The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Plattner Automotive GroupFraudulent company

J

We have all been through the mill with this man. He has accumulated a huge list of unsatisfied employees...most who quit because of his lies and 'non' pay ...pay practices. He will try to block unemployment benefits because he forces you to 'quit' caused by payroll frustrations!! An appeal is a nightmare!!

Please, somebody in the media...lend us a hand...an outreach to contact YOU...we ex-employees (victims) cannot communicate with each other! You would be shocked at the reaction you would receive! How many innocent employees does he have to degrade, insult, and humiliate to warrant a class action law suit?

I have never experienced a business relation with a compulsive lier, and I have worked for some pretty tough dealers...tough, but having integrity! Plattner lies, lies, lies to anybody!

Just a 15 second news story on this guy by a local news station...just naming him by name...Doug Plattner...would generate an unbelievable reaction!!! Trust me...

Responses

  • Mi
    miami2016 Dec 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Curious 1010, I'm curious and in the same position. Did you take the gig and if so, any issues getting paid?

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cynthia Hodge Sep 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yikes as a customer trying to locate a gap insurance policy purchased ( well supposedly purchased) from one of the Plattner locations, I'm getting a little worried. Waiting for the proof of purchase now. Company listed says that there is no policy in my name. GREAT...

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    Curious1010 Jun 27, 2016

    This company is trying to hire me for the Key West dealership. It's a manager position & I will have to relocate from another state. I'm concerned about the company not paying employees. Do salaried employees have the same problem collecting paycheck as others? I would really like to know how the FLorida Auto Dealers Asso. feels about the guy & the NADA, if he is even a member. Amazed that the manufacturers continue to approve him.

    3 Votes
  • Fi
    Fightforwhatsright May 13, 2016

    Here it is, May of 2016. And all of these comments ring as true now as they did when they were first posted. Now, I haven't me Doug Plattner in person, but I do work for his company. And I can say, without any doubt, that this is the worst company I have ever worked for. Everything stated before me is still true. He does not pay his employees or managers. That is one reason there has been over 20 different managers at this location alone in the past year and a half. I, personally, am waiting on roughly $4-5000 in commission from the last month and a half alone. Apparently, being the number 1 salesperson in a store doesn't grant you any leeway in his horrible practices. I just got my check today, and they haven't paid me for a single sale, Some being as old as a month and a half. Not only that, but every other salesperson here has the same or a very similar grievance. I have also been told by another salesperson that Doug Plattner PERSONALLY reduced a commission from a sale from around $800 to the minimum $200, all while a manager was in the room telling him not to because it wasn't right. And that isn't the first time he's done it. He doesn't care about his employees. Considering the current economy and job market, he doesn't have to worry about having a high turnover rate for his salespeople OR his management. There will always be some other poor sucker in the works who desperately needs a job and doesn't know anything about this horrible person or his despicable company. I can only speak from experience about the location where I work, but I would assume that all of his locations are pretty much the same. I honestly hope the manufacturer who has their name on the signs at this location pulls it from him and boots him out the door. He doesn't deserve to have his name attached to anything so long as he refuses to pay his employees. I contacted his corporate office to see if they are willing to do anything, and if they don't, I WILL be contacting the manufacturer for the new vehicles at this location and I WILL let them know exactly what kind of practices he is currently doing. And I will take it one step further if I have to and contact the local news broadcaster and have them blast this story all over the state of Florida to let EVERYONE know how crooked and diabolical this snake is.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous Pig Jul 29, 2015

    Worst company I have ever worked for in my life. Doug Plattner is pure ###, I am so glad I left that crap place. I have watch him single handed take advantage of not just my co-workers but my friends. i have seen good people come and go from this place. Doug Plattner and his wife Marci Plattner should never run a dealership. You literally have to fight to get your paycheck and 99% of the time it's wrong, and they leave stupid notes on your checks stating how bad you su*ck pretty much. Doug plattner has false visions of his crap company. They are purchasing another dealership down in south florida somewhere...god bless those poor people.

    3 Votes
  • This operation should be shut down. This man has a very LARGE history of cheating people out of money!! As I see the complaints are older, I can assure you, this operation is still conducting business the same way. Cheating and running over peole with no care to the people he hurts. In today's world of electronics, we have the ability to publish comments and frustrations. This is why I publish this. To warn people. In this case, they are very valid!! This man has been allowed to take advantage of poor working people and apparently the government seems to allow him to continue? At what point can enough people make a impact to put this operation where it needs to be? OUT OF BUSINESS!! To contribute to this operation, is to work for a BAD business! While, I understand the sales persons whom may have had disagreements with commissions, the number of complaints from non-sales persons would indicate a major problem. I personally have knowledge of this mans business practices. Beware of this organization, his operations and business practices. He thinks he is beyond following the rules. His day will come! He will have to answer for his misdeeds. If enough people stand up, eventually, he will fall.

    2 Votes
  • Bo
    Boycott Platner Dealerships Mar 09, 2015

    The Platners are human waste. Doug Platner is the heir to Black and Decker and is the worst businessman and human being I have ever dealt with. I hope to God my spouse finds a job ASAP and gets the Hell out of there! I strongly urge everyone to not support this man!!! He already cheated them out of pay once and I don't want it to keep happening.

    Boycott any Platner dealership!!!

    2 Votes
  • Al
    ALBERT PAUL JOHNSON Feb 07, 2015

    i urge everyone to stay away from PLATNER ARCADIA CHEVROLET, in September of 2012 I purchased a 2011 Chevrolet Equnox from this outfit, and they failed to verbally tell me this was a buyback under the Florida lemon law. I just went to trade this vehicle in for a new Honda CRV and they did a car fax on this vehicle and found out that it was bought back under the lemon law of Florida. my advice to everyone is to stay away from this agency at any and all cost. they are dishonest and a low life outfit. i wouldn't ever buy sell or trade with this dishonest bunch of theives. Please adhere to my advice. they are just out to sell vehicles and they have absolutely no ethics in their dealings

    3 Votes
  • Al
    ALBERT PAUL JOHNSON Feb 07, 2015

    i bought a chevrolet EQUNOX from Platner ARCADIA CHEVROLET on approxamately Sept 25th 2012 and they failed to tell me that the vehicle i was buying was a buyback under the Florida lemon law.I just went to trade it for a 2015 Honda CRV and they did a car fax and found out that this vehicle was bought back as a lemon. they sold this vehicle to me without disclosing this information to me by word of mouth just so that they could unload this vehicle to a trusting sucker as i was. i will never buy sell or trade with ARCADIA CHEVROLET AGAIN and i advise all who read this notice to stay clear of these dishonest unethical low lives.

    3 Votes
  • Co
    CompleteDisbelief Dec 03, 2014

    Unfortunately, I worked for Mr. Plattner in the accounting office. I lasted about two months before I just couldn't take it anymore and I left without notice. I should have known from the initial interview with Mr. Plattner himself that I was getting into a less than favorable situation, but I needed a job and I was optimistic. When I showed up to the interview, Mr. Plattner was 40 minutes late and generally seemed very aloof. His corporate office was very disorganized while all of the other employees I met seemed absolutely miserable.

    While I did not handle the employee payroll, I did handle issuing payment to all of his dealership vendors. Everyone who claims Mr. Plattner refuses to pay his vendors are absolutely right. When things are tight financially, I understand pushing payment to the very last minute, but Mr. Plattner was flat out refusing to pay some of his vendors entirely. I would create checks to satisfy past due balances to vendors, give the checks to Mr. Plattner for approval, and he would just write "VOID" on the checks before giving them back to me. Since the vendors weren't getting paid (some being as much as 6+ months past due), the corresponding dealership would be cut off and denied further credit. I was constantly having to listen to outraged managers complain (and rightly so) as the service and parts departments were unable to obtain necessary parts to complete orders - or the sales department was unable to use any of their CRM software that had been shut off due to nonpayment.

    When I finally confronted Mr. Plattner about this, he would tell me to simply find another vendor who charges a cheaper rate, as he always assumed that everyone was just trying to rip him off. At one point, Mr. Plattner refused to pay a parts vendor until ALL previously ordered parts were exactly accounted for at that dealership, because he was convinced his employees were ordering parts in bulk to sell themselves behind his back for a cash profit. I've never witnessed a person who has so much distrust and disrespect for his employees. Every single day I absolutely dreaded going to work, because my day consisted of nonstop calls from both vendors and dealership managers, all screaming about shut down accounts and nonpayment - and the fact I couldn't do anything about it made it worse.

    The final breaking point for me is when I witnessed Mr. Plattner absolutely degrade a fellow employee. I watched as the employee politely tried to inform Mr. Plattner that one of our advertisers has shut down our account with them - due to nonpayment. Mr. Plattner then continued to absolutely yell and berate this poor woman, flat out calling her "stupid and incompetent" and I stood there in absolute disbelief that an owner of a company would treat someone so poorly. I started job searching the very next day and as soon as I was hired elsewhere a few days later, I left immediately. This man has a huge plate of well deserved karma that needs to come his way.

    1 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy with plattner Jul 16, 2014

    DAVR PLATTNER AND HIS PARTNER DAVE CANALLY WILL DO NOTHING BUT CHEAT MISSLEAD CUSTOMER. GO OUT OF THIER WAY TO LIE AND CHJEAT EMPLOYEE OF OY THOUSANDS OF INCOME.HIS STALLING TACTICS IN FLORIDA ARE A LEDGEND, HE OPERATES HERE BECAUSE IN ANY OTHER STATE HE WOULD ALREADY BE IN JAIL OR WORSE.AS IT STANDS, THE STSTE ATTORNEY HAS SEVERAL INVESTIGATIONS OF POAYROLL FRAUD SEXUAL HARRASSMENT AND OTHER ILLEAGAL ACTUIVITIES TOO NAME ONLY A FEW. THE MORE PEOPLE WHO FILE WITH THE STSTE ATTOURNEY THE BETTER

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    F#@& DOUG PLATTNER Oct 21, 2013

    HELLO DOUG PLATTNER CUSTOMERS AND EMPLOYEES. DOUG HAD THE MANAGEMENT TEAM IN ONE OF HIS STORES WALK OUT OVER THE WEEKEND BECAUSE OF HIS REFUSAL TO PAY THEM. REMEMBER, EVERY CENT YOU SPEND WITH THE PLATTNER AUTOMOTIVE GROUP LINES THE POCKETS OF THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE AND HE DOESN'T HAVE THE DECENCY TO PAY HIS MANAGERS ON TIME. WHEN YOU HAVE HAD A SILVER SPOON STUCK UP YOUR ### YOUR WHOLE LIFE, I GUESS YOU DON'T CARE ABOUT HARD WORKING PEOPLE WHO ARE WONDERING HOW THEY ARE GOING TO PAY THEIR BILLS. DOUG, IF YOU ARE READING THIS, I HOPE YOU ROT IN HELL, YOU PIECE OF DOG ###.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DOUG PLATTNER SUCKS Oct 18, 2013

    CAN ALL OF THESE PEOPLE BE WRONG? DOUG PLATTNER WINS THE TROPHY FOR BEING THE BIGGEST PIECE OF ### IN AMERICA. VOTES HAVE BEEN CAST BY ALL HIS VENDORS AND PAST AND CURRENT EMPLOYEES. I GOING TO MAKE IT MY MISSION TO MAKE SURE EVERYONE IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA KNOWS YOU AND YOUR REPUTATION. GAME ON.

    3 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Plattner is a jerk off Oct 17, 2013

    Doug Plattner is an absolute tee-total piece of ###. If he is talking to you, he is lying. He is without a shadow of a doubt, the biggest piece of ### on Planet Earth. He is universally hated by his customers and his employees. I would give my last dollar just to have a chance to kick his narrow ###.

    1 Votes
  • No
    Not Happy With Dougee Oct 16, 2013

    Yes you may be reading this and thhink that it is just bitter ex employees. But I assure you it is not. This man needs psycological help. I think he is sick and demented. I will not even begin to say how he has messed up my life temporarily. But I will say all that you are reading is most likely true. This man does not pay his bills or his vendors. You can not even get a dent fixed at one of his stores. Furthermore he won't even pay his CRM companies either. He just lets it get turned off and then move to another. He has the money or so I have heard but no intentions of parting with it to employees or bill collectors.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard75 Oct 04, 2013

    ive never worked for them but ive recently purchased a truck from them that had been wrecked they failed to tell me that . it has frame damage . I baught the truck thursday monday I called and let them know the truck had a bad shake they told me it wasnt there prob . I had the truck inspected mon afternoon by a master tech who told me the frame was out of wack he suggested I get a print out . tuesday the wheel and axle came of while I was driving 60 mpg called again I was told it was my prob again . they towed the truck to arcadia store replaced the rear end I told them I didnt want the truck because it had been in an accident before I had baught it which he never told me about until after the deal was done . I called gm any managers tried to call doug plattner never got a responce.called jim with customer service told them I didnt want that truck . I was called today to take the loaner back and they were going to make this right and get me into another truck . when I got to arcadia jeff logan said I could trade the truck in on a different truck at my expense and id have to get another loan and they would roll everything into the loan and he offered to give me less for the wreckd truck than what I paid for it three weeks ago . I took the truck because it is my only trnsportation as soon as I got it I went straight to a collision center . the owner found tha the frame was twisted we are putting it on a machine tuesday . ive never seen anyone treat a custoner as badly as platners auto group wish I could have wrote everything . sorry about your bad experiences

    1 Votes
  • Ou
    outta there Jun 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for Dougy Boy for 1 month and have never seen or witnessed such deplorable behavior. I think it's maybe a Florida thing but don't believe anything he says and by no means don't work for him. He has a bad reputation as far as paying employees and vendors. I got out after the first lie that I witnessed and was able to find another job right away. If you are not able to work for free don't work for doogy. Chuck Kessler, or whatever his name is, does not surprise me cause I smelled a ### right away. I am surprised that Dave Canally would still be involved to do ### dirty work for him.

    Signed,

    Glad I got out of there

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chevrolet1 Jun 11, 2013

    you obviously do not know Doug Plattner i.e. "Blivit" look it up if you dont know what a blivit is.

    -5 Votes
  • Ra
    Randall A. Cox May 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This looks to me like a bunch of folks that took weekly draw payments but did not sell enough vehicles to overcome their advance/loan...SO, they get fired or asked to resign for lack of performance...Then, these lazy, no selling leeches file for unemployment and expect the company to participate...When the company settles, it's not an admission of wrong doing, but a business decision based on anticipation of attorneys fees out weighing the settlement amount..Remember, there is always two sides...I'd like to see the falsified employment applications of the disgruntled..Usually, they have a poor track record of past employment where they have never held a decent job, plus their previous employment consists of menial jobs where they only stayed several months...Wanting something for nothing is typical for new hires...Randall Cox. Auto Dealer Professional...

    -4 Votes
  • Si
    silencedoeslittle Mar 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the process of a class action law suit with the plattner automotive group. I currently have around a dozen former managers and employees on board. He has screwed the wrong person and this is happening. I have a great lawyer and he will take on anyone who wishes to be attached to this class action lawsuit. I am tired of trying to get what is legally mine. He is getting shut down. GM is on the verge of shutting his doors and welcomes the lawsuit to go through to make it possible. Any and all previous and current employees are welcome to join in the suit. you can email me at [email protected] and leave your contact information. I will forward it to my attorney and go from there. Yes this is a new email as I am not comfortable with releasing my name to the public. You dont know how far this man will go to keep people quite.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlie4 May 19, 2011

    I worked for Plattner at the winter park store. In my tenure Plattner would delay the checks. and some people didnt get paid what was owed . He shorted my checks but it was never big. I made up for it with a dealer plate, demo and a gas card. In this game you have to take it...

    -1 Votes
  • Xo
    xoxo May 05, 2011

    Hmm I was thinking of working for him and hope none of this is true.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Winter Park Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He pays NO ONE! a complete [censor]! if you work for him he WILL screw you GUARANTEED!!! sooner or later he will not pay you.

    1 Votes
  • Un
    unpaid sales woman Nov 06, 2010

    I am a single mother of 2 children. And up until about a week and a half ago I worked for Doug Plattner. I was in the draw the first week I started there and was paid $366.76. whichI paid back with my next check . And from that point on I was never again in the draw. I quit a week and 3 days before I was to recieve my next check. And on this check I should have gotten my last 3 comissions to the tune of about $1200.00. minus the warrantys I sold... I have contacted the store since Friday morning leaving message after message for Mr plattner to contact me all to no avail. I have even called his cell phone and left messages. At this point I dont know what to do. I have contacted dept of labor and left a message. Its people like this that cause car salespeople to have a bad name. He is a very dishonest person. And this is just very bad business. I worked hard for this man and made him money the entire time I was there. And to not be paid for the sells that I made for him for his company just speaks volumes as to the type of person he is.. Its a shame that people dont know the truth behind the man that ownes Plattners Automotive Group...

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    Winter Park Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have made a great living in the Automotive industry for over 30 years, I have NEVER worked for a piece of human waste like Doug Plattner in 30 years if his lips are moving he is lying. His number one puppet Dave Canally is as bad as him, DO NOT work for this guy you will get screwed wether you punch a clock or are a GSM he screws EVERY ONE!

    If you are one of the people he moved down from out of state with his promises of advertising and getting more inventory I feel sorry for you, get a real job while you can and leave Doug Plattner OFF of your resume.

    Give him a call on his cell [protected] and tell him what a piece of crap he is for jerking people off.

    3 Votes
  • Lo
    londen Jul 09, 2010

    I s all of this true? And were any of you actually performing at these store warranting pay? How ca someone own 11 dealerships and not pay any one? I am asking because I am considering working for this man.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Levilady44 Jul 02, 2010

    Green means you agree in other words "Thumbs up"
    Red means you do not agree in other words "Thumbs up"

    4 Votes
  • Pl
    Plattner got bagged Mar 16, 2010

    looks like some one was pis--d
    IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
    SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
    WEST PALM BEACH DIVISION
    CASE NO. 07-80169-HURLEY/HOPKINS
    UNITED STATES EQUAL EMPLOYMENT )
    OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION, )
    )
    Plaintiff, )
    )
    RAY STRACK, )
    )
    Plaintiff-Intervenor )
    )
    v. )
    )
    BELLE GLADE CHEVROLET-CADILLAC- )
    BUICK-PONTIAC-OLDSMOBILE, INC. and )
    PLATTNER AUTOMOTIVE GROUP, INC. )
    )
    Defendants. )
    ___________________________________________)
    CONSENT DECREE
    THE LITIGATION
    1. This Consent Decree (“Decree”) is made and entered into by and between
    Plaintiff, the United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, Plaintiff-Intervenor
    Raymond Strack, and Defendants, Belle Glade Chevrolet-Cadillac-Buick-Pontiac-Oldsmobile,
    Inc. (“Belle Glade Chevrolet”) and Plattner Automotive Group, Inc. (“Plattner”). EEOC, Strack,
    and Defendants are collectively referred to as the “Parties” throughout this Decree.
    2. Plaintiff EEOC filed this action alleging Defendants violated Title VII of the Civil
    Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §2000e, et seq. (“Title VII”) when they subjected
    Raymond Strack to sexual harassment and retaliated against Strack after he complained about the
    sexual harassment. Specifically, EEOC alleged that Brian Paonessa sexually harassed Strack and
    that Defendants did not take action to correct the sexual harassment, to remedy it, and/or to
    prevent it from occurring in the future. EEOC alleged that Defendants retaliated against Strack
    Case 9:07-cv-80169-DTKH Document 56-1 Entered on FLSD Docket 02/12/2008 Page 1 of 9
    2
    after he complained about sexual harassment. Plaintiff-Intervenor Stack filed an Intervenor’s
    Complaint in this action alleging that Defendants violated the Florida Civil Rights Act in
    connection with Strack’s employment. Defendants state that Plattner Automotive Group, Belle
    Glade Chevrolet, and their owners and employees including Brian Paonessa expressly deny all of
    EEOC’s and Strack’s allegations and any allegation of wrongdoing notwithstanding the entry of
    this Consent Decree and settlement of the litigation. Defendants state that they agree to the
    terms of this Decree as an exercise of business judgment.
    3. Having engaged in comprehensive settlement negotiations, the Parties agree that
    this action is resolved by the entry of this Consent Decree. This Decree resolves all issues and
    claims set forth in the Complaints filed by EEOC and Intervenor Strack in this litigation. The
    Parties further agree that this Decree does not resolve any pending or future Charges of
    Discrimination.
    FINDINGS
    4. Having examined the terms and provisions of this Decree, and based on the
    pleadings, record, and stipulations of the Parties, the Court finds the following:
    a. This Court has jurisdiction over the subject matter of this action and the
    Parties.
    b. No Party shall contest the jurisdiction of this Court to enforce this Decree
    and its terms or the right of EEOC to bring an enforcement suit upon alleged breach of any
    term(s) of this Decree.
    c. This Decree conforms with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Title
    VII and is not in derogation of the rights or privileges of any person.
    d. The terms of this Decree are and shall be binding upon the present and
    future representatives, agents, directors, and officers, successor and assigns of Defendants.
    NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED THAT:
    Case 9:07-cv-80169-DTKH Document 56-1 Entered on FLSD Docket 02/12/2008 Page 2 of 9
    ADOPTION AND DISTRIBUTION OF POLICY AGAINST GENDER
    DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION
    5. Within thirty (30) calendar days of the entry of this Decree, Defendants shall
    revise their anti-discrimination policy (“Policy”) and shall forward the Policy to EEOC. This
    and any other submissions, reports, certifications, notices, or other materials that are required to
    be submitted to EEOC shall be mailed to: Maria Kate Boehringer, Supervisory Trial Attorney,
    United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, One Biscayne Tower, 2 S. Biscayne
    Blvd., Ste. 2700, Miami, FL 33131.
    6. Defendants’ Policy shall clearly define sexual harassment and other conduct
    prohibited by Title VII and shall specifically prohibit harassing, demoting, firing, or taking any
    adverse action against an employee because of gender. The Policy shall define and forbid sexual
    harassment and shall specifically forbid same-sex harassment (sexual harassment between people
    of the same gender). The Policy shall also provide that complaints of discrimination, whether
    formal or informal, inquiries about making such complaints, or inquiries about Defendants’
    Policy, may be made to any supervisor in the chain of command, or any other person with
    managerial responsibility, or directly to human resources personnel. The Policy shall state that
    no employee will be penalized in any manner for making a complaint of discrimination, seeking
    information about making such a complaint, seeking information about Defendants’ Policy,
    and/or participating in any investigation or follow-up contact concerning such a complaint. The
    Policy shall strictly prohibit retaliation of any kind against employees who engage in such
    conduct. The Policy shall state that prohibited behavior will not be tolerated from employees,
    customers, clients, and any other person present at Defendants’ facilities.
    7. Defendants’ revised Policy shall be distributed to all of Defendants’ employees
    and management staff within sixty calendar days of the date of entry of this Decree and shall be
    included in any relevant policy or employee manuals kept by Defendants’ business. The Policy
    shall be kept and maintained in a conspicuous and accessible place for all employees at all of
    Defendants’ facilities and printed in a font that is easily legible (at least 12 point font). The
    Policy shall be kept and maintained in an area that is accessible to all workers.
    8. A copy of the Policy shall be distributed to each new regular employee on the day
    the employee is hired. The manager responsible for supervising the employee shall review the
    Policy in depth with the employee. Defendants shall maintain records demonstrating that each
    new employee discussed the Policy with the responsible manager and illustrating the length of
    time spent discussing the Policy.
    TRAINING
    9. In order to further ensure the effective implementation of Defendants’ antidiscrimination
    policy, Defendants will conduct a three hour training on the Policy for all of their
    personnel at Defendants’ Belle Glade Chevrolet dealership and at Plattner Automotive Group,
    Inc. with specific emphasis on recognizing sexual harassment, including sexual harassment
    between people of the same gender, and acts that could constitute retaliation, and on the proper
    procedure to be followed if managers, supervisory personnel, or other employees become aware
    of discrimination in the workplace or if they receive complaints of discrimination. The training
    shall be conducted during each of the two years covered by this Decree. Defendants agree to
    provide EEOC at least two weeks notice before Defendants conduct their training sessions with
    the date(s) and location(s) of the trainings and material to be used at the training sessions. The
    trainings will be conducted by Opus Communications, Inc., 5700 Broadmoor, Ste. 400, Mission,
    Kansas, 66202. The first training shall take place within sixty calendar days of entry of this
    Decree. The remainder of the training sessions shall take place annually and no later than
    February 15th of each year throughout the duration of this Decree.
    10. Defendants agree that the discrimination Policy and training materials used for the
    training described in paragraph 9 shall be presented and explained to all new employees who did

    0 Votes
  • No
    Now thats funny Jan 29, 2010

    Two weeks ago, Plattner Automotive Group, which operates 11 dealerships in the State of Florida, agreed to settle a U.S. Department of Labor
    investigation and pay $71, 129.00 in back wages to its employees. The
    Department of Labor determined that the company had violated provisions
    of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
    One of the points stressed by the Department of Labor in that case was
    that while there is an overtime exemption for commissioned automobile
    salespersons, such salespersons must still be paid at least the federal
    minimum wage for all of the hours that they work.


    Most clients believe that most commissioned employees are not
    entitled to overtime pay. However, that is not true. Some retail sales
    employees are exempt from overtime pay, but these exemptions require
    specific compliance with certain requirements. The classic example is
    the case of automobile dealerships, where sales personnel are exempt
    from the overtime pay requirement. Yet, this exemption is absolute.
    There are certain requirements that must be met. In addition, with
    respect to automobile salespersons, they must be paid at least the
    minimum wage for all hours that they work, regardless of whether or not
    they make a sale.


    Typically, automobile salespersons are paid a set "draw" which is
    usually based on working forty hours per week at the minimum wage or
    slightly above the minimum wage. Problems arise if the salesperson
    either works more than forty hours per week or does not sell any
    automobiles. The problem is compounded if the salesperson works more
    than forty hours per week and does not sell any automobiles. The
    salesperson receives the draw, but does not receive any compensation
    for work performed over forty hours per week.


    Another exemption for commissioned salespersons is the retail sales
    exemption. Typically, salespersons in a retail store are not entitled
    to an overtime premium. However, in order to qualify for the exemption,
    the following requirements must be met: (1) the employer must be a
    retail store, with 75% of the annual sales being retail sales; (2) the
    employee's regular rate of pay must exceed one and one-half times the
    applicable minimum wage for every hour worked; and (3) more than half
    of the employee's compensation must be in the form of commissions. If
    all of these requirements are not met, then the employer does not
    qualify for the retail sales exemption and an overtime premium must be
    paid for all hours worked over forty per week.

    4 Votes
  • Yo
    Your Best Employee Aug 25, 2009

    Douglas Plattner is car dealer all Great America's need too, and must be afraid of. I have had the misfortune of actually working for and meeting (face to face) the weasel. Plattner is the best at taking the ### of the earth award, when it comes to being human, let alone a car dealer that holds, the most absolute piece of human waste award of all times. You may not understand this comment; however the maggot feeds of off these type statements. My pleasure is that I know as he reads this message, he knows who wrote it, that’s my gratification. He is by far one of the most screwed-up people walking the face of the earth. I think I could write a little more information as days go on, that I may do, until, read on. Check back often; never know what you might read.

    6 Votes
  • Gr
    Griffin Apr 03, 2009

    I am so glad to see that other people out there see what kind of crook Doug Plattner is. I worked for Plattner Automotive Group as the General Sales Manager from 2005 to 2006. I never had a problem with them until each payday. I am owed over $72, 000.00. In the car business, its hard to prove whats really owed unless you have it in writing. WHICH I HAVE. I look forward to our day in court. Jimmie Tucker is going to look very funny when we prove he signed the letter which stated my employement agreement. Of all people in the car business, Doug Platter will have his day.. It's coming soon. All the Fraud this man is responceable for, will eat his lucnh real soon. Thank God I was smart enough to make copies of all the files before I left. I bet the IRS will have fun with the way they cooked the books. All the fraud is catching up with the big wigs now... Wonder if the Attorney General would like a call to help them with the case.


    Griffin

    4 Votes
  • Ad
    Advocate 4 the people Apr 02, 2009

    Let me guess...your a salesman or salesmanager that could not bust your draw so you got canned...right? If you have been in the business any length of time you should already know that you can not fight a dealer and win. Dont try.

    -6 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.