Northland Group Inc.Do not fall for their schemes!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I received a letter in the mail from Northland Group Inc. to settle an account. As I was about to pay this so called debt, I realized that I did not have in account with the previous creditor listed. So I called Northland Group Inc. and the customer service rep I spoke with could not give me any detail about the account. He did tell me that it was originally opened in 1989 and closed in 1994. When I told him that I was just coming home from college in 1989, he says "that what it is, it's for a student loan." He did not know what to say when I told him that I did not have a student loan. The only time I had a student loan was 1995, which has been paid off.

So I went on the Internet to pull up their website, and the complaint board from Complaints.com came up. I was amazed.

Come to find out, this was for a charge card that I had with Citibank. I only had the charge card for 1 year, and when the account was closed, I only owed $575. Citibank had written off the debt almost 10 years ago. Now Northland is trying to collect on it. Please do not fall for their schemes.

Responses

  • Gi
    Giuseppe Salvia Nov 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    8/29/16 website down or doesn't exist cant send email of options discussed on recorded phone call but wants payment and cannot provide acct number for me to set up online payment through my bank

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annoyed in Phoenix Feb 15, 2018

    We have had two calls in two days. No message was left on our answering machine. Our number is registered on the National Do Not Call list. We have no debts - we pay our credit card in full every month so we are basically cash and carry people. And, we do not have any "old" unpaid debt.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jerene Oct 14, 2017

    I just received a letter stating I owed $10, 206.20 but they would settle for $5, 103.12. I owe no one that amount of money. I called and they could not tell me where this debt was originally made or what is was for. I will not, if I even had the money, pay this so called debt collectors for something they clearly made up. these so called people need to be put out of business. I'm trying to build my credit and their trying to ruin my life by making up lies and ruining my reputation.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frognuts Jan 19, 2017

    Ever since warning Comenity's crazy calling schemers to stop (they stopped), repeated calls come everyday from this hated outfit. Be sure, no written documentation is ever received to back any debt due (are none). I looked up Northland, located in Minnesota ( a debt collection agency) and called. After threatening to take action against their company I was soon referred to someone who looked up my phone number. I was told that they had my number by way of error and would be removed. That's where I am with this fricken outfit. We'll see where this goes. I'll take said action(s) immediately should the call nonsense continue. My advice to anyone being Harassed by Comenity or this outfit is to NEVER give one iota of information about yourself over the phone. Merely ask for a mailed (snail mail) written documentation describing billing (statement) and any debt the say you owe. They will most always not have this and will send you nothing -- that what you should do -- give them NOTHING!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Havu Oct 12, 2015

    Northland Group has been contacting my phone for almost two years. Each time I tell them that I am NOT Angela Rodrigez. I got a new number from Verizon and apparently she was the last user and even had it on an old website. Using Verizon's phone block doesn't work as the call from a different number each time...what a pain.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    haters Jan 31, 2015

    This is just to inform a bunch of idiots how dumb you sound. For starters if you do your research NGI is NOT a reporting agency meaning they do not report to the credit bureaus. Sometimes yes all collection agencies send letters to the wrong person, not there fault, also half of you are just pissed off because you got into collections, all calls from any collection agency are recorded so if anyone said that they know were you live, they would be fired and you could have sued them. And not NGI does not buy debt you idiots look up your facts they work on behalf of other companies so the reason they cannot give you complete information on the account is because it is against the FDCPA for them to have it, as the original creditor has it. If you ever feel like a debt is not your just ask for a media request to prove validation. my god I have never seen such a group of idiots.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    camperinaz Mar 26, 2014

    Find the statute of limitations on the debt. I believe in most places the debt over 7 years is legally not allowed to be reported on your credit report. Research it and get it cleared. I believe the only debt that stays on your report over 7 years is tax debt. Can anyone confirm?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joeyalf Feb 20, 2014

    I "received" a letter from Northland Group... I say received because they have apparently been trying to Bill me at an address I have never lived at. Saying the original creditor was General Electric Capital Corporation. I have NEVER held any account with GE Capital. Saying I owe $327.--. But they will settle for either $65.40 or $81.78... Um, no. When I called and gave the account number on the letter, they requested the proper address, full spelling of my last name, and my social security number. When I refused, they said they couldn't speak to me, and transferred me to their "customer care" dept, which rang 15 or so times and sent me to voicemail. Doubt I'll hear back.

    0 Votes
  • En
    end_fraud Apr 12, 2013

    To the people who wrote the comments in favor of Northland Group, shame on you.
    Most of the complaints have been written on Northland's fraudulent business practices.
    People should pay their debts, no question about that.
    However, when a collection agency, such as Northland Group, makes up a phony claim against a consumer and tries to collect money from him/her, that's a fraud.
    I've never had a Citi Visa card in the past, but Northland's letter showed that I owed more than a thousand dollars with a Citi Visa account from 15 years ago and that they'd settle for a few hundred dollars.
    And they put the burden of providing a proof that I did not have such account to remove their claim.
    How is this not a fraud?
    I'm sure there are more than a few people who'd just pay what Northland says they owe without verifying the claim because of the fear/concern their credit score might be impacted negatively if they did not pay, and Northland would gladly make money off of those innocent victims.
    The employees of Northland - the economy is tough and difficult now, but, if you consider yourself as a decent human being, try to get a job that you wouldn't be shameful to your family and loved ones.
    Businesses such as Northland should be shut down and the owners should be considered as criminals and thrown in jail.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nittanygrl Jan 26, 2013

    Northland group folks is a real debt collector. I got mail from them on a jcpenney credit card that i owed on, and i really do owe it. And also in a previous post from someone on here saying capital one has there own debt collection dept is not true. The also use collection agencies. I too defaulted on a capital one card and it was sent to a collection agency outside of capital one. No one likes debt collectors cause they are rude and mean and alot of them use tactics that are not legal. But truth is if you owe the debt then just pay it then you wont deal with them .i learned the hard way and now have horrible credit to show.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DA Jones39 Jan 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I read all the negative reports but did NOT have a negative experience. One thing I noticed before calling them on a debt that was not ours was that they have been, and still are, A+ rated by the Better Business Bureau. You do not get that rating by being dishonest.

    I read one review where an idiot thought that because he refused to pay his original credit card company and they quit trying to collect that he no longer owed it. They sold it to Northland and his view was they were terrible for trying to collect a debt he still owes. Borrow money from the mob and don't pay it back and they send out an enforcer. Northland is acting as an enforcer but within the law and, to me at least, very courteously. My incorrectly assigned debt was removed from my record. Do you really think you are the only person in the U.S. with your name?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sherry nehme Jul 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a letter from northland group saying I owed 2, 148.30 and they would settle for 751.92 and the original creditor was columbus bank and trust who I have never heard of. when I call the rep ended up hanging up on me.

    -1 Votes
  • Al
    AlisonK Dec 30, 2011

    I had a debt to cap. one I didn't pay due to, well life really. I am trying to get things in order so I can feel like I am building a future that I can look towards and feel confident. Northland Group didn't have my phone number but I got a lot of letters that I stuck in the junk drawer to deal with later. Now is later and my money situation isn't wonderful but I'm getting better about saving the little I can and feeling good about it. I called the 4 creditors on the debts I had and yes some were several years old but they were still mine to pay. After settling my debt with northland, originally with cap. one from $1300 to $700 I received a letter showing the account resolved which also appeared on my credit report. It is possible that many of the posts on this board are from people who don't owe money and need to take legal action. For those who know they owe the debt from however long ago then get angry when the collectors call must have heavy hearts. I know I did even though it's easy to ignore when it's just on a credit report that is already bad. Paying off debt when money is tight is really hard but believe me, it's a huge weight lifted when you can put your mistakes to bed by working towards fixing them. To the man who made the hundreds of phone calls to the employee, he could have called the police on you and instead he tried to help you when you were behaving like an angry 15 year old. It will be an amazing world when we as Americans become the people we were meant to be. We used to be a lighthouse for the world and now look at as. Read these post and see what I mean. Northland is trying to collect debts. It isn't their fault we made them and defaulted.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irked in Mich Oct 04, 2011

    I recieved a letter from Northland Group that stated I owed $1, 020.03 on my Capital One account and listed the last four digits of the supposedly account. I had an account with Capital ONe that I paid off and closed in Dececmber 2009 and it did not have the four digits they listed any where on my account. When I contacted them the person accually asked for my account number and the last four numbers of my social security number. I told him the idiot on the phone wnan't me and hung up. He has the never to call me back.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sapper1277 Aug 10, 2011

    I received a series of phone calls from Northland Group (which I never answered). Each time they called no message would be left. I attempted to call them back and got their automated system which is how I learned who they were. After about a week I received a letter in the mail stating Northland Group Inc/Asset Acceptance LLC was attempting to collect an oustanding balance on a Sears card I had 12 years ago. The debt they listed did not appear on my credit report and my Sears card account had been closed for 10 years and the unpaid balance had long been charged off. I sent a response letter to them disputing the validity of the debt.

    The amount claimed by Northland is not even close to the amount I had owed. They also stated in their letter " that the interest on the amount owed may vary day to day and the amount you owe may be greater on the day you pay".

    Needless to say I have no intention of paying what I believe is a fraudulent claim and will report them to the Consumer Protection Agency if they do not stop bothering me.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Creditguy Jun 18, 2011

    Contact your state AG and BBB to file a complaint against this company... this usually get great results.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    jtg1116 Jun 14, 2011

    Just as a heads up... I just received a letter in the mail from Northland Group Inc insisting I owe them $1385.17 from an old Citibank debt I had a few years ago. I've never had a Citibank Card so I looked the company up and found this site.. this ### obviously a scam so pay it no mind

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kkane Mar 03, 2011

    Like many other users, Northland Group sent me a offer settlement. They said the creditor was USBank. Because I have current accounts with USBank, I knew the debt was not valid. This was confirmed when I called USBank to ask about the account. USBank did not have record of it (surprise surprise). The USBank representative also said it seemed like this company was using 'skip tracing' which means that they will send that letter to anyone with the same name as the debtor (without checking social security number or anything else to verify). I wrote multiple letters to Northland Group and the debt was finally confirmed as not mine and illitigmate, but it tooks many certified letters and a couple months to clear this up. And lo and behold I received another letter from them again the other day. Northland Group employs bad business practices of sending debt collection letters without verifying any of the information on their accounts. As consumers we are protected from these under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Next time Northland Group sends you a letter, send them one back (like the one below) asking them to verify all the information before you pay them a dime. Chances are I'm sure you'll find that the debt was never yours to begin with.
    [Your Name]
    [Street Address]
    [City, ST ZIP Code]
    DATE
    Northland Group Inc.
    P.O. Box 390846
    Minneapolis, MN 55439

    RE: [Account/Case/ID/Reference] # [ABC12345]
    To Whom It May Concern:
    This letter is being sent to you in response to a notice I received on [date]. Be advised that this is not a refusal to pay, but a notice sent pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) that your claim is disputed and validation is requested.
    This is NOT a request for “verification” or proof of my mailing address, but a request for VALIDATION made pursuant to the above named Title and Section. I respectfully request that your offices provide me with competent evidence that I have any legal obligation to pay you.
    I humbly request your Debt Collection agency to provide me with the following information in order to validate this debt:
    - Show me what do I owe this money for; and what purchases did I make or what Services did I receive?
    - Show me the details and calculations of how you calculated that amount.
    - Provide me with letters or proof that I agreed to pay what you say I owe.
    - Provide me with verification or judgment of any debts owed.
    - Identify to me the Original Creditor from whom I made the purchase.
    - Prove that the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this debt
    - Show me that you are licensed to collect this debt in my State
    - Show me your Debt Collection Rights License #
    - Show me that you are authorized to collect this debt on behalf of the Original Creditor.
    - Give me a complete transaction and payment history from the Original Creditor.
    - Show me what the original amount was when this Debt was assigned to your Debt Collection Agency. **
    - Show me any fees and interest charges that have been added on to this debt. **
    - Show me how you determined and arrived at these fees. **
    - Give me a copy of the original signed loan or credit card application with the Original Creditor.
    ** These debt validation requests are Law under the following Court Case:
    Fields v. Wilber Law Firm, Donald L. Wilber and Kenneth Wilber, USCA-02-C-0072, 7th Circuit Court, Sept 2004
    At this time I will also inform you that if your offices have reported invalidated information to any of the 3 major Credit Bureau’s (Equifax, Experian or TransUnion) this action might constitute fraud under both Federal and State Laws. Due to this fact, if any negative mark is found on any of my credit reports by your company or the company that you represent I will not hesitate in bringing legal action against you for the following:
    - Fair Credit Reporting Act
    - Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
    - Defamation of Character
    If your offices are able to provide me with all the proper documentation as requested in the following Declaration, I will require at least 30 days to investigate this information and during such time all collection activity must cease and desist.
    Also during this validation period, if any action is taken which could be considered detrimental to any of my credit reports, I will consult with my legal counsel for suit. This includes any listing any information to a credit reporting repository that could be inaccurate or invalidated or verifying an account as accurate when in fact there is no provided proof that it is.
    If your offices fail to respond to this validation request within 30 days from the date of your receipt, all references to this account must be deleted and completely removed from my credit file and a copy of such deletion request shall be sent to me immediately.
    I would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices to my home or to my place of employment. If your offices attempt telephone communication with me, including but not limited to computer generated calls and calls or correspondence sent to or with any third parties, it will be considered harassment and I will have no choice but to file suit. All future communications with me MUST be done in writing and sent to the address noted in this letter by USPS.
    It would be advisable that you assure that your records are in order before I am forced to take legal action. This is an attempt to correct your records; any information obtained shall be used for that purpose.
    Best Regards,
    [Your Name]

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fRaNk_72 Sep 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAVE THIS COMPANY CALLING ME EVERY DAY SOMETIMES TWICE DAILY ASKING ME FOR MY SON. i KNOW MY SON HAS OLD DEBTS THAT ARE TIME BARRED AND THAT THERE IS NO LONGER A COLLECTION ACTION AVAILABLE TO THIS COMPANY. i TOLD THEM SEVERAL TIMES THAT HE DOES NOT LIVE WITH ME AND HVE NO IDEA WHY THEY ARE CALLING ME. WHAT CAN I DO THEY HAVE IGNORED MY REQUESTS TO STOP CALING ME?

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jennalow Aug 16, 2010

    I just recently got my free credit reports to start checking and cleaning up my credit and there was a debt from an old citi bank card on there and when I called the number for the bank (which answered as Citi) and entered my account # I was transferred to Northland Group from Citi. NOT ALL OF THESE CALLS AND LETTERS ARE ILLEGITIMATE. They are collecting a debt that I owe. The guy I spoke with was kind and considerate. If you are interested in cleaning up your credit, do some research yourself. Don't rely on Northland to give you all the answers. Pull your credit report and make some calls. You can get to the bottom of it and feel more secure in paying the debt and feel better about paying what you owe. This is the second time in my life I've had to deal with collectors and while the calls and letters are annoying...if you owe a debt and you make an effort to pay it I have found that they are pretty courteous. GET INFORMED!

    0 Votes
  • Or
    orsty3000 Aug 13, 2010

    This is a scam, I got a letter wanting me to pay 696.62 with no explanation of what this debt is for at all. They [censor]ed the spelling in my name up all to hell and made up some account number to some bank I've never heard of calling them the "original creditor".

    This is a classic scam I've seen before. They just start pulling information out of their [censor] and send out letters to everyone they can. They say you owe X amount knowing good and well that you don't owe anything. Most people will just toss the letter in the trash, others will complain. Sadly there are a small percentage of people out there that won't question it and just pay it. That's what they are banking on. If they sound out millions of letters and thousands of people pay. It won't be long before the scammer has a pretty big bank account.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnoyedNonClient May 07, 2010

    Well, these jokers just called our home phone looking for someone who doesn't (and never has) lived here. I figure it was a "similar last name" fishing expedition. If you feel harrassed, then harrass 'em back. Here's how: They are a Minnesota Licensed Agency. The Minnesota Dept. of Commerce (Commerce) regulates them. So go to http://www.commerce.state.mn.us. Follow the links and submit a complaint. Give the the name of the joker who called, the date and time of the call, er and the number from callerID. PS. They have an 800 number [protected] that maintains calling records. These records can be used by Commerce to back up your complaint.
    Another way is to turn the tables (if you never had the debt that they claim): Politely explain that you charge for your time on an hourly rate and that you charge in 10ths of an hour. Pick a professional rate $200/hr. and explain that their first call is free, but you will charge them the hourly rate for reading and responding to their eMail, Snail Mail, and any other telephone calls (regardless of who initiated the call). Then create an account number & invoice 'em with a certified letter (return receipt required). Invoice them every month, adding late charges and interest. Save copies of the invoices & return receipts. When you have 3 months of unpaid bills, send them a summons to small claims court. Go to court & get a judgement. Then call the Hennepin County Sherriff and start an action to collect. ... Enjoy.
    PS. Keep a log of every action in a dedicated notebook. And remember, he who documents first and most wins!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seaweed2010 Feb 20, 2010

    Just received the exact same letter today (02/20/2010) about a very old that was written off 8 or 9 years ago from Capital One. Typical letter ... "In view of Tax season" bla bla bla.
    This company is slime !!!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bill payer Jan 25, 2010

    Northland called me today about a debt that I was paying as agreed until the creditor Heliq Meyers filed for bankruptcy in 2001. I started sending my payments to the bankruptcy court until they started sending my payments back and did not provide me with a forwarding address. I called the Bankruptcy court in 2003 and asked them what I shpould do and they told me I should get a notice soon where to send the remaining payments. Today 1/25/2010 Northland Group called me and they were very rude and I told them not toi ever call me again, at which time I was threatened with legal action which I know is Bull. I am going to report this threat to the FTC. This is a scam company. I saw on the last page of comments someone saying how great Northland was, and telling someone who had a 10 year old debt with Citi Bank to file for bankruptcy. This company is typical of companies who buy old debts for almost nothing and anything they collect is money oin their pocket, not the debtor. Heliq Meyers has been out of business for at least 8 years now, and I kinow anything paid to Northern would not benefit Heliq Meyers. I tried to contact them in 2002 and 2003, but I was not successful. I did not send them into bankruptcy and I made payments as long as I had a address to do so. Northland needs to be run out of business. I hope that person that was told to file bankruptcy over a $500 dollar 10 year old debt did not take this stupid advice.

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    yuppers Jan 21, 2010

    when banks sell debt the records go with the debt to the new owner. and this info is available...if you want to be smart and request the docs..sure make the banks or debt purchasers work for there money then..hahaha you will be paying the full balance just so you know. so request away. and wait and see...fyi
    3rd party collection agencies don't buy debt. they just collect on debt that is owed. if you do remember signing up for interest and late fee if you quit paying read your original contract that comes to you when you sign up for cards. if life gets the best of you for a year or two most people take it upon themselves to clean it up and not cry about their mistakes. if you are a cry baby and don't intend to pay...then you can further your problems. NOOO big deal for us.

    ngi collects for lots of companies: capital one, home depot, citi-bank and numerous debt purchasers (thank goodness for them or there would have been a bail out by 2000)

    just remember doing the right thing is always right. being a weasel won't make you feel good in the long run. ...unless you are a thief at heart and if that's the case you come from a bloodline that was in debtors prison back in the super olden days...and i understand its hard to break cycles.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    Koffee Lover Kris Oct 16, 2009

    I got one too. I was too frightened to even call them at first because I have bills piling up due to my current health situation. It’s not good. Lots of people are hunting me for payment that I cannot make at this time, and I have to prioritize as a disabled parent of 4, money is tight and my husband was recently terminated after 10 years and 3 different states with the same company. We cannot afford to pay fraudulent creeps like this. Hurray for those who speak up and document what these creeps are doing to us!!

    Interestingly - I got a post card about a settlement I was entitled too about 3 weeks before this letter!! It wanted my signature and to know what dates I felt I was rejected credit due to my bankruptcy (too see if I was eligible or had paperwork about all the debts in the bankruptcy) I signed it and mailed it in. Now my husband got the very same post card!! I wonder if they are connected?? ….. lure you in with an offer of fast payout through a settlement then pull your records one they know whether or not you have paperwork. Those WITH paperwork would be harder to scam like this. I said I did not have the paperwork. Then I got this letter. If my hubby gets a letter too then we will know they are connected. He had a bankruptcy in “01, mine was in “97 when my first born daughter passed away and I was too depressed to work or pay anything, all I did was cry and lose sleep for about a year.

    Has anyone else received this suspicious post card (or letter) asking about a class action lawsuit weeks or months prior to getting the letter from North shore?? I worked for a government agency and was always told that if a scam comes by mail, that he post master in your area needs to be notified and they can open a file and look into it because these creeps are using the US Postal service to scam and harass us all. I plan to go Monday to see the local postmaster about it since I have both mailings and then I am going to call this company & this David guy. I might just get my disability attorney involved, since he does bankruptcies also, I am sure he would like to see how I am being harassed along with several dozen others. .

    The debt amount he is referring to in my letter was a WRITE OFF after my auto loan company sold its loans to a larger company who decided my 30-days late final 2 auto payments wasn't worth pursuing me for so they "wrote it off" and closed. I had no choice in the matter ...they wanted the money NOW or write it off and make it appear on my credit like the wrote off the entire $17, 000 when they actually wrote off 2 car payments at the END of a loan for $567 bucks! Now my credit (for 8 years now) reflects that I had a $17, 000 write off when I worked hard to pay off that loan. This has followed and haunted my credit for nearly 10 years and NOW they want to try to collect it from me!? I think NOT. The company that originally owned my loan in no longer in business and if the collector cannot prove the debt within 30 days they cannot pursue you and they MUST remove it from your credit, good luck with that though…. its been on ONE reporting bureau the whole time as a negative entry. ###. They make me ill.

    Since I am now disabled and a stay home mom, I will dedicate some time looking into this if anyone needs helps because of the time factor let me know. Just email me I will keep you posted on my progress with these creeps. This is not right and we cannot sit back and let them do this! Feel free to contact me, and I will post if I have something new.

    Stay tough, just because we owe a debt doesn’t mean we are second-class citizens. We have rights too.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    T-racyM Sep 07, 2009

    I have received two letters from Northland Group. They say they are trying to collect a debt for "Arrow, " and I don't even know what they are talking about. I am a single working mother of two, and my dad has cancer, so I have very little time, if any, to be fooling around with these idiots! After seeing this website a month ago when I got the first letter, I took the advise of some, and have just ignored them. Now I am worried that they might fraudulently mar my credit. Can someone please tell me the quickest and easiest way to deal with these low-life leaches?

    0 Votes
  • La
    lam321to27 Aug 25, 2009

    Northland Group Inc. was extremely unprofessional and overtly rude! When I could prove that I previously resolved a debt from 2007, the customer service representative suggested that my payment was not honored by a different agency because it was late. He made that assumption - the payment was made as agreed. To make matters worse, the customer service representative openly insulted my intelligence, mocked by dialect and made exaggerations about the length of the call. Immediately an argument ensued and I asked to speak with another representative. Initially he refused my request but eventually passed the phone to another rude agent. Thankfully, I have records to support my payment history. What a nightmare!

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    syeagle Aug 11, 2009

    oh crap i got a letter today and called ...they asked me for my ss number i told them i would only give the last four digits ...and like a fool i gave them that...and he said oh we must have made a mistake then cuz your number isn't the person they were looking for???????????????????? now they have the last four digits of my ss...do you think they are going to use that in a fraudulent way???????????? after i hung up i realized i should have never gave them those digits...so i decided to look them up on the puter and found this site about that scamming company...any suggestions or thought about what i should do if anything knowing they have my last four digits of my ss number...!!

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    TUTU Jul 09, 2009

    can anyone help me and everyone esle that is in the same boat as to get out of this scam...PLEZ...

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Megan May 18, 2009

    This is the first time I am dealing with Northland, but my Parent's told me that they keep calling for me there (which I have no idea how they got my Parent's number; I haven't lived there in 4 years). Anyways, I am not sure why they would be calling. My Mom wasn't able to pull anything up online, and when I did.. this is the first site I came to. I have to give Northland a call, but I wanted to see what kind of Collection Agency it was before I dish out any money to them. I know I have some things on my Credit, but I have never owned a Credit Card, nor any kind of Student Loans. I've seen several people talk about their Citi Cards and I have had Citi Health in the past, but that is a nightmare. I am being charged over $1, 000 for something that the Dental was not to make (and we were told it wasn't going to be made since my Husband had orders to go back to the Mainland) and she ended up making it anyways and we are being charged. My Parents hired a Friend of their's to do the case and we made a check for Citi and agreed with them.. if cashed, payment is made in full. Ok, haven't heard from them in about 6 months. Now, if Northland is apart of Citi, than I am guessing it could be about the Dental Case. But this is getting annoying. They agreed to the payment if cashed, they got their money, case is closed. Well, apparently, not for them. Very annoying after while, if you ask me. I hate Citi.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosetta Mar 27, 2009

    Interesting. I too just received a letter from Northland Group Inc. from MN in lieu of something with Asset Acceptance LLC. This is crazy, I followed up with the Asset issue that showed up on my credit report before I got married. They had no record or could not tell me what company they 'acquired' the account from. The account was for $12, 000 so you mean to tell me that I supposedly owe someone $12, 000 and don't remember? Not likely. The letter also said they would clear it up for $7, 000, again not likely. So again you can't give me any information and I am supposed to write over to you on your word. No documentation or nothing, the Asset also said that they were taking me to court. Let's go then was what I told him that my attorney would love to speak face to face, that was 4 years ago. My thought is to let's take this to Suze Orman show, we can quickly make Northland Group and Asset Acceptance famous. Good luck all

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey Lofton Mar 25, 2009

    The Northland Group is a "SCAVENGER COLLECTOR" whereby they buy debt written off by creditors like Citi, etc. Then they assess fee's. What to do, check your state Statue of Limitation. Contact the creditor if and arrange a payment plan, by no mean pay NORTHLAND GROUP, they are a 3rd party collector, and no funds will be return to your creditor. Report Northland Group to your State Attorney General and Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    Gullible Mar 21, 2009

    My boyfriend is receiving the same letters. One back in January and then another one. This one says "In view of Tax time..." I keep all paperwork and we compared the notices...they have 2 different accout numbers and two different client names. I was getting ready to pay them to help my boyfriends credit...that is before we got this notice today...now I am doing the research and have read all the comments. I am so glad we didnt send them any money. My boyfriend said that when he called, which was 3 times, its the same person that answers every time, and that he is casual like its a residence, just hello. This gentleman says when the card was opened, but we have requested more information, he says they will send a packet...but mysteriously the packed never arrives. The account supposedly is Pac-Sun, a store my boyfriend likes, but has never had a card in his name...It looks like I will be doing more research...but no money will live our hands to go to this guy...Thanks everyone for complaining!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    harassed Feb 26, 2009

    Amanda is a joke and a bottom feeder just like Northland Group, since she is part of it. Not only do I not owe a debt, these people just phoned me this morning telling me, you are in serious trouble here, we know where you live and if you think we can't come there we will. I told the man I didn't know who he was, what he wanted and to leave me alone. He asked for my address and when I refused to give it, he told me what it was, he then asked for my name, social security number and told me if I gave him my bank acct info. they would make a one time direct debit and then I wouldn't 'have to worry about us showing up at your home.'
    I told him to take a hike and that I was reporting him to the police for making threats. He laughed and said, 'unless you have it on tape, you can't prove it. Pennsylvania does not allow calls to be recorded, so I'm in the clear. You are not, f****** loser deadbeat.
    Sounds like a violent man and a violent company.
    Don't answer their calls and don't engage with them in any manner.

    1 Votes
  • Jb
    jbblue Feb 13, 2009

    It appears that this guy had the same issues with The Northland Group and his website exsits due to their shady antics: http://www.igotthelastword.com

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Nov 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To the person who posted "The only people who complain about collection agencies are the people who owe money to them!!" you are an idiot.
    I pay my bills and because my name is the same as some loser who doesn't, they call me and try to get me to pay. They lie about the reason for their call if someone else answers the phone too. They told my wife that I called them on legitimate business and they are simply 'returning' the call.
    Once I clear it up with them they will stop- but this does not keep them from including my name on the list they sell to the next collection agency which starts the whole process again.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skyy Oct 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got of the phone with these jerks!!! They were trying to collect on a debt that was written off like 5 yrs ago. Then the guy "Brian" tried to get all snooty with me and I had to tell him off, and he hung up on me when I started talking abt how the hell was he gonna call me at 8pm, I just got in the house from doing a double shift at the hospital (R.N.) and here he making 9 or 10 bucks an hour telling me that I need to clear this up by tomorrow. He didn't like that so he hung up on me. ###!!!

    1 Votes
  • Up
    UpsetAggravatedReadytoFIGht Oct 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MY HUSBAND RECIEVED A LETTER IN THE MAIL FROM NORTHLAND GROUP INCORP. SAYING THAT HE HAD OPENED AN ACCOUNT WITH GUARANTY BANK IN 2006AND THAT HE OWE THEM 332.95 . IT WAS SENT TO THEIR COLLECTION AGENCY IN 2007. I DID MY RESEARCH AND CALLED THE BANK THEY HAD NO REFERENCE IN REGARDS TO THIS ACCOUNT AND MY HUSBAND INFORMATION DID NOT APPEAR NO WHERE IN THEIR DATA BASE. I STARTED TO LOOK UNDET THE BETTER BUISNESS BUREAU AND TO MY SURPRISE THEY WERE THERE BUT UNDER FALSE PRETENSES. IT IS TO MY UNDERSTANDING THAT THEY USE YOUR CREDIT REPORT TO PULL INFORMATION ON PREVIOUS ACCOUNTS THAT YOU OWE TO OR HAVE ALREADY PAID OFF YOUR DEBT. DO NOT AND I STRESS DO NOT PAY THESE SCHEMES NO ATTENTION. PLEASE DO NOT STOP HERE TAKE THIS TO LEGAL MATTERS THIS IS YOUR LIFE THAT THEY ARE MESSING WITH. THEY NEED TO BE PROSTITUTED AT ALL COST.

    1 Votes
  • Pl
    ply Oct 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    wrong name

    His name is David Morton

    his cell is [protected]

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.