The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Onewest BankHighly unethical and illegal

After facing foreclosure, I contacted the bank and applied for the President's Home Modification Program. They put the foreclosure on hold while they were working on the program. I called them frequently for updates and was always told they were still working on it and everything was still on hold, not to worry. Yesterday (7-28), I received a Notice to Vacate and that my house was sold at auction by the bank. I find this highly unethical, if not illegal, and would like some help in rescinding this sale.

Responses

  • Mn
    MnKL Sep 23, 2009

    The same exact thing happened to me. I called them constantly for updates. Numerous times they told me "your loan mod is in review, and the foreclosure is on hold." On 7/28 a realtor came knocking on the door asking my wife "how many bathrooms does this house have?" The realtor then informed us the house went back to the bank on 7/22. I checked with Onewest and verified it foreclosed . I am a homeowner for 22 years and bought this house in 2005 for a little more room for my family of five.
    It's a long story, but it is now 9/23/09 and we are still in the house. I have an attorney and we are suing them for wrongful foreclosure. They had incorrect default amounts, violated California civil code 2923.5.(a)(1)and (2), and assembly bill ABX2 7, and led us to believe they were trying to help us. We have an eligible loan for the HAMP program, I have the income to qualify for it, and all they did was jerk me around for 8 months, then steamrollered the foreclosure. I NEVER ONCE got a call back from them. I documented EVERY one of my calls to them to check on the status and who said what. The always told me "your loan mod is in review, and the foreclosure is on hold".
    Don't let these guys bully you around, PLEASE take a stand, hire a good attorney, do your homework and get your home back!

    ML

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Ka Ma Sep 23, 2009

    There are fraudulent activities at Indymac Bank/One West. There is no effort to help homeowners. Instead they are playing every trick in the book to deny home loan modifications. Apparently foreclosed homes are a more profitable business for this bank. They pretend that they are trying to modify and then making sure the application is denied. When you call One West Bank to follow up on a loan modification application this is what you get: "It could take a few weeks to process" "We will not call you" "Maybe foreclosure is the best thing for you" "I'm not sure why you were denied and we don't disclose that" "Are you sure you sent it” the list is endless. This bank or as they refer to themselves "group of investors" are taking home buyers for a ride on these loan modification applications. They push the process long enough where foreclosure is what you are left with. Their loan denial letter states “we will help you sell your existing home” – are they realtors? A lot of our tax dollars went into putting banks back on their two feet. So who is going to help home owners get back on theirs? They are using our tax dollares to foreclose on homes. No effort to modify loans and help homeowners. Someone needs to do something!

    File your complaint against OneWest Bank, Loan modification efforts are not being fulfilled!

    If you are having trouble getting a loan modification with OneWest Bank, formerly IndyMac Bank please file your complaint with the OFFICE OF THRIFT SUPERVISION http://www.ots.treas.gov/?p=ConsumerComplaintsInquiries

    OTS are the ones that handle OneWest Bank not the FDIC.

    They are using our tax dollars to take homes. They are charading with these loan modification applications and are using every trick in the book to deny applications. When a company is processing loan modification applications with the end game in mind - the end game being find a way to deny this homeowner's loan mod - then they will find a reason to deny it. Homeowner's please submit your complaints to the Office of Thrift Supervision. This fraudulent activity needs to end.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wanda's Daughter Sep 29, 2009

    Thanks so very much about the OTS. My story to similar to those I've read. At this point, I'm so demorilized. But, I will follow-up and lodge a complaint with the OTS.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vivianlee Sep 30, 2009

    I agree 100%. My husband and I are going through the same thing with the same lies and deception. We got this horrific loan in July 2007 and I was diaggnosed with stage III breast cancer in December 2007. I was unable to work due to many surgeries, chemotherapy and radiation. My husband was working for AIG. We experienced a tremendous loss of income and became deliquent on our mortgage. We have been turned down three times on a loan modification and our house is in foreclosure. They have not worked with us at all and we both have jobs and a renter as well. I am not physically or emotionally able to move and have no where to go. The bank was supposed to give us on answer by the end of the month but still no answer.

    If anyone has any ideas, please let me know. I have filed complaints to the Office of thrift Supervision, NC Commissioner of Banks and have been working with HUD. I am scared to death.

    My email address is [email protected]

    Good Luck to all who are having to go through this nightmare!

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    nyme Oct 02, 2009

    Hello everyone
    we are a family of five and these post are all to familiar we also have been living this
    nightmare going on 10 months YES !10 its in review we need an update its in review we are swamped can
    take up to 60 days in review waiting for approval waiting to be assigned they had time to file a forcloser though
    yes that the onl;y responce we got after 2 different law firms and a court medation company Im physical and emotional shot while these banks sit back and collect money our tax dollars and we lose our homes GOD HELP US!!!


    Highly unethical and illegal

    Complaint Rating:
    Company information:
    OneWest Bank
    United States
    owb.com

    After facing foreclosure, I contacted the bank and applied for the President's Home Modification Program. They put the foreclosure on hold while they were working on the program. I called them frequently for updates and was always told they were still working on it and everything was still on hold, not to worry. Yesterday (7-28), I received a Notice to Vacate and that my house was sold at auction by the bank. I find this highly unethical, if not illegal, and would like some help in rescinding this sale.
    Comments United States Banks
    Share with others:
    Was the above complaint useful to you?


    Comments Sort by: Date | Rating

    8 days ago by MnKL 0 Votes


    The same exact thing happened to me. I called them constantly for updates. Numerous times they told me "your loan mod is in review, and the foreclosure is on hold." On 7/28 a realtor came knocking on the door asking my wife "how many bathrooms does this house have?" The realtor then informed us the house went back to the bank on 7/22. I checked with Onewest and verified it foreclosed . I am a homeowner for 22 years and bought this house in 2005 for a little more room for my family of five.
    It's a long story, but it is now 9/23/09 and we are still in the house. I have an attorney and we are suing them for wrongful foreclosure. They had incorrect default amounts, violated California civil code 2923.5.(a)(1)and (2), and assembly bill ABX2 7, and led us to believe they were trying to help us. We have an eligible loan for the HAMP program, I have the income to qualify for it, and all they did was jerk me around for 8 months, then steamrollered the foreclosure. I NEVER ONCE got a call back from them. I documented EVERY one of my calls to them to check on the status and who said what. The always told me "your loan mod is in review, and the foreclosure is on hold".
    Don't let these guys bully you around, PLEASE take a stand, hire a good attorney, do your homework and get your home back!

    ML

    8 days ago by Ka Ma 0 Votes


    There are fraudulent activities at Indymac Bank/One West. There is no effort to help homeowners. Instead they are playing every trick in the book to deny home loan modifications. Apparently foreclosed homes are a more profitable business for this bank. They pretend that they are trying to modify and then making sure the application is denied. When you call One West Bank to follow up on a loan modification application this is what you get: "It could take a few weeks to process" "We will not call you" "Maybe foreclosure is the best thing for you" "I'm not sure why you were denied and we don't disclose that" "Are you sure you sent it” the list is endless. This bank or as they refer to themselves "group of investors" are taking home buyers for a ride on these loan modification applications. They push the process long enough where foreclosure is what you are left with. Their loan denial letter states “we will help you sell your existing home” – are they realtors? A lot of our tax dollars went into putting banks back on their two feet. So who is going to help home owners get back on theirs? They are using our tax dollares to foreclose on homes. No effort to modify loans and help homeowners. Someone needs to do something!

    File your complaint against OneWest Bank, Loan modification efforts are not being fulfilled!

    If you are having trouble getting a loan modification with OneWest Bank, formerly IndyMac Bank please file your complaint with the OFFICE OF THRIFT SUPERVISION http://www.ots.treas.gov/?p=ConsumerComplaintsInquiries

    OTS are the ones that handle OneWest Bank not the FDIC.

    They are using our tax dollars to take homes. They are charading with these loan modification applications and are using every trick in the book to deny applications. When a company is processing loan modification applications with the end game in mind - the end game being find a way to deny this homeowner's loan mod - then they will find a reason to deny it. Homeowner's please submit your complaints to the Office of Thrift Supervision. This fraudulent activity needs to end.

    2 days ago by Wanda's Daughter 0 Votes


    Thanks so very much about the OTS. My story to similar to those I've read. At this point, I'm so demorilized. But, I will follow-up and lodge a complaint with the OTS.

    2 days ago by Vivianlee 0 Votes


    I agree 100%. My husband and I are going through the same thing with the same lies and deception. We got this horrific loan in July 2007 and I was diaggnosed with stage III breast cancer in December 2007. I was unable to work due to many surgeries, chemotherapy and radiation. My husband was working for AIG. We experienced a tremendous loss of income and became deliquent on our mortgage. We have been turned down three times on a loan modification and our house is in foreclosure. They have not worked with us at all and we both have jobs and a renter as well. I am not physically or emotionally able to move and have no where to go. The bank was supposed to give us on answer by the end of the month but still no answer.

    If anyone has any ideas, please let me know. I have filed complaints to the Office of thrift Supervision, NC Commissioner of Banks and have been working with HUD. I am scared to death.

    My email address is [email protected]

    Good Luck to all who are having to go through this nightmare!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Micheal40002 Oct 12, 2009

    New site being built for OneWest Bank - IndyMac Bank Victims - Lets stick together on this one by putting everything on one site. Send me your entire story along with pictures of your home or yourself.

    Please take your time and speak clearly. I need the names of who you spoke with and dates, what they said to you etc. Did they turn down a loan modification?

    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tom72 Oct 15, 2009

    I am going to be lodging a complaint with OTS as well. Having the same issue as everyone else here indymac / one west giving me the runaround regarding home loan modification. Well I have submitted an application 2 times now for home loan modification. The 1st was for indymacs program which they outright denied me for. Then someone from their "loss mitigation" department called me and said I should apply for the govt program for loan modification. I resubmitted my application info and they put me on a forebearance payment plan for 3 months while the application is processed. This was in July of 09 and I was to make 3 monthly payments on the forebearance plan and by then the modification would be reviewed. So after I made the 3rd payment I called Indymac to check the status and the person said it is still under review (This is on Oct 1 2009). That person also said I should go ahead and make another modified payment for October because the modification is still under review.

    I called today (Oct 15th 2009) to make a payment and the person said I am not on any forebearance plan and my modification was approved back in August but since I didn't reply it has been cancelled. I would have to re-apply again and go through the process one more time. I asked how come on Oct 1st no one told me this since it was approved in August of 09. He said he couldn't tell me then wouldn't transfer me to a supervisor.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seasidepnay Oct 19, 2009

    My Husband & I are going through the same thing as everyone here! We applied for loan modification in July 2009 and up til today 10/19/09 "your file is under review", "no answer yet" etc etc. They even asked us to update our financial information and everytime I call the same BS. I try to call them 2 or 3 x a week. We never missed a payment for the last 2 years. Our loan is $390, 000 and right now our house is worth $150, 000. I was pissed on one of their Customer Rep ( I guess he is not a homeowner!) I told him that next month we might not be able to pay our mortgage because of medical issues and we already used most of our savings and he said "then short sale your house". Is he serious??? As much as possible we would love to keep the house since we want to create more memories in there but instead they kept on pushing us to the limit. Very ridiculous. Oh one more thing, when I called them last week the customer rep said that "you are current on your mortage, so we can't help you".. Bunch of ###s! I am glad to know that there I could find a complaint to the OTS. I will do that today.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fishandy Oct 20, 2009

    I am in the middle of this also. I began this back in February of 2009. After losing my job and not working for 4 months at the end of 2008 and getting behind on my mortgage I fell behind on my mortgage. I constantly kept in contact with the bank and they said they would work with me when I started working again. Once I started working again Indymac/Onewest set me up on a payment plan "lowering" my payment from $2500 to $2200 and said if I made three payments they would wipe out what I was behind and start my payments at the $2200. I made the three payments and then they said that there was a new program and that I would have to start over. This time they lowered the payment to $1300. I filled out the packet they sent and faxed it on three seperate occasions becasue they said they hadn't recieved it. They kept saying that it would take 21 business days to get the fax in the system. I kept faxing them until they confirmed that they recieved them. A person confirmed that I had sent everything then all of the sudden I couldn't get through to a live person and a computer voice says that I am missing a "financial contribution letter". I have looked through the documents they sent me and there is nothing mentioned of this letter Now I have made three of these payments and still haven't heard from Indymac/Onewest. I really hope that someone doesn't show up at my house and tell me that it has been all for nothing.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annoyed68 Oct 21, 2009

    They did same to me! And re; cash for keys...my house was purchased brand new..with no appliances etc. No fans...and the light fixture in dining room was hideous. Over 11 yrs...added the fans which cost a fortune (tiffany style)...and when i moved in had to purchase all appliances...and purchased verticals. All upgraded...custom made...throughout house. Cost of which greatly exceeds the 1500 they offer in cash for keys...they have the gall to include in agreement for me to leave appliances??????

    DO THEY HAVE THAT RIGHT???

    I DIDN'T CHOOSE WHAT HAPPENED! INJURED ON THE JOB...WHICH IS STILL BEING FOUGHT OUT...STATE OF NV DOESN'T WANT TO PAY. IF I'D BEEN ABLE TO SEE A REAL DOCTOR (NO WC DOC)...I'D HAVE BEEN BACK TO WORK IN A WEEK. SAW BACK DOCTOR FINALLY...HAD TO GET A RIDE AS I COULDN'T DRIVE. HE IMMEDIATELY SAW ISSUE..PUT ME ON VERY STRONG ANTI-INFLAMMATORY...AND AS HE GETS MRI'S FOR ME ALL THE TIME...THE ONE HE ORDERED FOR MY LEFT SHOULDER..FRONT TO BACK WENT THOUGH. DAMAGE PERM...BUT WITH NAPROXEN AND CORTISONE...FINE! IDIOT DOC'S REASON I MISSED ALL THAT WORK...AND HAD NO INCOME TO PAY MORTGAGE. AND THOUGHT I'D HAVE THE MONEY IN APRIL TO CATCH UP...AND THEY PLAYED SAME GAME WITH ME RE; LOAN MODIFICATION...EXACT SAME!
    ...CAN'T WRITE WHAT I THINK OF THEM!

    BUT HOW CAN THEY ASK FOR MY APPLIANCES...MY LIGHT FIXTURES..ETC!

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Highsaditty Oct 27, 2009

    I've been in the loan modification program for 13 months now with IndyMac/One West Bank and have been lied to about the application process and have my application delayed to the point where now I'm in foreclosure because of their unwillingness to give me a straight answer, yet they continually tell me my account is being reviewed. It appears they are trying to force me into forclosure to receive some type of kickback from the FDIC. They have not been working with us nor anyone I know that has a loan held by them. I send them the needed documentation they tell me it could take 90 days they stall and request to same documentation 90 days later. All the while I receive a letter on September 11, 2009 stating my goes to foreclosure on September 29, 2009. Eighteen 18 days after receiving the letter. They have been unwilling to work with their customers although the house is worth $150, 000 less than what I purchased it in January 2007. They are lying through their teeth and trying to FORCE their customers into foreclosure. Follow this link to see the deal they struck with the FDIC. Whom I also filed a complaint with.

    http://www.lovelyjacksonvillehomes.com/Blog/IndyMac-OneWest-Bank-Taxpayers-and-the-FDIC-Looking-Into-the-Deal-Between-OneWest-and-The-FDIC-and-Applying-Math-To-The-Resulting-Shared-Loss-Agreement

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Fight4yourhome Oct 27, 2009

    IndyMac/Onewest has done all of these things to me, too, and then some! I never paid my mortgage late, yet they have now moved me into foreclosure status and are trying to steal my home right out from under me. Totally lawless! They definately want our homes. Rather than re-write your stories through my own, I am going to make it my business to join others in bringing them to justice. Please, if any of you out there have any (pending or willing) class action case information, zelous attorneys currently suing them, or other helpful insight please contact me. I am willing to travel if necessary, and I have a well documented file of their flagrant wrong doing. I am especially interested in hearing back from the post with the attorney who is suing them for wrongful foreclosure. Meanwhile, stand firm and keep recording and reporting their criminal actions. Do you realize they hold an A+ rating with the California Better Business Bureau as of today? That can only be because of lack of information! Report them to the Banking Authority Office (of your state), Office of Thrift Supervision, BBB of CA, Consumer Affairs.com, and your local and national media. Don't roll over! Invest in this cause. United we stand, divided we fall. Strength in numbers!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonee Be Good Nov 12, 2009

    Same thing here! I had a lawyer to do the modification. and they waited until teh last minute and decided to sell the property. Now I have to move out! OneWest Bank is the worst of the banking cartel! there should be a class action suite against this company!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandym Nov 14, 2009

    I have contacted my congresswomen Mary Bono Mack and her office filed a compliant in my behalf with thrift supervision. I also wrote to bbb, consumer affairs, department of treasury, both ca. senators and the governer and even to the white house everyone write to the white house an your congress and senator everyone that is in government they need to hear our voices as one we are silent, but if we scream as a nation we will be heard... scream for your homes .. write, fight.. don't let these crocks take our homes. I am in thr pre foreclouser process but i will not roll over but i will not let them make me ill either like i said we need to ban together and stop ### on the compliant blogs write to the higher power. and then maybe we should tell them to change the american flag to a currency flag for the greed.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    faith777 Nov 15, 2009

    karen dickinson lied to my mother.. Said we were pre approved and never once called us back afte recieiving the necesssry documents. My mom faces foreclosure auction on the 2?d but I have come to realize that trusting god is the best solution. If one door closes..trust god will opeb aother..these banks are horrible but what goes around comes around..

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    gwoodNV Nov 18, 2009

    STOP MESSING WITH ONEWEST, THEY ARE NOT HERE TO HELP YOU JUST THEMSELVES

    I have been going through this for over 10 months and can tell you that they are not here to help you. If they forclose on you then either the govt will help out with the balance after they sell your home or they will call it toxic assets that will also get the govt to help. Either way they get helped out. I will let you know my experience. Once OneWest took over Indymac i feel that everyone has a chance to keep their home if they are willing to fight for it. If you hire a lawyer (to which I know that is difficult money wise) and chalange them to find your loan docs. If they can't find your loan docs that they "bought out Indymac" then there is no proof that OneWest owns your house and it will stall the forclosure so that you can either get a better loan or fight them all the way and walk from the loan and get your house outright. I fought them. I homesteaded my house claimed bankruptcy and my lawyer challanged OneWest to prove that they own the loan. They could not show proof and walked away from the fight.

    You have the find the right lawyer to go after them. So be very careful and ask alot of questons! They can't take what they don't rightfully have on paper. Make sure that they are filed properly on your deed of trust also, that is a big one that helped me. Bankruptcy is not easy but if it helps with keeping your house and maybe making them go away, then it was worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Floridamama Nov 26, 2009

    We have been fighting with OneWest/IndyMac since Feb 09. We were on a payment plan to make up our back payments, but they kicked us off that plan because we were late, which wasn't true. We have applied for a modification, but they constantly tell us that they're working on it, but no one has any answers. We have updated our financials with them numerous times. Same stuff everyone else on here has been going through.

    However, we have discovered a couple of things that might help us and I thought I'd share them in case they help someone else. First, we contacted a bankruptcy attorney and he said that if we file Chapter 13, we can force them to let us keep the house. Second, he said that we needed to respond in writing to the court where the Lis Pendis was filed and ask that the court keep us informed of the proceedings. Third, we call the courthouse regularly to ask if there has been any change in the case. We are trying to give IndyMac the opportunity to work with us on the loan mod - although after reading this blog I am doubting that they will - and to ask for a mediation through the court. We're hoping that when the judge hears our story that he will force them to work with us, or at least then we can file the Bankruptcy before it goes to sale. I really don't want to file Ch 13, so we're trying to wait and see if it's necessary, but it beats losing our house.

    I agree, there needs to be a class action suit against these people. They have taken the bail out money that was supposed to go to provide help for people like us, but instead we are getting the shaft. Thanks for the information about the OTS, we will definately file a complaint!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daw8534 Nov 29, 2009

    I had been working with IMB/OWB for over 4 months now on a short sale. They postponed my orriginal sale date and agreed to work on a short sale. I have supplied them with over 4 offers but they wanted more money. After supplying OWB with comps showing the property was not worth as much as they claimed, OWB agreed to go back and relook at property values. Next thing I knew my realtor got a call from another realtor asking her to take off her lock box and real estate sign because OWB forclosed on the home. I was blown away by their actions and thought we were working on the problem, imagine my suprise when I learned they took the house back and I did not even know it until 5 days after the fact. I was never notified at any time but I did ask over and over as to when the next sale date was. I was dealing with OWB only through email so I have it all in writing. The law states that if you ask for when a sale date is and they refuse to give it to you then they cannot forclose. I was deprived of due process of law. By the way the bank turned down my modification request as my income did not suffice. I am now filing a complaint with the Office of Thrift Supervision but I too would love to file a class action law suit against IMB/OWB if anyone can find an attorney to take the case. My email is [email protected] for anyone who has a attorney in AZ who will take this case. My attorney does not have the expertise or the time it would take.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy F. Nov 29, 2009

    File a lawsuit against them is the best thing to do!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy F. Nov 29, 2009

    File a lawsuit against One West Bank, before they file bankruptcy!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bethany M Nov 30, 2009

    ATTN!!! My mother is starting a class action suit with Indymac. They approved her loan mod, she sent in a payment and a couple weeks later they sent a letter denying the loan mod and took her home!!! This is wrong and so many people give up because of the cost of an attorney.

    Let's not let Indymac take anyone elses home! Email me at nomoreindymac.com to get involved with this suit!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bethany M Nov 30, 2009

    ATTN!!! I wrote the incorrect email..it's [email protected]
    THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    MTZrob Dec 01, 2009

    My parents have tried to Mod there loan for 8month, They got behind for two months because of my mom lost her job but they where still trying to send theme money but then Indimac at the time stop accepting there money and where going to put the house on foreclosure, I let them borrow money and went to a home loan Modification firm called "Foreclosure Cure" which in my opinion they did not do anything they where asssureing my parents that everything was going to be ok that they stop foreclosures in some cases in two days before.
    This was in SEp i belive

    On Nov 17 they got a letter saying that the house was going up for auction the 30th of Nov. We called the place of Auctionon the 30th they said they havent heard anything. Before this friday after Thanksgiving they got a call saying that if we give them 18, 000 dlls they would put the foreclosure on hold and work on the mod but nothing was garanteed. The foreclosure firm that we hire could not stop the foreclosure and as far as we know the house whent up for auction we havent heard from the bank

    If any one in California can help my parents out or have more info what I could do for them please e-mail me at [email protected]

    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Co
    consumer rights! Dec 11, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everyone, listen! Hire an attorney and do a "forensic audit". I bet you they violate TILA (Truth In Lending Act). Then if you find out that they have violation in Federal and State, SUI THEM! Don't let them get away! Loan modification? It's not in there book! That's a biggest "TRICK" they can ever done to you for going into a "Quick Foreclosure"! No matter what, don't leave your home! Even if the Sheriff will come to your house to evict you, asked them the original "NOTE"! A "NOTE", very important, asked them who is the right holder of that "NOTE". Hold your original "DEED". We have to start fighting with this 800 pounds "GORILLA". Hang in there!!! We are all gonna be allright!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jaejae1 Jan 07, 2010

    I have also had my dealings with these theives. I am a single mother of an 8 yr old dauther, I have been living in a property for several years the seller went into default with indymac, I immediatley applied for a home loan and was approved the realtor sent a short - sale offer to them and they accepted, they then foreclosed on the house. I immediatly then again gave them an offer to purchase, they told me I must move out of the house first before they will look at my offer. The orginal offer was for $390, 000.00 they foreclosed for $390, 400.00
    They now so it with a realtor for $390, 400.00 which I have offered and value at $370, 000.00
    I need help here they offered me $2500.00 to move and I told them no, they then had an eviction company contact me I sent them verification that Indymac had offered in writing to sell me this house, but foreclosed instead, I also reminded them of the evicitions laws 60 days in Ca. and 90 Federal.
    Who can I contact these guys are getting away with a great deal. Please help.
    Jaenae

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    Snookempookems Jan 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have the same story as everyone else. Email me when you start the class action suit.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosalind and Robert Clark Jan 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are going through the same thing with One West Bank. I have been writing to them since
    May 09 asking for a loan modification. I have written letter after letter to Terry Laughlin CEO of
    One West Bank. Now I have had a buyer since Nov. 09 house went into escrow. It is now 1/12/09
    and One West Bank now says they are going to foreclose on the house. Here we have a buyer the loan can be paid off and they are choosing to foreclose. How does this happen in the United States of America? I can't believe it. We also had our retirement stolen in the Bernard Madoff Fraud.
    40 years of work gone. Then in February 09 I was diagnosed with breast cancer stage 3, have gone through grueling chemo, radiation, oral chemo. I am trying to recover but am battle weary with
    all of the stress from having my retirement stolen and now the house.
    What can we do? I feel there is no one to turn to to help us.

    Sincerely,

    Rosalind Sabella Clark and Robert N, Clark

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicsthoughts Jan 20, 2010

    I have had the same problem happen with OWB but i can also say that they have helped out many of my clients. I can help any of you out at no charge. I know that this is not easy but hang in there everyone. OWB is not the enemy. We have to find common ground and dont bother with the phone reps that answer they are a bunch of young adults who get very lil training. Not only do they get very lil training but they really do not care about your situation. Some times it does require an attorney but it is very hard to find an ethical one in this area. Other times it just takes alot of escalations to get things done. I feel all your pain and emotions please feel free to ask any questions. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ee
    EeeT Feb 08, 2010

    I tell EVERYONE- Make sure you get any promises in writing and in the mail!.
    Every state is different, however you may need to file a Bankruptcy, so that the foreclosure is blocked at a differnt level.
    A lot of former modification companies would run into the same problem- The bank would over promise, or consistently say they did not receive documents!
    If you have a sale date, and they state it will be postponed, as your file is in review-GET IT IN WRITING.
    Most Bankruptcy courts allow electronic filing by an attorney, and cn be filed within minutes.
    Some states will allow the attorney to file a claim against the property that Litigation is pending and this will prevent the title from being clean, which may stop or postpone the foreclosure.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unfortinate in California Feb 11, 2010

    OneWest and Indymac are horrible. They actually make more money with the help of FDIC if they foreclose on your home rather than working on a short sale. The owners of OneWest Bank are previous Dept of Finance guys and now how to work the system. They have a sweetdeal with the FDIC...they will not do modifications!!! Their pockets are getting fat while families are losing their homes!!!

    0 Votes
  • He
    heymoeshell Feb 15, 2010

    I am not facing foreclosure, though just trying to make my payments is a nightmare. Their website automatically logs you out every time you click on the payment link. When you call them to make your payment, they charge you 20.00 to make a payment. I have complained numerous times, but they are obviously incompetent or fleecing their customers, which I vote for the latter. They are quite competent at taking advantage of people and walking that fine legal line! Well, I will be selling my home soon and will not take another loan with this company!

    0 Votes
  • Oc
    Oceans11 Feb 18, 2010

    Sorry people there's nothing illegal about what OneWest Bank is doing. Unethical? Well maybe but OneWest bought your loans from Indymac Bank through what's being called a "Sweetheart" deal through the FDIC. Basically they bought your loan at 70 cents on the dollar or 70% of what was currently owed.

    But here's the real kicker that will piss you off even more. The reason why they are so slow to modify your loans is because they make the same amount if not more money just foreclosing on your because the gov. pays them up to 80% on their loss. You see it's in their interest to let the homes go into foreclosure. Even economist say the fastest way to get the US back on it's feet is to get all the foreclosures out of the way ASAP. In essence George Soro's & Michael Dell the investors behind OneWest Bank are clearing out the foreclosures faster then any bank.

    This sucks I know, I too have an Indymac or OneWest Bank loan. But instead of trying to keep a home I'm $100K upside down in I'm going to let them have it. Look at it this way, even if values came back overnight & now I could refi my home again to a fixed rate loan & take some cash out, guess what? We wouldn't qualify because I our debt ratio would still be too high, unless the rate was like fixed at 1%.

    Screw it, I'll squat on the house & use the money that was for the home to pay off credit card debt. Get totally debt free, by the time they wade through the foreclosures to finally kick me out I'll be 90% debt free, I'll have more liquidity in the bank. Most apartment complexes, management companies & even private landlords understand that people are abandoning their mortgages due to being upside not necessarily because the payment is too high so I won't go homeless.

    America wake up, the system stuck it to you already, it's time for you to stick it back to the system. Benefit somehow from this debacle. And as long as the rest of your credit is in good standing you'll be able to buy again in 4-7 years.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DanielZ Mar 07, 2010

    Ocean11
    With all due respect...
    You are severely deceived...

    Onewest Bank/IndyMac have in short committed;
    Bank Fraud
    Securities Fraud
    Credit Fraud
    Mail Fraud
    Theft By Deception
    But not limited to...

    IF WE do not come together in a Class Action Criminal suit against these Criminals, then you stand alone. Whether you are in the process or have already had your home stolen from you then you are entitled...

    For now I stand alone, I only wish there was an Attorney with the moral values to stand in assistance to the people whom this fraud has been perpetrated upon...

    Fortunately He, who holds his own power of Attorney, is the most powerful man in the court room IF he knows how to use it...

    STAND on the issue of "Validation of the Debt" WET INK SIGNATURE.
    DEMAND all documents pertaining to every transaction since inception of this so called loan, Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, 12 U.S.C. Section 2605(e)
    If they had it why won't they make it available for viewing?

    Daniel

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Kollmer Apr 14, 2010

    Everything is true! The modification process is useless, they tell you your still under review they have no answers. Is everyone ready for this next violation? One West Bank gave me a three week notice on a forclosure date! Three weeks are you kidding me!! So I sprang into action with a R.E. Broker to short sale the house in good faith. Within 3 days we had a cash offer of 200, 00 CASH, the bank countered at 240, 000! We countered at 245, 000 CASH! The bank denied!!! They told us that the BPO went up on property, in three days in Las Vegas are you kidding me!! So we than found another offer at 265, 000 CASH<CASH!!! The bank denied the offer again. Everyone watch this the bank forclosed on my home 3 days later, guess who bought it?? The BANK bought it for 242, 000!!! This has to be illegal this is not in good faith. Everyone please do the math, what is going on??? I need some advice [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    RMLS LEGAL Processing Jul 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To everybody who has a delinquent mortgage with ONE WEST bank. These banks follow a strict procedure of submission. We are a firm that has been very successful with One West Bank Trial Mods and final modifications. We use a specific software that included the NPV Value tool to process modifications.
    If you need help processing these modifications then send me an email.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jennyping Oct 27, 2010

    Thanks for all comment and ODS, i agree with all comment.There are a lots of view, i like it...

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    greenfieldinvestigations Dec 03, 2010

    Palmdale California, I owned my home for 14 years. Make it short I was told by Indymac Federal Bank FSB in February that i must wait to see what package would fit my needs. In April of 2009 I entered into there loan modification process. In May I was sent a offer and was to have everything in by June 22, 2009. The bank told me I would hear from them within 30days after June 22, 2009. On June 5, 2009 a lawyer approached me at my home and told me he had just purchased 5 homes, 3 were empty, and me and one other homeowner were going to be problems. He sated he paided $60, 000 for each. He left a Notice to pay rent or quit on my door with no contacts information on it. I went to the Court house and checked myself and a UD was filed. I answered and was waiting for Trial (had a court date) and recieved a Notice of Default < unknowing to me a Summary Judgement was processed and I was evicted. I was given 14 hours to get all my things out of my home. I filed an appeal on the UD and was told by the lawyer if I droped the court action, he would give ne back my things. I persued the appeal, and becuase I was 1 day late on filing my briefs, my case was dismissed. I filed a Wronful Foreclosure law suit and filed a second ammended Complaint showing the bank all my evidence. They responded with a General Demurr but I missed my Conference Hearing and my case was dismissed. I am currentally refiling my motion and plan on hitting them with more damages. Just the fact the bank had knowledge of there mistake and would not step up to the plate. NDEX West LLC filed the Notice of Default in December of 2008. They never became trustee untill late February of 2009. There was never an assigment made for over 3 1/2 years and after the Default was filed an assignment was filed to try to protect there intrest. This is all after the fact and against the law. Too many violations to list and believe me I am a licensed Private Investigator and plan on making One West Bank iether resend the invalid trustee sale and allow me to go back into my home or they will have to pay my damages. Will keep you updated<<<greenfieldinvestigations

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    [email protected] Dec 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to start a lawsuit against IndyMac/One West Bank as well. Please email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cininne Jan 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In April of 2010 my wife and I took out a 5-year IRA CDs. It was not disclosed to us, verbally or in writing, that there would be a "maintenance fee." And if that was not bad enough, they doubled it before the end of the year to $30. With today's low interest rates and now and One West Banks unfair, unethical and unscrupulous fees, I might have done better just putting my money under my mattress. Put your money someplace else, not One West Bank!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Nevada 2010 Jan 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has the OTS helped anyone? It seems alot people files complaints but there are few updates regardnig if anything was done

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.