Mineral Elements by Edenhiding information on return

1
S Review updated:

I saw this on a link from a website. Free trial offer, just pay shipping & handling ($7.32). No where on the "free offer" did it state "If you don't return this within 15 days of ordering we will charge your account $69.41." If the statement was there at all it was in either very small print or in another link that I failed to click on. This is a true bait and switch offer and the company is obviously unethical in it's practices or this type of operation would not be necessary for them.
In the first place there is a small zipper bag, 3 small brushes and 4 SMALL containers (2.5 gr each) of different foundations and powders in the box. In no way are the total of the items worth $69.41 + $7.32.
In the second place, I wear very little makeup and was going to try this to see if I'd like it as well or better than what I am currently using. It came to my office and stayed here for a couple of weeks (past the time limit) before I even took it home. Certainly before I saw the unexpected charge on my card.
I did manage to get future automatic charges for their "Club Membership" canceled - I hope. My very unsatisfactory customer service representative's name is BARB and the cancellation confirmation number is 6029. However I am still stuck with the product that they will not let me return and the totally unexpected charge right here at Christmas when I can least afford it.
I certainly hope a lot of people check this site before getting stuck by this company.

Responses

  • Re
    Rebecca Dec 03, 2008

    I feel for you. I got suckered too.
    Check out this information about the company and the owner.
    http://www.mineralelementsbyedenscam.com/

    0 Votes
  • He
    HealthInspector Dec 11, 2008

    I was in the same situation... was it through an infomercial?
    Try telling them that you have had an allergic reaction. look on the ingredients list... if there is a product called Bismuth Oxychloride then they should ... most people show an allergiec reaction to this ingredient used by most mineral makeup companies out there.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nadine Dec 16, 2008

    I had the same thing happen to me; I sent their product back; canceled but am still being charged; my credit card company says they told them that I hadn't canceled "on time"...I have no proof to dispute that!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Georganna Mccray Dec 30, 2008

    I saw this on a link from a website. Free trial offer, just pay shipping & handling ($7.32). No where on the "free offer" did it state "If you don't return this within 15 days of ordering we will charge your account $36.73." If the statement was there at all it was in either very small print or in another link that I failed to click on. This is a true bait and switch offer and the company is obviously unethical in it's practices or this type of operation would not be necessary for them.
    In the first place there is a small zipper bag, 3 small brushes and 4 SMALL containers (2.5 gr each) of different foundations and powders in the box. In no way are the total of the items worth $29.41 + $7.32.
    In the second place, I wear very little makeup and was going to try this to see if I'd like it as well or better than what I am currently using. It came to my office and stayed here for a couple of weeks (past the time limit) before I even took it home. Certainly before I saw the unexpected charge on my card.
    I did manage to get future automatic charges for their "Club Membership" canceled - I hope. My very unsatisfactory customer service representative's name is TRACIE and the cancellation confirmation number is 7581. However "TRACIEclaim that she will send me and email confirmation on how to send this product back to them. I was also a victim with this company as well.
    I certainly hope a lot of people check this site before getting stuck by this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maureen Jan 07, 2009

    Report them to the Better Business Bureau! Their website is dc-easternpa.bbb.org.

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
    sharon Jan 08, 2009

    every one of the above is just what they are doing to me like below.
    Mineral Elements by Eden Complaints - Hiding information on return
    Review all Mineral Elements by Eden complaints
    Mineral Elements by Eden
    Posted: 2008-12-03 [send email]



    Hiding information on return

    Complaint Rating:
    Company information:
    Eden Cosmetics
    1414 North Cameron St, 3rd Flr, Ste 3
    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
    United States
    Phone: 866.514.8949
    mineralelementsbyeden.com

    I saw this on a link from a website. Free trial offer, just pay shipping & handling ($7.32). No where on the "free offer" did it state "If you don't return this within 15 days of ordering we will charge your account $69.41." If the statement was there at all it was in either very small print or in another link that I failed to click on. This is a true bait and switch offer and the company is obviously unethical in it's practices or this type of operation would not be necessary for them.
    In the first place there is a small zipper bag, 3 small brushes and 4 SMALL containers (2.5 gr each) of different foundations and powders in the box. In no way are the total of the items worth $69.41 + $7.32.
    I did call and also did my cancel online and still no refund god i am disable and live on a very little amount and can't aford this please anyone can help me email [email protected] is just like what they are doing to me .

    -1 Votes
  • Me
    MELISSA TALBOT Feb 05, 2009

    I WAS VERY SURPRISED TAT THE BANK TODAY WQHEN I HAD AN UNEXPECTED CHARGE OF 69.00 FOR A PRODUCT I WAS ONLY PAYING 7.00 DOLLARS FOR I CAME HOME FURIOUS WHEN I SPOKE TO BOTH THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTITVE AND HER BOSS I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING I COULD DO EVEN THOUGH I ONLY HAD RECIEVED THIS PRODUCT 4 DAYS OGO I AM VERY UPSET WITH THESE SCAM ARTISTS THE MAKE UP ISNT EVEN GOOD THEREZS GOT TO BE SOMETHING WE CAN DO

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joy Johnsen Mar 02, 2009

    My husband got this product for me thinking it would be something great for me to try. Instead after trying it two day's later my eyes were so infected that I could'nt hardly stand it.I'm still having problems seeing and having headaches.We are going to try to do something about this matter, and will let you know the out come.BE CAREFUL OF THE POST MASTER HE DOES'NT LIKE WOMEN.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joy Johnsen Mar 02, 2009

    [email protected] to :POSTMASTER.We deserve to make up to each other.If you wish.YOURS TRUELY :Jon

    0 Votes
  • St
    stephany Mar 03, 2009

    How can this company continue to rip people off before someone get's the "drift"...any attorneys wanting to make some money? I, as it seems everyone thats ordered this product, was very excited to find an affordable natural based product that we could use & feel good about using, without paying a fortune. HA...I didn't join any club, I just ordered what was supposed to be a trial. There was no mention of 15 day's or they would charge your account 70 bucks! I have family members that have also ordered this product, much to my surprise, and they too are VERY upset. We have all filed complaints and contacted attorneys. SO...MINERAL ELEMENTS...by EDEN (whoever you are), KARMA is headed your way!! I want my money back and you would be better off to start paying people back now as opposed to a MAJOR lawsuit that just might put you out of business. JUST DO THE RIGHT THING...thats all anyone is asking of you! -- SKJ in ARKANSAS

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kit Rodenbough Mar 07, 2009

    Yes, I just went through this same thing today. I have filed a complaint with the BBB in Pa. Has anyone out there been able to get a refund of the $69.41 ? This company is a crock of ### and everyone needs to know. I am furious at being a sucker.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suz5 Mar 09, 2009

    I fell for it too. I was furious when I saw $69.41 taken out of my bank account unexpectally and it BOUNCED just because I was not aware of this extra charge! I called the customer service, they kept saying they are sorry and nothing more. I am very unpleased with their hidden tricks!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rosebud0404 Mar 12, 2009

    This just happened to me today, I so mad I can"t stand it, wish I could post there tricks somewhere, where people would see them before they got there money taken from them. I swear I never seen anything about 70.00 anywhere.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cindy Mar 27, 2009

    I too have the 69.41 taken out of my account without my authorized. I filed a complaint with my bank and sent all copies of the complain from others and my bank credit back my account, So I hope everyone will do this...
    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Jane Vehec Mar 31, 2009

    I too have been hod winked. They want you to try their product but give you no time in which to do it in. Ship it back at your own expense. Then, they told me that they throw it away. How can we be certain that it doesn't get recycled and sent out to some other gullible person. I didn't even get a comfirmation number they were to e-mail me it. Serendippity45

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Nery Jun 09, 2009

    I cant believe my eyes all of this complaints and there is no one that can do something about this, I did the same thing, as i read all of you, Iam just really concerned that people like me and you will still sign into this trap .
    if someone would of tell me before LOL i wouldn't have to pay 75 dollars. that now I regret, cause I need them.
    please dont fall in this trap if you are thinking about buyin this mineral elements think it twice.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fallah Jul 18, 2009

    when you order the free trial they dont tell you or give you a cd on how to apply it, when I placed my order for the free trial I knew that I had 15 days after I received the order to return it before I got charged the $65.00, but when I called the company to tell them that I didnt received the order it was going on the 10th and according to the toll free number that you call the check the status of your order, it said on there computer that I received the order already, so I went to the post office and YES it was sitting there and I called to get the IRN# to return the order before i got charge $65.00 and they told me that they will send the IRN# by email ONLY! which I did receive three days after I called for the IRN# and when I checked my credit card status online they charged me $65.00 four days before I called to check the status of the order. So I emailed the proof that the order didnt get sent to my house and that it was at the post office, (you can get a statement from the post office) they told me that it was passed the 15 days that I had to return it before I got charged. So now im stuck with a produce that I dont even use because they didnt send a cd on how to apply it. So I went online to see if they would have a web site on how to apply the mineral elements and they show you how to do it BUT they dont tell you what to use first the foundation, the bronzer or any thing! they just tell you to apply it with a cycler motion and it looks like I just rubbed gliter all over my face... PLEASE if you are thinking about getting the mineral element I really hope that you see this web site first... PLEASE be careful with the element makeup it is NOT what you think it is!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chadam813 Jul 26, 2009

    The terms are plain as day legally there is nothing you can do you may file a complaint with the BBB but like most companies they will probably resolve it but not because they owe you anything

    0 Votes
  • Nh
    nhuanh9 Aug 15, 2009

    Im also a victim of this product. Could anyone tell me how to get $69.41 back?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shabou81 Aug 23, 2009

    I WISH I would have read this article BEFORE I got suckered into this scam. 1$ trial!! All you pay is shipping and handling! a total of about 7$!! Sweet deal? Until 10 days later you get SLAMMED with 130$ charge the day before tuition is due. I never click on links that seem too good to be true. Ya got me.
    The worst part is that the product sucks. I looked brassy and shiny and got the urge to put a hook in my hair and hang myself from a tree.
    I will be on EVERY forum for this product warning others so that maybe their hard earned money may be saved.
    I spoke with Ashley in customer service on Aug. 23, 2009 and she was very apologetic and informed me that I should have read the fine print.
    My confirmation #1015.
    DO NOT BE SUCKERED BY THIS RIPOFF COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjm 43 Aug 27, 2009

    Same thing happened to me but the charges to my account were fewer than 15 days apart and I could prove it. Then they said I needed to go another web site..I was at the wrong return policy and mine was only 10 days. I canceled the day I recieved the items via the internet and they claim they never got the cancellation. I am a sucker too!! ahhhh

    0 Votes
  • Du
    DUCABR Sep 02, 2009

    Saw an email for this product and thought I may try it. After all free trial $1.00, sounded good. Soon after I ordered I received a call from customer service to verify my address. I confirmed with caller that I did not want to be charged for anything and I was cancelling I just want to try the product. Well it came a few days later and had 4 tiny containers and about a 1/2 teaspoon in each. Tried it and not happy, bag and contents sitting on my counter. On Monday I noticed a charge for $130.41 for the product. I called and they told me becuase I didn't return it I was charged. Amazed I said charged for a spoon ful of makeup. Customer service very rude, no customer service skills. I asked for a supervisor and was told I don't have one. I called bacl ;ater and left a message only to receive a call from a clerk that said the same thing. I already have a dispute in with my VISA, I will take it to the fullest extent to fget people to realize this company is fraudulent

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    honestandtrue Sep 24, 2009

    I know the reason why you all are complaining. Because you all failed to really understand and read the terms and conditons before submitting your information. I think it's so sad when people can't read nor take out the time to read what's in the fine print and then turn around and think you got scammed, no one got scammed, they just didn't read additional information. I did the trial for mineral elements and when I called in and got the rma# and returned the product i didn't get any further charges. All of your problems are because of your own laziness, and by the way right before you CLICK SUBMIT, RIGHT BELOW IS THE RETURN/REFUND POLICY . My last thought, before I enter in my CREDIT CARD INFORMATION, I WILL ALWAYS VERIFY FIRST IN DETAIL WHAT I AM GETTING INTO. Goodbye idiots, i feel sorry for those who can't read. Call me what you want, i'm just being honest and truthful.

    -2 Votes
  • Br
    Bridgetd Oct 01, 2009

    This is very same thing happened to me!!! I called and cancelled 3 times, told them I was going to return the product, they said fine they would credit my account. I sent the item back, called to see why they had not credited my account!!! Was told I had to have specific instructions for return and they never received it...So now I don't have the product and Credit Card Charge of $69.41 that I have to eat.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teshawn05 Oct 12, 2009

    I got suckered too... but instead I got a charge for $130 which left me with $3.78 in my account and no money to take care of my 5 month old child... N i returned my producted without a RMA number... so I not only paid $130 for some BS ### product, but I paid $130 for something I dont even have anymore.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    c_giff22 Oct 12, 2009

    I had the same thing happen to me, only I was in for $130.41. I called the company and was told that I could leave my number and a manager would call me. They finally called and offered me restaurant discounts. When I pointed out that this was such a problem that the company had decided that it was good to have something on hand to appease upset customers, I was brushed off. I then filed a report with the Better Business Bureau. To my surprise, it actually worked, I was given a refund to my card. I would recommend this course of action to get your money back.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alacransilla Oct 18, 2009

    raw minerals is an awful product also, the foundation and make up don't last more then 1 minute and they charge you $90 bucks
    for it, so is even worst of a rip off then this!


    I will never buy anything from an infomercial, no matter how good it seems

    'cz they all a bunch of liers and usually whatever seems to be too good to be true is.!


    be ware of all the people

    trying to buy mineral make up...is the worst thing ever!!!

    0 Votes
  • 3s
    3st3ll3 Oct 22, 2009

    I got it and now they are trying to take $130 off my card good thing i dont got that much for them to take so they aint getting ### from me. I never wear make-up but i decided to try this because it looked easy for me to do everyday. Now I am starting to break out. My whole life I never Had pimples or zits but now I am getting them from this make up.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amber1210 Oct 25, 2009

    I have been scammed before when doing free trials. But i really wanted to try the free trial for mineral elements by eden. What i was told was that i would pay $1 plus shipping and handling. It would total almost $10. So, what i did was use a paypal computer generated one time use card. I used that card for the free trial. Mineral elements site had decided to bill just the $1 and try to go back for the rest. Considering it was a one time use card, paypal had reported it as fraud. I deactivate all the computer generated cards. And they can no longer charge or try to charge me. I highly recommend this method for all those who like to do free trials. They can't charge you afterwards. So, I'm not getting scammed. I paid $1 for what they consider a $175 value. They were going to charge me that $175. But are no longer able to. I honestly believe that they have gone and scammed all of you. But, you no longer have to be scammed. I used this same method to get a video professor course. They were going to go back and charge me nearly $200 after the first 30 days.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meador Oct 29, 2009

    I agree, I did not even finish the iforcomercial and they still sent it to me. I called them to let them know that I did not want it and they said they had already sent it to me. I asked them what should I do they said send it back. The lady never told me that I needed some kind of shipping number just pay the shipping to send it back. I took it to the post office and sent it back and now they took $130 of my money. I am out of the money and I have no makeup. I called they said they have no record that I even called but would give me $50 of my money back. I told them that I wanted to talk to someone in charge they said they would have someone call me back, when they did call it was another customer agent and I told her I wanted someone who runs the place to call me. I asked her who runs the place and she said she did not know, how do you not know who runs your buissnes? I will keep calling and calling to get my money back. I have to I am unemployed and I can not aford $130 makeup and I told them that that is why I did not want it in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry College Kid Nov 20, 2009

    I ordered the free no-risk trial from Mineral Elements by Eden. I did this so I could win a free gift card from Wal-Mart. I didnt think it was that big of a deal just paying a shipping and handling fee. So a week or so later I called to check my account balance with my bank and it was overdrawn by about $130.00. I found out it was because of Mineral Elements. I called the Customer Service line to see if they could void the transaction and cancel my "membership" and I didnt get the answer I was looking for. Apparently I had 10 days to cancel it and send back the make-up. They cancelled further shipments but the charge for $130 would not be taken off. Being in college and not having a very steady job are hard enough but when a supposedly risk free trial ends up costing me $130!

    0 Votes
  • Kj
    KJSE Nov 28, 2009

    I was suckered too. I feel like an idiot. Tried the "2 free Dell laptops" scam where you only have to fill out a few of these trials and you get free computers. Turns out you actually have to order this stuff AND be charged for full services AND the company has to write that you deserve the laptops within 2 weeks or the offer is void. This is very convenient since this is well after the trial periods for the offers expire. I had a 10 day trial. I recieved my kit on the 18th, and called to cancel on the 28th. Was told I was past the trial period because they counted the first day...!!! Now I'm out $130 for a bum product. STAY AWAY FROM THIS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hayfieldhick Dec 02, 2009

    Another victim here. I intend to contact the BBB. This unexpected charge cost me $280 in overdraft fees, also.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael J B. Dec 05, 2009

    It seems as the Company (Mineral Elements by Eden) has changed their charges without even changing their Terms Of Offer. My wife ordered this product for a 10 day trial period, but the trial begins when they "ship" your order and you might not receive it for 3-5 days. We received the package on the 5th day and we were charged $130.41 on the 10 day. After getting no wheres with the "Customer Representative" I took this matter up with the Better Business Bureau in their local area. After about 20 days I heard back from the BBB with an email from the Company. They refunded the $130.41 back to the original card my wife used in the beginning and the matter is considered settled. I still do not agree with the Fraudulent and Deceptive practices this company uses to promote a product. If enough people would consider the same approach I used or even consider contacting their States Attorney General and consult with them on what can be done to prevent this company using these tactics. Make sure you READ the Terms of Offer carefully. It is in small print but read every word carefully. There is a lot of contradictions in the agreement and if you bring it to the right people, you can get some lead-way.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiffany cross Dec 07, 2009

    The same thing is happening to me. Only i recieved a pop-up for a free laptop. I sent my package back on time, hopfully I dont still continue to get charged. Oh, and I never recieved my laptop.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diane duncan Dec 09, 2009

    I totally agree with every thing that has been said This company is the biggest scam I have heard of. Why haven't they been stopped???? They took 130.00 out of my account after I refused and returned their product!!! They will not put it back. They are using the excuse that I didn't follow return policy. I did what I was told to do and they still took the money. I do believe this is called theift and some body should be setting in jail for this. Who do I have to talk to to get my money back?????I called customer service and got a rude perso who will not contect me to a supervisor.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeniseBWB Dec 09, 2009

    Hi Ladies,
    This is a simple case of the phrase "Buyers Beware". I signed up for a book subscription by internet a few years ago for $25 and found that over $695 in additional charges were added to my card. What I didn't know was signing up for the subscription also enrolled me in a number of other services that would be charged to my card monthly. It took about 3 months to get them all cancelled and I still only got about $120 back from these services. Before I sign up for anything else via internet/phone I read every word on the screen (including the Terms of Conditions). I was about to sign up for the "free trial" through Eden and read the following in the terms of conditions:

    link:
    http://www.mineralelementsmakeup.com/cgi-bin/cms_index.reg?website_id=2026&element_id=274

    1.Enrolling in the free trial automatically enrolls you into their membership club where you are automatically charge $130.41 for a 60 day supply. You will continue to be a member of thier club until you have returned the free trial supplies within 10 days. So in other words they mail you the trial and you have 10 days from they date of shipment to try the product and send it back if you dislike it. A typical package usually takes about 5 days to arrive so that leaves you a few hours to try the product and send it back (5 days to arrive back at Eden) without being charged...yeah that isn't even logical right?

    The terms continue
    2. The terms of the "membership club" gives them the right to change any of the rules with or without your notification. They provide a website and it is up to you, the consumer to keep up with the terms of use...sounds like bad business to me!!

    3. Returning the product is at your charge, and you may also be charged a "restocking" fee which will be applied to the credit card that you supplied for the free trial.

    It goes on and on from there. All of these conditions didn't sit right with me and I DID NOT sign up for the free trial. Unfortunately most people ignore the fine print and they check the little box to agree to the terms without actually reading the terms. So in other words you AGREED to their charging you $130.41 without even knowing it. That agreement is a form of a contract and it protects the "Eden" company against you because after all you agreed to its terms. Of course it's a headache but in the future don't be so trusting. Companies are struggling in this economy and will push the limits of the law to get money from you. I definitely sympathize with you ladies and I encourage you to read the fine print before you agree to anything at all times!!! (and encourage your friends to do the same)

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misspiglet101 Dec 22, 2009

    ok so i guess the same thing is happening to me except they can't charge my credit card since the money isn't in there. and i've already cancelled my memebership before the 10 day trial thing. but i'm not going to return any of the makeup, i actually like it. i thought risk free trial means that i get to keep the trial makeup,

    RISK-FREE TRIAL PERIOD. You will have 10 days from the date of shipment to try the Mineral Elements by Eden™ Mineral Make-up Introductory Kit. We will ship your product by first-class mail through the United States Postal Service ("USPS"). According to the USPS published delivery schedules, your shipment should arrive within 3 to 5 days. Accordingly, this should provide you around 5 to 7 days to try our product. The Risk-Free Trial period ends 10 days from the shipment date. If you are not satisfied after trying our product, you must follow the instructions below to return the 4 containers of mineral make-up ("make-up") as well as the brushes, cosmetic bag and brush pouch ("accessories").

    but i am satisfied with my makeup, so that means i should be able to keep it.

    RETURNING YOUR REMAINING 60-DAY SUPPLY OF MAKE-UP AND ACCESSORIES. If you do not take affirmative action to cancel the Club membership and return the remaining make-up and accessories before the end of the Risk-Free Trial period, (a) your credit or debit card will be automatically charged $130.41 for the 60-day supply, and; (b) you will continue to be a member of the Club. Click here to cancel your membership and get return instructions or call our Customer Service Department at 1-866-514-8949. You will be responsible for paying the shipping and handling costs to return the remaining make-up and accessories.

    this doesn't make any sense to me since its contradictory. i'm keeping my makeup and it'll be good luck for them to try and charge me, 70 bucks for a small amount of makeup.

    0 Votes
  • As
    asiek Dec 30, 2009

    I got them back. I ordered the kit, paid the shipping and cancelled the card. I did this a couple of times and each time after ordering I called my bank saying my card was stolen. They closed the card and sent me a new one and the company couldn't do anything about it. Do the same thing to them. Order a couple of these kits and sell them to make up for the $69.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hairgal1969 Jan 10, 2010

    really?????? what is wrong with these people i did not authorize them to use my credit card at alllll they are thieves and i can not believe i fell for this one it is pure robbery how are they in business who are these people they need to be shut down

    0 Votes

Post your comment