Cayman National Bank Logo

Cayman National Bank

Having problems with Cayman National Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

+1 345 949 4655 (Personal & Business Banking)
+1 345 949 8300 (Online Banking)
+1 345 640 9263 (Fund Services)
+1 345 640 9267 (Cayman National Securities)
+44 162 464 6900 (Isle of Man, General Information)
+44 162 464 6901 (Isle of Man, Corporate Service Enquiries)
Peter A. Tomkins Building, 200 Elgin Avenue, PO Box 1097
Grand Cayman
Cayman Islands - KY1-1102

Complaints & Reviews

no customer service

why this bank hiring a non proffesional tellers. not only one teller but most of them..at first they give me hard time to open an account to them.why do they have to ask two reffence letter if the person is just come to the island, that doesnt make any sense..
whenever i come to deposit whether in me or in my boyfriend's account.i always forgotten what was our account #. and so his old PO Box #, cause were using a new one. this happened today this morning, 17 dec around 12pm to go at savannah Cayman National Bank.their was a teller # 601 i greeted her good afternoon and no reply.she is asking too much questions.asking me if i dont know whats the accnt.# i said no i dont remember and asking me again what was my boyfriend's PO Box#. i tell her my own PO Box#. and she tell me it wasnt and she was asking me again like 3 times about it. and she was making face at me.. and i call my bf to deal with her bec i cant take somebody who is rude and no customer service.. and after that she handed the depositors receipt to him but i was the one who handed the money to her and without saying thank you..thats why i dont use my account to them bec they dont give a nice service to the customers. someties they already see the lines was so long and they still slow like a turtle. no greetings when you reach at tellers area, no thanks after gettting your money..thats why your bank dont reach that level where you could be the best bank of the island..worst bank ever thats what youcould only get.

Reviews of worst offshore banks in cayman islands

The bank was voted 9 to 1 to close its doors due to the bad service and complaints the banking world has received. Recently the imf recommended that they close it's doors, however could not guarantee that customers would be able to withdraw their funds from the bank

If you are a cayman national bank customer, you mayt want to slowly consider your withdrawal and tranfer of your accounts. Any clue that you will not be a future customer will result in your bank account being frozen due to lack of reasoning as per their corporate policy.

The bank has known to do this from time to time and customers should be cautious when dealing with this bank

Offshore guru

Search results: 3 matching "offshore banking"
Offshore banking - warning (complaint)
Posted: 2008-05-08 by garry bucanan [send email]
Deposits in cayman national bank at risk - offshore banking
Wanna lose money in false service charges, then do your banking at cayman national bank in grand cayman islands.

This is the worst reviewed offsahore bank in cayman islands. The people are very bad service oriented and anyone who has a deposit account with cayman national bank...



Offshore banking - worst offshore bank reviews (complaint)
Posted: 2008-05-08 by ansakartson [send email]
Offshore banking - reviews of worst offshore banks
The donkeys at cayman national are really pompous #s who are very lazy. The supervisor takes half hour to get us service.

These are bad service we are to receive when banking offshore in grand cayman islands. Stay away 100 miles from this cayman antional bank service. Not...



Cayman islands waring - offshore banking (complaint)
Posted: 2008-05-08 by ryan [send email]
Cayman national warning to offshore investments cayman islands worst banking
Do not deposit your money in cayman national bank. If you want your money to be safe, then go somewhere else. Any other island bank, but stay away from cayman national bank. This bank will eat up your funds with service charges and numerous excuses.

When you file a complaint,...


Search results: 3 matching "offshore banking"
Offshore banking - warning (complaint)
Posted: 2008-05-08 by garry bucanan [send email]
Deposits in cayman national bank at risk - offshore banking
Wanna lose money in false service charges, then do your banking at cayman national bank in grand cayman islands.

This is the worst reviewed offsahore bank in cayman islands. The people are very bad service oriented and anyone who has a deposit account with cayman national bank...



Offshore banking - worst offshore bank reviews (complaint)
Posted: 2008-05-08 by ansakartson [send email]
Offshore banking - reviews of worst offshore banks
The donkeys at cayman national are really pompous #s who are very lazy. The supervisor takes half hour to get us service.

These are bad service we are to receive when banking offshore in grand cayman islands. Stay away 100 miles from this cayman antional bank service. Not...



Cayman islands waring - offshore banking (complaint)
Posted: 2008-05-08 by ryan [send email]
Cayman national warning to offshore investments cayman islands worst banking
Do not deposit your money in cayman national bank. If you want your money to be safe, then go somewhere else. Any other island bank, but stay away from cayman national bank. This bank will eat up your funds with service charges and numerous excuses.

When you file a complaint,...

voted worst bank of the year by customers

Cayman national bank has recently been voted as the worst bank to deal with in the world.

Bad customer servvice - cayman national bank cayman islands
Posted: 2008-04-29 by troy mathers [send email]
Cayman islands - bad customer service - bad foreign exchange ripp off

Complaint rating:
Cayman national bank is a ripp off. Do not exchange your foreign currency or open any accounts with this bank. It has recently been voted the islands worst bank

Search results: 5 matching "cayman national"
Cayman national : homepage - worst bank offshore (complaint)
Posted: 2008-04-29 by dr. Leo brown [send email]
Worst bank cayman islands-cayman national : homepage
Cayman national bank is the worst offshore bank in cayman islands - cayman national : bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the cayman islands.

Warning: the government of the cayman islands have a financial supervision commission (fsc) which is responsible for licensing...



Cayman national bank - worst bank in cayman islands (complaint)
Posted: 2008-04-29 by ebanks [send email]
Bad service - cayman national bank service is the most unreliable
Known as one of the worst offshore banks in the island - cayman national bank is the worst offshore bank in cayman islands - cayman national : bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the cayman islands.

Warning: the government of the cayman islands have a financial...



Cayman antional bank voted worst bank in cayman islands (complaint)
Posted: 2008-04-29 by samantha ebanks [send email]
Cayman national is worst bank in cayman islands
Cayman national bank is the worst offshore bank in cayman islands - cayman national : bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the cayman islands.

Warning: the government of the cayman islands have a financial supervision commission (fsc) which is responsible for licensing...



Worst bank offshore warnign (complaint)
Posted: 2008-04-29 by berkers [send email]
Warning cayman national banking service
Bad service - voted worst bank on islands

  • Tr
    Troy Camming May 01, 2008

    yes this is the bad service and your deposit is at risk..they are no longer customer service oriented.

    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK - WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE
    Posted: 2008-04-30 by Johnny [send email]
    VOTED WORST BANK OF THE YEAR BY CUSTOMERS

    Complaint Rating:
    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK HAS RECENTLY BEEN VOTED AS THE WORST BANK TO DEAL WITH IN THE WORLD.

    BAD CUSTOMER SERVVICE - CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK CAYMAN ISLANDS
    Posted: 2008-04-29 by Troy Mathers [send email]
    CAYMAN ISLANDS - BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - BAD FOREIGN EXCHANGE RIPP OFF

    Complaint Rating:
    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK IS A RIPP OFF. DO NOT EXCHANGE YOUR FOREIGN CURRENCY OR OPEN ANY ACCOUNTS WITH THIS BANK. IT HAS RECENTLY BEEN VOTED THE ISLANDS WORST BANK

    Search results: 5 matching "cayman national"
    Cayman National :: Homepage -WORST BANK OFFSHORE (complaint)
    Posted: 2008-04-29 by Dr. Leo Brown [send email]
    WORST BANK CAYMAN ISLANDS-Cayman National :: Homepage
    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK IS THE WORST OFFSHORE BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS - Cayman National :: Bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the Cayman Islands.

    WARNING: The Government of the Cayman Islands have a Financial Supervision Commission (FSC) which is responsible for licensing...



    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK - WORST BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS (complaint)
    Posted: 2008-04-29 by ebanks [send email]
    BAD SERVICE - CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK SERVICE IS THE MOST UNRELIABLE
    KNOWN AS ONE OF THE WORST OFFSHORE BANKS IN THE ISLAND - CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK IS THE WORST OFFSHORE BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS - Cayman National :: Bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the Cayman Islands.

    WARNING: The Government of the Cayman Islands have a Financial...



    CAYMAN ANTIONAL BANK VOTED WORST BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS (complaint)
    Posted: 2008-04-29 by Samantha Ebanks [send email]
    CAYMAN NATIONAL IS WORST BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS
    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK IS THE WORST OFFSHORE BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS - Cayman National :: Bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the Cayman Islands.

    WARNING: The Government of the Cayman Islands have a Financial Supervision Commission (FSC) which is responsible for licensing...



    WORST BANK OFFSHORE WARNIGN (complaint)
    Posted: 2008-04-29 by Berkers [send email]
    WARNING CAYMAN NATIONAL BANKING SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE - VOTED WORST BANK ON ISLANDS

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shaun Jun 15, 2008

    There is no such thing as FSC in Cayman Islands, it is the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority that regulates all banks in the Cayman Islands. Cayman National Bank is the only bank in the Cayman Islands with banks on ALL 3 Islands. They have assets of over $1 billion. How can they just shut the doors and keep everyone's money?

    Sounds like YOU had a bad experience, that's all. You can't just walk into ANY Cayman bank and open an account and drop millions of cash into it! Wake up. This isn't the movies. There are regulated procedures MOSTLY to prevent money laundering. If you have nothing to hide, why were you so offended when they asked you to provide additional documents?

    I can't find any IMF information concerning Cayman National Bank. Can you provide the link for everyone to see please? I doubt it exists. The CIMA has said nothing about this bank but great things. If you are a seasoned offshore depositor, you will know that YES EVEN THE SWISS banks require the proper documents to open accounts and have eliminated those infamous numbered accounts because of regulation to prevent money laundering. Service fees are higher offshore, but most are willing to pay these for the private service they receive from these banks. I doubt you were charged near $4000 in service fees!! That would be criminal.

    Please provide FACTS to support your claim or this compliant just seems unvalidated.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    filipino Mar 22, 2009

    CNB IS THE MOST SECURE AND FRIENDLY SERVICE BANK IN CAYMAN, IVED BEEN WITH THEM FOR ALMOST 9 YRS. IM A FILIPINO WHO WORKS IN CAYMAN.

    GOD BLESS CNB CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK!!!

    0 Votes

bad service - cayman national bank service is the most unreliable

Known as one of the worst offshore banks in the island - cayman national bank is the worst offshore bank in cayman islands - cayman national : bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the cayman islands.

Warning: the government of the cayman islands have a financial supervision commission (fsc) which is responsible for licensing and supervising the activities of banks, building societies etc., in the cayman islands and for investigating among other things potentially fraudulent financial services companies and companies that misinform clients.

Public warning statement : according to the report anyone considering doing business with cayman national bank should “exercise the greatest possible caution before proceeding” and anyone who has already done business should consider closing their accounts.


Customer testimonials for incompetance:

Ouch
Yes, cayman national bank is totally incompetent. I've had plenty of bad experiences. Lots of frustrating runarounds from local staff and back again. It seems like no one at the cayman national bank really knows what to do most of the time. And there were plenty of occasions to question: just how does a bank this awful stay in business?

And it comes down to lock-in and choices. I don't even care about the lack of atms of other banks. I'll pay the fee to withdraw cash if I don't have to deal with all the [censored] cayman national shovels. I've threatened to move my account before on the phone, but it's such a pain-in-the-#. And you can almost justify not changing, to delay the pain, which comes from dealing with more incompetence rather than changing banks, until some future date.

Tell us how it goes with your next bank. I'm ready to change too. Might as well let you test the waters...
Posted by danchan


Wonder if their employees know they work for an evil empire.
You know, I really wonder. Do the employees of cayman national bank know how bad it really is? Do they realize that they are part of that evil?

My friend dan chang had an interesting idea about microsoft and that because of all the bad karma (real or perceived) they were finding it harder and harder to get good people to go work there. I'm not sure I bought that but...

Do the employees are cayman national bank know they are helping to cause harm and grief to thousands of their customers? I mean if you worked at a restaurant and you found out the owner was serving rotten food would you continue working there? Would you report him to the police? How can the employees of wells fargo keep supporting that company with their labors?

At some point you just have to get out. The only alternative is that all good people have already left and wells fargo is only left with bad people. Kind of like how fry's often feels like people that got rejected from a mc donalds.
Posted by greggmandecember 30, 2000 at 9:20

Wow, you've been brainwashed by working at cayman national bank
All the responses i've gotten about your posts in e-mail have been that it's people like you that are exactly wells fargo's problem. You have put forth an arrogant attitude. You have expect me, the customer, to fix the bank's problems or to know how to fix them. That is not my job, it is the bank's. You want to see better customer service. Try a different bank.

So far, i've gotten flawless customer service from other local bank's pboe department (I can't speak for all of bank as I only deal with their pboe department). They have never told me "we can't do that", and I have never had to escalate a call. Whenever i've needed something done, even if it they generally do not directly handle it they have gone out of their way to find a solution without me even having to ask! That has never been the case with wells fargo.

Cayman national bank on the other hand is has now not only given me the worst service I have ever gotten from a bank but one of their employees has now insulted me. You're posts speak for themsevles. Cayman national bank is #!
Posted by greg manoctober

  • Re
    R. Ebanks Apr 29, 2008

    CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK IS THE WORST OFFSHORE BANK IN CAYMAN ISLANDS - Cayman National :: Bank was recently voted the worst offshore bank in the Cayman Islands.

    WARNING: The Government of the Cayman Islands have a Financial Supervision Commission (FSC) which is responsible for licensing and supervising the activities of banks, building societies etc., in the Cayman Islands and for investigating among other things potentially fraudulent financial services companies and companies that misinform clients.

    Public Warning Statement : According to the Report anyone considering doing business with Cayman National Bank should “exercise the greatest possible caution before proceeding” and anyone who has already done business should consider closing their accounts.


    Customer Testimonials For Incompetance:

    Ouch
    Yes, Cayman National Bank is totally incompetent. I've had plenty of bad experiences . Lots of frustrating runarounds from local staff and back again. It seems like no one at the cayman national bank really knows what to do most of the time. And there were plenty of occasions to question: just how does a bank this awful stay in business?

    And it comes down to lock-in and choices. I don't even care about the lack of ATMs of other banks. I'll pay the fee to withdraw cash if I don't have to deal with all the sh*t Cayman National shovels. I've threatened to move my account before on the phone, but it's such a pain-in-the-###. And you can almost justify not changing, to delay the pain, which comes from dealing with more incompetence rather than changing banks, until some future date.

    Tell us how it goes with your next bank. I'm ready to change too. Might as well let you test the waters...
    posted by danchan


    wonder if their employees know they work for an evil empire.
    You know, I really wonder. Do the employees of Cayman National Bank know how bad it really is? Do they realize that they are part of that evil?

    My friend Dan Chang had an interesting idea about Microsoft and that because of all the bad karma (real or perceived) they were finding it harder and harder to get good people to go work there. I'm not sure I bought that but...

    Do the employees are Cayman National Bank know they are helping to cause harm and grief to thousands of their customers? I mean if you worked at a restaurant and you found out the owner was serving rotten food would you continue working there? Would you report him to the police? How can the employees of Wells Fargo keep supporting that company with their labors?

    At some point you just have to get out. The only alternative is that all good people have already left and Wells Fargo is only left with bad people. Kind of like how Fry's often feels like people that got rejected from a Mc Donalds.
    posted by greggmanDecember 30, 2000 at 9:20

    Wow, You've been brainwashed by working at Cayman National Bank
    All the responses I've gotten about your posts in e-mail have been that it's people like YOU that are exactly Wells Fargo's problem. You have put forth an ARROGANT attitude. You have expect ME, the customer, to FIX the BANK'S problems or to know how to fix them. That is NOT my job, it is the BANK's. You want to see BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE. Try a different bank.

    So far, I've gotten FLAWLESS customer service from other local bank's PBOE department (I can't speak for all of bank as I only deal with their PBOE department). They have NEVER told me "we can't do that", and I have never had to escalate a call. Whenever I've needed something done, even if it they generally do not directly handle it they have gone out of their way to find a solution WITHOUT ME EVEN HAVING TO ASK! That has NEVER been the case with Wells Fargo.

    Cayman National Bank on the other hand is has now not only given me the Worst Service I have EVER gotten from a bank but one of their employees has now insulted me. You're posts speak for themsevles. Cayman National Bank is ###!
    posted by greg manOctober

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon Brodier May 08, 2008

    Thisis true cayman national is the worst bank for service in the island.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    avaiki Feb 22, 2009

    I disagree with both complaints above on the simple grounds that neither have anything to do with the Cook Islands.

    Complainants should note that the Caymen Islands are in the Caribbean, while the Cook Islands are in the same timezone as Hawaii, in the Pacific Ocean, some 9112 kilometres to the west of George Town.

    Having said that, I do know there is at least a small amount of traffic between the two offshore centres, in terms of staff and legislation.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Hendrix Muhammad Jan 12, 2018

    Cayman national bank is the worst !!!, I have been waiting to open account for over than a month, they finally reach out to my boss for reference, which my boss already confirm, I was there and witness this, and the clerk told me the account will be open today or tomorrow, so I came back the next day which is just 20 minutes ago, guess what they said???...oh my Lord..this can't be happening, I'm so positive but it s been gone too long for open an account, a freakin month?, incompetent, never apologize, and no one seems to care at this bank, please think 1000 times doing business with CAYMAN NATIONAL BANK.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Retsof Oct 26, 2018

    I have not had too much experience with CNB except I had a MC credit card account with them and had problems and closed it. However, I doubt its service is any worse than RBC where I have a Visa Credit Card and paid it off in full before due date yet they charge me interest and late fees and allowed charges on it as well which I asked then not to as I wish for the account to be closed.
    RBC does not even have a branch on West Bay Road and now expects everyone to deal with them through Mobile App so to me they have no concern for customers If someone goes into the branch for a matter, it takes them probably an hour to finalise transaction due to lack of cashiers to tend to customers.
    I deal with small bank of Fidelity and while it lacks in availability of ATMs(they have two but at times they are down) the staff and management are courteous and relatively efficient

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    [email protected] Feb 05, 2019

    Cayman National Bank in the Cayman Island has the most atrocious customer service (if you dare to call it that) that I have ever seen from a bank.

    0 Votes