitness. I told them my account was month to month, that's what I signed and agreed to. They told me I was wrong and due to me freezing my account for six months, I had to wait until April 2009. I also have to pay until April 2009.

    So someone, Extreme fitness or ABC Financail [email protected]#$ed up my account and cost me a lot of money.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    extremefitness Jun 22, 2009

    ExtremeFitness.Com is not affiliated with any gym chain; it's a discussion website for fitness enthusiasts.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarasam Jul 16, 2009

    Becareful and avoid these people at North York Location: Al Emadian, Greg Samuel, Sia Venet

    It happened to me too. They made me sign a one-year contract with 3 months for free. Now that I think about it, the 3- month- free wasn’t really free. I tell you what hey do. The trick is that they break the cost of that 3months period and added to the rest of the months. But when you are signing the contract hey say you are getting free months, , which is totally BS. Now that I’ve terminated my membership within 7 months of my contract, they have voided my freezed months and charged me for those, plus charged me for the first supposedly free 3 months period as well, because I am moving and terminating my contract early. But still I was one of the lucky ones who didn’t fall into their tricks of trainers and towels and multiple gym access, nutrition advisor BS. … Who do they think we are…. I am putting a STOP on my credit card immediately after writing this comment for you. It feels nice to be free at last….

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David844 Aug 21, 2009

    Waw I am so happy I didnt sign uplast year with them...so many complaints! Only reason i didnt sign up at the time was a feeling I had about them in my gut when I did the interview. I have almost had one bad experience many years ago with the premier fitness in scarborough way back when they had just open 1998 I think I had signed up for a one year contract then decide the next day not to go thre anymore i went in put in the cancellation request off course they tried all sort of things toscrew me over but a friend told me its the law even though you sign on the dottedline you can still cancel within a period of a few days. I contacted my creditcard company told them bout the greedy mf ers and they backed me up and took care of everything. how it worked still is the charges did went on the card for like seven months but i had despute form to submit them i get back the full credit each month.. a bit of a hassle but least i was getting my money back. and the club gave up after 7 months and stopped billing the card whew.. the lady at extremefitness reminded me of that bad experience i had like 12 years earlier just the same feeling i got when i was sigining up at premier difference is i listened to my gut second time around. Good luck to you all out there.. gettogether complain and you will win over. some will take hits but its the price we have to pay for the freedom unfortunately.

    0 Votes
  • Oo
    OOz Apr 07, 2011

    tomer service post-membership sign-up is aweful. The female representative /manager "Sia Venet" is disrespectful, imature and irresponsible; instead of listening to my conversation (as a customer) constantly interrupted and argued senselessly during conversations, "shockingly" yelled at me, acted as a child & a bully and "amazingly" told me things that were blunt lies - assuming that if it was my first time 'at any gym' and not just her facility. I even saw her arguing with her colleagues to avoid work. I left her desk in a state of shock.

    Due to an extended overseas trip, I went in with the intention to freeze my membership, but cancelled it due to her horrible attitude. Contractual circumstances were in my favor and I didn't loose any money but her attitude was extremely dissapointing. Apparantly, by keeping staff like her, this gym or the management is not interested in keeping or growing their business. Certainly their intentions and my experience has been passed onto colleagues and rest assured they will will not set foot in this facility. Also noticed other complains about this facility, its staff namely her on the following bulletin dated several months back.

    0 Votes

Resolved Extreme FitnessDo not join this gym

They are all nice when they want you to sign but when you want to cancel - they will not return your calls nor will the service you in person. Do not join this gym. They use aggressive tactics - this deal is only a special for this weekend and don't worry you cancel - is a lie. Do believe the marketing sheets that $8 no contract - this is not true.

Do NOT give them your credit card even though they say you cancel. This goes for all extreme locations.

Very disappointed and have the same complaints from others who have tried the trial 30 days - it is a hoax. They need your money to compensate for all the renovations they are doing to the gym.

  • Ex
    extremefitness Jun 22, 2009

    ExtremeFitness.Com is not affiliated with any gym chain; it's a discussion website for fitness enthusiasts.

    0 Votes