The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
PuppyFind.comscam

H

I had a negative experience with breeder who advertises on the Puppyfind site. The breeder was was in Memphis, TN, an 11 hour drive from my home. A kennel representative, or "puppy placement counselor" offered to send the puppy with her daughter to Nashville, TN to complete the transaction. This was agreeable as it was 400 vs. 700 miles one-way. She also stated that they usually ship the dog to customers and then asked for payment through PayPal before delivery of the dog. I countered with payment through PayPal at time of delivery by use of public wifi internet. After I arrived in Nashville, there was a series of phone call attempts from "puppy placement counselor" to change the meeting location as well as the contact person. She stated that she was uncomfortable with not receiving payment before we received the dog, and I reiterated that I was not comfortable sending payment before seeing the dog. I was also concerned because the PayPal invoice did not contain a description of what I was billed for. It simply stated “GOODS”. In addition to constantly changing meeting locations, there were numerous delays, with confusing and contradictory explanations. After several more demands for payment before delivery of dog (I could not even SEE the dog until then), I finally returned home. Now I know why this breeder prefers to "ship" the puppies or deliver somewhere away from the kennel. I can imagine what she doesn't want potential customers to see. I wrote a detailed complaint to Puppyfind.com, only to receive a reply that the complaint would not be posted since I had not actually purchased a dog from the breeder. Beware!

Responses

  • Tr
    Tracy Gilliam Apr 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Because this person never identified himself but told us he would make a deposit later stating that he didn't feel comfortable with paypal tells us he he had possibly never used paypal as paypal invoices as either a goods or service.We have never had any other family tell us that they did not trust our paypal invoice. Secondly, for him to ask to meet at Walmart and that I could go in with his wife leaving the pup with him also alarmed me to the potential of a kidnapping of our pup. Since he had not been trustworthy with paypal, I was in no way going to put the pup in harm's way with someone who was not trustworthy and had not identified himself. I believe I am correct as he has still not identified himself in the original complaint above.
    Sincerely,
    Tracy Gilliam
    Puppy Placement Counselor
    www.APuppyrosa.com
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracy Gilliam Dec 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi All,
    This is Tracy Gilliam from Puppyrosa.com. The gentleman that has posted this complaint never placed a deposit with us which he said he would do before I went above and beyond to drive this puppy to him. Our usual procedure is to place the puppy with a wonderful family and fly the puppy to the destination. He was having trouble trying to arrange the flight fees, and therefore I said we were heading to Nashville for the weekend and would meet him if he put a deposit through paypal through good faith for the driving courtesy. When I called him to say I needed the deposit, he said he was already on his way from Virginia and would stop along the way and make the deposit, as I still had no land line or address that he was who he said he was which we verify through paypal. It is hard for us just to meet someone offline met through the Internet.

    Once in Nashville, I asked him again to make a small deposit so that I could verify before we met at his hotel. Again he would not deposit and said we could meet at Walmart and his wife and I could go in and get a cashier's check while he waited outside with the puppy. Do you see now why I canceled meeting him? After further continued responses of why he would not make a deposit of which he stated he would at the beginning of our discussions, I had too many flags to meet this man.

    Also, please note puppyfind.com would not allow us to continue posting to their site for the last 5 years or so if anyone else had a complaint. Plus, we have some of the most magnificent AKC registered Labrador puppies anywhere. Just ask us to send some our references from wonderful families located all over the US.
    Sincerely,
    Tracy Gilliam
    Puppy Placement Counselor
    www.APuppyrosa.com
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Nov 28, 2011

    Excuse my grammar. It's an Alabama thang.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Nov 28, 2011

    I think there needs to be a site for home breeders and show breeders. A site dedicated to those breeder only and no kennels allowed on the site. And the only way a breeder can be on said site, the website manager visits the home. A person has to pay $240 a year for Nextdaypets.com to advertise - and believe me this site does not care who advertises with them. For $240, a manager of a site could drive to said breeder's home and then charge say charge $10 a month.

    If good breeders got together in each state and pulled together to reach this goal - it could be done. That is what is tinkering around in my head right now.

    Out of all the site out there PuppyFind.com is your best bet second to the AKC breeder's list. Just my thought.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    CSRM Nov 11, 2011

    Greetings,

    My name is Matt and I'm the Relationship Manager with Puppyfind.com. Our thanks to the complainant for leaving information about their experience with someone that has advertised on our site. I am very sorry to hear that a situation like this occurred, and I'm also sorry that the experience left a bad taste in their mouth in relation to our service.

    As a reminder to all, Puppyfind.com does not endorse any specific person that utilizes our website. Any person that joins the site does so of their own volition. Members are aware that Puppyfind.com does not choose who comes to the website, nor do we breed or own the dogs advertised on our site. We do not have the ability to pre-screen people that come to our site, and we are unable to visit each and every person that decides to use our service. Although any and all are welcome to our site, please note that any member that has been found to have explicitly broken rules of our website and violated our Terms of Service (TOS) will be subject to the appropriate discipline. This may lead to suspension or being completely banned from Puppyfind.com.

    While there have been cases of bad breeders using our site without our knowledge, as soon as we are provided the proper documentation that proves a certain member is violating our TOS and the law at large, we will take the appropriate action and remove any member that does not and will not comply by our TOS. Each situation must be dealt with case by case, as sometimes a breeder may not know they were violating our TOS, and a simple correction is all that is necessary for them to be in compliance. Other areas may be a bit more gray, where a breeder perhaps had a bad experience with a potential buyer, but on the whole, the breeder has not expressly or intentionally violated our TOS. While a situation like this may be upsetting and grounds for further inspection if there appears to be more to the story than what is initially seen, if a member has not been proven to have violated our TOS, we can't simply remove them because we “feel like it” or because a buyer or another breeder does not like the breeder in question. Some people believe we have removed members “just because”, but every account that gets removed has only had that action taken against them once definite proof was gathered, examined, and found to be true.

    In regards to the complainant bringing up the point about not being allowed to leave a review because a dog was not purchased by the breeder they wanted to review, this is indeed a good point to make and one that will be examined by Puppyfind.com for future site improvement. Due to the nature of our current review system, certain rules are set in place to curb abuse of the system and although it is not perfect, the system has helped many buyers as they browse listings on our website.

    Ultimately, if anyone does plan on purchasing a dog from a breeder that advertises on our site or any other website, it is always important to do as much research as possible before signing anything or making any sort of payment, be it a deposit or a full payment. Do not rely on just one source for a point of reference, and if there is any sort of doubt concerning a breeder or a dog, know that it's okay to walk away from the sale. If a member appears to be a scammer or is violating our TOS in any way, do not hesitate to report them to Puppyfind.com. We know that our website is not perfect, but we want to do what we can to help everyone that comes to Puppyfind.com to have a good experience while using our service.

    Thank you for your time,

    Matt
    Puppyfind.com Relationship Manager
    http://www.Puppyfind.com

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Nov 09, 2011

    Matt does take the bad breeders off of his site if you give him legitimate info. You don't see NextDayPets, TerrificPets, etc. taking bad breeders off of their sites.

    Unfortunately, there are going to be bad breeders on his site. DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH FIRST. PuppyFind is just a tool to help you.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnMarieTheFlameThrower Oct 21, 2011

    This statement has NOTHING TO WITH PUPPYFIND.Com

    There are no full grown dogs at 1 and 1/2 pounds

    except for the world's smallest dog and one on the verge of DEATH

    Liars

    If you give Matt with PuppyFind.com legitimate information about a bad breeder - he will take that breeder off of the site.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Jul 15, 2011

    whatever

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pegalegb Jul 14, 2011

    I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with Puppyfind.com. I've sold 1 litter of puppies on Puppyfind and am about to sell another litter. On the advise of my friend in Missouri, who is a very reputable breeder of Cavalier King Charles Spaniels and Miniature Australian Shepherds, Puppyfind is the only website I use. But, also on her advise and the advise of other Cavalier Breeders, customers are not allowed to come to our homes for the safety of our puppies. One, because of disease, if they've been holding other puppies, they could transfer the Parvo Virus, and two, some breeders have had their dogs stolen after visits from potential buyers. My friend and I always guarantee our puppies for 1 year after purchase. She ships her pups alot, always requiring payment up front, including shipping charges. I will ship, but prefer selling to customers on the east coast and meeting them 1/2 way with their puppy and collecting the rest of the payment then. I'm sure there are disreputable people selling/buying on Puppyfind.com, but don't assume that it's the site. Some of us are just dog lovers who want you to get the puppy of your dreams.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Jul 01, 2011

    I know that name from some where - through my investigations. Tracy Gilliam that is. Will have to look into it. Sad for the dogs.

    -2 Votes
  • Hu
    humphb Jun 29, 2011

    The contact was Tracy Gilliam for Apuppyrosa in Arlington, TN.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Jun 28, 2011

    There are a lot of "breeders' on puppyfind.com that are simply puppy mills.

    There are some good ones too, but there is a LOT of BAD ones.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    Puppyfindfraud.com Jan 09, 2009

    They have their contact information hidden, but it is listed on the website puppyfindfraud.com

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christy Oct 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please be cautious of scams, however Puppyfind is just a forum. Like a newspaper is simply publishes, not produces.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jim Sep 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They had a listing for a puppy but wanted me to wire them money Western Union before I even seen the puppy.When I asked them they said they needed the money before they sent it. Get this, they wanted me to wire the money to Nigeria!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.