QuikTriphorrible company to work for

T Review updated:

QT is a horrible company to work for. They don't even give you a lunch break. Forget about lunch hour, but they don't even give you a 5 minute break. Not even for full time worker who work more than 8 hours per day and more than 40 hour a week. They tell you that if you "have" to eat then you must eat WHILE still ringing customers. You could have your food in your hand and if the customer comes, you have to ring them up with your food sitting right there on the counter in the open. The manager won't say that go ahead finish your meal, I'll take care of the customer. They'll tell you to interrupt your meal and serve the customer and only eat if there is no more customers. Most QT stores are always busy with lots of customers. They need to provide a clean place where employees can sit and eat in peace without having to ring up customers during their meals. They also make people work alone at night in dangerous areas because they are too cheap to hire two people to work in the store at same time. The QT managers are the worst managers of any company, they like to bully the workers and threaten them. Most people hate their jobs here, they only work here until they can find something else. QT sounds good when you start but soon you realize how bad things are. They don't care about their worker's safety. Managers have told employees that even if a customer beats you up there is nothing you can say to the customer. It is illegal to make employees put up with physical abuse from customers and all companies know that except for QT. Most companies even thorow out customers for verbal abuse, but QT managers verbally abuse thier own workers. It is a horrible company and so many people are consiering suing them for all the unfair treatments.

Responses

  • Je
    Jessica_J Dec 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I used to work at QT too. Alone. At night. As a 115 lb 19-year-old female (yeah, seriously). Got robbed once by two guys with a gun, and once buy an ankle biter with a knife who really wanted to be a gang banger, and once he realized I wasn't coughing up cash and was kind of amused, he stole slim jims instead (got in trouble for not giving him the cash when he asked for it and "threatened" me, from my manager... the guy couldn't even reach over the counter! He was like a 'my toddler' chia pet with pomade and a butter knife, seriously!).

    At my store, we got beer runs like clockwork by two hispanic tweens who lived in the crappy apartments near our store. I got written up for seeing them come in (for, like, the 20th beer run that month), and quickly mopping by the door so that they would fall when they tried to run out with the 30 packs, actually, ha ha. Of course, I was just mopping (as, you know, they expect you to clean EVERYTHING, restock, etc, while still watching the store). With no proof beyond me doing my job, they found "intent" in my mopping skills. And those two boys were customers! Safety first, tsk tsk! Since then, I let all my acquaintances know, whenever they joke about being poor, in college, and doing a beer run so they can finally get some more beer... I let them know about QTs very strict policy on employees pretty much telling the thief "Thank you, have a nice day" and waving as they run off.

    With that said, the health insurance was NICE, and the Facilities Maintenance guy was cool to hang out with at 2 AM, a pretty funny guy (and around a lot since the quik shake machines can't ever NOT be broken). I would have stayed a lot longer with QT, but I was in a car accident and luckily never got to think about it permanently (thank you, lord, for small mriacles!). Just a job I had when I was younger... what you'd expect working at a gas station.

    Oh, one more thing. I got the job because of my tits (and I can add - are they for real with their employment test, seriously, 14+6=????). I also worked at a drive-in movie theater when I was younger, and I thought creepy people hit on me then. I was hit on so regularly by some of my much-older supervisors at QT... and given a promotion almost immediately to assistant manager. So, if you are young, female, pretty, and willing to grin and deal with flattery and passes at you feigning ignorance, you could get pretty far pretty fast with QT, and they have good insurance as a bonus. If you can't deal with that sort of thing from your balding supervisor who is obviously smack in the middle of his midlife crisis, has a lofty sense of importance, says things that can only be described as dumb blonde sayings every day, talks about himself in the third person whenever he gets any anxiety or anger, and wants to feel like he still has some semblance of power again despite the fact that his wife emasculates him and he's quite p*ssy whipped, either learn to laugh at him behind his back or quickly apply elsewhere.

    -2 Votes
  • Ka
    kamt Mar 31, 2012

    To the complaint of not getting a break. Sounds like you worked with a selfish and poor manager that did not take good care of their people. A good manager will use time management to allow his employees to eat and take breaks. This is a store specific issue, not a company wide one. I always give my employees time to eat uninterrupted. I will admit there are plenty of bad managers out there that don't understand this, and that is regretable. As far as store security, QT looked into having two employees at slower stores at all times during the night shift. However, according to FBI stats, you would have two employees dead instead of one. Almost every "incident" that I have experienced was with two or more employees on duty. I am sure police officers would perfer to always have a partner doubled up with them at all times too, but the logistics, and safety benefits don't always justifiy it. Same at QT. And in regards to shoplifting, I have had many people arrested for shoplifting at QT. The problem is, many employees make too many mistakes dealing with a shoplifting situation. They just don't know how to handle the situation. Basically, if you make it an issue where the company is liable, then it is better to let the merchandise go. If the thief did in fact fact fall BEFORE he completed the larceny, broke his spine, and ended up in a wheel chair the rest of his life, that $20 worth of beer just turned into a million dollar settlement. The point is QT not you had to write the check. "Yeah, I have stolen beer before, but I was about to pay for this one when I fell" says the thief. And it is done...they simpley cannot have you writing checks you can't cash. One kid I caught stealing beer received over a year in a youth detention center. But I knew how to handle the situation, and not put the company at risk. Yeah, it sucks, but that is why it is not an easy job and not for everyone. It is a very difficult job, and takes a very sharp person to do. I understand your frustration, but that is how our world is.

    4 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica_J Apr 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Perhaps you're a decent manager. I do think you should really recognize that, unfortunately, many are not before trying to undermine our experiences. I can tell you in the store I worked in when I worked there, literally ALL of my managers/supervisors/etc. are really lucky to have not gotten QT sued for discrimination (the guys who worked at my store were treated like redheaded stepchildren - management was only super friendly with the prettier young women) and also very lucky to have not gotten sued for sexual harassment.

    In regards to the shoplifting: you must be one of the only ones. Where I worked, we were trained to do nothing under ANY circumstances. Not even call the cops. All we had to do was write it in a log if we knew/suspected what they took. And, of the many friends I've had who have worked at various QTs, ALL had the exact same training.

    Regarding mopping: I do understand why it's a liability issue. I fail to understand how me mopping by the door (when I was already mopping by the candy display right next to the door), is deserving of getting written up. I had my caution signs out and was just doing my job. It's not like I pulled out the mop just to try to cripple them for life! I was already mopping right near the door anyways, and mopped in front of it too. With how much you're expected to clean alone overnight, it's not unreasonable.

    I'll admit, I sure did hope they would fall, look like idiots, have hurt pride, and stop doing beer runs like clockwork on me. And that's exactly what happened. Perhaps QT should reconsider their policies and job descriptions. You sound like I would have been damned if I didn't mop (didn't get my shift duties done), and damned if I did (what if I broke someone's back?). You sound smart enough to have a better position than that. The floors get dirty and I was doing my job! I didn't go out of my way for anything, and got written up for doing my job. End of story. There's risk and liability in EVERY business, c'est la vie.

    Oh, and my manager blatantly hit on me WHILE explaining about the write-up - telling me not to worry about it, that I was so wonderful, and he really appreciated me. It sounds innocuous, but if you could have seen the way he talked to me (or should I say my breasts) in the back by the soda stocking area, staring intently and petting my shoulder while doing so... like I said, QT is truly lucky they didn't get sued.

    STUPID, STUPID, midlife crisis management. At least in my experience. Hopefully you read some of this and learn something from it. QT was quite a good company - great benefits, good pay at that time. But, at least in my area, all the management were lecherous pervs with little to no sense. It would have been a great place to work if it weren't for them. Hopefully, you're a much better manager than that and your employees have a great experience working for QT. But, that does not mean that others across the country have the same experience... both varieties of experiences deserve equal voice.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Quedout Sep 11, 2012

    When the article comes out and says, that QT is one of the best places to work, they leave out the rest of the sentence. The sentence should be, "QT is one of the best places to work if you are a young male or lesbian." Everyone else..".go run trash". There are ZERO chairs inside a QuikTrip. The only time you sit, is when you turn a milk crate upside down to sit on while bagging ice. There are three issues that I have. The first one is that they tell you that everything is done by seniority. I was asked to work a different schedule, and I aggreed. It wasn't the schedule that I wanted, so the TM told me that she would put me on "The List", for the schedule that I did want. Five months later, after seening people put on the schedule with less seniority (and dedication} as me, I politely asked if any of those positions were available, I was made to feel like I was bothering her and was told that I needed to be on "The List". I thought I was on the list? Later I was told by someone else in the same position, that he just calls for schedule changes and that there is no "LIST". Second, I was told that I could not get an interview for the next level until I went back to a regular position in a store. I was told this by my "Career Controller" who just happened to need that position fill in his location. I guess filling your opening is more important than my advancement. The third issue: All of the above is rationalized by saying that your "Customer Service scores and cash scores need to be improved. You are never given copies of the actual customer survey. If you are lucky, it will show up on your information page withing two weeks. The information page has colomns of 1-3 months, 3-6months and so on. The most current information is more relivant. I have had scores not show up until TWO months later. It is way too late for me to rememeber what I need to improve, and if it is two months late, it needs to go to the six months colomn sooner. I have also had the supervisor tell me that I have received I high score, which never made the information page. I have asked for someone to look into this...Still waiting.. The only scores that are reported are the lower ones. As a side note, the low score was for a shift that was understaffed with new unexperienced clerks. The cash isssue is different. You can only have a certain amount long or short in a shift. In any given cituation, there are at least 3 to 7 people that share the drawers with you. The worst month that I had, I was in a very busy store and cash control was difficult at best, but I did my best. No matter how hard I tried, I had a few shifs with large cash discrepincies. I was concerned, lost sleep and felt like I had people questioning my integrity. The manager even called my "Career Controller" that I had a shift will an unaccounted $100. Latter I learned that two clerks in the store were ultimatly responsibile for the shortages. No retractions or corrections were made. However, if I want better placement, I need to. improve cash scores. I really feel bad about typing this, but I feel like NO ONE in the company cares or wants to listen. After all, HALO is more important. I am not the sort of person that cares about the "no chair' issue. I work hard from clocking in until clocking out. I am also very loyal. I only write this because I fully believe that QT has not been honest with me. I knowv that the economy is bad, but Arrogance is bad under all conditionsl

