Los Angeles Parking Violation BureauFraudulent Parking Ticket

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Recently we received a notice of delinquent parking ticket from Los Angeles parking bureau. We live in Sacramento and never visited Los Angeles, and it concerned me that we received this notice. What concerned me even more is that the information about our vehicle was not all correct. It was partially correct, but not all of it matched. I wrote a letter requesting further investigation of this matter to the LA PVB, and when I called to request the original receipt of the parking ticket, the representative on the phone stated that the case was closed and dismissed. My complaint/request is that when writing out parking tickets, or tickets in general, for officers to be a little bit more careful and make sure to get all the information correct because issues arise if someone who was not intended to receive the notice receives it, which may lead to an unpaid ticket and possible collections issues for the intended recipient.

More Los Angeles Parking Violation Bureau Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Jh
    j hanron Mar 24, 2009

    We also received City of Los Angeles Parking tickets (2). We are Seniors living in Sacramento area. My
    Husband has COPD and has been recouperating from Major Surgery. We, or our car were never in Los Angeles and the car was never out of our site or control and we do not lend it to anyone!
    We requested the original tickets, one was hand written with Historical Vehicle on it, no VIN number and our personalized plate! The next ticket said under vehicle make (Other), with a different expiration date of the sticker and again no VIN#.
    I looked up the addresses of the tickets. It turns out to be a BAR in Hollywood called BIRDS. Not a likely place for a 70 year old!
    We got no cooperation from the people who do the administration of these tickets. First they told us to pay them then we could challenge them! Then we said no we are on a fixed income and can't pay, besides we don't owe them. Then they made us fill out a "financial statement" and waived the up front payment and said we could have an evaluation of the situation by an "Ombudsman". That was a joke. He said "Historical vehicle does not mean anything! wrong info on the ticket means nothing! No VIN# means nothing! The next paperwork from them stated they looked up the license plate at the DMV and it belonged to us! (Duh), and we have to pay or our car will be booted and no renewal until it is paid. Meanwhile, fees are stacking up.
    What is to prevent them from putting anyone's license plate number on a ticket with no VIN, wrong vehicle description or no description and extorting them to pay??? I looked up the Vehicle code for Historical Vehicle which states the Vehicle must be 1965 or older! Ours is a 2003! It is obvious to anyone taking a look at these tickets, it is not ours. Someone is driving around Hollywood with an Historical vehicle plate with our initials on it they propably had made online. If we pay this, It means we will have to all of this guys tickets! What to do???????

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    horatiofran Apr 27, 2009

    Listen to this outrageous tale. I parked my car underneath a sign that said "2 Hour Parking, Meter Enforced 9 AM to 5 PM, Free Parking All Other Times". I had to run into the bank and it was about 8:30 AM at the time, so I did not fill the meter. Upon returning, there was a parking enforcement officer in the process of filling out a ticket. I pointed out the sign right above my car and the officer checked her watch and agreed with me that there was no cause for a ticket so she tore it up and threw it into the trash. I subsequently had to leave town for about 6 weeks and when I got back, there were a couple of notices in my mail regarding an outstanding parking violation. I wrote up an extensive report including photographs of the sign and pointed out that a ticket would not have been issued to me at 8:55 AM when the rule does not apply until 9:00 AM. They returned my challenge stating that because I had "waited" over 21 days from the citation, I was no longer eligible to challenge my ticket. After 6 months of arguing with them on the phone, I finally paid the $126 that I never should have owed. Is there somewhere I can go and complain and try to get this money back?

    1 Votes
  • Sq
    squiggly_spooch Aug 22, 2009

    There is no where to go to complain. There is no way to get your money back. It is a racquet and California is getting out of hand. They are using traffic violations and parking tickets as revenue for the city. My auto registration has more than doubled in the past couple of years. I bought a NEW car in 2006 and here I am being penalized for "stimulating" the economy and driving a fuel efficient car. We are here for them to extort money so they can line their pockets.

    I propose that because money is the only thing that talks, people start withholding their taxes until April. It's really not that hard, just put 25% of the check in another account. If they think they can just arbitrarily set outrageously high "fees" for bulls**t violations and totally have us over a barrel then a large number of people not contributing to the bottomless pit that is our corrupt gov't might make them knock it the hell off!

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Huang Sep 18, 2009

    I got a parking ticket in City of L.A. couple days ago. I was very pissed off because the ticket was cited mistakenly. City employee officer Sanabria (SN#: 2908) cited me an wrong expired meter ticket.

    The traffic violation was mistakenly issued under the wrong parking space. I had my vehicle parked on space 858 while Officer Sanabria mistakenly checked the parking meter for space 857.

    I called LAPVB to see if the officer can stop by to verify that I didn't park on parking space 857, but they refused to cooperate with me. They said for the safety of the officer, we don't send them out there. What kinda of ### is this? We civilian are stuck with this BS bureaucratic system. Please email me if you have any opinions about my issue.

    My email is [protected]@gmail.com

    1 Votes
  • Los Angeles Parking Enforcement is a SCAM! It has been known for a long time that this is one of the easiest ways for the city to make money, as most citizens dont contest the tickets because of time or money concerns. So Los Angeles Parking Enforcement officers issue fraudulent tickets all the time, it is a known and documented practice. While some of these tickets are contested, the majority is not!

    p.s.
    anyone who tries to give you "valid" reasons for working as a parking enforcement officer is full of it! these people enjoy doing this, they enjoy seeing other people's suffering.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    albert9311 Sep 28, 2009

    Hello everyone
    I had my car towed because of tickets issued to a previous owner (actually it was two owners ago). Later they changed the story and said it was towed because of expired plates. The plates were expired, but I had a temporary operating permit clearly posted. At the boot/tow hearing they insisted that there was no TOP on the car and that’s why it was towed. I went to the towing company, and luckily they had taken a photo of the car when they towed in that clearly showed the permit. I spoke with the district attorney’s office and they were anxious to do something about this. Unfortunately, for them to go after a government agency would require several complaints so it could “be treated as a class action suit”. If anyone out there has received a bogus parking ticket and would like to see something done about this, please email me your story, along with your name and a contact number.

    Thanks

    Albert
    [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    tjspring Oct 01, 2009

    This is the single most frustrating Government Run RACKET that I've ever been involved in. I lived in LA for almost 10 years, anyone who lives in LA obviously has gotten a couple tickets, the streets are designed to sucker you into tickets with insane small print, unheard of penalty worthy offenses, and horrible parking options as a whole..
    Fine, I figure it into my annual budget, and hope not to get too reckless. I pay my tickets when I get them, no questions asked.

    WELL, I get a ticket (apparently), never received the ticket on my windshield or in the mail, but get a notice some two months later saying I owe the amount of ticket, plus late fees of 100.00. So I call to explain my problem, and someone tells me to mail a letter explaining my situation, and the fees will be waived.

    My obvious response was "I'm on the phone explaining my situation, doesn't that count?"
    NO, it must be in writing.

    So, I immediately mail this letter, and within 3 days I get a response saying, sorry, but your letter was recieved a day later than it needed to be submitted, and because of that, you waive your rights, and accept this ticket and the late fee, and by the way, we're tacking on a collection fee of 21.00.

    WHAT?
    I've spoken to: Rochelle, who put in a request for me to talk to her "supervisor" who is:

    Sadie, who has put in a request for me to talk to her supervisor, who she's told me won't do anything to help, and even though I never recieved this ticket, nor any notification of the ticket, I am SOL.

    This is an absolute crock, and I don't plan on stopping this process of "talking to supervisors" until Arnold Swharz in on the phone.

    This is a total violation.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maxon Oct 01, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just had a parking violation ticket ($50) on my windshield in Santa Monica, CA, even though the parking meter had another 29 Minutes to go when I came back. The ticket was put there 30 Minutes before I came back... I had put in 2 hours worth of coins (two bucks). The parking enforcement officer doesn't make any (more) money doing this, but the city does... Santa Monica is affluent and they are not bothered by citation contesters as most have no time to fight the ticket while making 100+ an hour anyway. In LA anything goes, and the worst statements on this page are probably the truest ones. When the state is running the show, it's the end. Ask anyone in from the old Eastern European countries.

    Max

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maxon Oct 01, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just wanted to add that I'm contesting the ticket, and I'm not doing this for the money, obviously! They are getting away with this in California because people in this state let this happen.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoJoTAMU Oct 01, 2009

    I live in Texas, have never driven a car in the state of California and drive an El Camino. Today I got a ticket in the mail ($80) for a Range Rover parked illegally. The license plate doesn't match any vehicle I've ever owned.

    So outrageous. I am not sure whether to let it pass under the pretense that its an obvious mistake or to call and see what can be done to clear my name of this so it doesn't turn into a problem down the road.

    Any thoughts? I'd imagine it'd be tough to boot my car if its 18 hours away...

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justice4us Oct 02, 2009

    Just received a parking citation today from LA, I live in the Bay Area and haven't been to LA in two years, I believe I was mailed a citation using the license plate number of my car. Strangely my car is a gray Toyota Corolla, the citation description read Mercedes Benz White. No VIN either. I've written a contesting letter with proof of my registration. I was hoping to speak with someone so I can chew some ###. This some blatant B.S., is LA that desperate for cash that they resort to inconvenience people to extort money?

    Keep in mind this citation was issue 9/23, you have 21 days to fight it. Today is 10/02, thats 9 days lost already...criminals...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maxon Oct 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes, LA is desperate. And you should see and hear the mind set behind this - it's war! I just heard that a friend's mother here in LA has a 10 times higher water bill than she had a month ago and she contested it but just got a note to pay or... As for you guys in the Bay Area and Texas: Knowing the city of LA and hearing of all the fraudulent ticketing and overcharging, I'm pretty sure these aren't honest mistakes. The big question is: Is there an institution out there that can help? Maybe an FCC for government fraud? Does anyone know where to get help?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teknomcr Oct 06, 2009

    I just received a ticket yesterday for being in a permit parking area. Problem being, I have a permit to park there. When I went to check if the ticket was updated on the online system, I not only found that ticket, but two others for the same thing. I don't know what is going on, but it is getting ridiculous. A few months ago I found out that I had a ticket (for the same thing) and payed it, disputed, and haven't heard anything back from the city. Is there any way we can get a lawsuit going?

    0 Votes
  • La
    La sucks Oct 29, 2009

    I was parked at a meter with sufficient funds, but was still issued a ###in $80 ticket 4 min after leaving the car! Thanks ###-hat of a cop Rodriguez...LA officially sucks

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Davve Nov 02, 2009

    There's an expose on the LADOT on YouTube —

    FALL SWEEPS: A Street Sweeping and Parking Enforcement Investigation
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2O6rdy7XuoA

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disgusted with LA Jan 04, 2010

    Yes the City of LA is ridiculous as are their Meter Maids who have nothingbetter to do than lie, cheat and write bogus tickets. I had a run in a few years back while picking up headhsots for my teenager as we were on our way to an audition. I was clearly parked in a legal metered spot with money in the machine. This location could not have parking there after a certain time for street sweeping though, but I wasn't worried since we had to be at the audition before that time. I left all three kids in the car watching a movie while I ran in and grabbed the headshots. Time and date on the reciept mind you...then ran out to the car and we were on our way. Teenager mentioned a weird meter lady had walked up, looked at him, looked in the front window, wrote down something and then walked back behind the car to her vehicle and drove away. I thought that was strange but simply said that it was fine, I didn't do anything wrong. Went to the auditon, signed in, and left for home. A two hour drive away. Later I recieve a ticket in the mail for the date and location of Argentum Photo lab, where I had picked up the headshots from. The time cited was for when we were actually at the audition across town. I immediately called and was told I had to write it and send it in and I had to pay the fine upfront. Convenient racket I thought. I paid, fought the ticket and when that was denied, I continued to fight for the simple fact that I was RIGHT! I paid more money to be seen in person and then drove over 2 hours to fight it. I had proof, written, dated, stamped proof we were not where this absurd and crooked meter maid said we were and they did nothing. My teenager described the maid to a T...they sided with the meter maid who claimed nobody was in the car. I said she was writing bogus tickets later after we were clearly gone and they sided with her when she said she placed the ticket on my window. I reminded them I had 3 children in the car who say she did not, but they disagree'de. I asked how I could clearly be in 2 places at one time and they simply said she was correct. LA court system for parking is a JOKE!

    Then comes my recent ticket in LA. While parked in a residential area with a 2 hour limit, I was there for 45 minutes, I was issued a parking ticket for no front plate. Stupid again since you could clearly see the car had been hit recently and the plate pulled off. Its now back on the car, but I could not help the fact the bumper had been broken and the plate was ripped off. This could be seen clearly by the state of the front bumper mind you.
    I had it fixed, installed new plate and then asked a CHP to sign off on it but was told that since issued by the parking enforcement and not an officer, they could not sign off on it. I had to pay the entire stupid fee. I am appalled by the rachet that runs LA parking enforcement. Something clearly needs to be done!

    0 Votes
  • Hy
    Hypnoc Jan 22, 2010

    I had a handicap tag and got a ticket in two different locations?

    How can they ignore it?

    Doreen

    1 Votes
  • Hy
    Hypnoc Jan 22, 2010

    OMG...Just wanted to add that I'm contesting my tickets as well, since I had a handicap tag having my dad with me, and I got a ticket in two different locations?

    How can they ignore the handicab tag?

    I also got a ticket for speaking on the cell while driving, and I didn't even use my cell... then I got a ticket for not having my driver licensee, but this can be fix, since at the time I couldn't find it, and apparently it felt on the bottom of my car when I opened my bag to look for my insurance.

    Any ways, my concern is, who's gonna believe me over a police officer?

    Doreen

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juan Diaz Feb 24, 2010

    These guys are terrible. Thieves and Thugs. I got a ticket because I didn't have my license tabs on (fair enough). The problem was that the DMV never sent me the tabs, instead they gave me a reinstatement proof I always had on me and would show to Police officers when needed. That is what the DMV woman told me on the phone, that I didn't need the tabs.
    So I get this ticket and call DMV and they recognize that it was their mistake.
    I file a complaint in order for my case to be heard through their web system. It reads that I should wait for their reply.
    They never write back through email, call me, or send any mail to my address. I check the charge on the web page and it continues showing. So I decide to call them on the phone. The rude dumb lady that answers tells me that they have sent me three communications to my home address (false), and that they have tried to reach me (false). And that I already went over the 21 day wait period and have to pay the ticket. [censored] these guys... who do they think they are? are they above the law? sure sounds to me like this is a very well established Mafia that should be wiped clean.
    Now I really hate Santa Monica Police department, ticket bureau, and anything that has to do with those ###...es.
    [protected]@cantv.net

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Delmendo Mar 22, 2010

    This time it's a missing front license plate. But the problem is both my license plates are there, front and back. Secondly, I live in Vallejo, CA and I haven't been to LA for over a year now. How in the world can they make a mistake like this? The only good thing is that when I called and explained the situation, she dismissed the case right away.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whathahellizat Apr 03, 2010

    I just got a ticket here in L. A. for parking without a permit where one is required from 6 p.m. to
    8 a.m. Problem is I parked three buildings down from my apartment, on my own street, and had no idea they changed this to permit parking.
    I always park on this street, I just did three days ago. Aren't they supposed to give residents notice?
    There were several other cars with tickets as well. I noticed the signs after I read my ticket twice. But honestly, who looks up for parking information on a street you've lived on for three years? The first thing I thought was that these parking people are going to write as many tickets as they can before the residents realize it's become a permit area. Then I figured I was just being paranoid.

    0 Votes
  • 2b
    2broke2cope Apr 07, 2010

    At least now I know I'm not alone when I say, the City of Los Angeles are crooks and are going to make up all the money they lost by scamming the community with bogus parking tickests and driving citations. I receivied a ticket for parking in a no parking gridlock zone which was marked 5 spaces behind me..now I have 21 days to pay $150 fine while I receive less than $1400 a month on unemployment to support myself and my 3 children..thanks alot Los Angeles..maybe I should go without food to make sure I pay this on time.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    getameasureonballot Apr 10, 2010

    We should get a website to get all the signature required for a measure in November's ballot to get the politician to do something about these idiotic fees.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Crooked123 Jun 13, 2010

    My fiance got one of those notices in the mail that his parking ticket had not been paid. Of course, we live in Orange County and avoid LA like the plague and so he was not parked where they said he was and never received this so-called ticket. The ticket had the color of his car wrong. He contested the ticket and told them that it is a show car, currently not driveable and was being stored in a garage. No dice, pay the fees and either request a court date or write to contest the ticket. Pay the fees for something we're contesting?? Well he does contest in writing, and guess what they decided? Um yeah, we had a hearing and decided you're liable for the fines so LA is keeping the money. Oh, and we can pay another $25 to appeal the decision. However, the letter makes no mention of who made this decision, when the date of this so-called hearing was, or give any type of contact information to follow-up and get this information. So crooked!! How can they continue to operate like this?? They force you to send in the fees or face penalties, and then just "claim" they reviewed your case and decided you were guilty.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abfab204 Jun 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HAS ANYONE HAD PROBLEMS RECEIVING THEIR REFUND ON A DISMISSED PARKING TICKET?

    I'm interested in gathering stories for a class action lawsuit against the City of Los Angeles Parking Violations Bureau / LADOT.

    For instance, you can go through the rigmarole of filing the "appeals" (which I believe are automatically dismissed regardless of the evidence), then filing an appeal plus $25 court fee with your local court house (which is VERY confusing and time consuming), then appearing in court (another two hours of time plus gas).

    I've found that the city NEVER shows up to these cases, meaning they are automatically dismissed anyways. However, LADOT often (1) "accidentally" sends the check to the wrong address, or (2) sends the wrong amount (they 'forget' to send the court fee that they owe you).

    Has anyone else had these experiences? feel free to reply here or email me directly: abfab204 AT yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SacTab Dec 28, 2010

    I'm a Sacramento, CA resident and just received a "second warning In collection" notice from the County of Los Angeles Parking Enforcement Detail and this must be a scam - I live in Sacramento! How could I have been in L.A - to receive this ticket - plus the car make and license listed isn't even mine! I am so confused and I have been trying to find out all evening if this is a scam by mail and all I've been able to find is this website with other people complaining about LA parking tickets and a few other Sacramento residents who also received fraudulent tickets. I'm going to attempt to call them tomorrow - but this is ridiculous!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abfab204 Dec 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here are a few suggestions after I successfully fought 3 parking tickets in Los Angeles.
    (1) You don't have to spend anytime writing "reasons" or gathering evidence for contesting the ticket, because the Parking appeals won't consider any evidence no matter how good or legitimate. They automatically reject your first appeal. I feel it's best to spend as little time as possible on it, and I never bother taking pictures.
    (2) Do the second appeal on time. After the first appeal is rejected by mail, you will be instructed to go to a local courthouse to get a form to fill out for the second appeal, and to pay a refundable $25 Court fee. Note, they only take cash. At the Courthouse in Beverly Hills, it was difficult to find the room to get the appeal form, because the Parking Bureau doesn't give proper instructions, but it's Room 300 (the Traffic Room) at the very first window on the right.
    (3) Show up in Court. Right there in Room 300, you will get a hearing date. I always chose the Purdue Courthouse at 8:30am. On the upside, the parking tickets are always addressed first, and they are dismissed as a group because the traffic cops do not ever show up. It makes sense, because the city will make more money in an hour writing a few tickets, versus having that person show up in court to defend one. Although Court will take an hour to an hour and a half of your time, it's super easy. Bring a magazine :)
    (4) Follow up on the refundable $25 Court Fee. No paperwork is required for this, but it did take several calls to the Parking Bureau. They always insisted the check had been sent when it never had. Give them like 2-3 months to refund.
    Hope this helps :)

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamescxsxsx Feb 05, 2011

    Teh best recourse for the LADOT parking enforcement is to pop tires and throw rocks at their cars and their [censor]ing heads. Make them bleed. Pieces of [censor]. If enough get harrassed/hurt. they won't have anyone giving tickets anymore since everyone will be too scared to join. Look at what's happening in Egypt right now. The corrupt LADOT steals 134, 000, 000 in cahs from the residents of the city every year! we need civil disobedience to set these [censor]ers straight. Leave their lungs punctured, gasping for air in the streets.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joojoo Apr 19, 2011

    I hate this fukin country not just LA!
    [censor] ... can't believe I'm paying part of my pay check as a tax
    Hate fukin police!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joojoo Apr 19, 2011

    I hate this fukin country not just Los Angeles
    All they want from you is MONEY!!!
    I pay taxes and what do i get in return? Nothing
    expensive ticket, rising tuition every year [censor] THat!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Journalist123 Jun 15, 2011

    I'm a journalist interested in doing a story on bogus parking citations. I'm particularly interested in cases where cars were nowhere near the Los Angeles area but were ticketed as if they were. If anyone would feel comfortable leaving an e-mail address on this board I'd love to connect.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ARJohns Sep 02, 2012

    I just received a Notice of Delinquent Parking Tickets in the mail on Saturday, September1, 2012 for parking tickets that were supposed to have been issued on July 22, 2012. No ticket was left on my car. The tickets are for parking in the same spot but according to the notice the tickets were issued for two different addresses (must be right next to each other) and were issued less than twenty minutes apart. I was in that area on the date in question, however when I returned to my car, there were not tickets. The notice indicates that I owe the city of los angeles $352.00 because the tickets are now delinquent. This is crazy and based on the comments there is probably not much that I can do. Los angeles city officials areno moew than thieves.

    0 Votes
  • No
    No Permit Parking! Sep 08, 2012

    For all of you who just acquiesce to the "permit parking" scam, WHY THE HELL ARE YOU NOT FIGHTING IT?!? Every year more and more public streets are being taken away from us because of a) residents who feel that they're ENTITLED to park in their own neighborhoods*; or (more likely) b) the scam that the city of Los Angeles (and other cities) pull. I will remind all of you these are PUBLIC STREETS that your taxes maintain. You all should be OUTRAGED that you can't park on these streets, anytime, day or night...

    ...and you ###s just sit on your duffs and just take it!

    *To those of you who feel so entitled that you should have your own special place on the street, may I remind you that when you moved into your property, you were WELL aware of the parking situation. You shouldn't get special privileges. If you can't find a place to park, TOUGH!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Tracey Mar 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our story is a little diffferent. We WERE in Los Angeles, due to the illness and death of my mother-in-law we've been travelling back and forth for more than six months. On a recent trip we were on the way out of town and were making our stop by Starbucks for the road. We stopped in a generally legal parking space, but after stopping for no more than a minute or two, engine running and staying in the car, we realized from reading the sign that it was street cleaning day. So we pulled away and sent to find a legal parking space. As we were getting ready to pull away we noticed a parking enforcement vehicle coming down the street. At no time did the officer leave his/her vehicle and we were not there long enough for him/her to approach the vehicle.

    Some time later we got a notice of delinquent parking ticket, saying we had failed to respond to the ticket. Of course, no ticket had been issued and this was the first we heard of it. My wife, who was driving, challenged the ticket and we ended up with an in-person hearing a few weeks ago.

    At the hearing we explained our situation, our surprise at being told a ticket was issued when one was not, and our wonder if we should file a complaint against the parking enforcement officer who essentially lied about issuing a citation. The hearing officer seemed to agree and even encouraged us to file a complaint.

    This week, we received the hearing results and our appeal was denied. The issue of whether the officer actually physically issued the ticket was totally ignored. The hearing officer stated that since we had stopped in the parking space we had violated the law and thus the ticket was valid and we owed the money. End of story.

    Soooo, we will be appealing to the Court where we hope someone with some common sense will hear the case! Wishful thinking?

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BigGrudged1 May 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Parking enforcement officers as well as the hearing officers have no idea of a thing called "the spirit of the Law". 20 hours of training for the hearing officers. I have spent many more hours researching the laws and even though I have presented statutes and case law to them, they don't take the law into account. The last ticket I got, the parking meter isn't even visible from the space, and I took video of a few people putting money In the wrong meter, so obviously there is a problem. The hearing officer asked me several times, "where is the meter for the space?", and I said that is the point you can't see it. He denied my defense because I didn't have a picture of the meter for the space, even though all of my photos were taken from the driver's view entering the space. What a sham. I missed the appeal because of illness and went in the office to pay the ticket ten days later and they added 53.00 and 25 dollars, but would not tell me why. I paid the fine only and wrote a letter and asked for the legal authority they use to add these penalties, and I got back a reply with more penalties. A penalty on a penalty, the fine part was paid. They gave me no notice to pay within the ten days or they add the extra 25.00, they said they don't tell you that. The judgement simply said no money to be refunded, even though I had a waiver. They added penalties even though a waiver was in affect. They refuse to itemize. I am going to now try to file a complaint for mail fraud in addition to other avenues such as the Fair Debt Collection Act or acts. Or maybe just file to get an injunction for them to itemize the fees they are charging or small claims if it is allowed. Can you get a DMV hearing on things like this? There is no code or statute I can find which allows them to add these penalties, and no instructions on how to contest the amount of the fees. These people are twisted souls and enjoy making people mad and costing them money. What a sad life they must have. Most resemble the little chubby nose picking kid that nobody wanted on their team in grade school. I am having a hearing on another ticket and I am simply going to go in with a written brief and if it is the same hearing officer, the black guy in Van Nuys, I am going to most likely at least have the pleasure of using some legal terminology that he does not understand and tell him in so many words that he is not of average intelligence. I want to go to court with this anyway, so I can ask about the penalties on my first ticket, especially if it is the same judge. I also want to ask the hearing officer if community service hours can be done, because they can, and the last time he lied on tape and said that they cannot.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LA Will Jan 16, 2014

    This problem goes further than their parking tickets, traffic tickets are worse. I'm a hard working father trying to take care of my family, and I struggle to pay the bills. I received a speeding ticket, and missed my court date. When I finally went it, they added all kinds of penalties to the ticket and it came up to nearly $800, which I don't have to give away to the city of Los Angeles so their Croonies can sit in the back room and sniff cocaine, buy prostitutes, or however they squander the money. This is totally unfair. If I have a problem giving you $300, how the heck do you think I can pay $800. And if you ask for traffic court is $100+ more and it must be paid on the spot (when you miss the court date). This is so unfair and there isn't nothing we can do. They should change the name from Municipal Court to MOB Court, because they function just like the mob. [censored] THEM. Half of them are crooked anyway, what other type people could try and ruin the lives of their freakin citizens...

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ana123456789 Oct 07, 2014

    I received a parking violation-80.61-no parking in an alley-city of LA. There were signs on north side of the alley saying no parking-not my side. A homemade sign on someone's fence next to my car saying "Acc. to Gennady Shtern (Admin Hearing Examiner/Ombudsman, LADOT, Office of Regulatory Services) Based on a Previous Investigation the parking space at ____ is LEGAL...on the south side of the st." Other cars were also parked on the south side.

    I have just been trying to research it and it looks like I might be screwed. LADOT has no mercy. But it was just really confusing and all things point to me being allowed to park there, acc. to city signs and that random homemade sign.

    It was $55 on my windshield, I called the number that they have a couple weeks later, but it wasnt in their system. A week after I called, I received a notice in the mail that its $68. Weird. It's not like its $200 but its still a lot of money and its the principle behind all this legal thievery that makes me disgusted.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maggiej May 06, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was given a ticket and had my haddicap placard up they told me to send in my proof and paiy 25.00 i did and they sent me a second ticket saying that i owed them 125.00 when i called they said the paper work wasnt on time i then sent proof they cashed my check with the date before the due date and the paper work was with it how could it be late they said nothing they could do and they dont have a complaint center so im out of 150.00 for doing nothing this is ridiculous people cant afford these scams and we ask why the world is out of wack we cant even trust our on cities.

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    Yesenia Ceron Jun 16, 2015

    I got a ticket last sunday [protected] because I parked the car in front of fire hydrant which is marked or painted as red zone it looks the hydrant is no longer in use is dusty etc.i want to sent some picture to provete but I can not it was at 9332 Van Nuys Blvd. North Hills ca.

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    Yesenia Ceron Jun 16, 2015

    I got a ticket last sunday [protected] because I parked my car in front of a fire hydrant which is not marked red zone it looks the hydrant dusty etc. no longer in use I tried to sent pics. but I could not the address was given the ticket is 9332 Van Nuys Blvd.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem