National Street Machine ClubScam and harassment!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

National street machine club stated to sign up 'free trial' and monthly dues of $1 a month. After sending a check for $6 (which I assumed was for 6 months) I received a bill for $24 and 2 year contract. I never intended, nor did I ever enter into a 2 year contract with this company. After the 1st $24 notice I sent a written request to cancel membership. Then the 2nd letter came stating they would were going to contact credit agency, I replied that they cancel my membership. Then I received a 3rd letter and 4th letter stating they had secured a credit agency and to "pay now" or they would take action.

Their practice, if not completely fraudulent, is at minimum deceptive. Their threats to "pay now, or your account will be sent to a collection agency" after repeated written attempts to cancel are slanderous.

From searching the internet, there are several others who have posted complaints about national street machine club's practices.

Responses

  • Do
    Donald Olson May 10, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I AGREE THIS CLUB SUCKS

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    JGR1 Oct 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a Life Member of The National Street Machine Club since June of 2008, and though it originally didn't seem to be scam, I definitely agree that it sure turned into one. I first received a free copy of Street Thunder back in early 2006, probably since I was on a mailing list and had subscriptions to Motor Trend and Muscle Mustangs & Fast Fords. I agree Street Thunder was short and only bi-monthly, but was very well written, personable, and the advertisements were near nil. I was given the opportunity to test some products as well as purchase some car-themed books. The books I declined were returned with no problems from the club. I was pleased with my experiences with the club, so I paid the $300 for the lifetime membership (conveniently billed over four months). I received the leather jacket, the patch, the membership certificate, some assorted stickers and toys, and a 'lifetime' subscription to Street Thunder. Things ran smoothly and I had no complaints until late 2010, when I noticed the magazine was getting thinner and some of the features were shortened or all together dropped. Shortly after, with no explanation, Street Thunder disappeared and the newsstand magazine Hot Rodding took its place. After a couple of years, Hot Rodding stopped as well. During this entire time there has been nothing sent to explain what's going on, and all emails sent to the club have been ignored. When a person pays for a lifetime membership, that means lifetime, not just a few years and then cut the member loose. If I'd known this, I would have only paid the $24 annual dues until I felt the club was no longer worth it to me. The National Street Machine Club owes an explanation to all the members it has wronged, weather it be the bait-and-switch and vanish like I experienced, or the harassment and out-and-out theft they have allegedly done to others who have posted on this site. A class action lawsuit as mentioned above sounds like a fair solution to right the wrongs this organization has done to apparently hundreds of trusting members.
    JGR, 10/8/2016

    0 Votes
  • De
    Delrayman Dec 22, 2015

    Guess I am a easy mark, after my first couple of Street Thunder I was sold. I read them from front to back. It was small by comparison but short on all the adds which I liked along with great articles and photography. I knew something was up when they changed to a magazine I could buy on the news stand. I was pissed off enough to contact them and told how I felt, they didn't understand or care. Its been over a year [protected]) since I heard from them, that was a calendar, I really like them, which is what caused me to to drop in to this site. I haven't seen my calendar for 2016 nor have a received any magazines for close to year. As a LIFE MEMBER since 8-2005 I feel like I was taken advantage of. Never got anything free, nothing to test, not won any contest, nothing. I consider the few trinkets I got were paid for products like books, calendars and the Life Membership and the Jacket. I won't wear the jacket or display their logo because anyone that sees it will laugh at me for being that naive. Years ago I belonged to a few of their affiliates for fishing and another for hunting. They were the same deal and managed by the same people. I got out of those and thought they learned a lesson but apparently they did not. The only thing left is a few guys have kept the forum up which I was grandfathered into, nice guys but no spiffs.
    So, rather than just complain about it, what can we do? How about a class action law suit? Actions like going to the BBB won't do any good with these guys. I don't know about everyone else but they screwed with the one thing I get pleasure from, the hobby...Delrayman

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    JTRUMPATORI Nov 03, 2013

    iHAVE BEEN A LIFE MEMBER SINCE2009.iVE BEEN WATING 6 MONTHS FOR THEIR MAGAZINE ALSO I NEVER GOT THE PROMISED LEATHER JACKET

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    J.W.Lampkins Mar 18, 2013

    I became a life member about 4 years ago. The leather jacket is real nice. I bought about 8 or 10 of their books on hot rods and street machines, but some didn't have much appeal, so i sent them back. I received some of their junk trinkets and cheap tools at the beginning for me to evaluate. I more or less told them they were of an inferior quality. Those are of course 1 of their come-ons to get you to join. What really dissapointed me about this outfit or whatever you care to call it is the downgrade of the magazine that went along with my lifetime membership. It's crap. I subscribe to 5 other automotive magazines. This organization is 1 of 12 so called clubs run by the same company. They're not real gear heads, they're only in it for the money. $$$$$...

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Arsineau Mar 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I join the club 8-7-2006 i have not from them in over 3 years now they send me a letter to join the club that i been with for 6.5 years I do not know what is going on but i like to know . Yes the things they send me was not worth very much . I like to know who is getting the good things to try out . I would like them to send my $345.00 back I will send them there coat back to them when i get my money back I wore it 2 times it is just like when i got it new Also i like the old book better then the one we are getting now Please send my money back $345.00 James Arsineau # [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Dl
    d.lewis Feb 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been a life member for around 8 years, originally received the magazine bi-monthly like they advertised. Got the 50 cent "garage test items.Never got anything worth testing. Have the NSMC jacket and a few stickers and magnets. I moved 6 years ago, called NSMC to change address and haven't received anything else from them. Now I call them, and they "don't have any records of me ever having an account with them. Better than some scams, but still a scam. not worth what you spend.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    suckmydick Feb 21, 2013

    I am ashamed to admit that I am a life member...with that said the leather jacket is nice, but for the $300 I could have bought one. I have to agree with all of the complaints that I have read so far...also as noted of all of the other affliates that have been mentioned, I would like to add NSMC is also connected with The Cooking Club of America, which by the way is ran the same way.(I did not join) No I am not gay, just a chef. I would hope after all of these years, NSMC would try to make amends...but NO ! Thx pen-dicks !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rod howard Feb 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i am trying to log into my account but it is telling me that i have entered a wrong account number. my account # is [protected] so what do i do.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beamanager Jun 01, 2011

    Scam city - just another TimeLife books club. They send a bunch of books - you return them, but don't keep a receipt and you are turned over to collections for nonpayment. RIPOFF! Look at other internet stories- I have a 700+ credit rating and they threaten me with a $26 book I returned months ago cuz it was trash! Might be a good idea to research this group before you accept the "elite membership".

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emil Pozza Dec 24, 2010

    IM a life member received all they promised, I too am a gear head of 40 yrs or more in fact 55 yrs its a new club geive it a chance. i think if we all stick together we can help them get going, not just look for the free products, Thank you LIFE MEMBER.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    retirednak Oct 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been a life member for a several years now, I did receive the leather jacket which turned out to be pretty good quality leather. I have received testing items, most products were under $50 if you were to buy it at the store. I did receive a hyd floor jack to try out within the first year I joined, my guess it cost around $150 or so. The quality of the jack is something like you might get at Harbor Freight. I receive the mags every month. The problem with NSMC I'm having is the yearly calender. I went ahead and paid them each time because I live in Alaska and we get raped by shipping charges, I never sent them back until last year. Now, I keep getting billed for it, and I've kept ignoring the bill. Fri I got the final demand letter stating pay up or else. I'm going to try member services Monday and see if I can get this resolved. If I had googled the club before becoming a member, I wouldn't have joined.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dammit boy Oct 19, 2009

    i agree with some of the comments above, but not all.i am a lifetime member, and i am not one of those [censored]-bags @nsmc.i am just a redneck country boy of 54 years and damn proud of it, that likes my cars as well as the next car nut.yes i am an ole fart, i have a 1989 iroc z 28 camaro, i drive to work everyday, and a 1935 chevy 3 window coupe, (steel) that is with a 383 stroker, with a b&m blower, etc.so i am probably like some of you guys huh! imagine that!!! i am also disapointed with nsmc as far as product testing, i got a digital air tester that i did not like and sent the rating card back showing that, next i got a magnetic wrist band that works very well, when working with magnetic parts . i have not gotten anything else, that was about a year& half ago.i got a couple of the books, & 1 dvd . when i send things back, it seems like they always send me bill & i send a copy of my tracking conformation showing when i sent it &when they got it.(this is a must !!!) i did however get the stuff as promised i would .i got the nsmc coat which i am very pleased with, it is nice, heavy, high quality coat.i plan on writing mr.mark simpson and telling him how i feel, for what good it will do! i forgot to add, i do get my mag. bi monthly still .i wanted to test products also, but it seems they only remember me when they have a coin, calendar, or a book they are pushing to make money for themselves, which i guess that is what it is all about this day & time huh. oh damned if some of you guys don't need to get a dictionary or some help spelling ### like, [censored], &remember etc. another not 100% happy member HARDHEAD, wilmington, n.c.

    0 Votes
  • 75
    75Scout Jul 23, 2009

    hey I am onl 14. This club is also affiliated with the Handman club of america and the north american hunting club. Both of which are well esablised, well at least as far as I know by 30 year old stickers on the ranch truck. I am a NSMC life member and am proud! They have never jacked me once. I have gotten every thing except the jacket, as I am not fully paid. My dues before this were only 12 dollars a year. Basically thats for the mag, which is good. A good read, but a little short. This club is not a scam! Also the reason that everyone gets this kind of stuff, is because of mass marketing. But I am into cars, tools and hunting so for me I really havent got any junk from these people. The 24 bucks, is for 2 year. Also for the first year I didn't pay my bill, of 12 bucks, and I did not get threatened, just many over due bills. Plus if they sent you something, like a free gift, of course they are going to pester you, because theve paid out of pocket money and havent made anything. So dont be calling my club a scam!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alwraith Jun 20, 2009

    I signed up about a year and a half ago, I bought the lifetime membership for $300.00. I received everything they said i would including the leather jacket, but after a while my lifetime membership to the magazine has fizzled. It's been over a year since I last saw a magazine (street thunder). I have sent them several e-mails
    complaining with no response.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    capone426 Jun 11, 2009

    I'm glad I did not send them any money. Never heard of them before. I've been a gear head for 35 years. Immediate red flag.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Benner May 20, 2009

    I am glad I looked up National Street Machine Club befor I sent in my membership starter form..I received this offer from Handyman Club. I will also advise them of the complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    bluedoctor May 12, 2009

    I agree with most of the complaints. I am still a member, but will cancel when it expires. Garage testing program is a joke you receive a 25 cent sample of adhesive, hand cleaner, or some such garbage. I remained a member because of the magazine, but it has become so small (page wise) that it is not worth the membership. I am solicited constantly to join the life membership, but with the bull you receive I would not chance it.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brice May 09, 2009

    I would put 24.00 dollars on the bet that the only people spouting good ### about this company are the company deuche-bags themselves, before i would send them the 24.00$ for dues. If there was 30 people saying good stuff about them and only one saying bad, i might be inclined to side with the company, there is always going to be one person that is not happy with something. But if there was anything true or good about this company you see some advertising somewhere other than your mail box, wether it be hype on powerblock tv or some crappy ad in a real car magazine, not just some self hyping to promote themselves.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    shottysnprz Feb 12, 2009

    Did you ever think that the people posting good things about NSMC could actually be the people who are running this scam? Just some food for thought.

    1 Votes
  • Ru
    Russell Dec 29, 2008

    Were do I start, and don"t rember how we got here. I believe to start with A free membership offer, but not sure. But here we are. About 100.00 dollars latter and yes I fell pretty foolish. These guys sent me coupon for free lifetime membership, just by returning to them, I would get all this good stuff. Well I had been enjoying there magazine, becouse it a little more than me other mags. Then they start sending hardback books, the first one was"nt bad and was priced at $9.00. Then they sent me another one, and I made the mistake of opening it up! When I get the bill it has $27.00, when I went to return it, cost me $6.00 postage and it come back, and I refused it. My postmaster said were not sapost do that, but sent back to them. So the next book I refused right away, the same with the DVD and the next two books and after a nasty letter they stopped sending them. So back to the the lifetime membership was free with the return of the coupon. Sent it in got a box of goodies IT WAS JUNK . Then got a bill for $27.08, not wanting to I paid it. THE very next week got another bill for $27.08 or $325.00 for lifetime membership.I called HOPE that works. Here"s a number too call [protected] make sure you get a name and operator number!! GOOD LUCK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    george cardin Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a notice telling me that if i pay an amount of $24.o1 I won't have to pay any more dues towards a lifetime membership. I paid the amount specified and received more decals and patches and jacket fobs and another bill for more dues, to be paid before I receive a leather jacket. This time I did receive a phone # to call to give them a credit card # so I can get the jacket faster.

    2 Votes
  • Gd
    G. Davis Nov 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not sure what to think of these guys myself, but I have not felt good about it from the beginning. I sent in my membership dues, only to receive a notice stating my dues needed to be paid. I went ahead & sent the dues a second time, because I could not find a number to call to get the situation straightened out. I have not received any "free parts, or products of any real value" yet. But, I seem to keep getting offers to extend my membership at so-called reduced pricing, as long as I pay for several years in advance (?). Now, I am getting offers to become a "Life-time Member", that include promise of all sorts of "Free" privileges. I have been buying books that keep getting sent to me for "trial/ return if not desired" basis, but I have always paid for every book they have sent me. I feel like quite a SUCKER for the most part! Initially I did receive a key-chain, quick-heat/quick -cool to touch battery-powered soldering iron ( have not tried yet), and membership sticker. I have also received a couple of samples of
    "Armor-all wipes", and one or two other similar low-buck items
    with books I have been sent. I do believe, at this point, that this
    "Club" seems to be very mis-leading to me at this present time.
    I do not have any intention to extend my membership any longer than necessary, and plan to return future books I receive.. Reading many of the other testimonies sure is not comforting! I have received a number of their magazines that is supposed to be part of their membership. The magazine seems to be pretty decent, but I would not consider it comparable to "Hot Rod", "Super Chevy", "Musclecar Review", "Car Craft", "Popular Hot Rodding", etc. It does not seem to be filled with as many advertisements, testing of products, and so on, that true car-nuts seem to be interested to know & read. But, this is all my own experience at this point...
    not sure what the future holds!
    G. Davis

    0 Votes
  • 63
    63David Nov 15, 2008

    I am on letter 3 I think. Looking for 24.00 for the one mag. I received. Playboy dosn't cost that much. Just don't want to say to much right now but when the time comes I will open up.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Oct 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same here... I don't even know how I started receiving this mag. I'm not into cars at all. Dude, this is a scam. They just sent me a letter stating that my account is DELINQUENT... Come one, I don't even have and account with those guys. Shame on them, big time. (Such a cheap business model, if any)

    2 Votes
  • Wr
    wrench Sep 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i started getting national street machine mags a couple of years ago and after one year i didnt order anymore. and the company kept on trying to get me to sign up for there lifetime membership and i said no. and now i just got a bill in the mail from he collection agency saying i ouw them $297 now. so i have to agree with all the others about this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    JP Aug 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are a big scam! They sent us some junk in the mail trying to get us to join, we ripped it up and threw it away and then they followed up sending a bill and a thanks for joining us WHEN WE NEVER JOINED!!! BIG SCAM Be careful people!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    max Jul 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the same situation. I just ordered a subscription to a magazine and they keep asking for more money. I wrote cancel on my returns also, I think its another scam also.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miriam in Utah Jul 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a life member of the NSMC, I have garage-tested quite a few items since joining the club. I have never had a problem with them. I have NEVER rec'd garbage from them.

    3 Votes
  • St
    steve Jun 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    National street machine club is full of liars their agreement to fulfill your free gifts for signing up for their crappy club is # they dont and they dont let you garage test #. so to whom it may concern save your money and tell them # to kiss #. & if you take their letters it would read (now suck my #.)

    1 Votes
  • Et
    ETurtle Mar 06, 2008

    I just got an offer for the NSMC in the mail. I'm glad I came to check them out before I bothered to apply for "free" gabarge they were offereing. Thanks for the warning!

    BTW I found this info just by googling their name, so thanks to google as well.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Marlon Medina Feb 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did a Google on "National Street Machine Club", and after reading the posting on your site, I decided to have NO INITIAL contact with them, whatsoever.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    JEFF WRIGHT Feb 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Contacted the minnesota better business bureau in regards to national street machine club practices. also sent 16 separate e-mails asking to cancel membership - with no response from the company.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.