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    eddy182 Oct 27, 2012

    Its very sad seeing some of these comments on here. Ive worked at QT for 5 years, and i can tell you that yes, its a hard job with little time to rest. Its stressful, fast paced, you work with bad managers sometimes, customers suck, no downtime.. the list can go on and on. But if you wanted a boring job then im sure the bank across the street is hiring for tellers to man the drive through window.
    I was a clerk for 3 years going through school, and am currently a full time assistant. No we dont get set breaks, but if we want to eat we eat, if we want to smoke a cigarette we smoke. Theres no restrictions on what or when we do something just as long as you take care of the number one priority, as with all retail stores, the customer. QT is really a great place to work. Though at times i dont agree with some of the "politics" and promotions that are given, i still feel that i am being taken care of. Its most unfortunate to see someone who busts their butt day in and day out to see no results. Theres really only two things to blame, either you or the manager. Bad managers are, unfortunately, are plentiful. Really anywhere you work. And if you are the problem then they will work with you. thats the point of the CSA's and the PAR. Do what you can when you can and be good to people. And be glad you have a job especially the way things are going with the economy. QTs going to be around for a long time

    2 Votes
  • Tv
    tv817 Oct 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It sounds like everyone Ian big babies. I worked for quiktrip while i was pregnant and going to school and didnt complain! I loved my job and all the customers.. They have great benefits and really do all that they can to help their employees.. I stay home with my child now but my boyfriend also works for quiktrip as a manager and he loves his job as well.. I am very appreciative that quiktrip makes care of my family as well as they do.. No i am in cooperate, i am a young women who likes to work hard and get recognized for it..

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    galaxxy Nov 06, 2012

    i worked for QT for 3 years, its by far the worst company i have ever worked for. Seems to be their number one thing is anything you do is never good enough bc it can always be done better.i understand wanting to achieve the best, but even when you try and try and try, they still say its not good enough. There is little hardly any praise given, ever! No breaks, most shifts id go without eating bc "there wasn't time" The only meal i was even getting to eat everyday was dinner. Stress was another major reason i hated this place. Most of the time i felt as tho i couldn't catch my breath and was running around with my head cut off trying to get everything done at once. This caused panic attacks for me, which i had never had in my life till i started working there. Customers are a whole other issue. QT wants you to be friendly and talk to everyone that comes into the store, well i found this to be a problem in the long run. I've been slapped on the ###, had the back of my neck blown on, customers hands around my waist, or shoulders. So i quit saying hi to ppl when they came into the store and just kept to myself. Well that wasn't an option apparently, bc in my one on one my manager told me i needed to work on my customer skills and start talking to every customer that walked in the door and asking how their day is, etc. I've also had many incidents where customers would become angry or violent, yelling, cussing, throwing things, threatening. Almost every day actually. QT just expetcs you to stand there and smile and tell them to have a great day. I think if anything a manager should have to step in and deal with it. i mean that's why they get paid the big bucks, right? As far as promotions go.. Don't add anyone you work with on your Face Book. Apparently ppl can snitch on you for stuff you post on your PERSONAL page and then a week later they get a promotion. And if you get news that a relative of yours is in the hospital in critical condition and your at work, well you can forget that bc they wont let you leave to be with your family. Instead they throw you up on register while your bawling your eyes out and helping customers. Then by the time your shift is over and you make it to the hospital, your family member had already died.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    megsgibs Feb 20, 2013

    I currently work at Quiktrip as an Assistant Manager and love it. You know what you signed up for when you passed training. Granted, it is fast paced and very stressful at times but you should have known that when you got the job. They take care of their employees, pay you enough to live comfortably and offer great health insurance. All the promotion is done from within and if your performance reflects that then you're golden.
    As far as not being able to eat during your shift, it sounds to me that you just had a bad manager. Yes, you may have to ring up a customer or two while finishing your meal and its because the customer is our number one priority. They are the reason we get paid as well as we do. Its true there are no chairs inside of a QT but again, thats something you learn while in training (5 days for part time, 2+ weeks for full time.) If you didn't think you could make it through an entire shift without wanting to sit down and put your feet up, then this is the wrong job for you.
    In addition, QT has problems in place so that in the event you need to leave early (sickness or family emergency) then you may do so. Again, just bad managing, which is something all companies have but at QT they are few and far between. And, as a 110 lb female, I've worked plenty of overnight shifts alone and never once felt in danger of my life. Beer runs, shoplifting, and crazy drunk people hitting on you are entertaining at best and a nuisance at worst but you have to realize its a convenience store and these things happen. Police officers are in and out of your store all day, every shift and a lot on the overnights. Our security system is wonderful, and they are currently working to improve it by adding more cameras, alarms and badges in addition to the belt clip we already wear while on the clock. Employee safety is a HUGE concern for QT and is the reason we cannot chase shoplifters, yell at customers (they're the priority) and why we must always follow policy regarding robberies. Get them in, get them out and hopefully nobody got hurt.
    It takes a special breed of person to work at QT and clearly its not the job for everybody. Hard working, dedicated people thrive here, while lazy, just-here-for-the-paycheck types do not. I know what I signed up for when I started as part time and continue to love it after 2 years of full time. We deal with a lot of ### from customers but they're the reason we have our job, so we smile and say see you tomorrow. I take immense pride in my job because I know (reassured after reading some of these comments) that not everybody can handle it.

    1 Votes
  • An
    anonymous_ash Sep 16, 2013

    I've been working for QT since March 2013, today is 9/16/2013
    In the time that I've been here I can definitly say that it has its ups and its down.

    Its not a hard job unless your lazy and unmotivated to provide excellent customer service at all times. The company does a great job of explaining to you what your getting into before you are even hired. Your own personal in-store experience is what you make it, yes your location may effect that but thats what transfers are for. Quik trip works with you on availability no one can force you to work over nights unless your like a 1a 2a or ra, Im not sure how all that works but pretty sure they're not FORCING you to work nights.

    I know the two stores that I have worked at have been great at acknowledging the work that I do, it hasnt resulted in a promotion or anything but thats only because I've been with the company for such a short time, and I dont wont to be fulltime anyway. It's not hard to move up they have messages in EPIC all the time about going full time and increasing your hours all kinds of crap. But why should they promote someone whose just going to complain ? If you MUST complain thats what your Peer reviews and message boards are for. Im sure the company doesnt provide those just for the fun of it. It's really hard to not just do your job: come to work on time, learn how to multi task so you can keep up the store and work on DAW and stay organized, put on a smile for the customers even if you dont like them, they're the reason you get paid. Yes a lot of people who come into the store can be pretty slow minded and perverted at times but take it with a grain of salt and keep it moving, if it gets to be to much your managers do have the rights to kick them out of the store.

    If your manager or other co-workers are unfit for the job report them, thousands of people apply to quikrtrip everyday they can be replaced. Even though where I currently live a lot of the people who work for the company (not all) have been here for 5 to 10 plus years, so maybe where you live, people have a bad work ethic on top of a bad sense of morals and respect.

    If your not someone who is inclined to do hard work and physical labor on your feet most of the day, quiktrip is not for you! If you dont like cleaning up after and serving other people quiktrip is not for you!

    My down falls to the company are more personal then the actual company itself. Im very ambitious and have bigger plans that dont involve cleaning up after people. Having to clean a grown mans fiecies off the toilet or a four year olds throw up, off the floor is not worth the $8.25 I make. Yes they try and compensate with secret shops and annual bonuses but to me those come everyonce in a blue moon. I've only been shopped once out of the 6 months ive been here and that was in training. Even if I were to be shopped again it wouldnt matter because Quik trip really is a team effort and if everyone isn't putting in then that effects you even if you are doing your job. The people I work with are cool people but they are more focused on socializing and doing the bare minimum. Only When the general manager is in do they really try and make the store as presentable as possible.

    I dont feel I should have to clean up after my co-workers as well when i already have the customers. Accountability at quiktrip is hard to measure because it is very fast pace and sometimes hard to keep track of who really did what. One person can make the store look almost flawless while another person is texting on their phone or jsut standing socializing. On top of customers destroying everything you just fixed. But thats the nature of the job and it is job security but its not for everyone.

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    Edith Fusillo Nov 02, 2013

    For over a year now, I have gone out of my way to shop a QT on Buford Hwy in Doraville, GA. The people there have always been extremely helpful (I have trouble walking from the far pumps to pre-pay), even helping out when I couldn't get my electronic fuel flap open. Yesterday, however, this very same QT stole $25 from me. I pre-paid for the one diesel pump that had a car instead of a truck in it (large tank, long wait). Then the car did NOT leave for ten minutes, but a truck did. I changed pumps, called the cashier and asked to have my $50 transferred to the alternative pump. Two employees came out and told me it was against company policy to switch the money, even though I have done this several times in the past when customers choose to sit and eat their lunch after they pump their gas. So I said I would move back to the original pump. They said I had ALREADY pumped gas at that pump. When I asked them to check my fuel gauge, which registered dead empty, they refused. The manager would not talk to me (didn't even acknowledge my presence); the employee who told me I had already pumped my money's worth eventually called a "supervisor, " who supposedly told her I could pump $25 worth of fuel, but no more. Someone at the store has my $25, paid in cash, and I was robbed. I have bought my last item of any kind from QT.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Colston Dec 09, 2013

    Qt has VERY POOR TRAINING! They failed to train me on all things required to keep employment.

    1 Votes
  • Qt
    QTsucks Feb 15, 2014

    I used to work at qt in hurst which is one of the busiest qt in DFW. But the manager is terrible. He never did shift walk. He only promotes people he is friends with. The ones who work so hard he doesn't promote them because he doesn't want to lose good workers. So it works against you to be a good worker.

    6 Votes
  • Nk
    NKCMO Mar 16, 2014

    I can NOT believe some of these cry baby attitudes that are posted on here!
    In life everyone has to work, if you work hard and maintain multitasking skills then it does payoff IN THE LONG RUN, NOT IMMEDIATELY!
    If you don't want to physically work and achieve goals then find you someone rich and sponge off them, proably not going to happen. lol.
    THE REAL WORLD IS WORKING FOR WHAT YOU WANT NOT FEELING LIKE IT SHOULD BE HANDED TO YOU AFTER A COUPLE OF YEARS OF SERVICE!
    I believe technology has made the younger generation LAZY! Real physical work sucks but the rewards are tremendously rewarding in twenty years or so .

    -2 Votes
  • Aa
    Aaron Callihan Apr 03, 2014

    First, all of you need to take a class at your local community college or something because your spelling and grammar are pathetic. Secondly, I agree with the last post: quit your ###. I've been at QuikTrip in the St Louis Division now for one year and seven months (started as a clerk) and am already a 2A. They reward hard work and value those who have perspective and can think long-term. If you're scared to work alone overnight, then quit. If you're a small female and constantly feel threatened, find a job that doesn't require you to keep your cool in stressful situations or deal with unruly customers.

    Oh, and Edith Fusillo, no one stole anything from you. Frankly, it sounds like you have a hazy recollection of how the whole debacle took place (or you just don't know how to explain it very well), which might explain why the employees weren't able to help you. Whether you believe it or not, QT employees are not obligated to rectify your bad or stupid decisions. We are not babysitters nor litigators. Don't blame others for your mistakes or mishaps.

    And finally, Colston: the training is sufficient. My guess? You're most likely a dumb person that doesn't retain information well. I'm going to say that you're one of those people that fails the test in school and then says, "I'm just a bad test-taker." No, you're just not that smart champ.

    Good Luck finding new jobs.

    -3 Votes
  • Kr
    kristenedgar9 Sep 10, 2014

    Actually its not like that at all. Okay sure you dont get a lunch break but the managers dont tell you to interrupt your meal to help a customer unless they are low on help and high on customers. The managers also do not bully their clerks part tine or full time. This action that people have called bullying is actually the way they keep clerks with high urgency and able to know when to do certain things. People look at this as bullying because its hard work and a lot of people dont like to do hard work so they complain. Also we do not leave people alone during the night in dangerous places. Infact we have the highest security system compared to any stores in the country. We teach clerks during orientation how to handle dangerous situations and it happens very rarely. We also keep our stores lit up and invite the police to come to our store and stay there if they would like so we can ensure safety for both our employees and customers

    -6 Votes
  • Co
    corelgro Nov 04, 2014

    QT is the BEST company I've ever worked for! They reward hard work and truly want to see you succeed. I'm not going to go through and pick apart each comment on here. From everything I've seen in the length of my career (4 years) is the people who hate their jobs here are the lazy people that want everything handed to them. Learn to work hard! Parents just aren't teaching their kids to do so nowadays. If you ask me QT is too easy on most of you. We can't fire or get anyone in trouble without numerous just causes! If it were up to me half of the people we hire wouldn't make it through training and a fourth of the ones that did would be fired! And to the customer complaining of us stealing your gas. I feel like no one took the time to explain to you what happened. I'm sorry you feel you were treated unjustly, however, we did not steal your gasoline! The customer who was on the pump you requested, is the one that stole your gasoline! Do not put money on a pump you are not on! Somebody pumped the $50 whether or not it was you. In reality, we were also out $25 because we gave you $25. Someone else walked away with a free $50. If you were to contact the division office for your area with your complaint rather than posting it on here they would have done everything in their power to rectify the matter! I hate seeing all of this negativity out here! And to those of you who claim to have been previously employed by QT, you should be ashamed of yourselves for degrading such a loyal company!!!

    -6 Votes
  • Te
    terry21 Nov 30, 2014

    Qt sucks

    2 Votes
  • Te
    terry21 Nov 30, 2014

    Company doesn't give out breaks. They have favorites and they tell you to do something that they wouldn't do. Its just a gas station. Find better employment.

    8 Votes
  • Ip
    Ipoopinyourchili Dec 30, 2014

    Let's look at some simple facts. Quiktrip is falling down the Fortune 500 list of best companies to work for. They used to be 14 and are now 66. Corporate is getting such bad feedback on quality of life surveys that they are sending resource members out to ask employees for more information. That makes it seem like they care, but they actually ignore the resource members and just wait until people quit. This is how they manipulate internal stats to hide employee dissatisfaction from the higher ups. Honestly though, Chet couldn't give two ###s. He's not looking for solutions, so he is squandering the one resource his dad built the company on...Happy, motivated employees.

    9 Votes
  • Th
    theguy45 Jan 22, 2015

    You're a tard. This company is great. And no break? Quit whining like a little and make that money. Im a PT clerk working FT hours. I got 53 hours this week. Most companies hate paying Over Time but not QT. Im making great money. Dumbass.

    -5 Votes
  • Ya
    Yahooooooooooooooo! Jan 31, 2015

    Being harassed? Report it -- immediately, to HR and the authorities. There is a history of settlements in harassment cases (especially at corporate office) and it's time the guilty parties receive what they are due.

    2 Votes
  • Ai
    airrosezona Jul 27, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Yahooooooooooooooo! Where are these "history of settlements in harassment cases" located? They obviously must have settled prior to being filed in court so as to remain confidential and not available for the public to review. Having first hand experience with this issue plus several other issues of discrimination concerning QT, it appears that their ability to pay for silence is much more affordable than the domino effect of bad publicity and the potential for a multitude (much more than there ever should be given the core values and code of conduct they "claim" to uphold but in reality DO NOT) of discrimination charges that would have otherwise been filed with the courts and therefore easily accessible for public to review. The mere fact that the majority of bad reviews that are posted on multiple job sites are posted by 'current' employees is cause for public concern wouldn't you think? Oklahoma and Missouri have apparently produced the higher majority of management personnel who are regularly relocated to other states to start up new divisions. I have to wonder as I write this post whether the managers that are actually accepting these transfers are doing so because they are "so good at what they do" or because their performance in these two states has limited their advancement there and left them with no other choice if they want to climb the promotion ladder. Less oversight from the main office due to distance and disconnect both has on a large scale promoted less skilled non-compliant workers into upper management positions in new divisions. It goes without saying that what these incompetent managers know will be what they will sow. The lack of complete and competent accountability for compliance on all levels equally across every store regardless of location has contributed to the progressing downfall of QT's Brand and the ever increasing number of complaints posted. Chet needs to revert back to running his father's company with the values and decisions that built it rather than the more than obvious good ole boy, look the other way, forget how they got there mentality. In this case the phrase; 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it' has double meaning. It wasn't broke and he tried to fix it but broke it in doing so. Accountability and oversight is not something that can be justified through nothing more than an upward passing of collected data produced by incompetence at the lowest level.
    crap in = crap out
    It is way past time to take a much closer 'hands on' approach from the bottom up as well as from the top down. In a "perfect world" ( I have taken to using that term due to a trainer I had that used it on me although he failed to clearly understand how it should have been applied in his training program.) again I reiterate, in a "perfect world" the paths from the bottom up and the top down should meet seamlessly... QT's paths are moving away from each other and those on top see the company in a completely unrealistic view than those working from the bottom up do.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Sethy Apr 04, 2015

    First off I will admit that being a clerk at QT is an amazing position. They give you a ton of flexibility on hours, decent wages and lots of pay raises/ oppurtunities for advancement. The pay for everyone else and the benefits are decent too. But that's everything good I have to say about this company.

    My issues were all as a night assistant manager, but i think apply to all assistants.
    First of all, they don't accept doctors notes, and I got sick only two months out of the gate. I had to take lots of time of, on bed rest, on medication, in the hospital, and burned through those ten sick days really quick, but the doctor said I still needed another week to heal. Basically, my manager told me too bad, wrote me up for going over sick days, and forced me to come back to work before the doctor said it was okay by threatening to fire me. Then, I had a year of not being able to take a single sick day, because they don't come back till a year after the day you take it. I got the stomach flu several months later and was vomiting at work, and my manager told me it was against policy to be at work sick, and that if I came to work sick again, he would write me up, so I called in and was written up again.

    Secondly was the schedule. There was no flexibility no matter what. It didn't matter if you'd been with the company fifteen years, if you needed to change their preset schedule they basically laugh in your face. And forget family emergencies, those never happen in quick trips world. I also didn't like that we worked a mandatory 46 hours a week, then they add on meetings/skill schools/ and other stuff on your days off, so it's more like 50-60 hours a week. I took this job so I could pay for school, but now i don't have any time for school.

    Bottom Line Quick Trip will punish you for being human. They don't believe in emergencies or sickness, and in general I've found that they simply don't care about their employees. I met a few managers along the way that genuinely care, but quick trip doesn't allow them to help their Employees.

    I've worked harder than this, for less money. And I never felt as disrespected or mistreated as I have here.
    More money does not mean they can treat you like crap, and they need to figure that out.

    4 Votes
  • Mc
    M.C.LSMO Apr 30, 2015

    I would like to say, I agree with some of what youre saying as far as not getting a break goes. However, I am 18 years old, im a female, and I am a full time student. I am a part time clerk, however, I still get put on the schedule for more than 40 hours a week (this happens quite often). With all of that said, I love my job. Yes, you have to deal with very rude, inconsiderate customers, but not everything youre saying is true. Quiktrip has a fully equipped security system, along with alarm badges AND security badges (Alarm badges are for emergencies and notify the office/police and security badges are used to access the backroom and register). With that being said, Quiktrip is a very safe place to work for, and is no more unsafe than any other chain store such as Kohls or Target, and what not. Also, I have never heard of a night shift (as of 2015) being assigned only ONE worker. At my store, there is always at least 2 workers (mostly because of the FSC and its cleaning-needs.).
    Quiktrip offers you more benefits than ANY other working facility, especially for someone who is just starting on their path to success (AKA first job). I have had several encounters with a few customers who were rude, stole, or threatened me, and everytime it happened, I reported it, and it was taken care of swiftly. I can confidently say, if you are verbally abused let alone PHYSICALLY threatened/abused while working for this company, it is not taken lightly. Quiktrip cares just as much about their employees, as they do our customers, because we as employees are what make the QT experience enjoyable for customers

    Never be satisfied!

    -4 Votes
  • Kk
    Kkelly0219 Aug 10, 2015

    I've been with QT for 7 years, the only complaint I have is that they hire people off the street to be in NA and RA when there's people waiting on the promotion list. Other than that it's a great company and I love working there.

    -2 Votes
  • Br
    Brad Smith Aug 30, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I understand the employees that work hard and say quit your b*tching but everyone has their own experiences. I was an ER Clerk than an ER Relief Assistant Manager and I can tell you that QT has the idea to be a good company but that vision is sometimes hindered by the mangers and supervisors they use to fulfill this vision. I can agree that yes QT is a good company to work for but it can also be bad at the same time. There is no perfect company out there except Google lol. Over the past years, I can honestly say that QT has been going down. They use to focus on the employees and build a store that made sense and now they seem to be mass producing their stores to take over markets. This type of mass producing isn't what Chet's father did and employees where alot happier than they are now. I really do believe that corporate needs to slow down and get back to their original values and I'm sure when they do this, these comments will soon change to being positve. Best of luck in all your careers with or without this company!

    2 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy23 Apr 08, 2016

    Working at QT used to be great, but working there has gotten worse and worse over the past few years. We do not have enough employees in the stores to take care of the customers. Maybe they need to pay employees less to staff the stores correctly, but something will have to give sooner or later. I have never seen morale so low. I've been there a long time, mostly because of great pay and my loyalty to the company-but for the first time, I actually see myself quitting soon.

    3 Votes
  • La
    Laura Lillard May 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have worked for Quiktrip for 12 years and currently work there. It is an Absolutely horrible place to work. I will be quitting soon. They implemented putting in kitchens everywhere but did not raise the pay. Now your doing the work of a gas station and fast food restaurant for the same pay with promises of higher bonuses. The bonus doesn't get that high when they are always finding new projects to take from the money in that bonus. The clerks who are doing all the hard work don't get the bonus but the lazy manager that snapchats and takes cigarettes breaks all day does. They insist you take abuse from the customer. Somedays it's too busy to get a break. You go over 8 hours sonetimes without eating or gettinf any kind of break. Night people are forced to work under unsafe conditions. It's an absolutely horrible place to work. If you're young and pretty you get away with doing less work.

    4 Votes
  • Ra
    Raforquiktrip Feb 07, 2017

    Unfortunately I have to agree with all the bad reviews. Yes there is no lunch breaks or a break period. I'm fine with that I guess I've gotten use to it. What sucks is working at a high volume store where you are running around like a chicken with its head cut off. You do run out of breath because u can't catch it. You ask your clerks to watch the registers so you can "try" to eat but since clerks really don't run the registers, the lines build up quickly. Meaning after a 3 to 1 you have to stop eating. I've given up on eating at work. You do have to deal with verbal abuse from customers and still be nice. I have had a store manager not do shift walks and only promote those he hangs out with. I've had a store manager that is never satisfied and sets expectations that he can't even accomplish. I'm actually one of those hard workers that is thinkjng long term and can't get promoted possibly because of race or not ### kissing. I give my 110% DO way more than the other assistants and still can't get a promotion. Store manager tells me I'm doing great and continue to do what I'm doing but turns around and promotes a clerk that ###ed, complained, and mopped about not getting promoted and had a negative attitude that the store manager even recognized but still promoted. Meanwhile I went with the flow and was being positive for myself aswell as the other clerk trying to get promoted. I've done everything my store manager has asked and then some. Hell he even said it but still comes up with excuses to still not promote me. I'll never be good enough. It's funny to watch all the people they promote quit or get fired. Literally. They do not promote the people who are really trying they're best. That's why us hard workers stress. But those
    Who don't stress get promoted. Qt doesn't like
    To see you stressed even thoe it's a high stressed job.

    2 Votes
  • Cd
    cdude200 Apr 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Okay heres the real deal did this job for two years and lost my (you know what) promotions are favoritism very few managers actually promote hard workers. The customers are ### in every way, buy some are actually really cool, and I pushed the panic button once in the morning and the police came up to me and said don't you push that ###ing button if they won't help me then who will the store lost over 24g in theft guess we just like to give away ### no wonder why my store don't bonus oh well, The clerks love to take advantage of unfamiliar faces its until you scare the living ### out of them they will actually work for you. The ones that do actually do thier job up to standards and you don't have to tell them anything they talk so much crap it gives you a headache. If you think this is a GOOD JOB you haven't been with the company very long or the pay, benefits, time off is just so astonishing you don't have the work experience or that degree to get that office job you always wanted. So I if you can give me daming evidence that this is a great career please let me know. Because I got really sick and tired of staying up for 24 hours once or twice a week because of that grueling RA schedule.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Misses SunnyD Jun 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The old quiktrip was awesome but they have changed so much it's hard to even consider them quiktrip. The employees know it and worse of all the customers know it. Quiktrip has lost the things that indivisualized them and have started to blend in with the worst of them. It's quite sad. They did not have something good, they had something great. What a shame. What a loss.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Jules MF Wallet Aug 10, 2019

    I have been working for QT for almost a year. I lost an opportunity for promotion, my fault. I have stayed with the company because I love my job. Im an ER but strong as all hell. I was going to be an NA or RA-so imagine someone on your shift that can do everything you can, except for the audit. I find it my personal responsibility to turn over a good store. I've learned a lot while working this job and am frustrated almost daily. I'm physically exhausted after some of my shifts where I do all DAW and maintain the store the entire time. If an Assistant does not move from the check stand during a shift, let me tell you- you are hard to work with and for. I get that all of you work 46 hours or more a week, but I'm at 40 and I bust my ass. I'm just trying to figure out what to do. I don't won't to sacrifice my work ethic. I also don't want to fill crippled after every shift. Honestly, I walk like I'm 70 and my whole body aches. I'm not some child or some joke. I have been an athlete all of my life. This job is physically toiling to say the least.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem