The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
LeafGuardWaste of money

E Review updated:

We had leafguard installed on our newly constructed house 6 years ago in the Seattle area. Service was fine, but be sure to read the warranty... It is guaranteed not to clog, which it never has... but the problem is all the pollen, pine needles, etc. that collect on the top of the gutter and then interfere with the water tension. The result is the water drips (in heavy rain it is like a waterfall) over the front side of the gutter making them useless. So they do not clog, but we have to clean the outside of them twice a year. I was shocked when I saw they had earhed a Good Housekeeping seal of approval since I would not recommend this product.

Responses

  • Wa
    walk70 May 25, 2021

    There seems to be some problem with these complaints. Most are for Leaf filter, but the research is for leaf guard. I also saw info on gutter helmet. Are any of these kind of products worth having?

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    galena11 Sep 14, 2020

    We kicked the salesperson out of our house after enduring 30 mins of a high-pressure sales pitch. It was like being in a used car showroom, complete with the "call to a manger" that I am 100% certain was a recording and not a real person on the other end. Feel like we dodged a bullet after reading these reviews.

    1 Votes
  • Qu
    Quezebo Jones Sep 03, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just watching Mr. Sleaze do the Leaf Guard commercials makes me feel grimy. He must have got his training selling time shares.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    kayzee47 Jun 18, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading these very informative reviews I am glad that the two appointments I had with Leaf Filter to install their crummy product were no shows. They did not even have the courtesy to call and say that they were not going to come. They tried to hold me up for an extra $100 over the contract price and stated that if I did not pay it they would not do the job. Damned right they won't. If they come on my property I will have them arrested for criminal trespass.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shirley Ciszewski-Guidotti May 28, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Had leaf filter gutter guards installed month ago. then came the rain. they did not keep water from going over the top. rains hard they do not work. called to complain no results. better off not having gutters. no leaf build up and no climbing ladders. would not tell anyone to buy. sales pitch is very untruthful. promise you they take care of all leaks seal all joints. unless you are up on ladder working with installer you are screwed.

    1 Votes
  • Bh
    [email protected] Jul 15, 2019

    How about a Class Action Suit. POOR product and worse customer service!!!

    6 Votes
  • Ap
    apkh Oct 20, 2020

    @[email protected] Yes we need a class action lawsuit...spent $11, 000 and husband spent three weeks correcting their overflow gutters issue. Total waste of money!

    2 Votes
  • We
    Weingarten Jul 08, 2021

    @[email protected] I had major surgery at the end of December 2019. I don’t know how this guy got into my house but I do remember him sitting on the ottoman and me in the chair. I was on heavy duty pain medication! I don’t remember what he said, but whatever he said was very very fast. 2nd day of January. I called when I found a paper signed by me, that I don’t remember signing but it was my signature. I have been calling every since then to remove them from my house, as I could not afford them. Now my house is damaged all the way around! In all this time until now, whatever woman answered the phone said, I’ll have a manager call you! Then it turned into, I’ll have someone call you today, then 3 days ago I had a woman say, a manager will call you within the next two hours. No one did any follow up, called me. Today I owe Greensky 3, 865.00 tomorrow it will be 5, 294.00! My gutters are damaged my house is damaged!!! Still no phone call to me!!! I told the first woman I talked to in January 2020 that I needed them removed because I am a permanently disabled widow of many years and I could not afford them! Forgot to say, I was not home when they installed them. I can get proof that I had either been driven to the surgeon for follow up or in the hospital again but I can get proof of where I was, I can get proof of all the times I called them!!! Help please give me some advice as to what I need to do or a lawyer that won’t charge me anything up from but will take a third when the case is won. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Helpful Jul 08, 2021

    @Weingarten I'm sure sorry to hear of your situation.

    You might ask for a copy of the signed contract, unless that's already what they've left you. There's not a great deal of help that even an attorney can do for you. If the bill goes unpaid, they'll likely place a lein on your home.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Scolet Jul 14, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @apkh I agree! we spent 10, 000 and have been told since (even by someone who used to be an installer for them) that we basically got “taken”. We don’t have money to throw around like that. So mad at myself that I got sucked in like that. I wish there were something we could do

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Naida L Aug 03, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @[email protected] good idea

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yonaites Jul 09, 2019

    got Leaf Filter put on last year and have had nothing but problems. everything sits on top and the water runs right off as if no gutters at all. The first time I called I got a date to fix the problem 32 days from when I called. Then call a day before to come and then a no show. No call. Called 4 different times with nothing but an answer machine. No call back. Been calling for two years and things don't change. I have pictures, and video. Think I will be posting soon.

    4 Votes
  • Wl
    WLD1 Sep 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just had a structural inspection done on a house I'm buying in Charlotte, NC. Foundation issues according to the engineer are due to the Leafguard gutters failing in heavy rainfall. Water is flowing over the gutters and against the home's foundation. The end result is thousands in foundation repair for the seller.

    6 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Obi Sep 08, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Two ladies came to my house with the most "hard" sell bullsh.. I ever heard before. In my heart I knew I was getting the treatment, I kept asking "how much do they cost". They kept going with the sales BS for, get this, TWO HOURS! After quoting $9, 000 plus, I said no way. They used the car sales trick on me, "let me ask my manager if we can do better", The ream job came to $6, 000. One of the ladies was interested in a wooden bowl I had that she wanted to
    give to her mother, so I gave it to her. I am a retired combat veteran on a fixed income, I gave them half of the 6k and the other 3k when the guy came out to install. It rained, my back porch has a metal roof, it was soaked from the rain coming over the gutter. I put a stop payment on the check, take me to court for the balance, I have all the time god is willing to give me, it rained again last night, same problem, the water came over the gutter. I should have listened to my heart.

    6 Votes
  • Jo
    John Groth Oct 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    thanks -- i am glad to see the real issues with this and avoid them!

    6 Votes
  • Jd
    jdrzewi Mar 10, 2017

    If you are thinking about purchasing Leaf Filter gutter protection, please reconsider. This product is a total waste of money. The product is named correctly because leaves don't enter the gutters, but, for the most part, neither does rain water. In anything other than a light rain, the water just flows over the edge of the gutter and soaks you if you are leaving or entering the house. If you have any snow at all, you need to rake your roof to prevent the runoff from creating icicles on the gutters. Ice also builds up on top of the screens, creating a dam which backs up under your shingles. A complaint to the company, led to a visit from someone who said my shingles were not installed correctly and he tried to sell me something else to fix the problem which his product created. When I said, in other words there is nothing you can do for me, he said he would take them off and put them back on if that would make me happy. What the Leaf Filter does is prevent the gutters from working properly. If you are considering this product, I suggest you just rip the gutters off your house and leave them them off. You will save big money and avoid being aggravated every time you look at them. WORST INVESTMENT OF MY ENTIRE 66 YEAR LIFE. RIP OFF ARTISTS.

    5 Votes
  • 12
    [email protected]# Jul 24, 2017

    @jdrzewi You should have gone with Gutter Helment. It is the best one out there. We have had rains with 3-4 inches an hour. The rain justed rolled off the roof in to the gutters. Sorry that you got taken by a really bad company..

    0 Votes
  • To
    Todd Vahldieck Jul 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @[email protected]# Gutter Helmet is total crap. Had them taken off my house because of clogs and replaced with Leafguard. Much happier with the one piece system.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MarJoBur Jan 06, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had gutters installed several years ago .What a waste of money! I also have clogs from the oak trees I have.In the spring of 2016 we had storm damage on our home.The company rep.here said he would take care of fixing our damages-including the roof and some painting that needed to be done because of the hail damage.Well, this Jan.of 2017-have been calling since last April& nothing has been done ! I now have a leak on my roof and nobody to fix this.And, snow is predicted.I am throughly disgusted with this and all the money tha was wasted.You seemelingly cannot trust anyone these days.What a Waste!!!

    5 Votes
  • Su
    Sue Hannah Oct 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't waste your money like we did...over $5K ! We MUST have them come out at least twice yearly to clean out the gutters...they use our garden hose which is basically ineffective due to our low water pressure. We now have what appears to be mold damage on the front soffit of our home. I will be calling them today to come out to clean out the gutters as well assess the damage. For the next 5 days we are expecting several damaging storms to hit our area. We live in a beach community on Puget Sound at the end of the Key Peninsula in Washington state. It is doubtful our gutters will be up to the task before they arrive to clean them out.

    6 Votes
  • Da
    Darnelle Cochran Aug 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had read these reviews before I got mine...wow what a sales pitch they have. I am a single person & got them because he guaranteed me the leaves would "blow right off the gutters" they DO NOT & I am still trying to find ways to keep them off. I have one gutter guard that when it rains it is like a river forcing water all over my front porch & creating a horrible wash in front of my door. I was told if they come out to move it I have to pay. I have also called Customer Service twice & was told the "correct management" would call me back...still no word. I have NO idea how they got added to the websites that was helping make correct decisions because I wish I had not spent this large amount of money. Well all of us think we are to smart to be taken advantage of but they got me!!!

    9 Votes
  • Sp
    Sparkymld Jul 24, 2016

    You don't want to buy these gutters. We purchased Englert Leafguard gutters in fall of 2015. We did not have too much snow that winter but the little snow we had forced water behind the gutters so we called about this and service guy how came out said he would contact this boss. We never heard another word from the company. Water behind the gutters is not the worst part. When the curved face of the gutter gets dirty which it does after just a few rains I have to climb up there to wash the front of gutters to keep water from running over front to the ground. In short when the dirt from the roof gets on the curved part of the gutters they no longer work. Remember the stuff you used to clean out of the gutters is now on the outside front of your gutters. I will never trust the Goodhouse Keeping seal again. We got taken for $11, 000 or 55 dollars a foot. We may not be able to sell our home with these gutters on house. Class action suit against Leafguard?

    14 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Scolet Jul 14, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Sparkymld Yes Please!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Barclay Sep 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Looking 4 a good company 2 repair? or replace my gutters, after seeing these complaints, I'm not very impressed with this Co.

    5 Votes
  • Mt
    mtofAL Sep 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Boy was I sold!!! now I'm told that my small print multi page contract provide a provision for additional charges to fix what was suppose to be a real solution, instead I have damage to the side of my home. It took me two years to save up the moneys the first time and then I didn't have the medical issues I have today. I'm a disabled person who had one very shrewd sales guy tell me that all needed was what I got. Now they want me to spend an addition $150.00 to fix what never should have happened - even the guy that came out to cleaned gutters commented that they should have seen the problem before it began to overflow next to my home. If he knew it why didn't the "knowledgeable" sales guy for these folks know it. Just another bunch of siding sales people. Just BEWARE OF THE SMALL PRINT. Buyer beware... I don't have a clue where I can come up with the money at this point. The Shelby County Sherriff's Department should look into these folks for taking advantage of a foolish trust elderly person.

    6 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen A Rose May 27, 2015

    I also had these installed about 1 year ago. I do agree they do not clog but I am from Weymouth Mass and this past winter was really bad for us here. The snow that built up on my roof and the ice when it melted off the roof it damaged a whole section off of my 3 season porch. I called leaf guard to have them come out to replace that section. I had an appointment for yesterday May 26th before 3 pm. By 3:45 no one showed up or called and then on TV there it was the ad for leaf guard so I called them again. The man said I should of gotten a call saying they could not make it for yesterday, which no one called for I was home all day. I told them if I did not get a call back by noon today May 27th I was going to go on line and give them a bad name for not following up with their customers and not calling people back after waiting all day for someone to show up.
    I have still not gotten a call and it is now 1:07 pm on Wednesday May 27th. I am so fed up with them that I would not recommend then to anyone. When I got them they showed up right away and installed them and got the whole amount of 5, 000.00 dollars for my whole house which is a single home. It is amazing how fast they were for that but when you need them for replacements or something is wrong no one calls or shows up.

    9 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg Mus Nov 04, 2013

    what makes me fell that the Leaf Guard product is a scam is the fat guy that advertises it on Charlotte NC TV. I feel like he is stroking me every time that I see the advertising. He goes after the elderly, the ###, Someone please stop this company

    8 Votes
  • Ge
    GeneE Sep 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have been stuck with out LeafGuard gutters for many years. Guaranteed NEVER to clog? I just spent another hour unclogging them again. We have called to have LeafGuard come and unclog them many times and each time I have to laugh. All they do is remove the downspouts, take your garden hose and rinse them. The pollen and dirt clog the "traps" at the bottom of the downspouts and frequently a fir cone will get inside and really dam things up. If you don't power wash them a couple times a year the pollen and other crud breaks the water cohesion and the water just pours over the top without going into the gutter. Their worst "repair" of a frequently clogging area was to take tin snips and cut the side out of the gutter so it would drain onto the patio roof. A TOTAL WAST OF GOOD DOLLARS FOR TOTALLY CRUMBY SERVICE.

    16 Votes
  • Tm
    tmon9 Feb 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    leaf guard NO GOOD!!! since having leaf guard system installed on my house 2 years ago nothing but PROBLEMS. in heavy rain the water goes off the roof as if there are no gutters at all and in the winter look forward to icicles 3-4 feet long.if your roof has little pitch you can also expect ice dams with water finding its way inside your house! i see a load of complaints on line but no CLASS ACTION SUIT?DONT WAIST YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON LEAF GUARD GUTTERS ! they are very expensive and a complete waste.

    17 Votes
  • Al
    Allen PHIFER Mar 13, 2010

    We had leaf guard installed, it keeps the leafs out and also keeps most of the water out of the guttering. We have a metal roof and when it rains hard the water goes off the guttering like it is not even there. I told the installer that it was going off the roof like there was no gutter there. It does not work on a metal roof that have a slightly pitched roof. No wonder they have so many complaints. Why have gutters that do not collect the water?? Allen Phifer

    13 Votes
  • Tr
    tractorman Aug 10, 2019

    @Allen PHIFER We have the same problem!

    5 Votes
  • Cy
    cym Sep 10, 2009

    boy do i agree. the same thing with my leaf guard gutters. i have the same problem you do with them. they cost a fortune to put them on your home, but not worth the money.

    11 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.