Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
ModCloth Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

ModCloth
Reviews and Complaints

ModCloth's customer service contact info has been verified by the ComplaintsBoard team. We made sure it's all legit and accurate, so you can trust it! 👌
www.modcloth.com

Learn how the rating is calculated

4.2 9 Reviews 15 Complaints
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review File a complaint

ModCloth Reviews 90

ComplaintsBoard
E
12:00 am EDT

ModCloth Mixed Experiences with ModCloth: Proceed with Caution

As someone deeply passionate about fashion, I understand the allure of ModCloth's unique vintage styles. However, after delving into various customer reviews, it's evident that the experience can be quite polarizing. While some customers express delight in the quality and speed of their orders, others lament significant delays, poor customer service, and issues with shipping and returns. It seems that ModCloth's transition in ownership has brought about changes that have left some customers dissatisfied. If you're considering making a purchase, it might be wise to proceed with caution and manage your expectations accordingly.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
G
4:45 pm EDT
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth This website is fantastic!

This website is fantastic! I've ordered from them a dozen times, and I've had nothing but great experiences. Their return policy is unparalleled. I once ordered a dress, but once it got to me I tried it on and realized that it did not flatter me at all, and I was able to get a full refund with return postage paid, just because it didn't look good on me! And it was a sale item as well. I've never seen another site with such comprehensive returns. My sister was once sent the wrong item, and the company not only let her keep the item they sent her, they overnighted the right item to her at no cost. The customer service is great. I once had to change an address on a package and they worked it out with the shipping company for me while to package was in transit. I would recommend this website to anyone.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
G
3:45 pm EST
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth BEST WEBSITE EVER

I love this site! The clothing actually fits nicely, and it isn't aimed towards the stick population. (even tho I guess I qualify as a stick lol) Everything is so cute and flattering. I know they have a ton of retro styled clothing, but I have found SO many cute things on there that are modern and fresh.
And it's not just their clothing, shoes, accessories, etc. IT'S THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE! It is by far, THE BEST customer service I've ever gotten. I really respect ModCloth for allowing customers to review their items and share opinions. This really helps decide what to buy. I ordered a pair of sandals with a bunch of jewels on them and the jewels fall off. I reviewed them and got 25% of the price of the shoes back on my credit card and 20% off my next purchase! They really value customer feedback which makes the customer feel valued and that their money hasn't gone to waste.

Love ModCloth forever

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
  1. Pros
    1. Unique vintage-inspired styles
    2. Inclusive sizing for all bodies
    3. Frequent new arrivals & trends
    4. Easy, user-friendly return policy
    5. Active & engaging community
  1. Cons
    1. Limited Size Inclusivity: Despite efforts, range may not cover all.
    2. Higher Price Points: Can be cost-prohibitive for budget shoppers.
    3. Limited Physical Presence: Reliance on online sales limits try-ons.
    4. Inconsistent Stock: Popular items often sell out quickly.
ComplaintsBoard
G
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth I have been ordering from modcloth for over a year

I have been ordering from modcloth for over a year now and have been extremely pleased with both the online store, and thier customer service. While of course certain items haven't worked out for me, returns have been very smooth and easy, making this retailer even more enjoyable to do business with. Many times they have even included free gifts with my purchases (earrings, headbands, small accessories) that I've been surprised and delighted with. I have heard complaints about this store frequently stocking cheap materials or garments that have fallen apart easily. While I know this to be true for many items (even for items that I have purchased) it has only been a problem for me when I haven't been diligent about following the care instructions. I think it is also a part of the style to employ materials that feel worn-in, sheer/thin, or vintage. Perhaps the style of this retailer may not be yours, but either way they have a very straightforward and easy to navigate online store, and are one of my favorite clothiers.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth I always use to peruse and dream about all of the one-of-a-k

I always use to peruse and dream about all of the one-of-a-kind dresses I would buy when finally I broke down and signed up for an account (which was free) so I could really start to get involved in the community. (Side Note: you'll definitely want to check out the blog if you visit the site. They've got a lot of great info and unique stories)

One of my favorite features is the restock notification. When there's that one piece to your ensemble that would be perfect and lo-and-behold its out of stock, modcloth gives you the option to sign up for a restock notification and they sent you an email when the dress is back in your size!

That's how I ended up buying my first dress. It was this red lace ensemble that (thank God) modcloth let me know ran small to size. Honestly if I hadn't known that, the dress would have been more appropriate for a street corner than for the wedding I had the following weekend. I bought a size up and placed my order and the dress arrived within the week! It fit perfectly and even came with an additional accessory as a gift for my first purchase with them.

Love this site and look forward to buying from them again!

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
G
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth Great source for wardrobe staples

I recently cleaned out my closet, and realized that the pieces I was most likely to keep were many that I bought from Modcloth over the years. The site is great because they have so many pictures of the clothing being modeled by their customers, so it's easier to tell if it's really the garment you love, or just the photo styling.

Secondly, they carry many independent lines, so if you pay attention to the maker of a piece you like, you can often find similar pieces by them again. I found a couple of blazers and dress shapes that I love, and by checking back periodically, I've been able to buy multiples of those over time, in a variety of colors, that work really well for me.

Also, I appreciate that they show separate images of their plus size (or "extended size") garments in the photo selection. We don't have to look at a single image and try to guess how a pattern or design will scale up from the small size depicted: Modcloth will show you directly.

So I look at it as much as a style resource as a clothing shop. It's one of the best sites for functional online clothes shopping, in my opinion. (And though some of their prices are steep, they have a great sale section, and will notify you if something you love goes on sale.)

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
G
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth Dreamy Dresses!

For some reason, the dress is just not happening in the mall. I never see cute, vintage, well-fitting dresses in my size that don't cost an arm and a leg. The stuff out there is just bleh. Then, somehow, doing a search online for "vintage, plus sized" I came across ModCloth and BOOM! Revelation! I am no longer frumpy, bumpy, boyish, ill-fitted and colorless. My new mojo image is feminine but strong, witty, bright, fun, curvy and sassy! People say "I want to raid your closet". The funny thing is that even my regular wardrobe looks fresh now that I have these awesome ModCloth go-to dresses. I would say there is not a day that goes by without a compliment. And, heck, that's nice. Absolutely everything I have bought (4 cardis and about 22 dresses) fits perfectly, launders well and looks amazing!
ModCloth even sent me a coupon code to use on a future purchase because I hit buy a little too quickly one time before entering a discount code. So, I am good with the customer service side, and happy as a clam with my gorgeous wardrobe! Opening a ModCloth box is just too wonderful. If folks are scared about buying online, please don't be! Read the measurements carefully, and the other customer reviews, understand the material and care required, and, don't buy before you double check the order.
I suppose if you don't know what looks good on you, you are better off at the mall. But, if you want to save money and time and have something not every teenager is buying at Target, shop ModCloth. You sassy gal, you!

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth My Experiences Have Been Overwhelmingly Positive

I've ordered from ModCloth three times, and have nothing bad to say. The prices are quite reasonable, and discounts are incredible. By and large, the clothing has been excellent quality, and the one time it wasn't, Customer Service made it right. I was able to get Stop Staring's Pine All Mine Dress which retails for $189 for $107. It fits me like it was made for me - even though I was surprised I needed a Medium, as I usually wear a 4 or 6. My first order also included a pair of shoes on which the sole peeled off after one wearing. I called Customer Service who immediately processed a full refund and sent me a prepaid return label. I placed my most recent order because I had a mailed coupon for 30% off, which was great, but when I went to checkout, the Honey discount app said there was a 40% discount code. So I saved serious money. I got two dresses, a cardigan and a pair of pants for $182! The pants were wide leg trousers, and, based on other reviews, I ordered a Medium, although I normally need a size 12 for my hips. They did fit in the waist, but the pleats were splitting and the pockets were pulling too much, so I decided to return them. I opted for the store credit plus $5 offer and requested an exchange. Unfortunately, they didn't have a Large in stock, but they said to go ahead and request it, and if it comes back in stock, they will send it. It was also suggested to check the "Still Need It" button on the item page, because if there's enough demand, ModCloth will restock an item. Well, 5 days after I returned the pants, I got an email saying they were back in stock in size Large. I called Customer Service to find out whether my return was being processed as a return or whether they were automatically sending out the Large as an exchange. I spoke to Lily, who suggested I do a "quick exchange" in order to ensure I got the size I needed. Even though the pants were no longer on sale, and selling for the retail price of $74.99, Lily gave me the 40% off price of $44.99, and Free Shipping, too! I have to say, I am surprised that the company is owned by WalMart, as I would never shop there. My usual stores are J. Peterman and Anthropologie. If ModCloth continues in this vein, I will definitely continue shopping here.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
E
Verified customer This review was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth Favorite store

I am sorry to see negative reviews here, I absolutely LOVE ModCloth. I stumbled across it last August and have ordered over 140 items now. Of course, I haven't kept it all, but the items I do keep are my most favorite clothing and accessories. I have rarely, in all my orders, encountered issues. I understand blips have occurred during special flash-type promotions (Stylish Surprise) but I've never been personally affected. I have had two instances where an item "oversold"; in both instances, I was issued a coupon.

Coupons have gotten a little lame I have to admit. Products are pretty pricey. Last fall I received many 20% off coupons and then I joined a site which offered a discount to students on every order, which initially was 15% off then reduced to 10% (now it's a one-time deal, sadly, so I won't even name the site). It seems the most Modcloth will offer for coupons are 10% off now. Anyways. The customer service is phenomenal. I've never encountered such wonderful agents. I use the chat feature all the time and the responses are prompt, friendly, personal, and accurate. I've had a couple agents that were less enthusiastic but that's the worst I can say. Never rude, typically offer to go above and beyond. The ModStylists are amazing. They can offer more detailed product info that the CS reps can't but beyond that they are just rock stars at wanting to help customers. One worked with me over a period of months regarding an item that was possibly going to be put up on the site. She contacting me regularly with updates with NO prompting on my part. It would take a lot for me to be disappointed with ModCloth, really. The worst issues I've had occurred during shipping (thanks to Fed Ex. They've screwed up a few deliveries and destroyed two packages now. I'll take USPS anyday). Not anything to do with Modcloth, as they usually prepare and ship the package within 24 hours. I often receive orders in 3-4 mail days (M-Sat). Handling has slowed down a bit right now as it is peak season for weddings and prom, so my packages are going out of MC's distribution after about 2-3 days pending. I was concerned so I contacted CS and they explained the seasonal rush. I am in no way affiliated with MC beyond being an extremely loyal customer :)

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review

ModCloth Complaints 15

ComplaintsBoard
G
4:30 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth Incompetent Customer Service

I have a second issue in which I had to get paypal involved. I'm pulling up the details so I can forward to you. 05:46:38 pm

Tyler E. 05:47:50 pm

Okay!

Karla 05:49:02 pm

Sorry, I'm still trying to pull it up

Tyler E. 05:49:22 pm

Can you describe the issue, or perhaps provide the order number it pertains to?

Karla 05:52:06 pm

Sure
Basically two orders that I placed were sent to my old address even though I entered the address via the app and paypal had my correct/current information. I called your customer service and was offered no support at all. 2 months later, almost, the packages are rerouted and I had to pay a total of $20.03( ***) one package and $13.81(***)for the other. Then I returned the one because it arrived so late(it was a gift) and now will be deducted the 5.99( ***) I don't think is right. 05:56:08 pm
I filed a dispute via paypal and someone from your customer service team directed me to the chat via the modcloth site saying that someone would help me.

Tyler E. 05:57:35 pm

I do see you've filed a dispute with us for the orders, however, I do not see any record of you reaching out to us here at customer care. Sadly, we do not use addresses from paypal, so if your shipping address is incorrect on Modcloth.com, it will ship to the address we have at the time of checkout.

Karla 05:58:09 pm

Because I called. Do you keep track of calls?

Tyler E. 05:59:47 pm

We do, yes.

Karla 06:00:43 pm

Ok, my number is...
I called in November

Tyler E. 06:01:24 pm

Sadly, having an order shipped to an old address isn't something to dispute a payment over. Since you have agreed to the payment with us shipping to the address provided on ModCloth, which is what we have done. I can see what we can do, however, we cannot be held responsible for things like this if we sent it to the address you checked out with.
One moment while I see what we can do. 06:02:36 pm

Karla 06:02:37 pm

It obviously is because one of your reps directed me back to the chat.

Tyler E. 06:03:09 pm

I understand you've been told we could help. We totally can help, but please realize that if you enter an incorrect address with us, that is not a mistake on our end.
What is the correct address you wanted these orders to ship to?

Karla 06:03:58 pm

AND, I called to have the package redirected and was offered no assistance(you all can call the carrier, chose not to.) and then suggested to "uninstall the app" if it was experiencing issue. A few days later you all had an update to the app indicated "bug fixes".
1533 W... 06:04:07 pm
I entered the correct address
Checked out with paypal and reverted back to the old address

Tyler E. 06:05:11 pm

That is not the address you've checked out with, I'm sorry for any confusion. I'd be happy to pass this information along to our shipping investigation team and they will reach out to you within a few business days.

Karla 06:06:12 pm

You can check and see how much I've purchased from you all throughout the years and never had an issue.

Tyler E. 06:06:21 pm

Yes, I can see that.

Karla 06:06:35 pm

Direct me to your IT team not shipping. Whats the point?

Tyler E. 06:07:15 pm

I'm directing your orders to the team that can help you out with these orders. Our IT team will not be able to help you.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
E
7:03 am EDT

ModCloth scam

I ordered a dress in February and got it in Mars, by that time I had changed my mind and didn't pick it up. I let it go back and now 4 months later I still haven't gotten my money back.
They have gotten it back but is lying to me and saying it's not with them yet.
I want to warn anyone, espicially from europe to shop from them. They decieve and lie to their customers.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
3:38 am EDT

ModCloth My order hasn't shipped yet

ModCloth, please, do a favor and ship my order.
I bought several items one month ago, its status shows that it wasn't shipped. For no reason. At least that's what their customer service said. The items weren't back ordered, they were definitely in stock at the moment of ordering. So as you can see there was absolutely no reason for the delay. I am so tired of this mess. I wanted to get my order before Halloween... But I guess I won't

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review

Is ModCloth Legit?

ModCloth earns a trustworthiness rating of 21%

Assess your risks. Protect your personal information when dealing with ModCloth.

Our conclusion: After careful review, ComplaintsBoard concludes that ModCloth has trust issues, raising doubts about their legitimacy. We highly recommend being cautious and doing some research before engaging with ModCloth. If you have had a negative experience with ModCloth, let ComplaintsBoard know by filing a complaint.

Based on our evaluation, ModCloth has resolved only 6% of 15 complaints, indicating a severe lack of commitment to customer satisfaction, trustworthiness, and responsiveness. This may suggest that the company is apathetic or disinterested in addressing the opinions and concerns of its customers.

ModCloth protects their ownership data, a common and legal practice. However, from our perspective, this lack of transparency can impede trust and accountability, which are essential for establishing a credible and respected business entity.

We conducted a search on social media and found several negative reviews related to ModCloth. These reviews may indicate issues with the company's products, services, or customer support. It is important to thoroughly research the company and its offerings before making any purchases to avoid any potential risks.

However ComplaintsBoard has detected that:

  • We found clear and detailed contact information for ModCloth. The company provides a physical address, phone number, and 2 emails, as well as 6 social media accounts. This demonstrates a commitment to customer service and transparency, which is a positive sign for building trust with customers.
  • ModCloth has received 8 positive reviews on our site. This is a good sign and indicates a safe and reliable experience for customers who choose to work with the company.
  • Modcloth.com has a valid SSL certificate, while Scammers can obtain a valid SSL certificate by using fake information or by using a stolen or hijacked domain. In some cases, they may even use a certificate issued to another legitimate website.
  • Modcloth.com has been deemed safe to visit, as it is protected by a cloud-based cybersecurity solution that uses the Domain Name System (DNS) to help protect networks from online threats.
  • ModCloth as a website that uses an external review system. While this can provide valuable feedback and insights, it's important to carefully evaluate the source of the reviews and take them with a grain of salt.
  • We looked up ModCloth and found that the website is receiving a high amount of traffic. This could be a sign of a popular and trustworthy website, but it is still important to exercise caution and verify the legitimacy of the site before sharing any personal or financial information
  • This website offers payment methods that provide the option for customers to get their money back, which could be a positive indicator of the company's commitment to customer satisfaction.
ComplaintsBoard
S
7:30 am EST

ModCloth Return process

I had a problem with return. I received a pair of shoes from ModCloth and shoes were too small so I contacted customer service and asked for a refund. They agreed and I shipped the shoes back. Now I'm going to tell a very important information which will be useful for everyone. I shipped the shoes back in their original package and wrote the return address on the box. That was a huge mistake, but unfortunately I had no idea that I was not allowed to write anything on the original box. They refused to accept my shoes back only because I ruined the box. They said that I was supposed to put the original box into another box and ship it like that. Please don't make the same mistake!

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
2:35 am EDT

ModCloth Poor customer service

Ordered some clothing from www.modcloth.com and was very disappointed with the quality. Everything I received looked nothing like pictures and material was very poor and thin. I decided to return everything and after I received a permission to return I shipped everything back.
ModCloth customer support said that I'll get my money back within few days but that never happened. When I contacted them again they said they had some problems with my refund and promised to contact me back with all the details.
Waited patiently for two weeks and never received a call or email from ModCloth! I really hope I'll get my money.
Never again!

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
A
9:07 am EST

ModCloth Disappointed

Extremely disappointed in my first experience with Modcloth. This was my first and last experience, because the company is really awful. I came to the website to order a few small presents for my friends. Since they were offering a free shipping with a guaranteed arrival before Christmas I ordered. Few days later received a message stating that one of the items I had chosen was no longer available. They gave 10 minutes to come up with another option.There was absolutely no time, so I just picked up something randomly. Well, it's already December, Christmas came and went . Very disappointed with the service. Feeling like I made a huge mistake.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
H
8:44 am EST

ModCloth Very sneaky company.

I purchased an item on November 22 for a Christmas gift and paid extra money for faster shipping. One week later, the item still wasn't delivered! So, I contacted the customer support and their agent said he emailed the shipping department. He promised to call me back, but he never did. The next day I called again, the told my item will be shipped out within few days. I checked my email yesterday and still there was no tracking information. Today, early in the morning I called them again and explained the situation. Agent told how sorry they are and offered me to reorder the item, she also said I'll be given a 15% discount coupon fro my next order. I told that I don't need anything from them, only my money back. But I was told that it is impossible. Very sneaky company. Do not order.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
A
1:02 pm EST

ModCloth All THREE of their staff I talked to were RUDE

First the wrote me a week after ordering my wedding dress and said that it was oversold. They tried to make it up to me with a coupon, when I used it it did not go through. I was then charged twice! All THREE of their staff I talked to were RUDE. They blaimed me for using the website wrong and refused to allow the lower priced to be charged!

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
T
11:33 am EST

ModCloth I'm extremely irritated with ModCloth

In short, I'm extremely irritated with ModCloth. I wouldn't recommend them.

The long story is: I wanted the buy from ModCloth forever. For years I wanted to order things, but I either didn't have the money, or nothing I wanted was available. When I finally had the money to buy a thing I wanted, I did. I checked the size chart and bought the size that was needed based on the measurements given. Two days later (You know how ModCloth works, what with getting limited stock in daily) I ordered a second item. Both totals were the same.

When the first item arrived I learned that ModCloth does absolutely nothing to negate customs fees for international customers. They were patronising when I wrote in and mentioned that I had never before had to pay customs fees, except up-front at the time of purchase. I would not have ordered the items if I knew they would cost me 25$ and 15$ more each (Remember, same check-out price)

On top of that, the first item was a full inch larger than it should have been, since it was a pair of boots, that really mattered. In addition, I had actually asked an employee which size I should get based on the size chart, and they recommended a size LARGER than what I bought. It put the shoe at a full two sizes too big for me. ModCloth suggested I pay to send the shoes back, effectively having paid 50$ to TRY ON A PAIR OF SHOES. I declined the offer and am trying to sell them myself.

The second item arrived and it was okay. Nice "Made in China" labels and no washing instructions. It was a canvas and PU leather backpack that was rather cute and held up to toting my laptop around. Until it rained. The very cute plaid pattern had a red accent, and the red accent was not colourfast, so now I have a putrid pinkish-orangeish-tan backpack. I am absolutely boggled that ModCloth did not use a colourfast dye on a product that would clearly be going outdoors!

So now my bag is in the wash and I'm annoyed at ModCloth all over again. This company has useless customer service, does nothing to help its international customers, AND is selling shoddy products under the guise of quality items! I ended up heading to Maurice's and buying a pair of AWESOME boots for half the cost of the ModCloth ones; I suspect I'll be heading a similar route for a new bag.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
5:25 am EDT

ModCloth Not an honest seller at all, will probably not purchase or recommend again

I've purchased many items from the store. Most of the quality and sizes are hit or miss, given the different designers. What really pissed me off was that they sent a package that never arrived. When they sent it, they added -$10 and because the item didn't fit, I had to return it. When I received my refund, it was -$10. They charged me 10 bucks for a replacement that they screwed up because they switched in the middle of ups to usps. Not an honest seller at all, will probably not purchase or recommend again.

Disappointing, because their products are adorable.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
4:42 pm EST

ModCloth Careful what you buy

Careful what you buy. Most of the products they sell that do not have a designer mentioned are very cheap things that are made in China. They tend to be flimsy and high-priced. THEY CENSOR NEGATIVE REVIEWS OF PRODUCTS. They claim to be democratic, but are actually a dictatorship. I left a negative review about the All The Buzz Satchel because it is cheap and not worth the price and they omitted my review but only posted the positive reviews they received. Very deceptive.

Read full review of ModCloth and 3 comments
Hide full review
3 comments
Add a comment
CPNexus
CPNexus
BH, US
Dec 03, 2012 12:13 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I order from Modcloth frequently and I can say that I've never had any problems with the products or the site. As far as their products being from China that's not true. If you contact a CS rep in the online chat with a question about an item, or want to know who designed the item they will tell you. The Who Wants to be a Frillionare dresses (in green and blue) that sold out were discontinued but they informed me of the designer and even gave me the site address where I could get them, and no the designer wasn't from China. Sounds to me like you're just sore about your review being removed...

G
G
GoldOpals Opals
Karcultaby, AU
Jan 07, 2012 9:52 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Check again; you will find that a negative review, with response from customer service, has been left!

G
G
GoldOpals Opals
Karcultaby, AU
Jan 05, 2012 1:53 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree that you do have to be careful. However, ModCloth does publish negative reviews. There is usually a delay for the reviews being posted. I have avoided buying items because of the bad reviews in the past. Modcloth has excellent customer service and I would suggest that you contact them if you are concerned about your review or orders.

ComplaintsBoard
G
5:33 pm EDT

ModCloth Very, very, very poor customer service

Very poor customer service. Stay away from them. I ordered an item $44.99 + $7 shipping. The item arrived, however, I was not pleased at all because the material looks so cheap, I would not even bother to wear it. I asked for a return, they would not allow me, according to them the item I bought clearly stated that it cannot be returned or exchange. It was the first time I heard of such policy. Anywhere I buy whether the item is on sale or not it can always be returned. As the saying goes "Customer is always right".

Anyway, a day day after I requested for refund, I decided to check back on the item at their website and found out it was listed half the price of what I paid for at $19.99. I called them and they issued me a a store credit of $25. They should have agreed to issue store refund of $55.26 instead, since they sold the item to me twice the price. Anyway, realising that it's better to get something back than none at all, I placed 3 items immediately in lieu of the $25 store credit and was expecting a free shipping, since they owe me explanation of why I paid double for the first item and they do not want to issue any refund or return at all. If I have ordered all items at one time (the item I was returning and the 3 items I bought as store credit) I should have only paid 1 time shipping. Nevertheless, again, they don't want to give me free shipping. About 15 minutes after I placed my order, I decided to change 1 item to another item totally the same kind but different design which I added to my wish list, according to them they cannot do it any more. Their customer service representative stated: "Once an item is ordered it cannot be changed any more." Very, very, very poor customer service, 15 minutes after placing order, YOU CAN NEVER CHANGE IT AT ALL! Totally not fair! STAY AWAY FROM THEM! Beware!"

Read full review of ModCloth and 2 comments
Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
G
G
googlerr
US
Apr 27, 2013 11:27 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have no idea where the idea of "customer is always right" comes from. The merchant offers a product and the customer pays for it. Its a fair trade and never a master-slave relationship. Why would one side be always right? If you are not satisfied with what's offered, then don't buy it.

G
G
GoldOpals Opals
Karcultaby, AU
Dec 28, 2011 10:08 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

1. Did you see where the description stated 'no return or exchange'? Usually this is directly above the sizing information
2. Did you order a Soda Fountain Dress (which just happens to be $44.99)? If so, I disagree that this dress is shoddy quality.
3. Customers are not always right; this was the advertising slogan of a company.
4. Items at Modcloth frequently go on sale. It may suck if you bought an item for full price, and then it went on sale, but deal with it.
They were nice in giving you a partial refund!
5. Just to double check; you are trying to return the dress?
6. I do not think you automatically deserve free shipping
7. It is standard practice that you cannot change items in an order after placing the order. This is stated clearly on the terms and conditions

ComplaintsBoard
T
4:54 pm EST

ModCloth Clothes arrive in poor condition, often to the point of being unwearable

Their clothes are so cute, but every time I order (three times now, embarassingly... I kept hoping the previous orders were flukes) the clothes arrive in poor condition, often to the point of being unwearable. They use cheap fabric that is often more seethrough and coarse than it should be and they are sloppily assembled. Adorable designs, but the quality simply doesn't merit the excessively high price of every item. One of my orders did not leave their warehouse for a month after it was placed and I was unable to return the inferior items because they took more than 30 days to reach me. Customer service is a joke and will take a very nasty tone if you come across as being the least bit critical of the site or product. I'm quite sad to say I will never order from them again because I am yet to find another site with a comparable selection.

Read full review of ModCloth
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
3:56 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ModCloth Don't know their own inventory

I ordered a coat from ModCloth after receiving an email "to hurry and order because we got limited quantities back in stock." I ordered the coat as it showed they still had quantities available.

A WEEK LATER I received a very insincere OOPS email -- we made an error in our inventory, sorry we don't have the item, blah..blah..blah. But we'll give you 10% off an item that you don't want and didn't order.

Geez, thanks for the graciousness of extending a 10% discount off an item I don't want while totally failing to ship the item I ordered.

Read full review of ModCloth and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
RandomUnicorn
Columbus, US
Nov 11, 2010 9:58 pm EST

Mistakes are made. At least they're trying to make up for it by offering you 10% off something else. Someone else could have placed their order at the same time you did and caused the numbers to be off.

ComplaintsBoard
C
2:21 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
ModCloth has left an official reply on this complaint.

ModCloth False advertising & poor policies

I've ran into two separate occasions where this website has screwed me over.

#01. Returned a dress that did not fit properly. Dress cost $54.99. Put it in its original packing and returned it in a timely matter. Got an email later that said, "Thanks, your return has been received and you will be credited $49.49 (cost of dress - 10% discount used)." I could barely get the dress on let alone use it!

#02. Decided to give Modcloth another try because I needed (and still do need!) a decent dress for New Year's Eve. On two different spots on the website, it said something along the lines of, "Get it by New Year's Eve! Free overnight shipping with promo code 'hurryup'! Order by midnight 12/28!" I ordered at approximately 11:28 p.m. CST, 12/28. The website did not specify which time zone they were in, but I figured since the offer was still up, they must be either CST or PST (as opposed to EST), so I would be safe.

2 days later and no order. In fact, it hasn't even shipped. It's still pending. I looked and they are based out of Pennsylvania, so the code probably only worked if you got your order in by 11:59 EST, not CST like I did. Fair enough, but then they should have made sure the code was taken down by that time, too, instead of promising free overnight shipping for hours after! I'm really, really disappointed and will not be ordering with this company ever again.

Read full review of ModCloth and 9 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
9 comments
Add a comment
H
H
Hcolbs
US
Aug 16, 2018 12:14 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am not sure why it is taking Modcloth so long to get their GDPR policy correct. It is has been about 6 weeks now and they will still not sell to the UK. All they need to do it update their privacy policy...

View 0 more photos
K
K
Karany
US
Dec 02, 2012 8:48 am EST

They source product that can be found on a number of other retailers website but mark up their product astronomically. Nothing special here.

A
A
aardv
US
Jun 06, 2014 9:28 am EDT

Anytime I have sent an item for a return, they've found a reason to give me store credit instead of refunding my purchase, even if the items were completely unworn and still had tags. I sent some clothes back a couple of weeks ago and have heard nothing from them re: receiving my return. I'm sure they'll wait to email me once the 30 day refund period is up (like they did last time even though I mailed my return the same week I received the item) so they have the excuse of only issuing store credit again.

W
W
Waiting and waiting
Brookline, US
Apr 11, 2014 11:11 am EDT

Been waiting for three days and my order is still "pending". Need to get my order before this coming Wednesday for my daughter. Not feeling too good about this...

T
T
tayzers
Wailuku, US
Nov 24, 2013 4:14 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

By the way, my husband is an excellent retired attorney. We can spend as much time with this and it's no skin off our noses. Just try to screw with us, Modcloth. We don't take kindly to being hoodwinked.

T
T
tayzers
Wailuku, US
Nov 24, 2013 4:10 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I should have investigated their practices before placing an order. I ordered a swimsuit from them. When I received the confirming e-mail order I noticed that the swimsuit was NOT the same pattern that I had ordered. I called them, immediately, and then they claimed that it was "too late" to change the order. They changed it, NOT I. I KNOW what I ordered. I told them there was no way I am accepting their package, I am refusing delivery and contesting the charge through Mastercard. They aren't getting a dime out of me. They can go to hell. THIS is business? I think not.

V
V
victrix
Sunnyvale, US
Oct 09, 2011 9:32 pm EDT

I totally agree. Modcloth's products appear cheaper in person. They have terrible customer service. I will share my own experience.

Very poor customer service. Stay away from them. I ordered an item $44.99 + $7 shipping. The item arrived, however, I was not pleased at all because the material looks so cheap, I would not even bother to wear it. I asked for a return, they would not allow me, according to them the item I bought clearly stated that it cannot be returned or exchange. It was the first time I heard of such policy. Anywhere I buy whether the item is on sale or not it can always be returned. As the saying goes "Customer is always right".

Anyway, a day day after I requested for refund, I decided to check back on the item at their website and found out it was listed half the price of what I paid for at $19.99. I called them and they issued me a a store credit of $25. They should have agreed to issue store refund of $55.26 instead, since they sold the item to me twice the price. Anyway, realising that it's better to get something back than none at all, I placed 3 items immediately in lieu of the $25 store credit and was expecting a free shipping, since they owe me explanation of why I paid double for the first item and they do not want to issue any refund or return at all. If I have ordered all items at one time (the item I was returning and the 3 items I bought as store credit) I should have only paid 1 time shipping. Nevertheless, again, they don't want to give me free shipping. About 15 minutes after I placed my order, I decided to change 1 item to another item totally the same kind but different design which I added to my wish list, according to them they cannot do it any more. Their customer service representative stated: "Once an item is ordered it cannot be changed any more." Very, very, very poor customer service, 15 minutes after placing order, YOU CAN NEVER CHANGE IT AT ALL! Totally not fair! So Buyers... beware!

F
F
fidgefodge
Toronto, CA
Mar 09, 2011 4:39 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree in part with some of the posters. I too am a frequent purchaser on ModCloth but have generally been disappointed by the product after seeing it in person. The images seem to shield areas of a garment that they shouldn't. Sizing tends to be an issue as well, as they purchase their products from a number of different designers so the measurements stated on their website are incorrect. The fabric is usually much cheaper looking/feeling than they describe on the site (especially at their prices! I can get better quality and cheaper products at forever21!).

I keep hoping that my next purchase will be better but so far it hasn't. My boyfriend purchased a necklace for me for valentines day, instead of got the "tabs" rings instead, someone has mislabelled the package. I eventually got my necklace, just way after the intended date.

I do love the appearance of their garments in their photos but not so much up close. Here's hoping the next purchase is better. However I've also been seeing their products on other websites for cheaper, so I may start browsing other sites from now on, especially if their $89.00 dresses arrive and are continually cheap looking.

However one good thing about them is their customer service. They always seem to be good at getting me information, whether or not the solution is any good is another story.

M
M
mechanty
FR
Aug 29, 2010 8:16 am EDT

modcloth has the most poorly constructed clothes...to a point where it is shocking. i have never, in any store by any manufacturer, seen clothes that have serious structural errors. it is as if no one tries them on or even looks at them before they are considered finished. their jewelry, however, is totally fine. i have bought 4 dresses from them but i will never be back and i would advise anyone not to purchase from them.
modcloth---you need to seriously get better clothing makers! you cannot charge 50 dollars minimum for something so poorly made!

About ModCloth

Screenshot ModCloth
ModCloth is an online retailer specializing in vintage-inspired clothing and accessories for women. They offer a diverse range of sizes and styles, including dresses, shoes, and swimwear. Their services include customer reviews, style inspiration, and an online community.
How to file a complaint about ModCloth?

Here is a comprehensive guide on how to file a complaint against ModCloth on ComplaintsBoard.com:

1. Log in or Create an Account:
- If you already have an account, log in. If not, create a new account on ComplaintsBoard.com.

2. Navigating to the Complaint Form:
- Locate and click on the 'File a Complaint' button on the ComplaintsBoard.com website. It is usually located at the top right corner of the website.

3. Writing the Title:
- Summarize the main issue with ModCloth in the 'Complaint Title' briefly.

4. Detailing the Experience:
- Provide detailed information about your experience with ModCloth.
- Mention key areas of concern in your complaint.
- Include relevant information about any transactions with the company.
- Describe the nature of the issue.
- Explain steps taken to resolve the issue and the company's response.
- Share the personal impact of the issue.

5. Attaching Supporting Documents:
- Attach any additional supporting documents that can strengthen your complaint. Avoid including sensitive personal data.

6. Filling Optional Fields:
- Use the 'Claimed Loss' field to state any financial losses.
- Utilize the 'Desired Outcome' field to specify the resolution you are seeking.

7. Review Before Submission:
- Review your complaint for clarity, accuracy, and completeness before submission.

8. Submission Process:
- Submit your complaint by clicking the 'Submit' button.

9. Post-Submission Actions:
- Regularly check for responses or updates related to your complaint on ComplaintsBoard.com.

Ensure each step is clearly defined to effectively guide you through the process of filing a complaint against ModCloth on ComplaintsBoard.com.

Overview of ModCloth complaint handling

ModCloth reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Dec 30, 2009. The latest review Mixed Experiences with ModCloth: Proceed with Caution was posted on Mar 15, 2024. The latest complaint False advertising & poor policies was resolved on Dec 30, 2009. ModCloth has an average consumer rating of 1 stars from 90 reviews. ModCloth has resolved 1 complaints.
Ratings on other review websites
Trustpilot
Trustpilot
1.3
273 reviews
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service
  1. ModCloth Contacts

  2. ModCloth phone numbers
    +1 (888) 495-9699
    +1 (888) 495-9699
    Click up if you have successfully reached ModCloth by calling +1 (888) 495-9699 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached ModCloth by calling +1 (888) 495-9699 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached ModCloth by calling +1 (888) 495-9699 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached ModCloth by calling +1 (888) 495-9699 phone number
  3. ModCloth emails
  4. ModCloth address
    115 Sansome St., 9th Floor, San Francisco, California, 94104, United States
  5. ModCloth social media
  6. Janet
    Checked and verified by Janet This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
ModCloth Category
ModCloth is ranked 27 among 267 companies in the Apparel category

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.