Progress Energydeposits

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My mother has had an account with them since 1972. I was living with her as her care giver for last 2 years as her health deteriorated. She passed away this past April, and left me her home where I continue to live. Once Progress Energy discovered she passed, they said I had 2 weeks to transfer the account to my name. Once I called them to do so, they stated that I had to pay a security deposit of $385.00 up front in addition to my mothers bill of $299.00 or they will cut service (in the middle of the hottest July in recorded history), $684.00 I had to pay within 2 days. I informed them that I just buried my mother, and that I had no such funding as I work only part-time at $8.00 per hour and that there's no way I can come up with almost $700.00 in 2 days when I am already struggling just to eat. I asked could they please break the security deposit down into payments over several months. The account rep was EXTREMELY rude and stated " if 1 out of 5 customers had that same excuse, we couldn't stay in business". Their first quarter earnings for 2017 was 213 million dollars BTW, yeah they are really struggling. Well, they did cut my power, and now I sit in a house with no power for the past 2 weeks (I am at a friends house on his PC for those who are curious) and to top off this crap, I was let go from my crappy-### job as it was a temp position anyway and they currently don't have enough business to keep my position. So, I am doomed. Thanks alot PE, you a the epitome of a greed driven monopoly. They care NOT about your comfort, well-being, your children or YOU... JUST WANT YOUR MONEY, and want it all, NOW!

Responses

  • Mi
    Microluv Jul 06, 2009

    Although I had maintained my account for my rental house in Maggie Valley with Progress Energy for a few years with an automatic payment from my bank account, my tenant changed the service to her name. My attempts to rectify the situation had little effect in spite of a telephone call to Progress and also to the Public Utilities Commission (Nick, March 10th, [protected]). I had to apply for a new account and suffer the associated paperwork/expenses.

    According to a Progress employee, the practice of changing accounts to harass ex-wives, ex-sweethearts, or nasty neighbors is both easy and common.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stara Sep 28, 2009

    In April I had to quit working because of health problems, so I looked for a cheaper place to live. My son had a friend that said I could rent an aptment with everything included even electric, since he was still fixing the apt, and it really didn't have much in it, to make a long story longer, I moved in everything was going smooth, and then he took off, not a word to me he just up and left, well last fri the progress energy came and turned off all electric, he the landlord I guess had been stealing electric for the aprtments, the man that came out was very nice but explained this man(landlord)had been stealing electric for some time. I said well I would have to go and put my depoist in and 200.00 I guess I owed since 2017, that came to like 500.00 Some dollars and that I have. I only live on a pension and don't have all that much money saved. The progress energy worker told me when he got back to the office he would call, me and give me a total on what I needed to put electric on... When he called me back I wanted to fall over, they want 1700.00 To have it turned back on, because of electric used and a fee for tampering with electric boxes. Why do I have to pay that I was unaware of it being stolen and thought the electric was being taken care of as he said. Now I am sitting here in the heat no electric no a/c and about ready to pass out from lack of sleep because it is like a oven. I feel I am being punished because of some idiot trying to make fast money then take off, I am suffering and willing to pay the 500.00 Something to put the electric back on, and even willing to pay the 1700.00 If I have to, but need time to pay that amount by paying more each month till I can get his wrong duings paid for. All I want is to be able to breathe and able to live thru the summer before something happens to me. You are my last hope I have tried talking to the people at progress energy but they still want all the money up front. Please can you direct me to what to do in order to get my electric back on I feel like a human turkey slowly baking in the oven.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Plikster Oct 13, 2009

    Have a disconnect notices from 4-24-08 for $82.07 that I do not owe. My husband in on a CPAP for sever sleep apnea. I called on or around 9-25-07 and requested that my power be disconnected and new power turned 10-01-07. My landlord called and asked that the power be left on and transferred to their name. The power was left on but not transferred to their name. I have called and my landlord has to. Was told that my landlord needed to fax a letter saying that we where not at that address. The latter was faxed 1-31-08. I called on 3-31-08 because I received a bill for the $82.07. Was told to fax it again that they did not have it. I went and got a copy of the letter that was faxed. I faxed it again. Called 4-3-08 and spoke to Brenda she could not find the letter and asked me to fax it again to her directed number 1-91... and that she would call me and let me know that she got it. Did not here from her so I called again and spoke to Leslie at ext. 1561 team 27 she found the letter and said she would credit my account. Later that same day Brenda called and left a message on my machine saying that she had the letter and that my account would be credited. Called today to be told that they had no letter so I asked to speak to a manager spoke to one and was told that they did not make mistakes and there was never a disconnected requested so I had to pay it or my power would be cut off. Called and spoke to Bernice a senior customer service that did find the letter and said that she could not help me that a disconnect was not placed but I did request one.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frenchi1955 Oct 28, 2009

    After canceling a transaction on theirs online bill payment WHICH WAS ALREADY PAID they charged my account twice for the payment I call them and ask them to remove the charge and they told me they could not I ask them to make a note on my account that I will return the second charge and they say ok.I received a notice of disconnect and ask a payment for the return with a fee of $30 FOR RETURN ITEM THAT I WAS CHARGE TWICE FOR AND THEY TOLD ME THEY CAN NOT CANCEL THAT FEE.
    Talk about rip off.
    Luc

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Freezing an infant too. Feb 03, 2010

    I heard four people talking underneath my bedroom window. The voices were two males and an African American female. I heard what was said, their concern seemed to be why I wasn't using as much gas and electricity as others. They did something on the outside of my home to freeze us and cause me to turn up the thermostat. Greed is what is raping our country. The good ole American Way. I have pictures. If there is anyway to prosecute I'm willing.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad in Haines city Mar 12, 2010

    We just moved in a 1bed rm apt and called to get our lights turned on.. this is our first apt and when we called progress energy about deposit being so high for a 1bed rm 1bath apt.. they could not help us.. Our deposit is $240.. I have family members who have big houses 2 to 3 bedrooms and the live in same area and their deposit was not so much.. When I told progress energy customer service rep this, she got quite... Well then I asked if there was any else who could help me with this she said no... I don't understand why with the economy being the way it is these company's are able to get away with this.. Who is out there to help us the defenseless citizen against these sharks who our just out there to make our pockets bleed.. We are in a recession that seems to be getting worse... And we have company's like progress energy who don't care and just want to make their money...This is just not right.. I would understand if we had a booming economy, but we don't.. And instead of these companies bringing there price down, they are high jacking them up and basically telling us who cares we have a recession just pay what we tell you to pay...

    0 Votes
  • Ou
    outofavoid Apr 02, 2010

    I realize that we made a mistake in thinking the bill had already been paid, but we were informed that since it was cut off today, on a holiday, they might not have a sufficient crew to put the lights back on in time for our Good Friday service. Where is grace and mercy in this country? Shutting off the electricity to a church on Good Friday, with little hope to restart it is bad business and just wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arsluck Feb 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Progress Energy has been ripping me off for Years not only are they imposibble to work with they Lack or just dont care about there costumers.I moved out of my home for 9months for medical reasons they required 750dollar deposit for me to reactivate my account..their costumer service line spits you out some bs protocol that doesnt help you one bit and they dont care about their costumers one bit I have a down power line in my back yard and have been needing the trees trimmed around the power lines for years and they dont even have the common curtesy to call you back and tell you when they r coming they just leave you a paper saying sorry we missed you ...FLORIDA Do something about these money hungry scam artist Now, , , , ,

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lala5030 Feb 08, 2011

    I'm living in an apartment complex. I move to another apartment in the same complex. I made the change through the page online. After a month living in my new apartment i realize that i have not my new bill. I call and they tell me that i did not make no change and that my account of another apartment is cancel and i have to open a new account and pay $370 deposit!!! They know that I was living in the other apartment and by four years that it is up in the same street! How is possible collect almost $400.00 plus the older final bill and the new bill !! We are in crisis ! They do not know?! I am single mother with three children and one of them autistic. Already to start is difficult for my pay the rent! And now i have to find all that money?! How is possible that they have no consideration and that abuse in this way!!! We have to report this people and the company to stop with their abuses!! It is not fair!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Property Destruction Mar 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a vacant home on 10acres. About 5 months ago, I had some squatters move onto my property and had MY power turned back on over there. I called Progress Energy when I realized that these people had invaded my home. Progress Energy told me that Even though I was the landowner, that there was nothing that they could do. Before I had a chance to legally put them out, they then abandoned my home and destroyed it. There is over 40, 000.00 worth of damage to my home. Progress Energy refused to aid me in protecting my home. Then went so far as to tell me it is a rule of Florida that they can not deny power to anyone. If I were a day late on my bill they could deny me power. Furthermore you are not denying someone power by requesting a copy of the lease agreement. In fact, all you are doing is insuring that they actually have a right to be at the property in question and protecting the homeowner.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lyddles Dec 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completely agree with you. I called Progress Energy today to start electric at a new home I'm moving to. They want $450 for the security deposit, which is completely insane. They told me its high because they are averaging what the previous tenants monthly bills were. I don't feel that I should be penalized for the previous tenants excess energy use. Progress Energy is ridiculous and now I'm not sure what I'm going to do, I cannot afford to pay $450 right now, so I guess I'll find a way to survive without electricity until I come up with a better solution.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waterwoman Apr 25, 2012

    I have tried on NUMEROUS occasions to receive CUSTOMER SERVICE from Progress Energy. Their customer service reps are there basically for nothing. You CANNOT receive ANY KIND OF PAYMENT ARRANGEMENTS; if per chance your FIRST PAYMENT via ebill does not clear the bank, you CANNOT view your account online or make any payments online FOR ONE YEAR!!! unless you pay by credit card and agree to pay them $5 extra each time you want to make a payment. You still CANNOT view your bill online. I have told them that the address in which we live does not receive physical mail - but, their response is, we sent you a letter. They will DISCONNECT you without letting you know (they sent you that letter, even though you never got it). THEY DO NOT CARE IF YOU HAVE POWER or not!!! They are a monopoly - they don't have to care. Either you do business THEIR WAY or it's the highway!!! THIS IS ABSURBD!!! THERE IS NO NEED for this kind of treatment from a company that you NEED.

    In addition, for you to even get an account with the company - you MUST provide your SOCIAL SECURITY number! This is an invasion of privacy and SHOULD NOT be tolerated!!! We are giving out FAR too much information to people/companies that do NOT need this infomation! WAKE UP AMERICA...where is this all headed????

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CarrieST Aug 27, 2012

    Progress Energy needs to STOP raping their customers for more and more money!! This is insane...not only has my bill continued to rise but they give you no options or help for any of it. My electric bill used to run me anywhere from $220 to $240 a month which is high to begin with but I do have a 2500sq.ft. house, but ever since they raised their rates my bill has more than doubled. My husband lost his job of 26years and we are definitley struggling to keep our home and put food on the table for our children. I can't believe they are allowed to do this. How are people going to even live in their home with electric. It's not like I have my house ice cold, I have the temp. set between 81 and 82 degrees which is hot as hell and I still recieve a $463 electric bill, not to mention I am $200 behind from last month with an extention until the 30th of this month. I called them and explained to them that I have been a customer of thier for many many years probably 25 years give or take a few and have never ever once been late with a bill, but now that they have raised their rates 75% in the last 2 years its killing us and is there anyway they can give me another week or so to come up with the $200 that is late from last month. She said basically sorry no, you can call LIHEAP for help. I call LIHEAP for help and they tell me all appointments have been scheduled and basically I am screwed. So now PE tells me that if the $200 isn't paid by the 30th that my power will more than likely be shut off. When is this going to stop. I can't believe my electric bill and everyone elses is so high WTH!! I didn't feel so left in the dark (no pun intended) when my mother in law told me hers was $498 and my sister in laws was $488. Will they ever go down or just keep raising the bills??? This has got to stop, who do we complain to in order to get them to stop, someone needs to come in with a different electric for competition so they cannot screw us like they are, they know we all need electricity and they are the only ones so basically they can do as they please!! Who do I write to ? Who do I complain to? I know I am not the only one that their bill has gone up so high you cant even afford to live any longer because you have to pay the electric bill I am soooooooooo upset about this and just waiting to see what my next months bill is going to be, I can only imagine. I';ll be living by candle light before its over!

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    luv2save Sep 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You can opt of Driver Lic. and Date of Birth! How else do people that do not have SSN get power?
    Did you get a return check? If it is returned by insufficient funds, then they cannot remove that off the account. However, if it is for closed account or something else you can request to have it looked into for 1 time only. As far as address, you may want to look into PO BOX...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem