Evercom Correctional Billing Services Complaints & Reviews

Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesI hate them

Evercom is the worst ###en company ever they rip you off drop your calls and take ur money you try to call and make the compaint or try to get help and they have no one assist you. they said nothing yould change on there new system and now i cant receiceve no phone calls with money on my phone that they already charged to my ###en account as if there ###en prices werent expensive enough they think people just have money to be lossing and worst of all i cant talk to my husband *** you everco your ###enassholes!!

Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesPhone scam

Evercom Systems allowed a prisoner in the Kankakee, IL correctional facility to fraudly use my home phone number to make long distance calls to a third party. The situation was so costly that after 25 years I had to change my home phone number, pay for more expensive phone services and spend hours of time with AT&T trying to get credits for the bills! Contact me to further discuss this matter!! Madd As ***... and want some executive at Evercom Systems to contact me regarding an investigation of this complaint. I can be reached by email as a response.

Resolved Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesWhat's wrong with the Counties?

I'm not going to curse or even stay upset while writing this complaint. I am beyond upset now and it seems like even writing here really doesn't make a big difference. I suppose it is just a place for ripped of people to vent. First of all, I don't understand why these counties across America are using evercom at all. I live in the Houston area and in our county, AT&T controls the phones inside of the county jails. Inside of the city jail it sure isn't evercom. The county also have an agreement with AT&T, to unblock the line only for calls from their jail and you pay either the JAIL itself or I believe AT&T. They send you to the inmate billing part when you call them. Now, my loved one was in the county jail here in our city for another city's tickets. He called me once or maybe twice a day for one rate at 3.60 a call. That's it. I used my own company and already new the spending limit, which as long as he was here I did not go over. When they moved him to Navarro County, that's when I got pissed. First off the call is 3.50 to connect, 40 cents the first minute, and 39 cents the other 29 min. Then an officer in the jail told him that that was only if you hung up before the 30 minutes were up. That the overall call was five dollars. So he called me two more times after that. After the third time there was a block on my phone. He was able to call my cell phone for a free short call, which was only about 5 seconds. At this time I stayed on the line to talk with a representative and the whole call was disconnected. I called the number back and what do I get? A person who could barley understand what I was saying and I made out every other two words with him. Every question I asked this man, he could not answer. He blamed everything on Navarro County. He told me they placed the block on my phone because I went over my spending limit. I asked him what spending limit because I don't even know who you are. He was like your spending limit is only 56 dollars and you have used 60. What!!! I said no sir, my spending limit with my company is far greater than that. He then stated that they werent my phone company and that I owe them the money. I asked how would I get the bill he said on your regular phone bill. Anyway, we argue about 30 mins because I refuse to accept any of the ridiculous answers I got from him. I called AT&T and they said don't give them any money until they looked into what was going on because there should not be a block on my phone at all. Okay so I paid the prepaid money to my cell phone. I paid the 24.95. When I tried to add more money they told me the minimum amount they could take was 50 dollars and the processing fee would be 6.95 now. Then they stated I could use western union, put however much I wanted to but it will cost me 16 dollars. Their last offer was for me to mail in a money order for 1, 2, 5, or 10 dollars and they would put it on my account in 5 to 10 business days after the received the payment. These people are crazy. The county that use the services are crazy. Anybody who works for them are truly crazy. When I asked about the 90 day agreement with your own company that is on their website, they claimed I was looking at something else and they couldn't find it. The when I said well I would pay the first bill off to clear my line, they replied "well it still wont remove the block until 90 after it was placed which will be in October." WHAT IN CREATIONS!!! He is only there for tickets not murder. Now there is a block on my cell phone too. Said we talked 14 dollars over. How in the world do you talk over a prepaid amount? I don't want to speak with evercom first. I want to speak with the bias governor of our state ( which probably wont do any good anyway, he's a joke), then the Sheriff of Navarro County, and then evercome to ask one question, who in the heck do they think they are?

Resolved Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesAwful company

I can't get through to anyone at the service e-mail or phone. I am being billed for inmate calls through my phone company and then receiving bills from evercom for the exact same calls. I have called the phone company many times, they say you pay your phone bill and we pay evercom. So I asked if in the last 6 months have I ever NOT paid my phone bill IN FULL. And they said no, you are an outstanding customer.

So the phone company finally got in touch with evercom the phone company called me back and even they said that evercom were idiots. They gave me the number to the PUC (Public Utility Commission) and the FCC and said all I can do is file a complaint and they will have to go though all their records and will Audit evercom. Every local community has it's own number for the PUC, and The FCC number is in the phone book. I would suggest anyone who has recently had problems with this company to call and lodge a complaint.

  • Cs
    c s Mar 01, 2009

    correctional billing is nothing but a rip off!! they have ripped me off so much money it is just unreal!! i have put ever bit $3 grand altogether in my account over a 6 month period to talk to my husband, and they are still ripping me off and when i try to talk to them about stuff coincidentally the phone hangs up.. and i have plainly told them with their attitudes and the way they all go about there business i dont see how they can blame people for getting so irritated with them.. i have put money in my account, not even hear from my husband yet and money dissapears out of the blue, all they give me is a run around and i literally got no where nor did i get my money back.. i was pissed off!!!

    1 Votes
  • Su
    susanabell May 06, 2009

    I have paid hundreds of dollars to be able to talk with my son who is incarcerated. I was told I had a credit line of $56.00 then the calls got cut off, so I started prepaying. My phone now has a block, which I am told by att&t that they do not know that much about this company but I beliv e they bill att& t in addition to collectiong large amounts of money, double billing, I call this theft and a scam. It needs to stop. i pay my phone bill.

    0 Votes
  • I have wasted so much time with these people its not funny! They claim a 24 hour service line like hell other them a computer talking, that says nothing but pay money, I think the only other thing there is dumb ### monkey. There is no sign of any intelligence at any level. I have been on the phone for the past hour and a half, pressing # 4 to be told to call back as all lines are busy. For the outragous rates they charge there should be more then one monkey to answer the phone. But I wouldn't know this is my third time playing this game, I paid $200.00 on my account and it is still blocked, with a balance of $179.77, yet they say I have credit limit of over $400.00, So you tell me this outfit doesn't have a license to steal. And yes I am going to get in touch with the Public Utility Commission and The FFC to find out who is suppose to be in charge of regulating this bunch of crooks.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurey May 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My son called me twice tonight at $9.99 a call and they let us stay connected for 1 minute each time. on the phone they say ten minutes but both times after I accepted the $9.99 charge the phone calls were disconnected after one minute. I would like to start a business like that, with no way to hold anyone responsible. He has been in county jail for 2 weeks and other than 30 minutes on Sunday tonight was the only contact we've had, and it cost me 20 dollars. If they are only going to connect you for 1 minute at a time they should say that.

    0 Votes
  • In
    IngH54 Jun 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Someone needs to help put this company out of business. This is a terrible company I hate I ever spent a dime with them. I had several disconnected phone calls. They policy said fax the info in to get your refund then they lie and say they listen to all of your calls and deny your refund giving you a dumb reason. The call center is in Mexico City you cant get anyone on the line to help at all. I plan on taking this as far as I can to get my money back. Please tell everyone you know about this fraud

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    Tyler Jun 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The company I am writing in regards to is correctional billing services. It is a prepay company to receive collect calls from inmates incarcerated. They charge $6.95 to process a payment and the payment has to be at least 25.00 when doing so. I made a payment for the above amount. Once the phone service was activated to receive phone calls from my loved one the calls were dropped back to back and I was charged the initial reconnecting fee of $1.75. and 10 cents there after.. 12phone calls were placed back to back on June 2nd starting at 9:28 am then 9:46 am, you are allowed up to 20 minutes on each call b4 being disconnected.. my loved one tried back again at 1:30 pm then waited until 8:17 pm, 8:27 pm, 8:28 pm, 9:02 pm, 9:04 pm, 9:06 pm, 9:42 pm, and the last at 10:02 pm 9 out of the 12 calls were disconnected.. I called the company and was told they could only issue 2 credits that I would have to file paperwork and allow up to 30 days for the refund if they felt any was owed. Unfortunately if I want to communicate with my love one this is the only option for phone services and while researching the internet I found over hundreds of complaints of the same issue and no help avail. This practice is unjust and a scam to us consumers. I spoke to 4 different representatives at this company Alex, Pilar, then Hector a supervisor, then last Elias team supervisor.. the end result was I could receive $5.00 in a courtesy credit while the rest would take up to 30 days to credit my account which makes no sense to me whatsoever in todays technological world. Elias did try to assist me to the fullest but this company s a scam and ripping off consumers and leaving us with no options but to continue to pay their monopoly while they exploit us.

    Your Desired Resolution:

    I would like a full refund credited back to my account and for this issue to be fixed immediately I am only one out of thousands being ripped off and brutalized by this company. It is unacceptable and can not and will not be tolerated.

    This case will be reviewed by a complaint specialist at the Better Business Bureau, and then forwarded to the business for their response. It is our policy to allow the business 30 working days to respond to your complaint. You will be notified when the business has responded.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CofAnon Oct 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I accepted a collect call from an inmate, I was charged $26.60 for 15 minutes. I have tried to contact someone with this company about the ridiculous chagres. The only number provided by my telephone company is 1-800-844-6591, and the only options are sign up for their services, already have their services, or to block call from all correctional facilities. I can't talk with anyone about the charges. I am really pissed, I mean I am pissed, pissed to the max. What more can I say...I am thoroughly pissed. I am so mad right now I could scream. It is really hard for me to communicate my frustation with these unjustified charges.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna J Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't like having to use CBS/Evercom to talk to my family member, who is in pre-trial detention in the US Federal justice system; however, I want to say that even though the communications system out of the criminal justice facilities STINKS like a festering toilet and is a HUGE rip off that needs to be abolished, the customer service reps I've encountered (and they are many) have been nothing but helpful, knowledgeable, and even when I was becoming irate, they remained kind and courteous. I think they deserve a shout-out, and if you have issues with CBS/Evercom, know that the problem is either their rules, or those of their puppet-master, FiSere, that processes their payments.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NicP74 Jun 03, 2016

    I have several problems. first the phone will have up for no reason. it will say there was an attempt to make 3 way calling when there was not. second it will say there was a system error and hang up it the middle of the conversation. they don't care when you call them to tell them your problems. i have been a customer with them for 8 months now and i have spent over 5000 dollars and they just don't care about there customers. also they have been over charging my calls!! please start caring about your customers because if there will be another way i will bring my money to them and i will tell everyone i know!!!

    0 Votes

Resolved Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesThey will just take your money away

I advise everyone NOT to get everscam!!! I placed $60 on my phone yesterday. Talked maybe one or two times. Checked balance and it said I think $54. I hadn't talked again because I've been at work. Checked my balance again and it said $000000. Evercom just took my money and will not replace it. DO NOT go with everscam. I'm getting hooked up with AT&T or MCI. Everscam is robbing poor people like myself. Everscam can go straight to *** and not come back. F__k you EVERSCAM!! Go straight to *** all of you! Do not give everscam anymore money!

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Resolved Evercom Correctional Billing Services — Theft

I have an account with Evercom Correctional Billing Services. They have repeatedly cut my phone calls short...

Resolved Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesThey're thieves

I’m being billed for calls that I do not get to speak on. The phone will ring and say thank you for using evercom twice, hang up and bill me for the full 30 minutes, I asked for them to please check phones, they do nothing but charge you. They can't speak English so you can't understand them, an easy way to get out of doing anything for you. They need a class action lawsuit on them like some of the other states have filed and won. Someone please help. We are being robbed and can't get any help.

  • Pa
    Pancho Serrano Jul 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Last year they managed to charge my ATT account $12.95 a moth for 4 months of “service”. It was a real pain to convince ATT that I was not authorizing Evercom Systems or any other company to charge my account any amount of money for any service in particular. Finally I ended up paying for two months, only two months where credited back into my account.
    This year the monster is back, already two months in my telephone bill and one to go.
    My only income is my Social Security check and I can’t afford to let these thieves to get away with this scam.
    My solution to the problem is to have my regular line disconnected, keeping only the internet service and using Vonage as my telephone provider, with free nationwide long distance calls, including a few European countries.
    ATT should be accountable for not protecting their customers like some banks and credit cards companies; after all they reimburse you for unauthorized transactions.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    s. lee Jul 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I PAY AS YOU GO WITH MY CREDIT CARD. MY CALLS COME ON MY CELL PHONES SO AFTER PUTTING OUT MONEY TIME AND TIME AGAIN I WENT OVER THE BILLS WITH MY CELL BILLS ANDI FIND THAT WE ARE BEING CHARGED FOR CALL S NOT CONNECTED OR ACCEPTED. I THOUGHT SOMETHING WAS WRONG BECAUSE IT WOULD BE IMPOSSIBLE FOR THAT MANY CALLS TO BE MADE. I ONLY WENT BACK TO JUNE BUT I WILL WATCH MY BILLS IN THE FUTURE AND IF THEY DON'T REFUND THEN IWILL GO TO MYCREDIT CARD COMPANY AS I HAVE PROOF IN BLACK AND WHITE.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maria Sep 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hi,
    my name iz maria guzman im tryin to fine out something, a case that is going on i had gave my creit card # to some peoples to put money for a phone services for my son to be able to call me for the calls can go tho my house phone and i had gave them 100 dollars to them n i still dont have the phone services i wold like to now how ca i get my money back because i did that 2 time its not workin at all and i need the money back if i cant get the services.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CoCo Mar 27, 2009

    I have had nany similiar experiences with this company. Also, if you prepay, they allow you to incur charges over what you have pre-paid for taxes and fees. Then they expect you to pay MORE. This company is taking advantage of those of us that have no alternative, they are more criminal than the people they are providing security for. If you want to file a lawsuit, I am willing to help.

    Courtney Cobb
    [email protected]
    Lincoln, NE.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    browneyedgirl Sep 02, 2009

    I had several dropped calls from EVERCOM, Im talkin 1 min, 3 min, 5 min calls, that dropped for no apparent reason, which happened to me all of the time in the past with them and they always credited back the minutes that I lost. Well now they have a new "policy" that does not allow them to automatically credit you the unused minutes. So there is no recourse and they basically, no not basically, THEY DO get paid for airtime that wasn't utilized which is also against FCC regulations.

    0 Votes
  • Is
    islandgirl2009 Sep 19, 2009

    I agree something needs to be done, this is very criminal to do this to people.theyre taking advantage of people that use the service, its like they got you over a barrel this is wrong lets ban together on this problem Why is, nt there another company we could use? seems like they have a monopoly on this phone system, lets do something about these pirates!

    0 Votes

Resolved Evercom Correctional Billing ServicesWhat happened to 1-800-collect

I recently went to jail for the first time (San Joaquin county jail), I couldn’t even call my mom, and by the time she paid 61$ by card» they said it would take 48hours to go through. Well I ended up getting out way sooner then expected. They wouldn’t refund the money and now my boyfriend is in the same jail and still can’t call my moms number. I think the governor of California is looking like a money hungry pig and they should have regular old pay phones in every county jail(god for bid some one smuggled in 50cents) 1-800-collect every one knows that number and should you choose to accept the collect call it shows up on a regular phone bill. County jails are gonna keep *** people off and criminals are more than half of the good old U.S.A population! Give inmates the right to use 1-800-collect. Sincerely pissed from Manteca, lathrop and Sacramento (*** the almighty dollar) and them snobby *** guards at county "put me in the hole cuz they said I talk too much!" I still talk but not on the wanna be payphones they got in there/somebody call the terminator...lol

  • Sh
    Sherry Nov 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TEXAS
    They don't even give inmates a free call when being booked.
    I have an account with these people, Evercom, because I have to.
    All morning I've tried taking calls from newly arrested inmates only to be disconnected so they call someone else.
    Loss of revenue for me, and huge cost to my phone bill.
    I'm right across the street from the jail house, but can only speak to someone collect. Jail makes more money that way.
    Most can't call families because cell phones will not take a collect call, and unless they have a carrier on their home phone they have to set up an account with these people or no get through.
    Crazy
    Minimum for lst minute is approx.$5.00.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cassidey Mar 19, 2010

    Evercom is ridiculous! I just placed the minimun amount of $25 on a pre-paid card in order to receive calls from my son who has been incarcerated for the first time in his life in New York. I am in Ga. He called me twice, with a promise to call back later in the day. I waited and waited. Decided to check my balance on this correctional billing service -- discovered they have BLOCKED all calls from the jail he is in, and says my balance is over by 6.50! OMG! I checked each calls to discover that not only was I charged a service fee of $6.95, but each call is taxed with eats away at the amount of money you have on your pre-pay account. . The calls are 3.95 connect fee, plus .89 per minute, plus 1.75 tax per call. Totally ridiculous and unfair. The FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION should look into this bogus phone company. It is a joke. In no time, your money is eaten up, and your account is on block status. --that is until you add MORE money. What a scam. And they know you want to hear from your loved one, so you don't have a choice. You must add money in order to talk to your loved one, and they are the only correctional billing company servicing that jail in Riverhead, N.Y. This is so truly unfair. What a joke! What a total rip off! OVERCHARGE YOU WHEN YOU ARE AT YOUR MOST VUNERABLE AND WORRIED ABOUT YOUR CHILD!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Eddie May 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was told i would recieve an email to dispute calls and still have not recieved anything! You dont mind taking my money yet you cant do what you say!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PissedoffGF Jul 23, 2012

    It's complete ###, my boyfriend is in riverhead jail, NY, and he calls me and it's so much money on my fine bill so I got a prepaid card and it was the same ###. The correctional facility is already making money for having them in there owns for high bails and now u want to charge do much to talk for 10 damn minutes. And on top of it all the money is probably going to our enemies anyway like Afghanistan and Iraq, complete ###.

    0 Votes