Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Products & Services Mattress Firm scam and cheating!
More

Mattress Firm - scam and cheating!

A
Author of the complaint
8:57 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I read a complaint on this site about being registered for a Mattress Firm Visa through Wells Fargo Bank without authorizing it. The same thing happened to my husband and I after financing the purchase of tempur-pedic mattress. We are in the process of trying to get a mortgage so I am hoping that it will not adversely affect our credit score. I don't see how companies are allowed to do this. Looks like it must be company policy since I'm in Largo FL and the other complaint was from Oklahoma.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Mattress Firm complaints & reviews

Mattress Firm - poor customer service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mattress Firm - exchange policy
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mattress Firm - bed bugs in my mattress
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mattress Firm - broken promise
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
9 comments
Add a comment
H
Jun 22, 2021 8:57 am

I am sick of all this

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jan 31, 2012 8:57 am

Read these responses, obviously from the ### salespeople working at Mattress Firm. This is how they respond to customer complaints that are legitimate by making people feel like ###s. There are other stores to buy a mattress at and get the same brands and same quality!

Helpful?
0 0
H
Apr 08, 2011 8:57 am

This is one of those situations where an idiot with more money than sense did not wished to be bothered by details. The application is very simple and you signed more than just one sheet all of which explained what was happening and what you were signing for. As Cooburns stated if it is a scam in any way it is the store who is loosing out. This is more than being credit savy this is paying attention and your laziness. It was not important enough for you to be bothered by such simple things as read what you sign. One of the oldest and truest rules in the book. Instead of jumping on here and blaming everyone else ask yourself what part did I play in this.

Memphis, TN

Helpful?
0 0
C
May 16, 2009 8:57 am

Ok if you financed the bed you are going to get a Visa/Store card in the mail. If you didn't provide them with personal info like SSN and BirthDate how would have signed you up for that? So you can see that yes it is indeed your fault not the company. Having a store CC on your credit should not affect you buying a home that much. If they turned you down for a home loan it's not at all because you have a store CC.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Mar 21, 2009 8:57 am

Thanks Jerry! You took the words right out of my mouth! It;s not Mattress Firm's fault, it''s your fault for being so ignorant!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Dec 02, 2008 8:57 am

With the exceptions of buying a house or a car (or a very large purchase that has some value to it, i.e. boat) every time you ask for financing it is a credit card process. Your mattress, even a Tempur-pedic, has no value to a bank or lending institution once you've slept on it. They're not goint to repossess it. What do you think the money is being given to you for? When applying for financing, the lending institution will give you a credit limit. If the mattresses you bought is less than the credit limit, you have an open line of credit if you wish to activate it. Blaming the Mattress Firm calling them cheaters and scammers is ludicrous. Who do you think is paying the interest on your loan? Not Wells Fargo. The Mattress Firm (and any other retailer which uses financing) actually makes less money when a customer finances as sale then if it was paid by credit card. Financing is offered to make the purchase easier for the customer.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 19, 2008 8:57 am

I agree I should have read the application more closely. However there was just too much to read and the sales guy did not explain to us that it was also a credit card application. I do understand how the financing works for zero percent but thought it was strickly through the bank and not as a credit card per say. What was even wierder is that we were enrolled in two separate credit card accounts, that the balance or charges for the mattress weren't even charged to. I basically just close the two credit accounts upon receiving them. And watched my credit score go up upon closing those accounts and many others.

Helpful?
0 0
U
Mar 11, 2008 8:57 am

When you apply for credit whether it be a Visa or a credit line at any Retailer they check your credit. This does adversly affect your credit score slight but no more than a few points. You might want to become a little more credit savvy and realize any-time your applying for CREDIT the institution has to check you credit score in order to issue credit.

As far a being company policy I am sure Wells Fargo much like every other Financial Institution issue you a privacy notice with your first bill per federal law and if you read that it goes over the in and outs of your private info and details how to keep it private.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Feb 29, 2008 8:57 am

Actually, when you signed up through Wells Fargo, the application clearly has a VISA logo on it. What you are signing up for a is VISA with a Mattress Firm logo that has a Mattress Firm subaccount. Our salesperson very clearly explained that to us.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

197 complaints
18 resolved 179 unresolved

Mattress Firm contacts

(added by reviewer)
10201 S. Main St., California United States
ADVERTISIMENT