[Resolved] Mycleanpc.comcustomer service

G Review updated:

I purchased an antivirus software from the site for $39.98 because I was having issues with my computer that their software claimed to fix. During the sale process, I read that I would receive an e-mail with pertainant loading information and a receipt. I bought a copy. I did not receive an e-mail and had problems downloading the software. I ended up removing the software from my computer. I tried the process again, hoping to get an e-mail. I paid ANOTHER $39.98 for a second copy. The second copy loaded just fine. I never received an e-mail receipt and figured out how to download it on my own. I ran the software and encountered more problems than I had previously. I ended up removing the software from my computer and re-setting my computer to 2 days earlier. Problem fixed - no thanks to mycleanpc.com. I read through the return policy and I cannot ask for a refund because I don't have the information that was supposed to be in the e-mails I never received from them. I'm out almost $80 for useless software that has been removed from my pc. Nice scam mycleanpc.com!

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Updated by CyberDefender · May 25, 2010

    On behalf of CyberDefender Corporation, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered with our products and services. We are dedicated to giving our customers an optimum experience, and would be happy to work with you to solve any difficulties with your refund. Please feel free to contact our corporate headquarters at 866-793-0454 or email us at supportATcyberdefender.com.

  • Updated by CyberDefender · Aug 18, 2010

    Hello, I am a CyberDefender customer service representative, and we would be happy to address any and all of our customers' concerns.

    @Chris Smith5, what you have discovered is that rebooting that particular new computer produces 300 registry errors, which is a normal result of a registry scan. Any time you so much as move the mouse, you are creating new registry errors. They simply result from normal use of the computer. The main difference between a free registry cleaner and CyberDefender's paid version is that the free cleaners very often will simply remove all the errors they find automatically, whereas CyberDefender's Registry Cleaner offers you the choice as to which errors you want to remove. (In short, those advanced controls are not a bug, they are a feature!)

    Also, like many antivirus programs other than CyberDefender's Early Detection Center, AVG is notably antagonistic to other antivirus programs, and will always seek to convince the user to remove them as malware. Most other antivirus programs besides ours will have an antagonistic reaction to ANY other antivirus program on the same computer, be it a rogue antivirus, or a legitimate competitor antivirus program. The AVG program's antagonistic reaction to other antiviruses does not necessarily however mean that ALL those other antivirus programs are automatically put out by rogue scam companies; all it means is that AVG REALLY doesn't want you to be using any of their competitors' products.

    @John Lisante, it sounds as though you have recently found out that rogue antivirus programs exist, but not yet discerned how to distinguish between a rogue and a legitimate antivirus program like Norton, Symantec, Trend Micro, AVG, Avast, or CyberDefender's Early Detection Center. We are quite sure that our NASDAQ-traded, California-incorporated company does not produce rogue antiviruses. The FTC would not allow a rogue antivirus company to advertise on national television, for example.

    @Amiga5, sir, you cannot have downloaded any of CyberDefender's software products to your Linux computer, as none of our products will run on any operating system other than Windows 7, XP, or Vista. None of our products were designed to be supported by the Linux operating system, so we cannot guarantee any results you get as a result of attempting to use our products on a Linux platform. Our products are not guaranteed to work properly on any OS besides Windows 7, XP, or Vista.

    For future reference, it would be far easier for you to receive customer service from our company by directly contacting our company, rather than by posting a complaint on a website unaffiliated with our company. We would be glad to assist you in sorting out any difficulty with your accounts, but we cannot locate your accounts based on your complaintsboard.com online names.

    At any time, any dissatisfied customer can contact our corporate headquarters at 877-229-5957, or email us at supportATcyberdefender.com, and please be sure to give us your full name, date of purchase, and the email address you used when you made your purchase. We will be happy to assist you.

    Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance.


    Thank you,
    CyberDefender Customer Support

Responses

  • Cy
    CYDE_SUPPORT Feb 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On behalf of CyberDefender Corporation, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered with MyCleanPC.com. We are continually making improvements and are dedicated to giving our customers an optimum experience.

    CyberDefender operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and we have technical support staff located all over the world. A large number of our techs are based in the US. Please feel free to contact our headquarters at 866-793-0454 or email us at supportATcyberdefender.com. We look forward to assisting you.

    -1 Votes
  • Cy
    CYDE_SUPPORT Feb 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CyberDefender Corporation is committed to providing first-rate Internet Security software and services, as well as quality customer satisfaction. We are interested in reconciling this matter and have initiated direct contact with Mr. Hatting . Our customers are always welcome to contact our headquarters 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 866-793-0454 or email us at supportATcyberdefender.com. We are looking forward to providing a solution.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    TyEE Mar 21, 2010

    they start off scamming online, then they make so much money with scams they afford to get on tv, and once you get on tv, noone would ever suspect a scam!!! yea right... they should all be shot along with that bob guy from extense... they started just online scamming and got huge and made millions on a product that does as much for your sex drive as eating dirt off the ground ... why wont they stop these scams ... someone do something ... and we wonder why the enconemy is so screwed up

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BlueMondays May 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, you just sound like a crank with a mad-on against ANY business that advertises in the media, as your MANY, often-repeated rants on the subject would prove!

    Let's see, what have you posted so far...
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/scams-c231266.html
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/the-truth--must-read-c257604.html
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/scams-perportrated-by-news-media-c263583.html
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/read-this-important-c263630.html

    You post this same silly rant over and over and over and over and OVER again.

    Plus I find it hard to believe that some antivirus company has actually WRONGED YOU!!! so bad that you'd actually want to assault its employees. From another one of your comments:
    "I would like to hear of some one going to their offices and sending them to the hospital in VERY serious condition...Now that would be worth $40.00, wouldn't it?"

    So far you hate the Cash4Gold people, the Acaiberry people... You really need to quit quaffin' that ol' hate-o-rade, Charlie. Either that or quit using the name of my favorite Peanuts character. :-P

    -1 Votes
  • Bl
    BlueMondays Jun 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sir, judging from the above incoherent screed, you appear to be one of them certifiably insane Internet wingnuts.

    I cannot comprehend why you choose to live in a capitalist country with your attitude.

    For your own good, I urge you to read the below webpage:
    http://psychcentral.com/disorders/sx37t.htm

    Over and out.

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Smith5 Jun 10, 2010

    Funny, even my computer said ...to down load their crap... "may harm your computer". The last two scams like this one, [same" cyberdefender corp"] I put on a fresh reload computer to test its claims with no problems or web usage on the computer, and it still showed some 300 "errors" to which the known company "NORTON" Windoctor said the computer was fine, and my Legit AV soft ware keeps showing "no problems". I have repaired dozens of computers this year that made this mistake, and then using a LEGIT AV company fixed the actual problems [mostly Cybers malware] and yes it costs around the same price, but over all it costs a far less than Cyberdefender because it actually fixes the real problems, including their installation.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Lisante Jun 27, 2010

    I have always believed that these kind of online computer cleanup programs were a scam. As it is pointed out here they simply infect your computer during the scanning process, or make you believe that it is, to scare you into buying the product.

    Go buy Norton Security or another reputable brand and download from the disc and clean your system off. You will have to renew every year but it is worth it.

    1 Votes
  • Am
    Amiga5 Aug 18, 2010

    I put this on a Linux system through WINE.

    Tells me I have 104 infections...


    Ya, Right...


    Stay away from this one. It infects your machine


    I mean like come on. A Linux system with 104 severe infections

    2 Votes
  • An
    Anon a miss Sep 08, 2010

    Quote Charlie Brown:
    "No anti virus company has harmed my computer because I NEVER, EVER respond to ANY, I said NOT ANY of these SCAM ads and commercials on TV, Radio, or the Internet. I KNOW the ALL the so-called "FREE TRIALS" are not free but are huge scams to get your credit information"
    so if you don't use these programs how do you know so very well that they are scams. You my friend are Insane and need help and/or a life. I personally suggest looking for both.
    next time try a program before you bash and dont believe everything you read on the internet.

    0 Votes
  • Pj
    P.J. critic Sep 24, 2010

    I don't know what to think so to be on the safe side I will order nothing. I too here alot of negetive things about these companys and if even a reasonable doubt arrises, it should be enough to keep people from making a big miststake. Take my advice and go to Staples or somewhere like that and buy the software for your computer protection.

    1 Votes
  • Pj
    P.J. critic Sep 24, 2010

    YOU USED TO BE ABLE TO ACTUALLY GET LEGIT THINGS ON THE NET BUT SO MANY SCAMS HAVE INFECTED ALL OUR ABLITIES TO DO BUSNIESS IN CYBER SPACE THAT IT JUST ISIN'T WORTH IT ANYMORE...DAM SHAME

    0 Votes
  • Av
    Avenging Angle Sep 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I moved to Quebec with my new wife. I am an American Citizen 45 years old. Ever since my first computer, HP 166mghz, there have been people ready to take my money. I only buy system check software from the store. You know what you get and who is selling it. Get off your butts, go to a store, buy it for $10 more than online. Do not even buy a resubscribe at the end of the coverage cycle. Yes, you will spend more money... but the hassle and the time to fix it is worth every penny. I agree, do not buy on line because the scammers are getting better at coping company logos and using the latest photo software. Oh, the Quebec connection... our neighbour used a scanning software and was double charged for the sofeware. Two weeks to fix and 9 phone calls. The home company was in Croatia. Does that mean they are bad...? you decide. Take it to shop and pay $ 75 an hour, or... a Croatian company Do research and not just with Goggle... but do the work save the headache.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    McAfreak Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As an experienced individual in software design/development, software testing, and computer problem solving (AKA help desk, tech support), I'd like to submit a comment relating to the accuracy of this "CyberDefender customer service representative." Here they are, numbered:
    1. "Any time you so much as move the mouse, you are creating new registry errors."
    YOUR MOUSE MOVIHG HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CHANGES TO THE REGISTRY UNLESS YOU ARE IN REGEDIT AND ARE ACTIVELY DELETING THINGS! Anyone who did their research would know this
    2. "You cannot have downloaded any of CyberDefender's software products to your Linux computer, as none of our products will run on any operating system other than Windows 7, XP, or Vista."
    It's called Wine, buddy. And if there is no registry for a fully functional registry scanner to scan, it will crash rather than come up with errors. Once again, I am skilled in software development and testing, and I know how things work in computers. If the scanner can't find a registry to scan (meaning it's not a Microsoft Windows OS), it will, at best, report 0 errors. In most cases, it will crash.
    3. "Our products are not guaranteed to work properly on any OS besides Windows 7, XP, or Vista."
    Your products aren't guaranteed to work PERIOD. Your Terms of Service say, and I quote (but not in all caps like the terms, except for parts I would like to emphasize): "CyberDefender and the Protected Parties MAKE NO WARRANTY THAT THE WEBSITES OR ANY SOFTWARE DISTRIBUTED THEREFROM ... WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED, TIMELY, SECURE, OR ERROR-FREE, THAT THE RESULTS OBTAINED FROM THE USE OF THE WEBSITES WILL BE ACCURATE OR RELIABLE, [and on and on]."
    Warranty and guarantee are almost interchangeable from a legal point of view (I've studied business law).
    4. "I am a CyberDefender customer service representative."
    No you are not. If you are, you lack critical skills or knowledge (or choose to hide them because you want some of the scam money), or you are regurgitating what the sales rep reading over your shoulder is telling you.
    5. "The FTC would not allow a rogue antivirus company to advertise on national television, for example."
    You would be AMAZED at the mistakes people make. The fact that the websites you advertise all have different names is also convenient for you because it makes them seem like competing companies. In fact, I bet you have separate "entities" (that don't really exist, but are there to fill in gaps for the scam) with these names so you can feed the FTC this crap. Also, I'm pretty sure there are no policies about Rogue Antivirus Companies advertising. Plenty for scammers, which is why you have had to use so many different web sites and "entities" over the last few years; but not for Rogue AV companies.

    Also, your website has false advertising on it. CNet most definitely did not rate any of these websites or their software with 4 stars. It was most likely people you hired to give it ratings (as the ratings are done by the consumers) who shot it up. A company with enough money at its disposal could certainly accommodate this, and even make it come from different external IP addresses (didn't think I knew about those, did you?).

    Also, it seems to me that every one of CyberDefender's posts on this complaint have been marketing attempts--nothing but sales pitches. This is the only one that actually addresses the problems, albeit with false information crafted to look real. You could have a class action lawsuit filed against you right now, and you would lose so badly that you wouldn't know what a computer was anymore (thank heavens).

    2 Votes
  • Mc
    McAfreak Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The above is the kind of rant you can expect from me about software companies that try to cheat people out of their money and sanity. I also researched it well, so it can't really be qualified as a rant (except for the last paragraph).

    2 Votes
  • Mc
    McAfreak Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh, and by the way, allowing companies to advertise on national broadcast media isn't handled by the FTC. It's handled by the FCC. I forgot to mention that earlier. You don't even try to act experienced! If you do, you fail miserably. Your company has done so poorly at the whole experience-in-the-field thing that people all over know you're fakes. I'm even talking about people less computer savvy than I am, those who need tech support once in a while, etc.

    Also, there is no real information about the product. Everything is just a marketing ploy or sales pitch that anyone with any background in Marketing would see right through. You posted falsified reviews on CNET with multiple legitimate-enough looking accounts, and then you went on to vote those ones with the 5 star rating and your marketing pitch up to the top of the list, and then making sure to check back and vote down anyone who has a complaint or a lower-than-three-star rating.

    If it weren't for the fact that you [CyberDefender] were only distributing crap filled with lie-ruses (fake viruses or virus alerts) for your gain at others' expense, CyberDefender would actually be a half-decent company. I'm going to do a full, in-depth search on the company and owners, executives, and founders. I don't doubt that I will find some good material.

    2 Votes
  • CYCSR Nancy Oct 28, 2010

    Dear McAfreak,

    My name is Nancy, and I work for CyberDefender. I'm writing today to address some of the issues you brought up. First and foremost, the allegations that CyberDefender utilizes "lie-ruses" or fake viruses/virus alerts for the purpose of income. This is absolutely false, for our Anti-Virus Services are provided wholly free of charge to anyone. That means any person can visit CyberDefender.com, download our Early Detection Center 3.0 Internet-Security Suite for free, and then scan, detect, and remove any discovered viruses. Again, this is a FREE Service provided by CyberDefender, with FULL virus removing capabilities, so allegations of scams are patently false. The only monetary gain/loss in this process is what we are paying for website server bandwidth, nothing related to the Products we provide.

    Also false are claims that we are a Rogue Anti-Virus company. Our advertisements reach over 10 million people per month; we have no need to illegitimately and illegally "hook" people into our Services via malicious software. Our consumers hear or see an advertisement, realize they have a need, and contact us/download our software under their own free will, and subsequently that can lead to a purchase. Also, we have no reason to spend thousands of dollars hiring employees to boost our online ratings on random review sites. Plenty of our 8 million active users are satisfied enough with our Products to post positive reviews and rate us highly, so it shouldn't be all that outlandish that they do so. 22 4 or 5-star reviews on Cnet is a minuscule percentage of 8 million, yet more than reasonable a figure to see relative to our user-base. The reviews provide further information on the products than available in the reviews, so, as is presumed by design, others rate them as "useful."

    Our Products do feature money-back guarantees. We offer a 30-day money-back guarantee for our software Products, as well as a Performance Guarantee for our LiveTech Support Service. Any customer who meets the requirements of these guarantees will be issued a refund if they so desire. Both of these guarantees are featured on our website, notably also on the Product Purchase Checkout page.

    There is a wide-variety of Product information available on our website, however if you feel a given page or Product is lacking in details, we welcome all feedback, and take feedback submissions into consideration when amending both our website and company policy. It seems like you have several suggestions to help make CyberDefender a better, more efficient company, and we would be more than happy to discuss such matters with you.

    Nancy L. - Agent 1775
    The CyberDefender Team

    -1 Votes
  • Mc
    McAfreak Nov 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Nancy,

    Reviews can be falsified, as anyone should know. Also, your company does offer free diagnostics, but the product will cost money to use after that. I have calmed down since my last comment, but I still have issues with the last representative's comments, as they were extremely inaccurate. If I were you, I would find out who the poster was and have him removed from the company, if your intentions are really good.

    Jerich McAfee

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Shuttleworth Nov 18, 2010

    Yeah,

    Nancy, MAYBE YOU SHOULD LINK TO THE REVIEWS!!! (That way people would actually believe them).

    And also, I have installed your software inside a virtual machine running windows 7. I have not done anything with it, and no internet either. AND IT IS A RETAIL COPY!

    When I installed your software while the computer was offline, it did not even download updates. NOW HOW DO YOU EXPECT TO SCAN A COMPUTER FOR VIRUSES IF IT DOES NOT HAVE INTERNET, LET ALONE GET DEFINITION UPDATES!!!

    And I seriously don't think that Microsoft would package 78 viruses with a retail copy of Windows 7.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LINKINPARK Nov 21, 2010

    Yea that why i use kaspersky internet security 2011 and it works just slows a lil speed on the computer but it catches everything and finds everything yea i knew THIS MYCLEANC IS A SCAM ITS OWNED BY CYBER DEFENDER CORPORATION AND USES THE SAME IP ADDRESS 208.118.60.20 WHITCH IS ALSO OWNED BY DOUBLEMYSPEED.COM SO ITS A REALLY BIG SCAM THAT SHOULD BE REPORTED TO (FTC) FEDURAL TRADE COMMISSION

    1 Votes
  • CYCSR Nancy Nov 24, 2010

    Hi Mark,

    Thank you for your recent feedback. Our positive reviews are on several websites, many of them consumer-based. Any individual may visit these sites (such as the BBB-backed TrustLink.org, Cnet.com, etc.) and simply search "cyberdefender" to read feedback on our company and brand.

    As to your virtual machine experiments, it certainly sounds like you are referring to our Registry Cleaner & Optimizer. It's well-known that even computers which come direct from the assembly line will contain registry errors. You must understand that something so apparently minor as a missing or empty registry key will be identified as a registry "error, " and this is absolutely not limited to CyberDefender software. The reason you were able to use the program with no internet connection in your virtual Windows 7 (and therefore sans "updates"), is because there are not typically any "definition updates" when dealing with a registry cleaner. Discovering 78 errors per the conditions you tested in is not unheard of, and definitely not infeasible.

    We did formerly provide current virus definitions with our Internet-Security Suite, Early Detection Center, however this feature was removed in an effort to accelerate consumer download times. In that regard, it's absolutely possible to run a virus scan with no internet connection; however we now design our product to update following its download and install. To close, it should also be reminded that Early Detection Center's anti-virus capabilities are provided free of charge. This means the software will scan, identify, and purge PCs of virus infections at no cost to the user, and makes one question accusations of illegitimacy when it comes to removing viruses.

    I hope this helps clear up some of your issues!

    Nancy L. - Agent 1775
    The CyberDefender Team

    -2 Votes
  • CYCSR Nancy Nov 24, 2010

    Hello LINKPARK,

    Thank you for writing. It's always a pleasure to discourse with fellow tech-minded individuals. I'd just like to clear up some facts for you, and any reading.

    CyberDefender operates in itself as a brand under CyberDefender Corporation (http://www.cyberdefendercorp.com). Similarly, we feature several other brands, including MyCleanPC.com, DoubleMySpeed.com, and MaxMySpeed.com. All of these sites explicitly state that they are either providing CyberDefender Products and Services. Some, such as MyCleanPC.com and DoubleMySpeed.com prominently feature the CyberDefender logo at the very top their home page, and state quite explicitly that those sites are "powered by CyberDefender."

    This information is not hidden, nor is it a secret, as you seem to imply in what appears to be an attempted expose. Moreover, each of our major brands as aforementioned are related to and discussed in our Terms of Service and End-User License Agreement. I encourage you and any interested to visit http://www.cyberdefender.com/terms.html - it will be noted that each of these sites are referred to in the very first paragraph of our Terms.

    If you still have questions about CyberDefender and our brands, or any other inquiries, you may call us toll-free at (866) 793-0454 Monday-Friday 6 AM - 10 PM PST, or Saturday-Sunday 6 AM - 6 PM PST. We can be reached by email at [email protected]

    Please take care,
    Nancy L. - Agent 1775
    The CyberDefender Team

    -2 Votes
  • Sc
    scamkiller45 Dec 25, 2010

    Nancy quit feeding us [censor] we know u r lieing

    -2 Votes
  • Pa
    Parry Jan 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would be wary of these sites with dummy links to CNET and USAToday reviews. Be careful!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rioman Feb 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Beware, this is a fraud that highjacks your computer. Very malicious. Based outside USA.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MrSubtle Feb 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The scan is free but the repair does indeed cost money. It's not a scam and it certainly doesn't "hijack your computer". The company is also not based outside the USA. It's based in downtown Los Angeles. It's a public company (www.cyberdefender.com). It's clearly not malicious software or a scam. Where do people get this stuff?

    -1 Votes
  • An
    andyninenine Feb 24, 2011

    I just came on here after doing a google search for stock photos for my dads band. Opening a photo on google images leads me 'mycleanpc' and brings up a fake error message saying i have viruses. This attempted advertising via hijacking my computer is at best, BAD BUSINESS. and in reality, the most obvious scam. that 8 million people (righttt..) use this 'product' speaks only to the inexperience and/or gullibility of many people.

    1 Votes
  • An
    andyninenine Feb 24, 2011

    my-clean-pc? nope: control-alt-delete!
    but im sure you're working hard to develop a way around that

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spc3 Mar 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I find it interesting those who have downloaded the so-called "fix" software from this site are unable to remove it. In addition, it is of further concern that there are massive numbers of complaints on other websites as well, regarding Cyberdefender (and the other various aliases it is marketed under, such as, MyCleanpc, Finallyfast.com, DoubleMyspeed, etc). I would suggest anyone experiencing problems with removing this software and/or problems with your PC possibly being caused by it...to download the free version of Malwarebytes. If indeed, the aforementioned software is malware or compromising your system in some manner, Malwarebytes has been shown to be very effective in detecting and removing such. It is also noteworthy that more often than not, these entities advertising their "services" on TV will frequently "quit advertising under one name and begin advertising their "services" under a different name...once massive complaints begin surfacing against them.

    1 Votes
  • Fd
    FDL_HOU Mar 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cyberdefender is a scam, MrSubtle..Deal with it even though you MUST work for them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack in Silver Spring Mar 13, 2011

    I purchased Mycleanpc and Cyber Defender because I had experienced some slow down in my computer. After downloading the programs, I noticed a very, very marked slowdown in computer response time. (When I typed into Word Perfect, there would be a long delay between the time I typed letters on the keyboard and the time they appeared on the screen.) I called the on-line number of Mycleanpc to find out what was happening. After they logged on to my computer, they did some cursory examinations and told me that I had a virus somewhere on my hard-drive. They also told me that if I ponied up another $189.00 they would have someone do a complete scan of my hard drive for viruses, and then guarantee it for a year. I thought, isn't what the software I just bought is supposed to do? After all, it has a virus detector and isn't that supposed to get rid of viruses? It also has a spyware detector, and it should have gotten rid of the spyware as well. So, I decided to wait and see what would happen of the next couple of day. Matters got worse and worse until I could not download PDF files or JPG files. (Apparently, MyCleanPC or Cyber Defender thought they were viruses.) I gave up, and proceeded to uninstall both programs (although there is still some detritus left over that I can't seem to get rid of). Voila, after I installed Mycleanpc and Cyber Defender, I can download PDF and JPG files with no problem, and my computer is as responsive as it was before I installed them. Of course I am out $89.00, but at least I didn't spend another $189 for a pointless search. I definitely do not recommend the product. Indeed, my recommendation is to stay as far away from it as possible.

    1 Votes
  • Te
    TexstarJim Mar 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone stupid enough to give away their credit card information to some website is deserving of seeing their next credit statement charged to the max. It happens every single minute of every day, illegitimate charges on credit cards by scam artists.

    Just like back in the days of the traveling medicine salesman with his wagon full of useless mineral water mixed with alcohol, selling the elixer as some magic cure all, con artists today are peddling the same useless elixer in the form of a computer program that fixes all problems.

    This difference now and back 150 years ago is that none of us can get our hands on these con-artists so we can tar and feather them. They hide behind servers scattered all over the globe and are virtually non-touchable.

    Keep your money and do as Charlie Brown says, stay away from them.

    -1 Votes
  • On
    OnlyMy2Cents Apr 24, 2011

    Comcast and Qwest offer Norton Internet Security Suite FREE of charge to all of their internet customers. Any version of Norton from 2009 to present is a fast, quick, easy solution to get rid of malware, spyware, worms, trojans, bloodhounds, and other viruses that you could get on your computer. Stay away from Cyberdefender, AVG, McAfee, Nod32 and the rest of them because they DON"T WORK AS WELL AS Norton does in 2011. The only other thing that comes close is a program called Avast! which can be downloaded from http://avast.com. It will protect your computer and they have a free Antivirus only version. In today's internet world, an Antivirus program is not enough, if you surf the web, you need a complete Internet Security System. Avast! works as well as Norton, but Avast will slow your system down and Norton will not slow it down anymore nor noes Norton hook into everything on your computer anymore. Clean install, takes about 4 minutes to install, and if you have Comcast or Qwest, it is free and you don't pay for subscription renewals as long as you have Comcast or Qwest as your internet provider.

    1 Votes
  • On
    OnlyMy2Cents Apr 24, 2011

    Before you purchase or download a free solution off the internet, try a couple of things to clean up and speed up your pc on your own. If you are running XP, Vista or Windows 7, Run a Disk Cleanup and get rid of everything except Setup Files and archive files. Clear cookes and cache files. If you are running Internet Explorer, try going into its Tools/Internet Options area and go to the Advanced Tab and on the very last button at the lower right, it will say RESET. Press that button and then wait a few seconds for the dialog box to appear, select everything and then press okay. If you are asked to CLOSE out all windows, do so, then continue. The next time Internet Explorer opens up it will ask you to set your home page, search page, etc. Choose that. Everything should work faster now.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Darth Poptart May 18, 2011

    As much as there has been comments from over a year ago, I just had such an urge to comment on this as well. Keep in mind, this is coming from a Tech student working with Computer Systems that is taught under a teacher who has done troubleshooting and virus removal for over 10 YEARS and has seen it all.

    First of all, and the most IMPORTANT thing to do, is NEVER do is go on ahead and download/purchase any program that is suppose to protect your computer without looking over numerous reviews in case that program is a scam. This just might save you money and even information.

    Second, there is nothing that pinpoints a slow computer to just viruses, especially those in the registry. There could be numerous other reasons why it is going slow, and it may be even a reason that is easy to fix without spending money. In the case where you want a registry cleaner, try CCleaner. It helps you free up space on your computer taken up by temporary files from your internet browser, and it helps clean the registry of errors and unused registry items in there. You don't even have to pay for the product to remove the issues from the computer because it is free and even more so, it allows you to back up your registry so you can reverse any changes made with the program just as CyberDefender's programs can "apparently" do.

    For virus protection/prevention, this is where you must do your research. There is always the risk of personal information being exposed if you purchase that one wrong program, such as Vista Internet Security 2011, which IS a rouge trojan acting like an anti-virus. Programs such as AVG and Comodo let you download the program for free with basic, but highly customizable settings, for virus protection and a reliable firewall. You would have superior protection if you purchased the program, but never has AVG or Comodo urged you to buy the program as much as MyCleanPC has

    So there is many other ways to free up space on your computer, increase the performance on your computer, and not risk your information FOR FREE. Keep in mind, the best way to get the best protection is to buy an anti-virus program, but make sure you TRY IT OUT AND DO YOUR RESEARCH.

    And to Nancy, the page, specifically the MyCleanPC page, is very misleading and unreliable. I had to do a deep search on CNET just to find your review page, since the MyCleanPC failed to redirect me to the page (you click on the CNET image, and you are instead redirected back to the front page of MyCleanPC). Second, why are there no updates for this program. Are you telling me that this one program is that perfect that it will never need updates? Wrong. Very wrong. Even CCleaner needs constant updates to perform at it's best and every anti-virus that actually works needs updates constantly too. And if I am wrong, where is there anything on any page on your website that informs you of new updates for the program? Where are the details about your program besides how to buy it? You say that you use the information you collect in order to improve your service to your customers, but how come there has been no improvement since you released it over 2 years ago?

    How about an even bigger question, Nancy. What makes your company's programs better than CCleaner? How about Comodo, Malwarebytes, or AVG? Why is it that the first thing that people think of when they hear your company name is "Virus" or "Rouge Anti-Virus"? Your site and how it is set up can't even compare to Piriform's (CCleaner's company) home page, which is absolutely user-friendly and better to work with.

    So to those who have issues with CyberDefender and their products, there are better options out there. Don't fall for their spam when you can consider other programs to use that have no risk involved. DO YOUR RESEARCH. IT WILL NEVER HURT YOU. I don't know how many times I have to say this, but seriously, anything you look up in Google or Bing nowadays will give you pages of other people who are finding that this program IS NOT AS GOOD AS OTHER BETTER PROGRAMS OUT THERE.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    brucearner May 30, 2011

    They wiped out my computer, had to start from scratch, took me several months to get back on track. When I called them, they said sorry. Do not use there service, if your haveing problems, go to some one who will back up your hard drive, reinstall your system, and reinstall you data. You will spend a few hundred, but its better than loosing everything in 2 minutes. Or back it up yourself, and reinstall your program.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlzrightGranny Jun 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm a senior citizen who cares for her husband with Alzheimer's disease. I paid the $39.00 to MyCleanpc.com and was referred to someone else because my 4 month old lap top was corrupted.. They charged me $109.99 to clean my system. After the thorough clean I could't access the MyCleanpc web site at all. So I called the specialist who cleaned my computer in the first place to fix it. I ended up calling My Clean PC back to cancel their service and get my money back. Problem is someone is going to call me in July for me to give them $200.00 for a full year service and said they would refund my $109. back.. Can anyone advise me on what is happening? I'm really not sure I'm doing the right thing. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • To
    TopazDragon123 Jun 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Charlie brown you seen to believe everything you read on the internet there have been several reported cases of company employes and normal people (including yourself) "complaining" about a software they have never used in order to produce a negative attitude against a popular company

    additionally if you've ever thought about how to make an argument you would know that you NEVER tell people you base your argument on stories you hear from people you have never met and could be lying to you in fact you probably got your facts from Wikipedia

    AND FINALLY GET A DAMN LIFE IF YOU HAVE THE TIME TO WRITE ALL THAT ON A WEBPAGE YOU NEED TO GO GET A JOB AND MOVE ON AND JUST TRY TO MAKE A HONEST PROGRAM AND THEN YOU WOULD REALLY BE HELPING PEOPLE INSTEAD YOUR MAKING YOURSELF LOOK LIKE A RAGING ###

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mergiolta Aug 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    FAKE! They spam the internet and their solution is really malware. Never trust there software.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wantyou26101 May 06, 2014

    This program is dangerous, used it and before i did my computer was a bit slow but that was it, now and ever since they cleaned it up for a extra 100.00, and 19.95 a month my computer crashes all the time. I don't know what they put in or took out but I am sure that something was done so that I would have to continue with heir service, which I did not. I figure I am going to have to get a new computer in the long run so as far as I am concerned it is a major rip off and not to be trusted.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    McAfreak May 23, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    wantyou2601, you won't necessarily need to get a new computer. The crashes are likely all software-related and can be solved with a few simple tools. What MyCleanPC does is that it scans for every single empty registry key, and it will delete those keys when it runs its cleanup. This can be very harmful to a computer. It can cause problems with a lot of software you have installed, as well as with your OS. The first thing you should try is to run System Restore (it comes with Windows), select a restore point with a date before the day you installed MyCleanPC, and restore to that point. It doesn't affect your documents. System Restore will restore your programs, operating system, and registry to the exact state they were on that backup. This does mean you'll have to re-install any updates and software you've installed since then, but it's better than having to buy a new computer. At the very worst, you may need to back up any personal documents and things you want to keep, then do a clean install of your operating system.

    Quite honestly, I was surprised that MyCleanPC still existed when I saw your post. I would have figured that it would have died by now.

    I think an explanation of how MyCleanPC works is in order. You download their "free" scanner. When you run it, it returns an alarming number of "problems, " but the truth is that the way it counts those problems is very dishonest. Every single browser cookie and web history entry counts as a single problem. Each temporary file--no matter how small--counts as a single problem. Each empty registry key counts as a single problem (and again, some of those empty keys are necessary for your computer to run properly). Each fragmented file counts as a single problem. In fact, when MyCleanPC reports the fragmentation of your hard drive, it measures based on the number of fragmented files (no matter how small or how few fragments), which can lead to results like "28.32% fragmentation" when the Windows Disk Defragmenter might report a 2-3% fragmentation.

    If you really want a clean PC, I would recommend CCleaner from Piriform (google it, and download it from the official site). It's free (they do offer a paid version, but it doesn't really give you anything that the free version doesn't have), and it's probably the best-tested cleaner out there. It can clear your browsing history, browser cache, cookies, temporary files from all sorts of programs, and several other things, and you can even tell it what you want it to clean. CCleaner's registry cleaner is separate from its file cleaner, and it does not scan for every empty registry key. There are only a few types of problems it will look for, and it gives you the option to back up those registry entries before cleaning them, just in case cleaning them causes problems. I would also recommend installing Defraggler, another Piriform product. It gives very accurate fragmentation results, and it's a very efficient defragmenting tool. It also has the ability to report the status of your Hard Drive (its temperature, SMART status, and a bunch of technical information that an expert would know how to interpret).

    In the end, though, your computer's health is your decision. Be sure to do your research before installing any "PC Optimization" or "Disk Cleaning" tools, including the ones I've recommended here.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem